Candlelight Romance Shift

$68 to buy
$395 retail
Stylist Notes

Look fabulous for your date night by wearing this lady like shift by Robert Rodriguez Collection. A cuff like the Kendra Scott's Gold Sanskrit Cuff is all you need to complete this flirty look.

Also available in turquoise.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-8.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt may be more fitted on curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch and no zipper
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-8.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt may be more fitted on curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch and no zipper
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black lace. Boat neckline. Three quarter sleeves. Scalloped hem. Inner nude slip. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
547 reviews
Fit
Large
(258)
True to Size
(211)
Small
(21)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
December 11, 2014
Loved it! So comfy, too.
I was hesitant about this dress, only because shift dresses tend to look sack-like on me. But, I wanted something with sleeves for the winter wedding we were attending, and figured I could always throw on a belt. Ultimately, I loved how the dress looked as-is, and it was so super comfortable! At 5'1", it hit just above my knees - which was a perfect length - and I had no issue with tightness in the sleeves like some others. Lots of compliments. In perfect condition, too -- but it did have a bit of an odor to it when I opened it up. I couldn't tell if it was a factory/packaging smell, or from the person who last wore it - but a bit of febreze took care of that.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
December 12, 2014
Dress didn't add shape
The dress has pretty lace but added no shape in the center and the material would ride up when I tried a belt. It generally made me look very frumpy. Ran large for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 15, 2014
I received many compliments on this dress!
Loved it!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
December 15, 2014
Overall cute dress and pretty comfortable
Overall its a bit loose but I didn't mind because it was so comfortable. As with lace dresses, it can be a little itchy. Because it was cold out I paired it with black opaque tights and black booties. This was great for a special date night with the husband.
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 150lbs
December 16, 2014
Perfect fit!!
This dress ran true to size and I received several compliments thought the night. It wasn't too short and was breathable for the whole night. I would recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
December 16, 2014
Classic
Runs big but the size smaller was a little too short for my comfort. That's what happens when I'm almost 30 I guess. Very comfortable and great for a winter wedding.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
December 17, 2014
I wore this to a work Christmas party and it was perfect with tights and cute flats
This details on this dress are beautiful! I normally run between a size 6 or 8. I went with a size 6 and I belted the dress because I felt like it didn't give much shape in the waist area but other than that I got tons of compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
December 17, 2014
Comfy and very elegant.
Runs large...very large. I read a few reviews and many people mentioned this dress was large - I should've listened. I ended up getting the 4 and 2 and wish I had ordered a 0. Other than being very wide, it was extremely comfortable and went wonderfully with the classic, elegant look I wanted for the black-tie wedding. I would definitely recommend.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 17, 2014
Beautiful dress - rent one size down!
I wore this dress to my company Christmas party - it was perfect! Loved the sleeves! Added a black ribbon tied around my waist as a belt! Wish I could keep this dress. Am usually a size 8 (bigger in the hips) and the size 6 fit perfect.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
December 18, 2014
Everyone loved this dress!
I wore this dress to an office holiday party an everyone absolutely loved it. It runs slightly large, I often wear a 4 but ended up wearing a 2 to get a slightly tighter fit.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
December 18, 2014
Perfect Dress
I rented this dress for 8 days because I had two different events to wear it to. I wore the larger size (6) for a performance of the Nutcracker that my daughter was dancing in. I wore the smaller one (4) for my office Christmas party. Both fit fine but the 4 was a bit shorter/sexier. The photo is of the 6. There is an attached nude slip underneath and it's shorter than the lace. That means that you show quite a bit of leg. Fine standing up but when I sat down I was glad I had my napkin over my lap at dinner and my shawl in the theater.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
December 22, 2014
Appropriate for a winter wedding.
I got this in a size 6 and 4. The 6 was too big. The 4 was perfect for my upper body, but it was a little snug for my lower half. Based on the picture of the model, it looks like this was intended. However, this causes the dress to rise up, requiring you to keep pulling it down. Still, overall very flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 23, 2014
Dress was comfortable and classy!!!
I wore the same designer this summer in the teal and I loved it soI rented it again but in the black. so comfortable and classy! It does run big, I wore the six because it was a little bit looser in the shoulders for me but a little too loose in the waste but it still looks flattering and I paired it with a sexy pointed toe red heels and red necklace! Would rent again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 24, 2014
I wore this to a Christmas party and it was perfect for the event!
The overall fit was great! My only problem was that it rode up when I sat down so I had to wear leggings and boots to make me feel better and more comfortable when I sat down. I would recommend this dress for any occasion and definitely plan on renting it again!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
December 26, 2014
Classy dress!
I am normally between a size 4 and 6. I tried on the size 4 first, and it fit perfectly. However, since this dress is essentially a nude spaghetti strap dress with a black, lacy, sleeved sheath, I opted to wear the 6 to allow more movement and to keep it from riding up so much. This is NOT a warm dress. I paired the dress with a hair fascinator as a necklace would have snagged the neckline too much. I wore this dress on a date to a high-end, luxury, 5-star resort and spa restaurant and I felt completely comfortable.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
December 30, 2014
This was my first experience with R2R and I was so pleased!
This dress was awesome! I ordered two sizes to try: my usual size 6 and a 4 since previous reviews mentioned the dress ran a bit large. I wound up wearing the 4 because it hugged my curves a bit better. I could have worn the 6 but I probably would have belted it to give it some more shape. I'd recommend this dress to anyone and would definitely wear it again if I could!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 190lbs
December 30, 2014
Simple yet elegant
The dress fit generally well and the lace was beautiful/comfortable. The lining of the dress tended to ride-up, so I felt I was constantly readjusting all night. I was surprised at how short the dress was, being that I'm only 5'5". I felt a little restricted with my movements at times and needed to make sure I was covered up when sitting down and standing up. The dress may not have been the best choice for a family gathering, but I would consider ordering again for a wedding or another occasion where the shorter length was more appropriate.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Body type: Pear
January 1, 2015
Perfect LBD with lace.
Although this dress was said to run big, I stayed true to my regular size. It is a little short, but great for NYE/party attire. It was very comfortable and flattering!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
January 2, 2015
Very comfortable dress - great for curvy shapes and large busts!
I am a wedding photographer and was shooting a close friends' wedding, as well as attending as a guest, so I wanted to wear something comfortable I could move in but also looked nice for the day. I ordered three different dresses with different sizes, as I can fluctuate in sizing between designers - and this one was my absolute favorite! I received so many compliments, it was super comfortable and not too tight. I even threw on some cute heels after I was done shooting photos and danced all night. I will definitely be renting this dress again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
January 3, 2015
This was a great little black dress for New Year's Eve. It wasn't the typical LBD, and I loved that.
I rented this dress for New Years Eve and loved it. This dress fit me so well, and I got a lot of compliments. I listened to the other reviews, which said that the dress ran large, so I opted to get sizes 4 and 6. Both fit but the 6 was a little looser in the arms, which was better for moving around in. I would definitely suggest getting your normal size plus one size down just in case. I will definitely rent again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
January 5, 2015
Wedding
Rented this for a wedding but the fit was small in the hips/across the thighs. If you are pear shaped I would recommend going a size up. Since they only had a 6 in stock and it was too small around the thighs, I had to return it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
January 5, 2015
Wonderful service as always!
This dress runs huge! After reading other reviews I ordered a 2 and a 4 (I typically wear a 4) and I definitely could have worn a 0 with this one! Overall a beautiful and comfortable dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
January 5, 2015
Pretty dress - not for all body types
I did not end up wearing either of the dresses I ordered. I am usually an 8 and neither the 8 nor 6 fit correctly. I have larger hips and a smaller chest and the 6 fit my hips but was very loose on my upper body. I think this dress is best suited for straight and narrow body types or body types with more bust than mine.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
January 7, 2015
Little Black Dress For Party
I wore this to a friend's engagement party. It's conservative for a black dress but still fun. I really liked the dress but likely won't rent it again. I couldn't get it to fit well. The 6 was a great fit (even a tad tight) in the shoulders and arms area but quite loose around the belly. I have smaller shoulders/arms so this isn't where most dresses are tight on me. The 8 was way too big.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
January 10, 2015
Great Dress that made an impression on people who usually see me in scrubs.
Dress was a lot shorter than I expected. It was above mid thigh and in the pictures looked like mid thigh and longer on most girls. Maybe it was just the set I got. The sleeves were a lot tighter that I would have liked. Probably should have gotten a 10/12 and not a 8/10
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Body type: Apple
January 13, 2015
LOVED the dress!
Fit perfectly and got so many compliments. This was the first time I rented from Rent the Runway and it was such an easy process...very satisfied and will def do it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105lbs
January 14, 2015
"You look amazing"
Although the dress is very straight, and I was still curvy from my last pregnancy, the dress looked really nice. It didn't hug my tummy, which is what I needed. I got lots of compliments and I felt beautiful.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
January 27, 2013
the next LBD
I had a poor first experience with RTR but was willing to give them another shot since they were very accomodating. First off, I have a very difficult time shopping for my body. I am 5'3'', 133 lbs., 34C/D, the biggest part of me is around my middle and my legs are my best feature. I'm pretty atheletic. This dress definitely runs large, I'm pretty standardly a 6, but wore this in a 4 and I bet I could have even gotten into a 2. The arms were not too tight and I am by no means a super lean girl. I did not cinch in with a skinny belt like others were doing because I like being comfortable. The length was perfect for me, it hit roughly 6-8 inches above my kneecap, which gave it a sexy factor without looking inappropriate. It was perfect for the fancy dinner and Broadway show afterwards. I got tons of compliments on this dress, it looked AMAZING and was comfortable to wear. I will definitely be renting this dress again for future events.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
January 23, 2015
Company Xmas Party
Super comfortable and classy. Loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 23, 2012
Great dress for a family wedding! Classic style.
While the dress seems conservative the short length made it fun.Go a size lower, I am normally a 2 to 4 and I wore a zero.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 138lbs
January 28, 2015
I rented this dress for NYE and it was absolutely perfect.
I read a ton of reviews before renting this dress and all were very spot on. I am short so the dress was not short on me at all and was the perfect length. I would say that this dress does run a little big. I ended up wearing the 8 but the 6 did not get to me in time. I tried on the 6 when I got it and it fit perfect. The dress was very comfortable. The cream under part of the dress did ride up a little bit and I found myself having to pull it down every so often but it was not that big of a deal. Also, normal bras can be work with this dress which is always a plus. I would definitely recommend renting this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
February 4, 2015
Comfortable yet classy, received several compliments
No cons, definitely looks best with nude heels
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
February 7, 2015
This was subtly sexy and incredibly comfortable! Perfect for the peak of a mountain in August.
Easy on stomach pouch and great length for legs! The 6 was a little short and snug in the arms, the 8 was perfect!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
February 19, 2015
He stood me up... on Valentine's Day. But I rocked the dress anyway.
He told me, "You're going to want to rent a sexy dress for this." So I chose this dress for a Valentine's Day evening dinner at a surprise location, followed by tickets to see Harry Connick, Jr. in our favorite new venue, all after a day of fun together playing golf and hitting a spa. Long story short, he stood me up, disappearing days before and not getting in touch with me for days after. Amazing friends and family swooped in, and by the end of the day, I'd been to a spa for a day, had my hair done, and had a dinner date set up by/with two of my best friends at a gorgeous hotel. So I got to wear this gorgeous dress after all. This extremely elegant and classy-with-bite dress is meant to be a sheath, so it's supposed to be roomy and "suggest" your shape, but not hold it. That said, if you want it more fitted, go a size down. Otherwise, the sizing was perfect. The length was mid-thigh, great for showing off sexy gams. Sitting at the bar was a bit of an adventure with the length, but at the table, I was comfortable. If you plan on dancing in this, don't to the YMCA (unless that's your thing). I paired the dress with warm-colored pearl earrings, a matching pearl bracelet, and no necklace - the dress is sexy enough, so you'll just go a little overboard with too much else. I borrowed a pair of Aldo nude wedge peep-toes to tie it up and make my legs look extra long, and carried a black clutch. I received TONS of compliments - as always with RTR dresses - and I absolutely plan on wearing this one again. This dress made me feel beautiful, sexy, and wanted on a day where I really needed it most. Thank you, RTR. You rocked my world again.
DonnaMarch 28, 2015
Wow Heather, you're stunning! That was definitely his loss!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 146lbs
February 21, 2015
Great shift dress!
Rented this dress for a winter bridal shower and it was the perfect choice. It runs slightly big so I would get your regular size and one below it. I chose to wear the larger size of the two and belt it to give it some shape. I highly recommend having a black belt on hand when renting this dress! It was the perfect length for me ( at 5'2 ). All in all, another great experience with RTR. And you can't beat the price!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
February 22, 2015
Felt totally sexy and classy during my New Years party. Paired with black tights and booties.
Awesome dress. My husband wanted me to buy it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
March 6, 2015
Great comfortable dress with style
The dress runs a bit big, but throw on a belt and you're good to go. It's easy and stylish for any occasion with family, coworkers or friends.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
March 13, 2015
Wasn't crazy about this one but I didn't get a backup so I had to wear it
Rides up when sitting. Just uncomfortable all around
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 7, 2013
LOVED it!
I rented this dress for an early fall party at my beach club and I loved it. It was well made and pretty much exactly what I expected from the picture. I don't have a defined waist so I usually wear shift type dresses like this one. I rarely (if ever would) belt a dress but I did with this one. I used a thicker patent leather belt but a black satin ribbon might have worked as well. The only draw back is that the dress is short to begin with and when it's belted it gets even shorter. I got many compliments and I would rent it again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112lbs
August 24, 2012
Classic style!
This lace Robert Rodriguez Collection LBD was perfect for my friends Newport, RI wedding. I was a bit worried about the size because there were no back up sizes available; however, I was pleasantly surprised that the 2 fit perfectly. (I usually wear a 4). The quality of the lace is very high. While there is no zipper, there is a slight stretch to the fabric especially the nude under layer. Being a petite hourglass, I paired this dress with a thin black belt to create a waist since the shape of this dress is somewhat boxy. I would highly recommend this dress for a wedding or cocktail party!
See more reviews:
3 / 14

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×