Berry Wild Lace Gown

$70 to buy
$795 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Make a grand entrance to the black tie event wearing this beautiful Robert Rodriguez Black Label asymmetric gown. It's lace detailing and velvet bow are a stylish choice for such a grand party.

Also available in black.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Size 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with bow belt; fabric conceals midsection
HIPS: Fitted - very loosely fitted at hips though may be more fitted on full hips
LENGTH: Floor length, gown runs slightly short - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 57” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’2” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 60” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’5” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length; dress has high slit to upper to mid-thigh

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Size 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with bow belt; fabric conceals midsection
HIPS: Fitted - very loosely fitted at hips though may be more fitted on full hips
LENGTH: Floor length, gown runs slightly short - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 57” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’2” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 60” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’5” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length; dress has high slit to upper to mid-thigh

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Berry crepe(100% polyester). One shoulder neckline with lace trim. Velvet tie waist. Front slit. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
88 reviews
Fit
Large5
True to Size72
Small10
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
February 24, 2013
Stunning Dress and Amazing Process!
I worn this and felt elegant and classic all evening the slit up the leg was breath taking. The photo doesn't do this gown justice.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
February 24, 2013
Sexy slit. Lots of compliments!
The fit is definitely an 8. I tried this dress on at the RTR showroom but had a 8L so I opted for the 8R since it was really long. However, the 8R was noticeably shorter. I had strappy 3 inch heels on and was a bit self conscious since it was short but the slit made it less noticeable. The bow belt is a bit tight and would snap off when I went to sit. I had a 10 as a backup so used that belt instead. Overall the dress was comfortable and pretty and I got a lot of compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
January 31, 2013
The lace was really nice on this dress
The fit was a little small on the hips.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
January 30, 2013
I wore this for an Inaugural Ball and was pleased! Got many compliments on the overall look. Thanks!
I am 5'8 and wore a regular. While I did have not so high heels, it made me wonder how long a L would have been? Anyway, this was fine. A little tight in the waist but 6 would have been way too loose. Great color and fabric for winter!!!!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Body type: Pear
January 23, 2013
Great color. Missing sash
Too bulky in the chest
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
December 27, 2012
Great service always
Even the LONG is short!!!! I'm only 5'5 and the dress was hig watered on me, it looked ridiculous! And the belt sizes were all off, seems like they are mixed up in the bags seeing as the actual belts aren't labeled, there's no way to tell the actual size. Neither fit, and the dress was just okay. Not for something as grand that I needed, unable to wear.
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
December 25, 2012
Stunning details
This dress was magnificent for the occasion. but what i didnt notice was the huge slit that literally went up to my lower hip. It was sexy when i walked but right as i sat down, it was difficult to control. if youre not afraid to show a little skin, this dress is perfect.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 22, 2012
I received so many compliments on this dress!
The fit was absolutely wonderful. It was a very comfortable dress to wear. It's very conservative, but the slit in the side definitely adds some sass!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Body type: Hourglass
December 14, 2012
This dress was beautiful!
Very well maintained. Just a little small in the bust for me. :( I was disappointed, but doesn't have any stretch to adjust for a larger bust line.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
December 3, 2012
Rich Colors
Loved the fit and feel of this dress. The right size was missing the ribbon at the waist and RTR was really helpful and had it overnighted to me the same day. Although I was still pleased with my selection, this dress wasn't quite as stunning as my other rentals from RTR. I rented this for a dance, but it would have been a better fit for a more sober event like a cocktail party or wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Body type: Athletic
November 22, 2012
fits like a glove
I wore this dress for a holiday ball, and it was ABSOLUTELY stunning! the purple hue of the dress was an perfect unsuspected holiday tone, and the slit up the leg gave just the right amount of sexy, while still being classy for the more mature crowd. I would rent it again this year for the same event if I could! Maybe bring a safety pin to just fasten the velvet belt a little stronger.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
November 13, 2012
Great! The one funny thing about it was that the dress fit perfectly but the belt seemed to small.
looks beautiful on.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 53
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
November 11, 2012
Good for young person
15 year old daughter wore it. Looked great on her ultra slim body.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Body type: Hourglass
November 10, 2012
OK
The top attachment on the shoulder is held together by a simple thread. I thought it was going to break at any moment all night! -but it didn't! Also, the belt kept coming unsnapped.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 1, 2012
I wore this for a vintage-themed wedding and it fit right in!
The one issue with this dress is the slit -- it is HIGH. So high, that I had to use a safety pin to keep my upper thigh from showing.
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 28, 2012
This dress was amazing!
This dress fit perfect, I ordered a size 6L and 8L they both fit very well but I ended up wearing the 8L with the 6 belt because I liked the way it looked better. The dress is a little short, I am 5'6 and i wore 4 inch heels and it was about 1/2 inch off of the ground. The slit is very high but I loved that, the rest of the dress is so conservative the slit really makes up for it and is very sexy. I wish I never had to give back the dress!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
October 22, 2012
Quick ship for last minute gala.
This was a very last minute order and I was very happy with the dress. I ordered in the 10R and 12R and wore the 10R. I am 5'8 and was wearing 4 inch heels the L would have been better but was not available on such short notice. The slit is high and when sitting needed to make sure I adjusted but when walking, standing it was fine. The color was great for fall, condition of dress was perfect. I felt great in dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 10, 2012
Felt like a movie star! Everyone asked where did I get my dress!
Fits true to the size...very delicate lace, just be careful when sitting down, the slip on the size is truly revealing...so sexy. Love it!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 144lbs
October 8, 2012
it was perfect!
it looked great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
September 26, 2012
High-waisted!
Very pretty dress, with gorgeous thigh-high slit and beautiful lace trim. I didn't end up wearing either the 4L or 6L that I was sent, however, because the "waist" of the dress was well up my ribcage, so the sash/belt would have gone around the bottom of my ribs rather than my actual waist. I'm not particularly long-waisted, so I was a little surprised. I wore the backup dress instead, which was fine, but not nearly as pretty!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
September 24, 2012
Perfect choice for a black-tie wedding.
This is a great dress! The black lace over the purple fabric is a nice detail. It was true to size, but like other reviewers said, it might run a little short. I got the long length, and it was perfect with heels. I would recommend it for a thin frame, very flattering. The only bit of warning I would offer is that the side split, while very sexy, is also cut VERY high. A good gust of wind and this dress becomes very revealing. After the first incident, I secured it a few inches down with a safety pin and was fine for the rest of the night with no worries. The belt shipped was a size 10 belt and was not adjustable...obviously a problem...but again, safety pin to the rescue. I wore it with a cuff bracelet similar to the picture and chandelier earrings and got compliments all night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
September 2, 2012
My glam moment finally came!!
When I walked into the party, I got all the attractions. It is such a elegant and sexy gown. I loved lace details and black sash. I'm 5'6'' and wore 4 inch heel, length was perfect with 4L. My husband told me he never saw me that beautiful. And I got tons of compliments!! I rented black and silver bracelet and earring from RTR as recommanded also, It worked perfectly. Thanks to RTR!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
August 24, 2012
Perfect for a wedding!
The size fit true to size, but Ted length wasn't long enough. I'm 5"10 and in heels it was almost too short.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Body type: Petite
August 24, 2012
I liked it!
I enjoyed wearing this dress I really liked this dress, and also the slit up the side it showed just enough leg.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
August 20, 2012
Too short, even in the long
This was my backup dress for a black tie wedding and I was glad I like my first choice option. This dress was too short, even in the 8L, to wear heels. The color and slit are fun but my husband said the material looked cheap.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 14, 2012
Pretty for cooler months, long
I rented this for a summer wedding and the velvet tie wasn't appropriate for the season. It was too long for me so I didn't wear it. Maybe best for taller ladies and in the winter.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
July 30, 2012
Stunning, true to size
I rented this dress for a wedding. The 4L fit perfectly, however it was too short. I went with the back-up 6L but wore the 4 belt to make up for the loose fit. I would recommend this dress for any black tie affair.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
July 3, 2012
Pretty but Not for Tall Girls
I loved this dress and tried it on at Saks where it was long enough, but sadly even the long size here was not long enough. I called RTR and they explained that the dresses are hemmed and refunded me, but it was not even long enough for flats.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 48
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 2, 2012
beautiful dress!
I loved this dress. Wore it to a black tie wedding. Great alternative to a black dress. It fit perfectly and I found it to look conservative but having the slit up the side gave it a mysterious sexy edge. I ended up wearing a different belt because it was not shipped with my dress but I loved it just as much.
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
April 18, 2012
Perfect!!
The detailing was fantastic along the neck line and hips. The color is a little brighter than in the picture on the website but it was great! I would recommend this dress if you are small chested and tall.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
February 17, 2012
easy great dress
This dress was a great fit, and because the fabric is gauzy like, it did not require any ironing! Thanks! I am 5'4" and the 0 was the perfect length with 3 " heels.
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 111lbs
February 7, 2012
everyone loved the dress!
Loved the dress! It was, however, about 1/2" too short, but it still worked, I'd rather it be 1/2" too short, than be tripping all over it on the dance floor. Got a lot of compliments throughout the night. I ordered a size 2 and 0, I chose the 0 because the top in the 2 was a bit baggy, but I am small up top.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
February 7, 2012
Sorry, the picture is blurry and the color is faked but I hope can give you the idea!
If you are tall and lean the dress fits exactly as in the picture. The color is a little brighter. The dress is a little bit loose on the chest but is not annoying. The belt instead is way too large and I had to use some fabric tape to fix it. Anyway the result was stunning and I received tones of compliments.
PriaDecember 7, 2012
Very helpful; thank you!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
January 24, 2012
Beautiful dress, but too short
I rented this dress as an alternate for a ballet gala and I found it too short for me. I'm 5'10" and it didn't hit the floor in flat feet. I knew it would probably be too short from the description, but wanted to get a different dress to have a few options as I had just had a baby and wasn't sure what would look good on my body (or whether I would be up for wearing heels). The color was a magenta-ish purple and I LOVED the sexy slit up the side. I wish it was longer and it could have been an option.
CourtneyJuly 31, 2012
Did you order up from the size 8 that you usually wear? It sounds like I am around the same size as you and I really want this dress to work!
RTRAugust 2, 2012
Hi Courtney, it looks like Alice wore the 10L.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
January 23, 2012
Very Short, But Very Beautiful
I ordered this in my size in long and regular. the regular was SO short! there was no way i could have worn it in flats. it was very beautiful though!
KaleyJuly 17, 2012
Were you able to wear heels with the long size?
RTRJuly 18, 2012
Hi Kaley, the Long measures 60” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’5” woman in 3” heels. At 5'8 in the long version you could wear a very short heel that may show.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Body type: Hourglass
December 16, 2011
My husband said he enjoyed showing me off all night, lol
This dress was great and actually very comfortable. I received tons of great compliments all night!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 106lbs
December 9, 2011
Not berry, but purple
This dress looks like a plum/berry color on my monitor, but it's more of a true purple in real life. The fit was a little strange... snug at the waist and saggy in the chest (probably my own shortcomings there). I didn't get to wear this dress, but RTR has great customer service. I'll definitely try renting again! Thank you RTR!
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
November 30, 2011
I felt like this dress was made just for me and the dress had a vintage feel to it. I felt so beautiful.
I adored this dress and got so many compliments on it. I'm 5'2 120lbs and wore the size 4R. I wore a pair of the Steve Madden pumps that are very popular this year and they were a perfect choice for the length. The belt stayed in place and the split int he dress was just the perfect amount of sexiness. I couldn't have made a better choice.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 23, 2011
Love this dress
I wore this dress to a black tie wedding and it was amazing! The dress itself fit like a glove. My only complaint is that the size 2 belt was a little small. I ordered the size 4 as a back up, so I wore the size 4 belt with the size 2 dress. I'm sad I don't own this dress... :-)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Body type: Petite
November 15, 2011
Gorgeous gown
I was very pleased with this gown. It fit perfectly and I received so many compliments on this dress! It was unique and classy. I will say that I was glad I opted for the free back-up dress. The original size I was going to wear came with the wrong size belt (size 12) so I used the belt from the back-up instead. This has been the easiest and best rental experience for me and would highly recommend renttherunway to friends!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×