Cap Sleeve Swirl Mini

$30 – $55 rental
$660 retail
Stylist Notes

This Robert Rodriguez Collection dress is the perfect modern LBD for any season. This shift creates a spectacular shape on any figure and works with or without tights. The dress' jersey lining is so comfortable that you won't want to take it off.

Also available in blue.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - slightly fitted at bust so size up in back-up size for full bust
WAIST: Fitted - embroidery conceals midsection and lower abdomen
HIPS: Very fitted - skirt runs narrow so size up in back-up size for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types (Models height is 5'10". )

Product Details

Black 100% nylon embroidery. Short sleeves. Exposed back zip. Jersey lining. About 31" from shoulder to hem. Models height is 5'10".

Share
1079 reviews
Fit
Large
(47)
True to Size
(665)
Small
(222)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
May 1, 2013
This was the perfect dress for a fun night out!
I am 5'4 and this dress was super short on me (especially with heels). If you're ok with that, which I was, it's a great pick for a bachelorette party or a night out.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
May 1, 2013
This dress was so comfortable, easy to wear and looks great!
This dress was great! I wore for a night out in Vegas. It fit true to form, although it is a bit short, and somewhat difficult to bend over in. It is lined with sweatshirt material, so it was like wearing really cute sweats out in public. I would rent this one again in a heart beat.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 6, 2013
Very chick and sassy!
This was my secondary dress and my best friend wore it and LOVED it! She's normally a 4, but has a booty, so the 6 fit her perfectly. It is a little shorter, but looks fabulous and she wasn't doing any crazy dance moves in it, so she was fine all night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
May 6, 2013
Cute dress, but BEWARE the hemline!
This dress is great. I didn't end up wearing it because it was REALLY short. Given, I'm pretty tall and I have a booty that hikes up any skirt a bit, but I had about 2 inches of skirt below my butt to work with. Maybe if I was attending a winter event and had the option of opaque tights, this could have worked. Even though I did not end up wearing this dress to my event, I will say that other than the length it fit really well. It does run small, so definitely order at least a size up. I usually wear a 6 or an 8, and the 10 fit me best. I had my roommate and a friend try on the 8, and it looked great on them as well, even though we have totally different body types. They are both in the 5'2"-5'4" range, and the length was not a problem for them. If you are considering this dress, it's a beautiful piece. I definitely feel that it is as pretty in person as it is in the photo. Just be sure to order a larger size than usual and beware of the length! I would order a back-up style if tights aren't an option for your event.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
May 7, 2013
I loved the uniqueness of the dress!
The dress was very interesting and both sizes I ordered (0,2) were in good condition. Both the 0 and 2 were essentially the same size. I actually didn't wear the dress because the hips in both sizes were ill fitting, on the tight side compared to the rest of the dress. The top layer of fabric is thicker and structured, so the tight fit on the hips made it ride up and bunch up majorly in my midsection. I loved the rest of the dress, but I didn't want to be pulling it down all night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 170lbs
May 8, 2013
Short, but classy!
The dress looks and feels amazing, the cut outs are a greyish hue. It was true to size, it fit slightly tight, but was a little short. I had to keep pulling my dress down. Overall I loved it though!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98lbs
May 8, 2013
Perfect and Sophisticated!
This is a really beautifully constructed dress and I received a lot of compliments! I wore it out for a girls weekend in LA. I chose this dress based on reviews that is is short, because I am petite. It was a perfect mid-thigh length on me. It might be too short for some taller girls. It has an inner layer that is really soft and the dress is structured - so flattering on a petite hourglass figure.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
May 12, 2013
Disappointed, didn't get to wear
The dress was entirely too short and did not fit well. It was too tight in my thighs (which aren't huge) and bunchy in the stomach. Couldn't wear it out, so I had to run out and buy another dress for the event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
May 13, 2013
Countless Compliments
Fit perfectly and felt great in the dress. I wore it dress for a night out in Vegas....the dress was thick and kept me warm on the chilly night
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
May 15, 2013
Beautiful dress, felt super sexy and definitely turned heads all night long!
The dress is very tight so if you are in any doubt, be sure to size up. The dress is also very short, which was fine on me because I'm only 5'3". I ordered an 8 and 10. The 8 fit like a glove but I ended up going with the 10 which fit my chest better although it was a little more roomy in the tummy. Spanx were a must! :) I loved the dress when standing but usually kept my clutch in my lap while sitting as the dress rode up a TON. I would definitely rent it again as it was perfect for the bachelorette party!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
May 16, 2013
Felt amazing in dress and received tons of compliments from other wedding guests!
The dress fit pretty true to size...I actually may have been able to fit into a 2 but the 4 was fine. My only warning is that it is a bit short when sitting down (especially when I was sitting at the church for the ceremony), but otherwise loved this dress! This was my first experience with rent the runway and I will definitely be using them again!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 119lbs
May 16, 2013
such a nice dress. wore it to a rehearsal dinner and had many compliments .
i wore a 0 because the 2 was way too big on top .the material is a little thick and the front part starts to rise up a bit (especially if you have a booty!) but overall great look!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Body type: Petite
May 18, 2013
This was the most perfect fitting dress I have ever worn! So classic yet super trendy! HOT!
Amazing, amazing, amazing! I'm 5'1 and weigh 100 lbs. The size 0 fit like an absolute glove and was unbelievably flattering!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
May 18, 2013
Great going out dress
This was an awesome little, black dress for a night out with the girls. Its definitely short but its comfortable and looks exactly like the pictures!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
May 18, 2013
Night out in Vegas
I wore this dress for a night out in Vegas and loved it. I typically wear a 4 but ended up wearing my backup size 2. Both were extremely fitted (but the material is thick and holds you in) and fit well, but the 2 came in a bit more at my waist and was about the same length as the 4. (That being said, this dress is extremely short--adorable, but definitely a party dress.)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112lbs
May 19, 2013
Super fun yet formal too
Worn for a black tie event. Super fun. It is short but I'm on the shorter side so the dress hit me mid-thigh. The fit is snug around the hips.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
May 19, 2013
This dress is so sexy!
This dress can get very short when seated!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 127lbs
May 24, 2013
Cute and Comfortable!
The prior reviewers are so right about this dress. The sweatshirt-like lining is both comfy and warm! I worn this dress in the chilly Iowa winter, without tights. I felt and looked great. Don't like the sweatshirt like lining make you think it's bulky! It's slimming! Plus, the shape of the dress is very flattering!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102lbs
May 27, 2013
Great dress
This dress is gorgeous and the size 0 fit perfectly on me. I'm short so the length was fine while i was standing but it's really short when sitting. The problem I had with this dress was that when I got it, the center scallop on the front hem was scrunched up and wouldn't lay flat. At first I thought it needed to ironed or a thread had been pulled, but the lining material and the edge of the hem was hiked up higher than the other scallops. I ended up wearing it anyway with the hem folded up, but kept pulling at it all night and was able to get it back in place by the end of the night.. The hem of the size 2 backup I ordered was fine.
JulieSeptember 15, 2013
i am considering ordering this dress (you sound about my size) but other ppl have commented on how loose it was around the waist. Did u feel this was a problem??
JennaSeptember 17, 2013
My waist is 25" and it wasn't too loose
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
May 28, 2013
GREAT customer service from RTR. Am currently browsing to rent again. :)
Ended up not wearing it. Loved it but it was away too short to dance away at a wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
May 29, 2013
Everyone was asking where I got my dress and if they could borrow it. :)
Dress was fantastic. I usually wear a 4 or a 6 but even the 6 was a bit tight in the hips. Not much flexibility in the fabric so dancing was a bit tough. Otherwise great dress and I would probably rent this one again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
May 30, 2013
Gorgeous dress!
I rented this dress for a rehearsal dinner. I wanted something that would stand out and look sexy but that would also fit in with a range of other dresses, some full-length. I got a lot of compliments on this dress and was glad I chose something more unique than a typical LBD. Based on prior reviews, I ended up sizing up since I didn't want the dress to be too short. The size 8 still fit really well but was still a tad short. If you don't mind wearing a short dress, I would recommend ordering your normal size. Otherwise, size up!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
May 30, 2013
I wore this to a bridal luncheon and it was dressy yet comfortable!
It was short and tight enough. The dress is very structured therefore there was no need for spanx =)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
June 1, 2013
This dress is so sexy, but classy at the same time, just stunning!
I wore this dress to my girlfriends bachelorette party. I got a size 6 and also added a size 8 just in case, because some of the reviews I read had labeled it as "runs small" but I think it just depends how you like to wear your clothes or the occasion. Honestly, both sizes fit, but I decided to go with the size 6, as we were headed for an all girls lil black dress night, and not something formal. The dress fit great, it was body hugging, super short but perfect for that night, as I was looking for a sexy look, that wasn't slutty looking. The size 8 was a tad longer and roomier inside. The dress is simple looking but so detailed and structured, it really stands out. The most amazing part is it is so comfortable, it had a soft cotton lining that makes you feel like you are wearing a simple cotton dress, but the solid structure of the outside reminds you to stand up straight and tall and suck in the gut lol Just by looking at the dress you can tell its great quality material, loved it! This was my first time trying RTR after several months of hesitating and I am obsessed, the whole process is so easy and convenient.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 180lbs
June 2, 2013
I rented this dress for a gala affair.
I went to go wear it and I got a 4 and a size 6. The size 6 was a little lose, but still too short to wear :-(. Very Very short with heels for a gala event. Great for going out.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
June 3, 2013
fit like a glove
I absolutely love this dress. everything about it was perfect! Got a ton of compliments!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
June 4, 2013
Launched a fashion magazine with the perfect dress.
The dress was completely flattering. I definitely think it was true to size but because there is no stretch and it's a bit stiff I decided to go up a size. I received compliments all night. It was the perfect dress for my magazine launch. The entire RTR experience was amazing. Can't wait to rent my next one. :)
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
June 6, 2013
Great for an indoor or winter wedding
This dress was a stunner. Everyone loved it. The difference between the 0 and the 2 were really only the length. The 0 was a little too short for a wedding, but would be great for a cocktail event or fun night out. The shoulders DO have shoulder pads, so I wouldn't recommend the dress or anyone with broad shoulders. It adds structure to the dress, and made me looking like I have better posture than I do. Love it! One draw back is that the fabric is very thick, structured, and does not have any give to stretch.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
June 10, 2013
Beautiful dress, just short and tighter than I'm used to.
Short and tight. Worked well with black tights (winter event). Rich fabric details.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
June 10, 2013
This dress was great!
I thought the dress fit well. It was a bit constricting, but I liked the way it looked.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
June 11, 2013
Gorgeous dress. Just not flattering on me. Had to return it.
It fits very "boxy." So if you have an hour glass figure, you may want to take that into consideration.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 140lbs
June 12, 2013
Perfect dress for celebrating your anniversary
I felt absolutely stunning and my boyfriend couldn't stop complimenting me. The only cons are it was a little snug getting on and it rides up when you walk. Besides that I would highly recommend this little number!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 14, 2013
This dress
This dress was amazing. Fit like a glove and the designs were beautiful
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 94lbs
June 15, 2013
I wore this dress for my grad school graduation party.
It was a little loose in the waist area and pretty short other than that it was a great dress. I received many compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 19, 2013
I would buy this dress - I LOVED IT!!!
I wore this dress to my birthday party in February. It was gorgeous. I got so many compliments on it and didn't want to send it back at all. It's the perfect LBD for any occassion. It was great for cocktails, dinner and then out dancing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32DDD/E
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
June 19, 2013
Short and Sassy
Great mini dress. I wore it in the winter with heels and tights. It's warm, but still fun. Warning: It has NO give whatsoever and it's VERY VERY short. Don't expect to sit :-) ! I usually lean toward a 4/S in dresses. This one needed a 6 (up in size). All in all, I think it turned out sassy and classy all at the same time!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
June 22, 2013
Looks & fits very different than the pic
I was surprised by the material...it was almost suit material. Very thick & wool. I was expecting something similar to Harve Leger.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
June 24, 2013
I loved this dress and got so many compliments on it! LOVE it! Would probably rent it again!
Thicker fabric, would not recommend for very hot weather. The wedding I went to was an indoor one which was perfect. Size is true, it's snug but it's part of its allure.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
June 25, 2013
Great Bachelorette party dress!
Loved this dress. The fit and the length were perfect for my 5 foot body. I would say the shoulders were a little snug when trying to raise my arms up to dance, but not uncomfortable that I would have complained while wearing it. But it was cute, fun and great for a party!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
June 25, 2013
This dress made me feel like a knockout! Also, VERY COMFORTABLE!
This dress was perfect for me as I wanted something sexy and edgy, dark and romantic. I wore it on the red carpet to the Man Of Steel film premiere and it definitely fit the bill. At first I thought it would be too casual for the red carpet but it definitely wasn't. You can dress this up or down and that's what I loved about it. A special note: I'm a pretty curveless girl (straight on all sides!) so this dress looked best when I added my own black skinny belt around my waist to give me the illusion of some hips. If you have natural curves though this will look great on you without needing to accessorize with a belt. I liked the length if the dress. The sexy shortness of the dress paired well with the conservative bust area. Very sexy, understated dress. I'd definitely recommend this, especially if you are a petite girl like me. Not to mention, this dress was extremely comfortable!
View photos (2)
See more reviews:
7 / 27

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×