Rent the Runway

Rachel Roy

Bare Arm Dress

$30 rental
$298 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Get chic and sultry for your night out with the girls. This dress by Rachel Roy shows just the right amount of skin for a look he won't forget! Simply add Inge Christopher’s Corsica Scale Clutch for the perfect finishing touch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: XS - XL.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: XS - XL.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black Ribbed Knit (100% Viscose). Long sleeves with cold shoulder detail. High neckline. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and eye-closure. 38” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

60 reviews

Fit
Small 2
True to Size 25
Large 32
Photos 19
Danielle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 189 lbs
Nov 24, 2013

Corporate party! Great first impression. Classy, Elegant, Timeless

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit excellent. Very warm for dancing but breathable. Heavy material but extremely comfortable.
Meagan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 4, 2013

Simple, Classy and Sexy LDB

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for an event for Giving Tuesday in DC. The dress was fitted and so comfortable. The material was sweater-like and ribbed but not too heavy. I originally ordered a S and M as backup but when it arrived they both were too big. I called RTR and they sent me an XS overnight and it fit like a glove. Sleeve length was a little too long but I rolled them under about 1/2 inch and you could not even tell. This was my first RTR experience and I am definitely a fan.
Jane
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 5, 2013

Love!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Really cool dress! It's a very stretchy rib knit fabric, and an easy fit. Ran a little large, so I'd size down for backup. I'm 5'8" and it almost hit my knees so on anyone shorter just be aware it will be on the longer side! I wore this for a casual night out but you could definitely dress it up with a pair of statement earrings or a ring for a cocktail party!
Kristen
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 182 lbs
Dec 20, 2013

Classy dress!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to my company holiday party and loved it. I'm 5'10" and didn't want anything too short or revealing, and this dress worked out great as it hit just at the knee. Fabric has a lot of stretch, so it is definitely form fitting and curve-accentuating (in a good way!). I have very broad shoulders and the cut-outs just barely hit in the right spot, so it may look a little bit off on someone with a more narrow frame. If you are torn between two sizes, definitely go with the smaller one. All in all a fantastic dress.
Jessica
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 22, 2013

RTR was great with overnighting me a smaller size, but I didn't love the dress.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress runs extremely large. I am a true size 12 and ordered a L and XL, when the dresses arrived I was swimming in the L. RTR overnighted me a size medium. Even the medium was slightly baggy in the waist. I'm 6'0 tall and the dress hit my knees looking very matronly. I taped it up about two inches and it did look better. I can't imagine how long it would be on a shorter person. I got my replacement the day of the party, and if I wasn't in a bind I doubt I would have worn it. It was fine for the event, but I didn't love it.
Valerie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138 lbs
Jan 27, 2014

Awesome, warm good looking dress.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to my firm's holiday party. I got unanimous votes to buy the dress! It was comfortable, sexy without being over the top and great for a cold winter night. It fits true to size and I would wear it again.
Sherry
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 43
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 210 lbs
Feb 3, 2014

I danced the night away in this dress.

Size worn: XL
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is very flattering and comfortable. The material is thick with a lot of stretch. I will rent this one again!
Monica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 10, 2014

Perfect LBD for a work event!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I am an event planner and wore this onsite for a Hollywood themed event. It was the perfect dress for working at this event. Super comfortable and stretchy so that I could run around easily and cute but still professional enough. It did run a bit big. I almost wore the medium but the large was more work appropriate. I would definitely rent it again!
Jenni
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Mar 4, 2014

Great dress

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore this to a Art party, so went with leopard pumps. Lots of compliments. It is heavy and clingy but attractive and comfy. Great for a winter party.recommend Spanx high waisted hose underneath. Would defiantly wear again. Great work or party dress.
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 7, 2014

Photo does not do this dress justice!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I often wear a large but was glad I got the medium with this dress. Knit is thick enough to hide imperfections but still form fitting and not bulky. just enough skin to be sexy yet appropriate for a work event. This dress can go from party to wedding with a change of accessories. Its a real winner.
D'Ann
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 9, 2014

Absolutely gorgeous dress!!! Sophisticated and classy with just a little sex appeal...perfect!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this for Mike Modano's jersey retirement ceremony and after party. Since I work for the team, I needed something dressy, but not too formal and somewhat conservative. I got tons of compliments all night - loved the dress so much I ordered it to own!! Rental was easy...will definitely use this site again.
Jamila
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32AA
Mar 10, 2014

Perfect fit! Comfortable but sexy at the same time!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress was perfect the fabric is heavy but great for a winter night out! Fits great and is so comfortable
Sweets
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Mar 15, 2014

Very classy dress.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The material is heavy, so it is not going to hug your curves much unless you are very curvy. The heavy material however gives it a very quality look and feel. The shoulder cutouts are a great touch.
Marlin
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 20, 2014

This dress make feel sexy! I love it

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Xs fit me perfect
Dawn
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155 lbs
Mar 21, 2014

Na

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
It's a sexy dress, but the fit is off, for me. Also, it's super heavy fabric so don't wear this if you're going dancing with the girls!
Rachael
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 2, 2014

Great Fit

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Classy yet sexy dress. Hugs your curves but hides them. I didn't even try to M as the S fit very well. It was a good length for me as I am tall and it was perfect for a girls night out on the town. Thicker fabric good for a chilly evening. This is a nice staple piece.
elizabeth
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Apr 7, 2014

Just perfect!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
My first time trying rent the runway. Great experience! The dress and the other sized one came exactly when promised. It couldn't have been simpler. The dress was in perfect condition and was just want I wanted and expected! It is a heavier material, so it was perfect for the cooler evening when I wore it. My husband liked it so much he asked me to go online to buy it. My daughter was so impressed with the dress and my overall experience, that she is looking to rent 2 dresses for upcoming rehearsal dinners.
KELEIGH
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
May 8, 2014

Would have been great in an xs

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I am a 4 and the small was too big so I didn't wear it. I'm 5'7" The sleeves were also way too long
Masha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
May 31, 2014

LOVE THIS DRESS

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I love this dress so much I've rented it twice and will again. True to size (I'm a true 6 and the S was perfect), very comfortable, a bit of stretch and not constricting. Great for professional events. On the heavier side, so best for colder months.
Alyssa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Jun 9, 2014

Too heavy

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I love this dress in the pics but after trying it on the material was just too heavy for me!
Mimi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jun 16, 2014

Nice LBD

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit true to size. The material was very heavy and cable-sweater like. It was a great LBD with fun shoulder cut outs. Nice for colder weather/winter events.
Beth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118 lbs
Aug 18, 2014

Perfect for a cool night

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Perfect dress for a dressy cocktail event on a cool fall evening when you want to look sexy and show some skin but not freeze!! I wore this to a dressy professional awards dinner in a cavernous old building Ivy League building that had poor heat. I felt amazing--got lots of compliments. It hugs your curves without being too suggestive as the knit material is very forgiving. Would definitely love to wear it again.
Leanne
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 49
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
Oct 23, 2014

Didn't get to wear this one - it was too big and seemed a bit stretched out.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Ordered this in L and XL. Both were waaaay too big. I was really looking forward to this one but ultimately went with my backup selection. The stylist (Julie) overnighted me a second size and it worked out perfectly!
Malice
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Oct 27, 2014

Received tons of compliments all night long on this dress!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is so comfortable and flattering! I got so many compliments all evening. It's perfect and appropriate for a work event. I attended a black-tie optional work related dinner. The knit fabric is rib and heavy enough to skim over any figure problems. I would recommend wearing Spanx or some other smoothing garment underneath, however. One word of warning – this dress runs huge. I originally ordered a large and extra-large, as I am a curvy size 12. When I put the large on, I was absolutely swimming in it. R TR overnighted the medium to me, and it fit perfectly. I will absolutely rent this dress again.
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 184 lbs
Nov 3, 2014

Cool and fun dress

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I very much liked this dress, it is stretchy so you have a lot of flexibility in the fit. I apparently did not read any of the description because I was not expecting the material to be super thick, the dress is very heavy!! I probably could have gotten away with wearing a medium as the shoulder part did not seem to hit me right. Regardless, I received lots of compliments!
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Nov 6, 2014

Most comfortable dress for a long day of birthday celebrations!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Pro: comfortable. easy to wear. great out of the box. hem length was classy and didn't ride up. Cons: I've got curves and even the Medium was too big for me. Would rent again, but in a Small :)
Julie
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 28, 2014

Unflattering

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I'm 5'7" and this was down to my shins. Possibly the most unflattering dress I've ever put on. The sleeves were about 6 inches too long as well. And yet it was somehow still clinged around the midsection. I returned it the same day. Seriously hideous.
Anne
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 49
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 8, 2014

My boyfriend couldn't stop complimenting hoe great I looked in this dress.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress is well made, fabulous fit. You feel luxurious. Size runs large!
Beth
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 190 lbs
Dec 15, 2014

Runs WAY large

Size worn: XL
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am very tall, just under 6 ft, and this dress still hit my knee. Fabric was heavy and forgiving, but it runs VERY large, and it has give. I think I probably could have worn a M or L in this dress. I didn't end up wearing it, because the fabric was bunching around my bust. It would have been very warm and comfortable, though.
Lisa
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 123 lbs
Dec 16, 2014

Gorgeous dress. Loved every thing about it. Comfy, sexy, but in many ways modest.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This is a very clingy dress but the heavy stretchable fabric holds you in and hides minor imperfections. The fit makes it very sexy, but it's a knee length dress that covers your chest and arms so it's not too sexy. Dress doesn't ride up. Soooo comfortble. its a perfect winter party dress!
Kelli
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 17, 2014

I ended up not going to the event afterall

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I was really disappointed in this dress. First off, the sleeves were way too long and therefore the cut outs in the shoulders fit me all wrong. I have BIG shoulders too as I'm a competitive athlete and it just didn't work with how low the cut outs actually came down on my shoulders. The material also felt very cheap and considering it's a Rachel Roy, that's pretty disappointing. When I tried it on my boyfriend said "wow it looks great" and as I walked closer to him he said "nevermind, it looks weird." Sad times.
Carolyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 8, 2015

This dress makes you feel comfortable and stunning at the same time.

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Of all the RTR dresses I've rented, this one literally made my date speechless. I wore it on NYE in Chicago - and it was warm, yet sexy, elegant and party ready. The material is heavy but slimming. I will rent this again and snatch it up when it goes on sale!
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155 lbs
Jan 23, 2015

Flattering and comfortable.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
I am renting for the second time. The dress is chic, and the cutouts add sophisticated sexiness. I felt great in the dress, and got tons of compliments. Fabric is thick, so it is good for a winter event.
Christine
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 3, 2015

Great dress for my daughter's Sweet 16. Perfect fit.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
True to size, comfortable, simple and elegant.
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 18, 2015

Valentine's Date

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
This dress is made of a heavy knit material which was the main reason I rented it. I went to DC for Valentine's weekend and I knew the weather was going to be really cold. When I received the dress the first thing I noticed was how heavy it was and thought it would be perfect for the cold weather. I ordered a L and XL because I rather go up a size then down a size. Well, the L was extremely big on me, I probably should have ordered a M and a S as a backup size! It was too bad that it didn't fit because it was really pretty. I ended up wearing my second dress instead.
Selena
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 18, 2015

Ran large desired to wear other dress I rented instead.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I rented two dresses. I decided not to wear this one because of how large it ran. Heavy knit good quality. I wear a size 6 and chose a size small from reading other reviews. I would go with the XS next time knowing the fit.
Michaela
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 27, 2015

great for March in NYC

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
nice statement dress without being too revealing
Debra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 60
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 154 lbs
Apr 13, 2015

Rent the Runway gave this free Birthday rental

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Gorgeous material that hugged every curve with class! This dress was a free birthday rental gift from RTR, and of course, I felt like the bell of the ball again! I'm absolutely loving my subscription! I'm always dressed to the max.
Sandra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Apr 27, 2015

Great dress Comfy and forgiving!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
THis dress was comfortable and cute, if your shoulders are your best asset GET IT! I'm 5'9 and found the length great, but may be a bit long if you are shorter. The sleeves are REALLY long, I had to roll them up, but being black you couldn't really notice. Its a stretchy material but not tight, just shaped nicely. Easy to wear dress, probably looks best on taller frames! Would def buy if I could!
Trina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
May 22, 2015

Great fit. No need to iron.

Size worn: S
Rented for: Date
Sexy yet sophisticated
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×