Pleased Pleat Dress

$79 to buy
$395 retail
Stylist Notes

Pleats? Yes, please! Get this adorable purple dress by Robert Rodriguez Collection for your next dinner or cocktail party.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Purple stretch poplin (70% cotton, 23% polyamide, 17% nylon). Sleeveless. V-neckline. Full pleated skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure and cut out detail. 35” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
155 reviews
Fit
Large
(8)
True to Size
(103)
Small
(35)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 108lbs
March 4, 2014
This dress was so perfect for homecoming because no one else was wearing anything similar!
The color is slightly lighter than in that picture, but the dress is just as beautiful as it is on the model. It fit very well, but it was a bit snug around the waist, so I would go up a size if you are between sizes normally. It is very comfortable, and I liked the straps because I did not have to worry about holding up my dress. The dress was the perfect length too!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 31, 2014
Unique dress with flattering cut
Pretty dress and very flattering lines. This dress is purple- in case the picture looks a little different. Only complaint is that it was a cotton material that looked like it had been washed several times and faded. Nothing to make or break but felt more like a daytime dress because of that.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
April 5, 2014
beautiful, fun, comfy dress!
I rented this dress for a wedding and it was a GREAT choice!! I was continuously complimented and the dress was really comfortable! It is on the short side (but I'm 5'10 so every dress is a wee bit short) otherwise everything was great!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
April 27, 2014
The comfort and flow of the dress made dancing and celebrating an all nighter!
I loved this dress and wish I could keep it! It's fitting yet so perfect to have enough space to move around. I received so any compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
April 27, 2014
This was my first sorority formal and it was such a wonderful night with my wonderful beau!
I wore this dress for an AXO spring formal and it was perfect!! The theme was vintage circus, so I thought the fuller skirt would be great with a little tightrope walker/ballerina inspiration. The top fit me perfectly because I have a small chest. The waist fit snugly and I loved the little cutouts in the back - fun, but not revealing or trashy and very easy to wear a normal strapless bra with. The skirt was very light and perfect for spinning in... but a little too short to spin! It was a windy day and an outside event... I definitely Marilyn Monroe-d several people on accident. Light skirt + central Texas wind = OH NO! But luckily my lovely boyfriend was willing to help hold it down and all was well. I HIGHLY recommend this dress for a gorgeous, comfortable, easy wear!! I don't want to send it back!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
April 29, 2014
So many compliments!
As many reviewers have said, pictures do not do justice to how great this dress is! I absolutely loved the color and fit. I would definitely order a size up from what you normally pick. The two fit (no bra necessary), but getting the zipper up and over the seam in back was near impossible. The four was a little big up top, so I just wore a strapless bra to help fill it out. Absolutely loved overall
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Body type: Hourglass
April 29, 2014
Beautiful Color
I used this dress to take college senior pictures, I love how deep and rich the dress color is. But, I had a hard time zipping the dress up all the way, I feel that if I had gone a size up that the bust would have been too baggy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 4, 2014
Beautiful Color
The dress was a gorgeous color and a great material. It's much thicker than I expected and almost has a shine to it. However, it runs small. The 4 and 6 both fit, but the 6 was much more comfortable and looked better in the back with the cut outs. The skirt was full but not too much, just enough to be fun and easy to move in.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 185lbs
May 6, 2014
Fun, Flirty & Short
I rented this dress in hopes of wearing it for a friend's wedding where she asked us to wear royal purple. While the dress was super cute, it was just WAY to short to be appropriate for a Catholic church wedding. I think on a shorter girl it would be much cuter and I think it made my broad shoulder look even wider. Cute dress, just not for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
May 11, 2014
Perfect color and fabric for sisters graduation
Loved the fit and the cut of the dress. I was worried a little that the full skirt would make my hips looks too big but it actually looked just perfect. The top of the dress was a little big since I have small Chest but it was still beautiful and comfortable. The material is thick and the fabric has no give so the size 2 fitted too tight around the waist. Overall loved the dress !!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
May 21, 2014
I wore this to a luncheon. The color was great and I got a lot of compliments.
The dress fit me big in the bust area. It buckled on the side. I was out of town and ended up having to wear it with the only jacket I had with me, a marigold blazer. I looked like the ultimate Laker Fan. I wore nude shoes and a purse to try and town down the bright colors. I recommend this dress for bustier girls, or wearing a very padded strapless bra, as the back does not allow for a regular one. The back was fabulous, and so was the pleated bottom.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
May 24, 2014
I did not want to take the dress off, I could wear it forever!!
Beautiful dress, great for a summer wedding. Love the color, cutouts and pleated skirt, basically everything about the dress! Very flattering on on all body types. I ended up wearing the small of the two sizes - I never even tried the larger one on because the 8 fit perfectly. The only thing I have to complain about is the zipper was difficult and I could not do it myself. This was my first RTR experience and I am thrilled with the rental process - definitely will be renting again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 28, 2014
Purple goddess
I rented this dress for a friends wedding. I ordered both the zero and the 2. The 0 was very tight in the chest which isnt out of the norm for me, while i was able to zipper it I dont know if I could have breathed or even eaten anything all night. When trying to 2, it was very gappy under the arms and didnt look right. I ended up wearing the back up dress I ordered. I wish this dress worked & looked like the model picture. It is a bit more plain in person and also wrinkles easy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 28, 2014
Great color. Fun back.
I will def try and rent this dress again. The color was very pretty and the sola wet was very faltering but where the skirt met the top it was frayed and I wanted something more finished looking.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
May 29, 2014
Bright and fun dress!
The color and size are quite true to the picture. The skirt is super fun and the cutouts added drama. The only issue I had was due to my short stature the straps were a bit too large.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 17
Bust size: 32A
June 1, 2014
The back of the dress
The fit is great a little loose on the shoulders if your petite. I loved this dress the back is very sexy and looks much like the picture!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 108lbs
June 3, 2014
This dress was such a perfect dress for a spring wedding! So light and flowy!
The fit was true to size. The color was a little deeper purple than expected but still a pretty purple. The fabric was more of a cotton than expected but nice and light for spring/summer! I loved the back on this dress and the full skirt!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 98lbs
June 7, 2014
I wore this dress for a wedding and I received lots of compliments on it!
The dress fit well. I was worried it would be too long because I am so petite, but it hit above my knee. The top was tight, but not uncomfortable. The zipper was a little tough, it felt like it was getting stuck but there was nothing in the way. The bottom of the dress was fun…until the wind blew. I don't recommend this dress for a windy day because the bottom half floats up. I had a few run-ins with the wind, but luckily my sisters were there to quickly get the dress down. Other than my dress blowing up I loved this dress and would wear it again. The color was great and like others have said it's a little lighter than it looks in the picture.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 143lbs
June 10, 2014
Beautiful dress, color, and cut!
This dress is beautiful in person! The color is very vibrant and flattering, and the cut outs on the back were super trendy without being overexposed (I even wore the dress without a cover up in church). The material is not super fancy, but that doesn't take away anything from the dress. I even had random people compliment me when I ran to the store for a snack before the reception. I am typically a 6-8 in dresses, and the dress fit pretty true to size. I can fit in the 6, but it felt a little constricting around the waist, so to be more comfortable I went with the 8. Also, the reason I gave the dress a 4 is that while it's not too short standing up, when sitting down the back of the dress really rides up - I had to keep tucking the dress under. Not a huge deal though - and I would rent again. That likely wouldn't be a problem for shorter girls than me as well.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
June 10, 2014
Beautiful color, flattering, and great for petite ladies!
Love love love this dress. The color stood out and the shape of the dress is flattering. I'm very petite and usually wear a size zero, preferably double zero most of the time. But this dress fit great!! It was snug at the waste, but the shoulder straps were slightly too long. I wore a strapless bra with it which helped fill out the top. It hit at the perfect length above my knees. The dress was overall very comfortable (except after eating a huge lunch, I thought I wasn't going to fit anymore, haha). But all in all I would highly recommend this dress. Especially if you are petite like me and are looking for a guaranteed fit. Also, loved the clutch from RTR too.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
June 11, 2014
FUN and Flirty
I loved this dress. I wore it to a creative black tie event at the zoo and paired with some really fun zebra-ish print wedges. The dress is VERY fitted through the waist, which I love because I typically have trouble finding dress that flatter my small waist as well as this dress did. The pleated skirt is fun and flirty, however, to avoid any unnecessary exposure I would suggest wearing some type of shorty short under the dress. The dancing and wind occasionally had me grabbing for the hem to keep it from flying up. LOVED it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
June 13, 2014
Unable to wear & ended up returning, really disappointed.
The chest was too large for me in the 6 & the 4 was too small in the waist.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 16, 2014
Great Purple Color!
I rented this dress for a wedding and enjoyed the fun skirt and color. I rented the 6 and 8- typically I wear a 6, but it was too small especially with the back cutouts. If you have any back fat (at all) this dress isn't for you because of the placements of the cutouts. I received lots of compliments and liked the dress although it is not my favorite I've ever rented.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98lbs
June 16, 2014
Great cut, not crazy about the color
Fit great. Material is cotton like, which makes it feel casual. I wasn't crazy about the color. I did not wear this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
June 17, 2014
Great dress! Very true to size and forgiving of all imperfections.
Paired this dress with a statement necklace and very light. Top keeps you secure and is forgiving for the pear shaped gals! Very easy for dancing, and even allowed for lots of running around after my little ones.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
June 20, 2014
Material is very casual
I rented this dress for a cocktail party, but shame on me for not reading the description better. The dress is more of a sundress material not suitable for a semi-formal affair.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
June 22, 2014
Basic purple dress
I did not really enjoy this dress. I rented it as a back up dress and was glad my number one choice worked because otherwise I would have had nothing to wear. I did not like the color purple or the fact that it was a matte cotton. The top was gaping and the skirt was way too long. I would not recommend this to petite people.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
June 29, 2014
I ended up going with this dress even though it wasn't my first choice, but was so glad I did!
I received so many compliments on this dress and felt stunning in it! The skirt was so fun to dance in and really accentuated my curves in the best way. The top does run a little small, but the construction was so great that I was able to go bra-less worry free. Do beware, the skirt is prone to get caught in even the smallest breeze - so expect many a Marilyn Monroe moment if your event is outdoors.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
July 4, 2014
Fun, flirty dress!
The dress was a fun color and cut! The only issues I had was that the waist was a little restricting and the top was a little loose but wasn't too noticeable. I got a ton of compliments and I felt pretty in it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95lbs
July 14, 2014
I did not wear this dress, exchanged it for a different style...
I had to exchange the dress, it was big in the chest area and considering I am 32D, that was strange, it fit perfectly everywhere else - I was a little disappointing I could not wear it... the dress hit a little above the knee... so if you are short take that into consideration as well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
July 17, 2014
Comfortable and casual, but still special
This dress fit well and was comfortable and flattering. I wore it out for my birthday dinner date and was happy with the vibrant color. Great for hot summer days / nights on the town, but the fabric lends a more casual feel to it, so you'd need to dress it up with some great accessories if planning on anything fancy. I tried a couple of necklaces with it, but the neckline is such that it looks best bare. Do earrings, fun bracelets, and / or fun shoes.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
July 21, 2014
I knew this dress would be a big hit! The fit and the color worked perfectly.
I wore this dress for my friends wedding. I saw so many good reviews of this dress, I knew I had to get it. I received so many compliments, it felt great. The dress is a little matte so I had to dress it up with fancy earrings and patent cream shoes. The back of the dress had a nice flirty look, and the color went great on my skin. When I was able to move around on the dance floor because the bottom was so flowy. The sides of the dress of the dress really went well with my curves and complimented my small waist. Loved, loved, loved it. I can't wait to order my dress for the next wedding.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
May 27, 2014
Wore this dress to my senior prom and was so relieved I loved it! I might just rent it again!
Fit great even with my big boobs!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
June 5, 2014
Too small to wear to my event!
I would definitely order a size up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
July 23, 2014
Fun dress with flirty cut outs!
The overall fit was true to size, but there is zero stretch in the fabric. Pros: unique cut, design & color, lightweight and great for a summer event. Cons: I work out frequently and weigh less than 125lbs, yet I was still very self conscious of the enunciated "back fat" created by the cut outs in the back of this dress. Consider yourself warned. I almost wore the size 4, but it was a bit baggy everywhere else, so I just rocked the 2 and drank enough wine to make me forget about what was happening back there.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
July 24, 2014
Great color, loved the cuteness of this dress!
I was very excited to wear this dress, I had some issues with the zipper and definitely needed someone else to zip it since it was getting hung up. The back is designed with cut-outs which I was dying to show off since, but the fit around the cut-out areas made all my fat bulge through haha. It didn't make me feel like the prettiest girl like all other RTR dresses that I've worn, but still is so pretty, I guess I just can't pull off the 'cut-out' style.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
July 27, 2014
Great dress. Super comfortable to wear adn dance in. Got compliments on the dress all night!
The straps were a bit big when I put on the dress, but it was not a big deal at all. It actually made it easier to wear. I really loved this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
July 31, 2014
Cute dress, lovely, vibrant color, runs quite small
I rented this dress for a fun weekend outfit, and while the color and cut were awesome, this dress runs quite small. I'm typically a 0 in most brands (excluding some European brands), but this dress wasn't just tight, I couldn't even fully zip up the zipper. If your waist is proportional to your other measurements, you should probably size up. The 2 was unavailable as a backup when I ordered, but I will certainly give this a go in the future, it's a really cute, fun dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
August 6, 2014
Fun and comfortable - a stand-out!
I wore this to an August wedding, and it was PERFECT. It ran true to size, and the color was a vibrant purple. The small cutouts in the back are a unique fun detail, and great since they aren't huge and also aren't located anywhere inappropriate. The pleats are a lot of fun to dance and move around in as well. I wore a strapless bra which didn't show anywhere, but if you have a larger chest, you could probably go without one at all. The material is not dressy (cotton I think) so this dress isn't for anything super formal, but I was so thrilled with it at this summer wedding.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
August 10, 2014
Rented for a nice birthday dinner, and the dress was fabulous and true to size! Love it!
I rented the size 2 and size 0 and ended up wearing the 0 in order to get the chest to fit, and then just tried not to breathe too much, but it was great and looks absolutely beautiful in pictures! Perfect for people who like highlighting their waist and the flowy skirt feel!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×