Rachel Roy

Coral Origami Sheath

$134 to buy
$445 retail
Stylist Notes

You'll be the talk of the party when you walk in wearing this Rachel Roy dress! Perfect for the modern Jackie O to stand out at the next dinner party or nail that upcoming interview.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 4 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable fit throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Coral stretch crepe (96% wool; 4% elastane). Square neckline. Cap sleeves with pleating detail. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zipper. 40'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
91 reviews
Fit
Large
(14)
True to Size
(67)
Small
(10)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 7, 2012
Knockout dress
Loved the way this dress looked - I felt like I stepped of the Mad Men set. My only issue was it was a little too low cut for me. I didn't really notice that on the model photo but pretty sure everyone sitting across from me at dinner got an eyeful (whether they wanted it or not!).
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 12, 2012
This was my first time using RTR. The process could not have been any easier.
Dress fit was true size. It hugs the body, but there is plenty of stretch. You can wear a bra with straps, which is a bonus. Got a bunch of complements and loved the color.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
October 13, 2012
Beautiful color and cut that flatters a large bust and a long waist! Perfect for dancing all night.
This is definitely a dress that looks better on than on the model. I have a large bust, a long waste and broad shoulders, and this dress was fabulous. The square neck is VERY flattering for a 34DD, and the A-line is very slimming through a long torso. I wore this for a fall (October) wedding, and it was absolutely perfect. The earrings came as a part of the Stylist Surprise, and I really liked them. I would not have picked them out myself, but they really complimented the dress and completed the look. The shoes were mine - nude pumps like Kate Middleton's.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 15, 2012
Classy and Contemporary
I wore this to an awards ceremony. It was a classic look with a lovely modern twist! The color is a bright, fun, orange.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
November 19, 2012
Gorgeous, Eye Catching Dress
This dress will definitely turn heads. It's a gorgeous orange color and I wore it for a work gala the weekend before Halloween, so it was perfect in that respect. Unfortunately, it wasn't the best fit for me. I'm a true pear shape, and this dress really doesn't work very well. I was literally taped into the top so that people wouldn't be looking down my dress when I leaned over. Close coworkers commented that they thought the dress looked like it fit perfectly, but it didn't. Had I tried this on in a store with the thought of buying, I would never have purchased this dress. It was fun wearing it and it looked fine, but I was constantly worrying about the tape. If you're a pear, you'll probably feel more secure and comfortable in other dresses.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 142lbs
February 1, 2013
It was a beautiful dress.
It was perfect for as a bridsmaid dress. I rented a size 2 and 4. I ended up wearing the size 2 (tho a little tight but look better than the 4).
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 1, 2013
Spending time with my mom.
A little long for someone like me who is on the taller end of petite (5' 5"), those with short torsos beware!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
March 19, 2013
I was asked where I got my dress many times!
The dress was a little long on me but I'm 5'4". Other than that, the fit was great and very flattering!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
May 5, 2013
This dress fit great and had so many comments "You look great and I love that dress"
perfect in the bust if you have a large bust and curves
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 14, 2013
CHIC DRESS!
I loved this dress- the fit is flattering without showing too much skin. It was the perfect color for a summer wedding and the Erickson Beamon earrings were fab as well. I received so many compliments on both the dress and earrings.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
June 5, 2013
Fit didn't work for my figure
I was very excited to try this dress after seeing all the great photos of fabulous, similarly-shaped ladies, but alas, the size 8 in this dress was somewhat tight in the bust and really, really lose in the shoulders. There was odd gaping where the material creates the square neckline, and even with tape, it looked large. I tried sizing up to the 10 to see if this might fix the issue, but while the bust fit better in that size, the waist/hips area was much too large, and the shoulders were still ill-fitting. I ended up buying a dress the day of the wedding. Lovely fabric and color, it just didn't fit me well!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
June 6, 2013
This dress fit great. I wore it to a formal event, and received many compliments on it.
I would suggest wearing this dress with a strapless bra. The material is soft and comfortable, and stretchy. It molded well to my body and I received tons of compliments on it. Great dress!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
June 10, 2013
This dress fit so well! . I got so many compliments and felt great the whole night!
I am 5'11 so the length was perfect for me. I can't tell you much I loved this dress!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Body type: Hourglass
August 7, 2013
Perfect for a Work Function
I wore this to a work function and received a lot of compliments. This dress is fabulous and sophisticated. The fabric has a slight stretch to it, so it is comfortable, but not tight.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 152lbs
September 24, 2013
Showstopper
I (deliberately) chose this dress for a huge business presentation in a room full of men in navy & charcoal suits. The details on the neckline and back were gorgeous. (See close up) The fit was perfect -- not too tight, not too loose. It was literally breathtaking, yet classic and totally business appropriate. No one missed me; everyone complimented me.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
October 28, 2013
Professional and Cute
I wore this dress for a work meeting. The dress was classy and cute. I ordered an 8 and an 10, the 10 fit my curves better and looked a little more conservative, but it had a slight stain/water mark on it, so I wore the 8 and wore a black blazer over it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 55
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
May 11, 2013
.
.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
February 26, 2014
Loved this dress!
I rented this as a back up for a fall wedding (so only got one size) and ended up wearing it to the rehearsal dinner. The dress fit perfectly. It's definitely very fitted, but in a flattering way and I think if it had been a larger size it wouldn't have looked nearly as nice. Loved wearing the dress and would rent it again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
March 30, 2014
sophisticated, form fitting standout dress
this was a bright orange color, very fitted but elegant because of the longer length the front is low cut but not too revealing i really enjoyed wearing it .
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175lbs
April 9, 2014
Weird Shoulders
I rented the dress for a business occasion, but in the end didn't wear it. It was very bright, much brigther than I thought it would be and the sleeves / shoulders were not at all flattering on me. This was not a good rental for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Body type: Full Bust
April 25, 2014
Networking luncheon
Loved this dress. Very flattering especially for women with full bust. Color was beautiful and not too bright. My first rental definitely not my last.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 67
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
April 29, 2014
When a friend who knows me well asked his wife who the woman in the great orange dress was.
The dress was a tighter fit than I am used to, but it was such a beautiful dress I just stepped out with confidence and had a great evening with many compliments.
RTR CustomerJuly 13, 2014
Looks fabulous ! Love the color & the fit.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 124lbs
April 29, 2014
Knowing that I wore the right outfit
Sorry I did not manage to take a full length photo . The only thing that probably could fit better was the bust, I am a 34a, so it was slightly loose in the front. Other than that everything fits perfectly.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
May 7, 2014
Great Color and Very Pretty Dress!!
I loved this dress. It was a great color and a very flattering sillouhette. My only issue was with the fit at the top. I am a bit of a pear shape (size 6 on the top and size 8 on the bottom). I wore the size 8 as it was the best overall fit but the top was a bit roomy. With the right bra and a bit of fashion tape to make sure everything stayed in place it worked out great! Also with the low square neckline you will definitely need a sweetheart or demi style bra so your bra doesn't peek out for the world to see. Overall I really liked this dress. I got a ton of compliments and I felt good all night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
May 16, 2014
Fabulous color!
The top was a little large for me, since I am pear shape but given the structure of the dress, it still looked great. I got so many compliments all night at the benefit dinner I wore this to!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
May 18, 2014
Great looking dress made for a wonderful evening
I wore this for a formal work event and received tons of compliments. I am tall, and have what you might call "child bearing hips" but this dress looked great on. It does show every little bump, so if you have any tummy issues spanx are a must!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
May 21, 2014
The topic of conversation at a work event
This orange dress is perfect for a work event or a casual affair, depending on accessories. My colleagues admired it all evening, especially the color. I found the fit slightly snug in hips and slightly loose in the top, and also a bit short waisted, but nothing major.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
June 15, 2014
Eye Popping Color!
Lot's of complements on this dress. Wore with gold jewelry and ivory snakeskin pumps to a fundraiser luncheon. Material is a little thin but it has stretch to it. Tight in the shoulders for me but I am larger on top.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
June 22, 2014
A little disappointed….
The reviews of this dress are very good - was a little shocked given the material (very thin). I couldn’t wear any type of Spanx because no matter what some line (even in seamless) would show through (if not the stomach then the legs or back). Wrinkles very easily, so if you fly with it, you will definitely have to do some ironing, which is tough on the shoulders. Just something to be aware of!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 23, 2014
I wore this to a charity polo event, and it was a classy knock-out--so many compliments!
Great for an hour glass, really hugged my curves. Definitely some stretch. Will hit below the knees on shorties, which I prefer.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 29
July 31, 2014
RTR did a nice job delivering on the services they promised.
I put "true to size" because it didn't really fit small or big overall . It was too big in the waist, yet cut too short. Then too right in the hips and thighs. I would consider myself someone with an hourglass figure. Tried on the six and it was too small in the hips. My coworker and I decided it would be fun to wear the same dress to our business party because our company color is orange. She is on the left and wearing the six. I am on the right. Overall, the cut was really funky and I wasn't impressed by it. For being a designer dress, it should've fit way better. Maybe you have to be a 2x4 plank for it to work.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
September 20, 2014
Perfect fit. Classy yet sexy.
I love Rachel Roy- her dresses are just stunning. The detail is beautiful and the color is vibrant and the cut is flattering! I want to own this dress. Looked awesome and my fiancé loved it too!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
September 30, 2014
Beautiful Color Brought Attention to a Timeless Silhouette
Wore this dress to a formal annual event for my law school. I was concerned at first that the dress was too "daytime;" but the color and beautifully snug material made the dress a perfectly classy dress for evening. Fits true to size - I wore it with emerald green and gold accessories. I received compliments all night, it was truly a standout.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
October 11, 2014
Beautiful Dress!
I ordered this dress as my back up dress. I ended up wearing the other dress. This color & fit were perfect but I felt more comfortable in the other dress
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
December 12, 2014
Great rich Orange color!
Dress fit somewhat tight up top, and loosely comfortable everywhere else, not too tight, Only problem was the dress threading started coming undone in two certain spots and even torn the back split slightly, though I only did one slow dance,. Great length, very sexy still and very comfortable, not to tight. I would recommend
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34DDD/E
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
April 10, 2015
Great structure and form fitting
I rented this dress for my bridal shower. I wanted to stay away from the typical white dress and this was perfect. It is more orange in photos than coral. It had a great fit and the length was very modest hitting right at the knee. The first time I put it on I felt like the shoulders made me look like a linebacker- but fortunately it didn't stay that way for long. This was a nice one time rental but not sure if I would rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
June 11, 2015
Wore this for a political fundraiser.
This dress was beautiful and I received many compliments. The material is elegant and the color is a coral red, beautiful. One con was I am petite and the shoulders were a little lose on me.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 151lbs
August 6, 2015
Great color, great cut, didn't love the material
Overall, I was a fan of this dress. The color is amazing. It's a very vibrant deep coral orange color. I have dark hair and fair skin and this color was just great on me.. The cut of the dress is very unique with the origami style sleeves. I also liked the length on this, as it was long enough to look professional at my conference by short enough to be fresh. Do be aware that the neckline is quite low cut. I'm a B/C cup and this was fine on me but if I had a larger chest, this probably would have been too low cut for a professional setting. I did knock my rating down a start for the fabric. The fabric is VERY thin, almost like a stretchy linen. It really would have benefited from a heavier lining. Also, the stitching on the seams down the front is quite large and obvious. I actually thought at first that someone had added stitching to fix some damage, but then I noticed the same stitching on my backup dress. The heavy stitching and thin fabric made the dress feel a bit cheap to me, although it looked great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 113lbs
October 9, 2015
Great color and fit around the waist.
The breast and shoulder area is uncommonly large. Everything flopped around the upper torso and scrunched up in the back. Were it not for the coat I had on for 1/2 the evening, it could've been kind of weird.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 55
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 13, 2015
Great dress too bad it did not get here on time.
I ordered this dress but UPS made a mess of things. They first when I called inquiring about the dress they told me that I changed the delivery date. When I pressed the about this they told me that they had to return the dress because he package was damage. I canceled the order and went the the NYC RTRW store where I found a great replacement due to the great assistance there. When I returned home guess what was waiting for me and the package was not damaged at all. I tried on the dress, although, I was completely satisfies with the replacement I got, this dress is still in my future.
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×