Robert Rodriguez Black Label

Galaxy Dust Gown

$80 rental
$595 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Simple with a hint of bling! Rent this easy fitting Robert Rodriguez Black Label gown for the formal affair. Pair with accessories that will bring out the embellishment like Tom Binns' Black and Crystal Chandelier Earrings, Kenneth Jay Lane's Genesha Bangle, and Erickson Beamon's Transformer Ring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout bodice; ruching detail conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Fitted
LENGTH: Floor length, gown runs slightly short - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 57.5” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’2” woman in 3.5” heels; Long measures 60” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’5” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and should be worn with seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9". )

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout bodice; ruching detail conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Fitted
LENGTH: Floor length, gown runs slightly short - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 57.5” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’2” woman in 3.5” heels; Long measures 60” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’5” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra and should be worn with seamless underwear
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9". )

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black matte jersey. Surplice neckline. Beading detail at waist. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

53 reviews

Fit
Small 3
True to Size 37
Large 12
Photos 18
peytonnicole
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Sep 20, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress was absolutely stunning. I got complements all night. I ordered the size 12 and felt that it was true to size. It is not stretchy,which I thought it would be, but it fit my bust. I wear a 38G and it fit nicely.
Amazing
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Oct 5, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress is flattering and comfortable. I am only 5'4" but with heels the long length is best. I loved how it highlighted my top half and legs but distracted from my tummy. It was easy to dance in and the fabric made it comfortable enough to wear all night. I highly recommend this dress.
Claire
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Oct 6, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Great dress. Very comfortable and true to size. I got the long which was perfect. The top fit a bit funny but I fixed it with a piece of the tape.
Chrissy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 20, 2011

Overall fit: Large
The dress is lovely, but it was a little big for me. I usually wear a size 4, but I probably could/should have gone with the 2. I have a small chest(32C)so that was problematic, but noting a few safety pins could not fix.
rach
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 26, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
It wasn't exactly the dress I wanted but all and all it worked fine for the event.
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Nov 17, 2011

Knock Out!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was incredible! I went for old hollywood glam with this dress everyone loved it. Gave my body a beauitful soultry shape. I will love to wear it again! I paired this dress with Elizabeth Cole Bacall Earrings and Chamak by Priya Kakkar Silver Glitz Bangles. Works GREAT if your petite on the top and have hips and thighs.
Helen
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 61
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Dec 7, 2011

Nice dress, bad fit

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was comfortable, but for a smaller bustline the wrap-style neckline gapped too much to fix with the fashion tape, pins, or in any way I could devise. The beading design is placed closer to the hip than the waist, not sure that is the most flattering area to emphasize.
Missy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 44
Body type: Athletic
Dec 18, 2011

Beautiful

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Gorgeous dress. The front gapped open quite a bit. I'm 5'11" and it was a little shorter than I would have liked when I wore my 3" heels, but I'm used to that kind of challenge. Got a ton of compliments!
Lisa
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 4, 2012

Rented it TWICE!!

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Love this dress so much I rented it twice. I needed a last min dress so I had it messengered over and wore it again! Definetly needs a little fabric tape, but hangs perfectly in all the right places. Great fabric, well made. Go a size down, especially if you have small breast. I'm 5'3, 125, B cup. The 0R was perfect. Great length too!
Libby
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Feb 8, 2012

Ritz Carlton Formal Black Tie

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered this dress in sizes 0 and 2 for a formal event at the Ritz Carlton hotel. I typically wear a 0 in most things but sometime I have to go up to 2 because I am wider in my hips and breast than my shoulders and waist. This dress in both sizes was much to large for me even with the smallest size being a 0. Luckily, I ordered a second dress from Rent the Runway that fit perfectly! I felt like that star at the party! However, for this dress I found that it ran large and I would have needed a 00.
Kate
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Feb 11, 2012

Beautiful & comfortable

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was so comfortable. The deep V, the side ruching, and the slit up the side made the dress very stunning. I was extremely comfortable all night, standing, sitting, dancing. I received many compliments. I will certainly be renting from RTR again.
margot
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 131 lbs
Feb 28, 2012

short

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
i'm 5' 3/12" and it was a little too short for the shoes that i wanted to wear. i think the long would have fit better. if you plan on wearing tall heels you may want to consider the longer option. the chest opening goes down pretty low, so if you're looking for something conservative this may not be the dress for you-- however i loved that part of it.
Shannon
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Apr 18, 2012

Classy and comfortable

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress as a back-up for a formal event. The dress was true to size and just the right length in the regular size for my 5'3" frame with 3 inch heels. I normally wear petite sizes, so if you are tall be sure to get the longer length.This dress was super comfortable with a little stretch to it. The top fit great (36DD+), but did seem to gape a little bit into the evening (should have put fashion tape in my bag!). Basically it hugged all my curves except minimized my belly - how can you not love that?! I went for an old Hollywood glam look and paired this with vintage style accessories, hair and make-up.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×