Candlelight Romance Shift

$68 to buy
$395 retail
Stylist Notes

Look fabulous for your date night by wearing this lady like shift by Robert Rodriguez Collection. A cuff like the Kendra Scott's Gold Sanskrit Cuff is all you need to complete this flirty look.

Also available in turquoise.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-8.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt may be more fitted on curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch and no zipper
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-8.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt may be more fitted on curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch and no zipper
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black lace. Boat neckline. Three quarter sleeves. Scalloped hem. Inner nude slip. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
547 reviews
Fit
Large
(258)
True to Size
(211)
Small
(21)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
January 28, 2013
Loved the lace details-classy but fun!
The dress runs a little large, but after looking over reviews I belted the dress (patent leather skinny nude belt) and that worked well. I ended up going with a size 4, when I usually wear a 6. It was a little tight in the shoulders, but the wast area fit much better. The dress is a little short, so I wore opaque black tights with it. I got a ton of compliments on it!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 145lbs
January 28, 2013
I LOVED this dress! Wish I could afford to buy it!
It fit perfect (although I went down a size). I usually don't pull off shift dresses, but this one looked great, even without it belted. The hem length was perfect too, because I am short I was worried it would be too long, but it wasn't. Would definitely wear again!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
January 28, 2013
Absolutely loved this dress! Felt like a million dollars!
The dress was true to size and not too short. The material was thick so you didn't feel like it was going to tear at any moment. Sturdy and very beautiful.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117lbs
January 29, 2013
Just the right amount of sexy
The dress definitely ran large but thanks to all of the fabulous reviews, I was able to pick the right size! The belt added some waist definition and the nude pumps drew even more attention to the gorgeous detail of the dress. I absolutely loved wearing it! Unfortunately, so did the 4 other ladies at the event. Regardless, we bonded over our amazing fashion sense and Rent the Runway experience!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
February 4, 2013
Felt amazing in this dress. SO many compliments!
I originally wanted to wear the black Badgley Mischka dress to my works winter social event. I ordered the Robert Rodriguez as a back up. Last minute, a friend needed a date, so my friend came with. The BM dress fit her perfectly, and I was more than happy to wear to RR. I wish I had a size 4 since the 6 was a little bigger, but I put a black patent belt on and was good to go. It looks amazing with nude platform heels! Overall, this dress (AND the Badgley Mischka) was a HIT.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
February 5, 2013
A great dress!
I loved this dress. The 0 was a bit tight in the shoulders, loose at the waist, and fitted through my hips but the 2 was way, way too big. After wearing it for about an hour though the arms stretched out a bit and it fit perfectly. I did tried belting it but found it looked better on me without the belt.. I got so many compliments on it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
February 5, 2013
Fun and classy
I think that this dress worked great for a wedding. Add a belt to give your waist some definition and you are good to go! May be a little short depending on your height.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
February 5, 2013
Yes, rent it. No seriously, do it.
wonderful dress, but enormous! i went with my backup smaller size and wore this to a cocktail event for the inauguration events. i got compliments, i was more covered than most ladies in the sub-20 degree weather, and i felt trendy. it's subtle sexy. i run marathons, but i have curves and a chest. go ahead and put this in your cart if this is you.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
February 7, 2013
Love this dress!
This dress definitely runs large. I normally wear a 2-4, but wore a 0 for this occassion. Very comfortable and I received tons of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
February 8, 2013
Perfect winter party dress
I am on the taller side, so it was a little short. Since it was a winter party I wore tights and it looked great. i paired it with a belt otherwise it would have looked like a sack on me. Received a ton of compliments and would highly recommend.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
February 10, 2013
Beautiful dress and very comfortable.
The mid section of the dress was a bit loose. A dainty belt was needed.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
February 11, 2013
The dress was beautiful, definitely runs large, and it fit my body a little awkwardly.
This dress is beautiful, I just think it probably wasn't the right dress for my body type. I'm short with short legs, big bust, and a long torso. The arms and bust fit perfectly, but the middle area was very loose and just looked too big. I added a belt, but there was still just a lot of excess material hanging around. I'm usually a size 4 and wore the size 2, but I probably could have worn the size zero and been more comfortable. Overall a great dress, definitely runs large, and probably not for every body type.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 123lbs
February 15, 2013
This was my backup dress; thankfully, my original choice worked.
I was not a fan of this dress, so I did not end up wearing it. It made me look shapeless.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
February 16, 2013
Beautiful dress! Gorgeous lace details made the dress absolutely eye catching.
I thought the dress ran a bit large - I typically wear a size 4 & did in this dress, but feel like you could go a size down because of the loose fitting style.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 19, 2013
This was a great experience!
This was my first time renting from RTR and it was a great experience! I was a little (lot) nervous about waiting so close to the event to have my dress, but having the 2 sizes was a life saver!. After reading the reviews from other renters, I order the 6 and 4. I am usually a 6, but this dress was boxy and the fit was large. I ended up with the 4 and was really comfortable. The return was a no brainer as the prepaid/labeled envelope is included in the package along with a goodie bag of fashion tape and shave gel. I highly recommend this site and I did to anyone that asked at my event!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
February 19, 2013
Perfect dress for downtown Philadelphia wedding in October
True to size, very comfortable, classy dress, had a ton of compliments, especially from the guys- they loved the lace! Could wear this to holiday parties and other formal events, not too short or too tight. Sorry I don't have more pics!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
February 20, 2013
wore to a rehearsal dinner
Got a ton of compliments. The 2 didn't look too big, but a 0 probably would have been a better fit, runs slightly large
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 100lbs
February 22, 2013
Perfect for new years
I wore this dress for new years and i loved it Conservative but also sexy Classy Runs large cute with or without a belt great for new years
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 127lbs
February 26, 2013
Fun Dress for Cooler Weather
This one wasn't my favorite dress I've rented (my husband thought it was just ok too), but I did receive several compliments throughout the night. Great to show off your legs but runs a bit large.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
March 3, 2013
I received tons of compliments! Hot dress without being too revealing!
I wasn't sure how I felt about this dress at first. the belt definitely helped but I thought It might be too frumpy. Initially I couldn't choose between the two sizes, but then decided that the 2 was definitely a lot baggier. So went with the 0 and it was a great choice! The arm length is perfect. I recieved a TON of compliments! I paired it with patent leather peep toe heels...perfect!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
March 5, 2013
Love RTR, so easy!
I rented this dress as a backup for my NYE dress, hoping it would turn out to be a date night dress during our trip to Chicago. We didn't end up going out to the show we wanted to, so I wasn't able to wear it (not to mention it was freezing, literally..). Sad I couldn't wear it, but would rent again in a heartbeat!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
March 7, 2013
The dress was very elegant and worked well for my law school's Barrister's Ball.
I normally wear a size 4 so I ordered the 4 and 2 but even the 2 was large on me, I wish I would have gone with the 0 for a tighter/sexier fit
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
March 8, 2013
Dress looked beautiful on!
Material was a little scratchy but really looked great. I was a little worried about the length, I'm 5'7'' but it hit me mid thigh in a size 4.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 123lbs
March 13, 2013
I have done Rent the Runway for 3 years now and this is the 1st dress I haven't liked.
The fit was was to big and not flattering. I didn't end up wearing it because it just make me look old and not very ladylike.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
March 15, 2013
Another beautiful dress from RTR!!
I usually wear a size 2. I could have worn the size 2 in this dress and it would have looked fine. However, the size 0 fit perfectly in this style. I did wear a narrow black belt with the dress to define the waist. I absolutely loved this dress and got lots of compliments at the wedding I wore it to.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112lbs
August 24, 2012
Classic style!
This lace Robert Rodriguez Collection LBD was perfect for my friends Newport, RI wedding. I was a bit worried about the size because there were no back up sizes available; however, I was pleasantly surprised that the 2 fit perfectly. (I usually wear a 4). The quality of the lace is very high. While there is no zipper, there is a slight stretch to the fabric especially the nude under layer. Being a petite hourglass, I paired this dress with a thin black belt to create a waist since the shape of this dress is somewhat boxy. I would highly recommend this dress for a wedding or cocktail party!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
August 29, 2012
My boyfriend took me out for a special birthday dinner. I got many compliments that night and not just cos it was my birthday :-)
I wanted to wear something comfortable but dressy at the same time. This dress was perfect for a date night! I had to go two sizes down though so would highly recommend going a size down.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117lbs
August 31, 2012
Beautiful dress
I loved the dress and got compliments on it. I did find it to fit a little big though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
September 7, 2012
Elegant
So pretty, sophisticated and sexy.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
September 10, 2012
nice dress
I tried this dress on as it was my back up in case the dress I really wanted didn't work out. I ordered a 10 to be on the "safe side" as I have been feeling "big". It was a mistake, I should have ordered an 8 (the size I normally wear) The 10 hung way too loose and appeared frumpy. The dress is great just be sure you order the right size! The dress arrived new! Still had the original tags on it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 135lbs
March 25, 2013
Pairs with anything!
I only wish the waist was fitted–that would have improved this style. However, it was very comfortable. Runs a little large.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 20
Body type: Athletic
March 28, 2013
I got so many compliments on the dress!
I have been a size for about 3 years however I ordered sizes 2 and 4 to find that the size 2 was a little large. Other than that the dress fit well. I did not feel constrained as most do wearing a 3/4 length sleeve. I do wish I was a little taller to rock the look.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
March 29, 2013
Great dress for work parties/events
Like most of the reviews on here have said, this dress runs a little on the big size. I ordered a 4 & a 6, but ended up wearing a 4 (and probably could have been ok in a 2). I belted it to give it a little shape, but it also looked cute as a traditional shift style. The length was perfect - short but not inappropriate, as I wore this to an awards party for work. Received lots of compliments on the dress, which I paired with a Kenneth Lane cocktail ring and DVF clutch, both from RTR. Very happy with this rental!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
April 1, 2013
Simple and sophisticated.
I wore this dress to a February wedding (I wanted something with sleeves. It looked great on but as others have noted the fit is kind of weird. It was baggy and does not have a zipper so I was glad I followed the advice of others and wore it with a black belt. I wished the skirt was just a bit longer as I was sitting in church, but overall it didn't disappoint.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134lbs
April 2, 2013
Nice dress, not ideal for hourglass or pear body types
This dress was very pretty. I wore it to work and then out for a date night. The fit was not ideal for my body type, however. In general, I struggle with shift dresses because they hide the smallest part of my body, my waist. I wore this with a black belt to cinch the waist, but there was a lot of fabric bunching and it made look larger/thicker than I am. In general, shifts are probably better for girls with smaller hips.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 108lbs
April 3, 2013
Common style, wouldn't bother renting.
I ordered this dress for a funeral because I did not have anything else in my closet that was appropriate to wear for the day. It is a cute dress but the style has been done by a lot of designers so it would not make you stand out at an event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
April 5, 2013
Easy to use RTR!
It fit great! I just had a baby, and it was not too tight.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 15, 2013
I actually wan to buy this dress now.
Loved this dress. I generally wear a 2 or 4 in dresses, and based on reviews I selected a 0 and a 2 for my two rental sizes. The zero fit perfectly but it was a little shoreter than I would have wanted, and the 2 was super loose but a better length for me (would have been cute with a belt though). I ended up wearing the 0 (no belt) and LOVED it. Overall super comfortable, sexy but classy. Definitely go at least a size below what you generally wear.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 118lbs
April 17, 2013
very pretty, but I didn't end up going to the party - disappointed that I didn't get to wear it
I thought it runs true to size, I could of actually went down to a smaller size, just wanted to make sure it wouldn't be tight, so I went up a size
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 129lbs
April 21, 2013
LOVED wearing this dress!!
This dress was everything I hoped it would be. It runs a little big and I ended up belting it, but I got so many compliments on it. I highly recommend this dress.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
3 / 14

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×