RED Valentino

Runaway Bow Tie Dress

$188 to buy
$695 retail
Stylist Notes

How can you not fall in love this RED Valentino dress? We sure have! The bow shoulder details make it a delightful choice. Keep accessories plain and simple to let the gorgeous structure stand out.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 10.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress very fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black Faille (100% Polyester). Sleeveless. Crew neckline with bow detail at shoulders. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined bodice. 34” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
184 reviews
Fit
Large
(77)
True to Size
(63)
Small
(11)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
June 2, 2014
Incredibly beautiful and flattering dress
I love this dress! I wore it for my 10th college reunion for a semi-formal, cocktail/dinner and dance. I lost count of how many compliments I received on this dress. I think it runs fairly true to size. I typically wear either a 6 or 8 and ordered those two sizes. I have a broader back and ended up wearing the 8 for that reason . There was plenty of room in the waist and could of went with either one. The length is perfect and looks great on the dance floor. Super flattering dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
June 8, 2014
The perfect LBD
The size 2 fit well through the chest and and hit at the perfect spot above the knee, however the arm holes were slightly too small. I would have went with the four, but it was a bit baggy in the chest, so it would have ended up looking sloppy. Overall I was extremely happy with this dress. I mean, come on it's Valentino.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Body type: Full Bust
June 9, 2014
Beautiful dress with amazing features
This dress was everything I've ever wanted in a formal dress for a wedding. It fit PERFECTLY and was so comfortable! Wore it from 2 PM to 2 AM with no trouble at all. Dress runs big, so get a size smaller than you normally would. The 2 fit me perfectly and I normally wear a 4. Can't wait to rent again!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Age: 18
June 13, 2014
Fit perfect, looked amazing. Getting ready for this event was sooo stress free thanks to RTR.
This picture does not do this dress justice at all... But it was gorgeous. The zero fit PERFECTLY! I wore it to a graduation dinner and everyone at the restaurant complimented me on how beautiful I looked. This was my first RTR experience and it was sooo stress free. I had not one complaint about the dress. The bows and full skirt made it look very girly but it was a classy, classic dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
June 14, 2014
Absolutely loved this dress! Got so many compliments on it!
It fit perfectly! I wore a bra with this which made it fit more. Also the bottom is poofy so just keep that in mind when getting this dress. I must say though, this is an amazing dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106lbs
June 16, 2014
Repeat!
I've rented this dress now twice and it's been a winner! Sleek, sexy, classy and memorable!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 140lbs
June 16, 2014
Runs really big on top.
This was my back-up dress and I didn't wear it, but I tried it on and wow did it run big up top. Blousy around the boobs, which is rare for me. Size down.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
June 19, 2014
The perfect little black dress with some flair!
I ordered a 10 and an 8. The 8 fit great. I added a belt to pull in the waist a bit and add more shape. A little pop of color with the jewlery and the look was just what I wanted! The bows on top were flat and unassuming, but a nice little detail. The dress was a bit puffy, but that's what I loved about the look. Came on hanger ready to go in great condition. Totally comfortable and totally perfect for any occasion.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128lbs
June 19, 2014
Cute and comfortable.
The skirt is pretty huge. There's maybe half a yard of poof I could live without - A belt helped reign it in. Otherwise the dress is totally comfortable and hides the less than perfect body zones. And it's kinda plain so it leaves a lot of room for accessorizing.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
June 21, 2014
Audrey Hepburn-esque!
The dress was fantastic. It was a classic but fun little black dress that made me feel like Audrey Hepburn in Breakfast at Tiffany's. The dress runs large, I am normally between an 8 and 10 (lately closer to a 10) and I wore the 6. So order down a size or two. It was so comfortable. The dress is also very easily accessorized and could be dressed up or down. I got a lot of compliments on the dress. I am seriously going to have a hard time sending it back. Really, rent this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
June 23, 2014
I got several compliments from perfect strangers on this dress. So cute!
The fit was right on track. I wore the size I would normally buy. I did wear some tight biking shorts under the dress because the skirt is full and I felt naked. It was beautiful. I would actually love to buy this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
June 24, 2014
Couldn't wear it!
This dress should not be rented by anyone with a larger chest. It is a bit of a sack to begin with so going up a size to fit your chest will just make the dress look super big and baggy. I didn't end up wearing it and had to return it. It is too much fabric for anyone that is petite. I recommend this dress for smaller chested, tall ladies.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
June 25, 2014
Lovely and fancy!
Let me get this out of the way: order a size smaller than you think you should. This dress is large in the waist, and the hips will give you plenty of room. I loved this dress, it was very stylish. I do think it would look best on girls with straighter bodies. When you're already curvy it doesn't accentuate in the most flattering way. That being said, I still think I looked fabulous!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
June 26, 2014
Didn't get to wear it. :(
Runs very large!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 101lbs
June 26, 2014
Nice dress but poor fit
Got this as a back up and did not end up wearing it. Beautiful dress but was bit too boxy looking.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
June 29, 2014
Amazing black cocktail dress for a formal manhattan wedding!
The dress was awesome but runs super big in bodice. I normally would wear a 10-12 dress and the 8 was baggy in the bodice. I think I will rent this dress again but get the 6 next time. What an amazing experience!!!
EmilyJuly 1, 2014
LOVE!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Body type: Petite
June 30, 2014
I received tons of compliments on the dress!
This was my first RTR experience and I will definitely be back for more! The whole process worked out so well from start to finish. The dress arrived right on time and with the help of several reviews, fit me like a glove. I would recommend ordering your size plus a size down because the dress runs a little large.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 124lbs
June 30, 2014
I felt like "Jackie O"
I am busty and this dress fit me like a glove. It was fun, flirty and sexy all in one. I didn't want to return it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
July 7, 2014
Very classy, girly and flattering!
Fit well throughout, loved the skirt! Not too puffy. Nice fabric and good for larger bust women.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Straight & narrow
July 9, 2014
I wore it to a summer soiree. Everyone loved the dress and thought it looked very Carrie Bradshaw!
The fit was true to size. I recommend steaming the bows on the shoulders when you receive it. I had trouble with one of the bows sticking up.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
July 10, 2014
Perfect LBD!
This dress is super cute. It's pretty short, and the skirt is actually really full and poofy, which makes it fun and girly while still being sophisticated. I got so many compliments, I didn't want to send it back!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 150lbs
July 17, 2014
I wish that I had been able to get a smaller size! Otherwise, it was super cute!
It was big in the chest (which never happens) and a little poofier than I thought, but I loved it overall.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
July 21, 2014
Classy black dress
Very cute and flattering but it definitely runs large. The sz 4 wasn't available so I wore the 6 and it was a little big in the waist but I think the 4 would have been too short (I'm 5'10) super comfortable and got lots of compliments. Also rented the necklace which I loved!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
July 21, 2014
I have never got so many compliments in my life besides my wedding day!!!! Felt like a princess!
Fit perfectly, and the dress was an absolute dream!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 133lbs
July 23, 2014
Perfect dress for the gala attended. Was simple yet perfect for dressing up with the right jewelry
I have a bit broader shoulders so it fit snug in the shoulders and the waist was a little loose but not too bad. I would order this dress again without a doubt. I loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
July 24, 2014
So well constructed.
This was the perfect dress for a Catholic wedding. Chic, dressy, just conservative enough. Plus so fun to dance in. I wore a skinny belt to nip in the waist a bit. Can't recommend this dress enough. I think I converted several other wedding attendees to try RTR the night I wore this.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Body type: Hourglass
July 27, 2014
RTR is so much easier than going to a store and buying a dress!
I loved this dress, I would rent it again but in the size four. I'm 5,2" and hourglass shape and it was huge in the waist area. Everyone at the wedding wanted to know where I got my dress and is a get rental.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
July 28, 2014
Sweet and sassy LBD!
This dress is darling! Unfortunately, it was too small for me in the chest. With a large bust and narrow ribcage, I can usually get away with a 2 or XS in a dress; however this one wouldn't even zip past my waist. The satin material made it slightly too dressy for the (outdoor winery) wedding I was attending, anyway. Though the bottom was slightly more poofy than I expected, I loved the sassy skirt and sweet bows on the shoulders!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 108lbs
August 2, 2014
My favorite rental to date!!! I received compliments all night long!
I absolutely loved this dress! Very flattering fit; however, it was a little snug in the arms and chest area. The 2 was unavailable for backup so I wore the 0 despite it being a little tight, and I am glad I did!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
September 17, 2014
Dress was very classic.
I'm glad I ordered the free seconded size. I ended up wearing the size 2. The skirt is really full. Some of the pictures don't show this detail.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
August 4, 2014
Appropriate on so many levels
Was invited as someone's plus one to a wedding where I knew neither bride nor groom and only about 5 other guests, none of whom are female, so needless to say getting advice on what would be appropriate to wear was tough! My date was in the wedding and wore a tux, but it was a daytime summer wedding, so I tried to walk a fine line between formal and fun. This dress was perfect - it's flirty but not revealing in any way, shockingly comfortable, and made of a lovely thick material that kept its shape for a very long day and night. The chest fit better than the middle, so I added a vintage black snakeskin belt with gold details. No other accessories necessary - the dress really does all the talking.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
August 4, 2014
Wonderful LBD!
Great material, very light and forgiving. Skirt is very full. On a taller gal, the fullness may lead to a potentially exposed bum if bending, dancing, turning, etc... But super cute, simple and flattering!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Body type: Hourglass
August 6, 2014
Runs large in the waist and bust area.
The dress was lovely and well made but the fit left much to be desired. The torso/bust area was too large (and I am large chested). I felt very frumpy in this dress and ended up not wearing it.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 72
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 136lbs
August 12, 2014
Vacation in NYC for our 50th wedding anniversary. Dinner and the theatre. Compliments galore!
Dress was darling! Perfect LBD! Steamed out beautifully. Loved the fit, the length was perfect for my 5'3" height, (not nearly as short as model photo!), and was made of wonderful, crisp fabric! Loved wearing it. I did add a very skinny black patent belt to cinch in the waist which was too wide for me. I picked this dress because everyone said it ran large, especially in the bust. I'm a 34DDD, so finding a dress that fits my size 6-8 body while accommodating my bustling is always a challenge. This one fit the bill perfectly!
sarah October 6, 2014
inspired by older women who have fun with style!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
August 17, 2014
Tons of compliments!
Dress runs big, so size down! Lots of compliments on this dress and it's really comfy. Wore it to a banquet and it was perfect!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 33
August 28, 2014
Pretty little black dress
It was very pretty and a good basic lbd with some flair. I loved the bows on the shoulders.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Weight: 160lbs
September 2, 2014
Just ok
Did nothing for my figure, perhaps could have gone down another size. Fun skirt though!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
September 8, 2014
Runs very large
Just a warning that this dress runs very large. I found the fit to be oversize--a lot of space in the bust and waist, which normally would be good, but here seemed stretched out and ill-fitting. I wound up wearing the backup dress I rented instead.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
September 23, 2014
Loved this dress!
This dress was super flattering and is great for you if you normally wear an A-line style dress. It's very comfortable and easy to wear. I wore it for a black tie wedding and it felt more than dressy enough. I am normally between a size 2-4 but really glad I rented the 2 because it was still a little big.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 30, 2014
Poufy Party Dress for a 30th Birthday!
I LOVED this dress - if I could have kept it, I would have. Based on reviews, I ordered the 4 (I usually am a 4 in fit and flare dresses, but usually order up for designer dresses). I might have even been able to squeeze into the 2. In my opinion, this dress looks nicest when the bust of the dress is snug (based on photos). I'm a 32DD or E, and have a 29.5 inch waist, and it fit perfectly, with a little give. I suspect that if I was less busty, the waist would have hit more at my natural waist rather than like an empire. The length was perfect on me, but I'm definitely on the very short side. When it arrived, the back half of the bows were pressed down over the front half so they wouldn't lie flat, but all I had to do was secure the back portion of the bows on the notches of the hanger overnight, and it was fine. Definitely don't bend straight over (not that you would in a dress anyways!) because it's very poufy! I paired it with a metal front belt from ASOS and Kate Spade feather shoes I've had for YEARS and have never had the guts to wear until now. It was a hit!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×