RED Valentino

Runaway Bow Tie Dress

$35 rental
$695 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

How can you not fall in love this RED Valentino dress? We sure have! The bow shoulder details make it a delightful choice. Keep accessories plain and simple to let the gorgeous structure stand out.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 10.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress very fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 10.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress very fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black Faille (100% Polyester). Sleeveless. Crew neckline with bow detail at shoulders. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined bodice. 34” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

118 reviews

Fit
Small 8
True to Size 41
Large 63
Photos 69
Aly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 13, 2014

I’m an 8 and 10 was too big!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
RTR sent me two consolation dresses since my original choice (Go Ornate Dress) had a small tear. This was a cute dress, but they only had a 10 so I took it. I have a little black dress in my closet for cocktails parties that look better on me than this one, but I wore it anyway because I love how the skirt is slightly puffy and it was “new.” If you have a larger bust this is a great dress if you get the right size. It shows off your legs and is comfortable up top!
Jenny
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 17, 2014

Loved it.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress! I received many compliments and felt beautiful. I'm shorter and it was a perfect length and style. I usually wear a size 4 or 2 petite at Ann Taylor or the Loft. I sized down after reading the reviews and the 2 fit me like a glove. This was my first RTR experience and I will be doing it again!
Beckie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113 lbs
Feb 27, 2014

Stunning, but a little big.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
My client wore this for a photo shoot & we both fell in love with it! It was a little big, so it might be a good idea to rent your second size a size down. It has a classic, Audrey Hepburn look to it - and who wouldn't want that! I had actually rented a different dress, but RTR contacted me two days before saying that the dress I had originally rented was damaged by the previous renter, so they sent me TWO dresses that were most similar to the dress I had wanted. Customer service at Rent the Runway is top notch!
Mary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 3, 2014

The amount of compliments I got on my outfit.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The dress runs large, but it is absolutely stunning on. It will just like the model on you, if you get the correct size. I ordered the 6 and the 8 initially and had to send them back- I typically wear a 6. RTR overnighted me the 2 and the 4 and I ended up wearing the 2. I got so many compliments on the dress. It is absolutely beautiful. I so have a larger bust so it did flatten them out a bit, but the 4 was too large for me, so I had to deal with it.
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Apr 21, 2014

Fun dress with volume!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This was exactly what I was looking for -- a black fit and flare dress with volume -- and it was perfect! As others have said, it does run large. I went a size down and it was fine, so I highly recommend ordering smaller than larger. The bows kept sticking up, but I steamed them, which helped. This is a great dress if you want an LBD that isn't super tight and moves so you can dance!
Kelly
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 27, 2014

Absolutely precious on!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Absolutely perfect!! I am short, 5"2 and the dress was the perfect length! Super cute, very appropriate! I have a big chest 34D so I wore the 4 And was able to wear a bra under to make the fit perfect! The 2 was to tight in the Armstrong and chest. For this dress try to fit your top only, your bottom doesn't matter because of the big skirt. This was my first experience and I will DEF be renting again!! So easy!! So perfect!!
Yasmina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
May 4, 2014

Did not want to take this dress off!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wore this dress to a black tie gala. The dress runs big, a size 4 would have been a better fit but the size was unavailable. The bows on the sleeves were the perfect little detail that I did not want overshadowed by jewelry and just wore simple pearl earnings and black pumps. Will definitely rent this dress again.
brianna
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 140 lbs
May 7, 2014

This is a darling multifunctional dress for brunch, wedding or date night.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
The only con I could think of is the bottom of the dress is much larger than pictured on the model (it puffs out much more than photographed). I rented it to wear to brunch and walk around town - BUT it looks much dressier in person!! As you can see, I wore flats and denim jacket to give it more of a casual look. Sorry, I forgot to take pics without. Upon its arrival, you may need to steam it. The dress is shipped folded in half. Because of the material, it will probably be wrinkly, so don't rent the day of your event hoping to put it on right away. Not a deal breaker, but I wanted to note it. There is a subtle sexiness to this dress which I would defiantly recommend if you want to stand out.
olympia
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107 lbs
May 13, 2014

Many compliments and comfort!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was true to size. I typically wear 0-2. It was perfect length considering I'm petite. Very flirty and adorable dress. I wore it with a jcrew necklace and satin floral banana republic pumps.
Lindsay
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127 lbs
May 20, 2014

My husband's boss's wife said, "you always have such wonderful style."

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The 2 fit well except was a bit large where my chest was concerned. A common problem with me. But the flare was fantastic, and I felt great in this dress. The length was perfect - I assumed it would be too long but it was 1.5 - 2 inches above my knees. Would definitely rent this dress again.
Mandy
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
May 24, 2014

Perfect dress! Lots of compliments!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great fit. I would order your normal size and a size smaller. Needed to iron it once I received it.
Rachel
Age: 28
Jun 1, 2014

Excellent dress. Many compliments.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Runs a bit large, skirt is very full yet lightweight, and the top does not have much stretch to it. Overall a very flattering and pretty dress!
Lauren
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Jun 1, 2014

I got so many compliments!!! I felt like the bell of the ball minus the bride of course :)

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I got the 0 and 2. In designer brands I seem to be a 0 plus the dress doesn't hug your hips at all (which is my biggest part!!) It was a tad tight in my armpits bc I am so tiny in my rib cage . I am a B bust and bc of that sometimes the armpits pull a tad. The 2 was WAY too big around my ribs so I'd say it's true to size. The 0 was great and I wore a big sparkles necklace! It was perfect !
Mary
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Jun 2, 2014

Incredibly beautiful and flattering dress

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I love this dress! I wore it for my 10th college reunion for a semi-formal, cocktail/dinner and dance. I lost count of how many compliments I received on this dress. I think it runs fairly true to size. I typically wear either a 6 or 8 and ordered those two sizes. I have a broader back and ended up wearing the 8 for that reason . There was plenty of room in the waist and could of went with either one. The length is perfect and looks great on the dance floor. Super flattering dress!
Elizabeth
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145 lbs
Jun 8, 2014

The perfect LBD

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The size 2 fit well through the chest and and hit at the perfect spot above the knee, however the arm holes were slightly too small. I would have went with the four, but it was a bit baggy in the chest, so it would have ended up looking sloppy. Overall I was extremely happy with this dress. I mean, come on it's Valentino.
Kamerin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Body type: Full Bust
Jun 9, 2014

Beautiful dress with amazing features

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was everything I've ever wanted in a formal dress for a wedding. It fit PERFECTLY and was so comfortable! Wore it from 2 PM to 2 AM with no trouble at all. Dress runs big, so get a size smaller than you normally would. The 2 fit me perfectly and I normally wear a 4. Can't wait to rent again!
Becca
Age: 16
Jun 13, 2014

Fit perfect, looked amazing. Getting ready for this event was sooo stress free thanks to RTR.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This picture does not do this dress justice at all... But it was gorgeous. The zero fit PERFECTLY! I wore it to a graduation dinner and everyone at the restaurant complimented me on how beautiful I looked. This was my first RTR experience and it was sooo stress free. I had not one complaint about the dress. The bows and full skirt made it look very girly but it was a classy, classic dress.
Coley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 14, 2014

Absolutely loved this dress! Got so many compliments on it!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It fit perfectly! I wore a bra with this which made it fit more. Also the bottom is poofy so just keep that in mind when getting this dress. I must say though, this is an amazing dress!
katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128 lbs
Jun 19, 2014

Cute and comfortable.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The skirt is pretty huge. There's maybe half a yard of poof I could live without - A belt helped reign it in. Otherwise the dress is totally comfortable and hides the less than perfect body zones. And it's kinda plain so it leaves a lot of room for accessorizing.
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Jun 21, 2014

Audrey Hepburn-esque!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was fantastic. It was a classic but fun little black dress that made me feel like Audrey Hepburn in Breakfast at Tiffany's. The dress runs large, I am normally between an 8 and 10 (lately closer to a 10) and I wore the 6. So order down a size or two. It was so comfortable. The dress is also very easily accessorized and could be dressed up or down. I got a lot of compliments on the dress. I am seriously going to have a hard time sending it back. Really, rent this dress!
angie
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Jun 23, 2014

I got several compliments from perfect strangers on this dress. So cute!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was right on track. I wore the size I would normally buy. I did wear some tight biking shorts under the dress because the skirt is full and I felt naked. It was beautiful. I would actually love to buy this dress.
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160 lbs
Jun 25, 2014

Lovely and fancy!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Let me get this out of the way: order a size smaller than you think you should. This dress is large in the waist, and the hips will give you plenty of room. I loved this dress, it was very stylish. I do think it would look best on girls with straighter bodies. When you're already curvy it doesn't accentuate in the most flattering way. That being said, I still think I looked fabulous!
Sara
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134 lbs
Jun 25, 2014

This dress was SO comfortable and just so easy to move around in! I got so many compliments!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
It does run a little big, I'm pretty much always a 4 but fit into the 2 with no problems and it fit perfectly. The flair give it so much more detail, as do the bows on the shoulder. Paired it with nude strappy heels (like on the model) and a statement necklace and that's all it needed! I got compliments on it all night. PERFECT for a cocktail wedding or really anything that you want to add a little character to your outfit!
Banana
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 14
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 1, 2014

Fun, flirty dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was true to size.
Jessica
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Oct 7, 2014

Pretty LBD but ill fitting for smaller girls

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This is the perfect little black dress and was excited to wear it to a wedding. I was nervous about it being too large because I am 5'2", 100 lbs, and 32B chest - very petite - and read it ran large. Sure enough, it did not fit me well enough to feel good about wearing it. The length was great, but the skirt was a little too poofy that it almost looked cutesy (I don't know the bride and groom very well, so I didn't want to be a fashionista or too showy at their wedding by wearing a statement dress) and the chest fit TERRIBLY! I'm not that small chested, but there was a lot of extra room, it didn't fit my bust and stomach so it looked boxy. If I owned the dress, I would have taken in the sides under the armpit to tighten it. Bottom line: not the greatest dress.
Natalie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 7, 2014

Will rent again!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress! I paired it with cute strappy leopard pumps and I received several compliments throughout the night! Though keep in mind it does run large. I typically am a size 4/6, but after reading the reviews I decided to rent a size 2 and 4 and I sure am happy I did! I ended up going with the size 2. The 4 ended up being a little too loose in the top.
amina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 7, 2014

Was weird fit.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Super big in places and awkward but then tight in other places. I dunno, maybe it was me... Didn't end up working out.
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145 lbs
Nov 8, 2014

Adorable and Elegant

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
It's nice for someone with a large chest to be able to wear an "Audrey" look! This dress is adorable and classy if you're looking for something that doesn't show cleavage. I was worried it would be too poofy and Carrie Bradshaw-like, but the skirt was just the right amount of fullness. The bows on top are great. Fabric has significant weight to it. It does get a bit wrinkled, but looks okay when you get up if you just smooth it out a bit. All the reviews are right - compared to other RTR dresses, it will be bigger than expected. I can be anywhere from a 6 to a 10. The 6 fit, but the 8 was more comfortable and went with that one. I rented a modern Oscar de la Renta statement gold statement necklace, but ended up having to go with pearls to match the vintage-y feel of this one.
Amanda
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 12, 2014

I absolutely loved this dress and received SO many compliments on it.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I have a wider ribcage than normal, so it was a little tight up top, but wasn't uncomfortable by any means.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 30, 2014

Not my favorite rental.

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Other
I liked the idea of the dress, and I loved the skirt...but it fit very tight in the underarms and even with steaming the bows on the shoulders never perked up.
SC
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 10, 2014

Wish i ordered the smaller size

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
An absolute gorgeous dress that I just wish I ordered in the smaller size! If you have a smaller waist definitely go for the smaller size it hides the butt. Paired it with the big Oscar Bow ring.
Corina
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Dec 31, 2014

Great Holiday dress for Black and White themed party

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I selected this dress for my company party and it was perfect. The length hit just above the knee, the waist seam hit at my natural waist and paired well with a gold belt. My hair covered the bows on the shoulders at times but I got a ton of compliments on this dress. I told everyone to go and check out RTR for next years party. I normally wear a size 10 but the size 8 fit better. There was room for my 36D bust. The skirt poofs out more than in the photo on the model if you have a tush like I do.
noele
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 3, 2015

Cute dress, but not for me

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this for a wedding, I really liked the dress, but it was way to poofy for me in the front. If the skirt had a little more body and less structure, I think it would have been perfect. I was really looking forward to this dress.
Riley
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 6, 2015

Bridesmaids wore dress with black panty hose, black patten heels, and chunky statement necklaces.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Love the way the skirt has volume. Material is very easy to keep clean and looks classy. Bows on the shoulder needed steaming before being worn so that they wouldn't stick up funny. I ordered a 0 and a 2, but wore the 2 because it was more comfortable on my waist and shoulders. Even though it was a little big, it still looked great and you couldn't tell!
Dani
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 19, 2015

Runs Large

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
i have always loved and been lucky with RTR dresses in the past but i was disappointed with this dress. i ordered two size 4 dresses with a backup size 6 so my sister and i could match for a formal affair in chicago, unfortunately, the size 4 was huge in the bodice and was overall unflattering on me and i had to wear a dress i already own as a backup. however my sister did wear the dress and it was an overall good fit on her. if you are considering this dress i would order a size down
DDP
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Jan 25, 2015

Great black dress for a formal event!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This is one of the best dresses I have rented from RTR. Overall fit in the waist and chest is a little large, so I would size down. The length was perfect for being short without being too short (I'm 5'8" for reference). The material was thick and did not wrinkle. Overall the dress is very well made and a great pick for any formal event.
Alex
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 26, 2015

I received a ton of compliments about this dress! Everyone loved the little bows on the shoulders.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Loved the classic conservative look of the dress. The wedding I was attending was very conservative so this dress was perfect. I usually wear a size 4 but ended up wearing the 2. The style was a little weird on me though, the 4 fit perfectly in the bust, but it was large in the waist, so I wore the 2 because it felt better in the waist. Looking back on some of the photos I should have worn the 4 and belted it like another reviewer did. Overall, great style.
Mary
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 30, 2015

Gorgeous Dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
The dress is gorgeous. It was very comfortable and looked very elegant and I recieved compliments on it all night :) It is definitely larger to size. I am normally a six, wore a 4 but could have used a 2-! as I had to put a little belt with it to enhance the waist. Overall beautiful dress. I would also recommend booking this early as I have tried to get it before for another event but it seems to go very quickly!
Natalie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165 lbs
Feb 17, 2015

Classic little black dress!

Size worn: NONE
Rented for: Other
This dress was very cute. I didn't get to wear jt, due to a delivery issue, but I did try it on and it runs large!! Definitely size down. I would love to rent it again when I can actually wear it.
nicole
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123 lbs
Feb 22, 2015

Way too large. I could not wear it.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
When you order, order at least 2 sizes down
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×