Robert Rodriguez Collection

Cap Sleeve Swirl Mini

$40 rental
$660 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This Robert Rodriguez Collection dress is the perfect modern LBD for any season. This shift creates a spectacular shape on any figure and works with or without tights. The dress' jersey lining is so comfortable that you won't want to take it off. Shown here with the AV Max's On The Verge Earrings.

Also available in blue.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - slightly fitted at bust so size up in back-up size for full bust
WAIST: Fitted - embroidery conceals midsection and lower abdomen
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow so size up in back-up size for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types (Models height is 5'10". )

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - slightly fitted at bust so size up in back-up size for full bust
WAIST: Fitted - embroidery conceals midsection and lower abdomen
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow so size up in back-up size for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types (Models height is 5'10". )

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black 100% nylon embroidery. Short sleeves. Exposed back zip. Jersey lining. About 31" from shoulder to hem. Models height is 5'10".

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

805 reviews

Fit
Small 184
True to Size 552
Large 45
Photos 418
Monica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Aug 2, 2011

I loved having a great classy dress for the occasion. The style and fit suited me perfectly.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to a rehearsal dinner for a wedding in Colorado. The jersey lining was comfy and warm when the evening started to get cooler. The dress was a little too short for me and made it hard to sit in, but other than that I loved the tailored fit and detailing.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Aug 5, 2011

I got several compliments on my dress throughout the night!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I LOVED wearing this dress! I rented it for my Bachelorette party at the end of April in Philly. I thought it was incredibly comfortable - it has a sweatshirt lining which others have said makes it more of a Fall/Winter dress, but I disagree. I wasn't too hot in it, and we did drinks and dancing. The cap sleeves are a little snug, but I was expecting worse from those who complained about them in their reviews. They were just fine. For me, I'm 5 feet tall and about 115 lb...I ordered a 2 and a 4 and went with the 2. The length was perfect - a cute little mini skirt. I would definitely recommend it!
Cris
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 3, 2012

the dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I ordered a size 2 and 4 because i wasn't sure how it would fit. The 2 ended up being perfect! the stomach is not clinging and it is comfortable and structured. It was quite short so I would not have worn it without tights but it was perfect for my brithday party in December.
Marcy
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Mar 5, 2012

I originally ordered a different dress, but when I tried it on, it fit terribly! I immediately called RTR and asked to have this dress shipped instead. I can't say enough about how helpful the RTR staff was. My second dress arrived the same day, just in time for my event! I love you RTR!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I've rented this dress for two different cocktail parties. It looks great with or without tights, needs very little jewelry, and is honestly the most comfortable and flattering dress I've found. It's form fitting without being too tight and the liner is super soft. Great for dancing! Can't say enough good things about this dress!
Casey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 144 lbs
Aug 22, 2012

"That's one foxy dress"

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
I rented this after I already rented 2 other dresses for a Vegas Bachelorette Party. After reading about how one of the dresses ran small I spoke with Heather/Megan B. (? sorry I typed name on my phone but lost phone in Vegas!) and she recommended this one. It fit like a glove! I usually rent 8 but so glad I got the 6 too. The 8 wasn't too bad but the 6 was definitely more of a vanity thing. :) The lining inside the dress will keep you warm, it's almost like sweat pants lining. Very comfortable dress to move around in! This has been one of my top faves and I never would have gotten this dress had it not been for the stylist from RTR!!!
danielle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 3, 2012

This dress makes you feel sexy and look like a million bucks! All the girls in our party wanted to know all about rent the runway after this one.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I love love love this dress, It was perfect for our trip to Vegas for a Bachelorette party, it is a little conservative on top, but the sexiness on the bottom between the super short length and scalloped hem really made my legs look amazing. The dress has some stretch which was great. It was a little hot for Labor Day weekend in Vegas, but it doesn't really matter what you wear it'll be hot. I would rent it again.
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Sep 17, 2012

Super fun for a night out in NYC!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress has NO STRETCH so be honest and pick the right size! I requested the 0 and 2 - both fit, but the 2 was just more comfy AND the 0 had a tiny tear in the seam at the shoulder. RTR team was great though so it wasnt an issue!
Meagan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

I got compliments on this dress all night!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I ended up using the larger size of the two that I received -- it fit really well and the smaller size was just too short and tight. I wore this to a winer party at a museum and it was perfect -- the little sleeves were a nice touch for the season and it was lined nicely. I got compliments all night long, and even months later on Facebook -- loved this dress!
Meghan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 20, 2012

Wore the dress for "law school prom" it was a perfect choice!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I thought it was good with tights because it was a tad short, especially for the winter!
Hilary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 24, 2012

Looked amazing!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Definitely needed to go up a size since the fabric has no give, but looks fabulous!
Rebecca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 97 lbs
Sep 30, 2012

Super flattering and comfortable dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
For a petite frame, this dress fits amazingly well. Looked great w sheer black nylons for a chilly fall night too. Just the right length on me ( and I don't say that often for dresses I haven't shortened given that I'm only 5'0". My sister who is 5'5" with a long torso found the dress too short and the hips didn't fall in the right place in the dress on her. So, definitely a dress that will work well for ladies on the petite side of the height spectrum. I got lots of complements on the dress and questions about who made it and where I got it. It was easily my favorite dress I've rented so far from RTR and I'm already considering renting this same dress again for another event I liked it so much!
Jacquelyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Oct 3, 2012

Sexy yet modest

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
I love this dress, wish I could have kept it! It's very short, I'm only 5'2" and it was pretty short on me! The lining is a soft jersy material and its actually really cozy, which is awesome with a little dress, for those of you, like me who tend to freeze easily. Highly recommend this little number, I'll probably be renting it again soon!
Kim
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Oct 21, 2012

The dress was perfect for dancing in all night.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
pros: very comfortable, easy to dance in, good fabric cons: thicker fabric made it feel heavy
Iwalani
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Nov 11, 2012

Fabulous and Classy!!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
First, I was so impressed by this company's service. The dress was delivered timely inside a box, inside a thick nylon garment bag AND inside a dry cleaning bag. The two sizes I ordered were really unnecessary because the size the Fit Specialist suggested was spot on! The icing on the cake of their customer service was the "fix kit" included with the order. The fix kit had pieces that I didn't even think of and would've been handy in a fashion emergency (thankfully there were none). It contained Fashion tape, anti-frizz hair serum, and the cutest little pink bag. That hooked me as a customer for any event where I need a chic dress. Now for the actual dress: As a petite woman (4"10' height 110 lbs) I am usually wary of dresses with exposed zippers, since they tend to be too long for my torso. THIS DRESS WAS PERFECT! It fit like a glove. The thick pattern skimmed and slimmed all my curves and the jersey lining was so comfy! I wore this to a wedding in Palm Springs and it was a bit warmer than we anticipated but this dress kept me comfortable from the cocktail hour all the way through the night of dancing. It is very short, but for my little legs it was perfectly sassy & classy hitting right in the middle between my knee and thigh. I can't wait to rent this again for any event that calls for a LBD <3
Kat
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Nov 28, 2012

Loved it! Got lots of compliments!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I got the dress for my prom. It arrived right on time and it was in perfect condition. The dress felt fine on. I was a bit nervous because the previous reviews recommended it for winter due to its jersey like lining, but it was perfect for spring as well. I loved the dress, but it was a bit big in the shoulders and stomach. Overall, renting this dress was a great decision and I will definitely rent from this site again.
Tabbetha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Body type: Straight & narrow
Dec 3, 2012

This dress was really nice. It fit a little tight around the hips, but was a beautiful design.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I would absolutely recommend this dress, just knowing that the fit is a little off/tight. The sleeves are really cute with a scalloped look that looks unique and stands out in pictures.
Julie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Dec 3, 2012

Received tons of compliments and got to feel entirely comfortable all evening!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress arrived and as an added bonus, both size options had the tags still on them so I was getting to wear a brand new dress!! I went with the larger size 2 since that was snug enough that I knew the 0 wouldn't fit. The inner lining is jersey and so comfortable that I never wanted to take it off. I was actually able to wear this to two events and the dress was perfect for a wedding and a formal charity event. If you have a larger bust you'll definitely want to size up since the top was a little tight. Otherwise I have absolutely no complaints. Definitely want to rent this dress again, I loved it!
Catherine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123 lbs
Dec 17, 2012

Fun party dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Got lots of compliments. Felt fun and flirty. Was definitely short so opted for tights. Saw little difference in the fit of the 2 and 4. Eventually went with the 2 as it fit in the waist slightly better.
Festina
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 126 lbs
Dec 26, 2012

loved the fit and structure of the dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
i adore the look/style of the dress but i fell more in love with how the dress felt when i put it on!! soo much structure and support
Daphnee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113 lbs
Dec 26, 2012

This dress was perfect for the occasion, and I felt safe ordering since I got two sizes for one.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit perfectly and was comfortable.
Shannon
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 28, 2012

Where did you get that dress?

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress runs true to size. My second size was unavailable, so I just hoped this dress would fit and it did. It was a little tight, so I could not really sit well in it as it would ride up, but I was standing mostly at the party anyway. It is very comfortable and slimming and I loved how it hugged my curves in the right places. I received many compliments on it because everyone loved the detail of the dress. If you plan on wearing this to a cocktail party where you will be standing a lot, go for it! I don't think I would have worn this to a wedding and danced in this dress, but would consider if I wore a size up.
Karen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 107 lbs
Dec 28, 2012

Bringing sexy back!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a holiday party and LOVED it. I got so many compliments. Truthfully, due to the design of this dress...you can get away with no bra. It is very slimming and comfortable. Danced the night away. Thanks RTR!
Emily
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Jan 1, 2013

Overall great dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I was not able to wear this dress, but my cousin did. It was a little too short for me and since she is a few inches shorter, it worked for her. She was very happy with the fit. The jersey material kept her warm and it looked pretty good with tights. Her only complaint was that her arms were chafed a little from the texture of the dress.
robin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 139 lbs
Jan 2, 2013

I not only rang the new year in...but i did it in style!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress is very flattering. I normally wear a size 6 but i rocked the 8 and happy to do it because it was a bit tight in the hips and butt. It is flattering! I wrote it with sparkly tights and black over the knee boots. I would 100% size up for this gem!
Jordan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 2, 2013

A great night out with the girls I grew up with!!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
What a great dress! I couldn't have asked for a better night out! This dress was perfect for a winter night out on the town. The grey part of the dress is like a stretchy pattern and the black swirls are a velvety feel, perfect winter dress that kept me warm the whole night. I was able to dance comfortably, sit easily and got several compliments!! **This dress does not look good with black tights/sheer tights
Shalizeh
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 2, 2013

Loved the dress! Perfect way to ring in the new year!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The size 8 was a bit snug in the hips and a bit short without stockings. The size 10 was PERFECT! I was comfortable, the dress lining is jersey. It was very flattering!
Brooke
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 4, 2013

Loved ringing in the New Year in a Fabulous Dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Very comfortable and stretchy material. the under layer is like a Heather Grey Color (was expecting more of a silver or see thru based on the pictures) Was expecting to wear silver shoes but couldn't make them look right, I went with Black. This Dress is VERY SHORT and Size doesn't help. The 2 and the 4 were basically the same length on me. If you get this dress TOO BIG it will make you look like you have bigger hips and belly than you do, its important to order the right size to make it flattering.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Jan 7, 2013

Loved this dress, great material!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Loved wearing this dress out with tights and booties in January! Great material, not too think but not too thin either. Can easily be dressed up or down. Will rent again!
Meghan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 7, 2013

Fun alternative to the typical LBD

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for new years eve with black tights and black booties, and got a ton of compliments on it. It's definitely on the shorter side, but the higher neckline and cap sleeves keep it from feeling too revealing, and the tights also helped. The lining is a light gray jersey that is really soft and comfortable, but the fabric overall is on the stiffer side, such that it doesn't lay quite right if it's not fitted close to the body. Since I have a straighter frame, I found that the 4 was a bit baggy around the hips and bust, while the 2 offered a better fit all around.
elyse
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124 lbs
Jan 13, 2013

Loved this dress. Sexy twist on a lbd.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It is very short!
KS
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 13, 2013

Fun, sassy graphic LBD!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I ordered another dress (for my birthday) but the day before it shipped RTR let me know they did not have the back size I needed (I always order a back up size just in case). Soooo they sent me this dress in a 0 and 2 AND I LOVED IT. I will rent this dress again, it was so much fun to wear. It is not stretchy material and felt true to size. As other reviewers have mentioned it is very short. This dress hugged my curves just right but the thicker material made me feel covered. The 0 looked better with my waist to hip ratio, the 2 set off my waist to far making me look "thicker" than I am.
RTR Customer
Mar 29, 2015

This was the perfect dress for my Bachelorette party! I love the crisscross pattern. LBD w/ a twist!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Party
The material was heavier than I expected which was nice since I wore this in pretty chilly temps. I definitely recommend this for a girls night out - probably a little too sexy for a family event.
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123 lbs
Mar 30, 2015

Someone stopped me on the street to tell me how great my dress was.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I got this in a 2 and 4 and ended up wearing the 2 because the 4 gave me kind of a poochy stomach (from excess fabric). This is a really great dress when you're looking for body-con... the fabric is thick enough that any lumps you have are smoothed right over. Paired with black tights and booties it's a stunner!
Grace
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 2, 2015

Great little not-so-black dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress' material is very sturdy so it was a bit hard to move in. I have a pretty full chest so that was where I felt the tightness most. Otherwise, it was a pretty dress to go out in to a party.
girlee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 105 lbs
Apr 6, 2015

Dress is pretty, material is thick. I choose not to wear this dress.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress might be nice for a cooler/cold weather, the material is like a thick fleece sweater. I have broader shoulder so I did not like that it had shoulder pads. Dress fit like a glove, I didn't get a chance to try a backup size. I would definitely go with a back up size just to compare differences next time.
Krissy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127 lbs
Apr 7, 2015

Sexy and classic

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was covered by sexy at the same time! Runs true to size, but the fabric is not very stretchy. Perfect for a standing party scenario. Not as much if you'll be sitting.
kristie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117 lbs
Apr 8, 2015

What a fun dress!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Unfortunately I could not wear the dress as it was too tight. Based on all of the reviews I thought for sure I would be a 4. It was too tight in my chest. I loved the length but if you are taller than 5'0 I do not recommend it as when I sat down it was very short.
greta
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 9, 2015

Too short, I couldn't wear it.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Way too short if you're tall. I'm 5'8" with boobs and a butt, and this dress was basically a shirt. I couldn't even wear it.
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Apr 12, 2015

Way to short and skin tight

Size worn: NONE
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was way to short to be worn to a wedding
Sandra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 41
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Apr 13, 2015

I didn't wear the dress because it was too big.I went with another style but really loved this dress

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Beautiful dress and very well made. The length was great, mid-thigh and I'm very short. Overall it was just a size too large, especially around the waist and zipper just bunched up.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×