Bare Arm Dress

$114 to buy
$298 retail
Stylist Notes

Get chic and sultry for your night out with the girls. This dress by Rachel Roy shows just the right amount of skin for a look he won't forget! Simply add Inge Christopher’s Corsica Scale Clutch for the perfect finishing touch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: XS - XL.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: XS - XL.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black Ribbed Knit (100% Viscose). Long sleeves with cold shoulder detail. High neckline. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and eye-closure. 38” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
87 reviews
Fit
Large
(47)
True to Size
(32)
Small
(2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
January 23, 2015
Flattering and comfortable.
I am renting for the second time. The dress is chic, and the cutouts add sophisticated sexiness. I felt great in the dress, and got tons of compliments. Fabric is thick, so it is good for a winter event.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
February 3, 2015
Great dress for my daughter's Sweet 16. Perfect fit.
True to size, comfortable, simple and elegant.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
February 18, 2015
Valentine's Date
This dress is made of a heavy knit material which was the main reason I rented it. I went to DC for Valentine's weekend and I knew the weather was going to be really cold. When I received the dress the first thing I noticed was how heavy it was and thought it would be perfect for the cold weather. I ordered a L and XL because I rather go up a size then down a size. Well, the L was extremely big on me, I probably should have ordered a M and a S as a backup size! It was too bad that it didn't fit because it was really pretty. I ended up wearing my second dress instead.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
March 27, 2015
great for March in NYC
nice statement dress without being too revealing
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 62
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 154lbs
April 13, 2015
Rent the Runway gave this free Birthday rental
Gorgeous material that hugged every curve with class! This dress was a free birthday rental gift from RTR, and of course, I felt like the bell of the ball again! I'm absolutely loving my subscription! I'm always dressed to the max.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 143lbs
May 22, 2015
Great fit. No need to iron.
Sexy yet sophisticated
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 52
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 180lbs
May 29, 2015
I was comfortable and fashionable all night long!
I loved this dress! I am 5'8" tall and normally wear a large. I was not sure how the fit would be, so I chose an M and an L as my free second size. I am so glad that I did, because the M fit me perfectly, and looked so gorgeous. I am not normally a fan of shoulder cut-out tops because they never seem to fit right. This dress was perfect in every way and I am just looking for another reason to rent it when the weather gets cooler. Perfect, perfect, perfect!
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 3, 2015
Perfectly Elegant!
This is one of my favorite LBDs. A ribbed knit, high necked, long sleeved black dress with a knee high hem, it should be plain and vaguely boring. Instead it is gorgeously figure hugging, and the bare shoulders are subtle and sexy. A big plus is how easy it is to wear. There is no need to mess around with strapless, stick-on, low back, one shouldered feats of engineering. This can be worn with any well fitted bra and undie combo. Furthermore dancing the night away will not involve frequent adjustments, or wardrobe malfunctions. I wore this to a spring wedding with drop earrings, bare legs, patent nude pumps and a gold clutch. I would have been equally at home at the theatre, a nice restaurant, or a cocktail party. This is a fantastic, sexy, versatile dress. On a final note RTR's service was excellent. The label married without the package, and after one phone call they made sure to ship out a replacement dress overnight. The stylists were extremely helpful.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 51
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 190lbs
October 29, 2015
Fun and sexy, but a little big
I really like this dress but should have gotten a smaller size. I got the L but could have probably worn the M. I'm on the short side, 5'3" and the dress was a little long and the sleeves were long on me as well. The fabric is heavy and I thought might be too hot for a Texas night, but I was comfortable in it. And it hid my imperfections.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
November 2, 2015
So chic and comfy!
I absolutely LOVED this dress. I rented it for a girls night out to see Dracula at the Ballet. I read the reviews and decided to go with the medium ( I am a standard size 12 ) and it fit PERFECTLY! I hated how long the sleeves were, though. I ended up rolling them under and you couldn't even tell. This dress was so comfortable and effortlessly sexy. I have a shoulder cap tattoo and it showed in the sleeve detailing perfectly. This dress was also very easy to accessorize. I wore strappy heels and simple earrings, but did my makeup very dark and vampy (since we were seeing Dracula) and I loved it. I will definitely rent this dress again!!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
November 9, 2015
Flattering and comfortable!
I usually wear a size 10-12, which means I usually wear a size L or XL. However, after reading reviews, I went ahead and went a size down and ordered a L with a M as a back up. I ended up wearing the medium as the large was actually too big. The medium was flattering, comfortable, and I received compliments all night. One negative was that the sleeves were a little too long, so I tucked them in a little bit. Easy fix. I also felt like there was too much room in the arm pit area, but not noticeable by any means. Was a great dress for the night and a great value.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
December 4, 2015
Disappointed in Fit
The material seemed great but the model in the photo must have long arms because I was swimming in this one. You may want to size down. I liked the look. I didn't bother to request a replacement because I wouldn't have received it in time. Luckily I used the Thanksgiving special and two other items I did wear.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Age: 30
December 7, 2015
Awesome dress. Runs Large!!
I will definitely rent this dress again. The cable knit fabric is really thick so I wouldn't recommend in a warmer weather or for dancing. Its perfect for winter, or a fun night out. I had to cuff the sleeves because they were very long but it looked fine. The dress hit mid knee and I wore black booties with it. Its thicker, very form fitting, and flattering. It gets 5 stars.
LyndaDecember 21, 2015
Dress was huge. I'm 5'10 and had to roll up the sleeves. Heavy material
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Age: 45
January 22, 2016
it was a company event and the dress looked professional as well as sexy
great fit, true to its size!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
February 5, 2016
Great winter date night dress!
I ordered this for a Tuesday night date night during the yucky cold NYC winter weather. The fabric is thick and very flexible. The shoulder cut outs make it a little sexier than a typical sweater dress and my husband liked that part the most. It dies fit a bit big. I could have gotten a small.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
April 5, 2016
Sexy+classy=perfection
This dress was actually my backup order but I loved it so much, I chose to wear it for my Birthday dinner instead of my first choice! The material is quite thick so it nicely skims over flaws that you may be worried about. However, I can imagine this getting hot fast during warmer weather or lots of dancing. The sleeves were a little long but I just folded them under. No big deal. I am 5'6, 138 pounds and both the small and medium fit. It's a very stretchy material so I went with the small for the extra fitted look. I did wear spanx just for a little smoothing. I turned heads all night and got many compliments! So if you want to look sexy yet classy, this dress is perfect!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
April 12, 2016
Modest black dress
The fabric is heavy - almost like a sweater. So I recommend for winter or cold nights. My only complaint is the neck. It felt tight and uncomfortable around the neck area - like it was a little too small. I had to let the zipper down.
Size worn:
M
Rented for:
Party
Age: 58
April 13, 2016
RTR has wonderful customer service should you have a question.
Loved the dress, wore it for a baby shower on a cold day and not only is it extremely comfortable but I got many compliments. I usually wear a size 8, so the medium was perfect!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 137lbs
April 26, 2016
Warm and comfortable but still sexy
Wore this for dinner with my husband on our anniversary at the coast. The dress was warm and comfortable (spanx-not required). The cut-out shoulders made it tasteful but still sexy. As with any black dress, this is the perfect canvas to highlight any accessories. The neckline is a mock turtle so I went sans necklace and wore fun shoes; a bright clutch would also work well with this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 4, 2013
Simple, Classy and Sexy LDB
I rented this dress for an event for Giving Tuesday in DC. The dress was fitted and so comfortable. The material was sweater-like and ribbed but not too heavy. I originally ordered a S and M as backup but when it arrived they both were too big. I called RTR and they sent me an XS overnight and it fit like a glove. Sleeve length was a little too long but I rolled them under about 1/2 inch and you could not even tell. This was my first RTR experience and I am definitely a fan.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 182lbs
December 20, 2013
Classy dress!
I wore this dress to my company holiday party and loved it. I'm 5'10" and didn't want anything too short or revealing, and this dress worked out great as it hit just at the knee. Fabric has a lot of stretch, so it is definitely form fitting and curve-accentuating (in a good way!). I have very broad shoulders and the cut-outs just barely hit in the right spot, so it may look a little bit off on someone with a more narrow frame. If you are torn between two sizes, definitely go with the smaller one. All in all a fantastic dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
January 8, 2015
This dress makes you feel comfortable and stunning at the same time.
Of all the RTR dresses I've rented, this one literally made my date speechless. I wore it on NYE in Chicago - and it was warm, yet sexy, elegant and party ready. The material is heavy but slimming. I will rent this again and snatch it up when it goes on sale!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 49
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 150lbs
November 18, 2015
The dress was elegant and comfortable
Over all fit was great Dave the night away
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148lbs
February 8, 2016
My fiancé and I went on a long weekend vaca to San Antonio to see Jerry Seinfeld perform.
This is a great winter dress-surprisingly heavy material. It clings in a flattering way and you could wear Spanx under this and not be able to tell. I am about 5'10" and have broad shoulders. This dress hit me right above the knee and fit my shoulders in the right place; with that said, I don't know if the shoulders would fit someone more petite. I almost felt like this needed a belt to break it up, but went for a statement necklace with dramatic earrings and bracelet. Could definitely accessorize up the shoes, but I needed to be able to walk, so I stuck with comfy black heels. This was my first RTR experience and it was so fun and easy! Definitely a confidence booster to be wearing a designer dress!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
March 30, 2016
Great Little Black Dress for Cooler Weather
This was my second time renting this dress for date nights. The first time I rented it in January, it was true to size and fit absolutely perfectly. This is why I rented it again. The second time, the fabric was stretched and fit MUCH larger, but was still acceptable in a pinch. The sleeves and length were both stretched out, which would be an issue if you are shorter or have shorter arms. I have a very long torso and it hit at the knee when it wasn't bunching up, and the sleeves were very long even for my super long arms! Both times I rented size Small. Fabric is thick and stretchy, perfect weight for chilly or downright cold weather. The bare shoulders add edge to an otherwise conservative sweater style dress. Definitely size DOWN, mainly due to the fact that it appears that their size Smalls are overused and the fabric is becoming stretched out and misshapen.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
November 28, 2014
Unflattering
I'm 5'7" and this was down to my shins. Possibly the most unflattering dress I've ever put on. The sleeves were about 6 inches too long as well. And yet it was somehow still clinged around the midsection. I returned it the same day. Seriously hideous.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130lbs
November 18, 2013
everything was perfect fit perfect dres
The dress fit perfect
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
December 16, 2013
Just a good LBD, nothing special
The fabric of this dress is pretty cool, it is a heavier weight and is very slimming; however, the size I ordered was too big. It would have fit better had it been a bit more snug and the sleeves are way too long. I'm pretty tall, 5'8", and I had to roll them up about 3 to 4 inches. The cutouts at the shoulder were cute, but they weren't enough to make me want to wear it again. Just a good LBD, nothing special.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 20, 2013
overall great dress and would rent again
It's heavy. Also the arms are long which can cause bunches at the shoulders. Definitely sexy while still professional, if that's the look you are going for.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155lbs
January 9, 2014
It's warm, edgy, and sexy without showing too much. Plus, I was proposed to while wearing it!
Dress fit fine across the shoulders, chest. Was really long in the sleeves, but sleeves were easily folded back without taking away from the dress. The dress was a little tight across my tummy (I don't have a flat tummy), so I was mildly self conscious about that-but rocked it anyway. Dress was really warm and my now fiance was really....attentive! :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
February 11, 2014
Love this dress!
This dress is sophisticated and sexy! The shoulders being out, while subtle, provides just the right amount of sexy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 8, 2014
Would have been great in an xs
I am a 4 and the small was too big so I didn't wear it. I'm 5'7" The sleeves were also way too long
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
June 9, 2014
Too heavy
I love this dress in the pics but after trying it on the material was just too heavy for me!
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 57
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 123lbs
December 16, 2014
Gorgeous dress. Loved every thing about it. Comfy, sexy, but in many ways modest.
This is a very clingy dress but the heavy stretchable fabric holds you in and hides minor imperfections. The fit makes it very sexy, but it's a knee length dress that covers your chest and arms so it's not too sexy. Dress doesn't ride up. Soooo comfortble. its a perfect winter party dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
February 18, 2015
Ran large desired to wear other dress I rented instead.
I rented two dresses. I decided not to wear this one because of how large it ran. Heavy knit good quality. I wear a size 6 and chose a size small from reading other reviews. I would go with the XS next time knowing the fit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
April 27, 2015
Great dress Comfy and forgiving!
THis dress was comfortable and cute, if your shoulders are your best asset GET IT! I'm 5'9 and found the length great, but may be a bit long if you are shorter. The sleeves are REALLY long, I had to roll them up, but being black you couldn't really notice. Its a stretchy material but not tight, just shaped nicely. Easy to wear dress, probably looks best on taller frames! Would def buy if I could!
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 23, 2015
Great, comfortable, and stylish dress for every body type!
I ordered a S & M based on the reviews I saw but I found the dress to run large! I could have worn a XS but I was very comfortable all day in the S. The sleeves were a bit long but nothing serious. I love that the knit fabric was not itchy. This dress definitely keeps you warm so I would not recommend for a warm weather affair even with the cute shoulder cut outs. The dress looked great on both of us hostesses and we differ a bit in body shape. This is a great dress for any body type :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 29
December 30, 2015
Love love love!
Wore this for formal Christmas party, was able to be comfortable and wear it all night! Dress is form fitting but the material feels comfortable and supportive. The sleeve gaps made it sexy without being revealing. I'm tall and curvy - I loved the length and that the arms were long enough. Received so many compliments, wish I could buy it.
Size worn:
XL
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Age: 51
April 22, 2016
Lot's of compliments. Great dress if you have broad shoulders - really shows them off.
Very comfortable, forgiving of bodily imperfections.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 53
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
May 23, 2016
Great Date Dress
My husband was pleasantly surprised. True to size and will keep you warm.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×