Rachel Roy

White Tex Dress

$120 to buy
$470 retail
Stylist Notes

Give that LBD a break and freshen up your style with this dress by Rachel Roy. Perfect for any cocktail event. You can keep accessories simple and elegant for formal occasions or have fun with some pops of color!

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable fit throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

White textured crepe(96% polyester; 4% elastane). Boat neckline. Three quarter sleeves. V back. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
167 reviews
Fit
Large
(54)
True to Size
(95)
Small
(7)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
April 22, 2014
I received a ton of complements! Wore it to my bridal shower for a formal luncheon.

Photos don't do the dress justice-Looks much nicer in person! Runs large, I am usually a 6/8, rented a 4/6 and wore the 4. The sleeves give it a different look, it made the dress very unique.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
April 29, 2014
Sad to let this dress go! LOVED it!

This dress was amazing. I was looking for a very specific kind of dress to wear to a military function that was classy but not boring and it was totally perfect! I am usually an 8/10 and since I rented last minute the 8 (or 6) wasn't available so I rented a 10 and a 4! According to the reviews I knew it ran large and probably needed a size down. I ended up wearing the 4 which made this new momma feel really good! =) It was just tighter and the 10 was a little too big. The 6 would have been perfect! I will definitely rent this dress again! I even looked how much it would be to buy it but couldn't find it.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
June 11, 2014
Runs VERY Large!

I loved this dress online, but in person it was not what I was expected. I usually wear a size 6 and the 6 was huge on me! Very baggy in the arms and stomach. My size 4 backup dress wasn't any better; it was also too large. A size 2 probably would have fit perfectly but after seeing the material of the dress in person I didn't care for it. It is much thicker/heavier than expected. Would be great for a winter event, but not an outdoors, summer party.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
July 28, 2014
Cheap material.

The material of this dress wasn't nearly as nice as I thought it would be.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 165lbs
December 29, 2013
Flattering to fuller figures & extremely comfortable!

I loved this dress! I wore it for my Arizona winter elopement. I normally wear a size 14 and the 12 fit me like a glove. I have fuller arms and have a hard time finding sleeves that fit. I was really pleased how well the arms on this dress fit, without any bunching or pulling. I paired the dress with a Badgley Mischka Tie the Knot belt for a little bling and felt without it, I looked a little shapeless. The dress does require a standard strapless bra (shoulders are modestly exposed by the neckline) but the overall hug of the fabric was just right and I didn't feel I needed any type of shape wear. Like others have mentioned, you can go all day in his dress (dancing, sitting, standing, walking) and still look like a million bucks. I would call the color of the fabric a winter white, and the added bonus of the graceful fabric texturing (and lightweight lining) makes this dress truly classic and sexy at the same time. You won't regret renting this lovely dress! Thank you, RTR!

View photos (2)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
September 28, 2014
Very elegant dress. Sleeves great for cold weather and still classy enough for a formal event

I'm not sure why people wrote true to fit. It runs at least one, but closer to 2 sizes large. I usually wear a 0 or 2 in dresses (depending on designer or US vs. EUR sizing. I am quite petite, but any stretchy dress I can usually fit into without problem. I accidentally ordered two size zeros and both were entirely too large to wear, even with a belt (aka it wasn't just stretched out). Sad because the dress would have been perfect for my wedding after-reception dress. It was one of the only sleeved dresses I could find to still be warm for cold weather. I was pleasantly surprised when it arrived as the fabric is way more elegant in person than online! Too bad it ran so large!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
March 21, 2014
Very Chic!

I wore this dress the morning after my wedding at our send-off brunch. It was the perfect dress for the event! I normally wear a size 4 or size up to a 6, so I was nervous when RTR could only send me the 2. They did send a few other back-up dresses in other sizes, but I was able to where this and didn't need them in the end. The material of the dress is thick and textured, but it also has stretch. It looked lovely with RTR's Dress Me Up pearl necklace.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 3, 2015
Nice dress, but runs way big.

I am usually a 4/6 and the 4 was way too big, especially if you have a small waist.

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
January 6, 2015
awful dress fit

I rented this dress for my civil ceremony on 12/31. the fit is AWFUL! the top and the bottom of this dress are not proportionate at all. I normally wear a an 8. I rented an 8 and a 10. They were both HUGE on the top. The 8 fit way too tight at the bottom and was way too big on top. The 10 was too big on the bottom and even bigger on the bottom. Even the sleeves were huge. It was supposed to be a boat neck but was falling off my shoulders. I ended up having to go to the mall the night before my ceremony to find a back up dress. It was awful.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
February 23, 2015
Loved this dress! Great shape.

Rented the 6 and the 8 and ended up wearing the 6. Tighter fit was more flattering around the arms, where it's a little baggy through the shoulder and arm pit area. Dress has great texture, and the V back dresses it up for a party instead of the office.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
March 25, 2015
I love RTR and have always gotten a dress I love, but this was the first dress i didn't even wear

Hated, looked HORRIBLE on me. The sleeves are kind of bulky and my fiancé thought I looked like a grandmother.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
April 9, 2015
Pretty dress but a little weird

I rented this dress for my birthday and it was ok but the fit around my torso was really weird. It kind of hung under my arms. I wore it anyways because the rest of the dress fit great, but I would probably not rent it again.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
May 4, 2015
Amazing!

I wore this dress to my bridal shower in March. It was perfect! I receieved so many compliments. I'm pretty sure a lot of ladies will be RTRing for the wedding after hearing about how great and easy it is to rent a dress!!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113lbs
June 25, 2015
I wanted to wear a professional white dress for a photoshoot to put on my website.

I'm usually a size two so I ordered a 0 as my backup size after reading the reviews. The size 0 was huge! I couldn't wear it for the pictures as the dress made me seem larger due to the bulk.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
April 27, 2016
Very Comfortable, Tons of compliments!

I wore this recently for my bridal shower. It was an overnight dress after my first choices didn't fit. It was PERFECT!! I'm a bit broader up top (triangle shaped) and it was wonderful. I normally wear a size 10, but a 8 fit perfectly with plenty of extra room. I likely could have worn a 6 actually. Would order again, and am considering renting it for my rehearsal/rehearsal dinner as well. Comes to the knee. I got tons of compliments.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 30DDD/E
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
July 27, 2012
Wore the dress for my bridal shower. Fiance loved it!

I saw another RTR member's photo from her bridal shower in this dress and fell and love. I also chose to wear this dress for my bridal shower and got tons of compliments. The dress was beautiful, but I think it may run large. I typically wear a 2 or a 0. My sister who is slightly taller and curvier than me tried the dress on after the shower because she was curious to see how it fit her and it looked even more amazing on her (she normally wears a 4 and the 0 fit her).

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
November 19, 2012
Wore this for my rehearsal dinner, runs a little large but was comfortable and not "too bridal"

I rented this dress for my rehearsal dinner and was a bit nervous. I did not want something too white/bridal and definitely wanted something comfortable. I ordered the size 0 and size 2 and ended up wearing the size 0. It was a little tight on my hips and thighs (I am a little curvier in those areas but nothing some spanx can't fix) but perfect on the top. The sleeves do have a strange baggy area under your armpits so be mindful of this when taking pictures. The fabric is pretty thick and I dressed it up with some black pumps and chandelier earrings.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
November 21, 2013
Loved this dress- wore it to a charity event, super comfortable & elegant

The dolman sleeves make for a little more room in the chest/bust, so for me it was the perfect fit! I thought the skirt length would be a little shorter as per the model photo, but overall greatly satisfied with picking this dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 9, 2013
Amazing dress - absolutely perfect!

I ordered this dress for my company's holiday party, which had a "white party" theme. This dress was perfect! It was form fitting enough to be fun and a little sexy, but was conservative enough for a work party. I chose to purchase the mystery bling and received a pair of gorgeous Kate Spade earrings. I finished off the outfit with a pair of purple/magenta Jessica Simpson pumps, which gave the outfit a splash of color. The dress definitely runs a little large and I ended up wearing the 2, which was my back up size. I was so thrilled with my first time experience with Rent The Runway and am looking forward to another opportunity to use them!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
December 28, 2013
I rented this for my rehearsal dinner and it was perfect; I received a lot of compliments!

I usually wear a 4 in dresses and based on the reviews of this running large I ordered a 4 and 2. I ended up wearing the 2 and it was perfect. Because of the looser fit of the dress I added the belt to cinch in the waist a little bit more. Similar to other reviews it was a little hot but I wore it in December so I did fine!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
January 11, 2014
My husband thought I looked stunning in this dress!

The dress had a cool texture, has long sleeves and is comfortable for all day wear. I am normally a size 2, but could have easily worn the size 0, as they both fit me. I chose to wear the size 2 mainly because i was wearing the dress for my wedding, and I didn't want to be the overly sexy bride in the size 0 - I preferred the more relaxed look of the size 2. Note - the boat neck is super cute, but is a bit loose in the shoulders and bodice area.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 63
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
December 6, 2012
RTR is always so helpful when ordering my rentals! Love the girls on the phone!!

I rented this dress for a Holiday party but didn't wear it because the top and sleeves were too big on me. I am petite so If you are also, this may not be the best choice. I called RTR and mailed it back...simple! I look forward to my next rental.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
July 6, 2013
Perfect

Wore for my bridal shower. It is very classic and elegant while being somewhat sexy. Would definitely recommend. I normally wear a size 4 or 6 but neither were available for this, so I ordered a 2 which was actually perfect so seems to run a bit large.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
October 10, 2013
Frumpy

Dress ran a bit big. Wasn't a fan of the material. Glad it was a back-up dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
December 9, 2013
Great clean, polished look.

Great for a curvy girl, but you want this fitted but not tight.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
August 13, 2012
Engagement photos!

I rented a size 2 and 6 in this dress (the 4 was unavailable). The 6 was big on me, and the 2 was a bit snug so the 4 would've been perfect. I wound up wearing the 2 and it still worked out great! The material has a really nice texture to it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
October 15, 2012
so perfect!

I'm usually a size 2, but the 0 fit perfectly!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 17, 2012
Very classy dress

This dress was a little tight for my hips, even in a 12. I usually wear an 8 or 10. If you have larger hips, size up. I styled this dress with a nude patent skinny belt, nude fishnets, nude patent heals and large thick gold hoops. I wore it to a white party in the winter and it was perfect. The neckline is very flattering.

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
December 8, 2013
I wore this for a children's Christmas Party. It was very comfortable and fashion forward.

It was nice to rent a white dress because over time, white does not hold up well. There were no stains and there were new tags on the one I wore. It did fit tight in the bust, hence I wore the size 2.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 16, 2014
Not my favorite...dress looked a little worn

I really thought it was too big in shoulders and tight around rear

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 168lbs
April 7, 2015
I rented this for my bridal shower.

It was a little snug and the fabric was thin, so you definitely need spanx or something to smooth it all out underneath. The material is nice. Sort of like a seersucker without the stripes.

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
August 20, 2015
Fit very small

Gorgeous dress but I definitely should have gotten a larger size.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
May 12, 2016
I sized down and regretted it

I ordered a size down based on the other reviews and regretted it. It was much tighter than I expected and I didn't feel comfortable wearing it like that because of the thin material and short cut. I would say it is true to size, except for the dolman sleeves, which is just part of the style, not something you can size for really. If I ordered it again, I would probably go up a size from my normal 8. The material is textured and stretchy, but not forgiving of anything on my hourglass shape. I never wore it out of the house but I had rented it to wear to a fancy mother's day brunch.

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
January 3, 2012
friends, prosecco and rachel roy.

I wore this dress out on New Year’s Eve and received so many compliments! Since I was in a party setting (and also one where I wanted to make an ex-boyfriend jealous), I used accessories like a gold glitter clutch and large gold earrings to make the outfit classy and fun. Fit a little loose in the upper arm and chest area so I added a brown, braided belt to draw attention towards my waist. I felt elegant all night and the ex-boyfriend felt like a fool - great start to 2012!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112lbs
February 14, 2012
The earrings pulled the whole look together perfectly!

I rented this dress for my boyfriend's birthday dinner. It arrived early the morning of my first rental day (which was nice). The material reminded me of an 80's wedding dress and I wasn't happy, especially for the $100 fee. It was not the quality of Rachel Roy I'm used to seeing. I ended up wearing it so as not to waste my money. It fit well throughout the bottom, but the bust/armpit area was a little bit big. I would definitely recommend this site and try it again myself!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
April 16, 2012
Elegant and Unexepcted!

I can't say enough good things about this dress. The fit was so flattering, and the color and texture were so unusual. I got so many compliments! It's pretty fitted through the waist and skirt, but looser in the arms and bust area.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
June 25, 2012
Holiday Party Success!

Nothing is classier than a great white dress!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 117
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
July 6, 2012
The White Party

I wore this dress to a party on the beach. Love the fabric and the fell. Hippie women should consider sizing up.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
August 9, 2012
Getting hit on by British soccer players in this dress. That's a compliment!

I wore this dress to a work event where I needed to look professional, but also had plenty of guys to impress and would be in the dress for about 12 hours. Needless to say, this dress did the job! Both sizes (6 and 8) fit me. I wore the 8 during the day when I was running around as it was a little bit looser in the hips/stomach. I wore the 6 at night so it would hug in all the right spots. The fabric is unique--it definitely has an 80's esque texture, but I liked that it was different. Wish all the pictures I had in it were better. The top is definitely looser than on the model--but for someone busty, it made things a lot easier. The fabric isn't sheer either. I would buy this.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
August 13, 2012
so so dress

The dress looks a little better in the photo. Perhaps it was just the one I received but it looked faded and not bright white like this picture.

See more reviews:
2 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×