Sequin Inserts Mini Dress

$80 to buy
$750 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

The Sequin Insert Mini Dress is back! Rent the newly styled Robert Rodriguez dress for anything and everything. It is an absolute must rental of the year!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup - fuller busted women should size up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout; ruching and sequin inserts are flattering on all body types
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted through; for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'8''.)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup - fuller busted women should size up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout; ruching and sequin inserts are flattering on all body types
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted through; for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'8''.)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black. 100% stretch silk with gold sequin embellishment. Ruching detail throughout body. Gold zipper trim. Tube construction with boned bodice for support. Hidden side zip. 25" from top of bodice to hem. Model's height is 5'9".

Share
134 reviews
Fit
Large24
True to Size94
Small16
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
October 22, 2012
Wore this dress for my 25th Birthday celebration and received a lot of complements.
no problems.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115lbs
October 22, 2012
Super Cute!
Very cute and very comfy!! I wore this dress to my niece's HS Graduation party and received so many compliments all night long - many from her girlfriends! I paired it with black patent peep-toe Louboutins, which were a perfect compliment. As a busty girl, the size 2 was perfect in the chest, but a little loose in the bodice/hips and the darts gave it an odd pooch that probably wouldn't happen if it were tight-fitting overall (but I think I'm the only one who paid that much attention). Overall, I truly loved it though and can't wait to rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
October 17, 2012
Stunning!
This dress is absolutely beautiful in person. I rented it as my back up dress but didnt get to wear it it was also way too small. I would rent it again in a bigger size for my next party maybe new years!!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Body type: Pear
October 16, 2012
Loved it! Felt so pretty!
I was worried it would be missing sequins, but it was in PERFECT condition. Ordered a 4 and 6 and went with the 4.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
October 15, 2012
amazing dress! sexy yet comfortable!
i wore this dress in las vegas for my bachelorette party and got so many compliments! it is the perfect dress for vegas. tight but flattering, short but not too short, and the sequins add just the right amount of party of flare! i highly recommend this dress!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
October 12, 2012
Great piece and affordable
love the dress. Got so much complement for the dress. I got a size 0 and 2 and both are in very good condition with no beads coming out or torn fabric. I ended up wearing size 0, it was a bite loose on the bust, but all over very nice dress. It was a statement piece for sure.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
October 10, 2012
SO Comfortable!
This dress was absolutely amazing! I wore this to my first sorority formal and loved it. It was so comfortable and easy to dance in. It was very form fitting and brought out my figure beautifully. I usually wear a 2 but went with the 0 because the dress was a little too big at the top. I would definitely rent this again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 9, 2012
Way too small and short!
The dress fit, but it was just a little too tiny - felt a little cheap.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 8, 2012
I wore this dress for my senior prom, and it was perfect because as seniors prom was more casual.
The dress did ride up throughout the course of the night while dancing and whatnot, but the top never slipped down and that would have been a bigger issue!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 8, 2012
The delivery was timely and I got a nice extra gift in the delivery. It was a seamless experience.
This dress was super cute for a work event in Vegas. It was glamorous without being too revealing. I would note that these are NOT vanity sizes, so you should order the next size up from what you might usually wear. Also, if you have any curves, the darts are cut a little bit high. Overall it looked great, but I would make sure you order two sizes the smaller one being a size larger than you normally wear anyway.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
October 2, 2012
Very Pretty Dress
This dress runs very big. I ordered a 4 and a 6 because I was reading other clients said this ran small or true to size. I normally wear a 2 or a 4 and the 4 was too big.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Body type: Straight & narrow
September 29, 2012
NYE 2012 - perfectly sparkly
I wore this dress for NYE 2012. It looked great and I liked that it was sparkly but not completely covered in sequins!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 23, 2012
Got so many compliments at Homecoming!
Fit well other than a bulge that kept appearing along the zipper. The straps were a bit annoying & kept popping out but other than that, it's a great & comfortable dress! Highly recommended.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
September 19, 2012
I did not end up wearing this dress.
I did not like the way that this dress fit. If you have any curves at all it makes you look 2 sizes larger then you are.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
September 13, 2012
Great dress!
The dress was great. Normally, I wear either a 6 or 8; however, I read the previous reviews saying that the dress runs small. So, I rented the 8 and 10. I was swimming in the 10, and the 8 was still really big on me. If I rented the 6, I would have LOVED this dress. Either way, the dress was GORGEOUS! Even more so in person. There were a couple of problems with the boning structure of the dress poking you sometimes. Overall, this dress was great. I wish I got the right size.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
September 1, 2012
New Years Eve Dress
I loved this dress! it fit well and was everything I was expecting.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
August 23, 2012
Loved my birthday dress!!
I LOVED this dress! It was perfect for my birthday dinner and party with friends! I felt amazing with this dress on. I paired it with a leather jacket and gold sequins pumps. I didn't want to give it back. I wish I took more pictures of me in it but I was so caught up in the night I forgot... But definitely a must rent!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
August 22, 2012
rush
the sequins make the dress pouchy and it doesn't lie flat. very pretty, but not form fitting.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 121lbs
August 21, 2012
Stands out!
A little big in the breasts, but otherwise it was a great dress.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117lbs
August 17, 2012
Girls Night Out
This dress was perfect for my friends golden birthday in Chicago. It was not as snug as I would have liked, but overall a great dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
August 16, 2012
best compliment, "OOOH TYRA BANKS?"... NO IM SALLY MORON LOL :)
ONLY MODELS LIKE ME:) TRUE TO SIZE!! JUST LIKE THE WHISKEY!! BLACK LABEL!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
August 10, 2012
Great Dress!
Needed a dress for my 25th birthday in Vegas, and this was it! Beautiful dress! It seemed that the size was larger than I expected. Usually a 4, but the 2 fit the best. Best thing though, is that you can get both sizes, just in case! Also they send a prepackaged envelope to put the dresses in which makes it super easy to return! Just find a blue post office box, and you're set! Great experience!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
August 2, 2012
RTR makes it so easy...not only do they provide beautiful dresses but the accessories as well. The comments from the customers and pictures helps you make the right choices for yourself! Thank you!
Overall I really enjoyed wearing this dress. It's a lot of fun! After reading the reviews I was worried about the pouching of the side zipper but also read that this problem was fixed, it was not. It did bug me.....also the hanging straps were popping out in the front of the dress. That was annoying too! It is a tight fitting dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112lbs
June 16, 2012
Winter Formal
The dress came on time, but ran a little big. Also the zipper bunched or gapped on the side, so I had to pin it. But overall I liked the dress! And received numerous compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
April 22, 2012
First time I had ever been to Vegas and I went with my best friends!
This is one of my favorite dresses that I have rented from RTR. It is so flattering and runs very true to size. Cannot say anything bad about this dress. I got so many compliments. Thanks RTR for making me look fabulous in Vegas!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
April 19, 2012
Hollywood Sweet Sixteen Party
I rented this for my daughter's Sweet Sixteen Hollywood Theme party as her second dress to change into. It was more beautiful then the picture. It fitted her to the tee. Everyone loved it. She made her grand entrance in a long Red and Silved ballgown and change into this dress to party in. I must say that I as well as her was very pleased. We will rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
April 3, 2012
Not good for me
I am 5'1", and smaller on the top than on the bottom. The 0 was an ok fit, but the 2 was huge. Also the zipper on the size kept bunching up. Luckily, I had ordered a backup dress, and I ended up wearing that because the zipper situation made my hips look twice as big!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
March 10, 2012
Not a great fit
I ordered this for a Cocktail party for a Bar Mitzvah. It came and I quickly tried it on. The problem is the side zipper puckered outward and looked like I had a bulging hip on one side. I quickly called RTR and they couldn't of been nicer and more accommodating. They immediately sent me a different dress which fits perfectly. I can't wait to have another affair to go to and use RTR. I also would suggest speaking to a stylist there as they do guide you.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 123lbs
March 1, 2012
generally happy with it
I am generally a size 2 or 4 and I rented the size 4. It fit, but barely (which is why I stated that it runs small). Overall, I was happy with the dress and it is definitely a "statement." However, it did have some issues. First, it seemed a bit worn and I agree with the prior reviews that the hanger straps were problematic. I fixed it with dress tape, but it was annoying. Also, the dress kind of pooches out on the left so I felt like I had to constantly pull the dress down although I was probably the only one to notice it. It doesn't fit the way it looks on the model - she must a complete waif because it is much more tight fitting. I was glad I rented it and happy with the experience, and I got a ton of compliments on it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
February 23, 2012
Great times in a great dress!
I wore this dress to my sorority formal this January and got a lot of compliments on it. I ordered the 4 and the 6, I usually wear a 4, but I probably could have worn the 2. Looked great anyway though and nice sequins.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
February 2, 2012
Nonstop Compliments all night!
At first I was a little worried about wearing this dress because the side zipper sometimes bunched up in a way that made my body look akward, but after receiving endless compliments all night at my winter formal dance, I am really glad I ended up wearing it. I was told that it was one of the best dresses in the group and it looked great in the lights at the dance!
NinaSeptember 6, 2012
RTR, could I wear this dress to a homecoming dance? And what shoes would I wear with it?
RTRSeptember 10, 2012
Hi Nina! You can absolutely wear this to a homecoming dance. I would wear black patent shoes with it! You can also always wear nude shoes as well!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
January 29, 2012
Overall, it was a great experience and I would def recommend this dress. I got tons of compliments from strangers and friends. You wont be disappointed!
My friend invited me on an impromptu trip to Atlantic City, but we were leaving the next day and I had nothing to wear!!.... Solution: Rent the Runway. The company had great customer service. I ordered the "same-day" delivery, and they were able to make sure I got it before 3pm (they usually guarantee that it's there before 6pm). The dress was very flattering and surprisingly very comfortable. The zipper on the 2 had been altered so it fit nicely but the bottom "tail" was sticking out. Also, part of the boning on the left side was showing. I didn't choose to wear the 4 because the zipper on the 4 puffed out awkwardly and it was really baggy. I was surprised there was such a discrepancy between sizes. You can even pair it with a black blazer for a more conservative look and it's still is eye-catching.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
January 9, 2012
Tons of compliments!
I wore this for NYE and got a ton of compliments. It's very festive and very flattering. The dress looks very well made, the one I got was a little worn in, but not too bad. I am 5'2 and it was a decent length, like mid thigh-ish, not too short, or too long. Very fitted, but still comfortable. Runs true to size.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
January 6, 2012
NY EVE dress
This dress was amazing, it was my first time renting from RTR and they did not disappoint. I got so many compliments through the entire night and the dress fit perfectly. I would tell anyone to rent this dress you will definitely get noticed. The dress was a little loose in the bust but the double sided tape that RTR sent fixed that problem.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
January 5, 2012
Gorgeous and flattering!
I would rent this again in a second! Great for NYE! Lots of compliments and very comfortable as well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
December 28, 2011
Adored
Loved this dress. The 4 was a little tight on me, but the 6 was perfect. I wore this to my company Christmas party and got a ton of compliments. Its flashy and fun without being over the top, and super comfortable. The side zipper occasionally would pooch out a little but it wasn't anything major. Stays up, never slid down like some strapless dresses. Would totally rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 28, 2011
Amazing Dress
I received both a 6 and an 8 because sometimes you never know how the fabric will fit. The 8 fit fine, but the zipper kept bunching up. When I tried the 6, it was snug, but perfect. I didn't have to keep pulling it up all night or anything. I wore this for a chic fashion fund-raising event that my company was putting on, and I received great compliments.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Body type: Full Bust
December 28, 2011
Perfect Birthday Dress!
I rented this dress for my 22nd birthday party and I loved every minute of it! The dress looks loose on the model but it is in fact very fitting and very slimming. I felt great all night. The only annoying thing about wearing this dress is the straps that are used to hang the dress always come out. You have to keep tucking them in but it was such a fun dress to wear! It's a good dress for people with curves.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
December 14, 2011
Amazing
I've been dying to wear this dress for about a year and final was able to rent it for my sorority's semi formal. It fit great and it was everyone's favorite dress of the night. One guy said, "This is the best dress of the night. It's like you're classy with the black but also here to party with the gold." If you're looking to impress or just for a really fun dress, this one is the way to go.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 30, 2011
It was a black and gold affair and my dress was the perfect fit. I received soooo many compliments it was unreal! The best part about the night was being with my friends and celebrating the successful fundraiser my friend, Rachel, put together.
I loved the way this dress accented my curves. I am a petite gal and have a hard time finding a dress that is not too long, but not too short. My booty is significant and can fill out any skirt. Hence, the difficulty in finding a perfect dress. This one hit me in all of the right spots. The only issue I had with it is it irritated my armpit on the side where the zipper hook comes together. My strapless bra also kept falling so I would definitely go with a sticky bra next time.
View photos (2)
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×