RED Valentino

Runaway Bow Tie Dress

$35 rental
$695 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

How can you not fall in love this RED Valentino dress? We sure have! The bow shoulder details make it a delightful choice. Keep accessories plain and simple to let the gorgeous structure stand out.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 10.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress very fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black Faille (100% Polyester). Sleeveless. Crew neckline with bow detail at shoulders. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined bodice. 34” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
183 reviews
Fit
Large
(77)
True to Size
(63)
Small
(11)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
July 24, 2015
Wore this great dress to a work cocktail party
Got lots of great compliments and looked dressed up but still professional. It was big in the waist though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
July 14, 2015
Noticeably worn, but excellent customer service
This was my first RTR disappointment after three years. I ordered the 2, but it wasn't available to ship, so I received the 4 (my backup size) and one size of another dress (that I ended up wearing instead). But even if this dress had fit me, I wouldn't have wanted to wear it. The cut is adorable and is definitely my style, but you could tell that it had been worn and cleaned, probably past its prime. But as it turned out, customer service was fabulous and I chose a backup style that was in great condition and actually fit me, so overall this was just another wonderful RTR experience.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
July 12, 2015
Simple yet classic.
I rented this dress for my engagement pictures. The fabric was nylon-esque and required a good steam to get the creases out. The skirt had the perfect amount of poof while remaining simple and timeless. Dress fit true to size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95lbs
July 7, 2015
Like!
Was a tad big but made it work!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 114lbs
June 29, 2015
Absolutely loved this dress! It was extremely flattering and I received a ton of compliments!
The dress was perfect. The fit was great and would be flattering on any body type. I loved the bow detail on the shoulder. The material was very breathable for a Texas wedding. I would rent this dress again in a heartbeat. The armpit felt a little tight by the end of the night but I would have worn the same size.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 160lbs
June 18, 2015
Classy and fun
This dress is amazing! So comfortable and no spanx needed! Runs very big, get a size down.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
June 12, 2015
I love this dress so much I didn't want to return it! Perfect for weddings and special occasions.
This dress ran large for me. I'm usually an 8 and ended up in the 6 and could even have gone a size smaller probably. The fabric is fantastic and light with great body. It's not clingy if you're concerned about your midsection. Gorgeous and very comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
June 12, 2015
Lovely Dress
Loved this dress. It was perfect for an outdoor cocktail party. The skirt is a little puffy, which usually would bother me, but in this case it made the dress. Bows are a nice touch, understated/not too much.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 9, 2015
Wore this dress for our engagement pictures and it was absolutely perfect! Fit true to size
Perfect fit; would recommend if anything sizing down, especially for women with an hour glass or athletic build. Runs a bit large in the wait. I'm typically a true size 6 (34D" 27" 39") and the four fit like a glove
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
June 2, 2015
I really loved this dress! It was simple yet fun! Hated to return it. Would definitely rent again.
True to size.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
May 26, 2015
Loved the label. Fabric felt amazing too.
Top was incredibly snug. Felt more so like I was going to breathe my way out of it. Was also fairly long for my petite height.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
May 23, 2015
It was a little too "fluffy". Didnt even end up wearing it...
Fits true to size..
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 20
May 22, 2015
The most exquisite LBD!
This was my first ever dress from RTR and I am thoroughly impressed! The fit was perfect, I am normally a 0 or a 2 and only the 2 was available so I had to take a chance on it and luckily it worked out! The skirt is VERY full for a non-lined dress, but not too full as if it were a tutu. I danced for hours in this dress and had so many compliments on the movement of it! The bows are an adorable touch but they did need to be pressed before I wore them as they kind of popped up a little *too* much. It was hard to have to send this dress back.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 99lbs
May 17, 2015
Affordable! On time! Perfect Outfit for the night!
Waist line was actually true to size, although I do believe the chest area of the dress is little bit baggy. However, since it is black it doesn't show much that it is baggy, also since it is a crew/boat neck-cut it gives a very chic clean look. This dress is utterly cute. The skirt of the dress is naturally voluminous so it gives very bubbly look. If you are going for the Audrey Hepburn look, this dress is a very affordable to achieve that look. As my first dress from RTR I am very satisfied of this dress. Thus, I would rent it again in the future as well.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
May 12, 2015
loved!!!!! must wear your hair in a high bun <3
It can be slightly tight at the waist ( I am usually a 4) but don't wear the dress large or else it will be poofy in the wrong areas
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
May 5, 2015
Great dress! The dress is very full, so be prepared for that, but I would 100% rent again!
Dress does run large, so i would recommend ordering a size down.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
April 22, 2015
Was comfortable and beautiful!
I rented for a friends wedding at the Naval Academy in Annapolis and it fit perfectly! No issues at all, runs true to size. I have rented around 10 dresses for RTR and the service is just incredible.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
April 13, 2015
Classy
I went by the previous reviews and opted for a smaller size, a 2 and I wish I hadn't. It was way too tight and I was so bummed because it's such a goregous dress. I would absolutely rent it again but in the size 4.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
April 7, 2015
Simple Black Dress with some Flare
The skirt made the dress really fun. Definitely needed a belt to complete the look.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
April 2, 2015
Cute, but fit not right
The dress had such an odd fit for me. The waist was too high, so the size 2 was too loose, but the zero weirdly snug because it fell at my ribcage, rather than waist. I have a small chest, so the 0 fit well in the bustline, but as many other commenters have said, the arms were so tight! I did like the fullness of the skirt, but it was Very short (both in the 0 and 2), so would not have felt comfortable wearing it for dancing. For a seated dinner date, it was fine. The bows came a bit unkempt, but a bit of steaming had them in place. I do not recommend for tall girls, particularly if you have a long torso.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
March 28, 2015
I needed something classy but sassy for engagement pictures and this dress fit the bill!
I originally ordered a 2 and a 4 but should have ordered a 0 and 2. Luckily I made the 2 work although it was a touch big. The dress photographed beautifully and I received a ton of complements!! It is truly the perfect LBD!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
March 24, 2015
Super cute and comfortable dress. It does run large, I usually wear size 10 and it was large.
comfortable, cute, can dress up or down with jewelry. runs large, like a full size!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
March 20, 2015
Cute dress. Wish they had my size.
I typically wear a 4. RTR only had a 2 and a 6. The 2 fit but it was very tight through the chest. I'm a 34B so this problem is not one I typically run into. Because of the tightness through the chest, it was uncomfortable under the arms. I would have loved the dress if it was available in a 4.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
March 16, 2015
A fun dress!
Most reviews I read said this dress ran large...I ordered the 0 and the 2 and wore the 2 and I still felt like the top portion was pretty tight. Another note--I'm petite (5'2", 5'3") and the skirt was big and fun, but not overpowering.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
March 2, 2015
Looked very elegant!
Fit was generally great except a little snug across the bust.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
March 1, 2015
not my favorite rental
was really excited to rent this dress, but it was a letdown. ended up running a lot bigger than I was expecting. wore a size smaller than i normally wear, but it was still too big. not the most flattering choice for curvy ladies. i definitely felt larger than normal in this dress. not quite the experience i was hoping for! have seen it look great on others, just isn't the dress for me.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
February 22, 2015
Way too large. I could not wear it.
When you order, order at least 2 sizes down
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
February 17, 2015
Classic little black dress!
This dress was very cute. I didn't get to wear jt, due to a delivery issue, but I did try it on and it runs large!! Definitely size down. I would love to rent it again when I can actually wear it.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 30, 2015
Gorgeous Dress!
The dress is gorgeous. It was very comfortable and looked very elegant and I recieved compliments on it all night :) It is definitely larger to size. I am normally a six, wore a 4 but could have used a 2-! as I had to put a little belt with it to enhance the waist. Overall beautiful dress. I would also recommend booking this early as I have tried to get it before for another event but it seems to go very quickly!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
January 26, 2015
I received a ton of compliments about this dress! Everyone loved the little bows on the shoulders.
Loved the classic conservative look of the dress. The wedding I was attending was very conservative so this dress was perfect. I usually wear a size 4 but ended up wearing the 2. The style was a little weird on me though, the 4 fit perfectly in the bust, but it was large in the waist, so I wore the 2 because it felt better in the waist. Looking back on some of the photos I should have worn the 4 and belted it like another reviewer did. Overall, great style.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
January 25, 2015
Great black dress for a formal event!
This is one of the best dresses I have rented from RTR. Overall fit in the waist and chest is a little large, so I would size down. The length was perfect for being short without being too short (I'm 5'8" for reference). The material was thick and did not wrinkle. Overall the dress is very well made and a great pick for any formal event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 19, 2015
Runs Large
i have always loved and been lucky with RTR dresses in the past but i was disappointed with this dress. i ordered two size 4 dresses with a backup size 6 so my sister and i could match for a formal affair in chicago, unfortunately, the size 4 was huge in the bodice and was overall unflattering on me and i had to wear a dress i already own as a backup. however my sister did wear the dress and it was an overall good fit on her. if you are considering this dress i would order a size down
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
January 6, 2015
Bridesmaids wore dress with black panty hose, black patten heels, and chunky statement necklaces.
Love the way the skirt has volume. Material is very easy to keep clean and looks classy. Bows on the shoulder needed steaming before being worn so that they wouldn't stick up funny. I ordered a 0 and a 2, but wore the 2 because it was more comfortable on my waist and shoulders. Even though it was a little big, it still looked great and you couldn't tell!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 3, 2015
Cute dress, but not for me
I rented this for a wedding, I really liked the dress, but it was way to poofy for me in the front. If the skirt had a little more body and less structure, I think it would have been perfect. I was really looking forward to this dress.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
December 31, 2014
Great Holiday dress for Black and White themed party
I selected this dress for my company party and it was perfect. The length hit just above the knee, the waist seam hit at my natural waist and paired well with a gold belt. My hair covered the bows on the shoulders at times but I got a ton of compliments on this dress. I told everyone to go and check out RTR for next years party. I normally wear a size 10 but the size 8 fit better. There was room for my 36D bust. The skirt poofs out more than in the photo on the model if you have a tush like I do.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
December 19, 2014
Beautiful Dress
I wore this dress to a black tie optional wedding. It was is a beautiful dress and I received many compliments. The fit of the dress was pretty good. It fit well in the chest but a little big around the waist, but with the full skirt you could not tell. I would have liked to try a size down but it was not available when I ordered. Easy fix would be to add a cute belt. Overall I was very happy with this dress and would definitely recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 17, 2014
Dress fit perfectly! Perfect for the occasion!
I ordered both the 2 and 4 after reading reviews and looking at photos. The 2 fit perfectly. I would say I usually wear a 4, but I did not even unwrap it. The dress was in great condition and I got many compliments throughout the night. It was super flattering and I would rent it again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
December 10, 2014
Wish i ordered the smaller size
An absolute gorgeous dress that I just wish I ordered in the smaller size! If you have a smaller waist definitely go for the smaller size it hides the butt. Paired it with the big Oscar Bow ring.
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 32
December 9, 2014
Perfect option when you want to go short for a Black Tie Affair
Fit true to size. The skirt is very full which I loved and the bow on the shoulders add a pretty touch. Statement earrings that aren't too long worked well bc they didn't compete with the bow detail. Perfect dress for a wintery/formal wedding that you do not want to wear a long dress to!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117lbs
December 8, 2014
Loved it!
I wore this dress for a wedding in November. I rented both the size 4 and the size 2 and ended up wearing the 2. The 4 seemed to big in the waist. It was beautiful and comfortable. The shirt is poofy and a little short but overall it was an outstanding rental. Tons of compliments from everyone!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 5
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×