Candlelight Romance Shift

$43 to buy
$395 retail
Stylist Notes

Look fabulous for your date night by wearing this lady like shift by Robert Rodriguez Collection. A cuff like the Kendra Scott's Gold Sanskrit Cuff is all you need to complete this flirty look.

Also available in turquoise.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-8.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - skirt may be more fitted on curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch and no zipper
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black lace. Boat neckline. Three quarter sleeves. Scalloped hem. Inner nude slip. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
549 reviews
Fit
Large
(258)
True to Size
(212)
Small
(21)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Age: 37
January 31, 2016
Perfect dress, comfortable & cute!!
Received many compliments and it was truly comfortable! Cute with black or gold heals!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
March 1, 2016
Felt amazing!!
Ran a little big!!
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 172lbs
January 6, 2015
Wonderful fitting dress. You will not be disappointed. Lots of compliments on this piece.
Perfect dress for a winter wedding! No tights needed. This dress is super comfy. Just the right length, hitting mid thigh. Runs slightly big, as I would normally wear a size 8-10 in most dresses. It's forgiving in the mid section, but hugs the bust arms and butt. You will not be disappointed if you choose this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
April 21, 2015
LBD was a little lace, perfect!
The dress was a little short, but at 5'10 I'm used to that.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
September 26, 2015
Perfect dress for a fall wedding, fit and style were perfect!
The fit and the length was perfect! The fit was very flattering and forgiving. It does run a little big, I'm usually a size 10 but the 8 fit perfect.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
November 6, 2015
This dress was comfortable and forgiving.
Fit a little big, but it is not made to be fitted, was perfect for hiding my baby bump!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
February 26, 2016
This dress was gorgeous! I had dozens of people compliment me and ask where I got it.
This dress was incredibly comfortable and true to size. The only downfall was that it rides up when you sit.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 15, 2015
Compliments all night
Very comfortable. RTR is beyond convenient it took the stress out of going shopping.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 27, 2015
It was fun for a holiday party.
I'm usually a 4 bc of my shoulders and back. I wish I would have known that this dress had to be pulled over your head to put on bc it made it a lot harder. If I had worn the 6 it would have looked like I was swimming in the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 13, 2015
The dress was absolutely gorgeous for a holiday party! I received a lot of compliments.
The dress was beautiful for a company holiday party! I ordered a 0 and 2. Even though I have a smaller chest and bust the zero was uncomfortably small in the arms and shoulder area but I perfect fit on the rest of the body. I ended up wearing the 2 because of comfort but it looked a little big in my torso and back. With nice high heels it ended up looking okay but there was definitely some extra material in places where it should have been more fitted. I still would recommend the dress, it looked really pretty and received a lot of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
January 1, 2016
Great first RTR experiencei
Many compliments on the dress! I am petite, and it ran slightly large for my frame- although I know this is the style. I still went with it and felt confident all night! Great first experience with RTR, so easy to rent, wear and return! Will make sure to read reviews more closely next time for sizing!
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 33
March 1, 2016
Super cute dress. Wore it to casual wedding and it was perfect
Fits true to size.
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
May 8, 2016
First dress from RTR. Great experience.
This was my first order from RTR and I have to say it was a great experience. I wore this dress to a work function and it was the right length and fit for the event. The dress does run a size big so I would recommend ordering a size smaller than you normally do. I usually wear a size 8, but the 6 fit perfectly. My only complaint about the dress is that the underlining isn't sewn to the dress. I wore stockings with it and the lining kept riding up because of the stockings. If you don't wear stockings then it's a not an issue. Other than that I thought the dress was great.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
August 3, 2016
So comfortable!!
This a definitely a shift dress, so don't expect it to hug your curves. It was a great dress to dance in. I paired it with gold shoes and gold chandelier earrings. No other jewelry is necessary. Had a ton compliments . The 8 fit well but had a little more room in the waist than the 6. So I went with the 6 .
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Vacation
September 18, 2016
Ended up buying this dress for $40! Love it and will wear it many more times!
It was a perfect date night dress! I'm 41 so don't like a tight form.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 13, 2016
Winter wedding
Love this dress detail! Very comfortable and elegant! Perfect with tights for a chilly evening.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
January 26, 2017
Just lovely
I wore this for my anniversary dinner date. It was super comfortable and flattering. Considering purchasing it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
September 17, 2017
I felt good in this dress. Hit all the right places. Not too tight.
Dress fit true to size. It was easy to wear and I felt good in it. Not too short or too tight.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112lbs
August 24, 2012
Classic style!
This lace Robert Rodriguez Collection LBD was perfect for my friends Newport, RI wedding. I was a bit worried about the size because there were no back up sizes available; however, I was pleasantly surprised that the 2 fit perfectly. (I usually wear a 4). The quality of the lace is very high. While there is no zipper, there is a slight stretch to the fabric especially the nude under layer. Being a petite hourglass, I paired this dress with a thin black belt to create a waist since the shape of this dress is somewhat boxy. I would highly recommend this dress for a wedding or cocktail party!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
August 29, 2012
My boyfriend took me out for a special birthday dinner. I got many compliments that night and not just cos it was my birthday :-)
I wanted to wear something comfortable but dressy at the same time. This dress was perfect for a date night! I had to go two sizes down though so would highly recommend going a size down.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117lbs
August 31, 2012
Beautiful dress
I loved the dress and got compliments on it. I did find it to fit a little big though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
September 7, 2012
Elegant
So pretty, sophisticated and sexy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
September 19, 2012
Loved it!
I ordered the 2 and the 4. I could have worn the 4, belted but I chose to just wear the 2. I thought it ran a bit big as I usually wear a 4. Also, I'm pretty short and while the length was ok on me, it may be on the sorter side for girls with longer legs. I thought it was a beautiful dress and I got a lot of compliments on it. Very happy with this rental!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 129lbs
October 1, 2012
I'm newly obsessed with this site! So easy and convenient and STYLISH.
Runs big, especially around waist. I wore a skinny black belt with it to prevent it looking too frumpy. Overall quality was great and I got a lot of compliments. The style notes were very accurate, I only wished I would have rented some of the suggested accessories to go along with it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 119lbs
October 7, 2012
feeling spectacular in a gorgeous dress that was so easy to find!
As most people commented on this, it runs large. I have been losing pregnancy weight so was a little unsure of what size I would be but based on the pictures and comments went with the 4. The 2 was unavailable as a backup (I didn't think I could fit in it but thought I'd check). I'm not sure if the 2 would have fit but there was a little room in the 4. I also think this is part of the style of the dress. I felt very pretty and because fo the nature of the dress, did not feel like I had to even wear much jewelry. It was great by itself. The tag area in the bag was a little itchy but I managed. Overall, loved it. And would wear this dress again.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 7, 2012
This dress was exactly what I was looking for. I would definitely rent from here again!
This dress was romantic and it was still a little spicy. It was definitely scary since I have never rented from here before. The dress ran large, I ended up wearing the smaller size that I ordered. For anyone who is looking to rent this dress, I usually wear a six and I ended up wearing a 4. I hope this helps :) I love RTR!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
October 8, 2012
Pretty, classic dres that can be worn a lot of different ways; dressed up or down!
Definitely order a size down! I normally wear a 2 and sometimes a 4, but I was swimming in the 2. I wish I had gotten a 0 as my back-up size. I wasn't able to wear the 2, even with a belt. I would definitely rent this dress again in the smaller size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
October 8, 2012
This was the perfect dress for an upscale outdoor wedding.
I should have rented two sizes and I think the 8 would have fit better. I put a skinny black belt with it and that really tied the dress together. Without the belt it was pretty baggy. I got lots of compliments on the dress and felt really comfortable in it all night. I just paired it with a simple bracelet and black pumps.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
October 9, 2012
Beautiful dress but doesn't really flatter curvy figures.
I loved the look of the dress but I found that my backup dress from RTR fit my body type better. This dress was very boxy even after I added a belt. However, it did comfortably fit my bust which was a concern of mine when initially renting the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 53
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
October 10, 2012
Insanely good dress!
This is another one that works perfectly at the larger end of the spectrum. Could not be more flattering and elegant. Love it, can't say anything against it.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 10, 2012
I wore this dress to a friend's wedding and received so many compliments throughout the night!
I am in between a size 2 and 4 for dresses and pants and had both sizes shipped. The two was a little bit looser on me than I had anticipated but I paired it with a black patent leather belt, and it looked great. It is an absolutely beautiful dress and I was honestly a little bit sad when I had to put it back in the mail on monday morning!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
October 15, 2012
I wore this dress for a rehearsal dinner. I loved how this dress looked in photos!
I received lots of compliments on this dress. However, I was disappointed with the overall fit. The sleeves were too big and the dress was unflattering without a belt. If you have the right accessories this dress can work
JenniferOctober 29, 2012
Where did you get that belt?
JamieNovember 23, 2012
It's just a piece of satin ribbon
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 59
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
October 17, 2012
Dresses arrived right on time, and were in beautiful condition
Dress is very pretty, but has a very boxy fit. It might work better on a curvier figure than mine.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 21, 2012
Very classic for a fall wedding.
Make sure you pair this with a belt - the shift was kind of baggy, so it would look ok without one, but definitely better cinched at the waist. I'd almost order a size down.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 131lbs
October 22, 2012
Gorgeous lace, but fit is very boxy and doesn't have a shape. Runs large.
I rented this along with another dress I rented for my friend's bridal shower. I loved the lace but this dress is very boxy, and does not have a shape. When belted, it did not look flattering on a large bust. I was surprised of the stretch of the dress. It definitely ran large, and was especially baggy in the arms and the waist. I wanted to love this dress, but I ended up wearing the other dress I choose instead!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 97lbs
October 22, 2012
Most unforgettable? When I held this dress up in front of my fiance, it looked big on HIM.
This dress runs extremely large. I tried to choose one with many positive reviews from petite women like myself but in the end, the dress was just too large for my small frame to be presentable and I ended up wearing something from my own closet to the wedding. I will say that the scalloping along the hem looks very pretty against the legs and I wished that I could have worn the dress from the waist down. On top, it was a bag. The lace is also a bit cheaper looking in person. Overall, this rental was a disappointment for me. Be aware if you are considering this dress: If you're 100 lbs or less, it will look like you borrowed from your grandma's closet. :(
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
October 31, 2012
When I was told I was the best dressed of the night
This dress was so stunning; the lace was an amazing quality, and the fit was modest, perfect for my formal occasion! I ordered the 4 and 6, and ended up wearing the 4 with a black patent belt to give the dress some shape, because alone it isn't the most flattering. The dress definitely runs large, but I was very happy with how the outfit turned out. My only regret is that this was the only picture of the night!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
November 19, 2012
Looked great and super comfortable
This dress fit very large and I felt like I could have gone down another size if it was available. I wish it had a better shape , it fit very straight down. The length was great - not too short, but not too long so that it was frumpy. I was very comfortable in it and could dance the night away with no problem!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
November 19, 2012
In love with this dress!
I loved wearing this dress. The lace was beautiful and looked very high quality. The fit was very comfortable. The size 2 fit me but was a little too form fitting and short for the wedding I was going to so I went with the 4 for a slightly looser fit. I suggest wearing it with a belt- otherwise it can be a little shapeless in the mid section. I received lots of compliments and did not want to send this dress back.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 25, 2012
Classic and Comfortable!
I loved this dress, enough that I wanted to buy it (just not for $400!). My husband loved it as well. It was classy and comfortable, and I danced the night away. It came with the original tags still on it, packed well, and got tons of compliments. Things you should know: It fits loosely through the middle, but belting it would make it VERY short (and I am 5'2"). People say you can wear a regular bra with it, but that bra should be nude or black because it shows just a tad at the shoulders where the lining has spaghetti straps and the boat neck occasionally shifts to one side. You have to pull it on over your hair!! Lifting your arms all the way up will cause you to flash people. I had a problem with my original order, which didn't show up on the day it was suppose to (which was the day after a holiday). The guy I worked with at RTR located this dress, my back-up dress and sent a third dress in another size. He had them sent overnight and they arrived before noon on a Saturday, literally one hour before I left. So, I have mixed feelings on the service!
View photos (2)
See more reviews:
2 / 14

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×