Marilyn Gala Gown

$70 rental
$495 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Walk into the gala wearing this form flattering Robert Rodriguez Black Label open back gown. An amazing color that everyone will love on you!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - bust is fitted and exposed back does not allow for a strapless bra
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with knot detail
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips with flared skirt at knee
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'1-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6'' and above).

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or a NuBra due to exposed back
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Model's height is 5'10''.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - bust is fitted and exposed back does not allow for a strapless bra
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist with knot detail
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips with flared skirt at knee
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'1-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6'' and above).

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or a NuBra due to exposed back
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Model's height is 5'10''.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Purple matte jersey. Bateau neckline. Ruching at waist with knot detail. Open back with hook-and-eye closure. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
82 reviews
Fit
Large11
True to Size61
Small9
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 30
December 2, 2015
Not recommended.
The dress ran very small and was far too short. I am 5'7 and could not have worn even flats. Perhaps the 10 would have fit if the dress were long and was better proportioned. The fabric was also slinky and not as heavy as I expected from the photo. I would not recommend.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
October 11, 2015
Fabric and drape were perfect
Great balance of fabulous and appropriate
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
August 20, 2015
Rich color + fabric = total package!
I usually wear a size 4 or 6 but I rented this dress in an 8 per suggestion of the RTR stylist. The dress is very high quality and looks expensive. It would look great with glamorous accessories. My only issue was I'm 5'9" and this dress barely grazed my bare feet. It was difficult to style with heels. The back is gorgeous and open. Overall it's a classic gown for any black tie event.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
December 11, 2014
Great dress, beautiful color
Loved how the dress fit, wasn't too tight or too lose. Length was a little long
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
December 3, 2014
Great dress for a formal event (wore it to a Mardi Gras ball). Runs a bit big.
Great dress. Good length for short people and in very good shape. I had no trouble fitting into the bust of the dress, but it was a bit large where it was supposed to be fitted (right under the bust). It was also loose in the back (why I wore the pashmina), but I have narrow shoulders which could have been the reason. Overall, it was a great dress that I would recommend to other people.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
December 3, 2014
one of my best friends got married!!
The dress was really pretty and the color made it easy to style how I wanted. The only con was the length. I'm a bit on the taller side and still wear at least 4 inch heels and I like my long dresses to be nearly skimming the floor. Could have used an extra inch.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
November 28, 2014
Too short!
I am 5'7" and I ordered a 0L. With heels, it was still way too short. The model in the image has dress puddling around her feet - the dress barely hit my ankles!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
November 7, 2014
They dress was beautiful and extremely comfortable!
I don't have one negative comment to make about this dress! It was gorgeous and fit beautifully. Because of the gathers on the front of the dress, it was very flattering. I would recommend this dress to anyone!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
July 22, 2014
way too short!
didn't end up wearing this dress because it was about five inches too short without shoes on. if they got this figured out it would have been perfect!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
May 16, 2014
Not very flattering on me
I thought the style was a lot less flattering than it looks online and they length was way too short when worn with 4.5inch heels
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 51
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
April 21, 2014
... But loved it ..
Very short ... Didn't reach my ankles!
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
April 16, 2014
Pretty but not noticeable
The back of the dress is beautiful, it's comfortable, and the color is super elegant, but it's not a flattering dress from the front. I wanted to show my back to the whole party all night because the dress doesn't catch attention from the frontal view.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 172lbs
March 4, 2014
I actually met another woman with a RTR dress on. Our husbands were pretty proud.
I liked it but there was no way to make it fit like the picture. It doesn't have the little train like in the pic and I'm short.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
February 24, 2014
Very sad I could not wear it - hence why didn't submit a pic!
The dress is absolutely GORGEOUS - even that's an understatement. I usually wear 0 but that was unavailable and based on the reviews I opted for a 2. It did fit; however since I am 5'7" the 2R was VERY SHORT! It was so short that I could not even get away with wearing flats with the dress (shorter than my ankles!) I have a very odd body figure (small hips, large chest and tall). The 2L (if available would have been beyond great). For the cut in the back though, you definitely can't wear a bra. I had bought the braza braless but could have gotten away without one. Needless to say the RTR rep was amazing and shipped me a replacement for my event!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 119lbs
January 22, 2014
Beautiful dress.. fit not so much.
I was disappointed with this dress. It ran big but short, and does not show a figure as the picture suggests. I really wish it would have worked but ended up LOVING my back up dress. And the customer service was INCREDIBLE. Just wasn't the dress for me!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
January 22, 2014
Great fit, a little plain
I really liked this dress and it was perfect for the occasion. It is a little bit plain from the front as the detail you see in the model photo isn't as pronounced in reality. The back was everything I'd hoped for and I got lots of compliments on the dress. Overall, I wouldn't rent it again, but don't regret it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
January 21, 2014
Way too short
The dress is gorgeous on the model and the picture does a good job of showing the beautiful color and back. I am convinced, based on other reviews and pictures, that some of these dresses have been hemmed separately. I am 5'2.5" tall and rented the size 2R. Unless I was sent a 2 Petite, this dress was not 58 inches long. It barely grazed my ankles. The length was certainly not appropriate for a formal affair. Maybe I was accidentally sent a 2 petite. The dress fit my frame very well. I am am hourglass shape 34-25-36.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
January 21, 2014
Beautiful
I wore this to a military ball, and was complimented on how classic and beautiful it was. It fit perfectly, and the waist detail was very flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 9, 2014
Never ended up wearing it
I am only 5'5 and I usually wear a 4R/2R however those two sizes were way too shot for me. I was assuming that the dress would touch the floor as it is in the picture, however the dresses that i recieved were barely to my ankles
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 159lbs
December 19, 2013
Classic, Sexy and stunning
This dress was perfect for my "Old Hollywood" company holiday party! Great dress!!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 2, 2013
Very appropriate dress for a black tie wedding.
This dress was available in 2P and 4P. I rented it for a black tie wedding. The 2P fit better except that someone hemmed it so it was up to my ankles. I am pretty short so whoever rented this dress before me must have been tiny!! Usually i appreciate it when someone braver than I has clearly hemmed a RTR dress already to a reasonable length but this was ridiculously short. Luckily the 4p was hemmed to a reasonable length. The straps for hanging the dress fall out of the back constantly but other than that it was pretty comfortable to wear.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 133lbs
October 11, 2013
I felt like pure elegance in this gown.
I rented this gown for a Plantation Ball (believe it or not, they still exist! Crazy!). No one told me what was appropriate for the occasion, so this was what I went with-- formal, long, and slightly understated, since the attention was supposed to be on the girls being presented. I ordered the 4 and 6. However, my memory fails me and I can't remember which was long and which was not. Neither dress pooled at the bottom like the picture of the model shows. The tips of my toes still showed in the 6, but there wasn't any unnecessary dragging of the fabric. I ended up wearing the 6; the 4 fit nicely and hugged my curves more, but the 6 was longer and overall, fit better. It wasn't restricting either. It was a little heavy in weight, but it's a gown... what do you expect? The material was good. I was scared you could see lumps and bumps, but even without Spanx, things were smooth! However, panites/thongs do show some, which is why I would still advise wearing some kind of bodyshaper. The shoulders are stitched together with a few little stitches. I was terrified that they would rip, but they held up nicely. (RTR might want to go back on the size 6 and reinforce the stitching, for future reference.) I was worried the back was going to be too low, but I actually had Spanx on that go up your tummy and back, and not once did the Spanx make an appearance through the night. The reason I gave the dress 4 stars is because I had issues with the zipper. It was tough to zip up. Honestly, I'm happy I chose this dress. I got so many compliments on it all night! I truly felt classy and elegant. I also loved the vintage vibe it gave off. It's so me!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
October 11, 2013
The low beautiful back!
This dress was beautiful but ran a tiny bit too big. It did not hug my curves as I had wanted it to. I still got a million compliments. That low back is what made this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124lbs
September 4, 2013
Gorgeous!
This dress was my choice to wear for a friend's wedding. I really loved the knot detail and the fact that it was long. If you are looking for a simple gown for a formal-type wedding, this is the way to go!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
July 23, 2013
Super elegant, super comfy and fits just right.
The length was great. I didn't feel like a stuffed sausage. The only thing is if you do happen to get it wet, even with condensation from your glass, it dries a little oddly. But overall, SUCH a beautiful and easy dress. Plenty of compliments. Oh and the back is open so no traditional bras.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
June 25, 2013
Second choice, Still a winner...
Since I'd rented from RTR in the past, I considered myself a pro and decided to order another dress for the annual televised event in LA I was to attend. My first time, I didn't use the option of the 2nd dress for $25 but I was a little concerned that my enjoying the bread basket prior to the trip would render me a little "fluffy" so I took the necessary precaution. Since I was traveling and didn't want to ruin the dresses in transit, I had them delivered to my hotel and they came ON TIME....I ended up going with my first pick for the night ONLY because I wanted it skim the floor and this dress hit me at the ankles.(I'm tall) Had it been a different occasion, I wouldve totally used it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
June 11, 2013
Wish it would have fit! LOVED everything else except the length!
I loved the dress but sadly I ordered it in a regular instead of a long and it was too short!! I suggest that you order long either way. I'm not that tall and the regular came above my ankles. Just a really weird length! I would rent it again in a long though because everything else fit great!!!
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 23, 2013
Classic and beautiful!
Beautiful dress with a great fit, it just runs short! Definitely order the long if you don't want the dress to end at your ankles. Both the 2 and 4 fit well, but I wore the 4 because it was a little longer. Other than that it is flawless and I received endless complements. The open back adds an exotic touch to the simplicity of the front of the dress. I loved it so much I didn't want to send it back!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
May 4, 2013
Gorgeous but short
Unfortunately I didn't get to wear this dress as the 4L was too short (and I am only 5'6). It's a shame because the top laid beautifully... I just couldn't make it work for me. But it would be great for shorter girls!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 153lbs
April 15, 2013
great dress for the occasion
Black-tie event for my husband's law firm. Runs really large - I usually get a 6 with an 8 as a back up and the 6 was way too big. Generally looked nice and was perfect for the event.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
March 6, 2013
easy delivery, accurate real life photos
I am short and the length description was PERFECT!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 26, 2013
Long, elegant, beautiful color, perfect to show off shoulders and back!
Fit beautifully, but a little bit long, ever with 3" heels on. Even with that, I felt beautiful in the dress and received a ton of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
February 19, 2013
Too short; Couldn't wear
I ordered this for a black tie optional wedding, and had to return it. The dress (6L) was way too short, I looked like a 7th grader that had recently gone through a growth spurt. Pretty color, but I wouldn't recommend for anyone over 5'8. The fit itself was fine, and though it was hard to look at anything besides my ankles the cut was nice, and the back is very pretty.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 16, 2013
The color was wonderful!
I would rent it again! Very comfortable! Beautiful color. Plan on using spanx, the fabric is clingy . I got so many compliments on this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Body type: Pear
January 22, 2013
This dress was very comfortable as well as beautiful!
I am a very true 8 so the sizing was spot on! The only issue I had with this dress was the length. I am only 5'4" and the regular length barely grazed the top on my feet without shoes on. I was planning on wearing 3 inch heels, which I still did, but I was upset with how short it looked. Luckily I think I was able to make it work. If you are planning on ordering this dress and are taller than maybe 5'2", get the long if you want to wear heels. Otherwise, the fit was really flattering and I got a lot of compliments on the beautiful color!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
January 19, 2013
Meh
This dress was underwhelming to me; maybe it just wasn't the best for my skintone, but, I just didn't feel like the fit really did anything for me. It also seemed to run a little bit short (I'm 5'5). So unfortunately I didn't get to wear it.
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
January 18, 2013
I was disappointed in this dress. I loved it but it looks better on the site than in person.
In the photo, it drapes the floor and is a long flowing dress, in person it is SHORT and I'm not tall, only 5'5" It just wasn't good all around. Thankfully I rented a back up which I love!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 16, 2013
This dress runs short!
If you are over 5 foot 9", I would not recommend this dress. I tried the 6 L on barefoot and it was 2.5 inches too short. So I never could have worn any kind of heel with it. I'm sure it would be a beautiful dress on a more petite stature, but it's not a good choice for us tall girls.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
January 8, 2013
I got proposed to in this dress!
This dress was perfect for a black tie event. It was very comfortable because the fabric was stretchy so it was great for dancing. The only thing I would be aware of is the length. Thankfully, I don't wear tall shoes so the length was perfect, but if you plan on wearing taller than 3inch heels I would recommend getting a long one.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 21
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
January 4, 2013
Love this dress!
I loved this dress! The back is breathtaking--make sure you have a backless bra though! It is very forgiving with the ruching near the midsection area (I still wore spanks though...) Everyone asked where I got my dress and were so surprised to hear that I rented it. I strongly recommend this dress for a formal occasion! I wish I could wear it again!
View photos (2)
See more reviews:
1 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×