Rent the Runway

Robert Rodriguez Collection

Crimson Scalloped Dress

$74 to buy
$595 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Look sophisticated and trendy by renting this Robert Rodriguez Collection Crimson Scalloped Dress for a holiday party or birthday dinner. The basic sheath style has a twist of pizazz with the scalloped detail. Wear with Kenneth Jay Lane's Picasso Cuff to complete the look.

Also available in black.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - slightly fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - detail conceals midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model) - curvy women should size up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''. )

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - slightly fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - detail conceals midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model) - curvy women should size up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''. )

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Red stretch silk. Crew neckline. All over scallop detailing. Hook-and-eye closure. Exposed back zip. 31'' from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

124 reviews

Fit
Small 65
True to Size 51
Large 5
Photos 40
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 19
Body type: Athletic
Oct 24, 2011

spending homecoming with my bf

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Was so comfortable it was like wearing a quilt. material is heavy which was perfect for cool fall night. Wore it for homecoming and was so glad because most girls wore black so I really stood out in this red :) Size 4 fit perfectly but it is very short. I didn't want to send this dress back.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Oct 31, 2011

Dress was amazing! I got so many compliments!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It fits great, looks great, and is even better in person! The detail isn't truly captured in the photograph. Agree with other reviews that there is no stretch and you have to be careful of the length. Love this dress!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 14, 2011

The one of a kind look of the dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Absolutely LOVED this dress. It's beautifully made, so delicate, but so strong at the same time. Only complaint is that it's a tad shorter than I expected, but it fit true to size otherwise.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 23, 2011

Great Dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I am size 6, 135 lb, 5 feet 8 - ran true to size and I wore the 6 - Material is very thick so it was perfect for a fall football game. It wasn't short at all on me and I even wore heels to go with it... This is more of a "girls" dress though - lots of compliments from my friends but it is not as "sexy" as it appears on the model.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 119 lbs
Dec 23, 2011

The bright color was very beautiful and eye-catching.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit was great; I am pretty straight through the hips and thighs and was thankful that the dress was, too. The color is beautiful. I wore tights with the dress. I am only 5'4 and felt that without the tights, it definitely would have been too short. The material is really thick, so I felt that it made ME look thicker - my boyfriend disagreed? The scalloped detail looks great in person and in pictures.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112 lbs
Jan 2, 2012

RTR made my night sooo amazing! Renting the dress was so easy and the return process so simple! I loved being able to wear a beautiful dress and not having to spend a ton of money! My boyfriend loved the dress and thought I looked stunning!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
This dress was beautiful and I got a million compliments in it. It was a very thick fabric which is great for a fall/winter outfit. I usually wear a size 0 and I had to put on the 2 so I do think it runs a little small. My only complaint would be that it is pretty short and I was a little uncomfortable sitting down in it. Otherwise, it was an amazing dress and everyone loved it!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Jan 6, 2012

How beautiful I felt in this dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I am petite at 5'4 with a tight athletic body, hips and butt, but this dress is made beautifully. I really like it and is flattering on a tight athletic body and runs short, definately makes people look twice. more classy than fun
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 13, 2012

gorgeous texture to the dress. It was pretty short and I felt like I didn't have much of a waist in it so I belted it. Cute though!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
gorgeous texture to the dress. It was pretty short and I felt like I didn't have much of a waist in it so I belted it. Cute though!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 29, 2012

felt fantastic!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I received so many compliments on this dress! I wore it to homecoming, and I definitely had the most one of a kind dress. I ordered a size 0 and 2, and ended up wearing the size 0, but it was pretty snug. I wore it with a Nicole Miller bracelet and nude heels. It was a little chilly at night so I paired it with a black, fitted blazer. I had such a great experience that I am using RTR for prom, too!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Jan 30, 2012

Perfect dress for formal!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I absolutely loved this dress! I had ordered in in August 2011, but didn't get to wear it. So I ordered it again January 2012 for a formal and could not be happier with my decision. I was a little disappointed when I got the dress because they replaced the original black zipper with a red and gold one which didn't stand out as much. The dress does run smaller than other dresses of the same size and this dress is pretty short. But for me, it worked and I loved it! The fabric is thick and strong which I liked because I didn't have to worry about spanks or anything like that, and the scalloping is beautiful. I would recommend this dress to anyone! Definitely must try!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 15, 2012

My boyfriend wishing that I could keep the dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
I'm normally a size 2, but was glad I got a backup bigger size for this dress; I couldn't even zip the 2 up. This mini is very cute, and the texturing of the pattern is great, but it might not be the best choice for bigger busted ladies. I found that because of the top fit, the waist appeared bigger than normal, to the point where I almost chose to belt it. That being said, my boyfriend loved the dress, and said "I almost wish you could keep it, it's stunning," which is always a nice thing to hear on Valentine's Day. Overall, it was a well-made dress, and a satisfactory rental, but not my favorite.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Jul 14, 2012

My fiance and I were recently engaged at this fundraiser and the photographer took a portrait of us that he ended up giving us rights to and we used it as our engagement announcement in our local papers.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I normally wear an 8 but ordered a 10 as my back-up size and felt much more comfortable in the 10. I loved wearing it and many people told me I should just keep it and not send it back! I did send it back but would not rent it again in a minute!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 15, 2012

Rent the Runway made it so easy to get a great dress for my event! It came straight to my door and I had plenty of options so I was sure to find a dress that fit.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Got so many compliments when wearing the dress. Fitted great. Wasn't too short or awkwardly too long. Classy and had just enough texture that it wasn't too plain. The red made a great statement! Pairs great with gold jewelry and shoes. Worked well for a person with smaller boobs and a straight figure. It could've been uncomfortable/tight otherwise.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 20, 2012

The shipping was fast and easy to order! I was getting compliments on my dress all night long.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
I rented this dress for my 21st birthday celebrations and loved it! I read that it could run a little small so I got a 2 & a 4 (normally wear a 2/3). The 2 fit but was a little tight and I wanted to be able to move around comfortably so I wore the 4. The dress is also short short short! Thank goodness my legs are pretty short so it wasn't too bad but be careful if your legs are long. I DEFINITELY recommend this dress for something that wants to stand out on a special day, my boyfriend says I was getting double-takes all night!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 114 lbs
Sep 18, 2012

Beautiful but tight.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress was really really beautiful but it was tight for a 2. Also VERY VERY short. I mean Sitting in it was inappropriate.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 26, 2012

This dress is so pretty. The color and scalloped details really make this dress something special.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The only issue I had was how small and tight it ran. I had to go up a size larger than my normal larger back up size for this one. The material is very thick and doesn't show much of your shape and it's VERY short. I wore this to a rehearsal dinner and felt a little uncomfortable at times. It's perfect if you plan on standing the whole night but sitting and walking can cause issues at times.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 136 lbs
Oct 29, 2012

sexy color sophisticated style

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I was pleased with this dress. However, it was almost thick like one of those patchwork quilts. It felt like a quilt anyway. I didn't expect that from this dress. The dress left me with no shape b/c of the fabric. I didn't think it was too short as other reviews stated. I thought it was a perfect length. Definitely ran small. I was pleased with the dress and felt great wearing it. The fabric was not what I expected
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Nov 7, 2012

Great for the occasion, got so many compliments on how it accentuated my curves!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The fit was perfect, although the zipper kept getting jammed. Otherwise, fantastic dress all around. The detail in the dress was so much prettier than I expected. Definitely a perfect rental!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132 lbs
Nov 16, 2012

Loved the dress. Great fit, Very comfortable

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It's very thick material so I got really hot during the night. It also was shorter than I thought so when I sat down it was interesting, but while dancing and walking I was fine. But I got a ton of complements on it! Loved Loved LOVED this dress
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 137 lbs
Nov 25, 2012

I loved this dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The fit was great - the texture helps hide any extra love handles. it is a perfect winter dress as the material is very thick and somewhat heavy. Overall, it is flattering and I received many compliments!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 7, 2012

The look my boyfriend gave me after zipping me up!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Originally I rented this dress for my boyfriend's fraternity formal, but the event was pushed off to another weekend so instead we got dressed up and went out to dinner. This dress was so well made & very thick, which I liked for a chilly night in the beginning of December. It would probably be too much for a summer event. The dress was very form fitting, and the length was perfect on my 5'1" frame. I was so sad when I had to return this one!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 134 lbs
Jan 4, 2013

I wore this dress to a New Year's Eve party, it fit amazing and I got so many compliments!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The only thing is there isn't much stretch in the fabric, so I had to size up.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 15, 2013

Not as short/tight as other reviewers are saying.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I rented the 4 and 6 after reading the reviews that said it would be short and tight. Maybe I am not the size I think I am but the size 4 was neither short nor tight. I tried belting this dress but that didn't help either (see second pic). The quality was great and I wish I could've worn it, though. If you have any sort of waist at all, order your true size (and if you want something tighter/sexier, order down one). This was just too bulgy for me, for New Years Eve. I didn't wear it and ended up buying something new instead. A size 2 would have probably been ok for a work function or something. You can see my pics show plain w/ nude heels, and belted w/ black heels. In the third pic you can see how much extra room there is in the waist, as other reviewers have noted. Also, I have plenty of booty and the dress wasn't even close to being tight back there.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 12, 2013

It's a great pop of color for the holidays! Simple dress.. the pattern makes it unique and flatterin

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Pros: so many compliments. Pattern on the dress was amazing and flattering. It was the perfect red in a sea of black holiday dresses. Cons: Could be a little short if that's not your style.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107 lbs
Feb 13, 2013

The boy, who is otherwise not effusive with compliments, was in awe.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Great for petite girls. Great color. Fits like a glove (no bra needed). I wore it in Paris and felt pretty good to represent America ;) The French boy stared the second I walked out and kept saying "you look amazing" all night. But my girl best friend thinks it's too formal looking (thick material, not revealing, and I don't have the legs). I probably wouldn't have bought this for myself but it was a perfect rental.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 56
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Apr 16, 2013

I rented this dress for a homecoming event. I was thrilled to wear such a unique and gorgeous dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
The size 6 fit perfectly but it was too short. I wore the size 8 instead. The scalloped edges had been dry cleaned and did not lay flat so needed ironed. I called RTR for advice and they advised me how to safely iron it. The dress was a great quality...the "thickness" of the material made me look and feel "thin".
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Body type: Petite
Weight: 137 lbs
Jul 19, 2013

First rental great quality

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Good fit, usually wear a 6 but went for the 8 just to be comfortable.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 21, 2013

Beautiful & unique!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress has very thick material, so it was a little hot. & for me, it was very loose around the stomach. Regardless, I loved it & thought it was perfect for a wedding.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136 lbs
May 6, 2014

beautiful color!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I ordered the size 8 and 10 for the weekend, received my order around Wednesday, I usually wear a size 8 and it was a little tight but the size 10 was too big, so I wore the size 8, it was a little bit on the short side which I like short dresses but I was going to a party and had my 2 year old with me and had to be picking her up and leaning so it was a little hard for me, i think it was short on me because it fitted a little tight, the size 10 although a little loose was the right length, the dress is well made, fabric is thick and has a lovely pattern, the bright red color was my favorite part
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
May 23, 2014

Loved the color but was super short!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The color and design were amazing, but it was super short and the fabric was not very forgiving. I would only recommend this for people who are straight/narrow and don't have many curves. But it was great!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
May 28, 2014

Beautiful Color and Detail

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to the annual Red Ball for my local chapter of the Red Cross. In a sea of red dresses I got a ton of compliments and felt great. This did fit very tightly through the hips/thighs and was short but I felt the 6 was baggy in the chest area for me so I went with the smaller size.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jul 27, 2014

Great color and fabric!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
As mentioned in other reviews, it definitely runs on the short side. I felt that the bust area was pretty tight too and had to wear a padded bra to avoid looking completely flat chested. Overall, loved the dress and received multiple compliments throughout the night. Should've taken a better picture to show the dress.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 28, 2014

Fun, flattering dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Loved the color! I ordered the 6 and 8 and went with the 8 because the dress is extremely form fitting and very short. The length definitely made it a little scandalous but I loved the fit, it was very flattering. I would choose a size up as a backup when ordering! When I received my dresses there was a whole in the seam of the dress that was very noticeable when I put it on but after talking with customer service they overnighted me a new dress and it was here by 9am the next day! Excellent customer service!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138 lbs
Nov 2, 2014

It was my second date at a steakhouse. Luckily the cloth napkin covered most of my lap at dinner :0)

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
The dress fit was fine but the overall length was very, very short. The dress ended right below my bum. I did not feel comfortable in it at all. It would have been better if it was 5 inches longer!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155 lbs
Nov 25, 2014

Liked it but did not love it

Size worn: 12
Rented for: Date
I rented this for a birthday dinner with my boyfriend and I liked it but did not love it. The dress ran a bit small. I wore tights which worked well as it was pretty short on me - liked the style but not the fit on myself personally (5'5'' 155lbs 34DD).
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 20
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 25, 2014

Very tight - I couldn't wear it.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for my sorority formal and was unable to wear it because of how tight it was. This dress is not meant for people with full hips! I was very upset that I couldn't wear it - it's beautiful.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 4, 2014

Pretty

Size worn: NONE
Rented for: Party
This was my backup dress so didn't wear it. It fit great though, but quite short (I'm 5'6").
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 20, 2014

This was my free birthday dress from purchasing PRO.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
The dress was beautiful! It's a lot heavier than it looks. It did run a bit small (and short!) so I sized up for my backup and ended up wearing the 10. This was perfect for a date night!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Dec 28, 2014

Pretty dress, but I couldn't wear it. WAY TOO SHORT

Size worn: NONE
Rented for: Vacation
The dress was a nice fabric and I ordered a size larger than I usually wear, but it was still WAY too short. I even tried it on with tights but the bottom of the dress didn't even cover my behind. Soo needless to say, I couldn't wear it.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 8, 2015

Bright pop of color with interesting fabric pattern

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is short, I'm 5'1 and I even felt a bit self conscious wearing this for Christmas. Apart from the shortness, it was fitted but flattering. I usually don't wear bright colors so this was a welcome change, the material was thick with fabric patterns sown in, so it was warm enough with tight and a jacket.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×