Delicate Scalloped Dress

$30 rental
$595 retail
Stylist Notes

Opt for an ultra feminine LBD like this Robert Rodriguez Collection dress with all-over scalloping, paired with a gold, sparkle clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend sizing up in this dress (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - slightly fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - detail conceals midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model) - curvy women should size up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''. )

Product Details

Black scalloped silk chiffon. Crew neckline. Hidden back zip. 34'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
210 reviews
Fit
Large
(9)
True to Size
(81)
Small
(108)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
October 16, 2011
I had the perfect dress for a wedding. I looked fabulous without spending a fortune.
Runs small. Other than that, this dress was PERFECT!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126lbs
December 7, 2011
Best look!
I absolutely love this dress. The detailing is so pretty and the inner jersey material makes it very comfortable. I wore it to a my 10 year reunion and really rocked it in this dress. I wore it with black nylons and shoes with sparkly earrings and simple tennis bracelet. I had bright red lipstick on. My husband advised me to not wear a long necklace so I could "let the dress do the talking". He said it was the best I have ever looked! My measurements are B36, W34, H39 and the 6 fit me like a glove. I'm usually in between a 4 and 6 depending on the designer.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
January 5, 2012
short, but great with tights!
Because I'm a bit on the tall side, this dress was a teeny bit shorter than I am used to, but I was comfortable with it once I combined it with opaque tights. I could get into the 6, and it definitely fit better in the waist and was a little more flattering, but was tighter around the hips and rode up more, making it even shorter on me. So I wore the 8 and it had a bit of room in the waist, which was fine as we went out for a huge dinner for NYE and I wanted room to eat! I would rent this again, for an event where a short dress was appropriate. This might work better as a general LBD for someone a bit more petite than I am.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
January 9, 2012
Adorable, but way too smalle!!
I ordered this dress for NYE and followed the directions and ordered my backup as one size up (I got a 4 and a 6). Even the 6 was too small! I ended up wearing my backup dress that I ordered, which was a size 4. Instead of ordering one size up in this dress, I would actually go two sizes up! I think I might have been able to get away with the 6, but it was skintight and made me uncomfortable. Thankfully I had the backup.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
January 10, 2012
beautiful
Ordered this as a back-up for NYE but ended up liking this better than the plan A dress. Unfortunately the hips runs small. I have an athletic build and have a butt from squats and soccer. The dress fit well everywhere else. I was able to zip/wear but the fabric bunched weird in the back which made it unwearable. Anyways, if you are able to order a back up size I would def size up. Beautiful dress. Elegant. Classy. Wish I could have worn it. (34C-27-37)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
January 24, 2012
Best Birthday Ever!
Wore this for my birthday, and felt amazing in it. Hugs your body in a flattering way and feels great! Didn't want to return it after the party :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32DDD/E
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
March 5, 2012
I got to wear an amazing quality dress for a very important career moment!
This was a really nice basic sheath dress that I chose for a formal work event. In person it looked very slimming and the scalloped detailing combined with thicker fabric helped hide body imperfections. My only complaint is that Roberto Rodriguez does not seem to believe in the existence of hips! I typically wear a 6 or 8 in dresses but had to size up to a 10 because the hips were cut so narrow. If you have an hourglass or pear-shaped figure, definitely size up!
AmyJuly 1, 2012
That is so cool! What great advertisement too! haha
MeredithSeptember 2, 2012
Thanks Amy! RTR is not yet sending me free rentals in exchange for publicity, but a girl can dream :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
March 9, 2012
Now I want to buy this dress!
The scalloping detail is great extra texture on an otherwise straightforward little black dress. The material is quite thick which gave the dress nice structure. I'm a 34D, so sometimes shift dresses can make me look like a tent but the thicker material and fitting of the dress at the waist made me look and feel fantastic. The dress is on the shorter side, but didn't ride up while I was dancing. I wish I still lived in New York so I could come to the sample sale and buy this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
March 26, 2012
Beautiful, Classy Dress
I have rented this dress twice for 2 different weddings and I absolutely love it. I'd love to buy it, in fact. It does run very small - I usually wear a 0-2 and I wore the size 4 in this. So classy, yet still fun!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
June 15, 2012
Special LBD
I loved this dress because it's a classic LBD but also unique. The dress was longer on me than on the model, but I'm only 5'4''. I also had to wear a belt because I found the shape rather unflattering on it's own.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 28, 2012
Perfect black dress
Rented this for a wedding and was a little nervous about how short it was going to be. Once I got it, reaized it was the same lenght as in the picture and loved it. The "quilting" on it was so pretty and also not as heavy as I was expecting from the other reviews (wore it in June and wasn't hot)!! Everyone told me how much they loved it. Would rent again!
ManaAugust 14, 2012
Hi Jessica, I have an identical body to you based on your description but I'm concerned because everyone says to size up this dress. Was the 4 a perfect fit or would you have been able to wear a 6, as well? I usually wear a 4 in shorts and am a small on most occasions. Thank you!
RTRAugust 29, 2012
Hi Mana! This dress runs true to size, so I would suggest ordering a size 4, but also getting a size 6 for back-up!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
July 12, 2012
All my friends could not stop telling me how they wanted to borrow the dress- they loved it!
I attend a college in the south and football games are a BIG deal. Everyone dresses up to the nines in their cutest sundresses. This dress was perfect for that day-to-night transition. I was able to wear it as a sundress during the day, and dress it up with fun accessories and heels for the night. The detailing on the dress is gorgeous as well, so minimal accessories are actually needed. My only complaint is that it was a little short- I'm 5'10 and it JUST made the cut of being long enough to wear out. I would definitely recommend this dress for any event!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
August 5, 2012
LOVE it
I ordered a 6 and a 8 in this dress. The six fit but was a little too tight in the hips. I tried the 8 on and it was perfect! This dress is beautiful and the scalloped detailing really made the dress pop. I received compliments all night! I absolutely love RTR and would consider renting this dress again for another occasion! I hated to send it back.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
August 21, 2012
Wrong fit
I'm 5'1, 34B, and a size 0 and this dress was way way too big. It didn't fit right anywhere. I would def not recommend this if you are petite.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
August 31, 2012
Girls Night Out
Nice dress but has a very thick material. I was happy with it overall but was not my favorite dress that I have rented
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
March 27, 2013
NOT THAT IMPRESSED
Based on the reviews I ordered this dress for a night out on vacation, but have to admit I just wasnt impressed with it. Sent it back.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Body type: Full Bust
March 30, 2013
no stretch at all
I did not wear this due to how small it runs. There is no stretch at all. It is gorgeous but also know that the fabric adds inches.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Body type: Straight & narrow
April 8, 2013
The perfect dress that can be dressed up or down! Looks beautiful paired with statement jewelry too.
The dress is a thick material and very good quality. It is definitely fitted but very flattering. The best feature of this dress is by far the scalloped detailing and it is a lot more noticeable in person rather than in pictures. Overall, I loved this dress!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
April 13, 2013
Perfect LBD with so much texture!
I wore this dress to a formal at college and it was a huge hit! All night I kept getting complements on the dress and people kept asking to borrow it. The dress fit me perfectly although it definitely doesnt have any give. Also this dress runs a little small. I am normally a small 0 or a 00 and the 0 was tight on me. Additionally it runs on the shorter side, which worked great for me because I am only 5' 3''. Overall this dress was perfect. The texture of the dress is beautiful and I really wish I could have kept the dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
April 19, 2013
I wore this out in Vegas for a bachelorette party and everyone loved it! Perfect LBD
The fit was actually just right. It is a very flattering dress with thick material that minimizes curves and anything you don't want to show in the hip region. It is a little short, but was perfect for my occasion in Las Vegas. I felt very comfortable in the dress all night and got lots of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
May 28, 2013
Great Party/Vacation Dress!
I wore this on vacation and it was a perfect dress for the occasion - Vegas. It is extremely short and it runs small - so definitely order a size up (I wore the 2). It is definitely not a conservative dress due to how short it is, but it is really fun and fits the body nicely. The detail on the dress is really neat, adding a little bit to the the plain black look. Definitely a great choice!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 113lbs
May 30, 2013
The stylists were very helpful and the site was easy to use!
This dress DEFINITELY runs small. I usually wear a size 2 but in this dress I wore a 4. It's a beautiful, high quality dress; however, I felt the dress was very short, and it didn't fit my body shape correctly. From the front the dress looked ok, but in the back it almost looked baggy.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
June 16, 2013
Rented this dress for a wedding and received so many complements throughout the night!
I really loved this dress! The photos don't do it justice, it's much prettier in person because of the beautiful scalloping. It does run a bit short but it was perfect for me as I'm only 5" tall. Would highly recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 49
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
July 14, 2013
Sexy and Classy!
I wore this great dress to my friend's black tie wedding. I must say I was extremely pleased with the dress. It fit like a glove, yet very comfortable. I loved everything about this dress from the material to the length and style. Very simple, yet striking and classy. I would definitely recommend this to anyone.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
July 26, 2013
I wore this dress to a dance, and I loved it! I would wear this dress again in a heartbeat.
So, I rented this dress in a size 0 and 2. I tried the 2 on and it was way too big, but the 0 fit me well. It was a little tight, but after wearing it for some time it was petty comfortable. I loved how it hugged my body and I also loved the scallop detail.. Great dress! Love Robert Rodriguez after wearing this dress.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
July 28, 2013
Beautiful dress, high quality material
Loved the dress! It is a tight and shorter dress, but the high neckline keeps it classy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Body type: Pear
August 2, 2013
This dress really shows what you're working with.
I liked this dress, however based on my body shape wished I had rented a size 4 due to the tightness of the rear. Regardless, I loved the draping on the dress and found it very flattering. I did not have issues with the dress riding up throughout the night while dancing at my sister's bachlorette. I would rent this dress again just in a 4 to be more comfortable.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
August 5, 2013
Love the dress, runs small
Very nice quality and texture. It would've been a great fit, but it was slightly too small. Usually a size 6 is either the right fit or a little big on me, but with this dress it was very, very tight. Unfortunately, I didn't end up wearing it because of the sizing. I'm thinking about renting it again and trying an 8!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
August 13, 2013
I didn’t care for this dress.
As other reviewers have said, the dress runs small. I’m usually a 6 or 8, so I ordered the 8 and 10 just to be safe. The 10 barely fit over my hips, and the scalloped pleats/texture didn’t lie flat, so I ended up wearing a different dress. Perhaps this just isn’t a good dress for a hourglass shape. I can see it fitting a woman with straighter hips. The fabric is quite thick, not good for warm weather. It might work for a winter event.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
October 3, 2013
classy yet enough to be sexy
reading someone of the reviews on this website im not going to lie it made me really nervous. the pictures of this dress doesnt really do it justice. The material ill have to say is kinda heavy, if you have a bigger body and stay away from it. The detail is very flattering. Im so excited to wear it on saturday!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 16, 2013
it was a great classic cut
wore it to a birthday party, really great and comfortable although, the texture made it tough to show off my curves :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
November 19, 2013
This is a great dress. It runs a bit small. I typically wear a 0 or 2 and wore a 4 in this dress.
I loved this dress and got a ton of compliments. It looks conservative, but it isnt. It is pretty short. Keep that in mind if you plan to dance at a wedding! I was constantly pulling it down. Looked great with bright green earings!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
November 21, 2013
Great dress!
I'm ordered the 4 and the 6 and ended up wearing the 6 because it was a little longer and fit my boobs (I have a larger chest). It is a shorter dress. I'm 5'2 and the 6 was just the right length so if you have longer legs you may want to go up a size depending on the type of event you're wearing it to. It was a little loose in the stomach but I didn't mind that because that meant I could indulge some at dinner and not have to worry about. The detail in the material is also really pretty and when people were up close they noticed and complimented me on it. Overall I thought it was a great dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
December 4, 2013
I didn't love this dress. But it will do if you're in a pinch.
The ruffles were very thick and didn't do much to show off my shape. So I ended up returning this and going with another option. It was also pretty short, but I am 5'8".
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
December 12, 2013
Pretty dress, but runs very small.
I'm a true zero and often a 00, but could barely get this dress zipped up. It was entirely too small. If you do rent: definitely get at least a size up!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
October 6, 2013
My red shoes!!!
The dress was short and tight, but I got a lot of compliments on it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
July 19, 2013
LBD
it runs a little small but its such a nice dress! i loved it
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
December 23, 2013
Pretty dress, runs very short and small
Definitely runs very small and short
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
December 24, 2013
Wishing I heeded the warnings, SHORT :(
Ugh I had been wanting to rent this dress pretty much since joining RTR, but when I finally threw caution to the wind and decided to do so despite what some of the reviews had warned, the results were what I'd feared: too tight and too short! Not sure why I was expecting a different outcome, probably because I was so in love with how it looked, but anyone who's remotely tall and on the fence, I'm telling you right now; don't make the same mistake I did, this sucker is SHORRRT. Even though I ordered a size up trying to err on the safe side, ended up having to wear a dress I already had. Next time I'm sticking with my instinct/the reviews!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
January 10, 2014
Cute dress, runs small
Didn't actually get to wear this dress, due to an illness, and wouldve gone with my back up (but got a credit from RTR-AWESOME customer service!!!), but it was cute. Rented the swirl cap sleeve dress from this same designer and fit in a 2. Could barely get the 2 on in this dress. So I would order a size up. High quality.
See more reviews:
2 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×