Rent the Runway

Robert Rodriguez Collection

Candlelight Romance Shift

$30 rental
$395 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Look fabulous for your date night by wearing this lady like shift by Robert Rodriguez Collection. A cuff like the Kendra Scott's Gold Sanskrit Cuff is all you need to complete this flirty look.

Also available in turquoise.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-8.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt may be more fitted on curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch and no zipper
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-8.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt may be more fitted on curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch and no zipper
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black lace. Boat neckline. Three quarter sleeves. Scalloped hem. Inner nude slip. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

458 reviews

Fit
Small 18
True to Size 183
Large 239
Photos 232
Chloe
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 129 lbs
Nov 11, 2013

beautiful dress. I got lots of compliments. It was perfect for an a classy wedding in Sonoma.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I highly recommend this dress for women who want to feel comfortable and not too exposed (flattering in the right places) during a winter event. I loved wearing this dress.
Kim
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128 lbs
Dec 6, 2013

Perfect understated (and comfortable) elegance

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The photo makes it look like I was naked under the lace dress but I think that is more highlighted in the photos. In person, in the mirror, it was very elegant and flattering. I am still working off baby weight from Bambino #3 and have a pouch/spare tire, so I erally needed a forgiving frock. This was it! Depending on the dress, I am typicallya size 4-6 petite right now, but the reviews on this dress all recommended getting one to two sizes down. So glad I did. I got the size 2 and 4 and wore the size 2. It fit beautifully and gave me loads of wriggle room. Plus an online stylist recommended the cuff and ring when I asked for some styling help. Also got a clutch. What a fun night! Definitely doing this RTR thing again!
Andrea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 13, 2013

Comfortable, conservative but flattering

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I wore this to my office holiday party & really enjoyed it. Not my favorite RTR dress (I usually go for something a bit more "different") but this was perfect for the occasion. Definitely runs big, and without a belt it is shapeless for a curvy girl (I couldn't have worn it). Great length (the black lace came almost to the knee for me). Wore really sparkly earrings but I bet it would have been nice with a statement necklace too.
Marbear
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155 lbs
Dec 18, 2013

Perfect dress for my hubby's formal work party.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Not to short on my 5'6 frame. Does run big as previous reviewers have mentioned so make sure you get a smaller back up size. I probally could've worn a 4 had I gotten that as a back up. Got lots of compliments!
Melissa
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Jan 3, 2014

I got this dress to wear for a date out to dinner to celebrate our 21st anniversary.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I planned to wear this as a tunic over leggings, but, as several other folks noted, the dress is pretty baggy in the mid-section so I didn't think it would work that way. Instead, I wore it as a dress over tights with a patent bow belt. It is very short so I felt it made me look a little dumpy styled this way, even though it is a really pretty dress with the lace. I especially liked the lace at the edge of the sleeves and bottom hem. Perhaps if I had been a few pounds slimmer (it is Jan 2 and I'm a bit heavier than normal) it would have been a sleeker look. Overall a cute dress, and nice for the event, but I would have preferred it a couple inches longer.
Jess
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132 lbs
Jan 3, 2014

Didn't fit me, but my friend rocked it!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress was too big for me and I wore it like a tent... however... by beautiful curvaceous friend (read: huge boobs) rocked it! She is about 5'4" and I think has DDs and it worked beautifully for her. I would rent it again- perhaps in a size 2 for me next time. Gorgeous fabric, very classy, nice length- even for short girls!
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 123 lbs
Jan 8, 2014

I felt AMAZING in this dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was one of the most flattering dresses I've ever worn, although I will say that the belt I added was crucial. I recommend making sure you have a black belt or ribbon if you choose this dress. It is such a classy dress, but still very sexy at the same time. It's absolutely perfect.
Kristy
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 21, 2014

Perfect for a work party!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I received so many compliments on this dress. It was classic and appropriate for my work holiday party. Although, I did take the advice of others and wore it with a belt. Without the belt, the dress was fairly boxy and certainly not as flattering.
Nik
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Jan 22, 2014

Wore this dress to a gala. It was gorgeous and so comfortable.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit perfectly, in love with this dress
Julia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Feb 8, 2014

Perfect!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
My best friend wore this to my wedding. She looked amazing and said she was so happy with the experience. The dress was appropriate and conservative yet flattering and looked amazing on her. She and I are almost identical in proportions so my "about me" is still pretty accurate.
RTR Customer
Mar 2, 2014

Absolutely gorgeous dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved the dress. I received countless compliments but it does run a little big. Amazing quality and fabric!
Kaitlyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 4, 2014

Gorgeous Dress, Sizing WAY off

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
Dress was very pretty, made of thick lace. I am usually a size 4, and the size 4 resembled a large garbage bag. The size 2 fit better, but was short on my 5'6 frame.
sofia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122 lbs
Mar 4, 2014

Amazing dress and so comfortable

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was great for a fall wedding. While it was on the shorter side, the long sleeves made up for it (didn't want to show too much skin). Got a ton of compliments on this! I added a belt but one could easily get away without one. If I had more time I would've paired the dress with a metallic colored belt. This dress was well made and fit very well. I usually wear a size 4, but the 2 fit perfectly!
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Mar 7, 2014

Elegant and classic

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I can't say enough great things about RTR and this dress! I wore it for our weekend getaway after we got engaged. It was perfect for dinner and drinks afterwards. Loose fit but that's what I wanted. Great LBD with classic lace.
Sadie
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Mar 23, 2014

My husband asked if we could buy it

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was the perfect dress for a work event. I was worried about the length but even with heels it was still appropriate for a formal affair. Some reviews said the arms were tight but they loosen up quickly once you put it on. I got so many compliments, my husband even asked if we could buy it at the end of the night.
Meridith
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 29, 2014

Felt amazing in this dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I have not shed all my winter weight and ordered a 4 and the 6 thinking I'd need the larger size. The 4 was perfect! My only beef was that it rides up slightly when you're walking but the dress was very comfortable, forgiving when eating (bonus!) and really beautiful. I felt amazing wearing it to my husband's company's event. I will definitely rent this again.
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Mar 29, 2014

Beautiful lace dress but runs short of you're tall!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress for a wedding I was a part of. It is a beautiful classy dress and I love that it has a nude slip under the dress. I am tall and the dress did feel a little short. If I rent this dress again, I'll want it to be cold outside so I can wear tights and feel more comfortable with the length. The dress doesn't have a shape to it so a belt may help to define your body. Overall great dress and I got many compliments!
Whitney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104 lbs
Mar 30, 2014

Classic wedding dress for a no fuss look

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
More shift like than the model shows in the picture, I used a belt to make my waistline show and give it shape!
jackie
Apr 26, 2014

So happy the dress turned out to be perfect and so comfortable. Was perfect for junior prom

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress was so comfortable. Even though it is true to size, it is a little baggy in the mid section but it looked fine when walking around and dancing. Tried it with a belt but it didn't look right. Look great with tights, not too fond of it without tights. Perfect for a prom cruise around manhattan on a chilly night.
Karen
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
May 3, 2014

Had an great time at my company's Christmas party

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress is comfy enough to dance in! It has a loose fit but still looked put together. The detail was very pretty and I received tons of compliments. It was conservative enough for a work party, but sparkly enough to be fun! You'll enjoy this dress.
Leah
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
May 5, 2014

Fun Dress for a wedding!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was very comfortable, which was a plus. It did run large; I got both the 0 and the 2 and the 2 was like a bag on me. The 0 fit pretty well, especially once I added a belt. The only con is that it got pretty short when sitting, and I am only 5'4'' so I'm not sure it would work well for a taller girl. Overall, I was happy.
Kate
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
May 5, 2014

comfortable shift dress

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Comfortable shift dress. No stretch at all- lots of room in the torso area. Runs a bit short when sitting down, lifting arms up. Overall perfect, comfortable dress.
kristen
Age: 32
May 16, 2014

It's so easy.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
X
Kathryn
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Body type: Athletic
May 18, 2014

:)

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The dress does seem to fit larger. I am 5'4, 150 or so lbs and ordered the 4 and 6. The 6 had the underlay detached from the dress (bummer), but luckily the 4 fit better. A great dress, lots of compliments!
klook
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Jun 1, 2014

Beautiful, with a touch of elegance

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
My first RTR experience. Dress was absolutely gorgeous! I wore it to a wedding rehearsal dinner. i ordered two sizes down as the other reviews suggested. I ended up wearing the size 4 as it was a bit more fitted. Never in my life have I ever worn a size 4, so it was a nice confidence booster. Dress was a tad short, but nothing too excessive. The sleeves did not feel tight as some of the other reviews had mentioned. Overall, a really great experience. Am tempted to rent it for a wedding I have this Friday.
Rebecca
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 18, 2014

Perfect!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was very comfortable but also ellegant. I received a lot of compliments. I brought a belt just in case I didn't like how it hung, but I didn't use it. I also was worried about leangth, but I am short and the dress didn't feel short at all. The dress was great for pictures and for dancing and was easy to pair with fun heels and jewelry.
christina
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Jun 23, 2014

Renting this dress was so convenient! I had a great experience and would definitely do it again!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was a little loose in the belly area but overall it was perfect!
Brittany
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 24, 2014

Feeling like a million bucks!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for my friends Bachelorette party in NYC. For my first trip to NY, my wardrobe didn't have anything to suffice this occasion. Rent the Runway was the perfect option for what I was looking for in a dress. I originally ordered a different black dress that I wasn't crazy about ( this was the day before I needed it) I didn't panic, but I called RTR for urgent help! The stylist who assisted me assured me that I could get another dress overnighted if I found another one now. I picked this dress and received it the next day, 1 hour before I needed to leave for my flight. I couldn't have been happier with my new choice and knew I would look great! Thank you, Rent the Runway for helping me!
caitlin
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150 lbs
Jul 31, 2014

I wore this for a formal dinner dance

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I thought it ran very large-- I wear an 8 typically and I wore a 6 in this, and really probably could've worn a 4- I am so glad I listened to the other reviews and sized down for the back-up! I got compliments on it all night and absolutely love the dress.
Niki Tee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 155 lbs
Aug 4, 2014

Beautiful and comfortable!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Runs large, could've rented a size 8! Would totally rent this dress again!
Bee
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 7, 2014

Classy & Sophisticated! Earned me so many compliments!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is beautiful! Classy, sophisticated, and modest, but sexy! It fit true to size for me. A little shorter than I would normally choose, but it was really perfect for my husband's holiday work party. It was slightly loose in the arm pit areas, but it still worked out great. I loved that this dress is forgiving in the midsection! I would recommend this dress and #renttherunway to all my girlfriends! #robertorodriguez
Stephanie
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Body type: Athletic
Sep 5, 2014

Classic dress

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit well, is a great color, and is gorgeous on. As others noted it does run slightly short for a wedding though. Weddings include a lot of dancing and you can't really throw your arms up in this dress! Also, there were a lot of runs/strings hanging from the lace of the dress being worn in the back, which from far away you couldn't see, but it didn't look nice up close. Overall, this was a nice experience for my first time renting.
Dana
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165 lbs
Sep 11, 2014

My order came super fast and it quickly went from my backup option to the only option!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress for my best friends rehearsal dinner and it worked perfectly! I originally ordered it as my backup, but as soon as I put it on I knew it was the only choice! It is definitely on the shorter side but it only made my legs look longer and skinnier, no complaints with that! It has a great, comfy fit and I received tons of compliments. I even had people reach out to me after I posted pictures asking where I got it! I would definitely wear this dress again and was sad to send it back.
Taryn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Body type: Full Bust
Sep 11, 2014

Perfect dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
"Do I really have to return it?" Was the thought going through my mind every second I was wearing this dress. It is simple and elegant. This dress is extremely comfortable and shows just the right amount of skin!
RTR Customer
Sep 14, 2014

Just the right amount if sexy for an evening wedding.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was so comfortable, but very classy. It was also just the right length for my 5'3" height.
Sarah
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Sep 16, 2014

Classy and flirty

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
I got this dress for my birthday and had it sent to my boyfriends place where he is stationed in Kodiak, Alaska when I was visiting. The dress was beautiful but i didn't wear it out since no one dresses up in Kodiak, Alaska. He still thought I looked pretty. I was really impressed I could have it sent to the island and getting back was a wild goose chase finding a UPS truck but I'm sure if I had any troubles RTR would've stepped up because their customer service is the best!
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Sep 20, 2014

So many compliments. Everyone loved the dress.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress definitely runs large. I normally wear an 8-10 and ended up wearing the 6. Thank goodness for a of the reviews that steered me in the right direction! Very comfortable to wear all night.
Kristen
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Sep 24, 2014

Very comfortable. Enjoyed wearing.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress does run large. I chose the 12 over the 10 as I felt it would be easier to dance in, but could have worn the 10 and still have been comfortable. I am short so the dress hit a couple inches above the knee as opposed to the thigh as seen on model. My first RTR experience and will certainly rent again!
RTR Customer
Sep 28, 2014

The fit of this dress was great! It was super comfy and made me feel sexy! My hubby loved it too!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
12 fit perfect. I was a bit worried as I ordered before I knew I was pregnant. I wore this 2 mos pregnant and it was fabulous. The material was super comfy and I wore it all night! Great for girls who are larger on top. It was short on me and I'm 5'. I thought it was a sexy length. I wore it with black stiletto heel booties.
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160 lbs
Sep 29, 2014

Felt Confident All Night! T

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Typically dresses are too tight in the bust and too long but this was just perfect. Good for the girls with curves!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×