Crimson Scalloped Dress

$74 to buy
$595 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Look sophisticated and trendy by renting this Robert Rodriguez Collection Crimson Scalloped Dress for a holiday party or birthday dinner. The basic sheath style has a twist of pizazz with the scalloped detail. Wear with Kenneth Jay Lane's Picasso Cuff to complete the look.

Also available in black.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - slightly fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - detail conceals midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model) - curvy women should size up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''. )

Product Details

Red stretch silk. Crew neckline. All over scallop detailing. Hook-and-eye closure. Exposed back zip. 31'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
125 reviews
Fit
Large
(5)
True to Size
(51)
Small
(66)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Age: 26
April 24, 2014
N/a
Runs small and was shorter than I expected. Beautiful dress and received many compliments. Red is as pictured.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Petite
May 5, 2014
Didn't end up wearing it.
I didn't end up wearing this dress because I felt completely in between the two size options, so i could go tight and look inappropriate or up a size a look like i was wearing a shapeless quilt. The fabric is very thick - which is why is doesn't work if you go over your actual size. It's a shame because I like the style overall.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
May 6, 2014
beautiful color!
I ordered the size 8 and 10 for the weekend, received my order around Wednesday, I usually wear a size 8 and it was a little tight but the size 10 was too big, so I wore the size 8, it was a little bit on the short side which I like short dresses but I was going to a party and had my 2 year old with me and had to be picking her up and leaning so it was a little hard for me, i think it was short on me because it fitted a little tight, the size 10 although a little loose was the right length, the dress is well made, fabric is thick and has a lovely pattern, the bright red color was my favorite part
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
May 10, 2014
This is my favorite dress and I will rent it again and again!!!
True fit and the details are stunning.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
May 20, 2014
This dress was too tight.
The dress was too tight and I didn't get to wear it. The fabric was very thick. The top fit fine but the rest of the dress was too tight so going up a size would not have helped.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 28, 2014
Beautiful Color and Detail
I wore this to the annual Red Ball for my local chapter of the Red Cross. In a sea of red dresses I got a ton of compliments and felt great. This did fit very tightly through the hips/thighs and was short but I felt the 6 was baggy in the chest area for me so I went with the smaller size.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133lbs
July 27, 2014
Great color and fabric!
As mentioned in other reviews, it definitely runs on the short side. I felt that the bust area was pretty tight too and had to wear a padded bra to avoid looking completely flat chested. Overall, loved the dress and received multiple compliments throughout the night. Should've taken a better picture to show the dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 15, 2013
Not as short/tight as other reviewers are saying.
I rented the 4 and 6 after reading the reviews that said it would be short and tight. Maybe I am not the size I think I am but the size 4 was neither short nor tight. I tried belting this dress but that didn't help either (see second pic). The quality was great and I wish I could've worn it, though. If you have any sort of waist at all, order your true size (and if you want something tighter/sexier, order down one). This was just too bulgy for me, for New Years Eve. I didn't wear it and ended up buying something new instead. A size 2 would have probably been ok for a work function or something. You can see my pics show plain w/ nude heels, and belted w/ black heels. In the third pic you can see how much extra room there is in the waist, as other reviewers have noted. Also, I have plenty of booty and the dress wasn't even close to being tight back there.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 28, 2014
Fun, flattering dress!
Loved the color! I ordered the 6 and 8 and went with the 8 because the dress is extremely form fitting and very short. The length definitely made it a little scandalous but I loved the fit, it was very flattering. I would choose a size up as a backup when ordering! When I received my dresses there was a whole in the seam of the dress that was very noticeable when I put it on but after talking with customer service they overnighted me a new dress and it was here by 9am the next day! Excellent customer service!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
November 2, 2014
It was my second date at a steakhouse. Luckily the cloth napkin covered most of my lap at dinner :0)
The dress fit was fine but the overall length was very, very short. The dress ended right below my bum. I did not feel comfortable in it at all. It would have been better if it was 5 inches longer!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
November 25, 2014
Liked it but did not love it
I rented this for a birthday dinner with my boyfriend and I liked it but did not love it. The dress ran a bit small. I wore tights which worked well as it was pretty short on me - liked the style but not the fit on myself personally (5'5'' 155lbs 34DD).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
November 25, 2014
Very tight - I couldn't wear it.
I rented this dress for my sorority formal and was unable to wear it because of how tight it was. This dress is not meant for people with full hips! I was very upset that I couldn't wear it - it's beautiful.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
December 4, 2014
Pretty
This was my backup dress so didn't wear it. It fit great though, but quite short (I'm 5'6").
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
December 20, 2014
This was my free birthday dress from purchasing PRO.
The dress was beautiful! It's a lot heavier than it looks. It did run a bit small (and short!) so I sized up for my backup and ended up wearing the 10. This was perfect for a date night!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
December 28, 2014
Pretty dress, but I couldn't wear it. WAY TOO SHORT
The dress was a nice fabric and I ordered a size larger than I usually wear, but it was still WAY too short. I even tried it on with tights but the bottom of the dress didn't even cover my behind. Soo needless to say, I couldn't wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 8, 2015
Bright pop of color with interesting fabric pattern
This dress is short, I'm 5'1 and I even felt a bit self conscious wearing this for Christmas. Apart from the shortness, it was fitted but flattering. I usually don't wear bright colors so this was a welcome change, the material was thick with fabric patterns sown in, so it was warm enough with tight and a jacket.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Body type: Full Bust
November 17, 2010
This dress runs true to size but it does run pretty narrow through the hips and has no stretch to it.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
December 13, 2010
Dress is short! I'm only 5'4" and still felt like it was short - good to wear with black stockings.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 25
March 9, 2016
I wore this for an event for my sorority
I loved the style of this dress, but it was a little box-y for someone who is larger chested. I'm a C-D cup and it was a little unflattering in the chest area and made me seem like a square. However, the material is lovely and it feels great!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
July 14, 2012
My fiance and I were recently engaged at this fundraiser and the photographer took a portrait of us that he ended up giving us rights to and we used it as our engagement announcement in our local papers.
I normally wear an 8 but ordered a 10 as my back-up size and felt much more comfortable in the 10. I loved wearing it and many people told me I should just keep it and not send it back! I did send it back but would not rent it again in a minute!
BriannaNovember 7, 2012
I'm about the same height and weight as you but I have a smaller chest (34B). Did the larger size better accommodate your chest or hips? I was going to order a 6 indefinitely but I was unsure whether to order up or down...
BriannaNovember 7, 2012
other reference point: I typically wear a 7/9 in jeans
RTR CustomerNovember 13, 2012
Hi Brianna! This dress runs a bit small, so I would definitely suggest going a size up for back-up!
LauraNovember 16, 2012
I agree! When I rented this dress I was wearing size 8 pants; the 8 could have worked, but it was snug for sure. I felt much more comfortable in the 10. Sorry for the delayed response! I hope you rented because this has been my favorite of all the RTR dresses I've worn!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 21, 2013
Beautiful & unique!
This dress has very thick material, so it was a little hot. & for me, it was very loose around the stomach. Regardless, I loved it & thought it was perfect for a wedding.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 108lbs
December 20, 2010
The color and texture of this dress are beautiful, but it is definitely snug in the hips and small in the bust. I am just a medium bust, but felt a bit flattened out. I found it also to be a bit loose in the waist. Didn't love the way in fit, but it was such a pretty dress in itself and lets one show off their legs and arms, so the overall effect is good.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Body type: Petite
December 20, 2010
Great dress!! Perfect for holiday parties. I am on the shorter side and it was perfect on me, but probably short for anyone taller. The material is very thick, good for winter events. Fit well and conservative enough for office parties.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
July 5, 2011
I love the detail and color of the dress unfortunately, it is narrow on the hips and a bit too loose on the waist so it makes you look like you have no curves or bottom heavy. i still had a great night wearing the dress though!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
September 13, 2011
True to size, but narrow through the hips with no stretch. This dress was very short on me, but I'm 5'9." Definitely an attention-getter, I received a lot of compliments.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
November 2, 2011
I am 5'2 and 33/27/36, and the size 2 was perfect! It hit right at mid-thigh and was absolutely adorable. This dress seems to be made for petites, so if you have long legs, beware.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Body type: Hourglass
November 7, 2011
Beautiful color and if it wasn't really more of a shift dress I would of liked it better. If you have curves this dress doesn't highlight them like the picture indicates.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 2, 2011
Red Beauty
I have never felt so pretty before! I love how different this dress was for me at my school Homecoming. No one else had such a geometrical dress, and I also got compliments from teachers AND students. I am 5'7" so this dress was a little too short for my liking. ( It was shorter than my fingertips)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
April 2, 2012
Too big
It was too big but the simplicity and design of the dress is where the one star goes to. The size was too big for a typical size 0. I'm 5'5 and weigh 120lbs with an athletic body.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
May 16, 2012
Short and tight but unique
My hips and thighs are pretty proportionate to the rest of my body, but this dress felt very tight on the bottom, and it would ride up, which was uncomfortable. The color and fabric are pretty, and would be best suited for a winter event. Because this dress was tight on the bottom and loose in the waist, it was not very figure flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
August 9, 2012
Wrong Occasion
I ended up in my back-up dress (which I absolutely LOVED), as this one was slightly tighter and shorter than would have been appropriate for the church wedding I attended.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
September 14, 2012
Super cute but didn't wear it because size 2 was too tight around my bum.
Fit is smaller than anticipated as I hardly deviate from a US size 2. Much thicker than I thought it would be.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
September 19, 2012
Great texture, pretty dress!
This dress was really pretty in person and it fit well except that it was a little tight in the hips. The dress is short, I wore it in the winter so I had on tights and added a dressy belt to give it more shape, and a blazer and it looked great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
September 21, 2012
Weird fit.
I ordered both a 2 and a 4 in this dress. The detail was very pretty but the fit was odd. The dress was fitted on the bottom but baggy in the middle. Not flattering at all. This dress would would be cute on someone that is bigger on top and smaller on the bottom.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 108lbs
September 28, 2012
Great vibrant colour!
The dress is pretty short- I know it looks short in the photo, but once it's on, it's even shorter! I would say it's a great dress for the winter because the material is really thick.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
September 30, 2012
Bright red and fun, but misses the mark a bit.
I liked the length (I'm 5'9) which was on the shorter side. It bunched in the middle, so I had to put a belt around it to give it definition. The collar was a bit higher than I expected.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 21, 2012
Sexy Statement
Loved this dress. The rouging was fabulously executed and made such an impact. Before wearing it, however, one should know: 1. it's rather short (or at least on me it was...I could barely sit and had to do so carefully) 2. the material is heavy (all that rouging) 3. it can get a bit snug around the bum if you've got one like I do. Still totally feasible though. Overall I loved the dress and don't regret renting it in the slightest!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
October 23, 2012
Loved the fabric detail!
I think that for petite women, you might find it runs large in the shoulders and waist. I paired it with a black cinched belt and it really did the trick. The fabric is also quite thick and makes me think it is more of a winter dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
November 11, 2012
I got this for a bachelorette party.
This is very tight fitting to the body, and short. I loved it for a girl's night out. The color was bright and perfect.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
December 18, 2012
To short and not flattering
I am 5'7", small chested and normally wear a size 0. I rented the available size 2 and it was way too short. It barely covered by (small) butt. There was no way I would be able to sit down or dance in this dress. It was very flattering on thin/ boyish shaped woman. I wouldn't recommend this dress
See more reviews:
3 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×