Cap Sleeve Swirl Mini

$30 – $50 rental?
$660 retail
Delivery + Return Dates
Stylist Notes

This Robert Rodriguez Collection dress is the perfect modern LBD for any season. This shift creates a spectacular shape on any figure and works with or without tights. The dress' jersey lining is so comfortable that you won't want to take it off. Shown here with the AV Max's On The Verge Earrings.

Also available in blue.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - slightly fitted at bust so size up in back-up size for full bust
WAIST: Fitted - embroidery conceals midsection and lower abdomen
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow so size up in back-up size for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types (Models height is 5'10". )

Product Details

Black 100% nylon embroidery. Short sleeves. Exposed back zip. Jersey lining. About 31" from shoulder to hem. Models height is 5'10".

Share
1048 reviews
Fit
Large
(47)
True to Size
(653)
Small
(219)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Age: 25
November 30, 2014
Loved this dress!!! <3
I rented this dress for a wine mixer... And thank god I did!!! I felt amazing the whole night. It wasn't too tight and while I was concerned it would be too short... It wasn't!! I got tons of compliments on it and it definitely stood out. Ugh!! Wish I could buy it. But the experience was great and going to be renting again very soon. LESSON TO TAKE AWAY: rent this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
November 27, 2014
Perfect dress for a fraternity formal
Flattering fit all throughout the night, unique and different. comfortable sweatshirt material that keeps you warm.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
November 26, 2014
So short!
Loved the detail of the dress and the material of it. Wanted to love this and wear it but it was so so short! While I was trying it on around the house I was constantly pulling it down. When I slightly bent over I felt like my cheeks are out and def felt uncomfortable sitting! Also, I am only around 5"4.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
November 26, 2014
Large shoulder pads, runs small.
It's hard to tell from the picture but the dress has built in shoulder pads that are pretty large, so it has an 80's vibe to it. It also runs small, I wore a 4 and am usually a 2. Thank goodness for backup sizes!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
November 26, 2014
I wore this dress for my best friend's bachelorette party in New Orleans!
The fabric is very thick and doesn't stretch much at all. It was a cold night so it was perfect, but I wouldn't recommend for a summer night. The fit ran a little small, but overall was a great option for my night out!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
November 24, 2014
SUPER short!
I rented this for a party at a casino-- I ordered the 2 and 4 based on reviews. The 2 was too snug on my chest, but fit the rest of my body nicely-- however it was SO short that it was unwearable. I own shirts that are longer than this. I am 5'1, so I'm not sure who would possibly be able to wear this dress in this size. The 4 fit my chest but seemed a little baggy on my stomach area-- making my flat stomach look not flat. The 4 was also super short so I wasn't able to wear that either. The dress is pretty, but the material is so bulky that it will definitely make you look a little thicker than you really are. Wouldn't rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
November 24, 2014
Short & classy
Ended up with this since my 1st choice didn't fit, I wore this on a cold night although it was short sleeve (& the shoulders were a bit constricting) because it was a thick material. Understated sexy.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
November 24, 2014
Loved it and will rent again !
The pattern is awesome. Very thick fabric. Has small shoulder pads which was odd but did make the dress look better. The 0 was still a tad large and wish it hugged just a bit more on me.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 23, 2014
SO fun talking to all the ladies who also got their dress from RTR!
I am normally a size two, which fit fine, but it was a little bit too tight and short for the occasion. I made a last minute switch to the 4 and it fit perfectly! It is a very heavy material and the shoulder pads felt awkward at first but ended up being just fine! Perfect LBD for the night!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Body type: Hourglass
November 19, 2014
I had a great date and a great dress... what more can a girl ask for?
Really great dress! It was a little loose on my stomach, but thats not a bad thing :) The dress was really comfortable and easy to move in.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
November 19, 2014
Sadly, it just didn't fit right.
I rented this dress in both a 6 and an 8 to wear on my birthday. Unfortunately neither size was very flattering, as it was too short or too boxy up top, so I did not end up wearing it. I have seen other people wear this dress though and it seems to have worked on them.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
November 18, 2014
This dress is absolutely gorgeous!!! I received a ton of compliments!! Everyone loved it!
I ordered the size 0 and 2. Both fit, but I went with the 2 because the 0 was too short! It actually hides all your flaws and makes you look amazing! My husband absolutely loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
November 18, 2014
Showcased my booty perfectly
I wore this dress to Spark's annual Black and Pink Ball, a not-for-profit I'm involved with that helps fund raise for women's organizations around the world. It is a pretty classy affair, though the crowd is young so I needed something elegant without being stuffy (or long). This dress fit the bill perfectly. I was nervous that the form fitting nature of the dress wouldn't fit my booty since I have wide hips (38") vs my waist (26"), but it was totally fine. Would totally rent again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
November 16, 2014
Wore it a night out in Vegas.
Fit true to size. It's short but because it's snugger around the hips, the dress never rides up. It's a very comfortable and pretty dress. It's one that I'd definitely rent again.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
November 14, 2014
Love this dress!
I wore this dress for my birthday dinner/party with friends. It was short I am small so it was ok on me. I am am 5'3" so anyone taller may find it to be too short. It was very cold the night I wore it but it was surprisingly warm. I think it would also look cute with black tights for a more wintery look.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
November 12, 2014
Great fit! Love this dress!
This dress holds you in and shapes your body. A little short but the modest sleeves and neckline balance it out.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
November 11, 2014
The dress looks great and such great quality
The dress was alittle big up top, but wasn't anything major.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
November 10, 2014
Runs large not a good fit
Didn't end up using this dress runs large
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
November 8, 2014
A LBD but better
I usually wear a size 4 but the size two fit perfect. It is a thick material so it kept me warm and it was a perfect length.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 19
Body type: Straight & narrow
November 6, 2014
The dress fit great and was comfortable to move around in, also thick and warm.
Was a little short, but a length that I was comfortable with.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
November 5, 2014
Was not the best
Really short and does not have much stretch- annoying in the arms and when I sat down.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 61
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
November 4, 2014
I wore this dress for my best friend's son's wedding. I received dozens of compliments!
My main problem with dresses is the length, they are always too long since I am only 5'4. A common comment in the reviews of this dress was that it is "very short", which was a big factor in my choosing it. The size 4 was by far too tight, and although I felt the size 6 was a bit large over the hips, no one agreed with me, so I guess my concerns were unfounded! I felt great in this dress, the length was exactly what I wanted. Most people my age do not wear short dresses, and it is difficult to find one that isn't "too young" for me, but this was the perfect dress for me. This was my first Rent the Runway experience, and it couldn't have been smoother....I will absolutely be back! Thanks RTR!!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
November 4, 2014
So many compliments!
True to size and very short . I'm 4'10... So this worked out perfectly... Compliments all night ...it was a nice thick material ... And it was perfect for a chilly New Orleans night paired with tights and pumps. Highly recommend this if you are a petite girl like me. Will be using RTR again for sure! Amazing service!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
November 3, 2014
Pretty dress but way too short
I didn't end up wearing the dress. I'm usually a size 4 and ordered the 6 and 8 for a wedding after reading reviews that the dress is rather short. There was no way I could have pulled off the 6. It was extremely short. The 8 could have worked lengthwise but was rather large in the waist area. The quality of the dress was great it just would not work for what I needed it for.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
November 2, 2014
I received so many compliments and felt amazing!
The fit was true to size but it was very short. I am 5'5 and was a bit self-conscious constantly pulling it down all night. It is an amazing dress and I absolutely love it but I think wearing it to a wedding where I was dancig around family members wasn't the best choice. This dress would be amazing for a night out and I probably would rent again for a different affair.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
November 2, 2014
The material on this dress is amazing.
I loved the jersey look underneath the black which although it wasn't leather it look like it did. It just had a great edgy but elegant look to it. I would have worn it had they had my backup size. I was only sent a 4 since the 6 was unavailable. The 6 would have been the best fit. The 4 fit but was just too snug.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
November 2, 2014
Gorgeous dress!
This dress was GREAT for my homecoming, although it did run a size or so small. And the material is stiff, not stretchy at all, making it slightly difficult to do extensive movement. And the dress is also very short. i did like how it looked, but if you don't like shorter dresses it isnt for you.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
November 1, 2014
Great dress! Not for pear shapes, but never claimed to be
I had been dying to rent this dress for months and finally had the perfect opportunity. I am sort of a petite pear--0 on the top, 4 on the bottom--so I went with a 2 and a 4 assuming I'd end up in the 2. However, as other reviews mention, this dress has NO STRETCH whatsoever and is on the short side, so I went with the 4. It fit nice and snug on the bottom but was a little loose on top, which I expected. I danced in it all night with no problems! I would definitely rent this dress again. Just beware--as my title suggests, this is probably better for hourglass or straight and narrow shapes because if you are curvier on the top or bottom like I am, one end of the dress will definitely fit differently than the other.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 30, 2014
Easy to deal with
I rented this dress for a wedding. I received a ton of compliments. Fit tight on my chest but stomach area was lose. I was worried about the length but it was fine. I also had to try on with a few different bras achieve the right look. I would rent it again for a night out.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
October 29, 2014
Great safety dress!
So... I let fall season get the better of me and gained a few lb. I was going to a charity function and I wanted to get a dress that would hide the extra baggage and look great! I had a friend rent this dress in blue and she highly recommended it. I ordered a 6 and an 8 (I am usually a 6) and the 8 fit perfectly. The 6 was a tad too short. This dress was simple yet fun. So if you're looking for something that will look good for all body types, this is the dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
October 26, 2014
It was nice to know exactly what I'd be wearing - no scrambling to find a new look from my closet.
I liked the texture of the dress and thickness, which helped me keep warm for the fall wedding I attended. It required just simple accessories and worked well with flats. However, it was even shorter than I expected so I ended up wearing a black dress under it to extend at least an inch. It was so short you could see the darker part of the shaper part of my pantyhose when I sat! The larger size was not longer and was just too big so went with my real dress size. I wore "Assets" tights by Sara Blakely (Spanx brand at Target). Nobody really complemented the dress but my friend thought I lost weight.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
October 22, 2014
Rented for a date night -- ended up being my engagement dress!
This dress was perfect for celebrating an anniversary with my boyfriend -- even more perfect when he surprised me with a proposal! Photographs well and I got a million compliments -- will warn that it does run VERY short. Wore it with heels and had to be very careful when sitting down/getting up.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
October 22, 2014
Perfect dress!
Fits perfectly, looks sophisticated, a great choice for a fall event because the lining is thicker. Beautiful and unique dress and photographs well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
October 22, 2014
Obsessed with this dress!
This was my first time using RTR and it will not be my last. I wish I could own this dress forever! I was worried it would be super short based on the reviews but I thought that it was fine, even for a wedding. The material was nice and thick and the size 4 fit me perfectly. It was a really comfortable dress to wear all night long and I got tons of compliments on it. I might even rent the blue one for a friends birthday weekend next month!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
October 21, 2014
Cute and Short
I loved this dress even though it was a little short. It was snug along the bust, shoulders and thighs. However, it did bunch around the belly area. Had I been able to rent the size 4, I would have tried it on. This is a very short dress, but I liked it and thought that it was great for a wedding reception.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
October 21, 2014
Cute dress... wish it hadn't been in better condition
Very cute dress and perfect for a fun night out but definitely could tell it had been worn multiple times before which was disappointing. Very short even for someone under 5' 5" so be prepared!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
October 21, 2014
Very cute - wore it to a wedding rehearsal dinner and everyone loved it and complimented on it.
Thick material - good for colder weather Short length - I'm only 5ft and it felt short, don't wear if you're going to a super conservative event
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 21, 2014
Perfect dress
Comfortable, flattering
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
October 20, 2014
This dress was incredibly comfortable and flattering!
This cap-sleeved dress was very flattering and was not your average shift dress. The dress gave me a shape and was very soft (it really does feel like like a soft, light sweatshirt). I opted to wear the size 6 because of the length of the dress (it added an inch or two compared to the size 4). Therefore, I'd recommend ordering a size up and coupling this dress with black stockings. All in all, I recommend this dress for a special occasion or date night!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 20, 2014
Amazing dress - very chic.
Thick fabric so it's best in cooler weather. This dress is short and tends to ride up when you're seated.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
9 / 27

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×