Avril Dress

$129 to buy
$795 retail
Stylist Notes

Go rocker chic in this flirty number by Robert Rodriguez Black Label. This dress is perfect if you're looking to pump up the volume with that little black dress.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Works best for A to c cup sizes - built in bustier has padded cups and fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Knee to tea length - (On a 5'5'' model).

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or strapless bra; dress has built-in bustier and padded cups for support
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Model's height is 5'10''.

Product Details

Black tulle. Strapless sweetheart neckline. Flower applique with beaded embellishment at waist. Ruched bodice. Full skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 45'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
114 reviews
Fit
Large
(10)
True to Size
(53)
Small
(48)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
April 4, 2015
Pretty dress
This dress is beautiful! I'm a size 2 and it fit a little snug below the bust line and would have made it uncomfortable to sit. I'm also only 5'2 and it was a tad long for me. I felt like the dress made me lose my curves and took away. I really wish it had fit me better because it really is a pretty dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 2, 2015
I loved the edgy skirt.
I wore this to a spring wedding in Florida. I thought it was a fun style while still being chic. The 6 was snug on me and the zipper was really hard to manage on my own. My husband had to help me zip it up. According to the size chart, I was expecting to need a 4, but that size wasn't available so I chose 6. I probably would have been more comfortable in an 8.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
January 3, 2016
Gorgeous dress!
I usually wear a 2 or 4, the 2 fit snug up top but 4 was a little loose and I didn't want to be pulling it up all night. Really pretty dress received lots of compliments on how fun the dress looked. Wore this to a formal gala it was a great dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
August 19, 2012
Lots of fabric
This dress looks much better in the photo. In real life, the skirt is super full, a bit witchy/Halloween-ish and hits at a weird length. It didn't look as elegant as expected.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
January 6, 2013
Not for me
Beautiful dress on the hanger, though the ruffles in the torso area definitely added an inch or two to my waist and made me look as though I had a belly that I don't normally have. I ordered the 4 and 6 - ended up wearing the 4 although I normally wear a 6. Again, the dress was beautiful nonetheless!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Weight: 117lbs
January 31, 2013
Wanted to love this dress....
I really wanted to love this dress, but it did not fit my body at all. This dress isn't good for a skinny, straight figure like mine. It would stay up and probably would work better on someone that has bigger breasts. Beautiful dress beside the fit problem.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
April 3, 2013
LOVED IT
This dress was fantastic, simple... but fantastic. Everyone stopped to look at me!! wait... maybe that is because I was late to this event!! But still!! haha lots and lots of compliments!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Body type: Pear
October 23, 2013
cute
I think the dress runs just a tad large, it was super comfortable and flirty but I had to keep pulling it up all night. However, it might work well for someone who has little fuller chest than me, I am 32B. Cute dress though and would get it again
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112lbs
November 6, 2013
Not Perfect, but still worked out!
I rented this dress for a formal wedding, but when it arrived it was too big and the material was super thick! I was unable to wear this, but luckily RTR allowed me to return this dress for store credit!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
January 28, 2014
Love. Love. Love.
I rented this dress for a wedding and absolutely loved it! However, it ran a bit big and the sizes I odered did not fit :( Wish I woould have rented a 0. Quality - fabric - form - all fab!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
October 13, 2012
Too long for me!
I rented this dress for a black tie wedding, but ended up not being able to wear it. The dress was entirely too long for me (I'm 5'6'') and there was so much material, it completely overwhelmed my frame. Pretty dress, just not a great fit or me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
October 15, 2012
Too much material at waist and stomach
Im a lean person and this dress made me look very wide. The extra fabric hangs from the belly button, and is not flattering. It is a sheer material and not fluffy life the picture suggests. Perhaps on someone shorter this would look better. Thankfully I rented a back-up dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
October 16, 2013
Didn't end up choosing this dress.
Kind of an awkward length for me since I'm 5'3... plus it was large!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
December 13, 2011
Gorgeous dress but runs small!
I am usually a solid 6 in dresses. Sometimes I am a 4. I felt comfortable ordering the 4 and 6 as a backup. However, when I received the dress it was a bit tight and the zipper is the worst so I couldn't wear the dress. I would love to rent it again but I would need to order it in the size 8 (or just lose some weight..lol). Other than that, it is a gorgeous dress. I wish I could have worn it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 65
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
December 15, 2011
SMALL
The style is great but order a size larger and the one larger than that as a back up or you won't be wearing it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 153lbs
January 5, 2012
Beautiful Dress
I loved the dress, but it runs very small. I am a 34DD and a size 2 waist and it wouldn't zip at all. I was very sad to return it. I ordered it for New Year's Eve and I really had my heart set on it. So make sure you order two sizes bigger than what you truly are!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
January 11, 2012
"You look gorgeous!"
This dress fit perfectly. I did take the advice of others and ordered a size larger than I would normally. I wore it on NYE and everyone loved it. It was so much fun to dance in.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
January 30, 2012
Having designer dresses delivered to my front door and trying them on in the comfort of better lighting in my own home!
Dress is beautiful. I could have been more comfortable in a size 6 but made the 4 work. Couldn't wear a bra, but the boning and ruching made it undetectable. Not friendly for larger busts. Was slightly longer on me than the model. Zipper is a little tricky. Got lots of compliments! See pics...
View photos (2)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Body type: Athletic
February 2, 2012
great dress!
I wore this dress to a black tie gala and received lots of compliments on it. As the other reviewers stated, it runs small, so I suggest going a size up.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 135lbs
April 23, 2012
LOVE. LOVE. LOVE.
I absolutely ADORED this dress!! The picture of the model was what first made me fall in love with it, and I am thrilled to report I looked fabulous in it too! The other reviews said it ran small so I ordered a 6 and an 8 (even though I'm usually a 4 and 6). I ended up wearing the 6 and it fit perfectly! The chest area was curved and not quite like a bandeau (the picture made it look a little bandeau-ish to me), so it definitely accentuated my bust, but I still loved it. The length was perfect for me, but I'm 5'8 and I wore 5 inch heels - but it might look weird on shorter girls. I have quite the tooshie, but this dress hides it perfectly. This dress was fabulous and I got a ZILLION compliments! YAY RTR!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 3, 2012
not my best look!
I wound up returning this dress and wearing one I already had in my closet. it runs very small. I'm usually a size 4 but I was unable to zip it, a size 6 would have been a perfect fit I'm sure. However I am 5 foot 1 inch and 125 lbs, the dress on the model is Tea length, but on me it was about 2 inches away from touching the floor. I also felt the dress made me look very wide, too much poofing at the waist. However I will say the dress seemed to be very well made and it is beautiful If you're a size 0-3 and 5 foot 7 or taller it would probably look amazing on you, but definitely not for us shorter girls
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
September 4, 2012
Runs small
I am really happy that I ordered two sizes in this dress - the 6 did not fit at all, but the 8 was a perfect fit. Really unique dress in person but difficult to see the details in photographs.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
September 6, 2012
Gorgeous dress....but small
The dress is absolutely gorgeous! The picture does it no justice. I was 3 months post-baby #2 so was hoping the dress would work for me.I rented it in an 8 but the backup in 10 was not available so I was hoping the 8 would fit but as many of the members wrote it runs small. The dress has an extremely fitted bodice that cuts just at your natural waist. If you have a larger chest than size up 2 sizes! I would recommend ordering your first size one size larger than what you normally wear and the backup 2 sizes up. I had to return it...which of course was hassle-free. I also lost 20 pounds since so I'll be renting it again and this time I better fit into it! :-)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
September 10, 2012
I spent the whole night twirling around on the dance floor, and the dress moved right along with me. It was the perfect dress for my rehearsal dinner!
I wore this dress for my rehearsal dinner this past weekend. As soon as I put it on I felt like I was Carrie Bradshaw about to take on the streets of New York City. I am glad I listened to the other reviews, because yes the dress does run a little small. (I usually wear a size 0-2 and I wore the size 4). The 2 may have fit too, but it might have been a little too snug. Anyway I was so thrilled that I rented this dress, and did not want to take it off!! It made me feel so glamorous and classy at my rehearsal dinner, and I got tons of compliments! The dress is very well made, and comfortable!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 22, 2012
This dress runs extremely small.
I usually wear a 4 (sometimes a 2). I ordered a 4 and a 6 (for backup). I couldn't even zip the 6 because it was so tight in the ribs and chest. You must have a very small chest and a tiny frame (narrow rib cage) to wear this dress. It is beautiful, though.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 133lbs
December 15, 2012
This dress runs very small. I usually fit into a size 6, but both the 6 and the 8 did not fit.
This dress runs very small. I usually fit into a size 6, but both the 6 and the 8 did not fit. I picked it for a formal holiday party. I'm a short girl so if the dress had fit, the dress would've been too long anyway. I couldn't zip the dress up all the way.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
December 23, 2012
Maybe a better Halloween costume!
This was a beautiful dress, but it ran ludicrously small and was a little joyless for a wedding. Went with backup dress.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
January 5, 2013
It was okay....
It is a pretty dress. Great for a wedding or cocktail party. I fit in a 0. Always have but the size 0 wouldn't zip up. The zipper kept sticking where the top meets the bottom part. Didn't want to break it so I wore the 2 and it kept slipping a little so you always felt like you had to hold it with your arms and lift up. It's quite annoying when you are dancing! The top is great on a smaller bust as well. The heart shape complements you so well. So if a 0 is a little bit go for the 0. If you are normally a size 2 then it will be a bit snug, but if you run in between don't get the dress. I also have a smaller bust (A Cup) so I couldn't fill it out as much and so it was loose (size 2).
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126lbs
January 23, 2013
Pretty dress for a petite body
I liked the design but it looked awkward on me as a size 6. I can usually squeeze into a size 4 but this dress runs a tad small. I felt I looked larger in it. Made my hourglass figure looked straight because the top part of the dress is pretty thick and straight. I think this dress would look a lot better on someone who’s tiny, size 2 or smaller.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
January 27, 2013
Runs small. Difficult to zip on the side. long for short girls
I am 5'4" so the length hit mid calf, which looked awkward. Dress runs small and is difficult to zip, I needed help. Zipper is on the side. This dress would be best for tall thin girls. The detail at the waist is pretty but just below the detail, the dress poufs out, making your belly appear larger than it is. I wasn't able to wear the dress due to the length but Customer Service is amazing at RTR. I recommend RTR!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 100lbs
February 2, 2013
I chose to not wear this one.
I am really tiny all over . I ordered this in a size 0 and 2. I couldn't zip up the size 0. The 2 fit alright. The look of the dress is a bit prom like with a lot of extra material. I felt it made my mid section look thick which was unflattering. Probably better on a really thin taller person.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
February 25, 2013
I love this website and use it frequently.
I run a size 10/12 but I had read that it ran small so I rented a 12. I actually am a 36 D on top but a very small waist and I had to lay on my side and have my date struggle to zip it. I felt like a stuffed sausage but I did receive a lot of compliments
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
March 26, 2013
As the fashion stylist for the closing night party it was a true representation of my work & style.
The dress does run small, especially through the bust and upper rib cage. It is very comfortable, elegant and edgy! I would recommend this to anyone wanting the glam/rock feel.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
March 26, 2013
So classic and elegant!
I wore this dress for my spring formal. The dress runs a little small, but other than that if fit great! I usually wear a size 0, and I was able fit into the zero, but it was a little snug. I would suggest ordering your regular size and a size larger just in case! Overall, I received many compliments on the dress!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
May 16, 2013
gorgeous dress but very small in the chest. I mean VERY.
gorgeous dress but very small in the chest. I mean VERY. I usually wear a size 8 and read the reviews, so ordered a 10 and 12 as a back-up. Neither of them would zip (I'm 5'4, 140lbs, 34DD). Had to send both sizes back.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
May 19, 2013
The ability to return and get a credit for next time.
Both the size 2 and 4 did not fit. I typically wear a 0-2 in street clothes.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
June 10, 2013
The Femmys
Dress ran small and looked beautiful but, not very comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
January 27, 2014
Not in love...
Beautiful dress. Runs small and wasn't very flattering on me. The top bodice runs extremely small. Be warned! I ended up wearing a different dress
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
April 17, 2014
Pretty, but made me big all over & didn't wear
This wasn't the best dress for my frame, so I didn't end up wearing it. What I did like was that it fit very snug - when I'm wearing a strapless dress, I like to know that it's going to stay put! I typically wear a 6 or 4 - in this dress, an 8 fit okay and the 6 fit like a 4. My biggest complaint was that the thickness of the pouf (all over, not just in the skirt), made my entire frame look bigger than it could have. I'm not in the best shape of my life, so some of that is admittedly my own fault (reality sucks!), but the dress I ultimately ended up wearing (Vivienne Westwood's Anglomania), was much more flattering in the waist. Ultimately, if I hadn't had a back up option I would've happily worn this dress - it was definitely comfortable to move in and I would've probably felt more confident in it than I did in the finicky-necked Westwood.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
July 30, 2014
Felt like a fabulous bad girl in a glam dress!
Great upper fit, a bit snug but I actually appreciate that so no pulling up throughout night. Netting is so fun and flouncy I had so much fun wearing this!
See more reviews:
1 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×