Rent the Runway

Robert Rodriguez Black Label

Berry Wild Lace Gown

$70 rental
$795 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Make a grand entrance to the black tie event wearing this beautiful Robert Rodriguez Black Label asymmetric gown. It's lace detailing and velvet bow are a stylish choice for such a grand party.

Also available in black.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Size 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with bow belt; fabric conceals midsection
HIPS: Fitted - very loosely fitted at hips though may be more fitted on full hips
LENGTH: Floor length, gown runs slightly short - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 57” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’2” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 60” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’5” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length; dress has high slit to upper to mid-thigh

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Size 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room in bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with bow belt; fabric conceals midsection
HIPS: Fitted - very loosely fitted at hips though may be more fitted on full hips
LENGTH: Floor length, gown runs slightly short - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 57” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’2” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 60” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’5” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length; dress has high slit to upper to mid-thigh

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Berry crepe(100% polyester). One shoulder neckline with lace trim. Velvet tie waist. Front slit. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

87 reviews

Fit
Small 10
True to Size 72
Large 5
Photos 40
Amity
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Nov 11, 2011

small bust

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I could zip this dress up to just under my bra line...Made for straight and narrow body type. I wear a 36 D, rest of the dress fit fine, and it was beautiful, but the top is meant to be drapey over the chest, and probably if you wear larger than a B cup, it wouldn't be. The dress was very pretty though, made me sad it didn't fit!
Meredyth
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Nov 23, 2011

Love this dress

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a black tie wedding and it was amazing! The dress itself fit like a glove. My only complaint is that the size 2 belt was a little small. I ordered the size 4 as a back up, so I wore the size 4 belt with the size 2 dress. I'm sad I don't own this dress... :-)
jen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 106 lbs
Dec 9, 2011

Not berry, but purple

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress looks like a plum/berry color on my monitor, but it's more of a true purple in real life. The fit was a little strange... snug at the waist and saggy in the chest (probably my own shortcomings there). I didn't get to wear this dress, but RTR has great customer service. I'll definitely try renting again! Thank you RTR!
Grace
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 23, 2012

Very Short, But Very Beautiful

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered this in my size in long and regular. the regular was SO short! there was no way i could have worn it in flats. it was very beautiful though!
Alice
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 24, 2012

Beautiful dress, but too short

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress as an alternate for a ballet gala and I found it too short for me. I'm 5'10" and it didn't hit the floor in flat feet. I knew it would probably be too short from the description, but wanted to get a different dress to have a few options as I had just had a baby and wasn't sure what would look good on my body (or whether I would be up for wearing heels). The color was a magenta-ish purple and I LOVED the sexy slit up the side. I wish it was longer and it could have been an option.
Felisha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Feb 17, 2012

easy great dress

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was a great fit, and because the fabric is gauzy like, it did not require any ironing! Thanks! I am 5'4" and the 0 was the perfect length with 3 " heels.
Taylor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Apr 18, 2012

Perfect!!

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The detailing was fantastic along the neck line and hips. The color is a little brighter than in the picture on the website but it was great! I would recommend this dress if you are small chested and tall.
ostrvl
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 2, 2012

beautiful dress!

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress. Wore it to a black tie wedding. Great alternative to a black dress. It fit perfectly and I found it to look conservative but having the slit up the side gave it a mysterious sexy edge. I ended up wearing a different belt because it was not shipped with my dress but I loved it just as much.
Jess
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Jul 3, 2012

Pretty but Not for Tall Girls

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress and tried it on at Saks where it was long enough, but sadly even the long size here was not long enough. I called RTR and they explained that the dresses are hemmed and refunded me, but it was not even long enough for flats.
Marie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jul 30, 2012

Stunning, true to size

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a wedding. The 4L fit perfectly, however it was too short. I went with the back-up 6L but wore the 4 belt to make up for the loose fit. I would recommend this dress for any black tie affair.
whitney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 14, 2012

Pretty for cooler months, long

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this for a summer wedding and the velvet tie wasn't appropriate for the season. It was too long for me so I didn't wear it. Maybe best for taller ladies and in the winter.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Aug 20, 2012

Too short, even in the long

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This was my backup dress for a black tie wedding and I was glad I like my first choice option. This dress was too short, even in the 8L, to wear heels. The color and slit are fun but my husband said the material looked cheap.
laura
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 26
Body type: Petite
Aug 24, 2012

I liked it!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I enjoyed wearing this dress I really liked this dress, and also the slit up the side it showed just enough leg.
Khalia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170 lbs
Aug 24, 2012

Perfect for a wedding!

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The size fit true to size, but Ted length wasn't long enough. I'm 5"10 and in heels it was almost too short.
Gusdk
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Sep 2, 2012

My glam moment finally came!!

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
When I walked into the party, I got all the attractions. It is such a elegant and sexy gown. I loved lace details and black sash. I'm 5'6'' and wore 4 inch heel, length was perfect with 4L. My husband told me he never saw me that beautiful. And I got tons of compliments!! I rented black and silver bracelet and earring from RTR as recommanded also, It worked perfectly. Thanks to RTR!!
Natalie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105 lbs
Sep 24, 2012

Perfect choice for a black-tie wedding.

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This is a great dress! The black lace over the purple fabric is a nice detail. It was true to size, but like other reviewers said, it might run a little short. I got the long length, and it was perfect with heels. I would recommend it for a thin frame, very flattering. The only bit of warning I would offer is that the side split, while very sexy, is also cut VERY high. A good gust of wind and this dress becomes very revealing. After the first incident, I secured it a few inches down with a safety pin and was fine for the rest of the night with no worries. The belt shipped was a size 10 belt and was not adjustable...obviously a problem...but again, safety pin to the rescue. I wore it with a cuff bracelet similar to the picture and chandelier earrings and got compliments all night!
JessieT
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128 lbs
Sep 26, 2012

High-waisted!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Very pretty dress, with gorgeous thigh-high slit and beautiful lace trim. I didn't end up wearing either the 4L or 6L that I was sent, however, because the "waist" of the dress was well up my ribcage, so the sash/belt would have gone around the bottom of my ribs rather than my actual waist. I'm not particularly long-waisted, so I was a little surprised. I wore the backup dress instead, which was fine, but not nearly as pretty!
Maria
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 144 lbs
Oct 8, 2012

it was perfect!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
it looked great!
Amy
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Oct 22, 2012

Quick ship for last minute gala.

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was a very last minute order and I was very happy with the dress. I ordered in the 10R and 12R and wore the 10R. I am 5'8 and was wearing 4 inch heels the L would have been better but was not available on such short notice. The slit is high and when sitting needed to make sure I adjusted but when walking, standing it was fine. The color was great for fall, condition of dress was perfect. I felt great in dress.
Jess
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Nov 1, 2012

I wore this for a vintage-themed wedding and it fit right in!

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The one issue with this dress is the slit -- it is HIGH. So high, that I had to use a safety pin to keep my upper thigh from showing.
Wendy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 52
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 11, 2012

Good for young person

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
15 year old daughter wore it. Looked great on her ultra slim body.
Amy T.
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 13, 2012

Great! The one funny thing about it was that the dress fit perfectly but the belt seemed to small.

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
looks beautiful on.
Kate
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Body type: Athletic
Nov 22, 2012

fits like a glove

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress for a holiday ball, and it was ABSOLUTELY stunning! the purple hue of the dress was an perfect unsuspected holiday tone, and the slit up the leg gave just the right amount of sexy, while still being classy for the more mature crowd. I would rent it again this year for the same event if I could! Maybe bring a safety pin to just fasten the velvet belt a little stronger.
taylor
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127 lbs
Dec 3, 2012

Rich Colors

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved the fit and feel of this dress. The right size was missing the ribbon at the waist and RTR was really helpful and had it overnighted to me the same day. Although I was still pleased with my selection, this dress wasn't quite as stunning as my other rentals from RTR. I rented this for a dance, but it would have been a better fit for a more sober event like a cocktail party or wedding.
christy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 14, 2012

This dress was beautiful!

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Very well maintained. Just a little small in the bust for me. :( I was disappointed, but doesn't have any stretch to adjust for a larger bust line.
Rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 22, 2012

I received so many compliments on this dress!

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was absolutely wonderful. It was a very comfortable dress to wear. It's very conservative, but the slit in the side definitely adds some sass!
Akeeba
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 27, 2012

Great service always

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Even the LONG is short!!!! I'm only 5'5 and the dress was hig watered on me, it looked ridiculous! And the belt sizes were all off, seems like they are mixed up in the bags seeing as the actual belts aren't labeled, there's no way to tell the actual size. Neither fit, and the dress was just okay. Not for something as grand that I needed, unable to wear.
H
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Body type: Pear
Jan 23, 2013

Great color. Missing sash

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Too bulky in the chest
Kimberly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Jan 31, 2013

The lace was really nice on this dress

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The fit was a little small on the hips.
Terri
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 24, 2013

Stunning Dress and Amazing Process!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I worn this and felt elegant and classic all evening the slit up the leg was breath taking. The photo doesn't do this gown justice.
brooke
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 4, 2013

Wound up not wearing this dress.

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was more matronly than it appears in the picture. It also has a VERY high slit on one side that I was unaware of when renting. I would up wearing something I already owned instead of this dress.
Lesley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105 lbs
Mar 21, 2013

pretty dress, was too short

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I got this as a backup dress so I did not end up wearing it. however, it was large in the bust and waist and very short. I am 5'4 and it just skimmed the ground without heels on, so with heels it looked silly. I loved the color, and the belt helped cinch the waist in a bit.
Ash
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
May 1, 2013

Elegant dress, but the black velvet belt didn't always stay fastened while I was dancing

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great dress, beautiful lines, but the belt kept unfastening while I was moving around.
Sarah
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
May 6, 2013

I felt a bit like a Grecian goddess.

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The slit up the side does go up a little higher than expected and made sitting while staying decent tricky. It stops about 6" below the hip bone. The colour was beautiful and it hung nicely. It was still a little too short for my frame with heels, even in the long sizes.
MMeyer23
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
May 12, 2013

Gorgeous! However, did not come with the sash

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was very excited to receive this dress but it arrived missing the sash. I ended up wearing one of the back ups. The bust was large for me but it wouldn't have been a problem if I had worn it.
kmoore
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Aug 8, 2013

Very pretty dress

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Didn't wear this, got it as a backup. It was pretty, but I liked the other one better.
Shin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105 lbs
Oct 24, 2013

Lovely color, flattering cut, unique style

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I found this dress to be very unique and classy and was excited to get it. I had knee surgery recently and have a big brace on my leg, so wanted a long gownfor my gala event but was concerned about the slit showing too much of my brace. It actually worked out perfectly. It didn't show when I stood but allowed me to walk comfortably. As others warned, the slit was pretty high and the top is tied together by just a little thread, but some fashion tape and pins fixed those up easily. The top was a little baggy on me, but I was able to pin the pleats down and cover up the pins with the belt, and that helped a lot. I ordered a 0R and 2R and got a size 6 and 14 belt, so that required more pinning to deal with. At first I was concerned that too many adjustments were needed to make this work, and my backup dress was way too big, so I had another dress overnighted. The RTR reps were really understanding of my knee brace situation and helpful in getting me another dress. That one was too large also, so I pinned and taped and wore this one in the end. Glad I did, it was really pretty, the color was a nice rich berry color, and the style stood out among your typical strapless or halter styles.
Adrianna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145 lbs
Nov 11, 2013

Far too short for tall ladies

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered the 4L. I'm 5'10 and wore a 2 and 3/4 inch heel. This dress was waaaay too short for me.
Emily
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116 lbs
Dec 2, 2013

spectacular dress - got compliments all night!

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress. I agree with other reviewers that the shoulder strap made me a little nervous (it really was just a few threads!) but it stayed right where it was supposed to all night long. The slit is fabulous - opens up a little when walking, and the only time I had to be careful was when sitting down. Would definitely rent this one again!
RTR Customer
Mar 11, 2014

Unfortunately I didn't get to wear it!

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Very cute dress!! But unfortunately I didn't wear it.. I was 8 months pregnant lol! I thought it was stretchy but it wasn't.. So I got credit back for it, I'm saving it to rent this again for another wedding! I wished I can keep it!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×