Rent the Runway

Rachel Roy

Pencil Me In Sheath

$35 rental
$428 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This Rachel Roy little black dress designed with an asymmetrical hemline is a simple yet a sexy style to wear to your next social event! Shown here with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Polished Crystal Drop Earrings and Kenneth Jay Lane's Polished Crystal Ring for a pinch of glam.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted – Fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted – stretchy material allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted – Fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted – stretchy material allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black crepe (100% polyester). Cap sleeves. Asymmetric neckline. Straight skirt with mesh insert at waist. Asymmetric hem. 41” from shoulder to hem. Hidden side zipper. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

71 reviews

Fit
Small 11
True to Size 52
Large 0
Photos 27
Brittany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 12, 2012

Modest but still sexy! Not your standard LBD

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress to my husband's JAOBC Blues Reception and LOVED IT! The mesh panel is not nearly as noticeable in person as it is on the model. I was comfortable in it all night and received lots of compliments-- I definitely recommend it as it can be worn for many different occasions!
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 167 lbs
Jan 30, 2013

Classy!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is comfortable, sexy, and easy to wear. Felt great in it!
Angela
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 171 lbs
Feb 20, 2013

Very stylish for a rehearsal dinner!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved the cut of this dress! I normally wear a 10 or 12 depending on the designer and tend to have thicker thighs so I went with the 12 and it's a good thing I did. The skirt of the dress was form fitting but definitely not too tight - I could move easily. Because I went with the 12, the midsection was a little looser than needed but since the dress was solid black, it wasn't obvious. I did wear Spanx with it. The sheer part in the side wasn't very noticeable but the dress still looked and felt great! I would recommend this dress for a more stylish party!
Diana
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 54
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 147 lbs
May 2, 2013

Very user friendly website, great price, great convenience. Will definitely do this again!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was undecided to get the 8 and 10 or the 10 and 12. The 10 was the best fit overall with just a little big of looseness around the waist and the shoulders (one shoulder slipped off on occasion). The sheer panel is not noticeable at all, but you do need to think about what undergarments you want to wear to avoid peekage through the panel. Got lots of compliments. Very classy, sleek look. The fit was tight through the abdomen, so I didn't need spanx, but it was very comfortable. The full body picture makes it look like it wasn't form fitting, but that's just the shadows from photography, it's very form fitting, but not in a bad way. The close up of the upper body shows how it lays on your body. The asymmetrical cut is very flattering. There is some gappage in the under arm area, where if you move your arm a certain way you can see the side of your bra, but again, just wear black and it's just a minor flash from time to time, no one noticed. The return was so easy, I couldn't believe it. Just slip both dresses in the bag and drop off at a UPS store or drop box.
Nish
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Apr 7, 2014

The neckline of this dress added extra flare to the LBD. Rave reviews!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress! Fit great overall. I'm top heavy, so it was a close fit. Totally forgot about the sheer panel. Not noticeable, for those conservatives, like me.
Katy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Apr 23, 2014

Elegant but sexy

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
OK, so selfies are not my strong suit, but I felt like a million bucks in this dress. It just fit like a glove, and made my figure look fabulous, yet it wasn't showing a ton of skin. My husband took me to a very nice restaurant and the symphony that night - he even wore his tuxedo, and with me in this dress we were quite a pair.
Dee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Jun 10, 2014

Classic LBD

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The mesh slit at the middle of the torso wasn't very noticeable. The draping and asymmetrical cut made the classic LBD more unique.
Katherine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155 lbs
Jun 25, 2014

Beautiful, subtly sexy LBD

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit: True to size. The 10 fit me perfectly without spanx. Pros: Classy, subtly sexy. I got a love of compliments on the sheer cut out in the midsection. Interesting neckline. Flattering length (hit me just above the knee). Cons: Weird sleeve length, not quite a cap sleeve.
Jae
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 6, 2014

Sophisticated

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this to a cocktail awards dinner for a professional conference. It was a winner!!! I had so many women stop me and describe me as a fashionista. The mesh panel at the side was not very noticeable; this may be due to my brown skin. But it didn't need the mesh panel to be sophisticated and very curve friendly. The asymmetrical hem added interesting lines to the dress, and the material was definitely high end. I will be renting this one again! I wish I could buy it.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 6, 2014

I was disappointed with this dress.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It looked very boxy on, and just did not fit right. I did not end up wearing it.
Erika
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 152 lbs
Aug 22, 2014

This dress was classy and I got lots of compliments on it!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
There isn't a lot of extra room near the bottom, so I had to be careful getting in and out of the car. It fit a little loose in the mid section and the side sheer panel wasn't noticeable. I like that I was able to wear a regular bra with it. I am 5'8 so it may seem long on anyone shorter!
shay
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 8, 2014

This was for an afternoon formal wedding

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great dress. Good fit and very comfortable for a wedding.
Ryann
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 25, 2014

sexy little black dress!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
i'm definitely more top heavy so the dress was a little tighter in the bust area. i usually wear a 10 and my girls barely fit into the 12. its a side zipper (usually a problem for bigger chests). however, it was amazingly sexy and fun! i loved it otherwise!
Melinda
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 54
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Oct 2, 2014

Great cut and sexy. Terrific for dancing!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Very body-con. I found it runs small because I usually wear a 10 but it didn't fit and the 12 was really form fitting on me (thank you Spanx!). And I am running a couple pounds UNDER weight!
Tracey
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 56
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Oct 14, 2014

So many compliments! even from my husband!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Size 12 was a little more comfortable, but arm holes gaped open to show side of bra. yuk! Went back to 10, was tight in the ribcage, difficult to zip up. Overall I was very happy!!
Melon
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115 lbs
Oct 20, 2014

The dress was fantastic. It was my first time to use RTR and I was very impressed!! Everyone loved!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The size zero was too tight around my chest, the size two fit perfectly!
K
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Oct 25, 2014

Sophisticated LBD (killer fit for pear shaped women)

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This is a *great* dress for pear shaped women. The design of the arms creates the illusion of a balanced top & bottom. The asymmetrical, sharp V-neckline is dramatic & sexy without being too revealing (excellent for professional as well as personal events). I wore a size 8 (didn't get another size in this dress, so can't compare the fit differences between sizes), and was lucky that the dress' waistline hit at my own, the curves over the hips and butt hit at the right places. [Since women's dress sizes vary, I'll give some additional measurements to help others decide what size to order: 14-1/2" collarbone to waist, 19" collarbone to top of hip, 26" collarbone to widest part of thigh, 28" around waist, 35" around widest part of belly, 36-1/2" around at hips, 39-1/2" around both legs at widest part of thigh.] The dress was fitted, but not sausage-like. The material was heavy enough that there could be room in the stomach (yay! comfortable sitting down) without there looking like there was extra room across the stomach. The angled hemline has a slight slimming effect on the legs, cutting across the knees, but mainly it's an interesting detail (like the neckline) which saves the dress from being dowdy. You can't see it in any of the pictures, but at the high side of the hemline, there is an additional 2" slit. It's helpful to be tall because of the length of the dress. Heels make a dramatic difference. If you're looking for a similar fit, but shorter hemline, search this site for one of the Black Halo Jackie O dresses (RTR should always have one in their inventory because of its killer fit). As others have mentioned, you really don't notice the see-through panel in the dress in normal or low lighting.
Lisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185 lbs
Nov 1, 2014

A little on the snug size.

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This was a beautiful dress. I loved the material and the overall fit but it was a bit snug for a dinner party and I decided not to wear it.
Jess
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Nov 4, 2014

Love the asymetry!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fun and a little different than your standard LBD. The sheer panel is not at all noticeable, however. The 8 was pretty snug in the hips on me, but the 10 I was swimming in. Loved the asymmetrical style in the neckline and hem.
Miss S
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Nov 7, 2014

This dress got rave reviews from everyone!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fit like it was made for me. I'm scouring the internet, right now, trying to find one that I can buy. It's elegant, incredibly comfortable, sexy but not "revealing." The asymmetrical neckline & hem make it stand out from your typical LBD. The crepe fabric has enough give that I didn't feel corseted, and the whole look just worked well. Highlighted my best features, minimized the features I usually worry about.
Courtney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Nov 20, 2014

Simple and Chic

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
A classic dress with a little flare perfect for my formal charity event.
Elyssa
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 13, 2014

not just the perfect LBD...but one with edge

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I typically wear an 8 or 10 but find myself in a size 12 when wearing a more tailored dresses. The 10 fit but was just a bit too snug for my liking. The 12 still hugged my curves but gave me the room I needed to dance in and last all night. Loved the quality and feel of the fabric. This was a very well made dress. Wore it to my office holiday party and it was a perfect fit! Received several compliments too. Felt great wearing it.
Elena
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Dec 15, 2014

Looked great and I received many compliments

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I had this dress delivered to my hotel and wore this dress to a business party in Las Vegas. The dress fit perfectly and the fabric is durable enough so there is no need to wear shape-wear. I felt like a million bucks.
RTR Customer
Dec 15, 2014

Loved this dress! I received tons of compliments on it and felt pretty glamorous.

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Party
Fits true to size, very comfortable.
Sophie
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Weight: 155 lbs
Dec 16, 2014

Arrived on time.

Size worn: 10
Rented for: Party
Wore this to a Christmas dinner party at work. Beautiful dress! I felt dressed up without being over dressed. Received many compliments on this dress! The side zipper is hard to pull up and I had to ask someone for help.
Christine
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 196 lbs
Jan 16, 2015

Lots of compliments!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is sophisticated with a dash of sexy with the asymmetry and mesh cut out. I was really nervous that the dress wouldn't zip but it did and it actually fit really nicely. It was a little tight but that's because I usually wear a size up to be comfortable. It was nicely tight though because it kind of pushed everything in. The big thing was that I needed to be able to sit since I was at a work awards ceremony. The necklace and earrings were also from RTR! I would rent again for sure, especially after I lose a bit more weight.
G
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Feb 10, 2015

Comfortable and Fashionable

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for my husbands company party. It fit well and was very comfortable. The sleeves are a little frumpy looking, almost like they had some repairs done to them, but I assumed that is how the dress was designed. It has a high slit but it doesn't show too much. I felt classy and fashionable.
LaTonya
Usually wears: 10
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 157 lbs
Feb 11, 2015

Great dress but runs small!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I rented this to wear for my parents' 40th anniversary celebration. I normally wear a size 10 or 12 depending on the cut. I'm not sure what I was thinking when I ordered this dress, but I ordered a size 10 with no backup size. I could get the dress on, but could not fully zip it. I asked my mom to try it on and she normally wears a size 8 (but could probably fit a size 6) and it fit perfectly on her, so she ended up wearing it. She got plenty of compliments that night. Overall, it was a great dress but it runs a tad small, so keep that in mind when ordering. I would definitely get a backup size to be safe.
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 55
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 18, 2015

A Perfect Little Black Dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This fit like a glove in the 6, I am a 32F bra so that can be a challenge, but this didn't smoosh me in the least,I wore this to a Hollywood Awards ceremony and had many people comment on it, it's stylish, beautiful neckline and really comfortable, my first RTR experience was perfection and will be using again. If you need a dress that is elegant , rather than flashy, and has enough details to make it edgy and more interesting than a basic LBD then pick this one, I will rent it again no doubt.
anna
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 70
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145 lbs
Mar 27, 2015

Superb fit, extremely elegant

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
the best
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170 lbs
Mar 29, 2015

Not for the short-waisted

Size worn: NONE
Rented for: Other
Tough fit for a pear shape, but a beautiful dress I still considered wearing despite fit.
Laurie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Mar 29, 2015

Perfect for formal cocktail party.

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Formal Affair
First time to use RTR and was so glad I did. I usually wear a 6 or 8 dress but the bottom was a little snug in the 6. The 8 fit perfectly. If you're a pear, like me, go with the bottom size. The top drapes beautifully and both the 6 and 8 fit at the top.
MiMi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 1, 2015

Angelic angle cuts everywhere!

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Other
This dress used angles to define each are of interest. It calls attention to the neckline with the angular drape. The waistline has a sexy cutout covered in chiffon. The legs scream for attention in this dress as the lower angle exploits the sexiness of the legs. Show off your assets in this sexy demure number.
Alyssa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Apr 9, 2015

Only ok

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Other
This would be a good dress to wear to a funeral. Thats all I could think as I wore it. I got a lot of compliments on it, but it was huge on me, hit me in a weird way at the waist so the sheer panel looked strange and the hem hit me below the knee. The shoulder detail that makes the dress also kept slipping since I have narrow shoulders, and with a clinic jacket it looked like it had no straps on that side of the dress. In reality rhe dress was really just huge on me and needed to be tailored to fit correctly.
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 153 lbs
Apr 23, 2015

Narrow on bottom

Size worn: NONE
Rented for: Other
One of the select few rentals I haven't been able to wear. I ordered a size 12 and it was huge on top and way too tight in the hip. I'm pretty solidly hourglass (leaning toward pear) and this is just not for girls like me. If you're big on top and little on bottom then go for it!
Sara
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 24, 2015

Great dress! Love how simple and also elegant. Can go with your regular bra.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress is a little tight in the bust area so I wore 1 size up and it fit perfectly.
Meaghan
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148 lbs
May 3, 2015

Amazing dress for a formal affair.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wore this dress to a black tie optional fundraiser. I usually wear a size 8 but I'm curvy. The size 8 fit but the 10 gave a bit more breathing room so I went with that. Lots of compliments . . . wish I could keep it!
SD
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
May 7, 2015

Classic for dinner out

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It fit comfortably and there was even room to hide post-dessert pouch. Classy LBD.
Tiara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190 lbs
May 17, 2015

Truly elegant, but tough for busty gals

Size worn: NONE
Rented for: Party
Fabric has no give at all, so not a lot of forgiveness for ladies with large busts. I could only zip it up to about my rib cage. If ribs/bust are ever problem areas for you, do yourself a favor and either order up or find a dress with a stretchier and more forgiving fabric.
Ally
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
May 21, 2015

I wore this dress to my master's graduation ceremony and then to a nice dinner at the Signature Room

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I got both a size 6 and 8, and ended up going with the bigger size simply for comfort reasons. The dress was classy and elegant, but still sexy. Perfect LBD.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×