Proenza Schouler

Laced Whispers Dress

$114 to buy
$2,130 retail
Stylist Notes

This is the ultimate naughty but nice dress! Rent this Proenza Schouler showstopper for that special birthday celebration or cocktail event.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted built-in bustier helps to accentuate small bust sizes and best suited for A to C cup sizes
WAIST: Very fitted
HIPS: Fitted - fitted pencil skirt is flattering on straight & narrow body types; for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or a NuBra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Grey lace. Strapless bustier neckline. Pique bodice with ribbon seaming. Inner corset. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 31'' from top of bodice to hem.

Share
86 reviews
Fit
Large
(1)
True to Size
(28)
Small
(55)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
December 15, 2014
Amazing service!
Love love loved the dress! Dress runs small. No boning up top. Hollywood dress tape does the trick, my dress stayed put the entire night. Can't wait to rent again ;)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
August 3, 2015
Cute but difficult
I read reviews to size up and that there was not much structure in the bust, so I went with larger and sticky tape. The tape did help, but still seemed a little off throughout the night. I got lots of compliments and was in love with the color and lace on the bottom.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 124lbs
November 16, 2012
I wanted to love it...
I thought this dress would be perfect for a pearshape like me, but instead the fit was just a bit off and unflattering. I think if it were a mini dress it would be better, but the skirt came off a bit frumpy. The top had no shape, and I don't think anyone with larger than a B cup would feel comfortable in the dress. Loved it on the hanger, but not on me...
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 18, 2011
Don't even think about this dress if you are larger than a small/med. B-cup. You will have a wardrobe malfunction!!! I did :(
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
November 7, 2011
as per other reviewers, the bodice has no boning or structure to it which makes it look/feel less formal and also renders it totally inappropriate for anyone above an A cup. the bodice is also not completely white- there is blue detailing (the lines that look sort of gray in this photo) which again made it look less formal to me. it would be a cute enough garden party dress, but i wouldn't recommend it for a nicer or more formal event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
November 30, 2011
Very pretty and unique
I rented this dress as an extra, and did not end up wearing it because it was a little too formal and the fit was not right on me. It was too long and the top would have required a lot of tape to stay up...if it had been my own dress, I'm sure alterations would have made it a knock out. It is really intricate and pretty, and I'm sure you would never run into anyone at a party in that same dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
March 5, 2012
Beautiful Dress for a Wonderful Moment!
I ordered this dress to wear as my going away outfit for my wedding. It's so pretty in person! You can't really tell in the picture, but there's a bit of yellow threading mixed in with the grey lace of the skirt. I absolutely loved it! The only issue I had is, as other reviewers have mentioned, the bust is completely unstructured and runs small. I had to tape the cups to me to keep them from falling down. Otherwise, great dress!
SusieJuly 11, 2013
this is adorable!!!!!!!
evelynJune 12, 2014
beautiful picture !
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
July 31, 2012
Easy and perfect!
Loved this dress and had lots of compliments. The size 8 zipped fine until it hit my chest and I had to go up to the 10 because of that (I am a B or C cup). The dress sits EXTREMELY low up top so you have to be comfortable with that. I loved it!!!!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
September 17, 2012
.
Ordered a 2 and a 4 and there wasn't enough fabric to cover my normal-sized chest (34B).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 147lbs
November 12, 2012
Beautiful!
This dress is even prettier in person! I loved all the trim detail! Sadly, it runs a little small in the bust. Not a good fit for top heavy women.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
December 6, 2012
stunning
bust is very small with no stretch. recommend going up one size
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 5, 2013
Nice in theory...
This dress is nice in theory and on the hanger, but a disaster when you put it on. It needs more structure on the top. I wanted the dress to work for me because I love the style, but it just didn't.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
March 13, 2013
Pretty dress, but very odd fit on the bust.
This dress was beautiful, however it is extremely uncomfortable to wear as there is no structure to the bust whatsoever. I really wish there were boning in the bodice. I had to wear a shawl all night because the bust kept sliding down. It was so embarrassing and uncomfortable. In photos it looks fab...but to move and sit, it was a nightmare.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
April 24, 2013
I wore this dress to my engagement party. It photographed so well &I received lots of complements.
This runs WAY small and if you have a chest size over 32C, don't even bother (and even that would be pushing it). I normally wear a 0 and I couldn't even zip up that size. I wore the 2 and it was snug. This dress is definitely meant for boy-shaped females with small chests, which I happen to be, so it worked for me. The size 2 dress I received had a little bit of damage, but the details of the dress are so intricate, you couldn't really tell once it was on.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 143lbs
April 26, 2013
I rented this dress for my January birthday party in NYC. I loved it!
This dress runs fairly small. I usually wear a 6, but I ordered up to an 8 based on the other recommendations. It fit really well, and the details in the lace are gorgeous. The color is really soft and pretty, and flattering on fair skin. You definitely need to wear a strapless bra with this to give the top a little structure, as it has no boning to keep it up. I used the fashion tape included and that worked great.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 134lbs
April 29, 2013
Gorgeous Dress- easy to wear!
the dress ran a little small in the hips so I opted for the size up(6). I used double sided tape to secure the top but did find after dancing a bit that I was tugging at the dress to keep it from folding over on one side and exposing my bra. A fresh tape job fixed it right up. Other than that this dress really does all the work for you. It made such a statement and received so many compliments all night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
May 29, 2013
Most compliments I EVER got in a dress. Period.
Ran small, I always always wear a 0, and thank goodness I ordered the backup in the 2, because I couldn't breathe in the 0, but the 2 fit like it was made for me! The material was so so gorgeous in person, it has been my absolute FAVORITE RTR rental yet!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
July 17, 2013
.
This is not for a girl with a chest. The cups were far too small for my 34 C cups even at a size 6. Good thing the main dress I rented worked!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
January 11, 2014
Liked but didn't love
The details of this dress are stunning. The yellow stitching over the grey lace is really beautiful. I wore this for my birthday celebration, and thought the dress was gorgeous, but the fit was difficult. It is VERY tight on the hips if you have any at all (and I am kinda hippy), and the bustier is a little tough to work with. I rented the 4 as my normal size & 6 backup- definitely needed the 6. I did wear a strapless bra to help fill it out, but it WILL NOT stay up alone. I used a ton of fashion tape to help with the top. That being said, I did feel really beautiful in the dress, just didn't love it as much as I hoped to.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
January 20, 2014
Beautiful dress but like the other clients have commented the top has no structure.
Very small on top. There was one cup that had underwire and the other cup didn't have it. This really bothered me! I am normally and 6-8 and I ordered the 10 based on with comments. I could have even used a 12 if it was available. I am a 36 B and the top was very tight. I had to use a molded stick on bra to give the cups shape and I used fashion tape to keep everything in place. Beautiful dress but odd fitting on top.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
February 21, 2014
So beautiful but too small!
The dress was gorgeous. The detail of the fabric was absolutely stunning. Unfortunately, I felt like my hips were going to bust the seams on the size 4. Also, like other reviewers have mentioned, the top had very little structure. If you have a booty like I do, but are small everywhere else, this dress just won't work. It made me really sad because I really loved the look of the dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34DDD/E
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 24, 2014
The dress runs really small. I ordered it for my birthday and ended up using another dress.
Flimsy material; I really didn't like this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
April 26, 2014
Gorgeous dress, tough to wear!
This dress is wonky in the bustier part. No wiring, had to tape the front AND back to keep it from falling down! The hip area is tight, and that's why I chose a size 2, and I'm usually always a size 0. I loved the overall look of the dress and that's why I ended up wearing it but you have to be wary of the way it fits!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
May 13, 2014
Beautiful dress, odd fit
This dress was super tight in a size up from what I usually wear, also, the breast cups had no underwire and were tiny!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
May 23, 2014
Very pretty although top was quite small, rented for my rehearsal dinner, ended up not wearing.
Both 8 and 10 I was able to get into, although top was quite small. Very pretty although not meant for girls with chests
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
May 27, 2014
Pretty dress... unfortunately it did not fit.
I rented this dress for a wedding. After reading the reviews, I ordered a size up and went with the 2 and the 4 as a back up size. The size 2 would not event zip up and the size 4 zipped up with some effort but was very tight in the chest area and probably would have burst open in the back had I worn the dress to the wedding. I opted not to wear the dress because it would not have been comfortable. I would definitely suggest going 2 or 3 sizes up. My chest is normal size and was still popping out of the dress.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
June 4, 2014
I wore this to a senior banquet for my organization -- this dress was the highlight!!
Note that this dress is VERY small-- I have worn another Proenza (bustier silk forest green) from RTR about 4 years ago and fit easily into a 0. This size 2 barely fit! I have a slightly athletic/straight build (5'4"-5'5", 115 lb) with a small bust (32B-- this is my friend's acct) and the rib cage barely zipped up. The bust of the 2 could probably fit no bigger than a 34B. The material doesn't stretch at all, and the cups aren't padded. Now to the merits-- I am so glad I wore this dress!! It photographed beautifully and I loved every moment I was in it. The color and cut is so flattering and perfectly sophisticated while still being interesting and young. I wish I had another event and I wish I could wear it again!!! TL;DR: this dress is GOLD. Be careful for the sizing though!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
June 6, 2014
The dress fits really poorly for petite girls.
The length was far too long and the top did not do any justice. It was far too tight to wear with a bra, and gave NO support or charm to smaller breasts without a bra. It also is a different color than shown in the photos.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
June 9, 2014
Love the look
Ended up wearing another RTR dress because the dress did not come with double sided tape (as others had received) and the top of the dress wouldn't stay in place otherwise. Definitely runs a little small as others have shared, particularly in the bottom (cups in top were actually big on me). Bottom has no give or stretch whatsoever. But I can definitely see how this dress would photograph very well!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
June 28, 2014
Runs Small
Beautiful dress - actually looks much darker in person. It runs small - both of the sizes I ordered didn't fit (Size 0 and 2). However, RTR sent me another dress in time for my event. Maybe I'll rent it again, this time one size up.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
July 9, 2014
RTR always comes to the rescue
Stunning dress !! Looks much better on then it does online. The dress runs a bit small. I usually wear a size 2 but ended up needing the 4 in this dress. The corset top is deceiving and has no actual support so double sided tape is a must !!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 2, 2014
Beautiful lace dress
Normally I wear in between a 4 and 6 size dress, however after carefully reading the reviews from other renters I decided to order this dress in an 8 and 10. I ended up wearing the 10 and even that was VERY fitted. This dress is not for anyone who has a bust bigger than a c-cup. I received SO many compliments at the wedding I attended and I really loved it. It wasn't exactly the most comfortable dress, but I would highly recommend it based on how great it looked on.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 8, 2014
Beautiful dress, but tricky to wear
This was my first RTR experience, and it definitely won't be my last. The dress was beautiful and I got so many compliments from friends and strangers at the wedding! I felt like a walking advertisement for RTR and couldn't quit gushing about it. The process of ordering, receiving and returning the dress was super easy. I knew from other reviews the dress ran small and ordered my usual size, but the backup was sold out. Luckily I was able to make it work, but I was all kinds of taped up inside the dress. The bodice has no support and would not work on larger chests. A strapless/backless/self-adhesive bra and lots of Hollywood tape did the trick. It stayed put, looked great and was worth the trouble. I would recommend it, but would definitely take those things into consideration!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133lbs
September 9, 2014
Ugh. Too bad for this one.....wanted to love it!!
This dress is well made, but for who?? Definitely someone built straight and narrow, no curves at all. It didn't accommodate my chest or hips. With that in mind, definitely order if your body type would allow. I would say it runs a size and a half smaller that my normal 4-6. The 6 was very small. Good luck!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
September 24, 2014
RUNS SMALL.
I normally wear a size 4 and ordered the 6 as back up, the 6 was too small to zip up. However, the dress is really beautiful. It was a shame I could not wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
September 28, 2014
Boyfriends 30th bday
Dress is amazing- runs a bit small and flimsy up top but great for small chested girls. I would suggest fashion tape and spanx but it was very hard to part with!
StashaNovember 13, 2014
You guys are adorable!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 13, 2014
Beautiful dress! Listen to warnings, only rent if have small bust!
This was my first RTR experience and the service was spectacular. I love the ease of the service and will definitely be a returning customer. So, I rented this dress despite some of the warnings just because it looked so pretty and I decided I would make it work! It really was beautiful and definitely unique, however, I wish I would've listened to other reviews and selected another. It is true that it really is ONLY meant for small busted women. A cup or smaller. B maybe..... I felt uncomfortable all night because my boobs were so smashed in, I taped the dress all around to keep it up, but after a 60 minute Catholic ceremony of sitting, standing and kneeling, it kept pulling it off of me and I'd have to keep pulling it up and re-adjusting anyways, which is never attractive. It stinks to be uncomfortable throughout an entire evening worrying about popping out, so don't put yourself through it. I wore the 4, but could' have fit into the 2 body wise, but the 4 fit my boobs better, so it was a bit baggy in the middle when I would sit down. Listen to the reviews and pass this one up if you are bigger than an A cup.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
October 27, 2014
Didn't get a chance to wear it because it ran EXTREMELY SMALL.
Pretty dress. I normally wear a 4. I read the reviews that said to order up so I ordered the 6 and the 8 and neither fit (I couldn't even zip it up). The top is more of a mesh pattern (see closeup pic). Bummed it didn't work out this time!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
June 27, 2014
Classy
I read the reviews prior to renting so I knew it would probably run small on my 34D chest and it did- the cups not having any structure to them actually worked to my advantage in this dress because I just used adhesive tape and never once had to re-adjust throughout the day. I wore a ribbon belt around the waist and it looked great with the dress. Received lots of compliments:)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
January 2, 2015
Didn't wear.
Sadly, I couldn't wear this dress. I sized up, 6 and 8. Sadly, that made the bust way way way to big, but since I have the butt of a kardashian, I doubt I could've worn a four. Both fit about the same as well.... which is to say, I looked horrid in it. I felt so bad about myself in this dress that I had a mini-meltdown trying to get ready. Maybe I should've gotten two styles of dresses as I usually do but I decided to order last minute and was paying 30 bucks for overnight shipping already. I've come to learn my size and body shape pretty well, so I've always had good luck renting from here and getting a good dress. Despite reading the reviews and looking at girls with my same shape, I ended up with something I couldn't wear in public, lest I wanted to end up flashing the crowd my boobs or look like 10 lbs of sausage stuffed in a five pound casing. Sigh. Guess my new years resolution is to lose weight this year.
See more reviews:
1 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×