Robert Rodriguez Collection

Candlelight Romance Shift

$30 rental
$395 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Look fabulous for your date night by wearing this lady like shift by Robert Rodriguez Collection. A cuff like the Kendra Scott's Gold Sanskrit Cuff is all you need to complete this flirty look.

Also available in turquoise.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-8.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt may be more fitted on curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch and no zipper
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-8.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt may be more fitted on curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch and no zipper
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black lace. Boat neckline. Three quarter sleeves. Scalloped hem. Inner nude slip. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

440 reviews

Fit
Small 17
True to Size 175
Large 236
Photos 219
Jamie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
May 13, 2013

Runs VERY large!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I was very surprised at just how large this dress runs. I read the reviews so I ordered my normal size and a size down... I could have ordered two sizes down in this one! It fit okay so I ended up wearing it, but I would have preferred it to fit a little bit more snug. Overall, it's a beautiful dress but I probably won't be renting this style of dress again.
Brittany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 113 lbs
May 14, 2013

Great evening dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to a November wedding and loved it. Got a ton of compliments and it was super comfortable (though a bit short, even on my 5'3'' frame...hence the 4 stars). Runs a bit big, but nothing crazy. I was glad I had a black ribbon to synch it with. Would definitely rent again.
Kelly
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170 lbs
May 14, 2013

The dress was so comfortable and I had no problem dancing the night away and got SO many compliments

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
A little bit short for my personal taste!
Miranda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 15, 2013

Lots of compliments and so comfortable!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
True to size, wore it with a gold belt to cinch in the waist. Perfect for our work holiday party! Got lots of compliments and so easy to do. So glad I rented!
Jamie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Jul 22, 2013

Great for a holiday party

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for a holiday party. It ran a little large but looked better with a belt.
Stacey
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 2, 2013

Perfect!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress to my daughter's graduation and for the party we held for her after the ceremony! Perfect hostess dress for this early summer evening party! It's very comfortable and I got MANY compliments!
Mary
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 7, 2013

LOVED it!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for an early fall party at my beach club and I loved it. It was well made and pretty much exactly what I expected from the picture. I don't have a defined waist so I usually wear shift type dresses like this one. I rarely (if ever would) belt a dress but I did with this one. I used a thicker patent leather belt but a black satin ribbon might have worked as well. The only draw back is that the dress is short to begin with and when it's belted it gets even shorter. I got many compliments and I would rent it again.
Kala
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Sep 13, 2013

Elegant, sexy and comfortable

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress for engagement pictures and felt elegant and feminine. It is very comfortable, but was a bit long on my 5'4 frame. It was also a little larger than I had expected, but still looked very flattering. This dress would be gorgeous for a date night, girls night out, or wedding. I would definitely wear this dress again!
Kristen
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 14, 2013

Amazing dress & amazing RTR experience!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This was my first time using RTR & I was a little nervous about how it would turn out but I am so happy I did! I finally narrowed my choices down to this dress & ordered a size 4 & 6. I am 5"8 & 135 lbs & usually wear between a 4 & 6 in clothing. The 6 was a bit too baggy but the 4 fit great. I wore a gold belt to give it a little more of a waist (which also shortened it a bit more but since I was wearing tights nbd). It was perfect for an April wedding in Vail. I got so many compliments & loved the way the dress looked & felt - it was super comfortable & I had plenty of room to dance the night away. I was so happy with the entire experience & am currently placing an order for a Chicago wedding at the end of this month. Also have a few more dresses picked out for other weddings in October & November :). I would absolutely wear this dress again though & have is saved in my favorites for when I decide to do so.
Nic
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160 lbs
Oct 13, 2013

Great dress! Super comfortable and easy to wear!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit true to size. Great length on me at 5'7".
Kathleen
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Oct 16, 2013

Incredibly comfortable, easy to wear showstopper.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I went with the larger size because the 4 was a *bit* short and tight in the bust. There are no zippers in this dress: pull over style which I found comfortable. Roomy enough to dance in and doesn't get too warm as the underslip is sleeveless. The recommended necklace looked great too.
Melissa
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 4, 2013

Gorgeous dress, lots of compliments!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I normally wear a large shirt and size 8 pants and dresses. The size 8 was very large. The size 6 fit pretty well, but I might have even been able to squeeze into a size 4 (if you're looking for a tighter fit). I had a belt that I thought I would wear to cinch the waist, but after adding the dangling earrings and long necklace, I didn't think a belt was necessary. I wore the dress with high-heeled ankle boots, which really completed the look!
Chloe
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 129 lbs
Nov 11, 2013

beautiful dress. I got lots of compliments. It was perfect for an a classy wedding in Sonoma.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I highly recommend this dress for women who want to feel comfortable and not too exposed (flattering in the right places) during a winter event. I loved wearing this dress.
Kim
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128 lbs
Dec 6, 2013

Perfect understated (and comfortable) elegance

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The photo makes it look like I was naked under the lace dress but I think that is more highlighted in the photos. In person, in the mirror, it was very elegant and flattering. I am still working off baby weight from Bambino #3 and have a pouch/spare tire, so I erally needed a forgiving frock. This was it! Depending on the dress, I am typicallya size 4-6 petite right now, but the reviews on this dress all recommended getting one to two sizes down. So glad I did. I got the size 2 and 4 and wore the size 2. It fit beautifully and gave me loads of wriggle room. Plus an online stylist recommended the cuff and ring when I asked for some styling help. Also got a clutch. What a fun night! Definitely doing this RTR thing again!
Andrea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 13, 2013

Comfortable, conservative but flattering

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I wore this to my office holiday party & really enjoyed it. Not my favorite RTR dress (I usually go for something a bit more "different") but this was perfect for the occasion. Definitely runs big, and without a belt it is shapeless for a curvy girl (I couldn't have worn it). Great length (the black lace came almost to the knee for me). Wore really sparkly earrings but I bet it would have been nice with a statement necklace too.
Marbear
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155 lbs
Dec 18, 2013

Perfect dress for my hubby's formal work party.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Not to short on my 5'6 frame. Does run big as previous reviewers have mentioned so make sure you get a smaller back up size. I probally could've worn a 4 had I gotten that as a back up. Got lots of compliments!
Melissa
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Jan 3, 2014

I got this dress to wear for a date out to dinner to celebrate our 21st anniversary.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I planned to wear this as a tunic over leggings, but, as several other folks noted, the dress is pretty baggy in the mid-section so I didn't think it would work that way. Instead, I wore it as a dress over tights with a patent bow belt. It is very short so I felt it made me look a little dumpy styled this way, even though it is a really pretty dress with the lace. I especially liked the lace at the edge of the sleeves and bottom hem. Perhaps if I had been a few pounds slimmer (it is Jan 2 and I'm a bit heavier than normal) it would have been a sleeker look. Overall a cute dress, and nice for the event, but I would have preferred it a couple inches longer.
Jess
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132 lbs
Jan 3, 2014

Didn't fit me, but my friend rocked it!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress was too big for me and I wore it like a tent... however... by beautiful curvaceous friend (read: huge boobs) rocked it! She is about 5'4" and I think has DDs and it worked beautifully for her. I would rent it again- perhaps in a size 2 for me next time. Gorgeous fabric, very classy, nice length- even for short girls!
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 123 lbs
Jan 8, 2014

I felt AMAZING in this dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was one of the most flattering dresses I've ever worn, although I will say that the belt I added was crucial. I recommend making sure you have a black belt or ribbon if you choose this dress. It is such a classy dress, but still very sexy at the same time. It's absolutely perfect.
Kristy
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 21, 2014

Perfect for a work party!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I received so many compliments on this dress. It was classic and appropriate for my work holiday party. Although, I did take the advice of others and wore it with a belt. Without the belt, the dress was fairly boxy and certainly not as flattering.
Nik
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Jan 22, 2014

Wore this dress to a gala. It was gorgeous and so comfortable.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit perfectly, in love with this dress
Julia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Feb 8, 2014

Perfect!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
My best friend wore this to my wedding. She looked amazing and said she was so happy with the experience. The dress was appropriate and conservative yet flattering and looked amazing on her. She and I are almost identical in proportions so my "about me" is still pretty accurate.
RTR Customer
Mar 2, 2014

Absolutely gorgeous dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved the dress. I received countless compliments but it does run a little big. Amazing quality and fabric!
Kaitlyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 4, 2014

Gorgeous Dress, Sizing WAY off

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
Dress was very pretty, made of thick lace. I am usually a size 4, and the size 4 resembled a large garbage bag. The size 2 fit better, but was short on my 5'6 frame.
sofia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122 lbs
Mar 4, 2014

Amazing dress and so comfortable

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was great for a fall wedding. While it was on the shorter side, the long sleeves made up for it (didn't want to show too much skin). Got a ton of compliments on this! I added a belt but one could easily get away without one. If I had more time I would've paired the dress with a metallic colored belt. This dress was well made and fit very well. I usually wear a size 4, but the 2 fit perfectly!
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Mar 7, 2014

Elegant and classic

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I can't say enough great things about RTR and this dress! I wore it for our weekend getaway after we got engaged. It was perfect for dinner and drinks afterwards. Loose fit but that's what I wanted. Great LBD with classic lace.
Sadie
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Mar 23, 2014

My husband asked if we could buy it

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was the perfect dress for a work event. I was worried about the length but even with heels it was still appropriate for a formal affair. Some reviews said the arms were tight but they loosen up quickly once you put it on. I got so many compliments, my husband even asked if we could buy it at the end of the night.
Meridith
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 29, 2014

Felt amazing in this dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I have not shed all my winter weight and ordered a 4 and the 6 thinking I'd need the larger size. The 4 was perfect! My only beef was that it rides up slightly when you're walking but the dress was very comfortable, forgiving when eating (bonus!) and really beautiful. I felt amazing wearing it to my husband's company's event. I will definitely rent this again.
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Mar 29, 2014

Beautiful lace dress but runs short of you're tall!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress for a wedding I was a part of. It is a beautiful classy dress and I love that it has a nude slip under the dress. I am tall and the dress did feel a little short. If I rent this dress again, I'll want it to be cold outside so I can wear tights and feel more comfortable with the length. The dress doesn't have a shape to it so a belt may help to define your body. Overall great dress and I got many compliments!
Whitney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104 lbs
Mar 30, 2014

Classic wedding dress for a no fuss look

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
More shift like than the model shows in the picture, I used a belt to make my waistline show and give it shape!
jackie
Apr 26, 2014

So happy the dress turned out to be perfect and so comfortable. Was perfect for junior prom

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress was so comfortable. Even though it is true to size, it is a little baggy in the mid section but it looked fine when walking around and dancing. Tried it with a belt but it didn't look right. Look great with tights, not too fond of it without tights. Perfect for a prom cruise around manhattan on a chilly night.
Karen
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
May 3, 2014

Had an great time at my company's Christmas party

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress is comfy enough to dance in! It has a loose fit but still looked put together. The detail was very pretty and I received tons of compliments. It was conservative enough for a work party, but sparkly enough to be fun! You'll enjoy this dress.
Leah
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
May 5, 2014

Fun Dress for a wedding!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was very comfortable, which was a plus. It did run large; I got both the 0 and the 2 and the 2 was like a bag on me. The 0 fit pretty well, especially once I added a belt. The only con is that it got pretty short when sitting, and I am only 5'4'' so I'm not sure it would work well for a taller girl. Overall, I was happy.
Kate
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
May 5, 2014

comfortable shift dress

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Comfortable shift dress. No stretch at all- lots of room in the torso area. Runs a bit short when sitting down, lifting arms up. Overall perfect, comfortable dress.
kristen
Age: 32
May 16, 2014

It's so easy.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
X
Kathryn
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Body type: Athletic
May 18, 2014

:)

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The dress does seem to fit larger. I am 5'4, 150 or so lbs and ordered the 4 and 6. The 6 had the underlay detached from the dress (bummer), but luckily the 4 fit better. A great dress, lots of compliments!
klook
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Jun 1, 2014

Beautiful, with a touch of elegance

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
My first RTR experience. Dress was absolutely gorgeous! I wore it to a wedding rehearsal dinner. i ordered two sizes down as the other reviews suggested. I ended up wearing the size 4 as it was a bit more fitted. Never in my life have I ever worn a size 4, so it was a nice confidence booster. Dress was a tad short, but nothing too excessive. The sleeves did not feel tight as some of the other reviews had mentioned. Overall, a really great experience. Am tempted to rent it for a wedding I have this Friday.
Rebecca
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 18, 2014

Perfect!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was very comfortable but also ellegant. I received a lot of compliments. I brought a belt just in case I didn't like how it hung, but I didn't use it. I also was worried about leangth, but I am short and the dress didn't feel short at all. The dress was great for pictures and for dancing and was easy to pair with fun heels and jewelry.
christina
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Jun 23, 2014

Renting this dress was so convenient! I had a great experience and would definitely do it again!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was a little loose in the belly area but overall it was perfect!
Brittany
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 24, 2014

Feeling like a million bucks!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for my friends Bachelorette party in NYC. For my first trip to NY, my wardrobe didn't have anything to suffice this occasion. Rent the Runway was the perfect option for what I was looking for in a dress. I originally ordered a different black dress that I wasn't crazy about ( this was the day before I needed it) I didn't panic, but I called RTR for urgent help! The stylist who assisted me assured me that I could get another dress overnighted if I found another one now. I picked this dress and received it the next day, 1 hour before I needed to leave for my flight. I couldn't have been happier with my new choice and knew I would look great! Thank you, Rent the Runway for helping me!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×