Proenza Schouler

Laced Whispers Dress

$114 to buy
$2,130 retail
Stylist Notes

This is the ultimate naughty but nice dress! Rent this Proenza Schouler showstopper for that special birthday celebration or cocktail event.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted built-in bustier helps to accentuate small bust sizes and best suited for A to C cup sizes
WAIST: Very fitted
HIPS: Fitted - fitted pencil skirt is flattering on straight & narrow body types; for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or a NuBra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Grey lace. Strapless bustier neckline. Pique bodice with ribbon seaming. Inner corset. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 31'' from top of bodice to hem.

Share
86 reviews
Fit
Large
(1)
True to Size
(28)
Small
(55)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185lbs
January 10, 2015
This was such a beautiful dress! Unfortunately, it ran very small so I wasn't able to wear it for NY

This was such a beautiful dress! Unfortunately, it ran very small so I wasn't able to wear it for NYE. Definitely a better fit for women with a smaller bust.

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
June 15, 2015
This dress was Stunning, but fit small on top and difficult to walk in.

This dress was stunning! I ordered it for a wedding. I wanted a size 4 but they only had it available in a size 2. Usually I am in-between so I was nervous about risking it with only the size 2. I wish I would have waited and worn this for a different event when I could get the 4. The 2 fit but the cups were very very small (I do not have a big chest at all!). I knew I would be dancing and any lifting of my arms threw off the entire fit of the top of the dress. Maybe a 4 would have been better? Also there is NO SLIT! We walked 3 blocks to the wedding and I could barely take a full step. It was even difficult to climb stairs because I really couldn’t lift my legs. My husband joked about me only being able to stand still and look pretty all night. Overall I felt amazing in the dress but on a scale of 1-5 this dress gets a 1 for functionality. Also I had to wear stick on bra and also garment tape to hold all the goods on place. At the reception I ended up changing into my back up dress so I could really dance and enjoy myself without being worried about giving a peep show.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
August 5, 2015
Beautiful dress , difficult fit

While the dress has a 5 star look, it scores low on function and structure . It lacks boning in the bodice or cups for the breasts , making it difficult to wear even for an easy -to-fit, proportional body . It looked great on at first, but as soon as I began to move , I was constantly worrying about wardrobe malfunction . (Fashion tape offered no solution. ) The dress also runs small , and unfortunately, shows some visible signs of wear . The size 4 was missing the hook above the zipper , the lace and lining were frayed in a few areas .

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
September 13, 2015
Runs small... especially the bodice.

I ended up wearing the 2 because I couldn't get my breasts into the size 0 without them falling out. With the size 2 I still needed to tape my breasts into the dress to ensure they wouldn't pop out because the bodice is very flimsy. (If you are very top heavy this dress will likely not work.) Other than that, I was very pleased. It was perfect for a Hollywood party.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
December 29, 2015
I wore this for my sister's wedding.

The dress was tight. The top needed fashion tape. Since I have a small bust, it worked, but could be difficult to wear for a person with a larger bust. I danced, partied, and received many compliments. I would rent again in a heartbeat.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 18, 2013
Beautiful!!

I wore this dress for my daughter's backyard wedding.Being the host and the mother of the bride that day...I cannot tell you what a relieve it was when I finally got dressed and I looked beautiful!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112lbs
May 23, 2014
Beautiful but impossible!

I'm so torn here. Like others, I was dying (dying!) to fall in love with this dress. It is truly spectacular on and in pictures. Like others, I sized up from a 2 to a 4 (which was just fine). And of course, like others, I found it nearly impossible to keep the damn thing on! The top is flimsy, made for smaller chests, and just does NOT stay up. I used fashion tape and safety pins, to no avail. My bra showed nearly the entire night.. but oh, how my pictures came out so lovely. I felt really beautiful despite the problems, so four stars it is.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 153lbs
August 4, 2014
Received tons of compliments. Size up

Love this dress!! The details definitely set it apart. Runs small so size up thankfully the backup size fit great. Only Downfall is the bust, it's not structured so it doesn't offer support for a larger chest. However, I used some Hollywood tape and the top stay put all night!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
December 1, 2011
No structure

Yes the dress is pretty, but it's lack of structure in the bodess meant I had to keep pulling up the top, my bra was showing half the dinner, and my B cup made this dress look inappropriate with way too much cleavage hanging out. I was quite uncomfortable and eventually put a shawl around me to cover up.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
February 3, 2014
Very pretty

I rented it for as an alternative for a wedding but didn't get to wear it. It runs a little smaller than normal.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
March 18, 2014
lovely details on this dress!

i normally wear a 4 and decided to size up to a 6 since the dress was quite fitted in the rib cage. of note: the size 6 no longer has the underwire at the bust, but the size 4 does. there are great details on the dress - the very pale grey-ish purple, the delicate lace and light green detailing. i would not recommend this dress for anyone with a larger chest - there just isn't much room up top and no give to the fabric.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 6, 2014
Cute!

I didn't end up wearing this but i loved it! The top needed to be taped up entirely but super cool and beautiful dress

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
April 9, 2014
Such a disappointment

Rented this absolutely gorgeous dress for my Valentine's Day dinner. When it arrived, I knew immediately that it was a little tight around the bust, but it was so pretty I was determined to wear it anyway. IT WAS SO UNCOMFORTABLE that I skipped to the bathroom half way through dinner, took off the top and buttoned my jacket over it for the rest of the night. Nearly ruined dinner entirely, DO NOT rent unless you are size A.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
May 1, 2014
Great dress

Loved the dress- The top bustier part was good with the wire to keep it up, but it was a little snug for my chest size. The dress fit a little snug to size. But overall great dress!

Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
July 6, 2014
Beautiful dress! Runs small.

I LOVED this dress, I thought the detailing was beautiful and it's very well made, but the 6 was very, very small in the bust and there is virtually no built-in support, so it wasn't happening — and my backup size was unavailable. Size up, and make sure you have a no-show bra on hand.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
July 14, 2014
Looks great, but doesn't stay up.

The dress is gorgeous and I received multiple compliments on it but I was also pulling it up all night long. It wasn't a matter of being to big, It was very tight, to the point that I was barely able to zip it up but there is no structure in the bust and the fabric falls down.

Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124lbs
December 24, 2014
very flattering dress

Fit like a glove, but definitely runs small. Very flattering.

Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 37
July 25, 2016
Beautiful dress, runs small, not much top support.

This was a really gorgeous dress! I got the zero and it fit me like a glove. I'm only 5-1", but at the time, I weighed maybe 95 lbs. The top was super annoying and I had to use tape to keep it in place...just didn't have enough support. Although it was a beautiful dress, dancing in it proved challenging.

View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Body type: Pear
September 20, 2011

LOVED this dress! Was everything I wanted it to be. I ordered a 4 and 6 even though I'm normally a 4 because I thought it would run small but it fit perfect! The only downside was I am a D cup and it was hard to keep them in but a little fashion tape tucked them away.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
October 15, 2011

I ordered a size 4 and a size 6 and both dresses arrived missing underwires in the cups. I was unable to wear the dress for the special occasion like I had planned on.

RTR CustomerOctober 15, 2011
Lycia Loo......Tell me about the dress. I think it quite lovely and have asked Andrea to rent it for me to wear to your wedding. What do you think?
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
October 27, 2011

I would say this dress runs true to size, though agree that it is SMALL in the bust. The other issue isn't so much the bust-size, it's the lack of structure/flimsy fabric around the bust area. In looking online I was expecting some boning and/or underwire and there was none. That said- the dress is beautiful! I rented this as an "extra" and didn't end up wearing it since it wasn't appropriate for the occasion but I will DEFINITELY be interested in rented again for an event where I need a short dress. Really recommend if you are small in the chest, it's truly beautiful.

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 1, 2011
The dresses came as scheduled and I mailed them back in the prepaid envelope. Could not be easier or more fun!

I am tall and slender. I ordered the 4 and the 6 and ended up wearing the 6. The bust is very small so be careful if you are full chested. I had to wear fashion tape to secure the top, not to keep the dress from falling off but to keep the cups flush to my skin. The size 4 dress was perfect however I couldn't wear it because it was too small. The size 6 had some fraying on the ribbon but from a distance no one could tell. Overall it's a beautiful dress but would work best on slim body frames.

JAMIEDecember 1, 2011
I love your necklace! Where did you get it? It looks great with the dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
February 14, 2012
Beautiful, but unworn

The dress is stunning, however I would have to agree with other reviews in that the top is not as structured as I would have hoped. I have a small bust and even I was having difficulty keeping it up without it looking like I was falling out of it. I ended up not wearing the dress, but the colors are stunning. The hint of blue adds to the overall effect. I just wish my body was meant to wear it. Luckily, RTR has wonderful customer service and I was credited for future rentals!

Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
May 14, 2012
beautiful but get fashion tape

I loved this dress the detail is so beautiful and it is more of a grayish green color more so than ivory(but still a beautiful color so I didn't care).. def best for slender people..I am 5'2 110lbs wore the sz 0. the cup parts do not have boning or structure so the other reviews were right.. I needed to use fashion tape too to keep in from slipping down all night(the fashion tape worked well though) for reference I'm a 32B.. every where else on the dress fits like a glove.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
August 26, 2012
Beautiful, but ill-fitting

This dress was absolutely beautiful and I couldn't wait to wear it. However, like other reviews say, the top had absolutely no structure and just flopped over, no matter what I tried. Perhaps someone with a different shape could have worn it better. If you rent, I would definitely take advantage of the $25 second style just in case this one doesn't work for you either.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 111lbs
October 4, 2012
LOVE

I loved this dress and overall was very lady-like, yet modern. My only complaint was that the top of the bustline kept folding down and the cup was very demi-like (I wear a 32A and had to be very careful of the top falling down).

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Petite
April 12, 2013
not what i was looking for

this dress fit great and all, but unfortunately, the colors and texture were much different then in the picture,

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 3, 2013
pretty

I rented a size 6 and 8 Nicole Miller however the 6 was abruptly discontinued. RTR substituted this dress which really is beautiful. However the top didn't fit as I am a DD (of course whomever chose the dress for me wouldn't know this!) I was surprised that RTR even substituted the dress (for no charge, despite the fact that this rental was most costly than my original) and I'm grateful that they did - what a company! Their customer service is absolutely unbeatable and I will continue to use and recommend this amazing service! PS - the recommended bust size for this dress is A-C - and they mean that! If you fall within this range however DO NOT miss out on this dress

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 17, 2013
Figure flattering,

Definely for small chested women. I wore an adhesive bra and lots of double sided tape to avoid any wardrobe malfunctions.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
May 6, 2014
Was sexy but cute! Perfect for my bachelorette party.

My original rental was way too large and the stylist recommended this to me. She was so amazing... I confirmed this dress replacement the Friday afternoon and received it sat morning at my hotel. It was very comfy - the only thing I would say is that there is not much bust support. I am very small chested so it was fine but I could see it being an issue for anyone larger...

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
June 9, 2014
Good for the price ..but showing it's threads

Overall this was a fantastic dress for a June wedding in StL. All the previous reviewers were correct in that the top of the dress has little structure (a basic corset/bustier worked like a charm without needing fashion tape). It must be popular because the finishes on the size 2 and 4 were not in as pristine condition as I would've liked. The dress coloring in person is a little deceptive from the RTW photo. The blue floral is much more of a dusty blue with almost lime green threading detail.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
June 18, 2014
Being able to dance and have fun in a comfortable dress.

The dress fit perfectly, would recommend for smaller bust sizes.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
August 29, 2014
Cute, unique dress - size just didn't work

I loved the details on this, but it just did not fit in the bust. I ordered a 0 and 2 and the 0 mostly fit. But, the bust did not have enough structure, and kept slipping down. Even with fashion tape, I wasn't comfortable wearing it and would've been tugging at it all night.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Body type: Pear
September 1, 2011

Recieved a ton of complements on this dress. Wore it to a law school formal event. Good for a B-cup, and looks great with nude patent heels.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
December 12, 2014
Stunning dress but don't forget the Hollywood tape!!!

The size 0 was a perfect fit...... Except for the all important boobies! I went with the size 2 in order to feel confident the girls wouldn't bust out -- even with double sided tape. The dress definitely shows it's wear but I used the tape to "fix" some spots. The boning disn't sit as well as I would've liked -- but may be because the 2 was a bit big. I would recommend this dress as long as you have a small chest.

View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
July 15, 2015
Everyone loved the dress, my 2nd rental from RTR and it was great!

The dress does not show well in the picture given on RTR. It's actually a greenish and creme/tan color. Wears very well though but is a bit flimsy in the top. Definitely wear fashion tape or something to keep it from slipping. Also, not made for larger chested women.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Body type: Straight & narrow
February 24, 2011

I LOVE this dress! It fit beautifully and was made well. I would say that it fit true to size. I'm 5'4" 115lbs and wore the size 0.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
April 19, 2011

This dress is gorgeous and runs true to size, but be warned that the bust is tiny! I would recommend this dress only for A cups.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
December 6, 2014
Special and unique. Compliments all night long!

I read the other reviews about the top and it's true, there is no boning in the top of the dress so there isn't any structure. Trust me the dress is worth the effort of getting that top to work. Double Sided fashion tape will be your best friend. Definitely wouldn't recommend for bigger busted women. I seriously loved how I felt in the dress and it was worth the effort of getting the top to lay right.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
May 31, 2015
Wore it for a friends wedding last summer - best dress I've ever worn. Definitely recommend

Fit true to size, would recommend no bra and/or sticky bra with it. Defnitely for a smaller chested gal

View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×