Candlelight Romance Shift

$30 rental
$395 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Look fabulous for your date night by wearing this lady like shift by Robert Rodriguez Collection. A cuff like the Kendra Scott's Gold Sanskrit Cuff is all you need to complete this flirty look.

Also available in turquoise.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-8.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt may be more fitted on curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch and no zipper
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-8.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt may be more fitted on curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch and no zipper
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black lace. Boat neckline. Three quarter sleeves. Scalloped hem. Inner nude slip. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
534 reviews
Fit
Large256
True to Size206
Small21
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
December 8, 2015
Comfortable and Pretty!
This dress runs very big. I usually wear a size 4 and found even the 2 to be a bit large. The size 0 wasn't tight, but fit awkward in some places, so I stuck with the 2. I wore it to a college alumni Christmas party and received tons of compliments. It was super comfortable and the lace detail is very pretty.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 30
December 6, 2015
Great dress, love the lace.
I loved this dress and wore it to my work Christmas party and got lots of compliments. Since it is a shift dress, it was a little baggy in the waist, but adding a skinny, black belt around the waist gives it some shape. The only complaint is that my dress arrived a day later than I wanted, so I cut it very close wearing it to the party. It came the day of the party in the afternoon, and I had hoped it would have arrived the day prior. Other than that, it was a great dress, I highly recommend.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Body type: Petite
December 2, 2015
Everyone will tell you, "You look great!"
This dress was classy and fun to wear! I actually wore it to two different parties. Once with leggings and knee high boots and the following was with tights and heels. I had read the dress runs short. I am 5'2, so that was not a problem for me. Once again, a RTR success!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
November 24, 2015
So pretty and fits great!
I just had a baby 9 months ago, so finding a dress that fits well and looks good can be a hassle. This dress was perfect. I got a million compliments, and felt like a million bucks in it. I usually wear a 6, but I ended up wearing the 4 instead. Perfect dress for a winter wedding, and very comfortable. Easy to dance in too!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 39
November 18, 2015
Wore this to a nursing gala.
Dress arrived on time, and looked great! One of the 2 smelled pretty strongly of perfume when I took it out of the box, but 24 hours on the hanger fixed it. It's hard to find "regular" dresses for a 5'0" frame, but this one looked and felt great!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
November 16, 2015
wore this dress to my company's formal party on a boat.
i'm short and broad across the chest/shoulders/upper-arms. i got a size up so that it would fit comfortably across my upper body, and i'm glad i did that. also, i wore a red belt to help define my waist - as the dress just hangs. and since i'm short, the dress fell slightly above my knees - which was perfect.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
November 16, 2015
This dress was perfect for a cocktail party fundraiser.
What a great dress! The lace is beautiful and non-itchy. The shift is just loose enough to not worry about how many appetizers you eat without being a tent. I could see this being a little short for tall ladies since the slip was just right for me at 5'2".
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 52
November 10, 2015
Lots of compliments. I would rent it again!
I ordered a size 8 and 6. I usually wear a size 8, sometimes a 6. The 8 was big and the 6 was a little big as well. I probably could've fit in a 4. It stretched throughout the night. Very comfortable though. I would rent this again. I got a lot of compliments on the dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
November 8, 2015
Received lots of compliments
Fit was a little large. I probably should have ordered a 4 for back up. Nice dress but definitely needed to add the belt for my body type
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
November 6, 2015
This dress was comfortable and forgiving.
Fit a little big, but it is not made to be fitted, was perfect for hiding my baby bump!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
October 26, 2015
Great cocktail dress!
The dress was a little short. It was okay when standing but when I sat it really went up. The dress fit well in the chest and hips but was loose through the waist so I'm afraid if I had gone up a size it would have been really big there, although the length might have been a bit better. I got lots of compliments on it and really enjoyed wearing it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134lbs
October 25, 2015
Love RTR, second time using RTR, so convenient!
I am usually a size 4, I wore the size 6 since it was a tad bit longer and I knew I'd be dancing all night. There is also a liner underneath the last that is gold and on the size 4 it was inside out and I could not turn it right side out without risking ripping wear it attaches to the lace. So I wore the 6.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Weight: 125lbs
October 21, 2015
Great, classy dress for fall/winter wedding.
Fit true to size, slightly on the larger side. Ordered 2 and 4, went with the 2. Not as "yellow/gold" as it appears in the picture, more neutral/beige. Very comfortable - not too tight/loose. Received compliments throughout the night. Perfect dress if you don't want to stand out all too much but still want to look great :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
October 17, 2015
Another RTR Win!
Loved this dress for an autumn wedding. It's a shift dress so definitely size down if you don't want to feel like you're wearing a tent. The 4 was too big (and I often can't zip size 6 dresses because of bust/wide rib cages) but I was happy with the 2. A 0 may have given me more shape through the body, but the beauty of the shift is to eat all you want and not worry about it ;)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 16, 2015
Perfect for late fall wedding
Not as baggy as some shifts I have tried in the past... Actually shows off a little bit of shape. Got lots of compliments! Easy to accessorize. I thought it ran a little short.. Fine with me but I'm 5'4" so may be really short if you are taller.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 27
October 11, 2015
Beautiful dress and received many compliments!
The ease of using RTRW and being able to rent a designer dress for the night for a fraction of the cost is very appealing. Will definitely use RTRW for weddings or events. The dress does run big so be sure to go down a size when ordering.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
October 10, 2015
Very comfortable and perfect length for my height. 5'1" not too short.
Fits really welll and comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
October 7, 2015
Super flattering and comfortable. Loved this dress.
I am between a 4 and 6 usually so I got both sizes. The 4 fit fine and was more flattering than the 6 a I think a slightly more snug fit looks better with this dress given the cut. Dress was easy to wear and very comfortable. Received several compliments. Would love to own it - very versatile! It was a fine length on me but I'm only 5'3. Might be a tad short on taller ladies.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
October 7, 2015
Great dress for a formal wedding!
I'm glad I read the other descriptions. I normally wear a 4 but went with a 2 which fit perfectly. I got many compliments, and was comfortable all night. You can dress this up or down. I would rent it again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 114lbs
October 5, 2015
Not my favorite but very comfortable
.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
October 4, 2015
Beautiful dress and I ordered 2 so the garment bag it arrived it was great for traveling with.
The dress was beautiful and I loved it. I usually wear an 8 but wore a 6. The stomach was giving so it was nice to not have it be too tight.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
September 29, 2015
Great dress for a fall wedding!
As others mentioned, order one size down as your back-up. The dress was really comfortable and very pretty! Wish I could keep it! If you're tall, this dress may be a bit short. Luckily I'm only 5'2" so it was perfect for me. Would highly recommend this dress - especially for an outdoor event.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
September 27, 2015
Easy shopping!
This was the first time I have rented from RTR. My friends have used RTR before and had good experiences so I decided to give it a try. RTR suggested ordering a size down, so I ordered a 2 and 0. I tried on the 0 first and found it fit so well I didn't even try on the 2. I love shift dresses but found this to have less shape than normal. I belted the dress, which made a big difference. I was nervous the dress would be too long since I'm only 5'2 but it was just right. I got several compliments on the dress and loved how easy the whole process was. I'll be using RTR for all my future weddings!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
September 26, 2015
Perfect dress for a fall wedding, fit and style were perfect!
The fit and the length was perfect! The fit was very flattering and forgiving. It does run a little big, I'm usually a size 10 but the 8 fit perfect.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 148lbs
September 23, 2015
I got a ton of compliments!
Love this dress super flattering!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 21, 2015
Very cute and comfortable. This was pretty short, so you can't lift your arms very much.
This was loose and comfortable. There were some very minor imperfections in the lace that you could see if you looked up close, but I wasn't bothered by them.
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Age: 32
September 19, 2015
Super comfy yet sexy! Everyone loved the dress!!!!!!!!!
Fits try to size! Slightly short but love the length cause it shows leg!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 26
September 13, 2015
Not great for pear shaped bodies.
If you have any kind of thighs or butt I suggest you do not size down like the other reviews suggested. This dress would work best for skinny boyish figures. I found that the dress was roomy in the chest and stomach area but then clinged to my thighs and butt. Wearing stockings definitely helped to get the dress to lay smoother. Otherwise it seemed to bunch at the small of my back and the stomach area. This dress is pretty short. If you plan on raising your arms or dancing be prepared to flash people. Overall this dress looked good on me but I felt like I couldn't totally relax and had to keep readjusting.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155lbs
September 12, 2015
Felt amazing in this dress!
Highly recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
September 11, 2015
Everything was perfect
The fit was perfect! I might have been able to wear a size 8 but I didn't order a backup size. LOVE LOVE LOVE this dress!!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
September 9, 2015
The dress was easy to wear and very sexy classy.
The dress was on the shorter side, which I loved. It was very classy with an edge.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
August 22, 2015
Not my favorite RTR
I thought this would be great for a classy evening. This dress hung off me and was in no way flattering. It looks more fitted on the model than it was on me. I didn't end up wearing it. I got my normal size and a size larger. Very pretty though - I would suggest sizing down.
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
August 13, 2015
Flattering and cute dress!
Runs big. Normally a size 6 and the 6 was big but 4 fit well. Flattering and not tight.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Age: 46
August 11, 2015
Beautiful lace !
This dress is beautiful, the lace details are very elegant. It did run large, I ordered the 4, but could have worn a 2. The nude lining is form fitting, but the lace is a shift, it hangs, but looks great. I was worried when I first tried on, but it was comfortable.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 30
August 4, 2015
From girls' dinner right into nightclub.
I have a small bust and I'm bigger at the ribcage/wait, so this fabric was very flattering and almost hid the mid-section a bit. It was tight around my bust, but due to my large rib-cage, narrow women with bigger busts might be fine. I loved where it hit my legs.. right at the center of my thigh. I really wanted to keep it! My husband said he could see me wearing it to a work presentation! very versatile and classy.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 139lbs
July 28, 2015
Shipped right to my hotel!
Loved this look - slightly boxy in the midsection so my short waist looked a little baggy. Overall great experience and plenty of compliments! Size down - I ordered a 6, could have tried a 4.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
June 26, 2015
Holiday date party
Snug in the hips and a little too loose up top, but paired perfectly with some leggings and heels. This is a late review as I wore this before Christmas. Lace was a little ratty looking but it was dark where we went so no worries there :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 27, 2015
It was fun for a holiday party.
I'm usually a 4 bc of my shoulders and back. I wish I would have known that this dress had to be pulled over your head to put on bc it made it a lot harder. If I had worn the 6 it would have looked like I was swimming in the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 110lbs
May 26, 2015
So comfortable.!
I am size 8 and this dress was a little bit big on me.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
May 19, 2015
Beautiful dress, perfect for New Year's Eve or any formal winter event!
Lovely dress in person, was a little snug but not uncomfortably so. I was between sizes (I usually am) and opted to go with the smaller size (the 10). WARNING: if you're tall, and you don't feel comfortable showing your legs...skip this dress. The 10 was really short on me, but the 12 looked too baggy and boxy...and it was New Year's Eve so I figured why not lol and went with the 10. I'm very happy I did, will definitely be shopping around RTR again!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 14

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×