Rachel Roy

Bare Arm Dress

$114 to buy
$298 retail
Stylist Notes

Get chic and sultry for your night out with the girls. This dress by Rachel Roy shows just the right amount of skin for a look he won't forget! Simply add Inge Christopher’s Corsica Scale Clutch for the perfect finishing touch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: XS - XL.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black Ribbed Knit (100% Viscose). Long sleeves with cold shoulder detail. High neckline. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and eye-closure. 38” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
88 reviews
Fit
Large
(47)
True to Size
(32)
Small
(2)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
April 7, 2014
Just perfect!

My first time trying rent the runway. Great experience! The dress and the other sized one came exactly when promised. It couldn't have been simpler. The dress was in perfect condition and was just want I wanted and expected! It is a heavier material, so it was perfect for the cooler evening when I wore it. My husband liked it so much he asked me to go online to buy it. My daughter was so impressed with the dress and my overall experience, that she is looking to rent 2 dresses for upcoming rehearsal dinners.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
May 31, 2014
LOVE THIS DRESS

I love this dress so much I've rented it twice and will again. True to size (I'm a true 6 and the S was perfect), very comfortable, a bit of stretch and not constricting. Great for professional events. On the heavier side, so best for colder months.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
June 16, 2014
Nice LBD

Fit true to size. The material was very heavy and cable-sweater like. It was a great LBD with fun shoulder cut outs. Nice for colder weather/winter events.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 58
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
August 18, 2014
Perfect for a cool night

Perfect dress for a dressy cocktail event on a cool fall evening when you want to look sexy and show some skin but not freeze!! I wore this to a dressy professional awards dinner in a cavernous old building Ivy League building that had poor heat. I felt amazing--got lots of compliments. It hugs your curves without being too suggestive as the knit material is very forgiving. Would definitely love to wear it again.

Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 51
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
October 23, 2014
Didn't get to wear this one - it was too big and seemed a bit stretched out.

Ordered this in L and XL. Both were waaaay too big. I was really looking forward to this one but ultimately went with my backup selection. The stylist (Julie) overnighted me a second size and it worked out perfectly!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 59
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
October 27, 2014
Received tons of compliments all night long on this dress!

This dress is so comfortable and flattering! I got so many compliments all evening. It's perfect and appropriate for a work event. I attended a black-tie optional work related dinner. The knit fabric is rib and heavy enough to skim over any figure problems. I would recommend wearing Spanx or some other smoothing garment underneath, however. One word of warning – this dress runs huge. I originally ordered a large and extra-large, as I am a curvy size 12. When I put the large on, I was absolutely swimming in it. R TR overnighted the medium to me, and it fit perfectly. I will absolutely rent this dress again.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 184lbs
November 3, 2014
Cool and fun dress

I very much liked this dress, it is stretchy so you have a lot of flexibility in the fit. I apparently did not read any of the description because I was not expecting the material to be super thick, the dress is very heavy!! I probably could have gotten away with wearing a medium as the shoulder part did not seem to hit me right. Regardless, I received lots of compliments!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
November 6, 2014
Most comfortable dress for a long day of birthday celebrations!

Pro: comfortable. easy to wear. great out of the box. hem length was classy and didn't ride up. Cons: I've got curves and even the Medium was too big for me. Would rent again, but in a Small :)

View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 52
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
December 8, 2014
My boyfriend couldn't stop complimenting hoe great I looked in this dress.

This dress is well made, fabulous fit. You feel luxurious. Size runs large!

Size worn:
XL
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 210lbs
December 15, 2014
Runs WAY large

I am very tall, just under 6 ft, and this dress still hit my knee. Fabric was heavy and forgiving, but it runs VERY large, and it has give. I think I probably could have worn a M or L in this dress. I didn't end up wearing it, because the fabric was bunching around my bust. It would have been very warm and comfortable, though.

Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 17, 2014
I ended up not going to the event afterall

I was really disappointed in this dress. First off, the sleeves were way too long and therefore the cut outs in the shoulders fit me all wrong. I have BIG shoulders too as I'm a competitive athlete and it just didn't work with how low the cut outs actually came down on my shoulders. The material also felt very cheap and considering it's a Rachel Roy, that's pretty disappointing. When I tried it on my boyfriend said "wow it looks great" and as I walked closer to him he said "nevermind, it looks weird." Sad times.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
January 23, 2015
Flattering and comfortable.

I am renting for the second time. The dress is chic, and the cutouts add sophisticated sexiness. I felt great in the dress, and got tons of compliments. Fabric is thick, so it is good for a winter event.

Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
February 3, 2015
Great dress for my daughter's Sweet 16. Perfect fit.

True to size, comfortable, simple and elegant.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
February 18, 2015
Valentine's Date

This dress is made of a heavy knit material which was the main reason I rented it. I went to DC for Valentine's weekend and I knew the weather was going to be really cold. When I received the dress the first thing I noticed was how heavy it was and thought it would be perfect for the cold weather. I ordered a L and XL because I rather go up a size then down a size. Well, the L was extremely big on me, I probably should have ordered a M and a S as a backup size! It was too bad that it didn't fit because it was really pretty. I ended up wearing my second dress instead.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
March 27, 2015
great for March in NYC

nice statement dress without being too revealing

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 63
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 154lbs
April 13, 2015
Rent the Runway gave this free Birthday rental

Gorgeous material that hugged every curve with class! This dress was a free birthday rental gift from RTR, and of course, I felt like the bell of the ball again! I'm absolutely loving my subscription! I'm always dressed to the max.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 143lbs
May 22, 2015
Great fit. No need to iron.

Sexy yet sophisticated

View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 53
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 180lbs
May 29, 2015
I was comfortable and fashionable all night long!

I loved this dress! I am 5'8" tall and normally wear a large. I was not sure how the fit would be, so I chose an M and an L as my free second size. I am so glad that I did, because the M fit me perfectly, and looked so gorgeous. I am not normally a fan of shoulder cut-out tops because they never seem to fit right. This dress was perfect in every way and I am just looking for another reason to rent it when the weather gets cooler. Perfect, perfect, perfect!

Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 3, 2015
Perfectly Elegant!

This is one of my favorite LBDs. A ribbed knit, high necked, long sleeved black dress with a knee high hem, it should be plain and vaguely boring. Instead it is gorgeously figure hugging, and the bare shoulders are subtle and sexy. A big plus is how easy it is to wear. There is no need to mess around with strapless, stick-on, low back, one shouldered feats of engineering. This can be worn with any well fitted bra and undie combo. Furthermore dancing the night away will not involve frequent adjustments, or wardrobe malfunctions. I wore this to a spring wedding with drop earrings, bare legs, patent nude pumps and a gold clutch. I would have been equally at home at the theatre, a nice restaurant, or a cocktail party. This is a fantastic, sexy, versatile dress. On a final note RTR's service was excellent. The label married without the package, and after one phone call they made sure to ship out a replacement dress overnight. The stylists were extremely helpful.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 52
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 182lbs
October 29, 2015
Fun and sexy, but a little big

I really like this dress but should have gotten a smaller size. I got the L but could have probably worn the M. I'm on the short side, 5'3" and the dress was a little long and the sleeves were long on me as well. The fabric is heavy and I thought might be too hot for a Texas night, but I was comfortable in it. And it hid my imperfections.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
November 2, 2015
So chic and comfy!

I absolutely LOVED this dress. I rented it for a girls night out to see Dracula at the Ballet. I read the reviews and decided to go with the medium ( I am a standard size 12 ) and it fit PERFECTLY! I hated how long the sleeves were, though. I ended up rolling them under and you couldn't even tell. This dress was so comfortable and effortlessly sexy. I have a shoulder cap tattoo and it showed in the sleeve detailing perfectly. This dress was also very easy to accessorize. I wore strappy heels and simple earrings, but did my makeup very dark and vampy (since we were seeing Dracula) and I loved it. I will definitely rent this dress again!!!!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
November 9, 2015
Flattering and comfortable!

I usually wear a size 10-12, which means I usually wear a size L or XL. However, after reading reviews, I went ahead and went a size down and ordered a L with a M as a back up. I ended up wearing the medium as the large was actually too big. The medium was flattering, comfortable, and I received compliments all night. One negative was that the sleeves were a little too long, so I tucked them in a little bit. Easy fix. I also felt like there was too much room in the arm pit area, but not noticeable by any means. Was a great dress for the night and a great value.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
December 4, 2015
Disappointed in Fit

The material seemed great but the model in the photo must have long arms because I was swimming in this one. You may want to size down. I liked the look. I didn't bother to request a replacement because I wouldn't have received it in time. Luckily I used the Thanksgiving special and two other items I did wear.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Age: 31
December 7, 2015
Awesome dress. Runs Large!!

I will definitely rent this dress again. The cable knit fabric is really thick so I wouldn't recommend in a warmer weather or for dancing. Its perfect for winter, or a fun night out. I had to cuff the sleeves because they were very long but it looked fine. The dress hit mid knee and I wore black booties with it. Its thicker, very form fitting, and flattering. It gets 5 stars.

LyndaDecember 7, 2015
Dress was huge. I'm 5'10 and had to roll up the sleeves. Heavy material
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Age: 46
January 22, 2016
it was a company event and the dress looked professional as well as sexy

great fit, true to its size!!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
February 5, 2016
Great winter date night dress!

I ordered this for a Tuesday night date night during the yucky cold NYC winter weather. The fabric is thick and very flexible. The shoulder cut outs make it a little sexier than a typical sweater dress and my husband liked that part the most. It dies fit a bit big. I could have gotten a small.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
April 5, 2016
Sexy+classy=perfection

This dress was actually my backup order but I loved it so much, I chose to wear it for my Birthday dinner instead of my first choice! The material is quite thick so it nicely skims over flaws that you may be worried about. However, I can imagine this getting hot fast during warmer weather or lots of dancing. The sleeves were a little long but I just folded them under. No big deal. I am 5'6, 138 pounds and both the small and medium fit. It's a very stretchy material so I went with the small for the extra fitted look. I did wear spanx just for a little smoothing. I turned heads all night and got many compliments! So if you want to look sexy yet classy, this dress is perfect!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
April 12, 2016
Modest black dress

The fabric is heavy - almost like a sweater. So I recommend for winter or cold nights. My only complaint is the neck. It felt tight and uncomfortable around the neck area - like it was a little too small. I had to let the zipper down.

Size worn:
M
Rented for:
Party
Age: 59
April 13, 2016
RTR has wonderful customer service should you have a question.

Loved the dress, wore it for a baby shower on a cold day and not only is it extremely comfortable but I got many compliments. I usually wear a size 8, so the medium was perfect!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 137lbs
April 26, 2016
Warm and comfortable but still sexy

Wore this for dinner with my husband on our anniversary at the coast. The dress was warm and comfortable (spanx-not required). The cut-out shoulders made it tasteful but still sexy. As with any black dress, this is the perfect canvas to highlight any accessories. The neckline is a mock turtle so I went sans necklace and wore fun shoes; a bright clutch would also work well with this dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 4, 2013
Simple, Classy and Sexy LDB

I rented this dress for an event for Giving Tuesday in DC. The dress was fitted and so comfortable. The material was sweater-like and ribbed but not too heavy. I originally ordered a S and M as backup but when it arrived they both were too big. I called RTR and they sent me an XS overnight and it fit like a glove. Sleeve length was a little too long but I rolled them under about 1/2 inch and you could not even tell. This was my first RTR experience and I am definitely a fan.

View photos (2)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 182lbs
December 20, 2013
Classy dress!

I wore this dress to my company holiday party and loved it. I'm 5'10" and didn't want anything too short or revealing, and this dress worked out great as it hit just at the knee. Fabric has a lot of stretch, so it is definitely form fitting and curve-accentuating (in a good way!). I have very broad shoulders and the cut-outs just barely hit in the right spot, so it may look a little bit off on someone with a more narrow frame. If you are torn between two sizes, definitely go with the smaller one. All in all a fantastic dress.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
January 8, 2015
This dress makes you feel comfortable and stunning at the same time.

Of all the RTR dresses I've rented, this one literally made my date speechless. I wore it on NYE in Chicago - and it was warm, yet sexy, elegant and party ready. The material is heavy but slimming. I will rent this again and snatch it up when it goes on sale!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 150lbs
November 18, 2015
The dress was elegant and comfortable

Over all fit was great Dave the night away

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148lbs
February 8, 2016
My fiancé and I went on a long weekend vaca to San Antonio to see Jerry Seinfeld perform.

This is a great winter dress-surprisingly heavy material. It clings in a flattering way and you could wear Spanx under this and not be able to tell. I am about 5'10" and have broad shoulders. This dress hit me right above the knee and fit my shoulders in the right place; with that said, I don't know if the shoulders would fit someone more petite. I almost felt like this needed a belt to break it up, but went for a statement necklace with dramatic earrings and bracelet. Could definitely accessorize up the shoes, but I needed to be able to walk, so I stuck with comfy black heels. This was my first RTR experience and it was so fun and easy! Definitely a confidence booster to be wearing a designer dress!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
March 30, 2016
Great Little Black Dress for Cooler Weather

This was my second time renting this dress for date nights. The first time I rented it in January, it was true to size and fit absolutely perfectly. This is why I rented it again. The second time, the fabric was stretched and fit MUCH larger, but was still acceptable in a pinch. The sleeves and length were both stretched out, which would be an issue if you are shorter or have shorter arms. I have a very long torso and it hit at the knee when it wasn't bunching up, and the sleeves were very long even for my super long arms! Both times I rented size Small. Fabric is thick and stretchy, perfect weight for chilly or downright cold weather. The bare shoulders add edge to an otherwise conservative sweater style dress. Definitely size DOWN, mainly due to the fact that it appears that their size Smalls are overused and the fabric is becoming stretched out and misshapen.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
November 28, 2014
Unflattering

I'm 5'7" and this was down to my shins. Possibly the most unflattering dress I've ever put on. The sleeves were about 6 inches too long as well. And yet it was somehow still clinged around the midsection. I returned it the same day. Seriously hideous.

Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130lbs
November 18, 2013
everything was perfect fit perfect dres

The dress fit perfect

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
December 16, 2013
Just a good LBD, nothing special

The fabric of this dress is pretty cool, it is a heavier weight and is very slimming; however, the size I ordered was too big. It would have fit better had it been a bit more snug and the sleeves are way too long. I'm pretty tall, 5'8", and I had to roll them up about 3 to 4 inches. The cutouts at the shoulder were cute, but they weren't enough to make me want to wear it again. Just a good LBD, nothing special.

Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 20, 2013
overall great dress and would rent again

It's heavy. Also the arms are long which can cause bunches at the shoulders. Definitely sexy while still professional, if that's the look you are going for.

See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×