Lace Surprise Gown

$90 rental
$795 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Have a black tie affair to attend? Rent this lady like Robert Rodriguez Black Label lace gown. Simple and chic.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with bow belt; fabric conceals midsection
HIPS: Fitted - very loosely fitted at hips though may be more fitted on full hips
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 56'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'1''-5'6'') and long measures 59'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6''-5'11''; dress has high slight to upper to mid-thigh

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with bow belt; fabric conceals midsection
HIPS: Fitted - very loosely fitted at hips though may be more fitted on full hips
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 56'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'1''-5'6'') and long measures 59'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6''-5'11''; dress has high slight to upper to mid-thigh

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black crepe(100% polyester). One shoulder neckline with lace trim. Velvet tie waist. Front slit. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
207 reviews
Fit
Large14
True to Size158
Small24
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 170lbs
March 28, 2016
Loved the dress!
I ordered a 12 R because the reviews said that you should order the regular if you are 5'6 or below and I am 5'5. I could've easily gone with a Long though as it was just a bit short. Luckily I wore short heels and took them off during the reception so it ended up being a good dancing length! RTR also forgot to add the fabric sash so I went without it. You can't really tell but it would've added something a little extra
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
February 11, 2016
Perfect dress for my black tie event! I can't wait to rent again!!
This was my first time using RTR and I was a little nervous. They didn't have my back up size available, so I went with the one size and it ended up fitting perfectly! I had to pin the belt, but the belt added a lot to the dress. I had to wear a shorter heal in order for dress to be correct length. But over all, this dress was perfect! I chose RTR because I a had a black tie event coming up and no time to shop. Plus, not a lot of good shopping options for a gown in the town I live in. RTR gave me so many beautiful designer dresses to choose from. It was so much fun and such an easy process!! I can't wait to use RTR again!! I had a lot of compliments on the dress!! I was sad to send it back!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 5, 2016
Great dress! I received so many compliments!
This is an elegant dress. I wore the 6R, the fit was great and very comfortable. It could have been a little longer, I wore 3 inch heels and my preference would have been to have to dress hit the floor. Overall, a great experience, I love Rent the Runway!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 38
February 2, 2016
Loved the cut of this dress, it stood out from a sea of other formal gowns. The shoulder is so cute!
I go between a 2 and 4 in dresses and the 2 fit well. It was form fitting, but flattering. I loved the shoulder detail, this dress was simple, but pretty. It was a classic dress. I loved the RTR experience too!
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
January 10, 2016
This dress was so elegant and perfect for my company's gala event. I loved it!
The only tricky part about the dress is the tie that goes around the waist, some of the snaps are a little bit flimsy, but other than that it was wonderful!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
January 5, 2016
Beautiful dress!
The fit and length were perfect: the only issue I had is that the sash is worn out and the snaps would not hold - I eventually just took it off
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
January 4, 2016
Great fit and received lots of compliments!
I wore this dress to a friend's after 5 wedding. I loved the fit of the dress, but I wish it was a tad bit longer. I am 5'6 and ordered regular length. I've never ordered tall in anything, but I should have in this dress. Also, the belt seemed smaller than indicated. I have a relatively small waist. Maybe a different size belt was accidentally sent with the dress I ordered. Oh, well...I enjoyed wearing this dress and would rent it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
November 30, 2015
So many compliments!
This was my back up and only size 10 was available. It gave it a little looser fit which was very elegant and perfect for an evening wedding!
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
November 30, 2015
No hassle dress
Great fit belt was not delivered with dress. Length was perfect
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
November 17, 2015
The fit was amazing
I'm an athlete at heart (. 4 years in college and still a coach) the fit was a true 8. The length was great with 2 inch heels. Down side.. Someone never returned the belt so it didn't make it to me either. I don't know if I would have loved it or hated it but I went without it. Got tons of compliments. The slit wasn't an issue but then again I'm only 5'3 on a good day. Awesome rental, would have bought it if I had the chance!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 16, 2015
Unable to be worn. No belt.
This dress arrived with out the belt. Other reviews mentioned not receiving the belt too. Disappointing because it was a beautiful, simple, and elegant dress.
Size worn:
0P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
November 15, 2015
So classy and elegant all in one! Received compliments all night :)
This was my first purchase and I was quite nervous but the dress was wonderful! Not only did it get delivered right on time I got a bunch of compliments. I'm usually a 00 but the 0P for great. It didn't come with the belt shown but I didn't need one. It was very classy and elegant all in one. The slit made the dress extra sexy!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 57
Body type: Petite
October 25, 2015
This was the perfect dress for this formal wedding. I received many compliments. Perfect!!
Fit was true to size. Length was just perfect; I'm 5'3" and with 3 inch heels the dress brushed the top of my shoes. There is a high slit on the left leg but I did not have any issues. Unfortunately the belt was left out of the shipping. They offered to ship it out but due to leaving early for the occasion I did not think it would arrive in time. I purchased a couple of yards of black velvet ribbon and it worked out nicely. I would definitely rent this dress again.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
October 15, 2015
Beautiful Dress!
Fit great, got a lot of compliments on it AND it was comfortable! Highly recommend.. wish I owned it!
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 35
September 4, 2015
Not having to worry about finding a dress and having it cleaned, really made it worry free!
From the other reviews, I was worried about the length and slit. The slit was perfect, when you walk it doesn't reveal anything. And the length was perfect with my 4 inch heels. I could eat and move with ease. I didn't use the velvet belt, I really think it down plays the elegance of the dress, so I just pinned some lace in the place of it. Had several compliments and felt great in the dress:) Thanks so much!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 122lbs
July 23, 2015
Great dress!
Lots of compliments. I wore it as a bridesmaid dress in a wedding. The fit is true to size. The top of the dress is stunning. The length... They no longer have this dress in Long. I'm 5'6 and ordered the regular length to wear with flats, but I cut it REALLY close with it being too short (see picture). Overall though, great dress.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
July 20, 2015
This dress was comfortable and was complimented many times!
I got so many compliments on this dress! I wear a size 4 and I rented a 4 and 6 and this dress was true to size. It was short with heels on which I wish it had been longer and my heel didn't show. The other thing was the side slit was a bit high and I had to be aware of how I was sitting. But it was perfect style for a formal wedding!
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
July 15, 2015
For the tall, leggy ladies
I rented this dress but decided to go with my backup. It's a gorgeous dress, but I needed to be taller for it to work. The main detail, the split, didn't fall right on me, and so you didn't even notice the split unless I physically tugged it ioen. Who wants to do that all night? Without that detail working for me, the dress ended up looking really blah. I decided to go with my other dress that had a lot more sparkle and pizazz.
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
July 7, 2015
Quick and fast arrival and return.
I wanted to order both the size 0 and 2. I typically wear a size 2 and in this case RTR did not have the 2 available so I figured I would give the 0 a try. The length was perfect but the top was a bit tight for me under my arms. But I made it work and no one would have noticed anyway. Received a ton of compliments and it was perfect for the black tie wedding I was attending. So glad that the dress came with a slit down the side, definitely helped when dancing. The belt was cute but I wish it would clip more securely with a belt loop instead of with the snaps. All in all, perfect for the occasion.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
June 26, 2015
Beautiful dress but too short
I'm 5'6" and the dress was 2" too short, barefoot. I ordered a regular, based on the picture of the model, size notes, and review from other customers. I LOVE the dress but couldn't wear it. The slit is very high on the leg, but unless you're sticking your leg out, it's not inappropriate. The belt was missing from dress when it came in.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
June 15, 2015
Everyone loved my dress!
I ordered a 2R and having the option of a 0R would have been nice but it wasn't available. My measurements are: 35-26-38. It fit well, it was a little loose in the chest area. The slit is high, so be careful if you're sitting during the reception!- I had to cover my leg with my clutch. I wore about 3 inch heels, be careful if your shoes have embellishments on them - mine kept getting caught on the dress. I also did not wear the belt provided, it didn't fit right, it was too loose on the smallest setting. I instead and an embellished sash I picked up at Charming Charlies.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
June 9, 2015
Great dress for a wedding guest
Very comfortable, good fit, easy to move in.. looks good with or without the belt it comes with
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 144lbs
May 27, 2015
Odd fit, but gorgeous dress!
I didn't end up wearing this because the fit was so odd. The neckline is very high, and actually felt like it was choking me! This surprised me; I wear petite sizes, so usually necklines are far too big on me. I ended up going with my second RTR option; I didn't want to strangle myself in this!
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
May 18, 2015
cute dress
good fit, belt too small but used the size 2 belt. slit was WAY to high for me. I am 5ft 2inches and was not slightly embarrassed by how high the slit was. This was worn a few summers ago and I see now they have the slit height stated in the description.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
May 7, 2015
I wore this dress to an Army OCS graduation formal and it was the perfect choice!
I ordered 3 different dresses before deciding to wear this one. After researching and asking military wives who have been to military functions I decided to stick to a neutral color and a somewhat conservative option. The slit in the side was high but not in an overly revealing way (though you may want to be cautious when you are sitting down). I am normally between a size 4 and 6- I chose the 6 since the 4 was not available; it worked fine although the 4 probably would have fit my waist better. I have a pear shape with much wider hips than chest and it made my body look fantastic! I would definitely recommend this dress to girls with a similar body shape or any shape really! The belt that came with the dress was too big (I contribute that to the fact the 6 was a little large through the waist for me) but very pretty. I decided, however, to wear a separately purchased gold and black belt which gave the dress an elegant, Grecian feel. I spoke with a consultant who assured me I wouldn't need a 6L because I am average height but the dress was too short with 3 inch heels-- a 4L probably would have been perfect but it was fine with me. The lightweight material made the Georgia heat much more bearable and I was overall very pleased with this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
May 6, 2015
Tons of compliments on this dress for a business school gala
The dress fit perfectly at the top and in the waist, but it was a bit long for me. I had to wear 3.5 inch heels and probably could have gone a little bit higher, as the dress still had to be held a off the ground. But the side slit helped with navigating around the length, and the overall fit was just perfect, I got tons of compliments on the dress; it was simple and elegant yet not too stuffy. Very easy to move and dance in!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
May 3, 2015
Perfect fit, super flattering
This dress definitely fits true to size. Similar to other reviews the slit was extremely high and I was self conscious of it while sitting at dinner. The length was perfect with 4.5" heels. I ultimately didn't end up wearing this dress because mine was missing the belt.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
April 6, 2015
It was perfect for my event, I wore it to a Military Ball. LOVED IT.
It fit true to size. I'm usually smaller up top and lager on the bottom so I was worried while I was ordering it but relieved once I found out the smaller of the two sizes fit. The dress is incredible however the slit was kind of high for my I was sitting for most of the night so I had to keep holding it together so I didn't feel like I was falling out of the dress.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 157lbs
March 24, 2015
So glam! Sophisticated with the right amount of Sexy!
This dress was absolutely perfect! I wanted a dress that was elegant, sophisticated but not too "old" feeling. And this dress it! I still felt young and sexy in it. I received so many compliments and I was comfortable the whole night! I also must say that my experience with RTR was top notch! It wasn't my first time renting,however, I had a few sizing issues this time around. RTR overnighted me additional dresses not once, but twice before my event! This dress wasn't available in the size I thought I was, but when the dresses I originally picked didn't fit (I gained a few pounds this winter...opps!) and I had to get a new size I tried this one in the available size and it fit AMAZINGLY well. If it wasn't for RTRs awesome customer service and EXTREMELY fast and reliable service I wouldn't have received this dress on time... 3 hours before my event! I will never purchase a formal gown again... RTR all the way!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 119lbs
March 1, 2015
Gorgeous, classy dress.
I usually run between a size 0 and a size 2, and I ended up renting the 2P. While the length was perfect, the dress was still a bit baggy on me. Regardless, it was a perfect dress for a NYE wedding! Many friends complimented me and asked where I bought it from :) highly recommend it!
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 31
February 15, 2015
This dress was perfect for my work awards gala.
The 8 fit great, but only the regular was available and I needed the tall for the length. Because of the style, I was able to wear the 10 long, so it worked out great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
February 12, 2015
Everything was perfect!
Was a perfect fit. Ran true to size
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 21, 2015
Great choice
The dress I wore was a 12R; however, the belt was a 14. The belt was a little large, and I had to fasten it with safety pins as the snaps were coming off. Overal, I really enjoyed the dress, it was my backup dress, and looked very plain on the hanger, but gorgeous on. The regular length was rather short, but I ended up wearing flats, so it worked perfectly.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126lbs
January 20, 2015
This dress was amazing!
The modesty of the top was a perfect balance to the HIGH slit. Ladies, you must love your legs if you want to wear this dress. I wore black spanks (boyshort kind) so I didnt have to worry about it showing anything. My dress was sent sans belt, but they overnighted one to me! LOVED LOVED LOVED this dress!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
December 4, 2014
Super fun night!
This dress was perfect for an evening wedding. It was very comfortable and simple, yet I still felt elegant. I have only two cons: 1.) I'm 5'8" and the regular length felt a little short for me, and wished RTR has the 6L available. I decided to wear lower heals because of this. 2.) The slit on the side is super high and exposes a lot when you are sitting. I ended up pinning it to avoid any awkward situations! Overall, it was a great dress and would recommend this dress to anyone.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
December 2, 2014
This dress looks AMAZING on!!!!!!
This dress is my all time favorite dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 17, 2014
did not like and did not wear.
shorter than it seems and wide in the hips. Not a very flattering dress and ended up not wearing it. Also, not that this will make that much of a difference, but if you are younger this dress really will age you... I didn't feel age appropriate at all in this when I tried this on.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
October 30, 2014
I don't remember because it was back in 2012.
The slit was SO HIGH up the leg. Up to the mid-thigh. FYI. Beware!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 20, 2014
Runs really small!
This dress runs really small. I rented it for a wedding in Miami and really wanted the 6 as a backup based on reviews, but it wasn't available. I chanced it with the 4 and it was just a little too tight in the bust area for me. Also, I noticed the belt didn't snap together well and that had nothing to do with the dress being tight in the bust. A friend ended up wearing the 4R as her bridesmaid dress to the wedding we're in. She's 5'3" and 107 lbs. with probably a D bust and it fit her well to give you a sense of how small the 4 is. She skipped the belt because it was a hassle and we just safety pinned the dress so the clasp didn't show. Definitely size up ladies.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 14, 2014
Not what I expected!
The dress was not nearly as pretty in person. The top did not lay well and the slit came up WAY too high. It couldn't be pinned because then it was too tight to walk. The belt that came said it was a size zero when I ordered a size four dress. I ended to returning it and not wearing it.
See more reviews:
1 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×