Cap Sleeve Swirl Mini

$30 – $40 rental
$660 retail
Stylist Notes

This Robert Rodriguez Collection dress is the perfect modern LBD for any season. This shift creates a spectacular shape on any figure and works with or without tights. The dress' jersey lining is so comfortable that you won't want to take it off.

Also available in blue.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - slightly fitted at bust so size up in back-up size for full bust
WAIST: Fitted - embroidery conceals midsection and lower abdomen
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow so size up in back-up size for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types (Models height is 5'10". )

Product Details

Black 100% nylon embroidery. Short sleeves. Exposed back zip. Jersey lining. About 31" from shoulder to hem. Models height is 5'10".

Share
1075 reviews
Fit
Large
(47)
True to Size
(664)
Small
(222)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
August 15, 2010
Uber cool with black tights. A sweatshirt lining is second skin comfy and a structured overlay and shoulders turn a pear shape into an hourglass.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
August 24, 2010
Love this dress! It's easy to wear and very comfortable, though the thicker lining makes it a better wear for the Fall/Winter, rather than the Summer. The cap sleeves are a bit small for those with broad shoulders but I'd highly recommend the purchase.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
September 6, 2010
This dress is awesome. My body type is some where between athletic and petite. I have small shoulders and not very wide hips, so I ordered a 2 and it fit perfectly. I could have gone down a size but, like another reviewer, I agree it does runs narrow through the hips. The way that the shoulders are cut, it gives a perfect hour glass shape. I paired it with the silver version of the Gemma Redux necklaces pictured and it looked awesome! The sweatshirt lining is very thick so I wouldn't recommend it for a hot summer night, but perfect for a cool night out or pair it with tights! I'm 5'5", 34-27-38 and ordered a size 2. Hope this helps! Happy Renting!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Body type: Straight & narrow
September 28, 2010
Loved the structured nature of the dress and the cap sleeves. I got tons of compliments. It was short, which was a sexy zing to a conservative dress
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Body type: Apple
October 18, 2010
I absolutely love this dress! It is super comfortable, and the unique detailing is beautiful. I received many, many compliments when I wore this. If I had to say one thing about the fit, it's that there was excess fabric in the hip area; the shoulders fit fine for me.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Body type: Petite
October 24, 2010
First, when I got this dress, I thought it made me look a bit boxy from the side. BUT a pair of Spanx solved all that. I got a size 0 and wore it without tights. Paired with nude hidden platform stilletos and a few chunky necklaces, it really looked red-carpet amazing. I was very happy with the reception it got! I got a size 0 and at 5'4"/103 pounds, it was the perfect size..yay!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
December 5, 2010
This is a great, comfy dress and worked really well for my petite (read: short) but not tiny (read: curvy). I will caution: If you want to wear tights underneath you may want to go a size up, as the fabric will grip through the hips and may tend to ride up. Other than that it's super cute and worth the rental!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 9, 2010
I wore this to the Twilight Saga: Eclipse premiere and it was perfect. I was a little nervous, since I've got hips, that it wouldn't fit right but it ran perfect to size and it was comfortable. I was able to sit through the movie and party like a rockstar at the after party. I highly recommend this dress!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
December 20, 2010
This dress was as comfortable as it was beautiful. one thing to keep in mind: this dress is extremely short; I wore it with the suggested spanx sheer black super sharper tights and the dress was so short the thicker shaping section of the tights was just at the edge of the hem while standing; and an inch showing while sitting. Nevertheless, I received compliments all evening!
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Body type: Straight & narrow
December 11, 2010
Awsome awsome awsome dress, I got compliments for days in it. The picture does not do the quality of the dress and intricate handiwork justice!!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Body type: Petite
January 3, 2011
This dress was definitely a hit, the texture made it more unique other little black dresses, and I received many compliments. I do have to say though that for my body type (bigger hips and shoulders, smaller waist), the sizing was a bit off. While the dress was tight and form fitting around my shoulders/bust and hips, it was quite loose around my stomach and I had to wear a belt. I chose to wear a black braided one which actually looked cool with the texture/pattern of the dress, but I would have rather been able to wear it without. But overall, I was still really happy with this dress and would recommend it, especially to those who have a straighter figure.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Body type: Petite
February 18, 2011
I'm pretty petite so the 0 was teeny bit loose, but not noticeable to anyone but me. I was worried about the dress being too long but it is the perfect short length for shorties like me and SUPER comfy too!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
March 7, 2011
Very thick dress-too much fabric. I am all bust and then straight from there down so it just looked like I was wearing a huge dress. And I got it in a 0!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
April 11, 2011
Loved it! I wore this to a fall wedding with tights and felt so comfortable all night (and warm). I missed RTR's description of the length, so it was much shorter than I would typically choose and required some creativity when getting in and out of taxis.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
June 15, 2011
Loved this dress. Wore it without tights and it was very short. Wore a size two and it fit great, not to tight or loose. I don't have hips so it may be tight for those that do, 5'7 and 115 pounds.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
August 5, 2011
I got several compliments on my dress throughout the night!
I LOVED wearing this dress! I rented it for my Bachelorette party at the end of April in Philly. I thought it was incredibly comfortable - it has a sweatshirt lining which others have said makes it more of a Fall/Winter dress, but I disagree. I wasn't too hot in it, and we did drinks and dancing. The cap sleeves are a little snug, but I was expecting worse from those who complained about them in their reviews. They were just fine. For me, I'm 5 feet tall and about 115 lb...I ordered a 2 and a 4 and went with the 2. The length was perfect - a cute little mini skirt. I would definitely recommend it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
June 15, 2011
Loved it :)
This dress looked amazing. I got many compliments. It's a much thicker material than I had anticipated. This made the dress more structured, not clingy. This makes it better for someone with curves. If you are fairly straight, it will look boxy. It definitely shapes the body. I'm short and the dress was very short even on me. But it's very sexy and different.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
August 2, 2011
I loved having a great classy dress for the occasion. The style and fit suited me perfectly.
I wore this to a rehearsal dinner for a wedding in Colorado. The jersey lining was comfy and warm when the evening started to get cooler. The dress was a little too short for me and made it hard to sit in, but other than that I loved the tailored fit and detailing.
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 25, 2011
Very cute dress. I am pretty short and the dress was extremely short on me. Great for a cocktail party but be prepared for it to be itsy bitsy.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Body type: Straight & narrow
September 9, 2011
This dress is amazing and I got so many compliments!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
September 14, 2011
When I rented this dress there was only a size 4 available. Normally I am between a size 4 and a size 6 (I'm 5'9'', 128 pounds, pear/hourglass). The size 4 fit well but it was REALLY short! Short as in, you can't sit down without people getting a peek:-) I wore it for my bachelorette party in Vegas so the length worked, but I would have liked to have compared it with the size 6 as I would have been more comfortable with a few more inches. Otherwise the dress was a hit and so much fun! I rented the "Tuleste Market Black Magic Earrings" paired with a matching bracelet I own and the outfit came together perfectly.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
October 11, 2011
Since I am almost a full foot shorter than the model I assumed that it wouldnt be short on me.....I was wrong. The dress was still too short to wear to a corporate event. Also I guess my torso is/was too short for the dress because I got this weird poofage in my back. :-( Pretty dress though it did not work for me.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
November 2, 2011
Gorgeous dress, very fashionable, but very short. Rented it to wear to a wedding and felt it was a little inappropriate for the occasion, even though I'm all for short dresses. I would rent this again, but only to wear to going out or with tights for a cocktail party.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 90lbs
December 14, 2011
great LBD
I am 4'11" and had to be very picky about what dress I chose... this one worked perfectly for my height! Hit about 2-3 inches above the knee, fit well through the shoulders, bust, and hips. I have a small waist, so the only issue I had was a little bagginess through the waist. It wasn't SO baggy that it looked bad though... just didn't look like it does on the model! Overall, great dress... perfect for a wedding or cocktail party and no necklace is needed really because of the great swirl detail.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
March 5, 2012
I originally ordered a different dress, but when I tried it on, it fit terribly! I immediately called RTR and asked to have this dress shipped instead. I can't say enough about how helpful the RTR staff was. My second dress arrived the same day, just in time for my event! I love you RTR!
I've rented this dress for two different cocktail parties. It looks great with or without tights, needs very little jewelry, and is honestly the most comfortable and flattering dress I've found. It's form fitting without being too tight and the liner is super soft. Great for dancing! Can't say enough good things about this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
August 9, 2012
Super short
I rented this dress for a backup to my bachelorette, but unfortunately could not wear it. My butt was hanging out the back! The rest of the dress fit, though. It was so comfortable too. I was really disappointed. The dress was still amazing though, so I would definitely recommend it if you are not tall.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
August 12, 2012
great LBD!
I love this dress. I wore it for a friends bachelorette party. I wore the size 2, the fit is really flattering and the dress was appropriately short. I would most definitively rent this again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 15, 2012
Little Black Dress
I loved the look of the dress. However, being 5'2, most things are pretty long on me and this dress was actually a little shorter than it looked. The material is also jersey or jersey-like underneath so it was a little hot for an August rehearsal dinner! It's also a pretty heavy dress but it still looked great on!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
August 17, 2012
Beautiful dress
This dress was so comfortable--the lining was a little warm so it's really better for winter events. It fit perfectly though and the length was perfect for me since I'm short.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 144lbs
August 22, 2012
"That's one foxy dress"
I rented this after I already rented 2 other dresses for a Vegas Bachelorette Party. After reading about how one of the dresses ran small I spoke with Heather/Megan B. (? sorry I typed name on my phone but lost phone in Vegas!) and she recommended this one. It fit like a glove! I usually rent 8 but so glad I got the 6 too. The 8 wasn't too bad but the 6 was definitely more of a vanity thing. :) The lining inside the dress will keep you warm, it's almost like sweat pants lining. Very comfortable dress to move around in! This has been one of my top faves and I never would have gotten this dress had it not been for the stylist from RTR!!!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
September 3, 2012
This dress makes you feel sexy and look like a million bucks! All the girls in our party wanted to know all about rent the runway after this one.
I love love love this dress, It was perfect for our trip to Vegas for a Bachelorette party, it is a little conservative on top, but the sexiness on the bottom between the super short length and scalloped hem really made my legs look amazing. The dress has some stretch which was great. It was a little hot for Labor Day weekend in Vegas, but it doesn't really matter what you wear it'll be hot. I would rent it again.
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 49
Body type: Pear
October 25, 2011
Beautiful fit and super comfortable!! Wore it with black tights and ankle booties, and it looked very cool!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118lbs
September 10, 2012
LOVED this dress!
I felt like a well-dressed spy. A little understated and very sexy. Perfect for a cooler evening, the dress is warm. The hemline is on the shorter side but because it has sleeves it doesn't look scandalous.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
September 13, 2012
Great party, awesome dress!
I have a small frame, but I do have hips and this dress was very flattering. It was made of thick material, which was nice because I felt it masked all my worry areas. It was also very comfortable. It was pretty short though, so not the best dress for dancing or moving around a lot! Also, the material does not have a lot of give, so it was pretty tight around my bust.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
September 14, 2012
Amazing Dress!!
This is my new favorite dress! It is absolutely gorgeous, I highly recommend it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
September 17, 2012
Super fun for a night out in NYC!
This dress has NO STRETCH so be honest and pick the right size! I requested the 0 and 2 - both fit, but the 2 was just more comfy AND the 0 had a tiny tear in the seam at the shoulder. RTR team was great though so it wasnt an issue!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
September 20, 2012
Wore the dress for "law school prom" it was a perfect choice!
I thought it was good with tights because it was a tad short, especially for the winter!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
September 24, 2012
Looked amazing!
Definitely needed to go up a size since the fabric has no give, but looks fabulous!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
September 26, 2012
pretty up close, weird fit
The dress was pretty up close but the fit was awkward on me. I am very petite with a normal chest and it was too tight at the top and in the shoulders. It did not flatter me and even made me look stumpier and shorter. The length hit about mid thigh, maybe a little lower. I would recommend this dress to an extremely thin person, other than that dont waste your time and get a better dress that this site has to offer.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
September 30, 2012
Super flattering and comfortable dress!
For a petite frame, this dress fits amazingly well. Looked great w sheer black nylons for a chilly fall night too. Just the right length on me ( and I don't say that often for dresses I haven't shortened given that I'm only 5'0". My sister who is 5'5" with a long torso found the dress too short and the hips didn't fall in the right place in the dress on her. So, definitely a dress that will work well for ladies on the petite side of the height spectrum. I got lots of complements on the dress and questions about who made it and where I got it. It was easily my favorite dress I've rented so far from RTR and I'm already considering renting this same dress again for another event I liked it so much!
View photos (2)
See more reviews:
1 / 27

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×