Rebecca Taylor

Noir Dancer Bodice Dress

$50 to buy
$470 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

This black Rebecca Taylor is a sweet summery party option.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout bodice but smocking in back provides some give
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt does not hug hips at all
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model) - curvy women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Black crepe de chine. Sweetheart neckline. Boned bodice for support. Gathered skirt. Exposed back zip. 26" from top of bodice to hem.

Share
102 reviews
Fit
Large
(35)
True to Size
(62)
Small
(5)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 26, 2011
I never cease to be disappointed in the quality of items that they send out. Always impressed.
I recently rented this dress for the fall wedding of a close friend. I am around 5'6", average build, b cup, and usually wear a size 4 or 6 dress. I rented this dress because it looked adorable on the website and appeared to be a decent length. However, when I recieved the dresses, they were much shorter than I had anticipated. Also, because of the stretch on the back side of the dress, it tends to run a bit large, which made me thing that I could have gone for a smaller size so it would fit better in the bodice, but it would not have covered my booty at all. This dress is very flowy, moves very well and very pretty, however, the length left a little to be desired for me. I ended up wearing it with tights and a pair of boy-short shapewear shorts, which worked very well. I love the dress, very much, however, it just was not a good match for me, and I don't think I would end up renting it again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 7, 2012
All my friends loved this dressed. It was the perfect for my private school's prom.
I would order your normal size and the size down. It is a little loose on the bust but other than that I felt so pretty in it. I definitely think you should pair this dress with some statement accessories.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
February 1, 2012
Always love the compliments I receive when I wear RTR!
I really liked this dress. I am usually and 6 and wore the 6, but I think the 4 would have fit a little better because the top half is actually very stretchy. But it looks so cute and made me want to dance. I received many compliments! It can easily be worn dressed up or down. For more pictures, check out the RTRUW Facebook page! http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.318121318230643.72191.227537287289047&type=3
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 55
Body type: Athletic
February 5, 2012
The second size was free!
Both of the dresses are from RTR. My daughter and her friend needed a black or red dress for a cocktail party in the city and they both looked amazing! My daughter normally wears a size 6 or 8 but fit perfectly in the size 4. Also, her friend loved the Catherine Malandrino, Sultry Body-Slimming Shift!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
February 26, 2012
Perfect choice!
I rented this for my school's Homecoming as a junior, and thought it was amazing! I expected it to be a bit stiffer in fabric, especially at the bottom, but the flow of it was absolutely beautiful and moved wonderfully. I would absolutely recommend this! I wore it with red lipstick and black heels and felt like a modern day Audrey Hepburn.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
July 27, 2012
Super cute dress! Loved it!
-Matte, stretchy silk -Super short, but it's very flowy so it's sexy yet classy -It was a little windy and it worked still (no mishaps), but I definitely wouldn't wear it on/near the beach -Top has boning, so no need for a bra if you're small up top -I rented the 2 and 4, and although the 4 fit, I liked the 2 because it fit like a glove on top which balanced out the bottom.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
September 15, 2012
It is a gorgeous dress. Very simple and perfect for any event.
This dress is so lovely. I felt so beautiful it in. It goes with any accessories, and it's perfect for a variety of events. I wore it to my boyfriend's semiformal and I loved it. I never wanted to give it back!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 15, 2012
Fun and Flirty Little Black Dress
Loved this dress! It ran a little big but other than that it was perfect for the event I went to. Would absolutely rent this again.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Body type: Athletic
November 27, 2012
This dress was PERFECT for a big party. I loved the flowy skirt, it made dancing an awesome time!
This dress fit really well and was perfect for the sweet sixteen that I wore it to. It was fitted at the top (but super comfortable because theres a little bit of stretch around the bodice), and was super flowy on the bottom. It was such a fun dress to dance in. I suggest ordering your second size one size down. I am usually in between a 4 and a 6, but this dress was even a little loose in the size 4. I was very happy with the dress overall! It was flattering, comfortable, and I didn't feel like I had to pull it up every 5 seconds!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
January 7, 2013
Classic and beautiful
Was a little large, but who can be mad about wearing a smaller size? The boning in the dress made me appear thinner. The only flaw is that I had to pull it up occasionally.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 20
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 143lbs
January 12, 2013
I got a lot of compliments on it! It was great, a little big for me but I still loved it!
The fit was good, coming tighter through the chest but still having stretch and the length was good also! The dress was a little big and continued to stretch throughout the night, which was a bummer because I had to keep pulling it up, but I got a lot of compliments on it and will be renting more dresses soon!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
March 4, 2013
rented for junior prom it was really comfortable but runs big so definitely go with a size down
comfortable but had to pull up top a lot, wouldnt rent again
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
April 7, 2013
awesome to get 2 sizes, easy return shipping, adorable dress
I ordered an 8 and a 10, and even the 8 felt a little big. However, it was still easy to wear and very comfortable! I loved the double sided tape they sent too! It is loose and flowy on the bottom so it felt short to me because I couldn't feel the fabric touching my legs but it wasn't actually too short. It was great with heels and flats both and super cute/flattering! :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 25
Body type: Athletic
April 8, 2013
Favorite dress I have rented!!
I am obsessed with this dress. It is very flattering, fitted at the waist and then poufs a bit. Perfect for dancing! Definitely size down.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
April 29, 2013
Fun, easy dress
This was my backup dress for prom and I end up wearing the other dress. This dress is very flowy and fun but the size zero was almost too big.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
April 29, 2013
Wanted to love this dress, but it is just too short
This dress is gorgeous. It is flattering and the stretchy sides of the bodice make it a great fit. But I can't get past the length. It's entirely too short. I read other reviews, but thought I could pull it off with my legs. I was wrong. It's just inappropriate and is going back unworn. (Sigh.)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
May 8, 2013
Classy and fitting for every occassion
This is an adorable dress, and I tried it on in stores before deciding to rent for my event. That said, while rent the runway is a great deal, you are not renting a brand new dress off the hanger in a store. I wore the 0, which though still a great dress has definitely seen some wear. There were some snags in the skirt and the bodice was very stretched out from (obviously because it's so cute) being rented many times. Overall, a feminine dress appropriate for almost any event - go down a size if you're normally a two, and don't expect a brand new dress that's never been worn before.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
May 14, 2013
Fun to dance in all night long!
The service was great! Amazing dress for a wedding. It was light and flattering. I ordered the 6 and the 8, I didn't even try on the 8 because the 6 fit perfectly, if not a little bit big. I can't wait to use Rent the Runway again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 114lbs
October 6, 2013
Comfortable and flattering
This dress was exactly what I was looking for for my junior semi. The dress ran large in the bodice and in order to wear it without a bra I went with the smaller size (4) however if I had ordered a 2 I would've gone with that. I am normally a four or a six. This dress is extremely flattering to all body shapes and it's perfect if you want something simple but attractive at the same time. I definitely recommend it.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
November 16, 2013
Loved the dress!
The fit was definitely was flattering! Overall the dress was amazing. However, the top of the dress was EXTREMELY stretched out. The boning in the bodice was popping out due to excessive wear and was really uncomfortable. Would have been perfect if it wasn't so worn out. Definitely size down.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 19, 2013
Everyone kept on giving me compliments about how it fit to my body
Pros: It flattered my body. Cons: ----- I got too much compliments about how beautiful I looked.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 5, 2013
The service is always incredible!
Dress runs big so downsize
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
January 12, 2014
The dress was super comfortable and very flattering! Yet runs a bit large.
The skirt is quite full, but a perfect length and very proportional. It runs a bit large, so the bodice was a bit too large, particularly in the chest. But overall loved it!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 180lbs
March 16, 2014
This was my first time using RTR and I was happy all around!
I wore this to my high school homecoming.The bust area was a bit large so I sized down. It was very flowy! This dress was very flattering in pictures! I loved it! Although it was a bit short so I couldn't exactly bend over if I dropped something.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
March 23, 2014
too big in the top :(
I rented this dress for my junior prom, but when it arrived it was totally stretched out (both the 2 and the 0) very disappointing
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
March 24, 2014
The perfect dress for a crush party!
I absolutely loved this dress. It was perfect for a party that wasn't too formal but I still needed to look put together for. My only complaint was that it ran a little big. I definitly could have used the size 2. I would definitly rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 18, 2014
The service and help was incredible and the dress BEAUTIFUL!
This dress was not my first choice. I ordered one before and it did not fit right so I emailed RTR for help and they sent one the next day! The service and help was incredible! I LOVED how the dress fell and it had this leather feeling to the top half that I really liked. The top however was really big so I would recommend going down a size fro extra support. Also the side of the dress where the corset wire was had already been broken through and kept gabbing me in the side, which hurt after a while.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 20
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 142lbs
September 28, 2014
Perfect for senior homecoming
I loved this dress! I wore it to my senior homecoming. It was a perfect dress to dance in. I rented the size 2 and 4. I ended up wearing the four because I have a bigger bust, and the two felt right on my chest area. Throughout the night, though, I kept having to pull the dress up because it felt too loose around my chest! I would definitely recommend sizing down. Other than that, I had a great experience. Great dress, great quality, great service! This was my first time using rent the runway and I will definitely be using it again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
May 9, 2014
This dress made me look beautiful!
The dress was a little large. I usually wear a size 6, and the 4 was a little big on me. The material was very flattering. I loved the way the skirt hung. It wasn't too tight, but there wasn't so much material that I was drowning in it. This is my favorite dress on RTR>
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
April 27, 2013
The dress was just perfect - Flattery, Fun, Classic. Felt great in it!
I'm usually a 6, but I ordered the 4, based on other reviews that it ran a bit large - and it fit perfectly. I wore it to my law school formal and got a ton of compliments. It was a great dress for a formal event with a lot of dancing. I would definitely recommend it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
September 28, 2013
this dress is perfect and a little jewelry can make it formal.
i rented this dress for homecoming last year and as my homecoming this year is nearing everyone keeps asking me to buy mine and i just proudly say "i dont own it i rented it off RTR". this dress is the perfect simple little black dress and can be dressed up in a few simple ways. i also rented coral pink Kenneth Lane earrings and it went perfectly. this dress is absolutely stunning and i dont think i will ever forget the great experience i had with renting it and wearing it. i wish i owned this dress!!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Body type: Full Bust
October 21, 2013
Everyone loved the dress!
The fit was perfect. I ordered a 4 and 6, but wore the 6 so I could wear a bra and have more support. The 4 would have fit perfectly however without a bra. I got lots of compliments on this dress! It is very comfortable and easy.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
November 3, 2013
I felt elegant and classy!
I love this dress! It was super comfortable and I was able to dance the night away in it! A must have!!!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
February 3, 2014
I paired this dress up with a chunky gold necklace and fun heels!
The dress runs a little large, but it's a little bit short. I am usually a size 4 but the size 2 was a better fit. Great dress! I got a ton of compliments and would definitely wear it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134lbs
December 23, 2014
Poor Fit
I own a similar dress by Rebecca Taylor in a different pattern/color combo, so I thought this black dress would be an easy rental. However, the bust on both sizes I ordered (4 and 6) did not fit properly at all. In fact, the dresses sagged low on my chest, which is strange as I have a larger size bust.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Body type: Pear
July 17, 2012
I received so many oohs and ahhs in this dress. I want to rent it again asap!
This was my backup dress, but it was absolutely adorable. I wore it to my birthday party and received tons of compliments. It was on the short side, but because the dress was flouncy and playful, it was far from skimpy or revealing. The dress had a nice elasticity to it, so it was never falling down. The corset style waist sucked in any tummy problems, and the skirt didn't hit in the hips or butt at all. So, this dress really was flattering. I think it would be good for almost any body type. I love this dress and now want to go out and buy it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 6, 2013
This classic LBD is great to accessorize with!
I wore this to the senior prom as a member of prom committee. It was really easy to fit and didn't move on my body much, which was great considering I was running around all night helping with problems at the prom. The waist and top half are fitted, but the bottom is very loose and it flows........I would recommend wearing Spanx with these just in case the bottom flies up. It's also shorter than I thought it would be. It wasn't a problem, but this is a great dress for shorter girls! Overall, I got many compliments on how it fitted so well and would definitely rent this again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 114lbs
July 31, 2013
I wore it for my birthday party, great to dance in.
It looked different in person than online, fabric was soft cooton-like and not satin-like as it looks in the pic. More casual than formal but fun to dance in and as far as I remember, pretty comfy.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
November 25, 2012
loved it, mega comfy&cute. Matched anything
i married the dress
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
January 5, 2013
A bit small
The dress is very cute, but I have a bigger bust, which was a bit hard to fit into
See more reviews:
1 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×