Sophisticated Merlot Dress

$228 to buy
$650 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

The rich hue of this Robert Rodriguez dress screams sophistication. With a subtle raw edge trim and sexy one shoulder, this dress is a true showstopper. Shown here with AV Max's Gold Dome Bangle .

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend sizing up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - built-in padding can be worn without a bra for all bust sizes though fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout and tiered fabric is flattering on all body types
HIPS: Fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - tall or curvy women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; dress has built-in cups in bust
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10")

Product Details

Wine stretch silk georgette. One shoulder neckline. Laser-cut tiered layers. Padded cups. Hidden side zip. 35'' from shoulder to hem (on a size 6).

Share
151 reviews
Fit
Large
(9)
True to Size
(115)
Small
(27)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116lbs
February 5, 2012
First rental with RTR went amazingly perfect! My husband loved the way I looked in this dress!

This is the first time I've rented a dress from RTR and I will definitely do it again! The merlot color of this dress is beautiful and rich. I ordered a size 4 and a size 6 as my back up. Both sizes ended up fitting me. I was honestly more comfortable in the 6; however, it did not come in at the waist as much and the top was a little large on me, so I chose the size 4. I was nervous that the dress would fit me too long thus making me look even shorter. However, the length was perfect for this occasion and ended up fitting me a few inches above the knee. I wore this dress with gold sparkle heels and gold dangle earrings. Oh yea, unlike other reviewers, I found this dress comfortable enough to dance in. I was able to salsa and dance cumbias (both of which require lots of hip movement) comfortably all night long!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
March 3, 2012
Dress can be worn to any event. My fiancee's jaw dropped!

This dress is very nice. It has padded cups which were bent & didn't really work for me, I had to wear a strapless bra so the breast area felt a bit tight. Dress has no stretch but it fits beautifully.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
March 12, 2012
This dress was perfect for New Year's Eve! Such a fun party dress but still classy!

I rented this dress for New Year's Eve and I was overall pleased with it. The dress itself was heavy and the fabric was thicker than I expected, but since it was cold outside I wasn't upset about it. The shoulder didn't stay in place and I was pulling it down for most of the night though. The pleating on the shoulder also didn't stay in place, so I ended up using double sided tape to hold it down so I wouldn't have to worry about it. In the end I was pleased with the dress and again had an amazing RTR experience!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 16, 2012
Almost perfect

The color of this dress is even better in person. Unfortunately, my dress arrived damaged and I was unable to wear it, but I would consider renting it again in the future.

Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
May 15, 2012
Great Dress!

To tell you the truth, I was first skeptical about renting a dress. However, the whole process from choosing a dress to returning it was flawless! I had several questions regarding the dress and the stylist quickly responded to my e-mail. I usually wear size 0 but I also got size 2 as my back up since the fabric is not stretchable (based on the reviews). I love the dress! I got several compliments even after the event (thanks to social networking). I decided to wear the size 0 since it showed my petite frame better than the size 2. It was also comfortable! The color is similar to the picture shown. The dress was not too flamboyant or too dull. The only concern I had was the fringe of the dress. I didn't expect that the fringe was so delicate. Towards the end of the wedding, I had to stop dancing and sit down because I was worried I might ruin the dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
June 12, 2012
Loved it!

I ordered this dress in a size 4 after reading the reviews. I didn't order a back-up size because I also ordered another dress and got the back-up size in that one (could only get one back-up). I got worried when I started to put this on, it takes a bit of wiggling, but it fit perfect! I probably could have fit in a 6 but it would have been too loose for me. I liked that it was form fitting. I just had a baby 6 months ago an I used to wear a 2 but my hips are a bit wider now and I still have a couple extra pounds. Also I am still breastfeeding so I went from a size 32C to a 32D. The top fit me very well, not sure how it would be on an A or a small B, I could see it being a bit large up top. The fabric on the shoulder did flip up a bit as people had noted in previous reviews but it didn't bother me at all, just flattened it a couple times. Oh, the other dress I ordered was a size 2 that reviewers said ran large and it fit perfectly as well, the reviews are so helpful!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
August 9, 2012
cute dress

I rented this dress as a back up, didn't end up wearing it. I wasn't a huge fan of the layers, if they weren't laying perfectly flat it made the dress (and me!) look a little bit unkempt

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 63
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
August 14, 2012
Great Dress!!

Loved this dress

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
August 16, 2012
Perfect dress for my boyfriend's surprise birthday party!

This dress is beautiful, classy yet fun! The only complaint would be that the top of the sleeve kept rolling up but other than that it was great.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 140lbs
August 17, 2012
More fringe-y than expected

I am fairly short (5'1"), and was surprised by how high up my thigh this dress hit. Also, while the description mentions "a subtle raw edge trim," I would like to note that the trim (which lines the bottom of each "strip" that winds around to create the dress) is much more noticeable than I expected. That being said, it looked good, and I did get many compliments.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
August 22, 2012
Didn't end up wearing it

This dress was very pretty, however the way the shoulder fabric laid, it kept flipping up and over itself. My husband didn't like the way it looked, so I wore and dress I had in my closet.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
September 10, 2012
Show Stopper

This dress was incredible!! People were ranting and raving about it all night long. The dress is very flattering because it is forgiving yet sexy at the same time. I would definitely wear it again. Just as a heads up, though, if you're tall like I am, it is a little short - so perhaps not the best for an incredibly formal function, but definitely a lot of fun anywhere else.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Body type: Athletic
September 12, 2012
Really Cute!

Looks great with gold jewelry. You will need to use the body tape to keep the dress from showing your bra. This dress is really flattering!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
September 17, 2012
Perfect for a fall wedding!!

I rented this for a fall wedding and loved it! I wore it with a camel cape and it looked amazing! I accessorized it with the Nicole Miller plantation earrings and Nicole Miller star light bracelet and nude heels-- which went perfectly. The form of this dress does not give much room for stretching-- so make sure you order your true size and get a back up in the next size up.

Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
September 24, 2012
Loved this dress. Super flattering cut and color- I got compliments all night!

The "layers" of the dress are more ruffly and fringe-y than they appear to be in the picture. This wasn't necessarily a bad thing- it just wasn't exactly as I expected. Also, the shoulder tends to move up and down along your shoulder when you left your arms. This wasn't bad either- you just need to adjust it from time to time. Overall, definitely reccommend!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
September 24, 2012
I loved the fabric on this. It was an incredible soft fabric, and the red tone was really fantastic.

It was a bit tight in the hips, but I'm fairly pear shaped, so it was probably me.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
September 24, 2012
Came right on time and exactly as described!

LOVED this dress! Got LOTS AND LOTS of compliments! The shoulder "flaps" did pop up a lot, but I used a little fashion tape on the top two layers and had no problems the rest of the night. I did not have time to tan, but the color of the dress still looked good on my pale skin.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
September 24, 2012
Perfect for winter wedding!

I received many compliments on this dress! I wore it to a December wedding and was able to dance the night away comfortably!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
September 26, 2012
perfect winter wedding dress!

I wore this to a winter wedding

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
October 15, 2012
Great fit, didn't even need the additional size!

This dress is truely a show stopper. I literally had complements all night. The dress is fitting, but only in the best ways. I have a huge butt, but the dress had enough structure that it didn't wrap around my butt but still made it look great. The pleats are very flattering on the midsection as well. On top of that, I have an athletic build and no waist and this dress made me look like i had a perfectly proportioned hourglass shape. Overall, the dress was incredibly comfortable.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 161lbs
October 16, 2012
got lots of compliments

I was excited when this dress came in as my 1st pick wasn't available for the wedding. We lucked out because the weather was beautiful for the October outdoor wedding. I only had 2 gripes. One, was that clearly I'm not a one-shoulder girl as i had to keep messing with the shoulder. The other was that I felt like although I'm not busty girl, it made me look like my entire ribcage was a giant boob. Overall I really liked the dress and would recommend.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
October 18, 2012
Sophisticated Fun

Loved this dress. Wore it to my cousin's evening wedding. I took the route of the model in the photo and wore it with sheer black tights and black heels. It was fun and fabulous, accentuating my curves without being clingy or skintight. Appropriate to wear around all my older relatives. The layers did have a tendency to stick up, especially on the shoulder. Have some fashion tape handy to keep down layers. Wore my standard 4, and the length was perfect on me since I'm so short. Even with a strapless bra, the top was a bit loose but with a a bit of fashion tape it stayed up no problem. I was also surprised by how heavy the dress was—all those layers create a thick garment!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 119lbs
October 22, 2012
Loved it

This dress was great, I wore it for a sunday evening black tie optional wedding and got tons of compliments. After reading other reviews about sizing, I decided to rent a 2 and a 4. The 2 ended up being a little loose but I could have gotten away wearing it and it would have been fine, however I checked with RTR and they had a 0 available and were able to send it over to me same day. I ended up wearing the size 0 because it fit a bit better and got tons of compliments! It's good to know in advance that the dress definitely doesn't have much stretch but it runs true to size or a little large. Also know that the dress doesn't really cinch or get tight around the stomach area, but it still has enough curve so it doesn't look boxy. Would definitely recommend this.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
October 24, 2012
Beautiful dress!

I rented this dress to wear for a rehearsal dinner in late September. It was just as beautiful as it looks online and true to size, but unfortunately it was a little too short and to form fitting for the look that I wanted. I wasn't able to wear the dress that night, but it would be great for a date or New Years Eve!

Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
November 6, 2012
Hated it!

This dress was not a success! I rented it for a wedding, and when I tried it on the pleats on the dress did not sit properly. It fits well at the bottom, but the built in bra looked terrible!

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
November 24, 2012
Fabulous!

The fit was true to size and looked great! Perfect for a dressy occasion!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
November 26, 2012
didn't like it.

I thought the fabric looked very different in person and somewhat cheap. The one shoulder strap also would not lie flat. I returned without wearing.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
November 26, 2012
how it arrived, everything it came with, was amazing! & so simple to return

It fit perfectly, not too tight and but not too loose. I wore it to a rehearsal dinner for a friend and received so many compliments on it! The material was great and there wasn't anything I'd change about it!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
December 6, 2012
Great dress for a wedding.

I wore this dress as a guest for a friend's wedding. It was a fantastic choice for a fall wedding. I would recommend this dress!

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
December 11, 2012
Loved it!

Fit really well and felt great in it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 20, 2012
Sexy dress!

Loved the fit of this dress and the deep red color (though it was a little tight on my booty)

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
January 4, 2013
Great color, flattering fit, but frayed layers can be tough to work with

I loved my first RTR rental and will definitely be using RTR again for future events. This dress is a gorgeous color for a fall wedding. I wore this to a November wedding 3 months after having my second son and I felt that was forgiving on my post baby body. What you may or may not be able to tell in the pictures is that this dress has thin tiers or layers. This was a pro and a con for me. I think the layers make for a more flattering look, however, they kept flipping up by my neck line and over my shoulder which was driving me crazy! I used the double sided tape and it helped but it wasn't perfect. Over all great dress, very flattering but take the time before your event to try it on and fix the layers with the double sided fashion tape RTR provides. Ps. Thats my bestie with me in another RTR rental looking gorg! She loved her dress and got a lot of compliments :)

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 28, 2013
This was such a great dress. Flattering and fun!

I loved the fabric and the fact I didn't have to worry about anything all night. The dress fit snug, but felt flattering. Would recommend for a more conservative, but fun event.

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
February 21, 2013
Loved this dress!

It was right on the bandage dress trend without being (or looking) too tight. The stripes are folded fabric, so it hugs the body without showing off too much and without the bandage-y tightness. It fit perfectly and made my figure look fantastic. I wish I could wear it again for an event!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
September 19, 2012
Great for a fall wedding!

Perfect dress for a fall wedding, I wore it with black tights. Love the overall fit, I wore the size 4, 6 was too big.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112lbs
March 5, 2013
fun and perfect for work christmas party

wore this to my boyfriends christmas party and got a ton of compliments loved this dress

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
March 31, 2013
Nice color!

This was my backup dress and I didn't end up wearing it. The pleats were a little more freyed than I thought they would be, and it was a TINY bit hard to move in. Other than that, nice color and hot dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
April 3, 2013
I got so many complements on the deep burgundy color with my blond hair!

I loved the color and the fit!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
April 14, 2013
Perfect fit! So comfortable and gorgeous.

This is my first time renting from RTR and I will absolutely do it again. I wore this to a sorority formal and got so many compliments, this dress is the perfect combination of classy and sexy. I typically wear an 8 or 10 and I always struggle with one shoulder dresses due to my broad shoulders and chest but this dress fit perfect, and surprisingly no bra needed. The fabric has a little stretch so its very comfortable and the color and cut make it form flattering. I would recommend this dress to anyone!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
May 7, 2013
It was a gorgeous, classy dress, and i was named sweetheart of TKE fraternity that night!

the bottom was pretty tight, so it was kind of hard to move around in freely, but overall is was comfortable and fit well!

View photos (1)
See more reviews:
3 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×