Meteor Shower Gown

$70 rental
$925 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Look radiant in this Rebecca Taylor meteor shower gown. Its sequin detail and midnight blue color is perfect for a formal wedding or black tie affair. Pair with the kate spade new york's Baguette Bridal Chandelier Earrings to complete this look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size with sweetheart neckline great for accentuating smaller bust sizes
WAIST: Fitted - smocking in back adds stretch to bodice
HIPS: Not fitted - dress has very full skirt
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'1''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7" and taller).

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; dress has built-in structure in bodice
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size with sweetheart neckline great for accentuating smaller bust sizes
WAIST: Fitted - smocking in back adds stretch to bodice
HIPS: Not fitted - dress has very full skirt
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'1''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7" and taller).

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; dress has built-in structure in bodice
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Navy silk. Strapless sweetheart neckline. Silver sequin embroidery. Fitted waist. Pleated skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip.

Share
741 reviews
Fit
Large421
True to Size263
Small12
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
June 25, 2014
Gorgeous dress
The dress runs large- I normally wear a 4, but saw the reviews and ordered the size 2 just in case. I am so glad I did since the 4 was way too big in the bust. The dress is long- I def need heels (as you can tell in the pic since I wasn't wearing heels at the time). I received lots of compliments on the dress and I felt gorgeous in it! It is quite comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
June 25, 2014
This was my backup dress, but it ended up being a winner!
I rented this dress as a backup, but when my first choice was too snug and had awkward bunching, I tried this one on. I normally wear a size 2 in regular dresses and that's what I rented. It fit like a glove. I rarely wear strapless because I feel like I'm constantly pulling it to make sure I'm not exposing anything, but I didn't have to worry about that at all with this dress. Once it was zipped up, it stayed in place all night. It's also incredibly comfortable. The top stretches and the bottom is very flowing, which is fun and makes wearing a dress all night so much more enjoyable. I highly recommend this dress!
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 122lbs
June 23, 2014
Loved the shimmer - the earrings I grabbed from RtR to meet the shipping min were great too.
Fit: I normally wear a 2, but the bodice was too loose and I felt much more secure in the 0. My hips are much larger than my chest, but the loose material left me plenty of room. Length: They didn't have a petite in anything below a 4, so I ordered the regular length. I think 5'5" is just on the cut off for R vs. P ...I only had on about an 1.5-inch heel and the dress *just* touched the ground. If I had a do-over I'd definitely grab higher heels just to prevent tripping over the hem. Condition: A few sequins missing and slightly worn at the hem, but nothing noticeable. Exactly what I expected from a rental dress.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
June 22, 2014
I felt phenomenal in it, dress moved beautifully while walking and dancing. It got many compliments!
I wish it was a bit tighter in the bodice, but other than that, the fit was perfect. The dress doesn't really have a lining on the lower half, so plan to wear nude underwear. The long length was perfect with the shoes I wore.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
June 20, 2014
Loved the dress! Wish it wasn't so long
Dress was really long so I had to hold it the entire night, but it was beautiful and comfortable.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 19, 2014
Perfect for prom, sassy but light and flowy. Couldn't ask for a better dress
Loved the material and it stretches in the back so it fits perfect.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
June 19, 2014
lovely dress - and actually comfortable too.
elegant, with the right amount of bling.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
June 18, 2014
Lovely, easy flowing dress...
I was looking for an easy flowing dress with a lot of give and this was exactly that. It was very comfortable to wear, no Spanx required, give it an enthusiastic two thumbs up. My only critique is that because the back of the dress is elastic, there isn't much support if you have a larger chest. I didn't have any slip ups, but I imagine someone else could easily. Beautiful, elegant dress, loved wearing it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
June 18, 2014
Bust is very roomy, fabric is really sparkly.
I ordered this dress at the last minute to replace another that I ordered from RTR. It is VERY sparkly in person. The bust is very roomy, it was almost falling down and the 6R was way too long - I'm barely petite, but even with 5 inch heels, I was tripping over the hem. Also, when I took it out of the box, I was dismayed because the fabric appeared frayed around the bust and hem, but then on closer inspection, I saw that this was the intentional design of the fabric. On the pro side, my husband liked it and thought it was pretty and flattering.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
June 17, 2014
I had the best dress at prom!
As everyone said it does run large, so i sized down. I wore 5 inch silver heels and the length was perfect. It was roomy in my boob area.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
June 16, 2014
Such a great dress!!
I wore this for a Mardi Gras ball and loved it! It ran a little large in the bust, so I'm glad I got a size smaller. With 3 inch heels the 6L fit perfectly because of it's length. I got a ton of compliments on the dress and felt absolutely beautiful.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 134lbs
June 16, 2014
Lots of compliments!
Great dress. This was actually my back-up that was over-nighted to me when my original fell through. I am 5'9" and wore flats, and the dress just skimmed the ground perfectly. Only con was having to pull it up in the front most of the night - but as I am pretty flat-chested it may be better on more endowed women. It definitely runs large - order a size down as your second choice!
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 14, 2014
Such a fun dress!
Runs large, I went with the smaller size. Lots of material so great for dancing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
June 14, 2014
Elegant & Comfortable
I wore this dress to a company gala and it was absolutely perfect. It stretches in the back so the bust was just right for me, however, even though it was the regular length, it ended up being too long for me and I had to use temporary tape for the evening (this may have been an issue for the previous owner as well, as the bottom of the dress was frayed). Other than that, it was a fantastic choice.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
June 13, 2014
Amazing dress!
This was a last minute swap dress for my original choice that was way to small. SO happy they had this one, though. The fabric is incredibly flow and soft. It seemed a bit sheer which worried me, but there is so much volume, you can't see through it. It does run small, so go down 1 size. Even the regular was very long on me, so short girls be warned! I definitely will be renting this dress again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
June 13, 2014
The dress made me feel amazing.
I wore this dress to my senior prom and it was absolutely amazing. It was just different enough from everyone else's and I got compliments all night. The dress is a gorgeous navy blue (although, the size I didn't end up wearing is closer to the color in the description picture) and has the perfect amount of sparkles. The only issue I had was on length: I'm 5'6" and got the regular length, I had been planning on wearing heels but it was too short to wear any heel more than an inch. The smaller size I received (2R) that I expected to fit better had been slightly stretched out on top and had obviously been hemmed (my guess is just because of wear) so it was too short for me with even flat sandals, and looked a little worn. This was disappointing, however the 4 worked out nicely with the help of a little fashion tape for extra security. I'm small busted and was pleased with how well this dress worked in the chest area (the way it's shaped even gave me the tiniest bit of cleavage which I didn't even realize was possible). This was my first experience renting and overall it was fabulous. I saved so much money and I got a dress I really loved!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130lbs
June 13, 2014
Beautiful unique formal ballgown!
I wore this dress to a black tie gala. This dress is really unique and eye catching. I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 because some of the sequins were falling off a little bit and the material up top was a little frayed. But it wasn't too long or too low cut! Very comfortable and breezy- I felt like a million bucks!
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
June 13, 2014
The dress was beautiful and fit perfectly
This dress was perfect for my prom. I worried that it might've been too small but luckily it fit perfectly. The skirt runs long (I'm 5'7" and I wore 4 in heels). Other than that, this dress was perfectly and I would highly recommend it
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
June 12, 2014
This Dress is and Eye-Catcher! Got non-stop compliments....
I don't get to dress up too often, but wearing this dress made me feel like a princess. The subtle sparkle caught the light differently with every turn, and the best part was how it flowed when I walked. It was like my feet never touched the floor. The dress definitely ran on the longer side but a pair of 4-5" heels fixed that. Overall, I had no issues keeping the top up without and fashion tape, but I think that is all you would need if you had any issues with it staying in place. The dress is light and airy but constructed beautifully! I would wear this dress again in a heartbeat! (and that says a lot since I hate wearing dresses more than once...EVER) I would recommend this dress to anyone... SO Flattering :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 18
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
June 11, 2014
I love this dress! I wore it to prom and am 10000% satisfied withmy rent the runway experience.
I am 5'9.5 and a usual dress size 2/3. The dress fit perfectly and I didn't have to pull it up once. I ended up not wearing the neclace(shown on the model and my 2nd photo) to prom because it didn't fall right and I felt like the lowest piece kept ending up inbetween my boobs. I also decided last minute not to wear heels so the size 2 long touched the floor a little bit but didn't stop me from dancing! It would have worked with heels for me too. I love the color and the silver sequins! Overall the dress qas exactly what I wanted it to be.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
June 8, 2014
Amazing black tie wedding!
This dress runs large, so make sure you get a size smaller than your normal size. I ordered an 8 and 6 and ended up wearing the 6. It is also a lot fuller than I expected, which I thought made my bottom half look a little larger than I wanted. There is no support in the top, so make sure you have a good strapless bra. I am 5'5" and the regular length was perfect with 3 inch heels.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
June 6, 2014
Elegant and flattering - truly shimmer when you walk
This dress fit like a glove - not too long with 3 inch heels and the bodice has a good amount of stretch to it (so I would recommend choosing a size down for your second choice) Wore with Nicole Romano Crystal Tears of Joy Earrings
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
June 6, 2014
Beautiful dress, but a bit large
I ordered a 2 and a 4 because I am normally a 4 but read reviews that the smocked back on some of the dresses were loose or stretched out. I ended up wearing the 2 and had to use fashion tape to keep it up because the smocked back was pretty stretched out. The 2 was noticeably lighter in color (more worn? lots of dry cleaning causing it to fade?) than the 4. The 4 was VERY long compared to the 2, so even though the 4 looked better in color, the 2 fit in length and stayed up with the tape. Sigh. I wanted to love this dress but it was a bit of a pain. Looked great, though!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
June 5, 2014
VERY flattering!
Super flattering!! I would say that it runs true to size because I usually wear between a 0 and a 4 depending on the brand, and after talking to a stylist I thought 2 would be safest. I ended up pinning the top sides in a bit just for some security, but it ended up being a great dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 20
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133lbs
June 5, 2014
The dress was absolutely gorgeous! I received complements the entire night.
I loved this dress for prom! The dress is the exact color that is shown on the model. The fabric has a light feel to it and flows perfectly. The dress was a little long, which meant I had to hold my dress to dance around. This dress runs big so definitely size down for it to fit your bust properly. This dress was a perfect pick for prom! I would definitely recommend Rent the Runway for any occasion.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
June 4, 2014
Got compliments all night!
Gorgeous dress! I ordered it for my senior prom and wasn't sure what to expect the material to be like based on the pictures, but the fabric is comfortable, thin and the dress was not heavy at all. I ordered a 2R because a 0R was not available, and the dress fit everywhere except the bust which I expected. I used a strapless bra and fashion tape and it was fine. I'm 5'4" and with 3 inch heels the dress was about the right length. I would like to point out that the under-wiring in the top of the dress on the sides was starting to come out toward the end of the night but otherwise, I absolutely loved it and will definitely be renting from RTR in the future!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
June 4, 2014
I got so many compliments on this dress! It was a little long since I'm only 5'3.
Pro- fit great around my chest and was super comfortable material! Con- it was to long for me. When I walked I had to pick up the dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 20
June 4, 2014
Everyone complimented my dress. People loved it! They were so surprised when I said I rented it!
It flows, so it was really comfortable. While my friends were being careful of what they ate, I wasn't worrying about it because my dress wasn't form fitting. The fabric was also thin! Being a 75 degree day, everyone was burning up. It was so nice to have a thin dress so I could bear the heat! I loved my dress overall, but the one thing was the bottom had a lot of frill and strings hanging out that got caught in my heels. That was the only issue I had. Other than that, I love rtr and I'll definitely be using it again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
June 4, 2014
Perfect dress for a formal event!
Very comfortable. The size runs large and I ended up wearing a size smaller than I normally am. I had forgotten to pack the double sided tape which was my only regret - the dress was a little worn and the top kept folding over. Otherwise I loved it and received compliments all night.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
June 3, 2014
Before we even got to the venue random people stopped me and admired the dress!
The top is fitted and the bottom of the dress is lose fitting. The fabric is light and even though there was a lot of it on the bottom I had no problem dancing all night. Also, the top fits so nicely that I didn't need a bra. The dress photographs amazing! I'm so happy with this pick!!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
June 3, 2014
Felt like the belle of the ball!
I wore this to my husband's cousins wedding. I can't even count how many compliments I got throughout the night. This dress was beautiful and super comfortable! I would have been interested to see what one size smaller would have look like, but either way I couldn't have been happier.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 132lbs
June 3, 2014
A gorgeous dress that made me feel really special.
It fits perfectly - stretchy back helps it to be comfortable and a lot of material on the bottom makes it flow very nicely.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
May 31, 2014
gorgeous dress, received many compliments!!
arrived perfectly on time in good condition, loved the dress both the 2 and 0 fit fine, ended up wearing 0 because length looked better
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
May 31, 2014
Stunning dress. Easy to wear & received tons of compliments!
I loved this dress!! It was a light-weight material without feeling cheap. It fit slightly big but I lost weight so probably needed one size smaller . Overall very happy and can't wait to rent again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 159lbs
May 31, 2014
It was my step daughters wedding! The dress was perfect.
The size 8R was worn too many times and the bust was stretched out. Fortunately the dress runs big and the 6 fit perfectly. I
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
May 30, 2014
Pretty, but ill fitting
I typically wear a 0 or 2, and I had read that this was a large fitting dress, but unfortunately the 2R was the smallest size available for the date. It did not fit at all - any movement made the dress slide down. I was planning on pinning it back, but the scrunched up fabric on the back made that impossible. I'd say that if you are particularly petite, you plan on getting a different dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 29, 2014
Loved the flow, fun and comfortable.
Runs large, but still fun.
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
May 28, 2014
Sparkle, flow and class - everything you need in a dress!
I usually take a size 4 and a 6 into the dressing room as I'm a 4 up top and a 6 around the hips. Wearing the 4, I had to pull it up a bit throughout the night and my sticky bra ended up making an appearance in a couple of pictures, but overall it was very comfortable and flowed beautifully. I'm very happy I went with a long size. The dress was the perfect length in a pair of 3"-3.5" heels. I am also wearing the Slate & Willow Crystal Peacock Drop earrings.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 28, 2014
Every girl wants to sparkle...This dress is everything!!!
I ordered a 4R and 6R. I'm generally a size four, but sometimes my chest size is too big for size 4's so I size up. The 4R fit perfectly. The back of the dress has elastic ruching, so it gave a little. I wore Vans instead of a formal shoe only because I wanted to dance all night without my feet hurting. I would say the dress was 1-2 inches too long, but if I wore a heel it would have been just right.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
May 27, 2014
Not obnoxious sequins + flowing fabric = perfect
This dress isn't lined which surprised me. I didn't need a slip or bra though. It ran really big and I wish I had gotten a 0. I managed to keep it up with fashion tape. It is the most gorgeous dress on the planet and you will not regret renting it. If I had $1,000 to spend on this dress, I would in a heartbeat. I had the best dress at my prom. I had the best dress out of every girl at prom ever! Haha. I loved it.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
7 / 19

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×