Rachel Roy

Lemon Pie Sheath

$45 rental
$298 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Look retro chic for the dinner party wearing this vibrant Rachel Roy shift. A necklace like the Dannijo's Samirah Necklace is all you need to top this look off!

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Not fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Not fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Yellow ponte (65% polyester, 32% rayon, 3% spandex). Sleeveless. V-neckline. Shift body with scalloped edge hem. Exposed back zipper. 35” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

55 reviews

Fit
Small 1
True to Size 27
Large 26
Photos 27
Serena
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Mar 5, 2013

STYLIST REVIEW

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
The first thing I noticed when I put this on is that the quality is completely impeccable- this dress is so comfortable, well made, and SO amazing! The color is really great, like a bright, lighter lemon color. This would look SO good with a bright pink lip. It definitely runs big and is really forgiving- I'd size down for a free backup size. The scalloped detail along the bottom hem was really great, and helps to set this little number apart.
ana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Body type: Petite
Apr 28, 2013

Love the color! perfect for bday dinner!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
True to size
Abby
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
May 1, 2013

The scallops, mod fit, and bright lemon hue of this dress stood out and warranted many compliments!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The quality of this dress is outstanding. The color is much brighter than it appears in the RTR images, but a perfect lemon hue, nonetheless. I recommend sizing down for your back-up size. I usually wear a 4 or 6, and the 4 was even a bit loose. Overall, it had very flattering and mod fit, as a shift dress should. I was extremely satisfied. Bravo, Rachel Roy (and Rent The Runway)!
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 111 lbs
Jun 17, 2013

Amazing comfortable dress in super color

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The color is brighter than in the photo. It's a little on the baggier side but in a cool, I don't care sort of way. I loved it with bright red lipstick. The necklace and bag are RTR too.
Katherine
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105 lbs
Jun 20, 2013

Love this dress! Super classy & comfortable.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loose fitting & comfortable. Just the right length. Really looks good on!
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Jul 1, 2013

Got tons of compliments on this dress/necklace combo at a pre- wedding party!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
PROS: Super comfortable. Non-restricting. It's a great length for taller people and the scalloped bottom is really cool. Color is very eye-catching. I think it definitely needs a necklace. Try the Belle Fleur Collar. CONS: None, wish I had worn this to the actual wedding!
maddie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jul 6, 2013

loved it!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I ordered a 4 and a 6 in this dress to wear to a graduation, and the 4 looked the best! I usually wear a 4, so the dress fit well and also gave me a little wiggle room. I wore the dress with gold sandals, but wedges would look cute as well. Although it isn't too figure revealing and mostly conservative, the dress allows you to show a little leg. Thanks RTR!
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jul 15, 2013

Unique dress, but very thick fabric!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for an outdoor wedding. It knew the fabric was thick, but it was really thick. That was the only con. This dress photographed well (more yellow in the sun, more lime inside with flash) and I got a bunch of compliments, especially in the sunshine! It was a unique and fun dress, very mod. The scallops were my favorite part. Be sure to order down. The 4 fit me, but when I sat down there was a bit too much fabric in the stomach area, so I wore the 2. I'd recommend for an indoor event in the summer -- once I wasn't sitting in 90 degree weather it was great!
Sheridan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 13, 2013

Chic Yet Comfy!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I loved this dress so much I wore it twice in one rental! It was great for a filling Mexican dinner on Friday night, then worked perfectly for brunch and a walk along the Highline on Sunday. The material is super comfortable & much thicker than you would assume by looking at the photo. It is also a true shift, so if you have a pear body shape like myself, it may grab a bit on the sides. You don't want to size up too much though, as you don't want it slipping in the wrong places! Overall, great option for spring, summer or even fall. I see myself wearing boots and stockings with this come October! And I'm not referring to the lovely boot you see in this photo ;)
Melanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 133 lbs
Sep 19, 2013

Looks used :(

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It was nice and the color is great for summer BUT its not in the best condition (no the first time I get a dress like that). I will rent new arrivals only. :(
Kari
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 21, 2013

LOVE... great color, modern, wears easily.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I went a size up for a more "box" look and LOVED it! It wasn't too big. It still hugged in all the right places (curves, chest). It was a little more forgiving in the mid section, which is what I was going for by ordering this style and a size up. I LOVED it. Great color, cut, length, and scalloped hem!
Eb
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 27, 2013

Easy, Breezy, Comfortable - I loved this dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The color, the fit, the material was perfect for a cool wedding in Asheville, North Carolina. Would definitely suggest sizing down a size. I'm usually a 4 and and the 2 was perfection. The details were a mix of sophistcation, sass (with the scallops) and a pinch of edge with the neck line. Would definitely rent it again.
Rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 8, 2013

many compliments

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
wrinkles easily
Laura
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Nov 22, 2013

Great color and cut

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was extremely comfortable and perfect for an outdoor wedding. The collar and scalloped bottom were very unique and I got a lot of compliments. Would definitely recommend!
Andrea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112 lbs
Dec 3, 2013

Lots of compliments!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Baggy but flattering . Great for a summer wedding! Looks best with heels. Paired with vintage turquoise necklace, and a vintage inspired fuscia clutch.
Lawyer26
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 13, 2013

Cute dress, but NOT for my figure!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress looks great in the photos, and I love it on the hanger! For girls who can rock a sheath dress, this is ADORABLE (although the material is a little heavy, so watch out in hot climates/summer months). HOWEVER, this dress was truly not flattering on my figure (which is hourglass), and so I am writing this review to give a heads up to other ladies with hourglass figures (and maybe even pear shapes)....I don't think this is the dress for us :) I have a true hourglass shape ~ large chest, small waist and my hips/butt area is the largest part of my body. This dress was "fine" one me, and I could appreciate the style and color of the dress, but it did nothing for my shape and really just emphasized the largest part of my body (my butt/hips, which are usually size 10 to 12). Plus, and this is really what leads me to add this cautionary review, it added bulk to my mid section, which no lady wants :) To be fair, I should have known better, as, in general, it is my personal opinion that sheath dresses do not work for my body type, and a-lines are much better ... for a sheath dress to fit, the size of the dress has to be big enough to accommodate the largest part of your body, and it generally has no shape in the mid-section (it just kind of hangs). The problem for me is that my butt/hip region is the largest part of my body, so I had to wear a size 10 to accommodate that area, even though my waist is much smaller than that. Since the sheath has no structure in the middle of the dress, the effect is that it is baggy in the waist area (which is obvious from both the front and side profile). Just not a good luck in my opinion. HOWEVER, once again, this review is based solely on my body type and my personal opinion, so if you like sheath dresses and they work for your body, this dress is adorable!
Suzanne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 28, 2014

this has a very thick, heavy fabric

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It is hard to tell fro the pictures and descriptions but the fabric on this is almost flannel like and very very thick. It was itchy and not at all what I was thinking it would be.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 1, 2014

Fun color

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to a summer wedding shower. I love the color, and the fun neck and hemline. I added a belt because it's a bit shapeless around the waist. I would recommend for some warm weather event.
Lindsay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 23, 2014

Wore this at graduation, loved the style of the dress. Ran a little large though

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
Ran a little large but other than that it was very pretty!
Miranda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Apr 13, 2014

Awesome date/party dress!!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
This dress is the perfect spring/summer color! I wore this to a date function with my boyfriend and loved it! The scalloped bottom is really unique, and the yellow is a bit brighter than in the picture. I usually wear a 2 but the dress is a little big, so the 0 fit me perfectly! The fabric is a little thicker than I'm used to, but still loved the dress!! Would recommend to anyone!
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 126 lbs
Apr 20, 2014

Fun cut, good for conservative event.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Liked the color and bottom of the dress. I wish it was a little bit shorter.
Kara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 21, 2014

Not a good look if you've got junk in the trunk. ;)

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I ended up returning this dress because it was a little too tight on my hips and butt. I'm fairly petite, but I've got some curves and this dress did not look good. I do have to take a second to brag on the customer support team at RTR though. They shipped another dress to me in no time!
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
May 6, 2014

Decent dress; very thick material

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Meh is probably my best response to this one. I loved the color, but was surprised by what a heavy fabric it was (definitely should have rented in winter), and the thick fabric made the form a little bit lacking. If you're looking to have a little room to hide, this is probably the perfect dress!
Julie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
May 10, 2014

This dress was great for my sis in law's wedding shower! It was very fun and I love the scallop!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Pros: makes you feel tiny cause you get to wear a smaller size :), good color, classic Cons: looked a little worn but I don't think anyone noticed but me cause I knew it was rented
Kelci
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
May 26, 2014

beautiful color and fit!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress! So easy to wear and comfortable. It's made impeccably and the scalloped hem is adorable. I was nervous about the color because I wore it before I had my summer tan but it actually looked great anyways. Can't say enough good things about this dress :)
emegan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 158 lbs
Jun 1, 2014

Not for me!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I thought this dress looked awesome in many of the photos, but busty girls beware! It was super low and too revealing for my party! The fabric is super thick also, so I thought I might be too hot. No pockets, but cute cut!
Andy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Jun 18, 2014

Lots of compliments.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Pretty color and unique cut. Material thicker than expected. Looked better belted.
Colleen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Body type: Pear
Jun 19, 2014

Nice dress, but not for pear shape

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was too tight on the bottom but too large on top. If you have a pear shape, this dress isn't for you.
Claire
Age: 24
Jun 24, 2014

Amazing color and quality details

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was my backup for an evening wedding in the summer, but when the other style ran big I was happy to have it on hand. I ordered a size down when I read it ran big, and I'm happy I did-length and fit were perfect even though I'm normally between a 4 and a 6, 5' 9". I got tons of compliments all night on the color and especially loved the scalloping along the hem. The fabric is thick but not too hot for dancing inside. I did well with a strapless bra, but it would likely hide straps from a sturdier type of bra as well. My only complaint was the slight wear on the fabric-it looked pilled in a few places. I definitely recommend for summer, day or night!
Helena
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Jun 25, 2014

Bridal Shower Success!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress to my tropical-themed bridal shower and felt beautiful! Typically I stay away from sheath styles because of my hips and bum but with the cut of this dress, it didn't tug or feel tight at all. I even had to go down a size. I fell in love with the scallop detail on the bottom and the length was perfect for me, as I am on the shorter side. Would absolutely recommend to girls like me who tend to favor simpler styles with great detail!
Annie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 164 lbs
Jul 2, 2014

Beautiful, comfortable, SO many compliments!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I want to own this dress. End of story. I wore it to a rehearsal dinner and it was a huge hit, everyone loved the color and shape! Especially me!!! The color was bright and fun without being too obnoxious, and the top was so flattering with just a little plunge, but not too much to be inappropriate. The scalloped front was so pretty and the way it grazed my curves without hugging too tight was perfect for hiding imperfections. The material is definitely thick, if I had been outside in the heat it would have been too much, but in the air conditioning it was perfect :) Wore it with black heels and mint jewelry and man, I've never ever had so many compliments in all my life!
Kristen
Top Contributor
Age: 32
Jul 6, 2014

Adorable dress, but less than stellar condition.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress definitely runs large, but that's part of the look of a shift. I am a true 4 and that's what I wore in this dress. I could have worn a 2 but I would have lost length and it's already on the shorter mod-look side. The collar detail sets this dress apart, and balances the sweet scalloped hem so the dress doesn't look like it came from the juniors department. Unfortunately this dress was in very obvious worn condition, pilling along the seams and areas that receive more wear. And it smelled like moth balls. I actually had to air this dress out and use a dry cleaner grade neutralizer to tone the smell down. I did wear this dress but only because the other dress I rented would have been too heavy. I was very disappointed with the condition. Luckily the dress looked great and I received tons of compliments but I was conscious about the odor. For a first RTR experience, it was a letdown.
Holly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 146 lbs
Jul 25, 2014

Loved this super comfy shift dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was the perfect choice for a rehearsal dinner this summer. I would of also loved it for a nice dinner or night out. It was true to size, however I chose to go with the bigger size so I could cinch it with a belt. Loved it overall!
Jill
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 4, 2014

This was a really easy-to-wear dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I loved the material, the hemline and the color. The dress is a perfect length, and it requires no special bra which was great. It runs large, so I would consider sizing down 1 or possibly 2 sizes.
Jaime
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 4' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 110 lbs
Sep 3, 2014

Easy to wear

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I'm still losing my baby weight, and so wanted to hide my midsection. This did so very well. I'm also short and was worried about the length, but it came above my knees and the scalloped hem was so cute. Also loved the neckline and collar detail - I didn't look like anyone else at the wedding. The color is bright and perfect for summer.
Whitney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Sep 9, 2014

Not a good choice for petites

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I'm 5'3" and 115lbs, so I ordered a size 0 and a size 2. Even the size 0 was very big in the chest area. I liked the dress, but the excess material meant it just wasn't flattering on my shorter figure.
Lauren
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Sep 16, 2014

Not this dress.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered this dress to wear to a wedding with a "colorful cocktail" dress attire. I loved it on the model and on many of the customer photos uploaded, so thought it would be an easy choice. However, the thickness of the dress combined with it's shape made it look very large and boxy on me - and though I am a petite person, was NOT flattering at all. I could have worn it with a belt, but the material just seemed a little chunky to me for a skinny belt. Also, it was long on me, which made it look even worse. (I'm shorter - but not short enough where length of dresses is usually a problem)
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 19, 2014

Cute, easy to wear shift

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I really liked this dress but Hubs didn't, so I went with another rental. The scalloping is really cute and length was great on me. I'm normally between a 6 and an 8 and could have worn either but the six was perfect. I would rent this again, but only for another event with girls (like a shower or something).
Ceci
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 18
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 185 lbs
Nov 19, 2014

Great stretch and vibrant color, but well worn and awkward on curvier girls

Size worn: 10
Rented for: Other
The dress was so comfortable! I wore it for senior pictures and wish it could've been a little longer. I loved the material and the neckline is so cool. The fabric was pilling due to popularity which was the only thing that really bothered me. Great service though!
MMaa
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 30, 2015

Beautiful color and dress. Loved the details of neckline and scalloped bottom.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Perfect dress for a casual event. Wore on my birthday at the beach. Received many compliments.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×