Candlelight Romance Shift

$90 to buy
$395 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Look fabulous for your date night by wearing this lady like shift by Robert Rodriguez Collection. A cuff like the Kendra Scott's Gold Sanskrit Cuff is all you need to complete this flirty look.

Also available in turquoise.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-8.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt may be more fitted on curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch and no zipper
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-8.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt may be more fitted on curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch and no zipper
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black lace. Boat neckline. Three quarter sleeves. Scalloped hem. Inner nude slip. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
544 reviews
Fit
Large
(258)
True to Size
(210)
Small
(21)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 21, 2015
Perfect "cocktail attire" for my company Christmas party.
I needed a cocktail dress that was also conservative enough for my company Christmas party. This dress was perfect for that. I'm only 5'2, so it wasn't nearly as short on me as it is on the model. Keep in mind that it is a shift dress - It's not form fitting. I'm busty, so the size 2 barely fit me around the chest, but it was quite loose around the torso. It was comfortable, flattering and easy to move around in. I'd definitely recommend this dress.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 46
December 19, 2015
I loved the ease of renting from RTR!! Always a great experience!
What an elegant, classy little black dress! This was perfect for my event! I love the simple sheath style and the fact that it was a great length for me. I'm only 5'1" so it's difficult to find a dress that's a good fit for petites. Even my husband loved it! Will definitely rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
December 19, 2015
Very cute and comfortable dress!
This dress was super cute and comfortable! I thought it was a little big, I wish had a 2 just to see the difference. But overall great dress. I wore it to and upscale NYC party and it was perfect.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
December 16, 2015
quite short
i rented this and another dress for a december wedding. like other reviewers have said, i found the dress pretty short. i thought that, since i was 5'5" i could get away with it but i couldn't pull it off. the size 6 fit me but for it to have looked like a shift dress, i probably should have ordered the 8. the 6 was a little form-fitting
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
December 15, 2015
Work appropriate dress, but runs large
The other reviews are very true. This dress is a sheath and it runs large, so it's pretty shapeless. Make sure you have a black belt on hand if you're going to order it. Otherwise, it was a very nice, conservative dress for my work holiday party.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 13, 2015
The dress was absolutely gorgeous for a holiday party! I received a lot of compliments.
The dress was beautiful for a company holiday party! I ordered a 0 and 2. Even though I have a smaller chest and bust the zero was uncomfortably small in the arms and shoulder area but I perfect fit on the rest of the body. I ended up wearing the 2 because of comfort but it looked a little big in my torso and back. With nice high heels it ended up looking okay but there was definitely some extra material in places where it should have been more fitted. I still would recommend the dress, it looked really pretty and received a lot of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
December 12, 2015
Runs big
I rented this dress for a holiday cocktail party and based on other reviews knew to size down. I'm typically a 2, but sometimes a 4. I ordered a 0 and a 2. Both fit and would have been fine to wear. I wore the 2 just to give me a little extra length (but not much!), the 0 fit better overall but I wanted the length. This dress is short but fine as long as you keep your arms down and don't bend over. The arms on this dress are a bit tight - it wasn't a problem for me but I could see some girls having an issue there. This dress is not form fitting no matter how much you size down. It hints at your shape but doesn't hug curves. I think this dress is better suited to curvy girls with bigger busts. I didn't have much of a shape in this dress. Overall I liked this dress and thought it was very pretty, but I don't know that I would rent it again. I like something with a little more shape to it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
December 12, 2015
Beautiful dress!
This dress was stunning in person. I rented it for a ball (which I didn't attend), but instead wore it to a botanical garden. I got so many compliments, and it made me feel beautiful. There are two cons to this dress. The first, this dress (and the backup) both looked worn on the bottom - there were some strings that were snagged and loose. The second, this dress does not have much give at the top, so if you are busty, I'd recommend sizing up. I'm usually a size 4, so as per other reviews, I sized up, and I'm so glad I did because even though it was very loose bust down, it fit my bust and shoulders.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Age: 34
December 10, 2015
Extremely comfortable!
I would buy this dress!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
December 8, 2015
Comfortable and Pretty!
This dress runs very big. I usually wear a size 4 and found even the 2 to be a bit large. The size 0 wasn't tight, but fit awkward in some places, so I stuck with the 2. I wore it to a college alumni Christmas party and received tons of compliments. It was super comfortable and the lace detail is very pretty.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 30
December 6, 2015
Great dress, love the lace.
I loved this dress and wore it to my work Christmas party and got lots of compliments. Since it is a shift dress, it was a little baggy in the waist, but adding a skinny, black belt around the waist gives it some shape. The only complaint is that my dress arrived a day later than I wanted, so I cut it very close wearing it to the party. It came the day of the party in the afternoon, and I had hoped it would have arrived the day prior. Other than that, it was a great dress, I highly recommend.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
December 2, 2015
Everyone will tell you, "You look great!"
This dress was classy and fun to wear! I actually wore it to two different parties. Once with leggings and knee high boots and the following was with tights and heels. I had read the dress runs short. I am 5'2, so that was not a problem for me. Once again, a RTR success!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
November 24, 2015
So pretty and fits great!
I just had a baby 9 months ago, so finding a dress that fits well and looks good can be a hassle. This dress was perfect. I got a million compliments, and felt like a million bucks in it. I usually wear a 6, but I ended up wearing the 4 instead. Perfect dress for a winter wedding, and very comfortable. Easy to dance in too!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 40
November 18, 2015
Wore this to a nursing gala.
Dress arrived on time, and looked great! One of the 2 smelled pretty strongly of perfume when I took it out of the box, but 24 hours on the hanger fixed it. It's hard to find "regular" dresses for a 5'0" frame, but this one looked and felt great!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
November 16, 2015
wore this dress to my company's formal party on a boat.
i'm short and broad across the chest/shoulders/upper-arms. i got a size up so that it would fit comfortably across my upper body, and i'm glad i did that. also, i wore a red belt to help define my waist - as the dress just hangs. and since i'm short, the dress fell slightly above my knees - which was perfect.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
November 16, 2015
This dress was perfect for a cocktail party fundraiser.
What a great dress! The lace is beautiful and non-itchy. The shift is just loose enough to not worry about how many appetizers you eat without being a tent. I could see this being a little short for tall ladies since the slip was just right for me at 5'2".
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 52
November 10, 2015
Lots of compliments. I would rent it again!
I ordered a size 8 and 6. I usually wear a size 8, sometimes a 6. The 8 was big and the 6 was a little big as well. I probably could've fit in a 4. It stretched throughout the night. Very comfortable though. I would rent this again. I got a lot of compliments on the dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
November 8, 2015
Received lots of compliments
Fit was a little large. I probably should have ordered a 4 for back up. Nice dress but definitely needed to add the belt for my body type
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
November 6, 2015
This dress was comfortable and forgiving.
Fit a little big, but it is not made to be fitted, was perfect for hiding my baby bump!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
October 26, 2015
Great cocktail dress!
The dress was a little short. It was okay when standing but when I sat it really went up. The dress fit well in the chest and hips but was loose through the waist so I'm afraid if I had gone up a size it would have been really big there, although the length might have been a bit better. I got lots of compliments on it and really enjoyed wearing it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134lbs
October 25, 2015
Love RTR, second time using RTR, so convenient!
I am usually a size 4, I wore the size 6 since it was a tad bit longer and I knew I'd be dancing all night. There is also a liner underneath the last that is gold and on the size 4 it was inside out and I could not turn it right side out without risking ripping wear it attaches to the lace. So I wore the 6.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Weight: 125lbs
October 21, 2015
Great, classy dress for fall/winter wedding.
Fit true to size, slightly on the larger side. Ordered 2 and 4, went with the 2. Not as "yellow/gold" as it appears in the picture, more neutral/beige. Very comfortable - not too tight/loose. Received compliments throughout the night. Perfect dress if you don't want to stand out all too much but still want to look great :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
October 17, 2015
Another RTR Win!
Loved this dress for an autumn wedding. It's a shift dress so definitely size down if you don't want to feel like you're wearing a tent. The 4 was too big (and I often can't zip size 6 dresses because of bust/wide rib cages) but I was happy with the 2. A 0 may have given me more shape through the body, but the beauty of the shift is to eat all you want and not worry about it ;)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 16, 2015
Perfect for late fall wedding
Not as baggy as some shifts I have tried in the past... Actually shows off a little bit of shape. Got lots of compliments! Easy to accessorize. I thought it ran a little short.. Fine with me but I'm 5'4" so may be really short if you are taller.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 27
October 11, 2015
Beautiful dress and received many compliments!
The ease of using RTRW and being able to rent a designer dress for the night for a fraction of the cost is very appealing. Will definitely use RTRW for weddings or events. The dress does run big so be sure to go down a size when ordering.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
October 10, 2015
Very comfortable and perfect length for my height. 5'1" not too short.
Fits really welll and comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
October 7, 2015
Super flattering and comfortable. Loved this dress.
I am between a 4 and 6 usually so I got both sizes. The 4 fit fine and was more flattering than the 6 a I think a slightly more snug fit looks better with this dress given the cut. Dress was easy to wear and very comfortable. Received several compliments. Would love to own it - very versatile! It was a fine length on me but I'm only 5'3. Might be a tad short on taller ladies.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
October 7, 2015
Great dress for a formal wedding!
I'm glad I read the other descriptions. I normally wear a 4 but went with a 2 which fit perfectly. I got many compliments, and was comfortable all night. You can dress this up or down. I would rent it again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 114lbs
October 5, 2015
Not my favorite but very comfortable
.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
October 4, 2015
Beautiful dress and I ordered 2 so the garment bag it arrived it was great for traveling with.
The dress was beautiful and I loved it. I usually wear an 8 but wore a 6. The stomach was giving so it was nice to not have it be too tight.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
September 29, 2015
Great dress for a fall wedding!
As others mentioned, order one size down as your back-up. The dress was really comfortable and very pretty! Wish I could keep it! If you're tall, this dress may be a bit short. Luckily I'm only 5'2" so it was perfect for me. Would highly recommend this dress - especially for an outdoor event.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
September 27, 2015
Easy shopping!
This was the first time I have rented from RTR. My friends have used RTR before and had good experiences so I decided to give it a try. RTR suggested ordering a size down, so I ordered a 2 and 0. I tried on the 0 first and found it fit so well I didn't even try on the 2. I love shift dresses but found this to have less shape than normal. I belted the dress, which made a big difference. I was nervous the dress would be too long since I'm only 5'2 but it was just right. I got several compliments on the dress and loved how easy the whole process was. I'll be using RTR for all my future weddings!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
September 26, 2015
Perfect dress for a fall wedding, fit and style were perfect!
The fit and the length was perfect! The fit was very flattering and forgiving. It does run a little big, I'm usually a size 10 but the 8 fit perfect.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 148lbs
September 23, 2015
I got a ton of compliments!
Love this dress super flattering!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 21, 2015
Very cute and comfortable. This was pretty short, so you can't lift your arms very much.
This was loose and comfortable. There were some very minor imperfections in the lace that you could see if you looked up close, but I wasn't bothered by them.
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Age: 32
September 19, 2015
Super comfy yet sexy! Everyone loved the dress!!!!!!!!!
Fits try to size! Slightly short but love the length cause it shows leg!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 26
September 13, 2015
Not great for pear shaped bodies.
If you have any kind of thighs or butt I suggest you do not size down like the other reviews suggested. This dress would work best for skinny boyish figures. I found that the dress was roomy in the chest and stomach area but then clinged to my thighs and butt. Wearing stockings definitely helped to get the dress to lay smoother. Otherwise it seemed to bunch at the small of my back and the stomach area. This dress is pretty short. If you plan on raising your arms or dancing be prepared to flash people. Overall this dress looked good on me but I felt like I couldn't totally relax and had to keep readjusting.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155lbs
September 12, 2015
Felt amazing in this dress!
Highly recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
September 11, 2015
Everything was perfect
The fit was perfect! I might have been able to wear a size 8 but I didn't order a backup size. LOVE LOVE LOVE this dress!!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
September 9, 2015
The dress was easy to wear and very sexy classy.
The dress was on the shorter side, which I loved. It was very classy with an edge.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 14
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×