Rachel Roy

Pencil Me In Sheath

$35 rental
$428 retail
Delivery + Return Dates
Learn More
Stylist Notes

This Rachel Roy little black dress designed with an asymmetrical hemline is a simple yet a sexy style to wear to your next social event! Shown here with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Polished Crystal Drop Earrings and Kenneth Jay Lane's Polished Crystal Ring for a pinch of glam.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted – Fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted – stretchy material allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black crepe (100% polyester). Cap sleeves. Asymmetric neckline. Straight skirt with mesh insert at waist. Asymmetric hem. 41” from shoulder to hem. Hidden side zipper. Imported.

Share
98 reviews
Fit
Large
(0)
True to Size
(64)
Small
(15)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
February 10, 2015
Comfortable and Fashionable
I rented this dress for my husbands company party. It fit well and was very comfortable. The sleeves are a little frumpy looking, almost like they had some repairs done to them, but I assumed that is how the dress was designed. It has a high slit but it doesn't show too much. I felt classy and fashionable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 220lbs
January 16, 2015
Lots of compliments!
This dress is sophisticated with a dash of sexy with the asymmetry and mesh cut out. I was really nervous that the dress wouldn't zip but it did and it actually fit really nicely. It was a little tight but that's because I usually wear a size up to be comfortable. It was nicely tight though because it kind of pushed everything in. The big thing was that I needed to be able to sit since I was at a work awards ceremony. The necklace and earrings were also from RTR! I would rent again for sure, especially after I lose a bit more weight.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Weight: 155lbs
December 16, 2014
Arrived on time.
Wore this to a Christmas dinner party at work. Beautiful dress! I felt dressed up without being over dressed. Received many compliments on this dress! The side zipper is hard to pull up and I had to ask someone for help.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
December 15, 2014
Loved this dress! I received tons of compliments on it and felt pretty glamorous.
Fits true to size, very comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 57
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 15, 2014
Looked great and I received many compliments
I had this dress delivered to my hotel and wore this dress to a business party in Las Vegas. The dress fit perfectly and the fabric is durable enough so there is no need to wear shape-wear. I felt like a million bucks.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 13, 2014
not just the perfect LBD...but one with edge
I typically wear an 8 or 10 but find myself in a size 12 when wearing a more tailored dresses. The 10 fit but was just a bit too snug for my liking. The 12 still hugged my curves but gave me the room I needed to dance in and last all night. Loved the quality and feel of the fabric. This was a very well made dress. Wore it to my office holiday party and it was a perfect fit! Received several compliments too. Felt great wearing it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
November 20, 2014
Simple and Chic
A classic dress with a little flare perfect for my formal charity event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
November 7, 2014
This dress got rave reviews from everyone!
This dress fit like it was made for me. I'm scouring the internet, right now, trying to find one that I can buy. It's elegant, incredibly comfortable, sexy but not "revealing." The asymmetrical neckline & hem make it stand out from your typical LBD. The crepe fabric has enough give that I didn't feel corseted, and the whole look just worked well. Highlighted my best features, minimized the features I usually worry about.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
November 4, 2014
Love the asymetry!
Fun and a little different than your standard LBD. The sheer panel is not at all noticeable, however. The 8 was pretty snug in the hips on me, but the 10 I was swimming in. Loved the asymmetrical style in the neckline and hem.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185lbs
November 1, 2014
A little on the snug size.
This was a beautiful dress. I loved the material and the overall fit but it was a bit snug for a dinner party and I decided not to wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
October 25, 2014
Sophisticated LBD (killer fit for pear shaped women)
This is a *great* dress for pear shaped women. The design of the arms creates the illusion of a balanced top & bottom. The asymmetrical, sharp V-neckline is dramatic & sexy without being too revealing (excellent for professional as well as personal events). I wore a size 8 (didn't get another size in this dress, so can't compare the fit differences between sizes), and was lucky that the dress' waistline hit at my own, the curves over the hips and butt hit at the right places. [Since women's dress sizes vary, I'll give some additional measurements to help others decide what size to order: 14-1/2" collarbone to waist, 19" collarbone to top of hip, 26" collarbone to widest part of thigh, 28" around waist, 35" around widest part of belly, 36-1/2" around at hips, 39-1/2" around both legs at widest part of thigh.] The dress was fitted, but not sausage-like. The material was heavy enough that there could be room in the stomach (yay! comfortable sitting down) without there looking like there was extra room across the stomach. The angled hemline has a slight slimming effect on the legs, cutting across the knees, but mainly it's an interesting detail (like the neckline) which saves the dress from being dowdy. You can't see it in any of the pictures, but at the high side of the hemline, there is an additional 2" slit. It's helpful to be tall because of the length of the dress. Heels make a dramatic difference. If you're looking for a similar fit, but shorter hemline, search this site for one of the Black Halo Jackie O dresses (RTR should always have one in their inventory because of its killer fit). As others have mentioned, you really don't notice the see-through panel in the dress in normal or low lighting.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115lbs
October 20, 2014
The dress was fantastic. It was my first time to use RTR and I was very impressed!! Everyone loved!
The size zero was too tight around my chest, the size two fit perfectly!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 58
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
October 14, 2014
So many compliments! even from my husband!
Size 12 was a little more comfortable, but arm holes gaped open to show side of bra. yuk! Went back to 10, was tight in the ribcage, difficult to zip up. Overall I was very happy!!
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 55
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 175lbs
October 2, 2014
Great cut and sexy. Terrific for dancing!
Very body-con. I found it runs small because I usually wear a 10 but it didn't fit and the 12 was really form fitting on me (thank you Spanx!). And I am running a couple pounds UNDER weight!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
September 25, 2014
sexy little black dress!
i'm definitely more top heavy so the dress was a little tighter in the bust area. i usually wear a 10 and my girls barely fit into the 12. its a side zipper (usually a problem for bigger chests). however, it was amazingly sexy and fun! i loved it otherwise!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
September 8, 2014
This was for an afternoon formal wedding
Great dress. Good fit and very comfortable for a wedding.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 152lbs
August 22, 2014
This dress was classy and I got lots of compliments on it!
There isn't a lot of extra room near the bottom, so I had to be careful getting in and out of the car. It fit a little loose in the mid section and the side sheer panel wasn't noticeable. I like that I was able to wear a regular bra with it. I am 5'8 so it may seem long on anyone shorter!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
August 6, 2014
I was disappointed with this dress.
It looked very boxy on, and just did not fit right. I did not end up wearing it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 6, 2014
Sophisticated
I wore this to a cocktail awards dinner for a professional conference. It was a winner!!! I had so many women stop me and describe me as a fashionista. The mesh panel at the side was not very noticeable; this may be due to my brown skin. But it didn't need the mesh panel to be sophisticated and very curve friendly. The asymmetrical hem added interesting lines to the dress, and the material was definitely high end. I will be renting this one again! I wish I could buy it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
June 25, 2014
Beautiful, subtly sexy LBD
Fit: True to size. The 10 fit me perfectly without spanx. Pros: Classy, subtly sexy. I got a love of compliments on the sheer cut out in the midsection. Interesting neckline. Flattering length (hit me just above the knee). Cons: Weird sleeve length, not quite a cap sleeve.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
June 23, 2014
A little black dress with personality
The dress was wonderful. The small sheer side piece and uneven hem give the dress a bit of flair. The sleeves are just a bit awkward, but certainly didn't distract from the overall appeal of the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
June 10, 2014
Classic LBD
The mesh slit at the middle of the torso wasn't very noticeable. The draping and asymmetrical cut made the classic LBD more unique.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
May 9, 2014
Great classy look
Basically true to size. A little tight in the hips but a larger size would have been too big on top. Length was fine surprisingly since most things are too long for me. Wore this to a black tie optional affair and it was fine. Dressed it up with accessories.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
May 7, 2014
Sleek silhouette!
This dress was elegant and unique. High quality fabric, beautiful draping across the chest. It's unusual cut/angles turned out to be very flattering, though it was more snug than I would have liked at the hips.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
April 30, 2014
Chic dress that received a ton of compliments.
Con: tight up top but a little loose at the hips. Pros: chic!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
April 23, 2014
Elegant but sexy
OK, so selfies are not my strong suit, but I felt like a million bucks in this dress. It just fit like a glove, and made my figure look fabulous, yet it wasn't showing a ton of skin. My husband took me to a very nice restaurant and the symphony that night - he even wore his tuxedo, and with me in this dress we were quite a pair.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
April 7, 2014
The neckline of this dress added extra flare to the LBD. Rave reviews!
Loved this dress! Fit great overall. I'm top heavy, so it was a close fit. Totally forgot about the sheer panel. Not noticeable, for those conservatives, like me.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 122lbs
April 4, 2014
I wore this dress to a black tie work related function. It was the perfect dress!
Pros-Striking asymmetrical neck and hem line. The dress is effortless elegance. Cons-Recommend wearing some type of spanx for stomach area and heels for shorter gals. I never wear heels, but a newly purchased pair of 4" heels made the outfit so much better.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 66
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 147lbs
March 30, 2014
looked fantastic, felt great!
Fit was perfect, wore with red shoes and red purse for an AM wedding, formal but not too much for this early in the day.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
March 19, 2014
Classy and sophisticated LBD!
I felt really comfortable and classy with a post-pregnancy body in this dress. I could easily wear it dressed up, but also wound up throwing on a dark denim jacket because it was chilly -- and it didn't look bad!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 152lbs
February 20, 2014
Classic yet original
I wore this to work all day and got away with the sheer panel (not very noticeable but give it JUST enough edge), then to a formal cocktail affair in San Francisco. No wrinkles; it wore very well for some 10 hours total! The hemline is just gorgeous -- very unique. I wore my hair up & changed in to sparkly earrings to make it a bit more formal and it did the trick. A woman told me I was the best dressed person there... and this was a high society event. Would definitely recommend.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
February 15, 2014
Classy, but nothing special
I agree with a previous review - it was a classy dress, but it' really nothing special. Do not rent if you love the sheer cut out - it is barely noticeable. Very good quality and a nice shape, but not sexy at all - more like my church dresses. I recommend it for taller girls. Very tight around the rib cage, and tough to zip up. Overall, just a pretty dress, but a great experience. I am looking forward to renting my next one!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
February 4, 2014
A little edgy
The cutout with the asymmetrical neck and hemline make this a cool LBD. My hip to waist ratio is practically obscene, so fit is always a concern, but it wasn't an issue in this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 59
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
January 8, 2014
My back up plan almost stole the show
I selected this dress as a back up and absolutely loved it. I decided to wear my first choice over this one only because I wanted a bit more glam which I got with my first choice. This dress fit perfectly, I am full figured and busty. The dress was slimming and had a lovely ease to it. I can see it working well for most body types. The asymmetrical neckline was lovely.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
December 22, 2013
Perfect for the office party, but watch out for the zipper!
My first choice of dress was out to order for my office party so I got this one instead. What was great for me was the angular nature of the neckline and skirt which had a great way of distracting your eye and hiding the imperfections. The mesh part was opaque, not sheer so it was conservative enough to wear to an office even. I would have worn an 8 but the rib cage (not bust) was a bit on the tight side, (kids!) so wore the 10 instead. Watch out for the zipper, its sticky and good foundation garmets are a must. I used the Commando high-waist brief which was perfect. Definitely would wear this one again.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 3, 2013
Being the most elegantly dressed lady in the room.
I love this dress! The fabric is very nice- with some weight to it. The dress drapes beautifully. The mesh panel at the waist as a bit of sexy but isn't too flashy. The asymmetrical neckline and hem line give the dress a modern twist. I would definitely rent this dress again. I wore it to a tasting dinner at a restaurant owned by a celeb chef. I was invited as VIP media and the dress definitely conveyed the VIP part. I opted for the size 10 because of my bust size. The fabric has a bit of give to it so the dress fit fine everywhere else- meaning going up a size due to bust size doesn't compromise fit elsewhere.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
December 2, 2013
Classy
Not really for pear shapes. I had to go up a size & pad my bra. It is perfect for tall women.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
November 12, 2013
Snug in the hips
Gorgeous dress, but was too snug across the hips.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115lbs
October 28, 2013
Clean, flattering fit. Enough unusual asymmetrical lines to be an eye catcher.
All pros. Fit snug around waist which was flattering. Enough room in the sleeve and bust area to allow free movement.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 157lbs
July 29, 2013
Absolutely perfect!
I rented this dress for a black-tie wedding on a summer Saturday evening. I loved the way I felt, and it was very easy to dance in this dress. It has enough detailing -- the asymmetrial top, the mesh in the middle, the slit on the bottom -- to make it more just a basic little black dress. I added some earrings and a necklace to dress it up for the wedding. It also skimmed me in all the right places, and I found it to be very flattering. A very classic and versatile dress.
See more reviews:
2 / 3
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×