Rent the Runway

Robert Rodriguez Black Label

Mia Gown

$63 to buy
$895 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Dying to look Oscar ready at your next black tie event? This Robert Rodriguez Black Label gown will do the trick! Stay trendy with the vibrant color and figure flattering waist cinching belt. Go with trendy accessories like the House of Harlow 1960's Gold Textured Cuff and House of Harlow 1960's Black Geometric Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - women should consider sizing up for fuller bust sizes
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with black belt
HIPS: Not fitted - loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - women should consider sizing up for fuller bust sizes
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with black belt
HIPS: Not fitted - loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Red silk georgette. One shoulder neckline. Belted waist for flower embellishment. Tulip hem. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

71 reviews

Fit
Small 23
True to Size 44
Large 3
Photos 42
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 15, 2012

Nice Dress

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I normally wear a size 6 dress and I am glad that I went up a size for my back-up. I ended up wearing an 8 and the length was perfect. I am 5'4'' and wore 3 inch heels and the dress barely skimmed the floor. The dress has quite a slit that runs up the entire front which is barely noticeable in the photo but I loved it! The only real issues I had was the bust area. I am full busted and it is impossible to wear a bra with this dress. The bust area does have boning in it which added some support but it wasn't enough. I found myself tugging at the dress to keep it up. Also, the fabric gapes around the underam area and I ended up using fabric tape to keep it in place. This is a beautiful dress but if you have a full bust, you may have difficulties.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 118 lbs
Feb 29, 2012

Beautiful Dress

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered the 2R and the 4R and the 4R fit like a glove (though I definitely recommend having someone zip you in. The zipper and hook are on the side and because the 4R was snug on me, it took a LONG time to hook it myself, and for a few seconds I did not think it was going to fit.) There was no way the 2R would have fit me. I'm petite-ish but have a 34C chest and wider ribcage, but because of all the vanity sizing out there a lot of my clothes are 0s and 2s. If that's what you tend to wear in your everyday clothes, and have boobs, I recommend sizing up. I wore four inch heels with this and it was still a little long on me, but not terribly so. The color is vibrant and the dress is very flowy and soft, which I loved. It looks much stiffer in the picture, but the slit in the front allows for movement when you walk (and also shows off your shoes). All in all, I felt this dress was very flattering and would recommend it to anyone!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
May 11, 2012

Much too small on top!

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I love Rent the Runway, but this wasn't the dress for me. I typically wear an 8, but even the 10 (my backup size) was much to small in the bust. It was a beautiful dress, but I definitely wouldn't recommend for women with a large chest.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 7, 2012

new fave

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress as a back-up and ended up LOVING it. The fabric is so nice (gauzy, perfect for spring/summer), and the pleats (near the split, you can kind of see in the photo) and color (not a fire-engine red) add elegance and major designer touch. This is a dress for a confident woman -- the slit shows leg to well above the knee when you walk but there is a short red satin skirt built-in (not tacky; helps with modesty if there's a big wind or something). Note that the belt has no give/stretch. It's a great touch and you'd def want it with the dress; wasn't a problem fit-wise for me but I did want to mention that here b/c I didn't see it in other reviews. I think this is one of favorite dresses I've ever worn. I was absolutely thrilled with it. Very sexy without being overtly so.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 113 lbs
Jun 11, 2012

Beautiful color

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The color of this dress ended up being beautiful...so much better than in the picture. I wore this to a black tie wedding and it was comfortable, classy and I would absolutely recommend renting it. With each compliment, I had to tell everyone where I got it :)
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Jul 21, 2012

Not what I expected

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I got this in 2 sizes for a military ball and ended up wearing a different dress I got from RTR as my backup. It tapers in at the bottom which was really unflattering for my pear shape and I looked very very "hippy." It does run small, I normally am a 6 or 8 depending on the fit (Size 8 at the limited, 6 in work suits such as Tahari or Antoni Milani if that helps some) and I could barely zip the 10 here. Im not busty at all (34B) and found it tight up top. Also the color wasn't quite what I expected. Thought it would be more red, but it was more of a pink/watermelon color. The fabric looked more casual than what would have been appropriate for a military ball. If you don't have wide hips then this could look really great, but it wasn't good for my body at all, glad I paid the extra $25 for a backup!!!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 107 lbs
Aug 21, 2012

one word... ugly

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
horrible fit... the material felt cheap and did not flatter at all.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 24, 2012

Not the Right Fit for Me

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I didn't end up wearing this dress because the other dress in my order fit better. This dress was stunning and I really had hoped it would fit me but it just didn't. The bust fit great and then it was lose/weird around my hips. My hips are ~37-38" at the widest point.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 24, 2012

Gorgeous dress

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
At 5'1" this dress required 5"+ heels but it looked great, stayed put all night, and the layers of silk moved beautifully without puckering, bunching, or snagging.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 100 lbs
Aug 25, 2012

great dress!

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
so pretty! received tons of compliments on this dress. very elegant and fit me perfectly. loved how the dress opens up in the wind to show off legs and shoes
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 122 lbs
Aug 26, 2012

Classic, easy to wear dress.

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my first rental from RTR, and I had a great experience. The dress felt fantastic on and I received several compliments. The draping both on the chest and the skirt is flattering and no special undergarments are required. As the other comments said, it does zip in tight on the side, but overall the fit was great. Length was just perfect. Easy to move in. Wrinkles hung out quickly in a steam filled bathroom. I wore it with the suggested pearls which I preferred o
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 8, 2012

I love this dress.

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this! RTR mailed without the belt (sucks), but I had something in my closet that worked. FANTASTIC DRESS.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 18, 2012

Gorgeous red color looked amazing

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress color and style were perfect and I loved having the belt bring it all together. I normally wear a 4 or 6, but I had to wear an 8 in this dress. The bust area was super tight and I didn't feel like it elongated me very well. I would say this dress does better on smaller busts and taller girls. I did get lots of compliments though on the entire outfit! Watch out for the slit if you plan to sit a lot during the evening. During dinner I had to keep my napkin covering my lap the entire time, but standing up, the slit was fun to walk in!!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 117 lbs
Sep 25, 2012

Couldnt zip it up in the top! By like 3 inches!

Size worn: 0L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This little darling runs small in the bust. I'm busty but I'm a 0 in everything. I was no where near zipping this up. There was 3 or 4 inches standing between that idea. So if you're busty, size up for SURE! (even if you normally dont have to!)
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 17, 2012

Loved the color!! Loved the cut!!

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress definitely stood out in a sea of black! I wore the 10, but could probably of breathed much easier in the 12 - it was a bit tight in the chest for my 36c. The regular length was perfect with 3-4 inch heels.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 26, 2012

I loved this dress!

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Unfortunately, I did not get a chance to wear it because I let my bf pick his favorite (since it was his friend's wedding). However, I loved this dress. It looks great on and tall girls can still wear heels with it!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132 lbs
Nov 2, 2012

Loved this dress! It fit well and was very comfortable.

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I did have to do a tiny pin under the arm because the fabric was loose but wasn't a big deal. I liked how it opened a little in the front when I walked. It does open quite a bit when you sit though. I felt great in it! I realized after I sent the dress back I didn't take a pic in it.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 50
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Nov 16, 2012

Always feel pretty in red!

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Didn't actually wear it to an event. But tried it on as an option. quite becoming. Not crazy about the black belt, however. Almost cheapened the look of the dress.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 19, 2012

More than one person told me I was STUNNING!

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
First, this dress is gorgeous! I actually rented this as a backup to the Faye Chiffon Gown. The Faye Chiffon Gown arrived slightly damaged (RTR was great at taking care of this) so I wound up wearing this one. I am so glad I did because the compliments went on and on and on. I wore this to a fundraiser for the organization I run so I had to be up in front of people many times throughout the night. The dress helped me feel confident. My only caution is that the dress runs small and has no stretch at all. In my normal clothes I vary from size 8 to 10. I wore the 10 but it was TIGHT around my ribcage. It looked good but would have been more comfortable in a 12. Also, the belt they sent seemed to be made for a size 4. I couldn't even get it all the way around my waist. Fortunately I had a belt that worked and looked just as good. Aside from those two "fit" issues, the dress was a success! So rent a size up and prepare to be complimented!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117 lbs
Nov 19, 2012

GREAT DRESS!!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Overall, the dress is great. The color is not a vibrant red, its more of a pale red but still cute color. The dress runs small, I'm usually a 0R but this dress runs small, I ended up using the 2R. I was pleased with my selection
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 3, 2012

Color has more of a coral/orange appearance then red.

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was very attractive. There is a flower on the belt and it is a bit floppy. You do need something at the waist though.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Dec 3, 2012

great dress - fun to wear

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
can dress down or up depending on occassion
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 71
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
Dec 16, 2012

Easy returned for credit because it didn't fit

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The skirt spit is deeper than shown in the photo so a lot of strategic pinning is needed. It also is very long and has a long train which would not work for me for moving around and dancing.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 143 lbs
Dec 20, 2012

Color was a hit!

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was beautiful and the color was exactly what I was looking for- not red but not orange. The unfortunate part was that the slit was very inappropriate when I sat down... to a point where I had to keep my napkin through the whole wedding reception so I could cover myself. This is a great dress if you will be standing at your event.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Dec 24, 2012

Too small and cheaply made

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I normally wear a 0 or 2 depending on the dress and when I received this one neither size worked. The dress is cut very small at the top and I am not a big chested lady to begin with ( size 34 B) I was also very disappointed with the quality of the material...it looked and felt cheaply made. The one pro of this dress is the color.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185 lbs
Dec 26, 2012

Too small on top :(

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Unfortunately I ended up not wearing this dress because it was too small in the boobs. It's a beautiful gown in person and in pictures but I couldn't zip up the top - It doesn't have a lot of give so it fits very true to size.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 121 lbs
Jan 13, 2013

I got fantastic compliments on this dress.

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I usually wear a size 2, but the 4 provided more area in the chest area. That being said, I had to use double sided tape shorten the strap length. Fit perfectly everywhere else.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 17, 2013

Very pretty color!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Elegant, wore it to a "hollywood' themed event
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98 lbs
Jan 19, 2013

RTR rep was very helpful. Assisted me with last minute changes and answered all my inquiries.

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Dress was perfect for my petite frame. The color is stunning and will make you standout in a very elegant way. I had to wear four inch heels though because of the length. My only complaint is that the belt that was sent with the dress could have belonged to a larger size because it was too big.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132 lbs
Jan 22, 2013

N/A

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Dress was just ok and definitely not the shocking red color as seen in the pics. It's more of an orangey-red. Unfortunately the dress I received was slit down the side and the belt was definitely not meant for a size 6, but RTR being as awesome as they are gave me a full refund so no complaints here.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113 lbs
Jan 23, 2013

Pretty but too small!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress runs SUPER small in the bust area... I could not get a size 2 or a size 4 to zip up all the way. I I normally wear a 34B bra and a Size 4 :(
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×