Rachel Roy

Pencil Me In Sheath

$35 rental
$428 retail
Stylist Notes

This Rachel Roy little black dress designed with an asymmetrical hemline is a simple yet a sexy style to wear to your next social event! Shown here with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Polished Crystal Drop Earrings and Kenneth Jay Lane's Polished Crystal Ring for a pinch of glam.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted – Fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted – stretchy material allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black crepe (100% polyester). Cap sleeves. Asymmetric neckline. Straight skirt with mesh insert at waist. Asymmetric hem. 41” from shoulder to hem. Hidden side zipper. Imported.

Share
109 reviews
Fit
Large
(0)
True to Size
(70)
Small
(17)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
November 18, 2015
Great dress!

Comfortable, classy but flattering and a little sexy. Thought it would be too long on me, but it ended up working great. Highly recommend for weddings and occasions where you want to look nice but not too sexy.

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 30
December 15, 2015
Simple, elegant dress.

Wore to a black tie preferred event and fit right in with the crowd. Elegant, easy to wear dress that only needs earrings and black pumps. Sheath cut out and angled cuts adds a little character.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
May 15, 2016
Great dress! One of those that looks even more amazing on than in the photo or on the hanger.

I wore this dress on a girls trip/Mother's Day vacation to Bermuda. My girlfriends said it was so stunning on me that I had to buy it!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
October 10, 2016
Beautiful dress

Beautiful dress, ran tight through the rib cage

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 23, 2017
Received quite a few compliments!

The dress fit just as expected.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
February 7, 2017
Sexy and classy!

This dress was sooo flattering! I felt like a million bucks! I really wanted to order the size 6, but it wasn't available, so I risked getting the size 4. It fit well and I definitely pulled it off, but I feel a 6 would've been just a tad more comfortable. The mesh accent is the perfect amount of sexy while staying elegant. I would want to own this dress!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
December 6, 2012
It's a nice dress, but not "bump friendly".

I loved the neckline and wore this to a formal dinner. It went over well with everyone there, but I was hoping it would be a little more "bump friendly". I think it was put into this category because it is black. Also, the black slit thing is mesh, so it hardly shows any skin color at all. But overall, I got a lot of compliments so I was satisfied.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
December 12, 2012
Modest but still sexy! Not your standard LBD

I wore this dress to my husband's JAOBC Blues Reception and LOVED IT! The mesh panel is not nearly as noticeable in person as it is on the model. I was comfortable in it all night and received lots of compliments-- I definitely recommend it as it can be worn for many different occasions!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
January 14, 2013
Perfect Fit. Husband loved it.

I rented this my backup dress, but the fit was so perfect I couldn't not wear it. Very flattering, great thick material. Very comfortable. Great for a tall girl - the asymetrical slit on the bottom is very fun and flattering. I wish I had taken more pictures!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117lbs
January 25, 2013
Great for a professional reception!

The size 2 although it fit me it was somewhat tight. The size 4 fit nice below the waist, and was somewhat loose at the top, but it still looked nice. Sorry no photo.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 157lbs
January 30, 2013
Classy!

This dress is comfortable, sexy, and easy to wear. Felt great in it!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
February 6, 2013
So many compliments on this dress! I felt pretty but also professional and confident.

It's conservative enough to wear to a work function (which I did), but the details are flirty enough that you don't feel like you're constricted like you so often are in a boxy shift. The only problem I had with it was that the pencil-like skirt was slightly restrictive when it came to getting into or out of a car.

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
February 10, 2013
Awesome!

Great dress, looks exactly like the picture, although the sheer panel was barely noticeable which was fine with me. I am a first-time renter and I am very pleased with the quality of the dresses-there was not a spot or a snag on any of them; all had dry-cleaning tags on them. If you've never rented before take a chance-you won't be sorry! I got tons of compliments on this dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 171lbs
February 20, 2013
Very stylish for a rehearsal dinner!

I loved the cut of this dress! I normally wear a 10 or 12 depending on the designer and tend to have thicker thighs so I went with the 12 and it's a good thing I did. The skirt of the dress was form fitting but definitely not too tight - I could move easily. Because I went with the 12, the midsection was a little looser than needed but since the dress was solid black, it wasn't obvious. I did wear Spanx with it. The sheer part in the side wasn't very noticeable but the dress still looked and felt great! I would recommend this dress for a more stylish party!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
March 5, 2013
Due to UPS error, I was not able to wear this dress.

I ordered both a 4 and 6 for this dress. Unfortunately, UPS lost the package and RTR only had a 4 in stock. I received the dress in time for the event but it was too small in the bust. The size 6 probably would have fit me, which at the time, was probably true to size. I do rate RTR customer service '5 stars', though! They did their absolute best to get me the dress on time and were also timely in refunding me for the whole purchase when I contacted them about the replacement dress not fitting. I will definitely try RTR again!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
April 8, 2013
Wore this for my anniversary date.

Very flattering cut, the upper waist/rib cage area was a bit tight and the mesh part sort of folded up when I was seated but not noticeable since it is so dark. Just remember there is mesh there if you are going to wear any slips/spanx, black or beige is not noticeable but you would see any other color.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
April 26, 2013
The dress is very flattering. I received a lot of compliments. Nice quality.

The asymmetrical cut works well. It was a little hard to zip, but fine once on. The sheer panel is not very sheer, so this was fine for a work event.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 48
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 29, 2013
Classy, but nothing special

Unless you are standing within 10 feet of this dress, it really only look like a standard little black dress. The cut out mesh is barely noticible. I'm 5'7" and 135, the 8 fit perfectly.

Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 57
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 147lbs
May 2, 2013
Very user friendly website, great price, great convenience. Will definitely do this again!

I was undecided to get the 8 and 10 or the 10 and 12. The 10 was the best fit overall with just a little big of looseness around the waist and the shoulders (one shoulder slipped off on occasion). The sheer panel is not noticeable at all, but you do need to think about what undergarments you want to wear to avoid peekage through the panel. Got lots of compliments. Very classy, sleek look. The fit was tight through the abdomen, so I didn't need spanx, but it was very comfortable. The full body picture makes it look like it wasn't form fitting, but that's just the shadows from photography, it's very form fitting, but not in a bad way. The close up of the upper body shows how it lays on your body. The asymmetrical cut is very flattering. There is some gappage in the under arm area, where if you move your arm a certain way you can see the side of your bra, but again, just wear black and it's just a minor flash from time to time, no one noticed. The return was so easy, I couldn't believe it. Just slip both dresses in the bag and drop off at a UPS store or drop box.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
June 29, 2013
Absolutely stunning - classy and refined.

Wore this for a black-tie work event. The dress was very tight, but it looked fantastic and I could still move around in it. Got tons of compliments. The mesh side panel is not very noticeable and the length was perfect, right at the knees on me (5'5"). I would say the top portion was the best part of the dress. It's an incredible neckline without being revealing.

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115lbs
October 28, 2013
Clean, flattering fit. Enough unusual asymmetrical lines to be an eye catcher.

All pros. Fit snug around waist which was flattering. Enough room in the sleeve and bust area to allow free movement.

Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 3, 2013
Being the most elegantly dressed lady in the room.

I love this dress! The fabric is very nice- with some weight to it. The dress drapes beautifully. The mesh panel at the waist as a bit of sexy but isn't too flashy. The asymmetrical neckline and hem line give the dress a modern twist. I would definitely rent this dress again. I wore it to a tasting dinner at a restaurant owned by a celeb chef. I was invited as VIP media and the dress definitely conveyed the VIP part. I opted for the size 10 because of my bust size. The fabric has a bit of give to it so the dress fit fine everywhere else- meaning going up a size due to bust size doesn't compromise fit elsewhere.

Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 73
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
March 27, 2015
Superb fit, extremely elegant

the best

Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 48
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
November 12, 2013
Snug in the hips

Gorgeous dress, but was too snug across the hips.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 60
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
January 8, 2014
My back up plan almost stole the show

I selected this dress as a back up and absolutely loved it. I decided to wear my first choice over this one only because I wanted a bit more glam which I got with my first choice. This dress fit perfectly, I am full figured and busty. The dress was slimming and had a lovely ease to it. I can see it working well for most body types. The asymmetrical neckline was lovely.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
February 4, 2014
A little edgy

The cutout with the asymmetrical neck and hemline make this a cool LBD. My hip to waist ratio is practically obscene, so fit is always a concern, but it wasn't an issue in this dress.

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
February 15, 2014
Classy, but nothing special

I agree with a previous review - it was a classy dress, but it' really nothing special. Do not rent if you love the sheer cut out - it is barely noticeable. Very good quality and a nice shape, but not sexy at all - more like my church dresses. I recommend it for taller girls. Very tight around the rib cage, and tough to zip up. Overall, just a pretty dress, but a great experience. I am looking forward to renting my next one!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
March 19, 2014
Classy and sophisticated LBD!

I felt really comfortable and classy with a post-pregnancy body in this dress. I could easily wear it dressed up, but also wound up throwing on a dark denim jacket because it was chilly -- and it didn't look bad!

Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 68
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 147lbs
March 30, 2014
looked fantastic, felt great!

Fit was perfect, wore with red shoes and red purse for an AM wedding, formal but not too much for this early in the day.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 122lbs
April 4, 2014
I wore this dress to a black tie work related function. It was the perfect dress!

Pros-Striking asymmetrical neck and hem line. The dress is effortless elegance. Cons-Recommend wearing some type of spanx for stomach area and heels for shorter gals. I never wear heels, but a newly purchased pair of 4" heels made the outfit so much better.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
April 23, 2014
Elegant but sexy

OK, so selfies are not my strong suit, but I felt like a million bucks in this dress. It just fit like a glove, and made my figure look fabulous, yet it wasn't showing a ton of skin. My husband took me to a very nice restaurant and the symphony that night - he even wore his tuxedo, and with me in this dress we were quite a pair.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
May 7, 2014
Sleek silhouette!

This dress was elegant and unique. High quality fabric, beautiful draping across the chest. It's unusual cut/angles turned out to be very flattering, though it was more snug than I would have liked at the hips.

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 54
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
May 9, 2014
Great classy look

Basically true to size. A little tight in the hips but a larger size would have been too big on top. Length was fine surprisingly since most things are too long for me. Wore this to a black tie optional affair and it was fine. Dressed it up with accessories.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
June 10, 2014
Classic LBD

The mesh slit at the middle of the torso wasn't very noticeable. The draping and asymmetrical cut made the classic LBD more unique.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
June 23, 2014
A little black dress with personality

The dress was wonderful. The small sheer side piece and uneven hem give the dress a bit of flair. The sleeves are just a bit awkward, but certainly didn't distract from the overall appeal of the dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 6, 2014
Sophisticated

I wore this to a cocktail awards dinner for a professional conference. It was a winner!!! I had so many women stop me and describe me as a fashionista. The mesh panel at the side was not very noticeable; this may be due to my brown skin. But it didn't need the mesh panel to be sophisticated and very curve friendly. The asymmetrical hem added interesting lines to the dress, and the material was definitely high end. I will be renting this one again! I wish I could buy it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
August 6, 2014
I was disappointed with this dress.

It looked very boxy on, and just did not fit right. I did not end up wearing it.

Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 152lbs
August 22, 2014
This dress was classy and I got lots of compliments on it!

There isn't a lot of extra room near the bottom, so I had to be careful getting in and out of the car. It fit a little loose in the mid section and the side sheer panel wasn't noticeable. I like that I was able to wear a regular bra with it. I am 5'8 so it may seem long on anyone shorter!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
September 8, 2014
This was for an afternoon formal wedding

Great dress. Good fit and very comfortable for a wedding.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Pear
Weight: 158lbs
October 25, 2014
Sophisticated LBD (killer fit for pear shaped women)

This is a *great* dress for pear shaped women. The design of the arms creates the illusion of a balanced top & bottom. The asymmetrical, sharp V-neckline is dramatic & sexy without being too revealing (excellent for professional as well as personal events). I wore a size 8 (didn't get another size in this dress, so can't compare the fit differences between sizes), and was lucky that the dress' waistline hit at my own, the curves over the hips and butt hit at the right places. [Since women's dress sizes vary, I'll give some additional measurements to help others decide what size to order: 14-1/2" collarbone to waist, 19" collarbone to top of hip, 26" collarbone to widest part of thigh, 28" around waist, 35" around widest part of belly, 36-1/2" around at hips, 39-1/2" around both legs at widest part of thigh.] The dress was fitted, but not sausage-like. The material was heavy enough that there could be room in the stomach (yay! comfortable sitting down) without there looking like there was extra room across the stomach. The angled hemline has a slight slimming effect on the legs, cutting across the knees, but mainly it's an interesting detail (like the neckline) which saves the dress from being dowdy. You can't see it in any of the pictures, but at the high side of the hemline, there is an additional 2" slit. It's helpful to be tall because of the length of the dress. Heels make a dramatic difference. If you're looking for a similar fit, but shorter hemline, search this site for one of the Black Halo Jackie O dresses (RTR should always have one in their inventory because of its killer fit). As others have mentioned, you really don't notice the see-through panel in the dress in normal or low lighting.

View photos (3)
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×