Sophisticated Merlot Dress

$228 to buy
$650 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

The rich hue of this Robert Rodriguez dress screams sophistication. With a subtle raw edge trim and sexy one shoulder, this dress is a true showstopper. Shown here with AV Max's Gold Dome Bangle .

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend sizing up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - built-in padding can be worn without a bra for all bust sizes though fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout and tiered fabric is flattering on all body types
HIPS: Fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - tall or curvy women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; dress has built-in cups in bust
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10")

Product Details

Wine stretch silk georgette. One shoulder neckline. Laser-cut tiered layers. Padded cups. Hidden side zip. 35'' from shoulder to hem (on a size 6).

Share
151 reviews
Fit
Large
(9)
True to Size
(115)
Small
(27)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
October 5, 2010
This dress was gorgeous! I wore this to a black-tie optional wedding and got a ton of compliments. Wore it pretty much as shown, sheer black hose, black shoes and gold accessories. Would definitely recommend!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
October 6, 2010
Absolutely LOVED this dress! I got so many compliments on it all night! It was very comfortable too. I wore it with the Dannijo Daryn earrings.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
October 12, 2010
Looked absolutely amazing. The dress is incredible comfortable and is super flattering. Wore it with nude Jimmy Choos in Napa for a rehearsal dinner and got many compliments. The color is really gorgeous and brought out my natural tan.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
October 25, 2010
I wore this dress to an evening wedding and received several compliments. I went up a size as my normal size was shorter than I prefer for a wedding and high heels. Paired this classic dress with patent, nude pumps and gold jewelry...dress is a bordeaux/pinot noir color - love it. Has a built in bra padding and very comfy! Great rental.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 4' 6"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
October 25, 2010
I ordered this dress for a black-tie wedding in the mountains in October and it was absolutely perfect! I got so many compliments and everyone agreed it was the perfect fall-winter formal dress. It runs very true to size and looks great with chunky gold bracelets. I would definitely recommend this dress!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150lbs
November 15, 2010
The dress is incredibly flattering! I wore it to a fall wedding and it was perfect. The fabric is beautiful but very formal. Beware, however, that it is very body-hugging, especially through the hip and thigh area. So if you have large hips, you may need to order up one size. The bust, on the other hand, runs slightly large.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 19, 2010
Absolutely LOVE this dress. The material is thick and flattering, and the color is much more vibrant that in this picture. The dress has built in cups which is fantastic (no bra!) and the one shoulder stayed in place all night. I don't have wide hips at all and the dress clung to me perfectly and was very shapely. If you have wide hips, I would recommend ordering a size up.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 110lbs
November 30, 2010
I was so excited to wear this pretty dress, but the zero was enormous on me, so I couldn't wear it. I think all Robert Rodriguez's are on the larger side though.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
December 7, 2010
I am about 5'1" and typically wear a 00 or a 0. This size 0 dress was definitely big on me, and the shoulder was fairly large. I would have loved to wear it, but I would suggest ordering a size down.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
December 20, 2010
well i ordered a size 8 and 10. the size 8 was a little big but not sure i could pull a size 6 over my hips. The dress also was big in the bust and i don't have a problem in that area. I loved the dress it made me feel very pretty and I received many compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34G
Body type: Full Bust
November 6, 2010
Great rental & loved the customer service
I loved this dress and received many compliments on it. This dress is not made for dancing!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 5, 2011
This dress was a complete disappointment. I checked the product details, size & fit and read every review. I made sure to really keep in mind every reviewer's body type and height. I wanted to make sure that if I was going to commit to something like renting a dress for an important event, I would do it the right way. The dress looks beautiful in the photo but unfortunately it did not look as good in person. My body type is petite, however I have hourglass curves and usually that works in my benefit- not with this dress though. Maybe it had been worn by too many people and stretched out but the hips and stomach area were both loose. I ordered two sizes, 0 and 2, and that was the 0. All in all, I was unable to wear either size and this experience was money down the drain, not to mention they wanted me to return everything on New Year's day which would have been impossible. I didn't want to get charged with the daily late fee (50% of your order charged per late day) so, I had to send back on NYE... it's a good thing the dress looked horrible because I wouldn't have been able to wear it anyway. TERRIBLE experience, I wish I could get every cent I spent back.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
February 2, 2011
the fabric doesn't give. Normally I wear a 4 or 6 in dresses but the 6 wasn't very comfortable. I'm a D bust and the draping looked awkward in pictures. Not one of my favs.
AnnOctober 22, 2015
Hi, I'm wearing the size 00 in the picture!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 4' 6"
Age: 29
Body type: Petite
February 22, 2011
Ordered this for a winter wedding. Pretty dress. The 0 had room to spare and I am not always a 0. A few things were disappointing though. The color is a duller version of the color on this website. Not rich. Kind of washed out. All in all the dress looked better on the model than it did in person and on myself. But that was my experience ;) Wore some other 'rent the runway' dress to the wedding and that one worked much better.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Body type: Straight & narrow
April 18, 2011
I wore this dress to a formal event and received so many compliments - it is perfectly elegant and the color is gorgeous. However, I would not recommend this dress to girls with hips. I am fairly straight up and down and had trouble wiggling it on over my hips, so I imagine that curvy girls could definitely struggle with it.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
April 22, 2011
I was a little worried ordering this dress because of my height, but it ended up hitting just above the knee and was extremely well proportioned. I got both a 4 and a 6, and at 34B, the 6 ended up being a better fit (the shoulder draping was more flat) though it didn't pull me in at the waist as well as the 4 did and I needed double-sided fashion tape with the bust on the right. What other reviewers have to say regarding the strips is true - they're a lot more rugged than in the image, and protrude slightly fuzzily from the sides of the dress. They also seemed a little bent on the size I chose not to wear, probably just from the wear and tear of many rentals. It was still gorgeous and everyone at my event (the senior prom) loved it with my black hose, patent leather four and a half inch heels, and several sterling silver bangles.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Body type: Full Bust
April 28, 2011
This dress looks 10x better on the model than in person. The folds aren't clean but rather frayed instead. I ended up wearing my backup which looks so much better. Disappointed with this dress, it wasn't flattering. I got a 6 and the 8 (I have very big boobs) and the 8 was far too big, while the 6 fit poorly - it was tight on my boobs and very big on my stomach area.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
May 17, 2011
This dress is pretty, but if you are at all between sizes then definitely order the size up. This dress came and it was really too tight for me to wear- it's very fitted and very very true to size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 114lbs
June 20, 2011
Knowing I was the best dressed at the whole wedding (with the exception of the bride and maybe my sister in law) but everyone else came in summer dresses
I liked this dress but wasn't in love. My biggest issue with it was that the side across my arm kept flipping up and bunching. I still liked it and it was beautiful, but hard to feel confident in it.
View photos (2)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Body type: Straight & narrow
June 23, 2011
Quite a great dress! Not for curvy people, and untoned tummies will be quite obvious in this dress. Its much more dark red than the picky-red in the picture. Surprisingly it also works well for red heads (like me). It was quite complementary with my hair, and didn't clash. I wore it to my prom with gold shoes and Dark-red and gold earrings. It was definitely fancy enough, and i got lots of complements. I would absolutely recommend it!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
July 1, 2011
very flattering dress! the ruffles along the midsection help diguise any flaws. on the mini side for tall girls!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
August 3, 2011
I wore this to a wedding and absolutely loved it! I have broad shoulders and a bit of a booty, so I ordered the size 4 and size 6 and ended up wearing the 6. I wore it with cream shoes and pearls and received many compliments. My only issue was in having to keep smoothing down the shoulder after raising my arm. Otherwise it was beautiful and the whole rental process was awesome!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
August 23, 2011
Unfortunately, I couldn't wear this dress because the sizes I ordered were so small I couldn't even get it on!! However, it did look "sophisticated" and the fabric was great. It also looked a bit shorter in person, but it was hard to tell from the hanger.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
August 24, 2011
I received many compliments on this dress throughout the night and felt great in it.
Loved this dress! I wore it to a Semi-Formal wedding and received many compliments. The color is gorgeous and the tiers are very flattering. I was sad to return it. The one thing I would caution is that this dress has absolutely no stretch, so it limits the ability to move/dance a little bit. I went with my normal size, but girls who are a little curvier might want to size up.
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 43
Body type: Athletic
August 27, 2011
amazing on! i'm very short, and the dress fit perfectly. the length was just short enough. tons of complements.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
September 13, 2011
Beautiful dress & color, very sophisticated overall look. I wore this to my office holiday party - 18 weeks pregnant, and the layering in the dress is forgiving for the tummy area. Received many compliments. Only complaint was the top sash comes up and does not lay correctly, perhaps because I have broad shoulders, I had to keep pushing it down all night. Wore without hose in December and dress is just short enough to be sexy but not provocative.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Body type: Petite
September 14, 2011
I wore this dress to a wedding recently and got many compliments. I'm 5' 4" and weigh 120 and ordered the size 4 and it fit perfect. It is fitted to your body and I had no extra room, so if you have bigger hips and bust I would recommend ordering a larger size. It was not as short on me as the woman in the picture. I would recommend this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 215lbs
September 15, 2011
Classy without loosing a sexy appeal, this dress is amazing for any formal occasion!
Super classy and sexy at the same time. I wore this dress to a fall wedding and felt like a million bucks. I got a ton of compliments and didn't want to return it. The layering of the fabric hides imperfections without making you look thick because the dress is impeccably made. The wine color is amazing on any skin tone. This is a fabulous dress.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
September 26, 2011
This dress was PERFECTION!
This dress was BANANAS! I got so many compliments on it and I still am. You can't tell in the picture, but the strips are a little frayed at the end, which in my opinion made it even hotter. It runs a little small, especially in the shoulders. I am not overly broad, but it was a little tight under my arm. All in all I was very happy with this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
September 28, 2011
I got this dress for a wedding, where I was also doing a reading during the ceremony. I was quite excited to wear it, but was a little disappointed with the fit. While I do think it is true to fit (I wear a 2 or 4 and ended up wearing the 4) it was very tight on my butt/thighs, but a bit loose on top even with the built in bra cups. I was a little concerned with the length given the tightness, but was still able to have fun on the dance floor. I did, however, get a ton of compliments on it even if I was a little mixed on the overall fit on me. I styled it with black sling back heels and a great pair of dangly earrings, also from RTR, which I loved! The dress by itself has enough style that you really don't need much to make it glam.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Body type: Full Bust
October 4, 2011
I liked this dress and it looked pretty nice. My only complaint was that the tiers that go across the shoulder would flap up and I felt like I had to fix them a lot. I also ordered the Herve Leger Watercolor dress which I thought was a lot more comfortable.
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
October 5, 2011
I rented this dress and chatted with a fit specialist. I rented a 4 and a 6, as those are typically my sizes. This dress had little to no stretch, so the 6 fit better than the 4. But the part that overlays on your shoulder doesn't stay down, and the top was a bit large on me. I didn't end up wearing this dress. I was a little disappointed as it didn't look like it does in the picture, not just on me, but even on the hanger. It's a little frayed, and much heavier a material then I imagined. Not my favorite dress. But I definitely can't wait to try and rent something else - the process was seamless!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 110lbs
October 5, 2011
Love this dress! Wore it to a fall wedding, and ended up wearing the 2. I am 5'3'', and am about 110 lbs, but the 0 wouldn't go over my hips (which are NOT big). Got lots of compliments, however throughout the night, I had to flatten the shoulder down every time I lifted my arms. Also, you can't tell from this picture, but at the edge of EVERY SINGLE tier on this dress, it is slightly frayed. It is supposed to be like that, however it startled me.
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
October 6, 2011
This was my 1st choice dress and I did not end up wearing it. Not to say that this dress wasn't beautiful, because it is. It just didn't fit me right in the midsection area. I'm usually a size 3 and I ordered the size 2. It was just a little loose looking but the dress is beautiful.
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 43
Body type: Petite
October 12, 2011
A very pretty dress - nice, rich fabric. I usually wear a 2P but could not get the 2 over my hips! The 4 fit fine - I'm an A cup, and the bust area could have been a bit snugger, but it was not noticeably too big. The dress was comfortable. The top ruffles flipped up when I lifted my arm but just needed some smoothing down.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 26, 2011
nice dress that i could wear for a special occasion
I wore this for my sorority semi formal. I am 5'7 and about 130 lbs and the 4 fit perfectly. It was a pretty good length hitting about midthigh, it made my legs look really long. The only thing i didn't like was that the layers of fabric were frayed on the ends as well as a patch of fray on the front of the dress. Other than that it was great, I got tons of complements, and was easy to dance in. Looks great with gold/nude shoes as well as black.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 27, 2011
This dress is beautiful. Exactly the color and style it shows in the photo. However, it fit me very strangely. I don't consider myself to be all that curvy, but I began to feel that way in this dress. I rented a 6 (my usual size) which was very, very small. The 8 looked substantially larger, so I was still hopeful. The length and mid-section fit wonderfully, but the top was HUGE, and I am a 34C. Then the bottom hem was TINY. I don't think I would have been able to walk up steps without ripping it. I was so excited to receive this dress but sadly I was unable to wear it. May work great for those who are petite or slim and narrow, but not if you have curves (that you may not even know you had!)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
November 4, 2011
fits great, true to size, looks just like it does in the picture, wore to a wedding & got so many compliments. only problem was it looked a little bit worn but still great and will definitely use rent the runway for all other special occasions!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
November 14, 2011
I loved having the opportunity to wear Robert Rodriguez - beautiful dress that looked brand new!
I was nervous because other reviewers mentioned that this dress has little give for girls with hips. While this is true, I wore my usual size (and ordered one size up just in case) and it fit like a glove! I wore with nude shoes and drop earrings and got tons of compliments!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
November 15, 2011
Great fit!
This dress is perfect and simple, especially with some big earrings and silver pumps. I wore it for homecoming at my school and loved it!
See more reviews:
1 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×