Sequin Inserts Mini Dress

$80 to buy
$750 retail
Stylist Notes

The Sequin Insert Mini Dress is back! Rent the newly styled Robert Rodriguez dress for anything and everything. It is an absolute must rental of the year!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup - fuller busted women should size up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout; ruching and sequin inserts are flattering on all body types
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted through; for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'8''.)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup - fuller busted women should size up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout; ruching and sequin inserts are flattering on all body types
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted through; for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'8''.)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black. 100% stretch silk with gold sequin embellishment. Ruching detail throughout body. Gold zipper trim. Tube construction with boned bodice for support. Hidden side zip. 25" from top of bodice to hem. Model's height is 5'9".

Share
134 reviews
Fit
Large
(24)
True to Size
(94)
Small
(16)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 180lbs
April 25, 2011
Super cute dress. But received the dress in two different styles! One had zippers along the black fabric and the other didn't. I understood others' frustration about the zipper seam. I paired the dress with a black blazer. It really does have a WOW factor to it... I'm not into really short dresses--so if you're around my height, know that you'll be showing ALL of your leg.
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
April 27, 2011
This dress does NOT look like a designer dress. It looks like it is from charlette rousse or forever 21 and if you don't have big hips I definitely do not recommend it. The fit around the hips was really stretched out and the size 2 was way too long (went to right above my knee). The material is cheap and the sequins are falling off/CHEAP. I ordered a 2 and 4 and they were entirely too big. Hope this helps (if you are deciding between this and another one and can't decide, DO NOT GO WITH THIS ONE).
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Body type: Athletic
May 2, 2011
I wore this dress to a company XMAS party and got many compliments. I ended up wearing a cardigan with it due to the zipper being a little rough. Other than the zipper issue, the dress is lovely.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
May 11, 2011
This dress was beautiful in person, i ordered this as a back up for a Vegas trip. They were out of size 2 which is my size so I ended up with a 4. The dress being a bit too big caused a buldge where the zipper begins on the bottom. I didn't where the dress because of that but I will more then likely rent this dress again in the future and hope for the right size. Other then the zipper issue this dress looked AMAZING on. Very flashy!!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 53
Body type: Hourglass
May 14, 2011
the dress was beautiful but also frustrating due to the hanger straps that kept coming out. Also the zipper side bulged out if dress crept up. I was constantly pulling the dress down so it didn't pucker. It was not tight so I am thinking when the zipper was replaced the garment was sewn down maybe wrong. Not sure? Anyway, we loved the customer service and the dress was on time. If we would have looked closer in the box we would have noticed the tape they had sent to maybe avoid problems we had...
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 23
Body type: Full Bust
May 23, 2011
I absolutely loved this dress! Everyone was asking me where I got my dress and I happily said that I rented it with RentTheRunway. I matched my date perfectly, and he was in the navy, so we were the center of attention at the dance. The dress fit me in all of the right places that it needed to without looking like it was squeezing anything. The sequins didn't bother me at all and I have pretty sensitive skin. The design is very flattering and will hide any sort of tummy flaw with the curve of the dress. Very appealing to any body type and the material is stretchy enough to fit over curves. The only thing was that the zipper kept getting caught at the top of the dress. But other than that, I was very pleased with my experience with RentTheRunway and I will definitely be renting again. Thanks for the best prom ever!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
May 26, 2011
Dress is pretty but didn't fit right. The zipper was an issue on both my sizes, 2 & 4. The dress is really stiff and hard to move around in. Didn't fit the 2 bc of my chest but the top of the 4 didn't seem too sturdy and I was afraid things might fall out while dancing. Also it was a tad too short for me falling right under my bottom. I didn't want to provide any Paris Hilton moments so I wore a dress I had in my closet. Beautiful just not for me due to comfort.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
May 27, 2011
This dress is gorgeous- however very uncomfortable. There is 'boning' that gives the dress shape- and it pinched into my back/hips when sitting. Perhaps a larger size would have helped but then the bust would have been to big. Disappointing considering how beautiful the dress was on the hanger and off (pain free when standing!).
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Body type: Petite
June 6, 2011
I got a 0. It was still too big. I had to leave the hanger straps on and wear those as normal straps. Other than that, it looked nice. It just wasn't what I was expecting or what I wanted.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 26
Body type: Petite
June 22, 2011
I can't say anything bad about this dress. It fit great to my small form, and I was able to dance all night! This dress is definitely great in person.
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Body type: Petite
June 28, 2011
It may have been because I am shorter than the model in this picture, but the dress looked awkward long. I usually wear a size 0 and the 0 in this dress ran awfully large (for me at least), to the point where the dress looked rather bulky. The hanger straps were an issue too, but regardless I received MANY compliments on the dress.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
June 28, 2011
Fun dress, but I was unable to wear it. I have a petite, lean frame, and bunching on the left side of the dress below the model's hand stuck out in a way that was extremely unflattering. Further, the overall bodice of the dress did not hug my body and fell a bit flat. Imagine this is a gorgeous dress on the right body, though.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Body type: Petite
August 4, 2011
I loved this dress. It was super cute and sassy. I got a lot of compliments. I am short though and it was too long for me. I was able to fold it under to make it shorter, but that would be my only caution for the petite girls. Overall, super sexy and fun for a big night out.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 134lbs
June 20, 2011
Cute, fun dress for a night out.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
August 30, 2011
This dress had a horrible bulge at the bottom of the zipper. Too much fabric there. It was not wearable. RTR replaced it. I didn't see anyone else mention this. Hope it was just the one dress.
TaraOctober 2, 2015
Hi! Was the R short with flats or heels? I'm 5'8 1/2", and plan on wearing flats - L or R better? Thanks!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
September 12, 2011
I definitely should have believed the reviews on this dress. I didnt think the hanger strings bothered me that much however they were a little long. The problem I had with this dress was the fit. It bulges on the side where the model has her hand and was completely unflattering! If you have any hips at all, do not rent this dress. I loved the look of the dress, black dress with gold sequins that's why I gave this dress 1 star. I sent the dress back right away and didn't even bother wearing it!
LeeOctober 6, 2015
I am also anxiously waiting. I've been on the wait-list since April 2015. Cannot wait.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 60
Bust size: 38A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
September 18, 2011
felt great. Loved the look. What a wonderful dress. It looks so much better in real life than the picture does.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Body type: Full Bust
September 24, 2011
I felt this dress ran a little small. I usually wear an 8 or 10 which is what I rented. I wish I would have picked the size up instead of the size down for my backup. I wore the 10 and it fit like a glove. The dress is just as gorgeous in person. I wore this to my Bachelorette Party and received so many compliments on it. I would rent it again for sure but a size up! The only complain I have is the 'boning' in the dress kept poking out and pricking me every so often. I think going with the size up would have eliminated this from happening. However, the dress was so AMAZING I didn't mind it. Pain is beauty, right?!?!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
September 28, 2011
Absolutely amazing piece. I was actually a bit hesitant to get this dress but trusted an opinion of a friend and was very thankful I did so. By the image you can't really get a clear picture of the how the detailing looks but its lovely in person. Certainly a show stopper. In regards to the hanger straps..I did not have a problem with them popping out, however, the dress has a side zipper and the hanger strap on this side does make the piece a bit awkward to put on you have to slide in either under or over. In any case xoxo RTR
Absolutely amazing piece. I was actually a bit hesitant to get this dress but trusted an opinion of a friend and was very thankful I did so. By the image you can't really get a clear picture of the how the detailing looks but its lovely in person. Certainly a show stopper. In regards to the hanger straps..I did not have a problem with them popping out, however, the dress has a side zipper and the hanger strap on this side does make the piece a bit awkward to put on you have to slide in either under or over. In any case xoxo RTR
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 44
Body type: Petite
September 28, 2011
But I am petite and it was too roomy in the waist area
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Body type: Hourglass
September 30, 2011
This was the first dress I ever rented from RTR and disappointingly, it didn't look presentable because where the zipper ends after unzipping it was sticking out and did not fit like the picture shows. I am 5'5" and wear size xs with a 34 b small bust, this dress did not hug me everywhere and just felt like a garbage bag. I still think its a pretty dress but I didn't end up wearing it.
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
October 12, 2011
I didn't understand this dress. The last Robert Rodriguez dress I rented was a 4 and was too small. So I sent it back and this time the 4 was too big. It was loose in the hip area (I'm a 29 waist) and the top kept sliding down . I loved the look of the dress so much, but probably needed a size smaller and didn't have time to exchange it. I woudl definitely recommend trying it out as it's very pretty in person.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Body type: Athletic
October 14, 2011
the staps were annoying they get popping out all night but other than that I loved the dress ,oh and the zipper doesnt go all the way up either on the side! That was annoying too.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Body type: Athletic
November 7, 2011
This dress looked really cheap and the black portions of the dress were pilled. Not flattering. The dress went right back.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
November 14, 2011
Like a glove
This dress is perfect for a formal event to which you dont want to wear a long gown, the fit is very flattering.
JessicaNovember 23, 2011
I am also 5'10. Where did this dress hit you in the length. Love it, but I don't want to be tugging it down all night.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 30, 2011
It was a black and gold affair and my dress was the perfect fit. I received soooo many compliments it was unreal! The best part about the night was being with my friends and celebrating the successful fundraiser my friend, Rachel, put together.
I loved the way this dress accented my curves. I am a petite gal and have a hard time finding a dress that is not too long, but not too short. My booty is significant and can fill out any skirt. Hence, the difficulty in finding a perfect dress. This one hit me in all of the right spots. The only issue I had with it is it irritated my armpit on the side where the zipper hook comes together. My strapless bra also kept falling so I would definitely go with a sticky bra next time.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
December 14, 2011
Amazing
I've been dying to wear this dress for about a year and final was able to rent it for my sorority's semi formal. It fit great and it was everyone's favorite dress of the night. One guy said, "This is the best dress of the night. It's like you're classy with the black but also here to party with the gold." If you're looking to impress or just for a really fun dress, this one is the way to go.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
December 28, 2011
Adored
Loved this dress. The 4 was a little tight on me, but the 6 was perfect. I wore this to my company Christmas party and got a ton of compliments. Its flashy and fun without being over the top, and super comfortable. The side zipper occasionally would pooch out a little but it wasn't anything major. Stays up, never slid down like some strapless dresses. Would totally rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
January 5, 2012
Gorgeous and flattering!
I would rent this again in a second! Great for NYE! Lots of compliments and very comfortable as well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
January 6, 2012
NY EVE dress
This dress was amazing, it was my first time renting from RTR and they did not disappoint. I got so many compliments through the entire night and the dress fit perfectly. I would tell anyone to rent this dress you will definitely get noticed. The dress was a little loose in the bust but the double sided tape that RTR sent fixed that problem.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
January 9, 2012
Tons of compliments!
I wore this for NYE and got a ton of compliments. It's very festive and very flattering. The dress looks very well made, the one I got was a little worn in, but not too bad. I am 5'2 and it was a decent length, like mid thigh-ish, not too short, or too long. Very fitted, but still comfortable. Runs true to size.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
January 29, 2012
Overall, it was a great experience and I would def recommend this dress. I got tons of compliments from strangers and friends. You wont be disappointed!
My friend invited me on an impromptu trip to Atlantic City, but we were leaving the next day and I had nothing to wear!!.... Solution: Rent the Runway. The company had great customer service. I ordered the "same-day" delivery, and they were able to make sure I got it before 3pm (they usually guarantee that it's there before 6pm). The dress was very flattering and surprisingly very comfortable. The zipper on the 2 had been altered so it fit nicely but the bottom "tail" was sticking out. Also, part of the boning on the left side was showing. I didn't choose to wear the 4 because the zipper on the 4 puffed out awkwardly and it was really baggy. I was surprised there was such a discrepancy between sizes. You can even pair it with a black blazer for a more conservative look and it's still is eye-catching.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
February 23, 2012
Great times in a great dress!
I wore this dress to my sorority formal this January and got a lot of compliments on it. I ordered the 4 and the 6, I usually wear a 4, but I probably could have worn the 2. Looked great anyway though and nice sequins.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 123lbs
March 1, 2012
generally happy with it
I am generally a size 2 or 4 and I rented the size 4. It fit, but barely (which is why I stated that it runs small). Overall, I was happy with the dress and it is definitely a "statement." However, it did have some issues. First, it seemed a bit worn and I agree with the prior reviews that the hanger straps were problematic. I fixed it with dress tape, but it was annoying. Also, the dress kind of pooches out on the left so I felt like I had to constantly pull the dress down although I was probably the only one to notice it. It doesn't fit the way it looks on the model - she must a complete waif because it is much more tight fitting. I was glad I rented it and happy with the experience, and I got a ton of compliments on it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
March 10, 2012
Not a great fit
I ordered this for a Cocktail party for a Bar Mitzvah. It came and I quickly tried it on. The problem is the side zipper puckered outward and looked like I had a bulging hip on one side. I quickly called RTR and they couldn't of been nicer and more accommodating. They immediately sent me a different dress which fits perfectly. I can't wait to have another affair to go to and use RTR. I also would suggest speaking to a stylist there as they do guide you.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
April 3, 2012
Not good for me
I am 5'1", and smaller on the top than on the bottom. The 0 was an ok fit, but the 2 was huge. Also the zipper on the size kept bunching up. Luckily, I had ordered a backup dress, and I ended up wearing that because the zipper situation made my hips look twice as big!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
April 19, 2012
Hollywood Sweet Sixteen Party
I rented this for my daughter's Sweet Sixteen Hollywood Theme party as her second dress to change into. It was more beautiful then the picture. It fitted her to the tee. Everyone loved it. She made her grand entrance in a long Red and Silved ballgown and change into this dress to party in. I must say that I as well as her was very pleased. We will rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
April 22, 2012
First time I had ever been to Vegas and I went with my best friends!
This is one of my favorite dresses that I have rented from RTR. It is so flattering and runs very true to size. Cannot say anything bad about this dress. I got so many compliments. Thanks RTR for making me look fabulous in Vegas!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112lbs
June 16, 2012
Winter Formal
The dress came on time, but ran a little big. Also the zipper bunched or gapped on the side, so I had to pin it. But overall I liked the dress! And received numerous compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
August 2, 2012
RTR makes it so easy...not only do they provide beautiful dresses but the accessories as well. The comments from the customers and pictures helps you make the right choices for yourself! Thank you!
Overall I really enjoyed wearing this dress. It's a lot of fun! After reading the reviews I was worried about the pouching of the side zipper but also read that this problem was fixed, it was not. It did bug me.....also the hanging straps were popping out in the front of the dress. That was annoying too! It is a tight fitting dress.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×