Cap Sleeve Swirl Mini

$30 – $40 rental?
$660 retail
Stylist Notes

This Robert Rodriguez Collection dress is the perfect modern LBD for any season. This shift creates a spectacular shape on any figure and works with or without tights. The dress' jersey lining is so comfortable that you won't want to take it off.

Also available in blue.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - slightly fitted at bust so size up in back-up size for full bust
WAIST: Fitted - embroidery conceals midsection and lower abdomen
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow so size up in back-up size for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types (Models height is 5'10". )

Product Details

Black 100% nylon embroidery. Short sleeves. Exposed back zip. Jersey lining. About 31" from shoulder to hem. Models height is 5'10".

Share
1070 reviews
Fit
Large
(47)
True to Size
(663)
Small
(222)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 38
June 14, 2017
Loved the dress!!
This was my first time to use RTR...will definitely be a returning customer!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
June 12, 2017
great party dress
this dress was perfect. i'm pretty short so it hit perfectly for me but would be too long on someone tall. it fit in my hips/butt, but it was kind of loose in my waist and there was plenty of room in the sleeves. really no problems with this dress, i loved it
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 30, 2017
This fit like a glove! I absolutely loved it. It is very short though, and I'm only 5'1.
Best for shorter girls.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Weight: 115lbs
May 23, 2017
Thick material, high quality dress, short and sassy!
This dress was great! I'm shorter, the dress was a little short. I rented the 2 with a back-up size of a 4, I probably could have worn a 0 in this dress, but the length would have been iffy then! It's a heavy material which was perfect for a chilly spring wedding, paired with a sweater. It doesn't feel super short until you sit down. Love the dress though! Conservative top! I received a lot of compliments! There are small shoulder pads in the dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
May 13, 2017
I absolutely loved this dress!
It was tight but not too tight and fit your body really well. The lining on the inside of the dress made it super comfortable. It was very flattering, I got a ton of compliments.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
May 6, 2017
Good clubbing dress
Looked great. Thick material that was very flattering. Short, but wearable, even if you're on the taller side. 4 stars only because the size 0 did look a little bit worn.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
May 4, 2017
Great fit!
Was a little short! But was very comfortable!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
April 24, 2017
Wore this for my 32nd birthday party at a lounge with friends.
Looked and felt great-really fabulous material. Does ride up a bit but it wasn't a problem. Received a ton of compliments. Would definitely suggest it as a rental.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
April 23, 2017
Ideal for slim / tall narrow bodies. Not meant for hourglass / athletic / busty figures
Material is heavy, stretchy and wonderful feeling. You can spot a $300+ dress from it's craftsmanship, something I love from RTR. Unfortunately, this dress is meant for thin, slim hipped small breasted women. The dress fit but exposed my butt cheeks! Absolutely not appropriate to wear outside the house - my husband was dying laughing zipping me up. . I am 5'5 34D/DD with a 65% WHR (waist hip ratio). Halston Heritage, Erin Erin Fetherston, Marchesa Voyage & Rachel Roy size 8 all fit me perfectly. This dress is meant for narrow hipped, small breasted straight/narrow builds. And it is DEFINITELY not work appropriate UNLESS you are 5'3 or below and slim/narrow build. . Women 5'4-5'7 this is a short dress, absolutely meant for a date night but not for a cocktail hour or formal dinner. DO NOT rent this if you're taller than 5'7, you WILL be exposed!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
April 20, 2017
Unique, Stylish Dress
I've worn this dress in blue and loved the fit. It fits perfectly so that it's slimming and attractive. I would warn that this dress runs short. I usually wear a size 0, but needed to wear the size 2 because of the length. It was difficult to sit without covering my lap or pulling down my dress before standing up. Otherwise, fantastic dress and received so many compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 10, 2017
Really flattering and great quality!
Would recommend
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
April 9, 2017
Great dress, but short
I'm 5'-3" 110 lbs and the 2 fit perfectly. I should have listened to the other reviews because this dress is short! I did receive a lot of compliments throughout the night and it was comfortable.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 9, 2017
So comfortable and so many compliments!
Wore this to a charity fundraiser with a Studio 54 theme. It was so comfortable and I got so many compliments at the event and after at the bar too! Love this dress. Wish I owned it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
March 31, 2017
Perfect dress for co-workers wedding!
Loved this dress! I wore a 2 over the 0 for a little looser more "shift" fit. Great for short gals like me! This dress was actually a backup that was sent out when there was a problem with my backup size and I chose it over the original dress I ordered! Would rent again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
March 30, 2017
Cute but small!
I didn't end up wearing it because it was too small and tight. It fit but would've been uncomfortable. I would recommend sizing up at least one if not two sizes for this dress. Will try again though because I do love this pattern!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
March 27, 2017
I got sooo many compliments on the dress
I ordered the 0 with a back up of 2 and I'm so glad I did the back up. It's a little small to fit. It's not the easiest to move in, but for a sorority formal it worked perfectly fine. I really liked the dress and I got a lot of compliments on it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
March 27, 2017
NYC Night Out
I wore this dress for a date night with my husband while visiting NYC. At the time I was still losing some baby weight and even my larger backup dress was a little snug which made it a bit uncomfortable. The dress was shorter than I expected it to be so I had to be a bit aware all night. Probably wouldn't rent again just due to the length.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 26
March 12, 2017
Perfect for shorter, petite girls!
I rented this dress for a rehearsal dinner and it was perfect! The dress is a thicker material which was nice because it was a cold night. It was a tight fit but I was still able to move around in it. Got so many compliments! Would rent this again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
March 7, 2017
Perfect Vegas night out dress
Dress is very comfortable but quite short. Great for a fun girls night out!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
March 6, 2017
Definitely a va va voom situation!
I rented this dress for a bridesmaid brunch & it certainly made me feel sleek & sexy. It fit true to size, and was snug enough that I didn't have to bother with a bra. It was on the short side, so I might not opt for this piece if you're taller (and opposed to being ALL leg.) Personally, I felt like it made me look taller-- especially paired with heels. Quality was exceptional & I also got a ton of compliments. Someone called my outfit "sassy." Totally would wear this again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 124lbs
March 4, 2017
I'm in love!
This was my first rent the runway experience and I was blown away. This dress was so comfortable and flattering. I received TONS of compliments that night and had a hard time sending it back because I wanted to keep it!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
February 27, 2017
Love this dress!!
This is one of my favorite dresses ever! I previously had rented this dress in the blue in the past and would recommend the black! It fits like a glove. The dress is a little short but it looks great!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
February 14, 2017
Short and sassy
I wore this to a super bowl party at a club. It's very short but since the top is very covered up, it didn't cheapen the look. It does not have any stretch or give which was fine for me because the size two fit great. I did feel like the dress ran small so I would recommend renting a size up. You can't squeeze yourself into it because there is zero stretch. I would def rent it again. It was very comfortable and stood out!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
February 13, 2017
Vegas date with my husband
I loved this dress. The fit was great for me. It was a little short, but I didn't mind considering it was for a getaway a weekend with my husband in Vegas. I like how the material was thicker, perfect for a chiller night. The dress made me feel sexy and I would definitely recommend it ! Husband loves it as well!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
February 13, 2017
I love love love this dress
Definitely listen when people are saying that this dress is short! I loved the pattern and the fit and style! It was pretty funny when I realized that there are shoulder pads in this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 12, 2017
True to size, but short!
Nice, thick material that fits true to size. Dress does run short, but worked perfectly for me since I am short.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
February 11, 2017
So awesome!
This dress was so amazing. Only downside is the length. I couldn't bend over! The larger size would have been too baggy so I went with the 8, my normal size and just dealt with it. Really comfortable and cute design. Padded shoulders! I have worn the blue one as well. Both are amazing!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
February 9, 2017
Perfect dress for New Year's Party!
This was actually my second time renting this dress, so I obviously love it! I wore this dress for a New Year's party and received so many compliments. It was comfortable to wear and the material is a bit heavy so it kept me warm even though it was a short dress. Loved the style, fit, and look!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
February 2, 2017
Modern Geometrics for NYE!
This dress has a unique pattern that will flatter any shape. I am 5'2" and the dress came to the perfect mid-thigh length. The fabric was nice quality and fairly warm for a "winter" night in Florida.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 22, 2017
Classy and professional
Received several compliments throughout the night. My only complaint is that it kept riding up on my hips, so I constantly had to pull it back down.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Weight: 115lbs
January 8, 2017
too short
way too short. otherwise true to size. i didn't wear it because i felt id be too uncomfortable feeling like i couldn't sit down without it coming up too high
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 20
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
January 7, 2017
Got compliments all night!
This dress was perfect for NYE. I ordered a 6 and an 8 and ended up wearing the 8. Got compliments all night, but beware this dress does ride up when sitting!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 97lbs
January 7, 2017
Comfortable and flattering dress
I wore this dress to a New Years Eve party. It was comfortable (thick, semi-stretchy material) and flattering (but not too tight). The length was perfect for me, but I'm 5'1". Would rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 3, 2017
Fun LBD
I ordered the 0 with a backup size of 2. The 0 fit well, but the 2 was huge. There was a very big difference between the two sizes. Also, the 2 had shoulder pads attached inside, while the 0 did not. However, the 0 was true to size, and fit like a glove. As other reviewers said, it was a bit short, but not in a bad way...with the high neckline and short sleeves, I thought the short length made it fun and sexy. The fabric was nice and thick, which was great for this time of year (winter). Also, the inside lining of the dress was a very thick, jersey-like, fabric, which made it nice, soft, and comfy. Perfect for a date night with my husband!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
January 2, 2017
Great replacement dress, perfect for the occasion
This dress was a replacement for one that didn't work out. It runs small (I could have gone a size up), but I made it work and it looked great! The shoulder pads are a bit strange and made me feel broad, but my friends said that they didn't notice that at all. It is very short, but perfect for a night out. Very flattering pattern.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 116lbs
January 1, 2017
Great party dress for NYE!
Dress was really fun and fit like a glove standing up. However, sitting down the dress hiked up very high and exposed a lot of skin, so beware! Heavy material, so not so much for summer or wearing in miami. Also, appeared worn down and a little pilly material since it's been worn quite a bit, but don't really notice when wearing at night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 27, 2016
Cute on the model, but not me!
The good: it didn't look too short if I stood still. Heavier material kept me from getting too cold and I liked the pattern/color, although it was getting a bit worn. Paired with black heels and green earrings and clutch for Wicked! The not so good: walking from our public transportation stop to the theater, in SF, at night, in winter, in heels... I felt extremely uncomfortable in a dress so short. I didn't have tights handy, which would have helped! When the style notes say mini they mean it!! My height is all in my long torso and that definitely came through in this dress. It fit fine everywhere else, but since it had no stretch and rode up while walking, it won't work for me again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 22, 2016
Great Party Dress
This dress was fun and high quality. Slightly tight in the chest and arms. Fabric was very comfortable - has a jersey knit under the pattern on top. Appropriate for a work party but still fun.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Weight: 125lbs
December 5, 2016
Loved this dress! The design was amazing and the fit was perfect
I typically wear between a 4-6, the 6 was more comfortable so I wore that. Overall, a beautiful fun dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 5, 2016
Loved this dress! Good for short people.
I usually wear a 2 (sometimes even 0) for dresses, but, the 4 was perfect. So size up! Also, being only 5 '2 it's hard to find a dress that hits mid-thigh, which was the look I was going for. But this dress it great - sucks you in, so your bod feels nice and tight. Great for winter party. No complaints, the quality was great too.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 27

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×