Rachel Roy

Bare Arm Dress

$30 rental
$298 retail
Delivery + Return Dates
Learn More
Stylist Notes

Get chic and sultry for your night out with the girls. This dress by Rachel Roy shows just the right amount of skin for a look he won't forget! Simply add Inge Christopher’s Corsica Scale Clutch for the perfect finishing touch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: XS - XL.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black Ribbed Knit (100% Viscose). Long sleeves with cold shoulder detail. High neckline. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and eye-closure. 38” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
82 reviews
Fit
Large
(45)
True to Size
(29)
Small
(2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 57
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
August 18, 2014
Perfect for a cool night
Perfect dress for a dressy cocktail event on a cool fall evening when you want to look sexy and show some skin but not freeze!! I wore this to a dressy professional awards dinner in a cavernous old building Ivy League building that had poor heat. I felt amazing--got lots of compliments. It hugs your curves without being too suggestive as the knit material is very forgiving. Would definitely love to wear it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
June 16, 2014
Nice LBD
Fit true to size. The material was very heavy and cable-sweater like. It was a great LBD with fun shoulder cut outs. Nice for colder weather/winter events.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
June 9, 2014
Too heavy
I love this dress in the pics but after trying it on the material was just too heavy for me!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
May 31, 2014
LOVE THIS DRESS
I love this dress so much I've rented it twice and will again. True to size (I'm a true 6 and the S was perfect), very comfortable, a bit of stretch and not constricting. Great for professional events. On the heavier side, so best for colder months.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 8, 2014
Would have been great in an xs
I am a 4 and the small was too big so I didn't wear it. I'm 5'7" The sleeves were also way too long
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
April 7, 2014
Just perfect!
My first time trying rent the runway. Great experience! The dress and the other sized one came exactly when promised. It couldn't have been simpler. The dress was in perfect condition and was just want I wanted and expected! It is a heavier material, so it was perfect for the cooler evening when I wore it. My husband liked it so much he asked me to go online to buy it. My daughter was so impressed with the dress and my overall experience, that she is looking to rent 2 dresses for upcoming rehearsal dinners.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
April 2, 2014
Great Fit
Classy yet sexy dress. Hugs your curves but hides them. I didn't even try to M as the S fit very well. It was a good length for me as I am tall and it was perfect for a girls night out on the town. Thicker fabric good for a chilly evening. This is a nice staple piece.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
March 21, 2014
Na
It's a sexy dress, but the fit is off, for me. Also, it's super heavy fabric so don't wear this if you're going dancing with the girls!
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 20, 2014
This dress make feel sexy! I love it
Xs fit me perfect
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
March 15, 2014
Very classy dress.
The material is heavy, so it is not going to hug your curves much unless you are very curvy. The heavy material however gives it a very quality look and feel. The shoulder cutouts are a great touch.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
March 13, 2014
Comfortable and simple
This is a great option for a cocktail-optional party. Its is very formfitting so if you are self-conscious about showing curves or a tummy, this dress is not for you. I am 5'10" and broad shouldered; the large was way too big across the arms and shoulders and a bit baggy. The medium was a bit more formfitting than I would typically like but overall was pleased with how it fit and it was a great length for a corporate event. I would wear it again.
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32AA
March 10, 2014
Perfect fit! Comfortable but sexy at the same time!
This dress was perfect the fabric is heavy but great for a winter night out! Fits great and is so comfortable
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
March 9, 2014
Absolutely gorgeous dress!!! Sophisticated and classy with just a little sex appeal...perfect!
I rented this for Mike Modano's jersey retirement ceremony and after party. Since I work for the team, I needed something dressy, but not too formal and somewhat conservative. I got tons of compliments all night - loved the dress so much I ordered it to own!! Rental was easy...will definitely use this site again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
March 7, 2014
Photo does not do this dress justice!
I often wear a large but was glad I got the medium with this dress. Knit is thick enough to hide imperfections but still form fitting and not bulky. just enough skin to be sexy yet appropriate for a work event. This dress can go from party to wedding with a change of accessories. Its a real winner.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
March 4, 2014
Great dress
Wore this to a Art party, so went with leopard pumps. Lots of compliments. It is heavy and clingy but attractive and comfy. Great for a winter party.recommend Spanx high waisted hose underneath. Would defiantly wear again. Great work or party dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
February 24, 2014
Sleeves too long
Loved the fabric of this dress but the sleeves were way too long for me which made the bare shoulder area fit really funny.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 55
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
February 11, 2014
Love the fit. Very comfortable and warm as the weather has been very cold in NY
Fits well. Sleeves long but folded under and wore wrist cuff. Not too long. Subtle but sexy. Lots of compliments will rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
February 11, 2014
Love this dress!
This dress is sophisticated and sexy! The shoulders being out, while subtle, provides just the right amount of sexy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 53
Body type: Petite
Weight: 122lbs
February 10, 2014
Cute but....
Notified the day prior to arrival that my back up size was ruined beyond repair. Of course the size I did receive was too large. Rent the runway was awesome as usual and sent me two other dresses the next day. I did end up wearing one of them. Great customer service.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
February 10, 2014
Perfect LBD for a work event!
I am an event planner and wore this onsite for a Hollywood themed event. It was the perfect dress for working at this event. Super comfortable and stretchy so that I could run around easily and cute but still professional enough. It did run a bit big. I almost wore the medium but the large was more work appropriate. I would definitely rent it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 7, 2014
The perfect LBD for New York Fashion Week!
Comfortable, forgiving fit with a hemline that works for bearing your legs (with booties!) in the winter.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 44
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 210lbs
February 3, 2014
I danced the night away in this dress.
This dress is very flattering and comfortable. The material is thick with a lot of stretch. I will rent this one again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
January 27, 2014
Awesome, warm good looking dress.
I wore this dress to my firm's holiday party. I got unanimous votes to buy the dress! It was comfortable, sexy without being over the top and great for a cold winter night. It fits true to size and I would wear it again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
January 24, 2014
Classy & Sexy NYE
I loved wearing this dress. It is very flattering, although it runs on the bigger side. It was the perfect dress to wear for New Year's while celebrating with friends and family. I received many compliments. Definitely recommend.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150lbs
January 15, 2014
I RENTED a S & M. THE DRESSES CAME IN PERFECT CONDITION A DAY EARLY! I MAY NEVER BUY ANOTHER DRESS
The dress was perfect, almost spanx-like. Very comfortable to wear. Takes on your own body shape, but the black color is very forgiving. I got compliments on the dress all night long.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
January 10, 2014
Cute dress, runs big
I work this out on NYE 2013 (I live in Chicago and it's cold so long sleeves are the way to go!). I thought this was flattering and the shoulder cut outs made the dress feel sexy and fun. Runs a little big and the dress seems to trap scents (aka could smell the perfume on this dress from the gal who had this dress before me).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155lbs
January 9, 2014
It's warm, edgy, and sexy without showing too much. Plus, I was proposed to while wearing it!
Dress fit fine across the shoulders, chest. Was really long in the sleeves, but sleeves were easily folded back without taking away from the dress. The dress was a little tight across my tummy (I don't have a flat tummy), so I was mildly self conscious about that-but rocked it anyway. Dress was really warm and my now fiance was really....attentive! :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
January 2, 2014
I got this dress for NYE, and wasn't able to wear it.
I ordered an XLarge, this dress runs extremely large and is also very heavy. You can't tell by the picture unless you zoom in but it has ribbing throughout.
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 51
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
January 1, 2014
HUGE and heavy! Couldn't wear it.
Got large as back-up to XL (I usually wear a 12 and afraid fitted dress would run small), but L was massive, weighed a ton and sleeves long enough for length of two people's arms! Style fitted/sexy but discrete enough for work-related event, but too conservative and heavy for fun party! Disappointed.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Body type: Pear
Weight: 136lbs
January 1, 2014
Wore this dress to a concert, birthday dinner, and to the club in the same weekend!
I usually wear a XS/S but they only had M left and I really wanted to rent this dress so I was left with no choice--luckily it still fit and didn't look big.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
December 22, 2013
RTR was great with overnighting me a smaller size, but I didn't love the dress.
This dress runs extremely large. I am a true size 12 and ordered a L and XL, when the dresses arrived I was swimming in the L. RTR overnighted me a size medium. Even the medium was slightly baggy in the waist. I'm 6'0 tall and the dress hit my knees looking very matronly. I taped it up about two inches and it did look better. I can't imagine how long it would be on a shorter person. I got my replacement the day of the party, and if I wasn't in a bind I doubt I would have worn it. It was fine for the event, but I didn't love it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 20, 2013
overall great dress and would rent again
It's heavy. Also the arms are long which can cause bunches at the shoulders. Definitely sexy while still professional, if that's the look you are going for.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
December 20, 2013
Perfect for company Christmas party
The material made the dress hang well and form to my body in a very flattering way. It was simple, elegent, yet a little sexy with the bare shoulders and form fitting material. I ordered in small and medium since I'm inbetween a 4 and 6, but the Medium ended up being too big. the small was perfect for my smaller chest and short legs.
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 182lbs
December 20, 2013
Classy dress!
I wore this dress to my company holiday party and loved it. I'm 5'10" and didn't want anything too short or revealing, and this dress worked out great as it hit just at the knee. Fabric has a lot of stretch, so it is definitely form fitting and curve-accentuating (in a good way!). I have very broad shoulders and the cut-outs just barely hit in the right spot, so it may look a little bit off on someone with a more narrow frame. If you are torn between two sizes, definitely go with the smaller one. All in all a fantastic dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
December 16, 2013
Just a good LBD, nothing special
The fabric of this dress is pretty cool, it is a heavier weight and is very slimming; however, the size I ordered was too big. It would have fit better had it been a bit more snug and the sleeves are way too long. I'm pretty tall, 5'8", and I had to roll them up about 3 to 4 inches. The cutouts at the shoulder were cute, but they weren't enough to make me want to wear it again. Just a good LBD, nothing special.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
December 15, 2013
My boyfriend said I looked stunning and incredibly sexy.....
Dress was very flattering...sleeves were a little long. Material was nice..not too heavy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
December 9, 2013
LOVE TIHS DRESS! Perfect for a cocktail party or evening event!
Fits great, very true to size. Shoulder opening gives the dress a little sex appeal but length keeps it classy. definitely recommend.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
December 5, 2013
Love!
Really cool dress! It's a very stretchy rib knit fabric, and an easy fit. Ran a little large, so I'd size down for backup. I'm 5'8" and it almost hit my knees so on anyone shorter just be aware it will be on the longer side! I wore this for a casual night out but you could definitely dress it up with a pair of statement earrings or a ring for a cocktail party!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 4, 2013
Simple, Classy and Sexy LDB
I rented this dress for an event for Giving Tuesday in DC. The dress was fitted and so comfortable. The material was sweater-like and ribbed but not too heavy. I originally ordered a S and M as backup but when it arrived they both were too big. I called RTR and they sent me an XS overnight and it fit like a glove. Sleeve length was a little too long but I rolled them under about 1/2 inch and you could not even tell. This was my first RTR experience and I am definitely a fan.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 189lbs
November 24, 2013
Corporate party! Great first impression. Classy, Elegant, Timeless
Fit excellent. Very warm for dancing but breathable. Heavy material but extremely comfortable.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 3
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×