Rent the Runway

RED Valentino

Runaway Bow Tie Dress

$35 rental
$695 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

How can you not fall in love this RED Valentino dress? We sure have! The bow shoulder details make it a delightful choice. Keep accessories plain and simple to let the gorgeous structure stand out.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 10.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress very fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 10.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress very fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black Faille (100% Polyester). Sleeveless. Crew neckline with bow detail at shoulders. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined bodice. 34” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

142 reviews

Fit
Small 10
True to Size 52
Large 70
Photos 83
Aly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Jan 13, 2014

I’m an 8 and 10 was too big!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
RTR sent me two consolation dresses since my original choice (Go Ornate Dress) had a small tear. This was a cute dress, but they only had a 10 so I took it. I have a little black dress in my closet for cocktails parties that look better on me than this one, but I wore it anyway because I love how the skirt is slightly puffy and it was “new.” If you have a larger bust this is a great dress if you get the right size. It shows off your legs and is comfortable up top!
Jenny
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 17, 2014

Loved it.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress! I received many compliments and felt beautiful. I'm shorter and it was a perfect length and style. I usually wear a size 4 or 2 petite at Ann Taylor or the Loft. I sized down after reading the reviews and the 2 fit me like a glove. This was my first RTR experience and I will be doing it again!
Beckie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113 lbs
Feb 27, 2014

Stunning, but a little big.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
My client wore this for a photo shoot & we both fell in love with it! It was a little big, so it might be a good idea to rent your second size a size down. It has a classic, Audrey Hepburn look to it - and who wouldn't want that! I had actually rented a different dress, but RTR contacted me two days before saying that the dress I had originally rented was damaged by the previous renter, so they sent me TWO dresses that were most similar to the dress I had wanted. Customer service at Rent the Runway is top notch!
Chris
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 3, 2014

The amount of compliments I got on my outfit.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The dress runs large, but it is absolutely stunning on. It will just like the model on you, if you get the correct size. I ordered the 6 and the 8 initially and had to send them back- I typically wear a 6. RTR overnighted me the 2 and the 4 and I ended up wearing the 2. I got so many compliments on the dress. It is absolutely beautiful. I so have a larger bust so it did flatten them out a bit, but the 4 was too large for me, so I had to deal with it.
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Apr 21, 2014

Fun dress with volume!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This was exactly what I was looking for -- a black fit and flare dress with volume -- and it was perfect! As others have said, it does run large. I went a size down and it was fine, so I highly recommend ordering smaller than larger. The bows kept sticking up, but I steamed them, which helped. This is a great dress if you want an LBD that isn't super tight and moves so you can dance!
Kelly
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 27, 2014

Absolutely precious on!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Absolutely perfect!! I am short, 5"2 and the dress was the perfect length! Super cute, very appropriate! I have a big chest 34D so I wore the 4 And was able to wear a bra under to make the fit perfect! The 2 was to tight in the Armstrong and chest. For this dress try to fit your top only, your bottom doesn't matter because of the big skirt. This was my first experience and I will DEF be renting again!! So easy!! So perfect!!
Yasmina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
May 4, 2014

Did not want to take this dress off!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wore this dress to a black tie gala. The dress runs big, a size 4 would have been a better fit but the size was unavailable. The bows on the sleeves were the perfect little detail that I did not want overshadowed by jewelry and just wore simple pearl earnings and black pumps. Will definitely rent this dress again.
brianna
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 140 lbs
May 7, 2014

This is a darling multifunctional dress for brunch, wedding or date night.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
The only con I could think of is the bottom of the dress is much larger than pictured on the model (it puffs out much more than photographed). I rented it to wear to brunch and walk around town - BUT it looks much dressier in person!! As you can see, I wore flats and denim jacket to give it more of a casual look. Sorry, I forgot to take pics without. Upon its arrival, you may need to steam it. The dress is shipped folded in half. Because of the material, it will probably be wrinkly, so don't rent the day of your event hoping to put it on right away. Not a deal breaker, but I wanted to note it. There is a subtle sexiness to this dress which I would defiantly recommend if you want to stand out.
olympia
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107 lbs
May 13, 2014

Many compliments and comfort!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was true to size. I typically wear 0-2. It was perfect length considering I'm petite. Very flirty and adorable dress. I wore it with a jcrew necklace and satin floral banana republic pumps.
Lindsay
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127 lbs
May 20, 2014

My husband's boss's wife said, "you always have such wonderful style."

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The 2 fit well except was a bit large where my chest was concerned. A common problem with me. But the flare was fantastic, and I felt great in this dress. The length was perfect - I assumed it would be too long but it was 1.5 - 2 inches above my knees. Would definitely rent this dress again.
Mandy
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
May 24, 2014

Perfect dress! Lots of compliments!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great fit. I would order your normal size and a size smaller. Needed to iron it once I received it.
Rachel
Age: 28
Jun 1, 2014

Excellent dress. Many compliments.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Runs a bit large, skirt is very full yet lightweight, and the top does not have much stretch to it. Overall a very flattering and pretty dress!
Lauren
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Jun 1, 2014

I got so many compliments!!! I felt like the bell of the ball minus the bride of course :)

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I got the 0 and 2. In designer brands I seem to be a 0 plus the dress doesn't hug your hips at all (which is my biggest part!!) It was a tad tight in my armpits bc I am so tiny in my rib cage . I am a B bust and bc of that sometimes the armpits pull a tad. The 2 was WAY too big around my ribs so I'd say it's true to size. The 0 was great and I wore a big sparkles necklace! It was perfect !
Mary
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Jun 2, 2014

Incredibly beautiful and flattering dress

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I love this dress! I wore it for my 10th college reunion for a semi-formal, cocktail/dinner and dance. I lost count of how many compliments I received on this dress. I think it runs fairly true to size. I typically wear either a 6 or 8 and ordered those two sizes. I have a broader back and ended up wearing the 8 for that reason . There was plenty of room in the waist and could of went with either one. The length is perfect and looks great on the dance floor. Super flattering dress!
Elizabeth
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145 lbs
Jun 8, 2014

The perfect LBD

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The size 2 fit well through the chest and and hit at the perfect spot above the knee, however the arm holes were slightly too small. I would have went with the four, but it was a bit baggy in the chest, so it would have ended up looking sloppy. Overall I was extremely happy with this dress. I mean, come on it's Valentino.
Kamerin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Body type: Full Bust
Jun 9, 2014

Beautiful dress with amazing features

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was everything I've ever wanted in a formal dress for a wedding. It fit PERFECTLY and was so comfortable! Wore it from 2 PM to 2 AM with no trouble at all. Dress runs big, so get a size smaller than you normally would. The 2 fit me perfectly and I normally wear a 4. Can't wait to rent again!
Becca
Age: 16
Jun 13, 2014

Fit perfect, looked amazing. Getting ready for this event was sooo stress free thanks to RTR.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This picture does not do this dress justice at all... But it was gorgeous. The zero fit PERFECTLY! I wore it to a graduation dinner and everyone at the restaurant complimented me on how beautiful I looked. This was my first RTR experience and it was sooo stress free. I had not one complaint about the dress. The bows and full skirt made it look very girly but it was a classy, classic dress.
Coley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 14, 2014

Absolutely loved this dress! Got so many compliments on it!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It fit perfectly! I wore a bra with this which made it fit more. Also the bottom is poofy so just keep that in mind when getting this dress. I must say though, this is an amazing dress!
katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128 lbs
Jun 19, 2014

Cute and comfortable.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The skirt is pretty huge. There's maybe half a yard of poof I could live without - A belt helped reign it in. Otherwise the dress is totally comfortable and hides the less than perfect body zones. And it's kinda plain so it leaves a lot of room for accessorizing.
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Jun 21, 2014

Audrey Hepburn-esque!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was fantastic. It was a classic but fun little black dress that made me feel like Audrey Hepburn in Breakfast at Tiffany's. The dress runs large, I am normally between an 8 and 10 (lately closer to a 10) and I wore the 6. So order down a size or two. It was so comfortable. The dress is also very easily accessorized and could be dressed up or down. I got a lot of compliments on the dress. I am seriously going to have a hard time sending it back. Really, rent this dress!
angie
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Jun 23, 2014

I got several compliments from perfect strangers on this dress. So cute!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was right on track. I wore the size I would normally buy. I did wear some tight biking shorts under the dress because the skirt is full and I felt naked. It was beautiful. I would actually love to buy this dress.
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160 lbs
Jun 25, 2014

Lovely and fancy!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Let me get this out of the way: order a size smaller than you think you should. This dress is large in the waist, and the hips will give you plenty of room. I loved this dress, it was very stylish. I do think it would look best on girls with straighter bodies. When you're already curvy it doesn't accentuate in the most flattering way. That being said, I still think I looked fabulous!
Sara
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134 lbs
Jun 25, 2014

This dress was SO comfortable and just so easy to move around in! I got so many compliments!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
It does run a little big, I'm pretty much always a 4 but fit into the 2 with no problems and it fit perfectly. The flair give it so much more detail, as do the bows on the shoulder. Paired it with nude strappy heels (like on the model) and a statement necklace and that's all it needed! I got compliments on it all night. PERFECT for a cocktail wedding or really anything that you want to add a little character to your outfit!
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Jun 29, 2014

Amazing black cocktail dress for a formal manhattan wedding!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was awesome but runs super big in bodice. I normally would wear a 10-12 dress and the 8 was baggy in the bodice. I think I will rent this dress again but get the 6 next time. What an amazing experience!!!
Jordan
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Jun 30, 2014

I felt like "Jackie O"

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I am busty and this dress fit me like a glove. It was fun, flirty and sexy all in one. I didn't want to return it!
Lindsay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Jul 7, 2014

Very classy, girly and flattering!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit well throughout, loved the skirt! Not too puffy. Nice fabric and good for larger bust women.
Katie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Body type: Straight & narrow
Jul 9, 2014

I wore it to a summer soiree. Everyone loved the dress and thought it looked very Carrie Bradshaw!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was true to size. I recommend steaming the bows on the shoulders when you receive it. I had trouble with one of the bows sticking up.
Kelly
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 110 lbs
Jul 10, 2014

Perfect LBD!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is super cute. It's pretty short, and the skirt is actually really full and poofy, which makes it fun and girly while still being sophisticated. I got so many compliments, I didn't want to send it back!
Antoinette
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jul 12, 2014

Absolutely stunning! There are no other words to describe...

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress def runs a lil on the bigger side... Order a size down, without question. I wanted to order a 2 but it wasn't available. I wore a 4 with a rose gold belt to match this Kate Spade clutch also from RTR. The belt helped to cinch the waist a lil since it was a tad on the larger side. My full D's fit just perfectly. I wore bow pumps which completed this look perfectly. Can't go wrong with a great little black dress.
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jul 15, 2014

Felt like a star :-)

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
As others have mentioned it is tight through the chest and arm but big at the waste. The 2 fit my waste best but because I have a large rib cage and the dress has a full back I could not zip it so I went with the 4. Despite the fit, I felt high fashion all night long and got lots of compliments!
Kelsi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 150 lbs
Jul 17, 2014

I wish that I had been able to get a smaller size! Otherwise, it was super cute!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
It was big in the chest (which never happens) and a little poofier than I thought, but I loved it overall.
Caitlyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Jul 21, 2014

Classy black dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Very cute and flattering but it definitely runs large. The sz 4 wasn't available so I wore the 6 and it was a little big in the waist but I think the 4 would have been too short (I'm 5'10) super comfortable and got lots of compliments. Also rented the necklace which I loved!
Katie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jul 21, 2014

I have never got so many compliments in my life besides my wedding day!!!! Felt like a princess!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit perfectly, and the dress was an absolute dream!
Amanda
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
Jul 22, 2014

Loved this dress! Felt like a Hepburn!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit really well, the size 2 was just a bit to small in my rib cage, had to wear the 4. 4 was a little loose but still looked great!
Alana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 133 lbs
Jul 23, 2014

Perfect dress for the gala attended. Was simple yet perfect for dressing up with the right jewelry

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I have a bit broader shoulders so it fit snug in the shoulders and the waist was a little loose but not too bad. I would order this dress again without a doubt. I loved it!
Katherin
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Body type: Petite
Jul 31, 2014

Such a cute dress! Made me feel like a princess!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I love this dress. It fit well and was very flattering. The little bows on the shoulders gave it a light hearted flirty feel that fit the tone of the night perfectly! The dress material is stiff so some slight adjustments needed to be made to the skirt prior to photos if I had been sitting but who doesn't adjust before a photo? All in all, I would 100% rent this one again.
Emily
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 4, 2014

Appropriate on so many levels

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Was invited as someone's plus one to a wedding where I knew neither bride nor groom and only about 5 other guests, none of whom are female, so needless to say getting advice on what would be appropriate to wear was tough! My date was in the wedding and wore a tux, but it was a daytime summer wedding, so I tried to walk a fine line between formal and fun. This dress was perfect - it's flirty but not revealing in any way, shockingly comfortable, and made of a lovely thick material that kept its shape for a very long day and night. The chest fit better than the middle, so I added a vintage black snakeskin belt with gold details. No other accessories necessary - the dress really does all the talking.
Jamie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134 lbs
May 12, 2015

loved!!!!! must wear your hair in a high bun <3

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It can be slightly tight at the waist ( I am usually a 4) but don't wear the dress large or else it will be poofy in the wrong areas
jennifer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
May 23, 2015

It was a little too "fluffy". Didnt even end up wearing it...

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fits true to size..
Rebecca
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 160 lbs
Jun 18, 2015

Classy and fun

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is amazing! So comfortable and no spanx needed! Runs very big, get a size down.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×