Sequin Inserts Mini Dress

$80 to buy
$750 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

The Sequin Insert Mini Dress is back! Rent the newly styled Robert Rodriguez dress for anything and everything. It is an absolute must rental of the year!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup - fuller busted women should size up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout; ruching and sequin inserts are flattering on all body types
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted through; for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'8''.)

Product Details

Black. 100% stretch silk with gold sequin embellishment. Ruching detail throughout body. Gold zipper trim. Tube construction with boned bodice for support. Hidden side zip. 25" from top of bodice to hem. Model's height is 5'9".

Share
134 reviews
Fit
Large
(24)
True to Size
(94)
Small
(16)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Body type: Hourglass
September 30, 2011
This was the first dress I ever rented from RTR and disappointingly, it didn't look presentable because where the zipper ends after unzipping it was sticking out and did not fit like the picture shows. I am 5'5" and wear size xs with a 34 b small bust, this dress did not hug me everywhere and just felt like a garbage bag. I still think its a pretty dress but I didn't end up wearing it.
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
October 12, 2011
I didn't understand this dress. The last Robert Rodriguez dress I rented was a 4 and was too small. So I sent it back and this time the 4 was too big. It was loose in the hip area (I'm a 29 waist) and the top kept sliding down . I loved the look of the dress so much, but probably needed a size smaller and didn't have time to exchange it. I woudl definitely recommend trying it out as it's very pretty in person.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Body type: Athletic
October 14, 2011
the staps were annoying they get popping out all night but other than that I loved the dress ,oh and the zipper doesnt go all the way up either on the side! That was annoying too.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Body type: Athletic
November 7, 2011
This dress looked really cheap and the black portions of the dress were pilled. Not flattering. The dress went right back.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
November 14, 2011
Like a glove
This dress is perfect for a formal event to which you dont want to wear a long gown, the fit is very flattering.
JessicaNovember 23, 2011
I am also 5'10. Where did this dress hit you in the length. Love it, but I don't want to be tugging it down all night.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 30, 2011
It was a black and gold affair and my dress was the perfect fit. I received soooo many compliments it was unreal! The best part about the night was being with my friends and celebrating the successful fundraiser my friend, Rachel, put together.
I loved the way this dress accented my curves. I am a petite gal and have a hard time finding a dress that is not too long, but not too short. My booty is significant and can fill out any skirt. Hence, the difficulty in finding a perfect dress. This one hit me in all of the right spots. The only issue I had with it is it irritated my armpit on the side where the zipper hook comes together. My strapless bra also kept falling so I would definitely go with a sticky bra next time.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
December 14, 2011
Amazing
I've been dying to wear this dress for about a year and final was able to rent it for my sorority's semi formal. It fit great and it was everyone's favorite dress of the night. One guy said, "This is the best dress of the night. It's like you're classy with the black but also here to party with the gold." If you're looking to impress or just for a really fun dress, this one is the way to go.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
December 28, 2011
Adored
Loved this dress. The 4 was a little tight on me, but the 6 was perfect. I wore this to my company Christmas party and got a ton of compliments. Its flashy and fun without being over the top, and super comfortable. The side zipper occasionally would pooch out a little but it wasn't anything major. Stays up, never slid down like some strapless dresses. Would totally rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
January 5, 2012
Gorgeous and flattering!
I would rent this again in a second! Great for NYE! Lots of compliments and very comfortable as well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
January 6, 2012
NY EVE dress
This dress was amazing, it was my first time renting from RTR and they did not disappoint. I got so many compliments through the entire night and the dress fit perfectly. I would tell anyone to rent this dress you will definitely get noticed. The dress was a little loose in the bust but the double sided tape that RTR sent fixed that problem.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
January 9, 2012
Tons of compliments!
I wore this for NYE and got a ton of compliments. It's very festive and very flattering. The dress looks very well made, the one I got was a little worn in, but not too bad. I am 5'2 and it was a decent length, like mid thigh-ish, not too short, or too long. Very fitted, but still comfortable. Runs true to size.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
January 29, 2012
Overall, it was a great experience and I would def recommend this dress. I got tons of compliments from strangers and friends. You wont be disappointed!
My friend invited me on an impromptu trip to Atlantic City, but we were leaving the next day and I had nothing to wear!!.... Solution: Rent the Runway. The company had great customer service. I ordered the "same-day" delivery, and they were able to make sure I got it before 3pm (they usually guarantee that it's there before 6pm). The dress was very flattering and surprisingly very comfortable. The zipper on the 2 had been altered so it fit nicely but the bottom "tail" was sticking out. Also, part of the boning on the left side was showing. I didn't choose to wear the 4 because the zipper on the 4 puffed out awkwardly and it was really baggy. I was surprised there was such a discrepancy between sizes. You can even pair it with a black blazer for a more conservative look and it's still is eye-catching.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
February 23, 2012
Great times in a great dress!
I wore this dress to my sorority formal this January and got a lot of compliments on it. I ordered the 4 and the 6, I usually wear a 4, but I probably could have worn the 2. Looked great anyway though and nice sequins.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 123lbs
March 1, 2012
generally happy with it
I am generally a size 2 or 4 and I rented the size 4. It fit, but barely (which is why I stated that it runs small). Overall, I was happy with the dress and it is definitely a "statement." However, it did have some issues. First, it seemed a bit worn and I agree with the prior reviews that the hanger straps were problematic. I fixed it with dress tape, but it was annoying. Also, the dress kind of pooches out on the left so I felt like I had to constantly pull the dress down although I was probably the only one to notice it. It doesn't fit the way it looks on the model - she must a complete waif because it is much more tight fitting. I was glad I rented it and happy with the experience, and I got a ton of compliments on it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
March 10, 2012
Not a great fit
I ordered this for a Cocktail party for a Bar Mitzvah. It came and I quickly tried it on. The problem is the side zipper puckered outward and looked like I had a bulging hip on one side. I quickly called RTR and they couldn't of been nicer and more accommodating. They immediately sent me a different dress which fits perfectly. I can't wait to have another affair to go to and use RTR. I also would suggest speaking to a stylist there as they do guide you.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
April 3, 2012
Not good for me
I am 5'1", and smaller on the top than on the bottom. The 0 was an ok fit, but the 2 was huge. Also the zipper on the size kept bunching up. Luckily, I had ordered a backup dress, and I ended up wearing that because the zipper situation made my hips look twice as big!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
April 19, 2012
Hollywood Sweet Sixteen Party
I rented this for my daughter's Sweet Sixteen Hollywood Theme party as her second dress to change into. It was more beautiful then the picture. It fitted her to the tee. Everyone loved it. She made her grand entrance in a long Red and Silved ballgown and change into this dress to party in. I must say that I as well as her was very pleased. We will rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
April 22, 2012
First time I had ever been to Vegas and I went with my best friends!
This is one of my favorite dresses that I have rented from RTR. It is so flattering and runs very true to size. Cannot say anything bad about this dress. I got so many compliments. Thanks RTR for making me look fabulous in Vegas!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112lbs
June 16, 2012
Winter Formal
The dress came on time, but ran a little big. Also the zipper bunched or gapped on the side, so I had to pin it. But overall I liked the dress! And received numerous compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
August 2, 2012
RTR makes it so easy...not only do they provide beautiful dresses but the accessories as well. The comments from the customers and pictures helps you make the right choices for yourself! Thank you!
Overall I really enjoyed wearing this dress. It's a lot of fun! After reading the reviews I was worried about the pouching of the side zipper but also read that this problem was fixed, it was not. It did bug me.....also the hanging straps were popping out in the front of the dress. That was annoying too! It is a tight fitting dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
August 10, 2012
Great Dress!
Needed a dress for my 25th birthday in Vegas, and this was it! Beautiful dress! It seemed that the size was larger than I expected. Usually a 4, but the 2 fit the best. Best thing though, is that you can get both sizes, just in case! Also they send a prepackaged envelope to put the dresses in which makes it super easy to return! Just find a blue post office box, and you're set! Great experience!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
August 16, 2012
best compliment, "OOOH TYRA BANKS?"... NO IM SALLY MORON LOL :)
ONLY MODELS LIKE ME:) TRUE TO SIZE!! JUST LIKE THE WHISKEY!! BLACK LABEL!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117lbs
August 17, 2012
Girls Night Out
This dress was perfect for my friends golden birthday in Chicago. It was not as snug as I would have liked, but overall a great dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
August 22, 2012
rush
the sequins make the dress pouchy and it doesn't lie flat. very pretty, but not form fitting.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
August 23, 2012
Loved my birthday dress!!
I LOVED this dress! It was perfect for my birthday dinner and party with friends! I felt amazing with this dress on. I paired it with a leather jacket and gold sequins pumps. I didn't want to give it back. I wish I took more pictures of me in it but I was so caught up in the night I forgot... But definitely a must rent!!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
November 10, 2011
Awesome dress!
Was complimented on it all night! For fit, the chest was a little small (I'm a 34D) and I had to use fashion tape to make sure it didn't slip down too much. It was gorgeous and looked like a million bucks. This was my first Rent The Runway experience, and won't be my last!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 121lbs
August 21, 2012
Stands out!
A little big in the breasts, but otherwise it was a great dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
September 13, 2012
Great dress!
The dress was great. Normally, I wear either a 6 or 8; however, I read the previous reviews saying that the dress runs small. So, I rented the 8 and 10. I was swimming in the 10, and the 8 was still really big on me. If I rented the 6, I would have LOVED this dress. Either way, the dress was GORGEOUS! Even more so in person. There were a couple of problems with the boning structure of the dress poking you sometimes. Overall, this dress was great. I wish I got the right size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
September 19, 2012
I did not end up wearing this dress.
I did not like the way that this dress fit. If you have any curves at all it makes you look 2 sizes larger then you are.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
September 29, 2012
NYE 2012 - perfectly sparkly
I wore this dress for NYE 2012. It looked great and I liked that it was sparkly but not completely covered in sequins!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
October 2, 2012
Very Pretty Dress
This dress runs very big. I ordered a 4 and a 6 because I was reading other clients said this ran small or true to size. I normally wear a 2 or a 4 and the 4 was too big.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
October 10, 2012
SO Comfortable!
This dress was absolutely amazing! I wore this to my first sorority formal and loved it. It was so comfortable and easy to dance in. It was very form fitting and brought out my figure beautifully. I usually wear a 2 but went with the 0 because the dress was a little too big at the top. I would definitely rent this again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
October 15, 2012
amazing dress! sexy yet comfortable!
i wore this dress in las vegas for my bachelorette party and got so many compliments! it is the perfect dress for vegas. tight but flattering, short but not too short, and the sequins add just the right amount of party of flare! i highly recommend this dress!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Body type: Pear
October 16, 2012
Loved it! Felt so pretty!
I was worried it would be missing sequins, but it was in PERFECT condition. Ordered a 4 and 6 and went with the 4.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
October 17, 2012
Stunning!
This dress is absolutely beautiful in person. I rented it as my back up dress but didnt get to wear it it was also way too small. I would rent it again in a bigger size for my next party maybe new years!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
October 26, 2012
NYE Sparkle
Wore size 4 in this dress and it fit well except for this odd bulge on the left hip. I was definitely aware of it all night but otherwise it was a very pretty dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Weight: 136lbs
October 29, 2012
Very comfortable dress, and photogenic dress; wore this to homecoming and recieved many compliments!
I received size 4 (which I wore, I normally wear size M, 8 in juniors) and a size 6 for back up. The boning on the right side of the dress was worn and the back up dress was missing completely. The dresses were beautiful but I think they need to be retired. I absolutely loved this dress and everybody said they loved it too!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
December 3, 2012
Loved this dress!!!!
Comfortable and flattering!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
December 11, 2012
Beautiful dress, but too small for busty women
This dress was so cute and beautiful, but it was way too small on the top. It has straps inside to help hang it on the hanger, but they definitely wouldn't fit around anyone's bust bigger than a C. I have a DD and could zip it up until it got to my chest!! Still a really cute dress though, but anyone but a bust, size 10 or larger I don't think it would fit! My friend ended up wearing it though and she is a size 6!
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
January 2, 2013
New Years Glitter and Gold!
Wore the dress for night out at the casino on New Years Eve. The dress was perfect. I received a 10 and a 12 in the mail, a day earlier than expected, which was great. I was was able to track its arrival. I was initially worried because we were in the middle of a storm when it was due to arrive but it came well packaged. When I tried on the dresses, both sizes fit pretty well but since I had dinner plans, I went with the 12 to combat any post-meal bloat. I paired the dress with some sparkly gold heels and black nylons. Bottom line, the dress was KILLER! It fit perfectly and looked gorgeous. I'm 5'10 and it came up mid thigh. It was very fitted, but breathable. If you have anything on your hips and stomach you'd like to keep hidden, spanx are probably a necessity. I was concerned about the dress staying up because I am not particularly busty but that didn't turn out to be a problem. The dress stayed put all night. My only complaint was the zippers were tough on both dresses! They stuck. I was terrified I'd tear the dress! Overall though, that didn't ruin it for me. Bottom line, this dress is stunning and everyone I came in contact with complimented it nonstop. The whole RTR experience was pheomenal. I already have a second dress ordered for a party I am going to in less than two weeks. Love it!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×