Sophisticated Merlot Dress

$228 to buy
$650 retail
Stylist Notes

The rich hue of this Robert Rodriguez dress screams sophistication. With a subtle raw edge trim and sexy one shoulder, this dress is a true showstopper. Shown here with AV Max's Gold Dome Bangle .

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend sizing up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - built-in padding can be worn without a bra for all bust sizes though fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout and tiered fabric is flattering on all body types
HIPS: Fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - tall or curvy women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; dress has built-in cups in bust
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10")

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend sizing up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - built-in padding can be worn without a bra for all bust sizes though fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout and tiered fabric is flattering on all body types
HIPS: Fitted - for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - tall or curvy women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; dress has built-in cups in bust
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10")

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Wine stretch silk georgette. One shoulder neckline. Laser-cut tiered layers. Padded cups. Hidden side zip. 35'' from shoulder to hem (on a size 6).

Share
151 reviews
Fit
Large
(9)
True to Size
(115)
Small
(27)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
January 4, 2012
Great dress for the New Year!
I wore this dress for New Years Eve. I originally picked the dress as a back up to another dress that I ended up not liking at all. This dress ended up being my favorite. I would suggest getting the size you think you are and maybe a size larger because it fits snug if you have curves. I loved wearing the dress it was a hit and I felt comfortable in it.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
January 15, 2012
Nice for a night out
Rented this for dinner out while on vacation in Napa. Fits true to size. Very flattering for a slim figure. Fabric doesn't really give, so perhaps order a size up if you're busty or hippy. Would upload photos, but they're all too large.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 127lbs
February 5, 2012
First rental with RTR went amazingly perfect! My husband loved the way I looked in this dress!
This is the first time I've rented a dress from RTR and I will definitely do it again! The merlot color of this dress is beautiful and rich. I ordered a size 4 and a size 6 as my back up. Both sizes ended up fitting me. I was honestly more comfortable in the 6; however, it did not come in at the waist as much and the top was a little large on me, so I chose the size 4. I was nervous that the dress would fit me too long thus making me look even shorter. However, the length was perfect for this occasion and ended up fitting me a few inches above the knee. I wore this dress with gold sparkle heels and gold dangle earrings. Oh yea, unlike other reviewers, I found this dress comfortable enough to dance in. I was able to salsa and dance cumbias (both of which require lots of hip movement) comfortably all night long!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
March 3, 2012
Dress can be worn to any event. My fiancee's jaw dropped!
This dress is very nice. It has padded cups which were bent & didn't really work for me, I had to wear a strapless bra so the breast area felt a bit tight. Dress has no stretch but it fits beautifully.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
March 12, 2012
This dress was perfect for New Year's Eve! Such a fun party dress but still classy!
I rented this dress for New Year's Eve and I was overall pleased with it. The dress itself was heavy and the fabric was thicker than I expected, but since it was cold outside I wasn't upset about it. The shoulder didn't stay in place and I was pulling it down for most of the night though. The pleating on the shoulder also didn't stay in place, so I ended up using double sided tape to hold it down so I wouldn't have to worry about it. In the end I was pleased with the dress and again had an amazing RTR experience!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Body type: Petite
April 1, 2012
Worn for a birthday party
The color of this dress is great. Matches very well with jewelry and can work with many different colored shoes. However, I wasn't aware that the dress had multiple layers from top to bottom in the pictures shown on the page. It made it seem larger and looked bigger in some spots than I had hoped for. Overall, it was comfortable, but I wish it were tighter and that I had known the layers in fabric were there when I ordered it. It ran a little big.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
April 16, 2012
Almost perfect
The color of this dress is even better in person. Unfortunately, my dress arrived damaged and I was unable to wear it, but I would consider renting it again in the future.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
May 15, 2012
Great Dress!
To tell you the truth, I was first skeptical about renting a dress. However, the whole process from choosing a dress to returning it was flawless! I had several questions regarding the dress and the stylist quickly responded to my e-mail. I usually wear size 0 but I also got size 2 as my back up since the fabric is not stretchable (based on the reviews). I love the dress! I got several compliments even after the event (thanks to social networking). I decided to wear the size 0 since it showed my petite frame better than the size 2. It was also comfortable! The color is similar to the picture shown. The dress was not too flamboyant or too dull. The only concern I had was the fringe of the dress. I didn't expect that the fringe was so delicate. Towards the end of the wedding, I had to stop dancing and sit down because I was worried I might ruin the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
June 12, 2012
Loved it!
I ordered this dress in a size 4 after reading the reviews. I didn't order a back-up size because I also ordered another dress and got the back-up size in that one (could only get one back-up). I got worried when I started to put this on, it takes a bit of wiggling, but it fit perfect! I probably could have fit in a 6 but it would have been too loose for me. I liked that it was form fitting. I just had a baby 6 months ago an I used to wear a 2 but my hips are a bit wider now and I still have a couple extra pounds. Also I am still breastfeeding so I went from a size 32C to a 32D. The top fit me very well, not sure how it would be on an A or a small B, I could see it being a bit large up top. The fabric on the shoulder did flip up a bit as people had noted in previous reviews but it didn't bother me at all, just flattened it a couple times. Oh, the other dress I ordered was a size 2 that reviewers said ran large and it fit perfectly as well, the reviews are so helpful!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
August 9, 2012
cute dress
I rented this dress as a back up, didn't end up wearing it. I wasn't a huge fan of the layers, if they weren't laying perfectly flat it made the dress (and me!) look a little bit unkempt
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 62
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
August 14, 2012
Great Dress!!
Loved this dress
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
August 16, 2012
Perfect dress for my boyfriend's surprise birthday party!
This dress is beautiful, classy yet fun! The only complaint would be that the top of the sleeve kept rolling up but other than that it was great.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 140lbs
August 17, 2012
More fringe-y than expected
I am fairly short (5'1"), and was surprised by how high up my thigh this dress hit. Also, while the description mentions "a subtle raw edge trim," I would like to note that the trim (which lines the bottom of each "strip" that winds around to create the dress) is much more noticeable than I expected. That being said, it looked good, and I did get many compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
August 22, 2012
Didn't end up wearing it
This dress was very pretty, however the way the shoulder fabric laid, it kept flipping up and over itself. My husband didn't like the way it looked, so I wore and dress I had in my closet.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 28, 2013
This was such a great dress. Flattering and fun!
I loved the fabric and the fact I didn't have to worry about anything all night. The dress fit snug, but felt flattering. Would recommend for a more conservative, but fun event.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 21, 2013
Loved this dress!
It was right on the bandage dress trend without being (or looking) too tight. The stripes are folded fabric, so it hugs the body without showing off too much and without the bandage-y tightness. It fit perfectly and made my figure look fantastic. I wish I could wear it again for an event!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
September 19, 2012
Great for a fall wedding!
Perfect dress for a fall wedding, I wore it with black tights. Love the overall fit, I wore the size 4, 6 was too big.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112lbs
March 5, 2013
fun and perfect for work christmas party
wore this to my boyfriends christmas party and got a ton of compliments loved this dress
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
March 31, 2013
Nice color!
This was my backup dress and I didn't end up wearing it. The pleats were a little more freyed than I thought they would be, and it was a TINY bit hard to move in. Other than that, nice color and hot dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
April 3, 2013
I got so many complements on the deep burgundy color with my blond hair!
I loved the color and the fit!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
April 14, 2013
Perfect fit! So comfortable and gorgeous.
This is my first time renting from RTR and I will absolutely do it again. I wore this to a sorority formal and got so many compliments, this dress is the perfect combination of classy and sexy. I typically wear an 8 or 10 and I always struggle with one shoulder dresses due to my broad shoulders and chest but this dress fit perfect, and surprisingly no bra needed. The fabric has a little stretch so its very comfortable and the color and cut make it form flattering. I would recommend this dress to anyone!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
April 15, 2013
Pretty dress, but absolutely no stretch!
This dress was beautiful, but it was heavy, thick, and completely unforgiving! I ended up wearing something else when I ordered it because I just didn't like the way it fit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
April 19, 2013
Pretty Color
Wore this to a fraternity formal and got lots of compliments. I had to iron down some of the fabric strips before I wore it but it looked great. It's fairly tight and doesn't have much stretch.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
May 7, 2013
It was a gorgeous, classy dress, and i was named sweetheart of TKE fraternity that night!
the bottom was pretty tight, so it was kind of hard to move around in freely, but overall is was comfortable and fit well!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
June 2, 2013
Dress runs very large
I didn't end up wearing this dress because both sizes that I ordered (the 2 and 0) were too large. The dress itself also didn't look very well made and was "bulkier" than the picture shows.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
August 25, 2013
I wish this dress worked!
This dress just didn't fit me right. I usually wear a size 2/4, but this dress just did not accentuate me correctly. Sadly, this dress didn't work out.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
September 21, 2013
Cute and fun dress
Fun dress but the detailing consists of lots of layers of fabric. It was a little snug but it worked out. The fabric kept coming up so I made sure to bring fabric tape with me! The fabric tape helped tremendously but the shoulder did slide up a bit. Even though those things were slightly inconvenient, by the end of the night I was dancing the night away and didnt care about those things!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
November 5, 2013
Beautiful rich color and a pretty good fit. I got lots of compliments.
Not much give to the fabric, which is good for hiding flaws, but not always the most comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
February 24, 2013
Beautiful dress
I wore it for my fiancé's brothers wedding and loved it. It was a beautiful dress, wonderful fit. A little short but I am tall.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 28, 2011
success!
Fit very well, wore to dinner with my boyfriend and he loved it too!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
August 11, 2012
Awesome I loved it
Fit great a tad snug around the top but otherwise perfect
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
February 27, 2014
Lovely dress, but it definitely runs small.
Definitely size up for this dress, but it's lovely in person. Perfect dress on its own with some simple accessorizing. I actually did not end up wearing this dress for my event as it was my second choice, but it was a tough decision!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
March 2, 2014
Comfortable, form fitting, and hides your imperfections. Perfect dress for the Casino Night party!
Fit like a glove, very comfortable and stayed in place well. The small tiered layers hide any imperfections I was trying to hide. Received many compliments, wish I could've kept this one in my closet!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 129lbs
March 4, 2014
This dress looked great on, but it was surprisingly thick layers of fabric. Not the most comfortable
Fine for fall or winter, but too heavy/thick for summer event.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 22, 2012
Loved it but too tight and short for a wedding.
This dress was too tight and short for a wedding. I'm 5'7" with a butt and it was definitely better suited either for someone smaller or for another occasion, like a bachelorette party. Still beautiful, just didn't work for the black-tie affair that I was attending.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Body type: Petite
January 14, 2011
Love this dress...picture does not do justices....looks very elegant
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
February 19, 2011
I felt great in this this dress. I wore this dress to a November wedding and felt very season appropriate and stylish. The color was great and I felt very sexy.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
March 2, 2011
I loved this dress! I wore it for Valentine's Day dinner and I got many compliments! Very comfortable. You may want to go one size up if you have bigger hips.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
March 8, 2011
I wore this to a fraternity formal and it was perfect! i absolutely love this dress! I am 130 lbs and I wore a size 4. I wore it as shown but my hair was down!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
May 16, 2011
This dress was very pretty. I wore it to a rehearsal dinner for a black tie optional wedding. As others explained, the layers on the dress are not clean cut like they look in the photo, they are slightly frayed, but I didn't mind it. I'm 115 lbs and wore a size 2. Great dress overall.
See more reviews:
3 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×