Avril Dress

$40 rental
$795 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Go rocker chic in this flirty number by Robert Rodriguez Black Label. This dress is perfect if you're looking to pump up the volume with that little black dress.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Works best for A to c cup sizes - built in bustier has padded cups and fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Knee to tea length - (On a 5'5'' model).

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or strapless bra; dress has built-in bustier and padded cups for support
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Model's height is 5'10''.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Works best for A to c cup sizes - built in bustier has padded cups and fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Knee to tea length - (On a 5'5'' model).

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or strapless bra; dress has built-in bustier and padded cups for support
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Model's height is 5'10''.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black tulle. Strapless sweetheart neckline. Flower applique with beaded embellishment at waist. Ruched bodice. Full skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 45'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
114 reviews
Fit
Large10
True to Size53
Small48
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
October 15, 2012
Too much material at waist and stomach
Im a lean person and this dress made me look very wide. The extra fabric hangs from the belly button, and is not flattering. It is a sheer material and not fluffy life the picture suggests. Perhaps on someone shorter this would look better. Thankfully I rented a back-up dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
October 13, 2012
Too long for me!
I rented this dress for a black tie wedding, but ended up not being able to wear it. The dress was entirely too long for me (I'm 5'6'') and there was so much material, it completely overwhelmed my frame. Pretty dress, just not a great fit or me.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
October 8, 2012
The complements I received on my dress were endless!!
The dress fit true to size. The detail is subtle yet fun - I love the rouching on the bust, and the accouterment at the waist. I would wear this dress again and again. I have yet to find another formal dress that could top this for me. As a curvy woman, it was great to find something that highlight my bust and waist!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 2, 2012
party dress!
very fun and flirty! tea length. no bra needed: my breasts were busting out of the top but not uncomfortably so.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 138lbs
September 30, 2012
Very pretty
This dress was very nice, I am taller so it's nice to have a dress I don't have to worry about being too short, and I adore a fuller skirt. It hit right below the knee for me, the fabric and design was nice and elegant.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 126lbs
September 27, 2012
cute dress but was too big
i ordered this as my main dress, and was advised to order a size up, and for my backup size to be one size up from that, since a lot of the reviews were saying it ran small, especially if you have a larger bust. i was so bummed because i am normally a 2-4, and i had ordered the 6 and 8 per RTR stylist recommendations , and the 6 was just too big, the bust itself was large and i was shocked because i am a 34 d, so that usually isnt a problem. i wish i had ordered a 4, the dress was very cute otherwise. i recommend ordering your normal size , and the none size up if you are nervous. !!!
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
September 24, 2012
This dress made me feel glamorous and pretty for a special day on the beach with my son.
I think the dress fit true to size as far as designer dresses go. The zipper was a little hard to maneuver, but with two hands it seemed to work fine.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 22, 2012
This dress runs extremely small.
I usually wear a 4 (sometimes a 2). I ordered a 4 and a 6 (for backup). I couldn't even zip the 6 because it was so tight in the ribs and chest. You must have a very small chest and a tiny frame (narrow rib cage) to wear this dress. It is beautiful, though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
September 10, 2012
I spent the whole night twirling around on the dance floor, and the dress moved right along with me. It was the perfect dress for my rehearsal dinner!
I wore this dress for my rehearsal dinner this past weekend. As soon as I put it on I felt like I was Carrie Bradshaw about to take on the streets of New York City. I am glad I listened to the other reviews, because yes the dress does run a little small. (I usually wear a size 0-2 and I wore the size 4). The 2 may have fit too, but it might have been a little too snug. Anyway I was so thrilled that I rented this dress, and did not want to take it off!! It made me feel so glamorous and classy at my rehearsal dinner, and I got tons of compliments! The dress is very well made, and comfortable!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
September 7, 2012
Beautiful!
This dress is absolutely beautiful!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
September 6, 2012
Gorgeous dress....but small
The dress is absolutely gorgeous! The picture does it no justice. I was 3 months post-baby #2 so was hoping the dress would work for me.I rented it in an 8 but the backup in 10 was not available so I was hoping the 8 would fit but as many of the members wrote it runs small. The dress has an extremely fitted bodice that cuts just at your natural waist. If you have a larger chest than size up 2 sizes! I would recommend ordering your first size one size larger than what you normally wear and the backup 2 sizes up. I had to return it...which of course was hassle-free. I also lost 20 pounds since so I'll be renting it again and this time I better fit into it! :-)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
September 4, 2012
Runs small
I am really happy that I ordered two sizes in this dress - the 6 did not fit at all, but the 8 was a perfect fit. Really unique dress in person but difficult to see the details in photographs.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 22, 2012
Fun and elegant
I loved this dress! I rented it for a wedding, and it was perfect for the occassion. The color, fit and material were very elegant and the flowy skirt was a lot of fun. The bottom is very full, so it can add curves if you are a skinny person. I did find that the dress itself was kind of bulky, so if you are a thicker person, it may not be the dress for you.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Body type: Pear
August 20, 2012
prettier in photo
I rented this dress for a gala event and ended up wearing the backup dress because this one is very... witchy. It looks like something Stevie Nicks would wear and that is not the look I was going for. Perhaps it is less voluminous in the smaller sizes but for me it was a LOT of black chiffon.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
August 19, 2012
Lots of fabric
This dress looks much better in the photo. In real life, the skirt is super full, a bit witchy/Halloween-ish and hits at a weird length. It didn't look as elegant as expected.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 12, 2012
The moment I walked into the building that the Prom was being held and all the girls who were wearing long dresses sitting down and just watching poeple because they could move around without people stepping on their dress and me jumping and dancing a lot was the moment I new I had the PERFECT dress.
I love this dress. I wore it to my Senior Prom in May and it was comfortable and I got a lot of complements on the dress. I was out all night and had no trouble dancing and sitting. I wish I could own the dress. I honestly was the perfect dress for the prom.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
August 6, 2012
dont get it
The dress looked nothing like the picture. First of all it does run a size small. Then the one I got wasn't even black anymore but the color was washed out that it looked grey. The bust part was assymetrical in the top, I guess due to too many dry cleanings, so made the cleavage looked very strange. Overall, the dress had a look of poor quality, badly made, and it did not even fit. I sent it back and wore my own dress.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
July 1, 2012
Beautiful!
I ordered the dress in a 0 and a 2. The 0 fit snugly, as a strapless dress should, and looked great. But, the 0 had a small rip in the bodice fabric, and the bottom of the skirt seemed to be awkwardly hemmed or altered - the underlying slip fell lower than the overlying layers of fabric. The 0 was a no go. I then tried on the 2, and though it was not as snug as the 0, the structure in the bodice ensured that it would stay put. It looked great, was extremely comfortable, though not as flattering around the waist and chest as the 0 would have been. The zipper on both dresses struggled to get through the heavy fabric of the detail on the waist of the dress. In the end, it was perfect. I wore it with the Crystal Cluster Necklace and had my hair in soft, side swept up-do. I received many, many compliments. Note: My bust size is 30 B
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 3, 2012
not my best look!
I wound up returning this dress and wearing one I already had in my closet. it runs very small. I'm usually a size 4 but I was unable to zip it, a size 6 would have been a perfect fit I'm sure. However I am 5 foot 1 inch and 125 lbs, the dress on the model is Tea length, but on me it was about 2 inches away from touching the floor. I also felt the dress made me look very wide, too much poofing at the waist. However I will say the dress seemed to be very well made and it is beautiful If you're a size 0-3 and 5 foot 7 or taller it would probably look amazing on you, but definitely not for us shorter girls
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 135lbs
April 23, 2012
LOVE. LOVE. LOVE.
I absolutely ADORED this dress!! The picture of the model was what first made me fall in love with it, and I am thrilled to report I looked fabulous in it too! The other reviews said it ran small so I ordered a 6 and an 8 (even though I'm usually a 4 and 6). I ended up wearing the 6 and it fit perfectly! The chest area was curved and not quite like a bandeau (the picture made it look a little bandeau-ish to me), so it definitely accentuated my bust, but I still loved it. The length was perfect for me, but I'm 5'8 and I wore 5 inch heels - but it might look weird on shorter girls. I have quite the tooshie, but this dress hides it perfectly. This dress was fabulous and I got a ZILLION compliments! YAY RTR!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
March 1, 2012
I normally wear a 4 or a 6 in dresses. The 6 BARELY fit. As in I had to zip it up below my chest and then shimmy it up until it was all the way on. I would definitely recommend having the backup size at least one size up from what you normally wear. (Although the 6 fit me, the 8 would have definitely been more comfortable.) If you get the right size, though, the dress is a dream. So fun!
kam10April 17, 2012
where are your shoes from??
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
February 11, 2012
Fun party dress
I rented this as a back-up gown for a ball. It was definitely a fun party dress, and I didn't think it was too poufy in the skirt at all! I felt it was a little too gothic for the event I was going to, so I chose my original, but I think this would make an awesome New Year's Eve dress. Very true what the other reviews say, bust is tight so order one size up!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95lbs
February 8, 2012
Unfortunately too small
I rented this dress for a black tie gala and had high hopes for the dress. The detailing on the body is lovely in person. Unfortunately the top is very tight. I'm a 32 chest and very small on top but still couldn't even come close to zipping the top -- I would have probably needed a size larger. Not sure how the proportions of the rest of the dress would have been affected though.....as some other commenters have mentioned, this dress has the potential to not look cute or whimsy but make you look puffy (especially us petite girls).
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Body type: Athletic
February 2, 2012
great dress!
I wore this dress to a black tie gala and received lots of compliments on it. As the other reviewers stated, it runs small, so I suggest going a size up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
January 30, 2012
Having designer dresses delivered to my front door and trying them on in the comfort of better lighting in my own home!
Dress is beautiful. I could have been more comfortable in a size 6 but made the 4 work. Couldn't wear a bra, but the boning and ruching made it undetectable. Not friendly for larger busts. Was slightly longer on me than the model. Zipper is a little tricky. Got lots of compliments! See pics...
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
January 11, 2012
"You look gorgeous!"
This dress fit perfectly. I did take the advice of others and ordered a size larger than I would normally. I wore it on NYE and everyone loved it. It was so much fun to dance in.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
January 10, 2012
Pretty but poofy
Cuter on the model than it was on me. I'm small on top and something about the bodice made me look bigger (like wider) than I wanted too...better for larger girls who needs the bust support that this dress provides.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
January 5, 2012
Not very flattering
I rented this dress for NYE and was not entirely pleased with it. It ran true to size but it was bulky and I was concerned that I looked pregnant in it. People complimented me and it was fun to dance in but I've rented far better dresses from RTR. I wore my little Seychelles combat boots with it, to make it fun and comfortable.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
January 5, 2012
Beautiful Dress
I loved the dress, but it runs very small. I am a 34DD and a size 2 waist and it wouldn't zip at all. I was very sad to return it. I ordered it for New Year's Eve and I really had my heart set on it. So make sure you order two sizes bigger than what you truly are!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
January 2, 2012
Longer in person
I ordered this as a back up but decided not to wear it because it was not as striking as I imagined it. It ended up looking typical and the dress was longer in person. I am 5'6" but with long legs and this dress did not feel tea length when I put it on.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
December 21, 2011
Not for the bustier women
This dress is beautiful but if you're over a C cup, I wouldn't recommend. I am a 32dd and a size 2 waist, and this dress was not flattering on my body type.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 63
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
December 15, 2011
SMALL
The style is great but order a size larger and the one larger than that as a back up or you won't be wearing it.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
December 14, 2011
This was my 2nd dress option
I liked this dress in the picture. However, when I received it, I did not like the material as much as I thought I would. I ended up going with my first dress option.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
December 13, 2011
Gorgeous dress but runs small!
I am usually a solid 6 in dresses. Sometimes I am a 4. I felt comfortable ordering the 4 and 6 as a backup. However, when I received the dress it was a bit tight and the zipper is the worst so I couldn't wear the dress. I would love to rent it again but I would need to order it in the size 8 (or just lose some weight..lol). Other than that, it is a gorgeous dress. I wish I could have worn it.
See more reviews:
3 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×