Rachel Roy

Pencil Me In Sheath

$35 rental
$428 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This Rachel Roy little black dress designed with an asymmetrical hemline is a simple yet a sexy style to wear to your next social event! Shown here with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Polished Crystal Drop Earrings and Kenneth Jay Lane's Polished Crystal Ring for a pinch of glam.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted – Fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted – stretchy material allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted – Fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted – stretchy material allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black crepe (100% polyester). Cap sleeves. Asymmetric neckline. Straight skirt with mesh insert at waist. Asymmetric hem. 41” from shoulder to hem. Hidden side zipper. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

65 reviews

Fit
Small 9
True to Size 50
Large 0
Photos 25
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Dec 6, 2012

It's a nice dress, but not "bump friendly".

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved the neckline and wore this to a formal dinner. It went over well with everyone there, but I was hoping it would be a little more "bump friendly". I think it was put into this category because it is black. Also, the black slit thing is mesh, so it hardly shows any skin color at all. But overall, I got a lot of compliments so I was satisfied.
A
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 146 lbs
Dec 12, 2012

The dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was really great. It looked awesome and fit well. I wouldn't hesitate to rent this dress again. If you are considering renting from this website, stop considering and do it! It's been a flawless experience for me. They are quick to ship, easy to return and helpful to deal with.
Tamara
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Jan 14, 2013

Perfect Fit. Husband loved it.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this my backup dress, but the fit was so perfect I couldn't not wear it. Very flattering, great thick material. Very comfortable. Great for a tall girl - the asymetrical slit on the bottom is very fun and flattering. I wish I had taken more pictures!
Irina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117 lbs
Jan 25, 2013

Great for a professional reception!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The size 2 although it fit me it was somewhat tight. The size 4 fit nice below the waist, and was somewhat loose at the top, but it still looked nice. Sorry no photo.
Arielle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Feb 6, 2013

So many compliments on this dress! I felt pretty but also professional and confident.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It's conservative enough to wear to a work function (which I did), but the details are flirty enough that you don't feel like you're constricted like you so often are in a boxy shift. The only problem I had with it was that the pencil-like skirt was slightly restrictive when it came to getting into or out of a car.
Laura
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 10, 2013

Awesome!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great dress, looks exactly like the picture, although the sheer panel was barely noticeable which was fine with me. I am a first-time renter and I am very pleased with the quality of the dresses-there was not a spot or a snag on any of them; all had dry-cleaning tags on them. If you've never rented before take a chance-you won't be sorry! I got tons of compliments on this dress.
Terry
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 64
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Feb 24, 2013

I did not wear either the 10 or 12, I usually wear petitie dresses and the dress did not fit right.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Too long from neckline to waist for me.
Suzanne
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Mar 5, 2013

Due to UPS error, I was not able to wear this dress.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered both a 4 and 6 for this dress. Unfortunately, UPS lost the package and RTR only had a 4 in stock. I received the dress in time for the event but it was too small in the bust. The size 6 probably would have fit me, which at the time, was probably true to size. I do rate RTR customer service '5 stars', though! They did their absolute best to get me the dress on time and were also timely in refunding me for the whole purchase when I contacted them about the replacement dress not fitting. I will definitely try RTR again!
NA
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Mar 15, 2013

Asymmetrical cut was a nice twist on this black dress

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Lovely dress. The fit was great. I was in between sizes. The 8 fit nicely but was a bit snug by the zipper area so I went with the size 10 which allowed me a bit of wiggle room. I just wish that the dress was a bit shorter maybe up to the knee. I am 5'5" and the dress hit mid leg. The asymmetrical cut detailing was nice on a rather plain black dress. I can't wait to rent from Rent The Runway again for my next event!
danielle
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148 lbs
Mar 24, 2013

.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
the dress would not close over my chest. the larger size was overall too big and long.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Apr 8, 2013

Wore this for my anniversary date.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Very flattering cut, the upper waist/rib cage area was a bit tight and the mesh part sort of folded up when I was seated but not noticeable since it is so dark. Just remember there is mesh there if you are going to wear any slips/spanx, black or beige is not noticeable but you would see any other color.
Christina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 26, 2013

The dress is very flattering. I received a lot of compliments. Nice quality.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The asymmetrical cut works well. It was a little hard to zip, but fine once on. The sheer panel is not very sheer, so this was fine for a work event.
laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 45
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 29, 2013

Classy, but nothing special

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Unless you are standing within 10 feet of this dress, it really only look like a standard little black dress. The cut out mesh is barely noticible. I'm 5'7" and 135, the 8 fit perfectly.
Mary Alice
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Jun 29, 2013

Absolutely stunning - classy and refined.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wore this for a black-tie work event. The dress was very tight, but it looked fantastic and I could still move around in it. Got tons of compliments. The mesh side panel is not very noticeable and the length was perfect, right at the knees on me (5'5"). I would say the top portion was the best part of the dress. It's an incredible neckline without being revealing.
mrs
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 157 lbs
Jul 29, 2013

Absolutely perfect!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for a black-tie wedding on a summer Saturday evening. I loved the way I felt, and it was very easy to dance in this dress. It has enough detailing -- the asymmetrial top, the mesh in the middle, the slit on the bottom -- to make it more just a basic little black dress. I added some earrings and a necklace to dress it up for the wedding. It also skimmed me in all the right places, and I found it to be very flattering. A very classic and versatile dress.
Ahlia
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115 lbs
Oct 28, 2013

Clean, flattering fit. Enough unusual asymmetrical lines to be an eye catcher.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
All pros. Fit snug around waist which was flattering. Enough room in the sleeve and bust area to allow free movement.
Carol
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Nov 12, 2013

Snug in the hips

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Gorgeous dress, but was too snug across the hips.
Lisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 2, 2013

Classy

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Not really for pear shapes. I had to go up a size & pad my bra. It is perfect for tall women.
Cara
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 3, 2013

Being the most elegantly dressed lady in the room.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I love this dress! The fabric is very nice- with some weight to it. The dress drapes beautifully. The mesh panel at the waist as a bit of sexy but isn't too flashy. The asymmetrical neckline and hem line give the dress a modern twist. I would definitely rent this dress again. I wore it to a tasting dinner at a restaurant owned by a celeb chef. I was invited as VIP media and the dress definitely conveyed the VIP part. I opted for the size 10 because of my bust size. The fabric has a bit of give to it so the dress fit fine everywhere else- meaning going up a size due to bust size doesn't compromise fit elsewhere.
lovinmama
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 22, 2013

Perfect for the office party, but watch out for the zipper!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
My first choice of dress was out to order for my office party so I got this one instead. What was great for me was the angular nature of the neckline and skirt which had a great way of distracting your eye and hiding the imperfections. The mesh part was opaque, not sheer so it was conservative enough to wear to an office even. I would have worn an 8 but the rib cage (not bust) was a bit on the tight side, (kids!) so wore the 10 instead. Watch out for the zipper, its sticky and good foundation garmets are a must. I used the Commando high-waist brief which was perfect. Definitely would wear this one again.
Vicki
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 57
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 8, 2014

My back up plan almost stole the show

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I selected this dress as a back up and absolutely loved it. I decided to wear my first choice over this one only because I wanted a bit more glam which I got with my first choice. This dress fit perfectly, I am full figured and busty. The dress was slimming and had a lovely ease to it. I can see it working well for most body types. The asymmetrical neckline was lovely.
michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Feb 4, 2014

A little edgy

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
The cutout with the asymmetrical neck and hemline make this a cool LBD. My hip to waist ratio is practically obscene, so fit is always a concern, but it wasn't an issue in this dress.
Kay
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 15, 2014

Classy, but nothing special

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I agree with a previous review - it was a classy dress, but it' really nothing special. Do not rent if you love the sheer cut out - it is barely noticeable. Very good quality and a nice shape, but not sexy at all - more like my church dresses. I recommend it for taller girls. Very tight around the rib cage, and tough to zip up. Overall, just a pretty dress, but a great experience. I am looking forward to renting my next one!
Heather
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 152 lbs
Feb 20, 2014

Classic yet original

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to work all day and got away with the sheer panel (not very noticeable but give it JUST enough edge), then to a formal cocktail affair in San Francisco. No wrinkles; it wore very well for some 10 hours total! The hemline is just gorgeous -- very unique. I wore my hair up & changed in to sparkly earrings to make it a bit more formal and it did the trick. A woman told me I was the best dressed person there... and this was a high society event. Would definitely recommend.
Risa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 19, 2014

Classy and sophisticated LBD!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I felt really comfortable and classy with a post-pregnancy body in this dress. I could easily wear it dressed up, but also wound up throwing on a dark denim jacket because it was chilly -- and it didn't look bad!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×