Proenza Schouler

Laced Whispers Dress

$114 to buy
$2,130 retail
Stylist Notes

This is the ultimate naughty but nice dress! Rent this Proenza Schouler showstopper for that special birthday celebration or cocktail event.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted built-in bustier helps to accentuate small bust sizes and best suited for A to C cup sizes
WAIST: Very fitted
HIPS: Fitted - fitted pencil skirt is flattering on straight & narrow body types; for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or a NuBra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Grey lace. Strapless bustier neckline. Pique bodice with ribbon seaming. Inner corset. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 31'' from top of bodice to hem.

Share
86 reviews
Fit
Large
(1)
True to Size
(28)
Small
(55)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
June 18, 2014
Being able to dance and have fun in a comfortable dress.
The dress fit perfectly, would recommend for smaller bust sizes.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
June 28, 2014
Runs Small
Beautiful dress - actually looks much darker in person. It runs small - both of the sizes I ordered didn't fit (Size 0 and 2). However, RTR sent me another dress in time for my event. Maybe I'll rent it again, this time one size up.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
July 9, 2014
RTR always comes to the rescue
Stunning dress !! Looks much better on then it does online. The dress runs a bit small. I usually wear a size 2 but ended up needing the 4 in this dress. The corset top is deceiving and has no actual support so double sided tape is a must !!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
August 29, 2014
Cute, unique dress - size just didn't work
I loved the details on this, but it just did not fit in the bust. I ordered a 0 and 2 and the 0 mostly fit. But, the bust did not have enough structure, and kept slipping down. Even with fashion tape, I wasn't comfortable wearing it and would've been tugging at it all night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 2, 2014
Beautiful lace dress
Normally I wear in between a 4 and 6 size dress, however after carefully reading the reviews from other renters I decided to order this dress in an 8 and 10. I ended up wearing the 10 and even that was VERY fitted. This dress is not for anyone who has a bust bigger than a c-cup. I received SO many compliments at the wedding I attended and I really loved it. It wasn't exactly the most comfortable dress, but I would highly recommend it based on how great it looked on.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 8, 2014
Beautiful dress, but tricky to wear
This was my first RTR experience, and it definitely won't be my last. The dress was beautiful and I got so many compliments from friends and strangers at the wedding! I felt like a walking advertisement for RTR and couldn't quit gushing about it. The process of ordering, receiving and returning the dress was super easy. I knew from other reviews the dress ran small and ordered my usual size, but the backup was sold out. Luckily I was able to make it work, but I was all kinds of taped up inside the dress. The bodice has no support and would not work on larger chests. A strapless/backless/self-adhesive bra and lots of Hollywood tape did the trick. It stayed put, looked great and was worth the trouble. I would recommend it, but would definitely take those things into consideration!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133lbs
September 9, 2014
Ugh. Too bad for this one.....wanted to love it!!
This dress is well made, but for who?? Definitely someone built straight and narrow, no curves at all. It didn't accommodate my chest or hips. With that in mind, definitely order if your body type would allow. I would say it runs a size and a half smaller that my normal 4-6. The 6 was very small. Good luck!
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
December 15, 2014
Amazing service!
Love love loved the dress! Dress runs small. No boning up top. Hollywood dress tape does the trick, my dress stayed put the entire night. Can't wait to rent again ;)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Body type: Pear
September 1, 2011
Recieved a ton of complements on this dress. Wore it to a law school formal event. Good for a B-cup, and looks great with nude patent heels.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
September 24, 2014
RUNS SMALL.
I normally wear a size 4 and ordered the 6 as back up, the 6 was too small to zip up. However, the dress is really beautiful. It was a shame I could not wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
September 28, 2014
Boyfriends 30th bday
Dress is amazing- runs a bit small and flimsy up top but great for small chested girls. I would suggest fashion tape and spanx but it was very hard to part with!
StashaNovember 13, 2014
You guys are adorable!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 13, 2014
Beautiful dress! Listen to warnings, only rent if have small bust!
This was my first RTR experience and the service was spectacular. I love the ease of the service and will definitely be a returning customer. So, I rented this dress despite some of the warnings just because it looked so pretty and I decided I would make it work! It really was beautiful and definitely unique, however, I wish I would've listened to other reviews and selected another. It is true that it really is ONLY meant for small busted women. A cup or smaller. B maybe..... I felt uncomfortable all night because my boobs were so smashed in, I taped the dress all around to keep it up, but after a 60 minute Catholic ceremony of sitting, standing and kneeling, it kept pulling it off of me and I'd have to keep pulling it up and re-adjusting anyways, which is never attractive. It stinks to be uncomfortable throughout an entire evening worrying about popping out, so don't put yourself through it. I wore the 4, but could' have fit into the 2 body wise, but the 4 fit my boobs better, so it was a bit baggy in the middle when I would sit down. Listen to the reviews and pass this one up if you are bigger than an A cup.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
October 27, 2014
Didn't get a chance to wear it because it ran EXTREMELY SMALL.
Pretty dress. I normally wear a 4. I read the reviews that said to order up so I ordered the 6 and the 8 and neither fit (I couldn't even zip it up). The top is more of a mesh pattern (see closeup pic). Bummed it didn't work out this time!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
June 27, 2014
Classy
I read the reviews prior to renting so I knew it would probably run small on my 34D chest and it did- the cups not having any structure to them actually worked to my advantage in this dress because I just used adhesive tape and never once had to re-adjust throughout the day. I wore a ribbon belt around the waist and it looked great with the dress. Received lots of compliments:)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
December 12, 2014
Stunning dress but don't forget the Hollywood tape!!!
The size 0 was a perfect fit...... Except for the all important boobies! I went with the size 2 in order to feel confident the girls wouldn't bust out -- even with double sided tape. The dress definitely shows it's wear but I used the tape to "fix" some spots. The boning disn't sit as well as I would've liked -- but may be because the 2 was a bit big. I would recommend this dress as long as you have a small chest.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
January 2, 2015
Didn't wear.
Sadly, I couldn't wear this dress. I sized up, 6 and 8. Sadly, that made the bust way way way to big, but since I have the butt of a kardashian, I doubt I could've worn a four. Both fit about the same as well.... which is to say, I looked horrid in it. I felt so bad about myself in this dress that I had a mini-meltdown trying to get ready. Maybe I should've gotten two styles of dresses as I usually do but I decided to order last minute and was paying 30 bucks for overnight shipping already. I've come to learn my size and body shape pretty well, so I've always had good luck renting from here and getting a good dress. Despite reading the reviews and looking at girls with my same shape, I ended up with something I couldn't wear in public, lest I wanted to end up flashing the crowd my boobs or look like 10 lbs of sausage stuffed in a five pound casing. Sigh. Guess my new years resolution is to lose weight this year.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
January 10, 2015
This was such a beautiful dress! Unfortunately, it ran very small so I wasn't able to wear it for NY
This was such a beautiful dress! Unfortunately, it ran very small so I wasn't able to wear it for NYE. Definitely a better fit for women with a smaller bust.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
June 15, 2015
This dress was Stunning, but fit small on top and difficult to walk in.
This dress was stunning! I ordered it for a wedding. I wanted a size 4 but they only had it available in a size 2. Usually I am in-between so I was nervous about risking it with only the size 2. I wish I would have waited and worn this for a different event when I could get the 4. The 2 fit but the cups were very very small (I do not have a big chest at all!). I knew I would be dancing and any lifting of my arms threw off the entire fit of the top of the dress. Maybe a 4 would have been better? Also there is NO SLIT! We walked 3 blocks to the wedding and I could barely take a full step. It was even difficult to climb stairs because I really couldn’t lift my legs. My husband joked about me only being able to stand still and look pretty all night. Overall I felt amazing in the dress but on a scale of 1-5 this dress gets a 1 for functionality. Also I had to wear stick on bra and also garment tape to hold all the goods on place. At the reception I ended up changing into my back up dress so I could really dance and enjoy myself without being worried about giving a peep show.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
July 15, 2015
Everyone loved the dress, my 2nd rental from RTR and it was great!
The dress does not show well in the picture given on RTR. It's actually a greenish and creme/tan color. Wears very well though but is a bit flimsy in the top. Definitely wear fashion tape or something to keep it from slipping. Also, not made for larger chested women.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Body type: Straight & narrow
February 24, 2011
I LOVE this dress! It fit beautifully and was made well. I would say that it fit true to size. I'm 5'4" 115lbs and wore the size 0.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
April 19, 2011
This dress is gorgeous and runs true to size, but be warned that the bust is tiny! I would recommend this dress only for A cups.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
August 3, 2015
Cute but difficult
I read reviews to size up and that there was not much structure in the bust, so I went with larger and sticky tape. The tape did help, but still seemed a little off throughout the night. I got lots of compliments and was in love with the color and lace on the bottom.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
August 5, 2015
Beautiful dress , difficult fit
While the dress has a 5 star look, it scores low on function and structure . It lacks boning in the bodice or cups for the breasts , making it difficult to wear even for an easy -to-fit, proportional body . It looked great on at first, but as soon as I began to move , I was constantly worrying about wardrobe malfunction . (Fashion tape offered no solution. ) The dress also runs small , and unfortunately, shows some visible signs of wear . The size 4 was missing the hook above the zipper , the lace and lining were frayed in a few areas .
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
September 13, 2015
Runs small... especially the bodice.
I ended up wearing the 2 because I couldn't get my breasts into the size 0 without them falling out. With the size 2 I still needed to tape my breasts into the dress to ensure they wouldn't pop out because the bodice is very flimsy. (If you are very top heavy this dress will likely not work.) Other than that, I was very pleased. It was perfect for a Hollywood party.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
December 29, 2015
I wore this for my sister's wedding.
The dress was tight. The top needed fashion tape. Since I have a small bust, it worked, but could be difficult to wear for a person with a larger bust. I danced, partied, and received many compliments. I would rent again in a heartbeat.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
February 18, 2013
Beautiful!!
I wore this dress for my daughter's backyard wedding.Being the host and the mother of the bride that day...I cannot tell you what a relieve it was when I finally got dressed and I looked beautiful!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112lbs
May 23, 2014
Beautiful but impossible!
I'm so torn here. Like others, I was dying (dying!) to fall in love with this dress. It is truly spectacular on and in pictures. Like others, I sized up from a 2 to a 4 (which was just fine). And of course, like others, I found it nearly impossible to keep the damn thing on! The top is flimsy, made for smaller chests, and just does NOT stay up. I used fashion tape and safety pins, to no avail. My bra showed nearly the entire night.. but oh, how my pictures came out so lovely. I felt really beautiful despite the problems, so four stars it is.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 153lbs
August 4, 2014
Received tons of compliments. Size up
Love this dress!! The details definitely set it apart. Runs small so size up thankfully the backup size fit great. Only Downfall is the bust, it's not structured so it doesn't offer support for a larger chest. However, I used some Hollywood tape and the top stay put all night!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
December 6, 2014
Special and unique. Compliments all night long!
I read the other reviews about the top and it's true, there is no boning in the top of the dress so there isn't any structure. Trust me the dress is worth the effort of getting that top to work. Double Sided fashion tape will be your best friend. Definitely wouldn't recommend for bigger busted women. I seriously loved how I felt in the dress and it was worth the effort of getting the top to lay right.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
May 31, 2015
Wore it for a friends wedding last summer - best dress I've ever worn. Definitely recommend
Fit true to size, would recommend no bra and/or sticky bra with it. Defnitely for a smaller chested gal
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
April 8, 2011
Beautiful, but they weren't lying when they said best for A and B cups. My C was a bit much and I had to wear a jacket to cover the excess cleavage. I wear 0/2 and ordered medium and small. They accidentally sent me two mediums, and it was OK on the body but I think small would have been better.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
December 1, 2011
No structure
Yes the dress is pretty, but it's lack of structure in the bodess meant I had to keep pulling up the top, my bra was showing half the dinner, and my B cup made this dress look inappropriate with way too much cleavage hanging out. I was quite uncomfortable and eventually put a shawl around me to cover up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
November 30, 2012
It is a gorgeous dress!
Fits very well, but won't work well for someone with a big bust.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 110lbs
December 6, 2013
Comfortable, sexy but conservative!!
Fit great, have flat chest so it was hard to stay up, had to keep pulling it up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
January 7, 2014
Didn't get to wear it :(
Sadly I did not get to wear this dress :( Since RTR uses UPS to make their deliveries, all month of December UPS was backed up so they weren't able to get it out to me in time. Customer service though was very friendly and helpful. The lady that I spoke to was able to refund my money without any issues and that's why I am giving this an 5 star rating. Hopefully in the future I can rent this dress and wear it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 108lbs
January 30, 2014
LOVE this dress!! Elegant and sexy in one!
I wore this for NYE and it was perfect. I felt completely comfortable in it. The bust was a little tricky. I wasn't able to wear a bra under this due to the super narrow cups. Definitely for the small busted!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
February 3, 2014
Very pretty
I rented it for as an alternative for a wedding but didn't get to wear it. It runs a little smaller than normal.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
March 18, 2014
lovely details on this dress!
i normally wear a 4 and decided to size up to a 6 since the dress was quite fitted in the rib cage. of note: the size 6 no longer has the underwire at the bust, but the size 4 does. there are great details on the dress - the very pale grey-ish purple, the delicate lace and light green detailing. i would not recommend this dress for anyone with a larger chest - there just isn't much room up top and no give to the fabric.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 6, 2014
Cute!
I didn't end up wearing this but i loved it! The top needed to be taped up entirely but super cool and beautiful dress
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
April 9, 2014
Such a disappointment
Rented this absolutely gorgeous dress for my Valentine's Day dinner. When it arrived, I knew immediately that it was a little tight around the bust, but it was so pretty I was determined to wear it anyway. IT WAS SO UNCOMFORTABLE that I skipped to the bathroom half way through dinner, took off the top and buttoned my jacket over it for the rest of the night. Nearly ruined dinner entirely, DO NOT rent unless you are size A.
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×