Mia Gown

$63 to buy
$895 retail
Stylist Notes

Dying to look Oscar ready at your next black tie event? This Robert Rodriguez Black Label gown will do the trick! Stay trendy with the vibrant color and figure flattering waist cinching belt. Go with trendy accessories like the House of Harlow 1960's Gold Textured Cuff and House of Harlow 1960's Black Geometric Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - women should consider sizing up for fuller bust sizes
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with black belt
HIPS: Not fitted - loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - women should consider sizing up for fuller bust sizes
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with black belt
HIPS: Not fitted - loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Red silk georgette. One shoulder neckline. Belted waist for flower embellishment. Tulip hem. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
71 reviews
Fit
Large
(3)
True to Size
(44)
Small
(23)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 2, 2013
Stand out dress!
This dress made me feel so glamorous! I wore it to a black tie optional wedding and the color definitely stood out, but as the night went on I felt more comfortable. Tons of compliments! The 4R was a tight fit (28.5 waist), so make sure you get measured and talk with a wonderful stylist before ordering. I'm around 5'3 and wore 3'' heals and the dress hit the floor perfectly. I purchased a similar, but different belt from Francesca. The belt that came with the dress just had one big flower and was very tight. The dress showed up just in time (even with a terrible snow storm hitting) and the dress was easy to fly with and SO easy to return. Thanks RTR for a wonderful experience from start to finish!
KelseyMarch 11, 2013
Did you have any problems with the slit in the front?
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
March 3, 2013
Great dress but belt disappointing
The dress fit really well, it still was a little short, but worked with low heels. The belt was disappointing because the material was fraying and looked cheap. I swapped it out for a gold belt I owned and it worked perfect!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
March 19, 2013
Gorgeous, Flattering and Unique!
I wore this to a black-tie winter wedding. Everyone was in black so I really stuck out in a good way. I got endless compliments. It was flattering and comfortable. The slit does go pretty high but that didn't both me. I also didn't need to wear a bra cause it had a built in corset that made me not need one. I'm 5'7 and with 3" heels I definitely needed the long. I probably could have gone down a size though.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
April 21, 2013
,
The fit was perfect. The dress was so flattering! It was a little hard to zip and the belt did not stay on well but those were the only issues with the dress.
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 179lbs
April 28, 2013
So many compliments!
Definitely ran small but not in the bust as I was expecting. The short skirt piece (under the longer flowing part) had absolutely no give and rode up quite a bit while walking, dancing and sitting. One piece of strategically placed fashion tape kept the slit closed and prevented any indecent exposures. 3.5-4 inch heels and the dress skimmed the floor. Overall the look was perfect for a ruby anniversary-themed gala.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 162lbs
October 14, 2013
Hot Hot Hot - slimmed me out and I got tons of compliments!
Such a pretty dress and I really felt like I looked so much slimmer in it. My only complaint: its impossible to sit down without feeling like you have an inappropriate amount of leg showing! If you are going to a sit down dinner where your legs will be hidden under the table, you will be fine. Also, wearing the bigger size helps with sitting so that you can move the fabric over to cover your legs :) If you are a pear shape or hourglass, you are going to want to get the bigger size because the bottom was a bit snug, which of course made the top a little too big. However, I was able to make the top fit perfectly by simply twisting the one shoulder sleeve! I also recommend using your own belt if you want a super snug fit. The belt that came with it only has one button so you can't adjust to make it tighter. I ended up using my own black belt that I could make tighter.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
November 6, 2013
Amazing fit, beautiful color and fit.
The dress fits absolutely beautiful, definitely a stand out.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
December 10, 2013
Pretty dress but ran small
I wore this dress for my boyfriend's military ball. The dress was beautiful and was surprisingly comfortable to wear all night. I didn't like the black belt it came with so I swapped it out with a thin gold belt I have and I wore goldish tan heels which I think looked a lot less harsh than the black. The reason I only gave it 4 stars was because I usually wear a size 4 and I even got a back up dress in a 4 and it fit beautifully however this dress I could barely zip up the 6 over my chest (i'm a 34B!). The only other issue I had was the length was a little short. I got the long and I wore my shortest heels but the dress still didn't quite hit the ground. When I walked, the front slit opened up quite a bit and showed a lot of leg which I liked however make sure you are careful when you sit down because the slit goes really high!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
December 20, 2013
Absolutely loved this dress!
This was my very first time renting from Rent The Runway. I loved this dress and did not want to return it. I wore the dress to a sorority fundraiser. I wear the 2R and it was still snug however with the right under garment everything worked out. Unfortunately, I was unable to wear the belt provided with the dress but I used a backup which worked perfectly. I can't wait to rent another dress. Thanks again Rent The Runway.
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
April 29, 2014
LOVED LOVED LOVED THE DRESS!!!!!!! FELT LIKE A PRINCESS. SO MANY COMPLIMENTS THRU THE NIGHT!!!
LOVED THE FACT THAT THIS DRESS HAS A BUILT IN BRA ONLY THING THAT WAS NEEDED WAS UNDERWEAR OF YOUR PREFERENCE. VERY COMFORTABLE DIDN'T FEEL THE SPLIT HIGH LIKE EVERYONE MENTIONS FOUND IT TO BE VERY SEXY.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 14, 2014
Fit like it was made for me!
The best dress rental I could've asked for... I found out on a Monday that I needed a dress for a professional black tie gala that Friday. RTR was my savior. This dress was a beautiful red/coral color and I got so many compliments on the cut all night. It flares when you walk and was so comfortable. The belt was a little thick, but perfectly complimentary to the dress. I wore it with strap black heels to show off the cut. The slit is mid thigh, but it's very elegant. I wasn't a huge fan of one shoulder cut dresses, but this one was instantly my favorite. Thank you RTR for this last minute rental!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
June 15, 2014
My first RTR experience and my first red gown. It was flawless. I felt confident and glamorous!
The dress runs true to size and is very comfortable. I wore 2.5" heels and the length was perfect. The slit is stunning and feminine and does open a lot while sitting but in a sexy josh, not trashy way. The belt doesn't stretch and is very snug, really highlighting the waistline.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Full Bust
July 7, 2014
Stood out from the crowd
I absolutely love this dress! It can be dressed up to be glamorous or a little more edgy as I did. Both the sizes I rented didn't come with a belt, but that was I okay as I planned to wear my belt instead. The other reviews mentioned how the front slit was too high when you sit but I didn't have that problem. I'm guessing it's because I'm only 5'2 and I can see someone taller having that problem. I feel the top part of the dress runs a little small so I went with the 12. The length was also good for shorter girls. I wore 4 inch booties and the dress edge was barely above the ground. I'd definitely rent this dress again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
October 25, 2014
Bold color with gorgeous silhouette
This was great for my pear shape, although I did find it a bit roomy in the bust - which is not my usual problem. Would recommend!
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
September 14, 2014
Wonderful black tie event!
Being 5'11 this dress was barely long enough. It looked a bit awkward with heels but was fine. The dress was really lovely except something was wrong with the bodice and the wrinkles showed through the sheer layer making my boob area look a bit odd.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 116lbs
November 8, 2014
Did not like- glad I had a backup
I have a 34C bust and this dress didn't fit 'right' in the chest. Just hung kinda weird - almost like there was too much fabric. Also- the bottom has an odd scalloped looking trim around the slit that made me think of something someone older would wear.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 180lbs
March 10, 2015
Beautiful red dress for hot summer wedding
Loved this dress but it was very tight around the hips and the liner was very fragile. Even the slightest movement, despite trying to keep my legs clamped together, caused the seams to rip or the fabric to tear. I ended up changing after the ceremony into my other back-up dress. If it wasn't for that fragility of the liner, I would've given this dress 5 stars. The dress was just form fitting enough and I loved the one-shoulder strap. The belts that came with the two sizes of this dress that I got were not the same so it seems like it might be a toss-up as to whether the belt you get is one you like and one that works well with the dress. The one I ended up going with had a bow with really long tail ends that I ended up wrapping around and pinning.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
March 16, 2015
I was shocked at how great this looked.
The skirt on the inside of this dress was much tighter than I thought. I had to choose the larger size to be able to sit down. Otherwise, the fit up top and overall was great. The attached bra was not the best and actually made the material gather in a weird way. But I got nothing but complements. Felt good.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
September 19, 2012
INCREDIBLE DRESS!
Loved this dress!!! I wish I could rent again for an upcoming wedding.I rented it for a Gala and it was a hit! The color is less red and more coral than the pictures show. The tulip skirt made it easy to sit and dance. I wore a 3.5 inch heel and the dress barely touched the floor. The belt cinched my waist without making me feel that I was in wearing a corset. As a backup size I ordered the 2R and it fit pretty good, but the belt was too big and the dress was a little too long.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
January 17, 2013
STYLIST REVIEW!
Bright color! Dress does run very small though, better for pear shapes. The top the dress was too form fitting for my bust, could have potentially even gone up to the 6R for my top but would have needed 2R for bottom. Belt also can be form fitting! Great for someone who wants to define their waist and needs a dress for a formal. Loved the dress, wish it looked better on me!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
April 13, 2013
I felt like a million bucks in this dress.
I rented both the 6R and the 8R and both fit. The 6R felt very tight in the bodice and the 8 was slightly too big but felt much more comfortable. I received so many compliments throughout the night!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
March 31, 2014
A beautiful pop of color!
This dress was so fun to wear. I received compliments and was comfortable all night long. It runs true to size.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
August 24, 2012
Not the Right Fit for Me
I didn't end up wearing this dress because the other dress in my order fit better. This dress was stunning and I really had hoped it would fit me but it just didn't. The bust fit great and then it was lose/weird around my hips. My hips are ~37-38" at the widest point.
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 100lbs
August 25, 2012
great dress!
so pretty! received tons of compliments on this dress. very elegant and fit me perfectly. loved how the dress opens up in the wind to show off legs and shoes
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 18, 2012
Gorgeous red color looked amazing
The dress color and style were perfect and I loved having the belt bring it all together. I normally wear a 4 or 6, but I had to wear an 8 in this dress. The bust area was super tight and I didn't feel like it elongated me very well. I would say this dress does better on smaller busts and taller girls. I did get lots of compliments though on the entire outfit! Watch out for the slit if you plan to sit a lot during the evening. During dinner I had to keep my napkin covering my lap the entire time, but standing up, the slit was fun to walk in!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
October 17, 2012
Loved the color!! Loved the cut!!
This dress definitely stood out in a sea of black! I wore the 10, but could probably of breathed much easier in the 12 - it was a bit tight in the chest for my 36c. The regular length was perfect with 3-4 inch heels.
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
December 3, 2012
Color has more of a coral/orange appearance then red.
The dress was very attractive. There is a flower on the belt and it is a bit floppy. You do need something at the waist though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
December 26, 2012
Too small on top :(
Unfortunately I ended up not wearing this dress because it was too small in the boobs. It's a beautiful gown in person and in pictures but I couldn't zip up the top - It doesn't have a lot of give so it fits very true to size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
January 22, 2013
N/A
Dress was just ok and definitely not the shocking red color as seen in the pics. It's more of an orangey-red. Unfortunately the dress I received was slit down the side and the belt was definitely not meant for a size 6, but RTR being as awesome as they are gave me a full refund so no complaints here.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
March 29, 2013
Everyone complimented the dress! i felt like I was in Hollywood and everybody was all about it.
Just be careful with the slit but asides from that absolutely perfect for the occasion.
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Body type: Athletic
May 13, 2013
They had great customer service
bust and mid section was very tight fitting
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×