Galaxy Dust Gown

$89 to buy
$595 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Simple with a hint of bling! Rent this easy fitting Robert Rodriguez Black Label gown for the formal affair. Pair with Kenneth Jay Lane's Genesha Bangle.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout bodice; ruching detail conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Fitted
LENGTH: Floor length, gown runs slightly short - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 57.5” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’2” woman in 3.5” heels; Long measures 60” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’5” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and should be worn with seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9". )

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout bodice; ruching detail conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Fitted
LENGTH: Floor length, gown runs slightly short - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 57.5” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’2” woman in 3.5” heels; Long measures 60” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’5” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and should be worn with seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9". )

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black matte jersey. Surplice neckline. Beading detail at waist. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
58 reviews
Fit
Large13
True to Size39
Small4
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
August 12, 2012
Black Tie Perfect
This dress accentuated my body in all the right places... The embellishment hits closer to the hip, not the waist, which is good for my body. I did need a little invisible tape around the chest, but other than that, it was perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Body type: Athletic
July 22, 2012
Fit in every way!
Great fit, hugged my curves and still allowed me to dance the night away. The waist decoration was elegant and subdued.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 129lbs
June 1, 2012
Great for an hourglass figure!
This is a beautiful dress that is quite comfortable. For someone who is an hourglass, it hugs in all the right places. Unless you really want to go for a va va voom look, I would suggest purchasing some fashion tape to make sure you have a bit of coverage. I sent it back because I was going to a conservative affair -- but for the right event it would be gorgeous!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
May 29, 2012
first time using RTR and loved the easy experience, will keep in mind for my next event :) Thank you RTR!
I actually rented this dress for my mom, she is a very petite lady, 5'1'', 110 lbs, she wore the 2R and it fit her nicely, was a good length but a little short for her 3 inch heels (didn't touch the ground). She said she was very comfortable all night, but it was very low cut she had to pin it high up on the neck for her taste, and it might look better on a more curvy woman because the ruching on the hips didn't lay 100% right. In any other color it would have been noticeable but with the black it looked fine. Overall she was very happy and looked wonderful!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
April 18, 2012
Classy and comfortable
I rented this dress as a back-up for a formal event. The dress was true to size and just the right length in the regular size for my 5'3" frame with 3 inch heels. I normally wear petite sizes, so if you are tall be sure to get the longer length.This dress was super comfortable with a little stretch to it. The top fit great (36DD+), but did seem to gape a little bit into the evening (should have put fashion tape in my bag!). Basically it hugged all my curves except minimized my belly - how can you not love that?! I went for an old Hollywood glam look and paired this with vintage style accessories, hair and make-up.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 131lbs
February 28, 2012
short
i'm 5' 3/12" and it was a little too short for the shoes that i wanted to wear. i think the long would have fit better. if you plan on wearing tall heels you may want to consider the longer option. the chest opening goes down pretty low, so if you're looking for something conservative this may not be the dress for you-- however i loved that part of it.
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
February 11, 2012
Beautiful & comfortable
This dress was so comfortable. The deep V, the side ruching, and the slit up the side made the dress very stunning. I was extremely comfortable all night, standing, sitting, dancing. I received many compliments. I will certainly be renting from RTR again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
February 8, 2012
Ritz Carlton Formal Black Tie
I ordered this dress in sizes 0 and 2 for a formal event at the Ritz Carlton hotel. I typically wear a 0 in most things but sometime I have to go up to 2 because I am wider in my hips and breast than my shoulders and waist. This dress in both sizes was much to large for me even with the smallest size being a 0. Luckily, I ordered a second dress from Rent the Runway that fit perfectly! I felt like that star at the party! However, for this dress I found that it ran large and I would have needed a 00.
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
January 31, 2012
My first RTR experience has been great! I was able to order two beautiful dresses at very reasonable prices. The dresses arrived as requested 2 days before my event and ready to wear. One of the dresses ordered was brand new with the price tag still attached. I love the fact that it arrived in a discreet, but well packaged box. Returning the dresses was also seamless. The return envelopes were labeled and ready to go... it doesn't get any easier than that! As for Customer Service, they were excellent. I called them twice: once when I placed the order to make sure my credit card wasn't being charged for the retail value of the dresses and on both occasions, they were both helpful and polite. I'm SO happy that there's a RTR and plan to use them for every event I have going forward. I attend 12 black-tie affairs and at least 5 cocktail events a year. Purchasing 20+ gowns a year has proven to be not only costly, but stressful... as I couldn't wear them again once my picture was published in the society column. The other disadvantage for me is that I live in a condo so storing these gowns were proving to be a problem as they were taking up way too much space in my already small closet. Now, I don't have to worry about shopping, cleaning and storing ball gowns anymore. Even my husband was happy because I saved money and wasn't stressed in the process. Thanks RTR for offering such beautiful high-end garments at a great price and excellent customer service too!
This was my first rental from RTR and I must say I picked the perfect dress for my body type. I'm pretty proportioned, but have a nice sized butt and thighs so if you're curvy this dress will accentuate and flatter those areas very nicely. Another great thing about this dress is the coverage. I'm not overweight, but I do have cellulite in the thigh and butt area, as well as a little pouch in the abdomen. The design of this dress drapes the fabric to gently fall across all of those areas without looking as though you're trying to hide something. My abs looked flat, my butt looked great and no ripples or dimples seeped through. And, the plus is that I didn't wear any foundation - just a regular bra and panty set (I'm sure I would've looked even better had I worn my Spanx). The only possible problem with this dress is the plunging neckline. It doesn't look too bad in the picture, but in reality it's tends to open when on the body so if you're busty or shy then you will definitely need fabric tape. I opted not to use tape and was comfortable with a more revealing cleavage (see pic). As for the length, I'm 5'4-1/2 so I ordered both the 6R and 6L and wore the 6L with 4" stilettos because I prefer to have my dress cover the tops of my shoes. I ranked this dress 4/5 stars because of the neckline only, and I'd definitely rent this dress again.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
January 4, 2012
Rented it TWICE!!
Love this dress so much I rented it twice. I needed a last min dress so I had it messengered over and wore it again! Definetly needs a little fabric tape, but hangs perfectly in all the right places. Great fabric, well made. Go a size down, especially if you have small breast. I'm 5'3, 125, B cup. The 0R was perfect. Great length too!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 45
Body type: Athletic
December 18, 2011
Beautiful
Gorgeous dress. The front gapped open quite a bit. I'm 5'11" and it was a little shorter than I would have liked when I wore my 3" heels, but I'm used to that kind of challenge. Got a ton of compliments!
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 61
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
December 7, 2011
Nice dress, bad fit
The dress was comfortable, but for a smaller bustline the wrap-style neckline gapped too much to fix with the fashion tape, pins, or in any way I could devise. The beading design is placed closer to the hip than the waist, not sure that is the most flattering area to emphasize.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
November 17, 2011
Knock Out!
This dress was incredible! I went for old hollywood glam with this dress everyone loved it. Gave my body a beauitful soultry shape. I will love to wear it again! I paired this dress with Elizabeth Cole Bacall Earrings and Chamak by Priya Kakkar Silver Glitz Bangles. Works GREAT if your petite on the top and have hips and thighs.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
October 26, 2011
It wasn't exactly the dress I wanted but all and all it worked fine for the event.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 20, 2011
The dress is lovely, but it was a little big for me. I usually wear a size 4, but I probably could/should have gone with the 2. I have a small chest(32C)so that was problematic, but noting a few safety pins could not fix.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 6, 2011
Great dress. Very comfortable and true to size. I got the long which was perfect. The top fit a bit funny but I fixed it with a piece of the tape.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
October 5, 2011
This dress is flattering and comfortable. I am only 5'4" but with heels the long length is best. I loved how it highlighted my top half and legs but distracted from my tummy. It was easy to dance in and the fabric made it comfortable enough to wear all night. I highly recommend this dress.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
September 20, 2011
This dress was absolutely stunning. I got complements all night. I ordered the size 12 and felt that it was true to size. It is not stretchy,which I thought it would be, but it fit my bust. I wear a 38G and it fit nicely.
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×