Rachel Roy

Bare Arm Dress

$114 to buy
$298 retail
Stylist Notes

Get chic and sultry for your night out with the girls. This dress by Rachel Roy shows just the right amount of skin for a look he won't forget! Simply add Inge Christopher’s Corsica Scale Clutch for the perfect finishing touch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: XS - XL.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black Ribbed Knit (100% Viscose). Long sleeves with cold shoulder detail. High neckline. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and eye-closure. 38” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
88 reviews
Fit
Large
(47)
True to Size
(32)
Small
(2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 52
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 182lbs
October 29, 2015
Fun and sexy, but a little big

I really like this dress but should have gotten a smaller size. I got the L but could have probably worn the M. I'm on the short side, 5'3" and the dress was a little long and the sleeves were long on me as well. The fabric is heavy and I thought might be too hot for a Texas night, but I was comfortable in it. And it hid my imperfections.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
November 2, 2015
So chic and comfy!

I absolutely LOVED this dress. I rented it for a girls night out to see Dracula at the Ballet. I read the reviews and decided to go with the medium ( I am a standard size 12 ) and it fit PERFECTLY! I hated how long the sleeves were, though. I ended up rolling them under and you couldn't even tell. This dress was so comfortable and effortlessly sexy. I have a shoulder cap tattoo and it showed in the sleeve detailing perfectly. This dress was also very easy to accessorize. I wore strappy heels and simple earrings, but did my makeup very dark and vampy (since we were seeing Dracula) and I loved it. I will definitely rent this dress again!!!!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
November 9, 2015
Flattering and comfortable!

I usually wear a size 10-12, which means I usually wear a size L or XL. However, after reading reviews, I went ahead and went a size down and ordered a L with a M as a back up. I ended up wearing the medium as the large was actually too big. The medium was flattering, comfortable, and I received compliments all night. One negative was that the sleeves were a little too long, so I tucked them in a little bit. Easy fix. I also felt like there was too much room in the arm pit area, but not noticeable by any means. Was a great dress for the night and a great value.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
December 4, 2015
Disappointed in Fit

The material seemed great but the model in the photo must have long arms because I was swimming in this one. You may want to size down. I liked the look. I didn't bother to request a replacement because I wouldn't have received it in time. Luckily I used the Thanksgiving special and two other items I did wear.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Age: 31
December 7, 2015
Awesome dress. Runs Large!!

I will definitely rent this dress again. The cable knit fabric is really thick so I wouldn't recommend in a warmer weather or for dancing. Its perfect for winter, or a fun night out. I had to cuff the sleeves because they were very long but it looked fine. The dress hit mid knee and I wore black booties with it. Its thicker, very form fitting, and flattering. It gets 5 stars.

LyndaDecember 7, 2015
Dress was huge. I'm 5'10 and had to roll up the sleeves. Heavy material
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
April 12, 2016
Modest black dress

The fabric is heavy - almost like a sweater. So I recommend for winter or cold nights. My only complaint is the neck. It felt tight and uncomfortable around the neck area - like it was a little too small. I had to let the zipper down.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 137lbs
April 26, 2016
Warm and comfortable but still sexy

Wore this for dinner with my husband on our anniversary at the coast. The dress was warm and comfortable (spanx-not required). The cut-out shoulders made it tasteful but still sexy. As with any black dress, this is the perfect canvas to highlight any accessories. The neckline is a mock turtle so I went sans necklace and wore fun shoes; a bright clutch would also work well with this dress.

Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 182lbs
December 20, 2013
Classy dress!

I wore this dress to my company holiday party and loved it. I'm 5'10" and didn't want anything too short or revealing, and this dress worked out great as it hit just at the knee. Fabric has a lot of stretch, so it is definitely form fitting and curve-accentuating (in a good way!). I have very broad shoulders and the cut-outs just barely hit in the right spot, so it may look a little bit off on someone with a more narrow frame. If you are torn between two sizes, definitely go with the smaller one. All in all a fantastic dress.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
March 30, 2016
Great Little Black Dress for Cooler Weather

This was my second time renting this dress for date nights. The first time I rented it in January, it was true to size and fit absolutely perfectly. This is why I rented it again. The second time, the fabric was stretched and fit MUCH larger, but was still acceptable in a pinch. The sleeves and length were both stretched out, which would be an issue if you are shorter or have shorter arms. I have a very long torso and it hit at the knee when it wasn't bunching up, and the sleeves were very long even for my super long arms! Both times I rented size Small. Fabric is thick and stretchy, perfect weight for chilly or downright cold weather. The bare shoulders add edge to an otherwise conservative sweater style dress. Definitely size DOWN, mainly due to the fact that it appears that their size Smalls are overused and the fabric is becoming stretched out and misshapen.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
November 28, 2014
Unflattering

I'm 5'7" and this was down to my shins. Possibly the most unflattering dress I've ever put on. The sleeves were about 6 inches too long as well. And yet it was somehow still clinged around the midsection. I returned it the same day. Seriously hideous.

Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 20, 2013
overall great dress and would rent again

It's heavy. Also the arms are long which can cause bunches at the shoulders. Definitely sexy while still professional, if that's the look you are going for.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
February 11, 2014
Love this dress!

This dress is sophisticated and sexy! The shoulders being out, while subtle, provides just the right amount of sexy.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 8, 2014
Would have been great in an xs

I am a 4 and the small was too big so I didn't wear it. I'm 5'7" The sleeves were also way too long

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
February 18, 2015
Ran large desired to wear other dress I rented instead.

I rented two dresses. I decided not to wear this one because of how large it ran. Heavy knit good quality. I wear a size 6 and chose a size small from reading other reviews. I would go with the XS next time knowing the fit.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Body type: Pear
Weight: 136lbs
January 1, 2014
Wore this dress to a concert, birthday dinner, and to the club in the same weekend!

I usually wear a XS/S but they only had M left and I really wanted to rent this dress so I was left with no choice--luckily it still fit and didn't look big.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
June 9, 2014
Too heavy

I love this dress in the pics but after trying it on the material was just too heavy for me!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 30
December 30, 2015
Love love love!

Wore this for formal Christmas party, was able to be comfortable and wear it all night! Dress is form fitting but the material feels comfortable and supportive. The sleeve gaps made it sexy without being revealing. I'm tall and curvy - I loved the length and that the arms were long enough. Received so many compliments, wish I could buy it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 54
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
May 23, 2016
Great Date Dress

My husband was pleasantly surprised. True to size and will keep you warm.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
December 1, 2016
I wore this dress on a Nov. evening in Vegas. It was warm, comfortable, and elegant. Fit perfect

If I can find this dress to purchase, I will definitely purchase!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 60
Bust size: 32B
December 20, 2016
Would rent again!

Loved this dress very flattering in just the right places. Received a lot of compliments! Only issue I had was the sleeves were a little long and I'm 5'7"

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 32
January 4, 2017
Great dress. Would buy/ rent again!!!

Dress was awesome. Stretchy- great with curves. Ran true to size to maybe a little big. Arm length was long. Many many compliments at the party. Def a HEAVY fabric so it's a fall/ winter dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 189lbs
November 24, 2013
Corporate party! Great first impression. Classy, Elegant, Timeless

Fit excellent. Very warm for dancing but breathable. Heavy material but extremely comfortable.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
December 9, 2013
LOVE TIHS DRESS! Perfect for a cocktail party or evening event!

Fits great, very true to size. Shoulder opening gives the dress a little sex appeal but length keeps it classy. definitely recommend.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 57
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150lbs
January 15, 2014
I RENTED a S & M. THE DRESSES CAME IN PERFECT CONDITION A DAY EARLY! I MAY NEVER BUY ANOTHER DRESS

The dress was perfect, almost spanx-like. Very comfortable to wear. Takes on your own body shape, but the black color is very forgiving. I got compliments on the dress all night long.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
January 27, 2014
Awesome, warm good looking dress.

I wore this dress to my firm's holiday party. I got unanimous votes to buy the dress! It was comfortable, sexy without being over the top and great for a cold winter night. It fits true to size and I would wear it again.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 46
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 210lbs
February 3, 2014
I danced the night away in this dress.

This dress is very flattering and comfortable. The material is thick with a lot of stretch. I will rent this one again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 7, 2014
The perfect LBD for New York Fashion Week!

Comfortable, forgiving fit with a hemline that works for bearing your legs (with booties!) in the winter.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 57
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Hourglass
February 11, 2014
Love the fit. Very comfortable and warm as the weather has been very cold in NY

Fits well. Sleeves long but folded under and wore wrist cuff. Not too long. Subtle but sexy. Lots of compliments will rent again.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Hourglass
February 24, 2014
Sleeves too long

Loved the fabric of this dress but the sleeves were way too long for me which made the bare shoulder area fit really funny.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
March 4, 2014
Great dress

Wore this to a Art party, so went with leopard pumps. Lots of compliments. It is heavy and clingy but attractive and comfy. Great for a winter party.recommend Spanx high waisted hose underneath. Would defiantly wear again. Great work or party dress.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
March 9, 2014
Absolutely gorgeous dress!!! Sophisticated and classy with just a little sex appeal...perfect!

I rented this for Mike Modano's jersey retirement ceremony and after party. Since I work for the team, I needed something dressy, but not too formal and somewhat conservative. I got tons of compliments all night - loved the dress so much I ordered it to own!! Rental was easy...will definitely use this site again.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
March 13, 2014
Comfortable and simple

This is a great option for a cocktail-optional party. Its is very formfitting so if you are self-conscious about showing curves or a tummy, this dress is not for you. I am 5'10" and broad shouldered; the large was way too big across the arms and shoulders and a bit baggy. The medium was a bit more formfitting than I would typically like but overall was pleased with how it fit and it was a great length for a corporate event. I would wear it again.

Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
April 7, 2014
Just perfect!

My first time trying rent the runway. Great experience! The dress and the other sized one came exactly when promised. It couldn't have been simpler. The dress was in perfect condition and was just want I wanted and expected! It is a heavier material, so it was perfect for the cooler evening when I wore it. My husband liked it so much he asked me to go online to buy it. My daughter was so impressed with the dress and my overall experience, that she is looking to rent 2 dresses for upcoming rehearsal dinners.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
May 31, 2014
LOVE THIS DRESS

I love this dress so much I've rented it twice and will again. True to size (I'm a true 6 and the S was perfect), very comfortable, a bit of stretch and not constricting. Great for professional events. On the heavier side, so best for colder months.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
June 16, 2014
Nice LBD

Fit true to size. The material was very heavy and cable-sweater like. It was a great LBD with fun shoulder cut outs. Nice for colder weather/winter events.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 58
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
August 18, 2014
Perfect for a cool night

Perfect dress for a dressy cocktail event on a cool fall evening when you want to look sexy and show some skin but not freeze!! I wore this to a dressy professional awards dinner in a cavernous old building Ivy League building that had poor heat. I felt amazing--got lots of compliments. It hugs your curves without being too suggestive as the knit material is very forgiving. Would definitely love to wear it again.

Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
February 3, 2015
Great dress for my daughter's Sweet 16. Perfect fit.

True to size, comfortable, simple and elegant.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
March 27, 2015
great for March in NYC

nice statement dress without being too revealing

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 62
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 154lbs
April 13, 2015
Rent the Runway gave this free Birthday rental

Gorgeous material that hugged every curve with class! This dress was a free birthday rental gift from RTR, and of course, I felt like the bell of the ball again! I'm absolutely loving my subscription! I'm always dressed to the max.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Age: 46
January 22, 2016
it was a company event and the dress looked professional as well as sexy

great fit, true to its size!!

See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×