Avril Dress

$129 to buy
$795 retail
Stylist Notes

Go rocker chic in this flirty number by Robert Rodriguez Black Label. This dress is perfect if you're looking to pump up the volume with that little black dress.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Works best for A to c cup sizes - built in bustier has padded cups and fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Knee to tea length - (On a 5'5'' model).

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or strapless bra; dress has built-in bustier and padded cups for support
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Model's height is 5'10''.

Product Details

Black tulle. Strapless sweetheart neckline. Flower applique with beaded embellishment at waist. Ruched bodice. Full skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 45'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
114 reviews
Fit
Large
(10)
True to Size
(53)
Small
(48)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
March 1, 2012
I normally wear a 4 or a 6 in dresses. The 6 BARELY fit. As in I had to zip it up below my chest and then shimmy it up until it was all the way on. I would definitely recommend having the backup size at least one size up from what you normally wear. (Although the 6 fit me, the 8 would have definitely been more comfortable.) If you get the right size, though, the dress is a dream. So fun!
kam10April 17, 2012
where are your shoes from??
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
September 24, 2012
This dress made me feel glamorous and pretty for a special day on the beach with my son.
I think the dress fit true to size as far as designer dresses go. The zipper was a little hard to maneuver, but with two hands it seemed to work fine.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 139lbs
August 3, 2013
FUN! FUN! FUN! A complete departure from the norm for me & I enjoyed every minute!
I had been eyeing this dress up for a while, but never rented it because I usually wear very form fitting knee length cocktail dresses (Herve Ledger is a favorite for me) & this is more of a romantic length ballet tutu than a cocktail dress. I was also discouraged from several reviews stating it ran small & the bodice was uncomfortably tight or didn't fit at all. I decided to go for it & I am VERY glad that I did. It fit perfectly. I think that I wore the smaller size (I honestly can't remember so don't hold me to that this time). Please keep in mind I have a small bone structure for 5'11 & my rib cage is smaller than some of my friends. I wore a strapless bra & it stayed hidden all night, although like all strapless dresses (and bras) I did have to pull it up every so often. I paired it with nude & gold peep toe pumps. I didn't get as many compliments as I have in other dresses, but I didn't care. I LOVE wearing this dress & felt that I looked cute. I had fun in this dress. This dress for me is exactly what Rent the Runway is all about. You get to try different looks & styles like the celebrities do, but at a price an average girl like myself can afford. It wasn't my favorite, but I had no regrets & I felt that as a scroll through my photo album of events attended in similar style cocktail dresses I am glad to see myself in something different for a change.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160lbs
April 5, 2014
Beautiful dress
This dress is beautiful... But the top is small. I usually wear a size 12 but this barely fit me. Fortunately for me, I have a small chest. Overall though, it was pretty comfortable once I got it on. The top has boning and very well lined so I didn't need a bra. Dress is very light and airy. Lots of compliments.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
August 8, 2014
I got so many compliments and felt very confident in this dress.
Ran a little large on top (I'm 36C and still had to wear an extra padded push up strapless bra) If the backup size 6 had been available I probably would have gone with that, but everything worked out really well! The dress was beautiful and the length was great for 4" heels. Definitely didn't get lost in a sea of black dresses.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
December 21, 2011
Not for the bustier women
This dress is beautiful but if you're over a C cup, I wouldn't recommend. I am a 32dd and a size 2 waist, and this dress was not flattering on my body type.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
January 10, 2012
Pretty but poofy
Cuter on the model than it was on me. I'm small on top and something about the bodice made me look bigger (like wider) than I wanted too...better for larger girls who needs the bust support that this dress provides.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95lbs
February 8, 2012
Unfortunately too small
I rented this dress for a black tie gala and had high hopes for the dress. The detailing on the body is lovely in person. Unfortunately the top is very tight. I'm a 32 chest and very small on top but still couldn't even come close to zipping the top -- I would have probably needed a size larger. Not sure how the proportions of the rest of the dress would have been affected though.....as some other commenters have mentioned, this dress has the potential to not look cute or whimsy but make you look puffy (especially us petite girls).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
February 11, 2012
Fun party dress
I rented this as a back-up gown for a ball. It was definitely a fun party dress, and I didn't think it was too poufy in the skirt at all! I felt it was a little too gothic for the event I was going to, so I chose my original, but I think this would make an awesome New Year's Eve dress. Very true what the other reviews say, bust is tight so order one size up!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
August 6, 2012
dont get it
The dress looked nothing like the picture. First of all it does run a size small. Then the one I got wasn't even black anymore but the color was washed out that it looked grey. The bust part was assymetrical in the top, I guess due to too many dry cleanings, so made the cleavage looked very strange. Overall, the dress had a look of poor quality, badly made, and it did not even fit. I sent it back and wore my own dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
September 7, 2012
Beautiful!
This dress is absolutely beautiful!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
October 13, 2012
Too long for me!
I rented this dress for a black tie wedding, but ended up not being able to wear it. The dress was entirely too long for me (I'm 5'6'') and there was so much material, it completely overwhelmed my frame. Pretty dress, just not a great fit or me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
October 15, 2012
Too much material at waist and stomach
Im a lean person and this dress made me look very wide. The extra fabric hangs from the belly button, and is not flattering. It is a sheer material and not fluffy life the picture suggests. Perhaps on someone shorter this would look better. Thankfully I rented a back-up dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
October 16, 2012
Not for Short Girls
I rented this dress for a formal affair, but didn't end up wearing either size that I rented. I'm usually a size 0 so I rented the 0 and 2, and the fit was just not flattering on my short frame. The size 0 hardly zipped but the fit of the dress made me look like I was huge. Loved how this dress looked on the model, but just wasn't for me. Don't recommend for short girls. Won't stop me from renting other styles though!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
November 14, 2012
Ran very small particularly around the rib cage.
The roucing around the rib cage created a lot of problems for me. I ordered both a 2 and a 4 (usually fit fine into a 2) and could not get either zipped. I don't know if others had this problem but I typically don't have an issue with this so I don't know if it was me or the dress. Also, the fabric was not quite as high quality as I was expecting. overall had to return it and wear a dress I owned.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
December 15, 2012
Empire waist was not flattering
I didn't realize when I ordered this that it was an empire waist. I looked pregnant in it, so I didn't wear it. Plus, the zipper was very difficult to zip up (even when it was just on the hanger) and the clasp at the top of the zipper was broken in both sizes I ordered.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 2, 2013
Beautiful dress - wish it would have fit!
Beautiful dress but the top is very small. I am usually a size 0 or 2 and I couldn't even squeeze my average sized chest into either. Unless you're small chested, I highly recommend sizing up 1 or even 2 sizes.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 54
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
January 11, 2013
I felt amazing and everyone said I looked it. I would highly recommend this dress.
It fit well and was very flattering. It was comfortable enough to wear all night while dancing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
January 19, 2013
Beautiful material....very light and whimsical!
I'm busty so the dress was too tight to zip up on the side (over my ribcage), so I had to go up two sizesin order to breathe and be comfortable. The larger size made my hips look large though because of the layers of material. I wasn't crazy about the way it fit me, but it was a gorgeous dress in person and I received compliments on the dress!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 63
Body type: Straight & narrow
April 19, 2013
The dress was stunning! Contrary to the 'runs small' the sizes ordered were too large.
The dress was for a Viva Las Vegas themed high school Prom. The sizes ordered were based on reviews that the dress ran small and consultation with the fit stylist. However, all were too large to be flattering. Unfortunately, the 'wearer' was not available in the 24 hour window for returns.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175lbs
April 22, 2013
This dress is gorgeous. I loved the midi length because I am 6'3. I can only recommend.
I recommend it to tall girls.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
April 26, 2013
Perfect Dress for Auction
Dress fit great. Comfortable. Easy to wear. Got lots of compliants. Wore with black shoes.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
July 5, 2013
Gorgeous dress! Did not end up wearing it do to poor fit.
Very tight around the ribcage.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
July 9, 2013
Tiny!
I was unfortunately unable to wear this dress as both the size I ordered and the backup size were to small. I'm confident one size up would have been right, but I wish I'd realized just how small the dress was. But if you can get the right size, it's super cute and I wish I could have worn it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
October 16, 2013
Didn't end up choosing this dress.
Kind of an awkward length for me since I'm 5'3... plus it was large!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 21, 2013
Flirty, pretty, and just a little rock n roll!
I received a ton of compliments when I wore this dress to my friend's formal wedding. The length is very fun and unexpected, plus the black tulle makes it a little edgy. My only tiny complaint was that the appliqued flowers at the waist were a little crushed from the mailing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
January 14, 2014
Super cute dress, great for twirling!
Little smaller than I had anticipated so good thing i ordered an extra dress in a size up.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
February 24, 2014
I actually couldn't fit in the dress. Borrowed one from my sister instead.
Snug as a bug in a rug! Too snug. And others have apparently been in the same boat, the zipper had trouble going up even when on the hanger, without a body stuffed inside.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
March 3, 2014
Daytime Emmys
I was attending a semi-formal event and thought this dress would be so much fun. But unfortunately, it didn't fit. I'm a pretty small person, and when ordering, I was only able to get the size 0 which is what I normally wear. But the 0 would not fit at all. Not even close! I'm 5'3'', 100 lbs, A-cup; and I could get the zipper up. Sadly, I wasn't able to wear the dress, but it looks cute on the hanger! I'm giving it 3 stars because I still like the look of it, but just couldn't wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
March 19, 2014
gorgeous - forgiving on the waist. Nice fit
gorgeous - forgiving on the waist. Nice fit
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
May 7, 2014
Princess!
I really loved this dress but ended up wearing a different one that I liked even better. This was a snug fit on me, but really beautiful. My only complaint (and ultimately my deciding factor) was that the fuller skirt and thick fabric up top seemed to incrementally bulk up my figure, and I wanted to show it off! Still, I could tell this was an exceptionally well-constructed dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Body type: Pear
May 26, 2014
Runs small, and looks better on the model
I rented this for a wedding as a back-up dress. It ran small and was very tight. I opted not to wear the dress, and was glad I ordered a different option.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137lbs
August 6, 2014
So flowy and fun! Awesome dress!
Fit was true to size
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 200lbs
September 21, 2014
Small fit
It was a beautiful dress but runs very small.
See more reviews:
3 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×