Avril Dress

$129 to buy
$795 retail
Stylist Notes

Go rocker chic in this flirty number by Robert Rodriguez Black Label. This dress is perfect if you're looking to pump up the volume with that little black dress.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Works best for A to c cup sizes - built in bustier has padded cups and fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Knee to tea length - (On a 5'5'' model).

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or strapless bra; dress has built-in bustier and padded cups for support
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Model's height is 5'10''.

Product Details

Black tulle. Strapless sweetheart neckline. Flower applique with beaded embellishment at waist. Ruched bodice. Full skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 45'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
114 reviews
Fit
Large
(10)
True to Size
(53)
Small
(48)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
May 9, 2013
Comfortable and chic! So many compliments!

This dress is absolutely fabulous - if you're going to an event, and you're worried about comfort, wear this dress. It fits true to size, it's VERY flattering, and the fabric feels great (not too heavy). It also hides any "tummy" issues. My creds say that I am 148 lbs but I'm approaching 160 right now, and the dress still fit wonderfully (so perhaps the dress actually runs big? But I didn't notice!). I would recommend this dress to ANYONE, but I would take special note that I have a small bust, and the fit on top was snug (in a good way). If you have a larger bust, I'm not sure it would fit properly.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 123lbs
May 19, 2013
My daughter felt like a princess!

We rented this dress for my daughter to attend a gala. She looked stunning! The dress fit to a t! She did not have to fiddle with the dress, pulling it up at ALL!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Body type: Straight & narrow
August 12, 2013
I wore this dress to a celebrity cocktail party and was the belle of the ball!

It was a great dress and good for any figure. I liked the edgie-ness of the dress

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 7, 2013
Thank you to the great staff for sending this as a back up dress!

Ok, so full disclosure I didn't wear this dress out because it really wasn't the style I was going for once I saw it in person. The fit was nice and comfortable and it was definite dancing material.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
November 30, 2013
Loved this dress!

I usually wear a 4-6 and the 6 fit perfectly. It was extremely flattering and very comfortable to wear.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
December 10, 2013
didn't wear this dress

Didn't wear this because it seemed a little "too young" for me. I'm 39 and I felt it works for anyone 30 and under. Oddly, if it had been shorter, it wouldn't have seemed as awkward. My husband said it was too "Stevie Nicks!" I went with dress #2, my choice. Hubby won't have first choice next time. I know what fits me best and this wasn't it. But, it is a great looking dress!

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 19, 2013
This dress is gorgeous! Fits very well and the fabric is great.

Stays up well, great fit

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 195lbs
December 21, 2013
Pretty dress.

Good structure. Pretty dress.

Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
February 4, 2014
A beautiful designer dress for very little money.

Dress was beautiful. Felt more secure using the body/clothing tape in the front and back. Needed help with the zipper. Dress was for a Sweet 16 party which turned out to be less dressy than indicated. My mom said she would definitely rent again as this was the best way to get a great dress without spending a lot of money. The embellishment was not centered properly around the dress.

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 43
February 20, 2014
Beautiful dress! Loved the fit- I'm 5'8" and it was a great length.

This dress looks prettier in person; I didn't think it showed up well in photos.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
March 10, 2014
Classy but fun

There was an issue with the 8 that I had originally ordered, so I was sent my back up in this (a 12, since the 10 had already been rented when I ordered) and an alternative dress. I did not like the alternative at all, so I put on an extra padded bra and was careful to keep this dress up. It was definitely too big, but it worked. The dress was not very flattering on my hips, however. The extra tulle made my hips look larger than they are. Additionally, since the waist wasn't as cinched as the correct size would've been, the fit just was not very flattering. I imagine I would've really enjoyed this dress in the correct size, but I do believe it would be better suited for someone with smaller hips. The dress itself was in good condition. I wore it to a work event and I felt that it was classy enough for the occasion, but also fun with the extra tulle!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
March 30, 2014
Wonderful outfit for an evening wedding as Hostess.

This dress is true to size. I have a small chest, but did not have to wear a bra as the upper portion is quite fitted. I loved it and received many compliments. The onnnnly thing I would've changed is to see less of the nude-like underlay through the black. Other than that, I absolutely loved it.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
April 16, 2014
I wore this for my 30th birthday party and felt fabulous!

I was worried the dress would run small but the 2 fit just fine. It was a good length with a hot pair of heels and had just the right amount of fluff in the skirt (not too much, but not just flat) to make a party statement.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
August 10, 2014
Perfect for a teen for a formal wedding!

The tulle and beaded princess waist were really pretty. Rent the Runway sent the Ben Amun "Victorian Crystal Statement" Necklace, and it went perfectly! This was a replacement dress for another dress she had that was a bit too small in the chest (size 8). They sent this dress (only available in 12), and it was a bit big on top. I lent her one of my strapless, padded push-up bras in black, and that seemed to help. We'll definitely rent from here again!

View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 6, 2014
The picture looks fluffy, but it's actually pretty flat

I didn't end up wearing the dress as the other one I reserved was better suited. This one fell flatter and longer on me than the pic shows, and it wasn't a fan.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 118lbs
April 27, 2014
I rented this for a photoshoot (subject Tulle Time). Beautifully made, reasonable and comfortable!

The dress flows fantastically! The model is a 2-4 and the 2 fit her fine (was a tiny tight zipping up, so true to size). Beautiful knee length with a whimsical but sexy feel.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
November 2, 2014
Pretty dress. But too high waisted for me. It also had a lot of material around the waist.

Better for someone tiny. Wasn't flattering for my curvy/athletic body.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175lbs
July 13, 2014
This was a fun party/formal affair dress! Lots of compliments on the cut.

Fit was a little snug around the top, but I did wear a bra, otherwise it was very comfortable! The tulle got caught on my handbag several times, so be careful what bag you carry! Dress can we worn with both silver and gold jewelry so it's flexible with accessories. #formal #gala #tulle #glamour

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
November 20, 2014
I LOVED this dress.

I loved the fit of this dress. It hugged in the bodice area and was flowy in the dress part. It wasn't quite as flowy as the stock picture showed, but I'm sure if you did some fluffing to it, you could achieve that look. I wasn't too worried about it. I received TONS of compliments and would definitely recommend this dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
February 22, 2015
Loved it!

Dress was great. It was different from what anyone else was wearing. But not too much. It definitely ran big on top. I have big hips and need the bigger size but I was still able to make it work. Unfortunately I don't have a picture that shows the whole dress! I would rent again!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
June 10, 2015
The evening was great!

The dress fit really well. I really liked it, but I have one complaint. The top portion of the dress sits a bit low. So, I felt like I needed to keep pulling it up throughout the night even though I knew it wasn't going to fall down. Just a head's up to anyone not comfortable with that sort of style!

Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
September 24, 2012
This dress made me feel glamorous and pretty for a special day on the beach with my son.

I think the dress fit true to size as far as designer dresses go. The zipper was a little hard to maneuver, but with two hands it seemed to work fine.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 139lbs
August 3, 2013
FUN! FUN! FUN! A complete departure from the norm for me & I enjoyed every minute!

I had been eyeing this dress up for a while, but never rented it because I usually wear very form fitting knee length cocktail dresses (Herve Ledger is a favorite for me) & this is more of a romantic length ballet tutu than a cocktail dress. I was also discouraged from several reviews stating it ran small & the bodice was uncomfortably tight or didn't fit at all. I decided to go for it & I am VERY glad that I did. It fit perfectly. I think that I wore the smaller size (I honestly can't remember so don't hold me to that this time). Please keep in mind I have a small bone structure for 5'11 & my rib cage is smaller than some of my friends. I wore a strapless bra & it stayed hidden all night, although like all strapless dresses (and bras) I did have to pull it up every so often. I paired it with nude & gold peep toe pumps. I didn't get as many compliments as I have in other dresses, but I didn't care. I LOVE wearing this dress & felt that I looked cute. I had fun in this dress. This dress for me is exactly what Rent the Runway is all about. You get to try different looks & styles like the celebrities do, but at a price an average girl like myself can afford. It wasn't my favorite, but I had no regrets & I felt that as a scroll through my photo album of events attended in similar style cocktail dresses I am glad to see myself in something different for a change.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
August 8, 2014
I got so many compliments and felt very confident in this dress.

Ran a little large on top (I'm 36C and still had to wear an extra padded push up strapless bra) If the backup size 6 had been available I probably would have gone with that, but everything worked out really well! The dress was beautiful and the length was great for 4" heels. Definitely didn't get lost in a sea of black dresses.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
January 10, 2012
Pretty but poofy

Cuter on the model than it was on me. I'm small on top and something about the bodice made me look bigger (like wider) than I wanted too...better for larger girls who needs the bust support that this dress provides.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
September 7, 2012
Beautiful!

This dress is absolutely beautiful!

Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
December 15, 2012
Empire waist was not flattering

I didn't realize when I ordered this that it was an empire waist. I looked pregnant in it, so I didn't wear it. Plus, the zipper was very difficult to zip up (even when it was just on the hanger) and the clasp at the top of the zipper was broken in both sizes I ordered.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 55
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
January 11, 2013
I felt amazing and everyone said I looked it. I would highly recommend this dress.

It fit well and was very flattering. It was comfortable enough to wear all night while dancing.

Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 64
Body type: Straight & narrow
April 19, 2013
The dress was stunning! Contrary to the 'runs small' the sizes ordered were too large.

The dress was for a Viva Las Vegas themed high school Prom. The sizes ordered were based on reviews that the dress ran small and consultation with the fit stylist. However, all were too large to be flattering. Unfortunately, the 'wearer' was not available in the 24 hour window for returns.

Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175lbs
April 22, 2013
This dress is gorgeous. I loved the midi length because I am 6'3. I can only recommend.

I recommend it to tall girls.

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
April 26, 2013
Perfect Dress for Auction

Dress fit great. Comfortable. Easy to wear. Got lots of compliants. Wore with black shoes.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 21, 2013
Flirty, pretty, and just a little rock n roll!

I received a ton of compliments when I wore this dress to my friend's formal wedding. The length is very fun and unexpected, plus the black tulle makes it a little edgy. My only tiny complaint was that the appliqued flowers at the waist were a little crushed from the mailing.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 108lbs
March 19, 2014
gorgeous - forgiving on the waist. Nice fit

gorgeous - forgiving on the waist. Nice fit

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137lbs
August 6, 2014
So flowy and fun! Awesome dress!

Fit was true to size

See more reviews:
3 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×