Lemon Pie Sheath

$50 to buy
$298 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Look retro chic for the dinner party wearing this vibrant Rachel Roy shift.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Not fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Not fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Yellow ponte (65% Polyester, 32% Rayon, 3% Spandex). Sleeveless. V-neckline. Shift body with scalloped edge hem. Exposed back zipper. 35” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
71 reviews
Fit
Large
(27)
True to Size
(34)
Small
(1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
December 13, 2013
Cute dress, but NOT for my figure!
This dress looks great in the photos, and I love it on the hanger! For girls who can rock a sheath dress, this is ADORABLE (although the material is a little heavy, so watch out in hot climates/summer months). HOWEVER, this dress was truly not flattering on my figure (which is hourglass), and so I am writing this review to give a heads up to other ladies with hourglass figures (and maybe even pear shapes)....I don't think this is the dress for us :) I have a true hourglass shape ~ large chest, small waist and my hips/butt area is the largest part of my body. This dress was "fine" one me, and I could appreciate the style and color of the dress, but it did nothing for my shape and really just emphasized the largest part of my body (my butt/hips, which are usually size 10 to 12). Plus, and this is really what leads me to add this cautionary review, it added bulk to my mid section, which no lady wants :) To be fair, I should have known better, as, in general, it is my personal opinion that sheath dresses do not work for my body type, and a-lines are much better ... for a sheath dress to fit, the size of the dress has to be big enough to accommodate the largest part of your body, and it generally has no shape in the mid-section (it just kind of hangs). The problem for me is that my butt/hip region is the largest part of my body, so I had to wear a size 10 to accommodate that area, even though my waist is much smaller than that. Since the sheath has no structure in the middle of the dress, the effect is that it is baggy in the waist area (which is obvious from both the front and side profile). Just not a good luck in my opinion. HOWEVER, once again, this review is based solely on my body type and my personal opinion, so if you like sheath dresses and they work for your body, this dress is adorable!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112lbs
December 3, 2013
Lots of compliments!
Baggy but flattering . Great for a summer wedding! Looks best with heels. Paired with vintage turquoise necklace, and a vintage inspired fuscia clutch.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
November 22, 2013
Great color and cut
This dress was extremely comfortable and perfect for an outdoor wedding. The collar and scalloped bottom were very unique and I got a lot of compliments. Would definitely recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
October 8, 2013
many compliments
wrinkles easily
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
September 27, 2013
Easy, Breezy, Comfortable - I loved this dress
The color, the fit, the material was perfect for a cool wedding in Asheville, North Carolina. Would definitely suggest sizing down a size. I'm usually a 4 and and the 2 was perfection. The details were a mix of sophistcation, sass (with the scallops) and a pinch of edge with the neck line. Would definitely rent it again.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
September 21, 2013
LOVE... great color, modern, wears easily.
I went a size up for a more "box" look and LOVED it! It wasn't too big. It still hugged in all the right places (curves, chest). It was a little more forgiving in the mid section, which is what I was going for by ordering this style and a size up. I LOVED it. Great color, cut, length, and scalloped hem!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
September 19, 2013
Looks used :(
It was nice and the color is great for summer BUT its not in the best condition (no the first time I get a dress like that). I will rent new arrivals only. :(
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
September 10, 2013
Beautiful dress. Thick material. Size down!
Dress is a beautiful vibrant yellow color. I love the scallop detail. I wore this to a wedding rehearsal dinner and got a ton of compliments! I would size down at least one size if not two. I am usually between a 2 or 4 depending on the dress and wore this in a size 0.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
August 13, 2013
Chic Yet Comfy!
I loved this dress so much I wore it twice in one rental! It was great for a filling Mexican dinner on Friday night, then worked perfectly for brunch and a walk along the Highline on Sunday. The material is super comfortable & much thicker than you would assume by looking at the photo. It is also a true shift, so if you have a pear body shape like myself, it may grab a bit on the sides. You don't want to size up too much though, as you don't want it slipping in the wrong places! Overall, great option for spring, summer or even fall. I see myself wearing boots and stockings with this come October! And I'm not referring to the lovely boot you see in this photo ;)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
August 12, 2013
Perfect dress for outdoor benefit.
Really great dress. Very versitile and true to size. Color seemed a bit faded due to heavy wear, but overall very pleased.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 167lbs
August 1, 2013
I loved this dress, it was comfortable and so cute for a summer wedding!
I felt thatit fit true to size and overall really well. It fit more snug to my body then it does on the model in the pic, but overall it was very flattering and I got plenty of compliments on it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
July 29, 2013
Super cute and fun!!
SIZE DOWN!!! I am typically a size 4-6 in dresses but a size 2 fit me perfectly!! This dress is gorgeous as long as you get the right size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
July 15, 2013
Fancy, beautiful yellow dress for special events
It is a little tight in the stomach but nothing some shapewear can't fix and not very forgiving up in the chest. Otherwise it fits great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
July 15, 2013
Unique dress, but very thick fabric!
I rented this dress for an outdoor wedding. It knew the fabric was thick, but it was really thick. That was the only con. This dress photographed well (more yellow in the sun, more lime inside with flash) and I got a bunch of compliments, especially in the sunshine! It was a unique and fun dress, very mod. The scallops were my favorite part. Be sure to order down. The 4 fit me, but when I sat down there was a bit too much fabric in the stomach area, so I wore the 2. I'd recommend for an indoor event in the summer -- once I wasn't sitting in 90 degree weather it was great!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
July 6, 2013
loved it!
I ordered a 4 and a 6 in this dress to wear to a graduation, and the 4 looked the best! I usually wear a 4, so the dress fit well and also gave me a little wiggle room. I wore the dress with gold sandals, but wedges would look cute as well. Although it isn't too figure revealing and mostly conservative, the dress allows you to show a little leg. Thanks RTR!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
July 2, 2013
Didn't wear it!
This fit a little bit loosely, and the fabric was too thick to wear to a summer wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
July 1, 2013
Got tons of compliments on this dress/necklace combo at a pre- wedding party!
PROS: Super comfortable. Non-restricting. It's a great length for taller people and the scalloped bottom is really cool. Color is very eye-catching. I think it definitely needs a necklace. Try the Belle Fleur Collar. CONS: None, wish I had worn this to the actual wedding!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
June 28, 2013
Cute dress, in between sizes though
I love the idea of the dress, but was in between sizes (normally a 2 or 4, but the 2 was a little snug across the chest/shoulders and the 4 was too baggy). The material is also much thicker than I had expected - not good for an outdoor wedding when it is 90 degrees and humid.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105lbs
June 20, 2013
Love this dress! Super classy & comfortable.
Loose fitting & comfortable. Just the right length. Really looks good on!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 111lbs
June 17, 2013
Amazing comfortable dress in super color
The color is brighter than in the photo. It's a little on the baggier side but in a cool, I don't care sort of way. I loved it with bright red lipstick. The necklace and bag are RTR too.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Body type: Full Bust
June 17, 2013
Fantastic Dress!!
I adore this dress. The cut is perfect-forgiving but not too baggy. The neckline is great, and the scalloped bottom makes the dress. The material is great, thick (but not too thick), not clingy and a gorgeous yellow color. The length is great for heels or flat. I cannot say enough positive things about this dress!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
June 14, 2013
Super comfy! The yellow isn't as bright as I thought it would be, but it was still beautiful!
The scallop detail in the front was a great touch. This dress was perfect for an Easter brunch!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
June 3, 2013
Ray of Sunshine - Rachel Roy
The scallops are to die for, the gold zipper deal in the back is wonderful. I fancy a shift dress. I wore this will houndstooth pumps and got a ton of compliments. Rent it, wear it, love it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
May 22, 2013
So easy!
Like the other reviews mentioned, the dress runs big. I ordered the 2 and a 0 as the back up size. I didn't even have to try the size 2 on because the 0 fit so well. The dress fit perfectly and was extremely comfortable! It isn't too short and is modest in the chest- great for my work event!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 68
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
May 20, 2013
Nice seaming on dress. Warm fabric. Lovely color.
I gambled on this dress fitting me as many reviews said it ran large. However, it was too snug around the hips and it was very short so I didn't wear it. Suitable for larger chest ladies.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 1, 2013
The scallops, mod fit, and bright lemon hue of this dress stood out and warranted many compliments!
The quality of this dress is outstanding. The color is much brighter than it appears in the RTR images, but a perfect lemon hue, nonetheless. I recommend sizing down for your back-up size. I usually wear a 4 or 6, and the 4 was even a bit loose. Overall, it had very flattering and mod fit, as a shift dress should. I was extremely satisfied. Bravo, Rachel Roy (and Rent The Runway)!
RTR CustomerJuly 22, 2013
Your shoes are amazing with this dress! Where are they from?
AbbyJuly 26, 2013
Thanks! Kelsi Dagger via DSW. They have a scalloped edge on the sides, as well, and mirrored the dress hem perfectly!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
April 29, 2013
Ended up not wearing it
Unfortunately, neither size fit; the 0 was just too big. I think this would look better on someone taller.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Body type: Petite
April 28, 2013
Love the color! perfect for bday dinner!!
True to size
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
April 8, 2013
Great Color!
I got so many compliments for the color of this dress. The scalloping was a fun touch but the shift cut makes it feel a little more professional.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 52
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
April 1, 2013
Perfect Radiant Color!!!!!
I wore this dress to a party on Easter Sunday and received numerous compliments on my way to, from and at the party. The color, fit and length were ideal and I felt comfortable and sexy all night long.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
March 5, 2013
STYLIST REVIEW
The first thing I noticed when I put this on is that the quality is completely impeccable- this dress is so comfortable, well made, and SO amazing! The color is really great, like a bright, lighter lemon color. This would look SO good with a bright pink lip. It definitely runs big and is really forgiving- I'd size down for a free backup size. The scalloped detail along the bottom hem was really great, and helps to set this little number apart.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×