Sophisticated Merlot Dress

$75 rental
$650 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

The rich hue of this Robert Rodriguez dress screams sophistication. With a subtle raw edge trim and sexy one shoulder, this dress is a true showstopper. Shown here with AV Max's Gold Dome Bangle .

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend sizing up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - built-in padding can be worn without a bra for all bust sizes though fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout and tiered fabric is flattering on all body types
HIPS: Fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - tall or curvy women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; dress has built-in cups in bust
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10")

Product Details

Wine stretch silk georgette. One shoulder neckline. Laser-cut tiered layers. Padded cups. Hidden side zip. 35'' from shoulder to hem (on a size 6).

Share
151 reviews
Fit
Large
(9)
True to Size
(115)
Small
(27)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
March 28, 2014
Beautiful New Orleans wedding
The fit was spot on for what I usually wear. I'm 5'7" and 120lb. and it was maybe a little loose and a little long? Overall, I was very happy. The weight of the fabric was perfect for a slightly chilly evening wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 129lbs
March 4, 2014
This dress looked great on, but it was surprisingly thick layers of fabric. Not the most comfortable
Fine for fall or winter, but too heavy/thick for summer event.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
March 2, 2014
Comfortable, form fitting, and hides your imperfections. Perfect dress for the Casino Night party!
Fit like a glove, very comfortable and stayed in place well. The small tiered layers hide any imperfections I was trying to hide. Received many compliments, wish I could've kept this one in my closet!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
February 27, 2014
Lovely dress, but it definitely runs small.
Definitely size up for this dress, but it's lovely in person. Perfect dress on its own with some simple accessorizing. I actually did not end up wearing this dress for my event as it was my second choice, but it was a tough decision!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
November 5, 2013
Beautiful rich color and a pretty good fit. I got lots of compliments.
Not much give to the fabric, which is good for hiding flaws, but not always the most comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 29, 2013
A little long.
I wore this dress for a holiday party. It fit well, but was a little longer than I would have liked.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
September 21, 2013
Cute and fun dress
Fun dress but the detailing consists of lots of layers of fabric. It was a little snug but it worked out. The fabric kept coming up so I made sure to bring fabric tape with me! The fabric tape helped tremendously but the shoulder did slide up a bit. Even though those things were slightly inconvenient, by the end of the night I was dancing the night away and didnt care about those things!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 7, 2013
My husband's mouth dropped when he saw me.
The dress fit perfect. I knew that it ran a little large so I ordered a size down.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
August 25, 2013
I wish this dress worked!
This dress just didn't fit me right. I usually wear a size 2/4, but this dress just did not accentuate me correctly. Sadly, this dress didn't work out.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
June 24, 2013
Pretty dress, not for me unfortunately!
I loved the dress, the color was a deep maroon but the one should look just wasn't for me. The ends of the layers were really frayed as well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
June 2, 2013
Dress runs very large
I didn't end up wearing this dress because both sizes that I ordered (the 2 and 0) were too large. The dress itself also didn't look very well made and was "bulkier" than the picture shows.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104lbs
May 22, 2013
CHIC
The dress looked better off than on, it was slightly bigger on my frame, so I ended up wearing a different RTR dress. All-in-all it is a very sophisticated, classy option, wish it had fit right!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
May 17, 2013
Love the color, flattering cut
top part didnt lay flat very well, but I did wear the dress without a bra and I have a large chest. Even after ironing the top part flat it still kept bunching up with is why i gave it 4/5 stars. not a good dress to dance in because it doesnt have much stretch but if you will be sitting or standing this is perfect. i love the deep burgundy color. I am usually between a 4 and a 6 and the 6 was perfect :)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
May 7, 2013
It was a gorgeous, classy dress, and i was named sweetheart of TKE fraternity that night!
the bottom was pretty tight, so it was kind of hard to move around in freely, but overall is was comfortable and fit well!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 133lbs
April 19, 2013
Pretty Color
Wore this to a fraternity formal and got lots of compliments. I had to iron down some of the fabric strips before I wore it but it looked great. It's fairly tight and doesn't have much stretch.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
April 15, 2013
Pretty dress, but absolutely no stretch!
This dress was beautiful, but it was heavy, thick, and completely unforgiving! I ended up wearing something else when I ordered it because I just didn't like the way it fit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
April 14, 2013
Perfect fit! So comfortable and gorgeous.
This is my first time renting from RTR and I will absolutely do it again. I wore this to a sorority formal and got so many compliments, this dress is the perfect combination of classy and sexy. I typically wear an 8 or 10 and I always struggle with one shoulder dresses due to my broad shoulders and chest but this dress fit perfect, and surprisingly no bra needed. The fabric has a little stretch so its very comfortable and the color and cut make it form flattering. I would recommend this dress to anyone!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
April 3, 2013
I got so many complements on the deep burgundy color with my blond hair!
I loved the color and the fit!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
March 31, 2013
Nice color!
This was my backup dress and I didn't end up wearing it. The pleats were a little more freyed than I thought they would be, and it was a TINY bit hard to move in. Other than that, nice color and hot dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112lbs
March 5, 2013
fun and perfect for work christmas party
wore this to my boyfriends christmas party and got a ton of compliments loved this dress
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
March 4, 2013
I LOVED this dress!!!
got it right on time and it was perfect!! i used this dress for homecoming and i got SO many compliments. the color was so pretty and i loved how the tiers looked. the only thing was is that it's tight at the bottom and is a little restricting making it harder to dance in but i managed. Rent the runway is the shnazzz
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
February 24, 2013
Cute, but not a great fit
This dress looked darling on the website and other women, but it was way too short on me. I felt it would have been great for someone younger. Very small in the ribcage/bust. I did not end up wearing it. Beautiful deep, bordeaux color.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
February 24, 2013
Beautiful dress
I wore it for my fiancé's brothers wedding and loved it. It was a beautiful dress, wonderful fit. A little short but I am tall.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
February 22, 2013
Great service, great dress
Fits true to size, very little give, so order a size up. Perfect for fall/winter due to material
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 21, 2013
Loved this dress!
It was right on the bandage dress trend without being (or looking) too tight. The stripes are folded fabric, so it hugs the body without showing off too much and without the bandage-y tightness. It fit perfectly and made my figure look fantastic. I wish I could wear it again for an event!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 28, 2013
This was such a great dress. Flattering and fun!
I loved the fabric and the fact I didn't have to worry about anything all night. The dress fit snug, but felt flattering. Would recommend for a more conservative, but fun event.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
January 28, 2013
They made sure to take care of all the necessities, and you get a free bag!
The ends were frayed a bit, but I loved the dress overall!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
January 13, 2013
Beautiful dress, beautiful color!
I rented this dress for a friend's wedding in August. It is a gorgeous dress and was very flattering. I preferred the size 10 (I normally wear an 8) as this dress runs a little small. I ended up not wearing the dress though because it was pretty heavy and I was worried I'd be too warm. Would be a perfect dress for a winter occasion!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
January 4, 2013
Great color, flattering fit, but frayed layers can be tough to work with
I loved my first RTR rental and will definitely be using RTR again for future events. This dress is a gorgeous color for a fall wedding. I wore this to a November wedding 3 months after having my second son and I felt that was forgiving on my post baby body. What you may or may not be able to tell in the pictures is that this dress has thin tiers or layers. This was a pro and a con for me. I think the layers make for a more flattering look, however, they kept flipping up by my neck line and over my shoulder which was driving me crazy! I used the double sided tape and it helped but it wasn't perfect. Over all great dress, very flattering but take the time before your event to try it on and fix the layers with the double sided fashion tape RTR provides. Ps. Thats my bestie with me in another RTR rental looking gorg! She loved her dress and got a lot of compliments :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Body type: Hourglass
January 3, 2013
Fabulous color, good fit.
The shoulder part came down somewhat easily, so if you have narrow shoulders I would not advise this choice. But for the most part really loved it!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 38
Body type: Petite
December 28, 2012
The ease of picking and receiving a dress. The whole process is worth it!
The fit of this dress was perfect for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 27, 2012
Cute but frayed ends weren't for me
Fit was tight but held everything in place. Color was beautiful and the thickness of the dress makes it great for fall or winter events but the frayed edges of the layers made it look a bit sloppy on me. The dress was also shorter than I expected, hitting at mid-thigh level.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 20, 2012
Sexy dress!
Loved the fit of this dress and the deep red color (though it was a little tight on my booty)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
December 11, 2012
Loved it!
Fit really well and felt great in it.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
December 6, 2012
Great dress for a wedding.
I wore this dress as a guest for a friend's wedding. It was a fantastic choice for a fall wedding. I would recommend this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
November 26, 2012
how it arrived, everything it came with, was amazing! & so simple to return
It fit perfectly, not too tight and but not too loose. I wore it to a rehearsal dinner for a friend and received so many compliments on it! The material was great and there wasn't anything I'd change about it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
November 26, 2012
didn't like it.
I thought the fabric looked very different in person and somewhat cheap. The one shoulder strap also would not lie flat. I returned without wearing.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
November 24, 2012
Fabulous!
The fit was true to size and looked great! Perfect for a dressy occasion!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
November 24, 2012
I did not wear this dress.
Unfortunately this dress didn't work out for me. The fit across the bust and stomach accentuated my curves in an unflattering way because of the horizontal layered fabric. I did not end up wearing this dress for my event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 13, 2012
Didn't end up wearing it because it was fancier than I expected.
The dress was too dressy for the wedding I attended with my boyfriend. It also made me look a lot wider from the front than I expected based on what I'd seen with the model. I was glad I ordered a size up, but would have worn the size 6 to the wedding, if I had worn it at all. I looked way better from the side, and felt self conscious looking at myself from the front because the ruffles added a lot of volume. The ordering experience and delivery experience with RTR was great as usual.
See more reviews:
1 / 4
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×