Rebecca Taylor

Work Hard Play Hard Dress

$35 rental
$295 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Have a dinner to go to after a long day at work? Remain stylish wearing this Rebecca Taylor teal, pleated skirt dress. A statement necklace like the Kendra Scott's Grayce Necklace and a fab clutch like the Lauren Merkin's Eve Clutch are all you need to complete this look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection; stretchy fabric allows for comfortable room
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection; stretchy fabric allows for comfortable room
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Teal and grey ponte (75% Polyester, 20% Rayon, 5% Spandex). Cap sleeves. Crew neckline. A-line pleated skirt. Exposed back zipper. Imported. 33” from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

78 reviews

Fit
Small 0
True to Size 59
Large 15
Photos 34
mw
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 25, 2012

Easily transitioned from day to night.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Soooo comfortable. The fabric feels like sweatshirt material and the cut doesn't require any special undergarments. Paired with a long sleeved shirt and flats for day then switched to a blazer and heels for night.
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 15, 2012

It was fun and girly - perfect for a bachelorette party!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I got a 2 and fit a little loose but overall it was great!
KC
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 16, 2012

Loved it!!!!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is amazing! I wore it to an engagement party in October and it couldn't have been more perfect. The dress runs true to size and is very comfrotable...it is almost like a sweatshirt material. You can definitely dress this up or down depending on the occasion.
Rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 22, 2012

Love!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
So cute and comfortable! Fit true to the size I always wear in Rebecca Taylor.
spoknyc
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 23, 2012

Fantastic dress for a work event. Sophisticated and Fashionable.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for an industry event and its perfect! the fit is great, its incredibly comfortable and well designed. it comes to right above my knee, and with black tights, its perfect for a professional yet stylish look.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Oct 23, 2012

Great casual dress--very comfortable

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
Loved this dress. I ended up wearing it twice during my rental period. Once to a birthday party and once just to a lunch with a friend. It would be super cute with a jean jacket and flats. Or wedges and a leather jacket
LA
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98 lbs
Oct 25, 2012

Comfortable dress that goes from day to night

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress fell 2 inches above my knee. The material was thick but very comfortable. The dress was a bit baggy on my petite frame - but worked well enough. I saw a girl with more curves wearing the dress and I thought it looked better on her. I wore it to work with a cardigan and black tights and received many compliments. It transitioned well to an evening cocktail party.
bnh
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Oct 27, 2012

Backup dress.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I might have worn this dress over my other dress but for the waist. It hit my in the wrong spot and made me look like I didn't have a defined waist. The pleats didn't help. Otherwise, the dress was super comfortable. I am short-waisted, so I would recommend this dress to those who are bit more elongated in their torso.
bg1988
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Nov 8, 2012

So many compliments

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Received more compliments on this dress I wore to the rehearsal dinner than my dress as a wedding guest. Perfect for petite girls. So flattering.
Allison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Dec 5, 2012

I would have worn this if the event i rented rented it for was held during the colder months.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for an event in early September to be my back up dress. I'm glad the first choice fit as the material of this dress would have made me so hot and uncomfortable all evening. Also the length is much shorter than I would have thought and I usually never think a dress is short on me since I'm 5"4 . The plus was that it's a great color!
Delphine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 5, 2012

good day to night!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Great dress that you can wear at work and hop to a party in. Runs true to size. Better dress for girls 5'5" and under. Can be a little short for anyone over 5'6".
Dali
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 119 lbs
Dec 9, 2012

Perfect to hide post baby weight

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved it! My favorite thing is that it is reslly short. It made me look skinnier, especially since I just had a baby 7 weeks ago, and I am still 5 lbs over my normal. The skirt hides any extra lbs you might have on your belly. The only thing which is not a big deal is that the sleeves (gray part) is like knit type of fabric.
Brynn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 12, 2012

This dress is amazing.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Seriously, it may not look like much at first glance, but it is the perfect party dress. It not only makes you look teeny, but it is festive and fun. You can wear a normal bra and it is seriously one of the most flattering dresses I've worn.
Lynda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 2, 2013

Fun casual dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress was cute and comfortable. I loved it. It was the perfect dress for my uncle's birthday party.
Camilla
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 5, 2013

Flirty, bodycon, comfy.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
Pretty snug but not in a bad way. Short in a cute way but maybe not for more formal lunch places. Easy piece accessorise to dress it up for casual evening.
DEBORAH
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 137 lbs
Jan 16, 2013

Very cute dress but very short

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This is a very cute dress and very flattering fit. The size 4 fit well but was too short. Someone under 5'5" or under 25 years old would be able to wear it. But someone my age and 6' with heels? no, the dress was way too short, it's too bad because it is very cute. Needless to say I did not wear it.
BD
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 20, 2013

Cute

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Rented the 4 because the smaller size was not available. Was a little big but very cute. Paired it with a leather jacked and it looked great.
Rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 28, 2013

I had compliments all night.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
It was a little big over all but it still worked. The colors are different in real life then in the photo but still pretty. This is a more casual dress, prefect for a party or date.
Lisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Jan 31, 2013

Super cute dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress ended up being a little small for me as I usually wear a size 2, but it still fit fairly nicely. Since I wore it when it was cold, I ended up pairing it with a black cardigan, tights, and some booties. It is a super cute dress though with a lot of attention to detail. I did agree with other reviewers that the pleating by the waist makes the skirt flare out and gives you the illusion of bigger hips. It is also very snug around the middle so if you plan to eat/drink a lot, it may be a good idea to wear some spanx underneath. I liked the other dress I rented for a separate event more, which is why I gave this one a lower rating, but I probably would've liked it the same if I was able to get the size 2 as a backup.
Jessica
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113 lbs
Mar 4, 2013

Very comfortable.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Since it was short (which is what I like since I'm only 5'2") and it flared out, I wore a pair of short spandex running shorts underneath. They kind of worked like my daughter's playground pants that she wears under her dresses. It just gave me a little more security in the privacy area. It was very comfortable and the arm holes were just open enough that they didn't chafe but still didn't show any bra.
Mika
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 26, 2013

Loved the dress. Fit perfectly and was incredibly comfortable! Perfect day to night dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
was the right length, which is hard for someone to find when they are only 5'-0". waist hit at just the right point and the darting on the bodice created really nice lines along the torso.
Denise
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 136 lbs
May 3, 2013

Didnt like it.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I didnt like the way the skirt looked like it needed to be ironed. I don't like to look sloppy.
Joey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
May 28, 2013

Much better in person than in photos!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a rehearsal dinner preceding a wedding. This was my second choice dress between the two dresses I rented, but I ended up loving this one more than the one I wore to the wedding! The dress is very flattering but a little short, so girls on the taller side may want to skip this one. Also - size down a dress size, the 4 was huge on me!
Tiffany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
May 30, 2013

The pleats in the back were the only reason I didn't love this dress.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wanted to love this dress and, out of the two dresses I rented, this was initially my boyfriend's favorite (he later changed his mind based on the con below). Pros - love the color, pairs *perfectly* with Kendra Scott's Grayce Necklace, the pseudo "belt" of color around the waist is flattering, and it looks great with nude pumps. Cons - the thicker material doesn't pleat nicely in the back so it juts out in a ridiculous way. I have a moderately-sized butt but honestly I can't imagine the pleats ever falling nicely unless your butt was nonexistent (i.e., it only looked ok on the hanger). I tried to smooth out the pleats and fold them in to lay nicely but it never quite looked right and I knew the second I sat down anywhere I would have to rearrange everything when I got up. This seemed entirely too high maintenance for me and I knew I would be self-conscious about it all night so I had to go with my backup dress instead. Sadness!
LK
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 7, 2013

Great balance between sensible and playful

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this to a college graduation award banquet. The dress was the perfect balance between formal / respectful and playful. The semi pleated skirt is lovely because it gives the dress a youthful flair and shape. It's a little short than what I am used to (about 2 inches above my knee since I'm short). I usually prefer to wear floor length dresses if the occasion allows it!
Jenna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117 lbs
Aug 8, 2013

Loved this look! Fit great and felt great in it. Wore it to a Christmas party.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit great. Felt great. True to size.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Nov 4, 2013

Fantastic dress but not if you have even a slight midsection!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I received my usual size 6 as a replacement dress for my original rental that was returned damaged. It fit like a glove- unfortunately! This dress is very simple and casual (like I wanted)… the material is incredibly comfortable. The only problem for my body was that the black waistband hit slightly above my natural waist (which was fine) but then the material below is very fitted (right at the love handle area) before it flares out for the skirt portion. Given I have recently put on a little extra weight in my midsection, the fit of this dress highlighted that area! I would not recommend this dress if you have ANY extra skin… this silhouette is definitely for ladies without curves! A gorgeous, casual dress… too bad it didn't work! I must add that RTR was incredibly helpful in assisting me during the whole replacement inconvenience!
Tiffany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Nov 9, 2013

Cute and comfy dress but very short!!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Rented this dress for a casual party and it was a hit. I paired it with a bib necklace to glam it up and received compliments all night. My only complaint is that it is very, very short!! I wore black, opaque tights and it was fine but definitely could not have worn the dress without!
SP
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 2, 2014

Great dress, way too short!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for NYE. The fabric is thicker and stretchy. I was planning to wear black tights and possibly a black long sleeve underneath - the temp was below zero! Unfortunately, the length was too short, I would have had to wear leggings or pants! I am 5'9'' and my tush was hanging out.
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Jan 31, 2014

Only for work if you are 5'2 or a stripper

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wouldn't have even needed to bend over for someone to see my butt. If anyone even walked by and lightly brushed against me there are all my parts to be seen, I like short dresses but this was border lining on being a long shirt!!!!
Morgan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 3, 2014

Simple, classic dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I was looking for a dress to wear for a winter wedding with cowboy boots, and this worked perfectly. I wore the 4, but wish I had ordered the 6 as backup instead of the 2. With the stretchy fabric the 4 worked, but I think I would have been more comfortable with the 6. Length was not too short on me.
Chelsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102 lbs
Mar 4, 2014

perfect same-day rescue dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was an emergency replacement for a dress I received that was damaged. RTR was extremely helpful in sending me a new one free of charge. This dress wasn't my first choice, it wasn't even a second or third to be honest but I loved it. I wore it to a Sunday afternoon bridal shower. Paired it with black tights and black suede booties. It was perfect. I am very short and this dress was a perfect length for me. It fit comfortably in the waist and bust - however it was a little loose around my back/neck. I have long hair that covered it though so it was fine. Like I said, the length was perfect for a 5'1" girl! It wasn't too long that it stunted my height and it wasn't too short that it was inappropriate. Had the weather been nicer I definitely would have skipped the tights. The material is super soft almost like a sweatshirt. It didn't really crease, even in a 40 minute carried and through a 4 hour party! All in all I think this dress was perfect for the occasion and I think it was fate that I ended up with it!
Anne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 30, 2014

Cute for office or daytime

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
Wore this to RTR Capstone weekend! It was perfect for the event. My only cons are that the material is not the best and it runs a little big. Would definitely rent again though!
Jess
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 15, 2014

Legginess

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Super cute fit and flare dress. Gave me some shape. Thick fabric, which was perfect because the weather was a bit cold. Neckline is high but skirt is short, so it's leggy without being too sexy. You could dress it up with heels or dress down with pumps.
Jess
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 19, 2014

Wore this for NYE party- cute, comfortable, and fun

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit was true to size. Dress was on the short side- wore with tights and booties. Material is quite thick so may be best for cooler weather
N
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 30, 2014

A short dress, nice color but not great for tall girls

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
This dress would probably be most flattering on someone shorter and curvier. Overall it's just not flattering and a little awkward on straight & narrow girls. It has a beautiful unique color and a classy cut. The skirt is pretty voluminous, so be prepared for that.
Cara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
May 2, 2014

Perfect for work cocktail party

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress... I felt classy without being overdressed. The material was super comfortable. I would absolutely rent this dress again for a different client function. I also paired it with a black belt and it pulled it all together.
katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
May 6, 2014

Cute, fun dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Stretchy dress, fits great with lots of give. The material is very comfortable and the dress fit great and was true to size. It was a fun dress, can be casual or dressed up. I wore it to my brother's wedding rehearsal dinner and got lots of compliments on it! The detailing around the skirt is very cute.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×