Robert Rodriguez Black Label

Sophisticated Merlot Dress

$75 rental
$650 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

The rich hue of this Robert Rodriguez dress screams sophistication. With a subtle raw edge trim and sexy one shoulder, this dress is a true showstopper. Shown here with AV Max's Gold Dome Bangle .

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend sizing up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - built-in padding can be worn without a bra for all bust sizes though fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout and tiered fabric is flattering on all body types
HIPS: Fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - tall or curvy women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; dress has built-in cups in bust
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10")

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend sizing up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - built-in padding can be worn without a bra for all bust sizes though fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout and tiered fabric is flattering on all body types
HIPS: Fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - tall or curvy women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; dress has built-in cups in bust
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10")

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Wine stretch silk georgette. One shoulder neckline. Laser-cut tiered layers. Padded cups. Hidden side zip. 35'' from shoulder to hem (on a size 6).

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

152 reviews

Fit
Small 27
True to Size 116
Large 9
Photos 43
dillaksalad
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Nov 26, 2013

Beautiful Dress, fits great.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I really enjoyed this dress and I got so many compliments at my holiday Christmas Party. Only down side was the edges of the layers where a little frayed and the zipper on the size I did not wear was broken. It was hard to notice in a dark setting but I would avoid for a daytime affair.
Staci
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Nov 5, 2013

Beautiful rich color and a pretty good fit. I got lots of compliments.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Not much give to the fabric, which is good for hiding flaws, but not always the most comfortable.
CA
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Sep 21, 2013

Cute and fun dress

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Fun dress but the detailing consists of lots of layers of fabric. It was a little snug but it worked out. The fabric kept coming up so I made sure to bring fabric tape with me! The fabric tape helped tremendously but the shoulder did slide up a bit. Even though those things were slightly inconvenient, by the end of the night I was dancing the night away and didnt care about those things!
Joanna
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 7, 2013

My husband's mouth dropped when he saw me.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
The dress fit perfect. I knew that it ran a little large so I ordered a size down.
Hali
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Aug 25, 2013

I wish this dress worked!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress just didn't fit me right. I usually wear a size 2/4, but this dress just did not accentuate me correctly. Sadly, this dress didn't work out.
ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jun 24, 2013

Pretty dress, not for me unfortunately!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved the dress, the color was a deep maroon but the one should look just wasn't for me. The ends of the layers were really frayed as well.
Tanya
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 2, 2013

Dress runs very large

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I didn't end up wearing this dress because both sizes that I ordered (the 2 and 0) were too large. The dress itself also didn't look very well made and was "bulkier" than the picture shows.
Abby
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104 lbs
May 22, 2013

CHIC

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The dress looked better off than on, it was slightly bigger on my frame, so I ended up wearing a different RTR dress. All-in-all it is a very sophisticated, classy option, wish it had fit right!
Jill
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
May 17, 2013

Love the color, flattering cut

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
top part didnt lay flat very well, but I did wear the dress without a bra and I have a large chest. Even after ironing the top part flat it still kept bunching up with is why i gave it 4/5 stars. not a good dress to dance in because it doesnt have much stretch but if you will be sitting or standing this is perfect. i love the deep burgundy color. I am usually between a 4 and a 6 and the 6 was perfect :)
Hannah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 133 lbs
Apr 19, 2013

Pretty Color

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wore this to a fraternity formal and got lots of compliments. I had to iron down some of the fabric strips before I wore it but it looked great. It's fairly tight and doesn't have much stretch.
Kimmy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Apr 15, 2013

Pretty dress, but absolutely no stretch!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was beautiful, but it was heavy, thick, and completely unforgiving! I ended up wearing something else when I ordered it because I just didn't like the way it fit.
Martine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 3, 2013

I got so many complements on the deep burgundy color with my blond hair!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved the color and the fit!
BREANNA
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112 lbs
Mar 5, 2013

fun and perfect for work christmas party

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
wore this to my boyfriends christmas party and got a ton of compliments loved this dress
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Feb 24, 2013

Cute, but not a great fit

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress looked darling on the website and other women, but it was way too short on me. I felt it would have been great for someone younger. Very small in the ribcage/bust. I did not end up wearing it. Beautiful deep, bordeaux color.
Christina
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Feb 22, 2013

Great service, great dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fits true to size, very little give, so order a size up. Perfect for fall/winter due to material
sara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 28, 2013

This was such a great dress. Flattering and fun!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved the fabric and the fact I didn't have to worry about anything all night. The dress fit snug, but felt flattering. Would recommend for a more conservative, but fun event.
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Jan 13, 2013

Beautiful dress, beautiful color!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a friend's wedding in August. It is a gorgeous dress and was very flattering. I preferred the size 10 (I normally wear an 8) as this dress runs a little small. I ended up not wearing the dress though because it was pretty heavy and I was worried I'd be too warm. Would be a perfect dress for a winter occasion!
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 3, 2013

Fabulous color, good fit.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The shoulder part came down somewhat easily, so if you have narrow shoulders I would not advise this choice. But for the most part really loved it!
Rosa
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Body type: Petite
Dec 28, 2012

The ease of picking and receiving a dress. The whole process is worth it!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit of this dress was perfect for me.
cookiemonster
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 27, 2012

Cute but frayed ends weren't for me

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit was tight but held everything in place. Color was beautiful and the thickness of the dress makes it great for fall or winter events but the frayed edges of the layers made it look a bit sloppy on me. The dress was also shorter than I expected, hitting at mid-thigh level.
Catherine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 20, 2012

Sexy dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved the fit of this dress and the deep red color (though it was a little tight on my booty)
BHR
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118 lbs
Dec 11, 2012

Loved it!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit really well and felt great in it.
Megan
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 6, 2012

Great dress for a wedding.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress as a guest for a friend's wedding. It was a fantastic choice for a fall wedding. I would recommend this dress!
NK
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 26, 2012

didn't like it.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I thought the fabric looked very different in person and somewhat cheap. The one shoulder strap also would not lie flat. I returned without wearing.
Mary
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Nov 24, 2012

Fabulous!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was true to size and looked great! Perfect for a dressy occasion!
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 24, 2012

I did not wear this dress.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Unfortunately this dress didn't work out for me. The fit across the bust and stomach accentuated my curves in an unflattering way because of the horizontal layered fabric. I did not end up wearing this dress for my event.
Ali
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 13, 2012

Didn't end up wearing it because it was fancier than I expected.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was too dressy for the wedding I attended with my boyfriend. It also made me look a lot wider from the front than I expected based on what I'd seen with the model. I was glad I ordered a size up, but would have worn the size 6 to the wedding, if I had worn it at all. I looked way better from the side, and felt self conscious looking at myself from the front because the ruffles added a lot of volume. The ordering experience and delivery experience with RTR was great as usual.
Kaitlin
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160 lbs
Nov 6, 2012

Hated it!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was not a success! I rented it for a wedding, and when I tried it on the pleats on the dress did not sit properly. It fits well at the bottom, but the built in bra looked terrible!
Ellie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 24, 2012

Beautiful dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress to wear for a rehearsal dinner in late September. It was just as beautiful as it looks online and true to size, but unfortunately it was a little too short and to form fitting for the look that I wanted. I wasn't able to wear the dress that night, but it would be great for a date or New Years Eve!
Judy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 119 lbs
Oct 22, 2012

Loved it

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was great, I wore it for a sunday evening black tie optional wedding and got tons of compliments. After reading other reviews about sizing, I decided to rent a 2 and a 4. The 2 ended up being a little loose but I could have gotten away wearing it and it would have been fine, however I checked with RTR and they had a 0 available and were able to send it over to me same day. I ended up wearing the size 0 because it fit a bit better and got tons of compliments! It's good to know in advance that the dress definitely doesn't have much stretch but it runs true to size or a little large. Also know that the dress doesn't really cinch or get tight around the stomach area, but it still has enough curve so it doesn't look boxy. Would definitely recommend this.
Marina
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 15, 2012

Great fit, didn't even need the additional size!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is truely a show stopper. I literally had complements all night. The dress is fitting, but only in the best ways. I have a huge butt, but the dress had enough structure that it didn't wrap around my butt but still made it look great. The pleats are very flattering on the midsection as well. On top of that, I have an athletic build and no waist and this dress made me look like i had a perfectly proportioned hourglass shape. Overall, the dress was incredibly comfortable.
Big Apple
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Sep 26, 2012

perfect winter wedding dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to a winter wedding
b
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Sep 24, 2012

Perfect for winter wedding!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I received many compliments on this dress! I wore it to a December wedding and was able to dance the night away comfortably!
Brittany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170 lbs
Sep 24, 2012

Not for double digit sizes :(

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Even with two sized (10 and a 12) I ended up not being able to wear this dress. The difference between the 10 and 12 was huge. I have a large bust (36D) and the 10 couldn't fit it but the 12 was like a potato sack on me. It looks so cute on the model, but just didn't work for my body.
Dana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 110 lbs
Sep 24, 2012

Beautiful merlot dress! Felt so rich and I received so many compliments!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to my cousin's Bar Mitzvah. The color was gorgeous and the fabric seemed so rich. I had to go with the 2 since I have a larger bust and the 0 was too tight under the arms. The fabric isn't stretchy, so I'd recommend to go with a size up. I wore nude pumps to compliment the look. First experience renting with RTR and I couldn't be happier! Can't wait to rent again!
Allison
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 24, 2012

I loved the fabric on this. It was an incredible soft fabric, and the red tone was really fantastic.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It was a bit tight in the hips, but I'm fairly pear shaped, so it was probably me.
Bethany
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 22, 2012

Loved it but too tight and short for a wedding.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was too tight and short for a wedding. I'm 5'7" with a butt and it was definitely better suited either for someone smaller or for another occasion, like a bachelorette party. Still beautiful, just didn't work for the black-tie affair that I was attending.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

Wore for a summer event at the Country Club

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress doesn't have enough stretch so I ended up wearing the larger size and it didn't fit great (was blousy some places like the hips). It was very classy, sharp and I'm glad I rented it. Looks great on, if not incredibly comfortable
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Sep 17, 2012

Perfect for a fall wedding!!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this for a fall wedding and loved it! I wore it with a camel cape and it looked amazing! I accessorized it with the Nicole Miller plantation earrings and Nicole Miller star light bracelet and nude heels-- which went perfectly. The form of this dress does not give much room for stretching-- so make sure you order your true size and get a back up in the next size up.
Maddy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 21
Body type: Athletic
Sep 12, 2012

Really Cute!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Looks great with gold jewelry. You will need to use the body tape to keep the dress from showing your bra. This dress is really flattering!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×