You are masquerading as ! (switch back)
| REVIEWS |
 
| MY BAG
 

FREE SHIPPING + INSURANCE
What's this?

Rent like a PRO all year long! One year of
free shipping & insurance. Plus, we'll throw in
a free birthday dress. Learn More

Our Runway
What's New
Dresses
Accessories
Occasions
Designers
Stores
Avril Dress
Rental $40 Retail $795
info
  • Stylist Notes
  • Product Details
  • Size & Fit
Go rocker chic in this flirty number by Robert Rodriguez Black Label. This dress is perfect if you're looking to pump up the volume with that little black dress.
Chat with a Stylist
Black tulle. Strapless sweetheart neckline. Flower applique with beaded embellishment at waist. Ruched bodice. Full skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 45'' from shoulder to hem.
Chat with a Stylist
This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Works best for A to c cup sizes - built in bustier has padded cups and fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Knee to tea length - (On a 5'5'' model).

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or strapless bra; dress has built-in bustier and padded cups for support
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Model's height is 5'10''.
Chat with a Stylist
  • Enter your shipping zip code
  • Select size
    Select free 2nd size
  • Select the day you'd like your dress to arrive
    We recommend you select a rental start date 1-2 days before your event.
    Renting for Thanksgiving weekend? Enjoy an extended rental on us! Rent for 11/27 and return 12/1.
    • Start Date
    • Mail Back
    • Unavailable
    • *No delivery on Sundays
Got A Minute? Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Photos30

0 Reviews from women like you:

Enter more for better results

Cate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3543
Apr 16, 2014
I wore this for my 30th birthday party and felt fabulous!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I was worried the dress would run small but the 2 fit just fine. It was a good length with a hot pair of heels and had just the right amount of fluff in the skirt (not too much, but not just flat) to make a party statement.
Becky
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160 lbs
Canonical User Type: 8533
Apr 5, 2014
Beautiful dress
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is beautiful... But the top is small. I usually wear a size 12 but this barely fit me. Fortunately for me, I have a small chest. Overall though, it was pretty comfortable once I got it on. The top has boning and very well lined so I didn't need a bra. Dress is very light and airy. Lots of compliments.
Nichole
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3543
Mar 30, 2014
Wonderful outfit for an evening wedding as Hostess.
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is true to size. I have a small chest, but did not have to wear a bra as the upper portion is quite fitted. I loved it and received many compliments. The onnnnly thing I would've changed is to see less of the nude-like underlay through the black. Other than that, I absolutely loved it.
Kalie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 6443
Mar 10, 2014
Classy but fun
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
There was an issue with the 8 that I had originally ordered, so I was sent my back up in this (a 12, since the 10 had already been rented when I ordered) and an alternative dress. I did not like the alternative at all, so I put on an extra padded bra and was careful to keep this dress up. It was definitely too big, but it worked. The dress was not very flattering on my hips, however. The extra tulle made my hips look larger than they are. Additionally, since the waist wasn't as cinched as the correct size would've been, the fit just was not very flattering. I imagine I would've really enjoyed this dress in the correct size, but I do believe it would be better suited for someone with smaller hips. The dress itself was in good condition. I wore it to a work event and I felt that it was classy enough for the occasion, but also fun with the extra tulle!
Melissa
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6433
Dec 19, 2013
This dress is gorgeous! Fits very well and the fabric is great.
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Stays up well, great fit
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5533
Nov 30, 2013
Loved this dress!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I usually wear a 4-6 and the 6 fit perfectly. It was extremely flattering and very comfortable to wear.
Lani
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 139 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5543
Aug 3, 2013
FUN! FUN! FUN! A complete departure from the norm for me & I enjoyed every minute!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I had been eyeing this dress up for a while, but never rented it because I usually wear very form fitting knee length cocktail dresses (Herve Ledger is a favorite for me) & this is more of a romantic length ballet tutu than a cocktail dress. I was also discouraged from several reviews stating it ran small & the bodice was uncomfortably tight or didn't fit at all. I decided to go for it & I am VERY glad that I did. It fit perfectly. I think that I wore the smaller size (I honestly can't remember so don't hold me to that this time). Please keep in mind I have a small bone structure for 5'11 & my rib cage is smaller than some of my friends. I wore a strapless bra & it stayed hidden all night, although like all strapless dresses (and bras) I did have to pull it up every so often. I paired it with nude & gold peep toe pumps. I didn't get as many compliments as I have in other dresses, but I didn't care. I LOVE wearing this dress & felt that I looked cute. I had fun in this dress. This dress for me is exactly what Rent the Runway is all about. You get to try different looks & styles like the celebrities do, but at a price an average girl like myself can afford. It wasn't my favorite, but I had no regrets & I felt that as a scroll through my photo album of events attended in similar style cocktail dresses I am glad to see myself in something different for a change.
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 123 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4633
May 19, 2013
My daughter felt like a princess!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
We rented this dress for my daughter to attend a gala. She looked stunning! The dress fit to a t! She did not have to fiddle with the dress, pulling it up at ALL!
Victoria
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 19
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2321
Mar 26, 2013
So classic and elegant!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress for my spring formal. The dress runs a little small, but other than that if fit great! I usually wear a size 0, and I was able fit into the zero, but it was a little snug. I would suggest ordering your regular size and a size larger just in case! Overall, I received many compliments on the dress!
Sheridan
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 19
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 4231
Mar 17, 2013
It was absolutely beautiful. Wore to my senior prom!!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Got so many compliments on the dress!!
Olivia
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 143 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4243
Mar 5, 2013
Hearing my best friend say she was getting a Natalie Portman vibe from me
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit was awesome, very comfortable dress. Wore to spring formal with Zara heels. Love it!!!
Theresa
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4444
Jan 23, 2013
Pretty dress for a petite body
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I liked the design but it looked awkward on me as a size 6. I can usually squeeze into a size 4 but this dress runs a tad small. I felt I looked larger in it. Made my hourglass figure looked straight because the top part of the dress is pretty thick and straight. I think this dress would look a lot better on someone who’s tiny, size 2 or smaller.
Khalia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6443
Dec 22, 2012
Pretty dress, awkward bust.
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to a friend's rehearsal dinner. Very nice for formal occasions. The bust was ok in size. I'm small chested for a size 8. However I think there should be more in the bust area to keep it from running down. I hate having to tug on it, which I did a lot through out the night. During the rehearsal in church I kept my jacket on since the bust had a tendency to sag a little. Consider a sweater or a wrap to be conservative.
Liz
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5434
Dec 14, 2012
Something different and fabulous for a masquerade holiday party
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this to a work holiday party. I don't usually wear strapless dresses, but I had no issues with this sliding down. The only issue I had with this was the trying to get the zipper up on my own. I think the 6 would have fit if someone else could have zipped it for me. Overall I really enjoyed wearing this dress. It's beautiful and very well made.
Clementine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5532
Dec 3, 2012
The dress was nice and matched my mask perfectly with the black feathers on the waist.
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
the 4 was tight fitting, but perfect for my small bust and the bottom of the dress is wide, so it's not a problem with large hips. I figured that the dress would be longer than on the model, but it also looked puffier than expected. It's better to be really skinny to look great with this dress.
Lara
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 6434
Oct 8, 2012
The complements I received on my dress were endless!!
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit true to size. The detail is subtle yet fun - I love the rouching on the bust, and the accouterment at the waist. I would wear this dress again and again. I have yet to find another formal dress that could top this for me. As a curvy woman, it was great to find something that highlight my bust and waist!
Gail
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3533
Oct 2, 2012
party dress!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
very fun and flirty! tea length. no bra needed: my breasts were busting out of the top but not uncomfortably so.
Patricia
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6533
Sep 24, 2012
This dress made me feel glamorous and pretty for a special day on the beach with my son.
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I think the dress fit true to size as far as designer dresses go. The zipper was a little hard to maneuver, but with two hands it seemed to work fine.
Kellie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2433
Sep 10, 2012
I spent the whole night twirling around on the dance floor, and the dress moved right along with me. It was the perfect dress for my rehearsal dinner!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress for my rehearsal dinner this past weekend. As soon as I put it on I felt like I was Carrie Bradshaw about to take on the streets of New York City. I am glad I listened to the other reviews, because yes the dress does run a little small. (I usually wear a size 0-2 and I wore the size 4). The 2 may have fit too, but it might have been a little too snug. Anyway I was so thrilled that I rented this dress, and did not want to take it off!! It made me feel so glamorous and classy at my rehearsal dinner, and I got tons of compliments! The dress is very well made, and comfortable!
Sarah
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4333
Aug 12, 2012
The moment I walked into the building that the Prom was being held and all the girls who were wearing long dresses sitting down and just watching poeple because they could move around without people stepping on their dress and me jumping and dancing a lot was the moment I new I had the PERFECT dress.
Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I love this dress. I wore it to my Senior Prom in May and it was comfortable and I got a lot of complements on the dress. I was out all night and had no trouble dancing and sitting. I wish I could own the dress. I honestly was the perfect dress for the prom.
Stephanie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5433
Mar 1, 2012
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I normally wear a 4 or a 6 in dresses. The 6 BARELY fit. As in I had to zip it up below my chest and then shimmy it up until it was all the way on. I would definitely recommend having the backup size at least one size up from what you normally wear. (Although the 6 fit me, the 8 would have definitely been more comfortable.) If you get the right size, though, the dress is a dream. So fun!
sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
Jan 30, 2012
Having designer dresses delivered to my front door and trying them on in the comfort of better lighting in my own home!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Dress is beautiful. I could have been more comfortable in a size 6 but made the 4 work. Couldn't wear a bra, but the boning and ruching made it undetectable. Not friendly for larger busts. Was slightly longer on me than the model. Zipper is a little tricky. Got lots of compliments! See pics...
Jen
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5533
Jan 11, 2012
"You look gorgeous!"
Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress fit perfectly. I did take the advice of others and ordered a size larger than I would normally. I wore it on NYE and everyone loved it. It was so much fun to dance in.
Mindy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5532
Apr 17, 2014
Pretty, but made me big all over & didn't wear
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This wasn't the best dress for my frame, so I didn't end up wearing it. What I did like was that it fit very snug - when I'm wearing a strapless dress, I like to know that it's going to stay put! I typically wear a 6 or 4 - in this dress, an 8 fit okay and the 6 fit like a 4. My biggest complaint was that the thickness of the pouf (all over, not just in the skirt), made my entire frame look bigger than it could have. I'm not in the best shape of my life, so some of that is admittedly my own fault (reality sucks!), but the dress I ultimately ended up wearing (Vivienne Westwood's Anglomania), was much more flattering in the waist. Ultimately, if I hadn't had a back up option I would've happily worn this dress - it was definitely comfortable to move in and I would've probably felt more confident in it than I did in the finicky-necked Westwood.
pf
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3524
Mar 19, 2014
gorgeous - forgiving on the waist. Nice fit
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
gorgeous - forgiving on the waist. Nice fit
Joan
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2522
Mar 3, 2014
Daytime Emmys
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was attending a semi-formal event and thought this dress would be so much fun. But unfortunately, it didn't fit. I'm a pretty small person, and when ordering, I was only able to get the size 0 which is what I normally wear. But the 0 would not fit at all. Not even close! I'm 5'3'', 100 lbs, A-cup; and I could get the zipper up. Sadly, I wasn't able to wear the dress, but it looks cute on the hanger! I'm giving it 3 stars because I still like the look of it, but just couldn't wear it.
mk79
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170 lbs
Canonical User Type: 8533
Feb 24, 2014
I actually couldn't fit in the dress. Borrowed one from my sister instead.
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Snug as a bug in a rug! Too snug. And others have apparently been in the same boat, the zipper had trouble going up even when on the hanger, without a body stuffed inside.
Lisa
Age: 39
Canonical User Type: 1511
Feb 20, 2014
Beautiful dress! Loved the fit- I'm 5'8" and it was a great length.
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress looks prettier in person; I didn't think it showed up well in photos.
Nicole
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 16
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 8233
Feb 4, 2014
A beautiful designer dress for very little money.
Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Dress was beautiful. Felt more secure using the body/clothing tape in the front and back. Needed help with the zipper. Dress was for a Sweet 16 party which turned out to be less dressy than indicated. My mom said she would definitely rent again as this was the best way to get a great dress without spending a lot of money. The embellishment was not centered properly around the dress.
Taylor
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2534
Jan 28, 2014
Love. Love. Love.
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a wedding and absolutely loved it! However, it ran a bit big and the sizes I odered did not fit :( Wish I woould have rented a 0. Quality - fabric - form - all fab!
Courtney
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3534
Jan 27, 2014
Not in love...
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Beautiful dress. Runs small and wasn't very flattering on me. The top bodice runs extremely small. Be warned! I ended up wearing a different dress
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3543
Jan 14, 2014
Super cute dress, great for twirling!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Little smaller than I had anticipated so good thing i ordered an extra dress in a size up.
Lori
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4522
Dec 21, 2013
Flirty, pretty, and just a little rock n roll!
Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I received a ton of compliments when I wore this dress to my friend's formal wedding. The length is very fun and unexpected, plus the black tulle makes it a little edgy. My only tiny complaint was that the appliqued flowers at the waist were a little crushed from the mailing.
Joanna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 7541
Dec 21, 2013
Pretty dress.
Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Good structure. Pretty dress.
RDE
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
Dec 10, 2013
didn't wear this dress
Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Didn't wear this because it seemed a little "too young" for me. I'm 39 and I felt it works for anyone 30 and under. Oddly, if it had been shorter, it wouldn't have seemed as awkward. My husband said it was too "Stevie Nicks!" I went with dress #2, my choice. Hubby won't have first choice next time. I know what fits me best and this wasn't it. But, it is a great looking dress!
Allison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2433
Nov 6, 2013
Not Perfect, but still worked out!
Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for a formal wedding, but when it arrived it was too big and the material was super thick! I was unable to wear this, but luckily RTR allowed me to return this dress for store credit!
yaayet
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 6541
Oct 23, 2013
cute
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
I think the dress runs just a tad large, it was super comfortable and flirty but I had to keep pulling it up all night. However, it might work well for someone who has little fuller chest than me, I am 32B. Cute dress though and would get it again
Marilyn
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5424
Oct 16, 2013
Didn't end up choosing this dress.
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Kind of an awkward length for me since I'm 5'3... plus it was large!
Erika
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4434
Oct 7, 2013
Thank you to the great staff for sending this as a back up dress!
Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Ok, so full disclosure I didn't wear this dress out because it really wasn't the style I was going for once I saw it in person. The fit was nice and comfortable and it was definite dancing material.
sarah70
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Body type: Straight & narrow
Canonical User Type: 3531
Aug 12, 2013
I wore this dress to a celebrity cocktail party and was the belle of the ball!
Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was a great dress and good for any figure. I liked the edgie-ness of the dress
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×
×
Save at least $14.95 on every order and rent like a pro all year long. Details
  • free shipping
  • free insurance
  • free birthday dress