Robert Rodriguez Collection

Espresso Shimmer mini

$36 rental
$595 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This fun little Robert Rodriguez Collection dress is perfect for any party. Shimmer through the night in this dazzling piece.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with elastic band
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs very narrow so curvier women should size up
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear SPANX to cinch in hips and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch- the only stretch is at the elastic waistband
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with elastic band
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs very narrow so curvier women should size up
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; wear SPANX to cinch in hips and backside
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch- the only stretch is at the elastic waistband
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Espresso sequins. Crew neckline. Asymmetric sleeves. Chiffon tie on left shoulder. Subtle cowl back. 32" from center of neckline to hem (when measured from a size 6).

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

59 reviews

Fit
Small 9
True to Size 33
Large 17
Photos 19
Liz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 9, 2010

Overall fit: Large
The last Robert Rodriguez dress I rented fit perfectly and that was an 8. I rented this in a 6 and 8 and both were too big through the shoulders and tight through the thigh. It definitely did not fit the same way. Be cautious. It's gorgeous, just not a good fit for an athletic body.
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 12, 2010

Overall fit: Large
love this dress! got tons of compliments. the fit was not as expected though, the bottom is a good fit, the top is bigger than the picture. i usually wear a 4/6, and i wore the 4. the dress felt great, but the top kept falling off one shoulder. the black string that runs across the back in one of the pictures is very awkwardly placed and literally runs across the top of your shoulders. i ended up safety pinning the black string lower and tighter on each side so that it laid much lower on my back and not on top of my shoulders. great dress though and i felt good wearing it!
ChicMom
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 45
Body type: Petite
Nov 8, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
Ordered a size 4, which is my normal size, but they didn't have size 6, which was my backup. Luckily this dress does run true to size. The skirt is snug, the top is loose, but drapes attractively. I had to tie a small,loose knot in the black string across the top of my back to make it drape well. The string was too long and the dress kept slipping off my shoulder before I tied the knot. My belly is my problem area, and this dress draped across it well, it was comfortable. I didn't feel self conscious when standing or sitting. I loved the way the dress looked on me. My husband LOVED it. I also received alot of male attention that night, it was bordering on comical. I would highly recommend this dress, plan on wearing your hair down to cover the black string across the back (keeps the dress from sliding around) minor adjustments to that string will help drape the top better around your body (remember not to tie the knot too tight and to untie it before you take the dress off) This is a stunning dress and it made me feel absolutely gorgeous, and I received many compliments.
chloe
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 14, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
Comfortable but didn't stay on my shoulders. Got lot's of compliments.
Rid
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Jan 4, 2011

Overall fit: Large
This dress is gorgeous but the fit is a little off. It's a great fit from the bottom, but from the top its very big. If you're going to rent the dress, definitely rent one size smaller. Beautiful detailing and a very comfortable and giving dress, but I had to keep adjusting the dress from the shoulders. Probably best to rent at an event where there's no dancing, then you'll be adjusting your dress all night. Overall a beautiful dress, but be cautious when choosing your sizes.
Ari
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Body type: Straight & narrow
Jan 4, 2011

Overall fit: Large
I think this dress is actually a fantastic design, though I didn't find it to be the most flattering silhouette for my body type. The baggy fabric from the top of the dress drapes heavily around your midsection so that it looks like you have a bit of a belly. I ended up belting it and wearing it for New Year's Eve so that the fabric draped a bit higher, but I don't think it was exactly my ideal look. If you are going to rent this dress I would definitely order a size down.
Erin
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 2, 2011

Overall fit: Large
I totally loved this dress in the end. When it showed up, it was slightly disassembled the shoulder tie was wrapped around the hanger and the thin strap at the back of the neck was broken on one side and I was kinda bummed because it didn't look attractive at all. However, I stitched the strap back in place, perhaps a little shorter than originally designed and it fit great after that. There was just enough stretch/snug in the skirt to be very flattering. I wore this for my birthday party and really felt like the belle of the ball. Even got some phone numbers out of it. :-) I'm looking forward to renting again!
SororityGirl
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Body type: Pear
Mar 1, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I absolutely loved this dress, as did everyone at the event I wore it to! The looseness on top can sometimes be an issue if the top part isn't hanging right, but I just tied a little knot in the back ribbon and it worked perfectly!
Seattlegirl
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 29
Body type: Apple
Mar 15, 2011

Overall fit: Large
So this dress was super cute...except the black sash thing was really annoying. The sash they sent was skinner than the one in the picture. And that was rather obnoxious...and the top was rather big.
YoungMom of 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Body type: Petite
Jun 9, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I was 5 months pregnant when I rented this dress for my friend's wedding & it looked gorgeous! I thought I would be a 6 with my growing belly but I ended up still being my true size of a 4. The top is loose but the bottom is tight. I think I might have been too small for this dress had I not been pregnant but luckily my belly held the top up nicely! The top kept sliding off my shoulders but a safety pin in the back fixed that problem easily. I paired the dress with pumps almost identical to the model's. I got endless amounts of compliments that night & felt gorgeous! I would definitely recommend renting this dress, especially for all you pregnant moms who still want to look hot :)
lana
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 5, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
The dress was beautiful but it was very hard to put it on and take it off because this dress doesn’t have any zippers. U literally have to squeeze yourself in.
Trish
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Aug 11, 2011

Overall fit: Large
I LOVE THIS DRESS! If I can, I will find a way to rent and wear again! This dress is perfect if you have a "swimmer" or athletic body (broad shoulders, narrow hips). I have a hard time finding dresses because I have to fit my upper body first and that means the lower body is always too big. This dress was PERFECT for me! LOVE IT!
Linny
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Aug 27, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I couldn't really figure this dress out. It was REALLY tight on the bottom and REALLY big on the top. It just didn't look right on me, luckily my first choice worked out!
Kortney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Sep 12, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I did not wear this dress, I wore my backup. It felt like armor and didn't drape at all, not to mention the black string across the back. Is that supposed to hold it on the hanger? They don't show it in the photos, it's tacky, and it's not long enough to pin out of sight. I loved the look on the website but was a disaster on my body. May work on someone with large breasts or swimmers upper body, and skinny tush and thighs. Move along, ladies, there are way sexier dresses available on the site.
JNYC
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 12, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress was FABULOUS and I got a lot of compliments on it. It didn't come with the black decorative straps on the left shoulder shown in the photo though so dont get too excited about them ;) I let the dress hang low down on one shoulder- a-symmetrical style, since I didnt want to deal with the issue of the black strap that is there to keep both shoulders in place and I wanted it to be shorter than it fell on my average frame so i kept shimmiying the dress up to make it more sexy since it fell about mid thigh for my height but wanted a Mini. Loved it tho and ended up going with my larger back-up size since it was really fitted on the hips. Great dress though for sure!
Mo
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Oct 30, 2011

Overall fit: Large
This dress was such a disappointment! When I tried it on it looked nothing like the image on the website. The top portion of the dress was so big, it was draping completely off of my chest. The bottom part, however, fit me like a glove. It was extremely unflattering on an athletic body with a full bust. You can't size down, because then the bottom would be too small. And you can't size up, because the top of the dress would be like a poncho! HORRIBLE!
WSFO
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Nov 28, 2011

Beautiful dress, with flaws

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress itself is beautiful, but both my original and backup size from RTR had flaws. The black shoulder sash was not attached to my size 4, so you'd have to tie the sash itself and it would keep dropping. The size 2 did not have the thin strap along the shoulder/back to keep the dress from falling off your shoulders. The dress is gorgeous; unfortunately wearing it was a bit annoying :(
JMS
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Body type: Straight & narrow
Nov 28, 2011

Great dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Great dress, I ordered a 4 and 6. Was very happy I ordered the 6 . . .although the 4 did fit it was a bit too tight in my opinion for thanksgiving so I opted to wear the 6 for the holiday. I could not figure out the shoulder strap but it otherwise fit per the image. Another commenter mentioned the back strap, I wanted to wear my hair up so I just let the strap hang down the front of the dress instead. Was great with dark grey tights.
MissPrettyName
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Dec 2, 2011

Absolutely Stunning!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
I rented this dress for a weekend in Vegas, and it was absolutely perfect! The fit was amazing! An interior shell with an elastic waistband helps the dress keep it's shape, and I found this to be the perfect length (I'm 5'3"). The color is a very rich bronze and is very flattering to brunettes. I didn't use the black sheer tie that came with the dress, it worked just as well without it. I'd buy this dress if I had the chance, it was my favorite rental so far!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×