Crimson Scalloped Dress

$74 to buy
$595 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Look sophisticated and trendy by renting this Robert Rodriguez Collection Crimson Scalloped Dress for a holiday party or birthday dinner. The basic sheath style has a twist of pizazz with the scalloped detail. Wear with Kenneth Jay Lane's Picasso Cuff to complete the look.

Also available in black.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - slightly fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - detail conceals midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model) - curvy women should size up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''. )

Product Details

Red stretch silk. Crew neckline. All over scallop detailing. Hook-and-eye closure. Exposed back zip. 31'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
125 reviews
Fit
Large
(5)
True to Size
(51)
Small
(66)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
November 25, 2014
Liked it but did not love it
I rented this for a birthday dinner with my boyfriend and I liked it but did not love it. The dress ran a bit small. I wore tights which worked well as it was pretty short on me - liked the style but not the fit on myself personally (5'5'' 155lbs 34DD).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
December 4, 2014
Pretty
This was my backup dress so didn't wear it. It fit great though, but quite short (I'm 5'6").
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
December 28, 2014
Pretty dress, but I couldn't wear it. WAY TOO SHORT
The dress was a nice fabric and I ordered a size larger than I usually wear, but it was still WAY too short. I even tried it on with tights but the bottom of the dress didn't even cover my behind. Soo needless to say, I couldn't wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
November 27, 2012
Great material, a little loose in the waist
I rented this dress for my sorrority formal and it looks and felt amazing i was so sad i didnt get to wear it. It was a little big in my waist because i have a tiny waist but if you have a normal waist line this dress would look stunning on you!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 15, 2013
Not as short/tight as other reviewers are saying.
I rented the 4 and 6 after reading the reviews that said it would be short and tight. Maybe I am not the size I think I am but the size 4 was neither short nor tight. I tried belting this dress but that didn't help either (see second pic). The quality was great and I wish I could've worn it, though. If you have any sort of waist at all, order your true size (and if you want something tighter/sexier, order down one). This was just too bulgy for me, for New Years Eve. I didn't wear it and ended up buying something new instead. A size 2 would have probably been ok for a work function or something. You can see my pics show plain w/ nude heels, and belted w/ black heels. In the third pic you can see how much extra room there is in the waist, as other reviewers have noted. Also, I have plenty of booty and the dress wasn't even close to being tight back there.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
April 2, 2012
Too big
It was too big but the simplicity and design of the dress is where the one star goes to. The size was too big for a typical size 0. I'm 5'5 and weigh 120lbs with an athletic body.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
October 23, 2012
Loved the fabric detail!
I think that for petite women, you might find it runs large in the shoulders and waist. I paired it with a black cinched belt and it really did the trick. The fabric is also quite thick and makes me think it is more of a winter dress.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Body type: Straight & narrow
April 29, 2014
It was good, but not great.
Baggy through the middle, and the fabric is so thick I felt like it added inches to my waistline.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
October 13, 2011
After speaking with the fit specialist I ordered an 8 and a 10 instead of a 6 and and 8. I typically wear a 6 or 8 in dresses but thankfully the prior reviews said this dress ran narrow at the bottom, which is completely accurate. The 8 was a great fit but unfortunately I had to return with out wearing because the zipper was faulty.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
November 29, 2011
Beautiful in theory
I really wanted to love this dress. The picture looks beautiful. But the material is just so thick and somewhat itchy that I didn't really enjoy wearing it. It also runs very small so be sure to size up. It might be a better winter dress with opaque black tights and booties but it wasn't so great for a Florida wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 5, 2011
Thick material adds width
I loved the dress on the hanger and think it would look awesome on a slim figure looking to add some curves. Unfortunately, didn't flatter my curvy figure and the combination of the pattern and thick material made my hips look huge. The top part was also very large on me and I found the neckline unflattering as well. Loved the scalloped bottom and wish it worked for me!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
December 31, 2011
Runs Small & Very Short
I am 5 ft 11 in tall, I usually wear a 6 or 8 in dresses. I ordered the 8 because the 6 was not available. The dress detail is beautiful, HOWEVER it is incredibly tight in the hips and shoulders. I was going to wear it for NYE, but opted for a dress I already own because I know I would have been so uncomfortable. I recommend ordering a size up and wearing tights with this dress unless you are shorter. Good LUck!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Body type: Full Bust
December 31, 2011
great dress!
I loved this dress! I wore it to a debutant ball and It photographed very well and was super flattering. I usually am a 6 or an 8 and the 10 fit me.. so the thick fabric caused this dress to run a little small. Got a million compliments on it throughout the night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112lbs
January 2, 2012
RTR made my night sooo amazing! Renting the dress was so easy and the return process so simple! I loved being able to wear a beautiful dress and not having to spend a ton of money! My boyfriend loved the dress and thought I looked stunning!
This dress was beautiful and I got a million compliments in it. It was a very thick fabric which is great for a fall/winter outfit. I usually wear a size 0 and I had to put on the 2 so I do think it runs a little small. My only complaint would be that it is pretty short and I was a little uncomfortable sitting down in it. Otherwise, it was an amazing dress and everyone loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
January 29, 2012
felt fantastic!
I received so many compliments on this dress! I wore it to homecoming, and I definitely had the most one of a kind dress. I ordered a size 0 and 2, and ended up wearing the size 0, but it was pretty snug. I wore it with a Nicole Miller bracelet and nude heels. It was a little chilly at night so I paired it with a black, fitted blazer. I had such a great experience that I am using RTR for prom, too!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
January 30, 2012
Perfect dress for formal!
I absolutely loved this dress! I had ordered in in August 2011, but didn't get to wear it. So I ordered it again January 2012 for a formal and could not be happier with my decision. I was a little disappointed when I got the dress because they replaced the original black zipper with a red and gold one which didn't stand out as much. The dress does run smaller than other dresses of the same size and this dress is pretty short. But for me, it worked and I loved it! The fabric is thick and strong which I liked because I didn't have to worry about spanks or anything like that, and the scalloping is beautiful. I would recommend this dress to anyone! Definitely must try!
ashleyJuly 30, 2013
Your review was very helpful.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
February 13, 2012
Great Dress!!
This dress was exactly how I imagined it. I've rented from RTR before, and I knew to read the reviews and most of them were spot on. I usually wear a size 6, but the 8 was much more comfortable and flattering. I wore the dress for a 1920s themed party and received LOTS of compliments even though it wasn't a conventional flapper dress. The one issue I had with the dress is that it is EXTREMELY short, and being 5'8" there were questionable moments in the night, however, because I read the other reviews, I knew to expect this, and was totally pleased overall with my decision!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
February 15, 2012
My boyfriend wishing that I could keep the dress
I'm normally a size 2, but was glad I got a backup bigger size for this dress; I couldn't even zip the 2 up. This mini is very cute, and the texturing of the pattern is great, but it might not be the best choice for bigger busted ladies. I found that because of the top fit, the waist appeared bigger than normal, to the point where I almost chose to belt it. That being said, my boyfriend loved the dress, and said "I almost wish you could keep it, it's stunning," which is always a nice thing to hear on Valentine's Day. Overall, it was a well-made dress, and a satisfactory rental, but not my favorite.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 126lbs
March 5, 2012
little red dress
this dress is made with a thick material and it wasn't as form fitting as i expected. But I did love the cut and color.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
April 9, 2012
WOW Dress!
I rented the 2 and the 4 and they were both a great fit but the 2 was a little more snug and hugged my body a bit better. I wore it for my 30th birthday party and we got a limo and went to a fancy restaurant. This dress was the star of the evening! I highly recommend this dress. It does run a bit small so be sure and get a back up size, just in case.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
May 8, 2012
Good look
I wore this dress to a wedding. The dress runs small, particularly in the hips. I ordered up because of other's reviews and I'm glad I did. It's also very short. I'm only 5'3", so usually short dresses are just the right length. This one was definitely short, even on me. Also, the material of the dress is very thick, and feels like a quilt. Because of the thickness/stiffness of the fabric, the top portion almost had a shoulder pad kind of look. Otherwise, it still looked really good and I got a lot of compliments. I'm glad I rented it and would recommend it. I wore it with dark gray choes and silver bangles and it looked great. It doesn't need much in accessories because of how bold it looks on its own.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
July 18, 2012
Nicer night out in Vegas.
It runs a little tight in the hips/butt area- so if you have more of a pear shape, I would get a size up as your second size. The length is great and very flattering. I loved this dress. It is a little thicker, so I wouldn't wear it to an outdoor event in the summer.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
August 14, 2012
Holiday Party Possibility
I knew this dress was going to be short on me because I have a long torso, but I was planning on wearing black opaque tights with it for a holiday party. It was way way shorter than I imagined. Even my back up size (which was larger) hugged my butt too much and if I bent over slightly you could see my underwear for sure. So only rent this one if you are shorter. Other than the length it was an adorable dress. I wish it could have worked out.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
August 18, 2012
Wasn't able to wear.
I love this dress. Sadly, I wasn't able to wear it to the wedding I planned un because the zipper was broken. However, Customer service was AMAZING! They were not he phone immediately trying to help me fix the situation. They credited my account right away (It was the day of the wedding when I found the zipper wasn't working) and i was able to rent a dress for a GNO that I loved.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
August 20, 2012
The shipping was fast and easy to order! I was getting compliments on my dress all night long.
I rented this dress for my 21st birthday celebrations and loved it! I read that it could run a little small so I got a 2 & a 4 (normally wear a 2/3). The 2 fit but was a little tight and I wanted to be able to move around comfortably so I wore the 4. The dress is also short short short! Thank goodness my legs are pretty short so it wasn't too bad but be careful if your legs are long. I DEFINITELY recommend this dress for something that wants to stand out on a special day, my boyfriend says I was getting double-takes all night!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 138lbs
August 29, 2012
zero stretch to the fabric
Definitely didn't do this girl any favors. The fabric is pretty tight, not tight to the body, but as it has zero stretch, and it was surprisingly heavier than expected. Ended up returning.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
September 3, 2012
Run small but great dress
I rented this dress for a charity event and it looked great but ran very small. I typically wear a size 4 but I had to wear a size 6 and it was still a bit tight. Besides the sizing issues the detail was even prettier in person (it doesn't photograph as well as it looks in person) and I got a lot of compliments. I would definitely recommend this dress if ordered in a larger size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Body type: Straight & narrow
September 4, 2012
Short and tight
Gorgeous dress - no stretch!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
September 7, 2012
Too short, way too tight
I rented this for a rehearsal dinner but decided not to wear it. The fabric has absolutely no give and as such was very tight. In addition, the fit was strange. I expect the dress to be more fitted to my waist. Instead, it was tight at my hips and bust, but baggy around my waist. Also, the extreme shortness of the dress made me uncomfortable. Taking two steps in it made slide right up and reveal my bottom. Not at all appropriate.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 114lbs
September 18, 2012
Beautiful but tight.
This dress was really really beautiful but it was tight for a 2. Also VERY VERY short. I mean Sitting in it was inappropriate.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 5, 2012
Fantastic dress! Does run very small though - I was surprised.
I wore this for my birthday party and it was perfect - dressed up enough but also not overdone. Loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 26, 2012
This dress is so pretty. The color and scalloped details really make this dress something special.
The only issue I had was how small and tight it ran. I had to go up a size larger than my normal larger back up size for this one. The material is very thick and doesn't show much of your shape and it's VERY short. I wore this to a rehearsal dinner and felt a little uncomfortable at times. It's perfect if you plan on standing the whole night but sitting and walking can cause issues at times.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 142lbs
October 29, 2012
sexy color sophisticated style
I was pleased with this dress. However, it was almost thick like one of those patchwork quilts. It felt like a quilt anyway. I didn't expect that from this dress. The dress left me with no shape b/c of the fabric. I didn't think it was too short as other reviews stated. I thought it was a perfect length. Definitely ran small. I was pleased with the dress and felt great wearing it. The fabric was not what I expected
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
December 20, 2012
Stunning RED and beautiful fabric
Love this dress... but didn't end up wearing it because it was too tight in both sizes I ordered. I'm pretty straight and narrow, aside from my generous backside, which came nowhere near fitting into this dress. Gorgeous color and the fabric is luxurious. I'll probably rent again in the correct size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
July 24, 2012
too short and too small
I have large shoulders and not so long legs and this dress wasnt right for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 148lbs
December 27, 2012
Had to send this one back...
I've never had any issues with my RTR rentals until this dress, and had to send it back. I'm 5'10" and thought that it would be long enough if I ordered a size up, but I as wrong. It was super short (too short to even wear tights under) and was super tight through the hips. I'm usually a 6 or 8 and even the 10 didn't fit in this dress. Its a beautiful dress, but I would definitely go with a different style if you're tall or have any sort of hips at all since the fabric has zero give to it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
January 4, 2013
Super short and tight!
I got this dress in a 2 which was obviously a mistake. It was way too short and tight. Other than that, it's a really cute dress that has a bit of stretch to it (or I wouldn't have been able to get it off). I ended up going with another dress because of the fit but I def would have gone with this one if I'd had the foresight to get the 4.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 134lbs
January 4, 2013
I wore this dress to a New Year's Eve party, it fit amazing and I got so many compliments!
The only thing is there isn't much stretch in the fabric, so I had to size up.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
January 9, 2013
Beautiful Dress!
This dress is beautiful. I love the thick material for the winter and it hides any questionable areas, but it runs so small! I would recommend getting one, if not two sizes bigger depending on how tight you want it! I have a larger butt and chest, so it was tight on me one size up!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98lbs
April 7, 2013
It was Valentines Day!
Definitely order atleast one size up!
See more reviews:
1 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×