Laced Whispers Dress

$114 to buy
$2130 retail
Stylist Notes

This is the ultimate naughty but nice dress! Rent this Proenza Schouler showstopper for that special birthday celebration or cocktail event.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted built-in bustier helps to accentuate small bust sizes and best suited for A to C cup sizes
WAIST: Very fitted
HIPS: Fitted - fitted pencil skirt is flattering on straight & narrow body types; for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or a NuBra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted built-in bustier helps to accentuate small bust sizes and best suited for A to C cup sizes
WAIST: Very fitted
HIPS: Fitted - fitted pencil skirt is flattering on straight & narrow body types; for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or a NuBra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Grey lace. Strapless bustier neckline. Pique bodice with ribbon seaming. Inner corset. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 31'' from top of bodice to hem.

Share
86 reviews
Fit
Large
(1)
True to Size
(28)
Small
(55)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
July 17, 2013
.
This is not for a girl with a chest. The cups were far too small for my 34 C cups even at a size 6. Good thing the main dress I rented worked!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 3, 2013
pretty
I rented a size 6 and 8 Nicole Miller however the 6 was abruptly discontinued. RTR substituted this dress which really is beautiful. However the top didn't fit as I am a DD (of course whomever chose the dress for me wouldn't know this!) I was surprised that RTR even substituted the dress (for no charge, despite the fact that this rental was most costly than my original) and I'm grateful that they did - what a company! Their customer service is absolutely unbeatable and I will continue to use and recommend this amazing service! PS - the recommended bust size for this dress is A-C - and they mean that! If you fall within this range however DO NOT miss out on this dress
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 17, 2013
Figure flattering,
Definely for small chested women. I wore an adhesive bra and lots of double sided tape to avoid any wardrobe malfunctions.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
January 11, 2014
Liked but didn't love
The details of this dress are stunning. The yellow stitching over the grey lace is really beautiful. I wore this for my birthday celebration, and thought the dress was gorgeous, but the fit was difficult. It is VERY tight on the hips if you have any at all (and I am kinda hippy), and the bustier is a little tough to work with. I rented the 4 as my normal size & 6 backup- definitely needed the 6. I did wear a strapless bra to help fill it out, but it WILL NOT stay up alone. I used a ton of fashion tape to help with the top. That being said, I did feel really beautiful in the dress, just didn't love it as much as I hoped to.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
January 20, 2014
Beautiful dress but like the other clients have commented the top has no structure.
Very small on top. There was one cup that had underwire and the other cup didn't have it. This really bothered me! I am normally and 6-8 and I ordered the 10 based on with comments. I could have even used a 12 if it was available. I am a 36 B and the top was very tight. I had to use a molded stick on bra to give the cups shape and I used fashion tape to keep everything in place. Beautiful dress but odd fitting on top.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
February 21, 2014
So beautiful but too small!
The dress was gorgeous. The detail of the fabric was absolutely stunning. Unfortunately, I felt like my hips were going to bust the seams on the size 4. Also, like other reviewers have mentioned, the top had very little structure. If you have a booty like I do, but are small everywhere else, this dress just won't work. It made me really sad because I really loved the look of the dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134lbs
April 24, 2014
The dress runs really small. I ordered it for my birthday and ended up using another dress.
Flimsy material; I really didn't like this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
April 26, 2014
Gorgeous dress, tough to wear!
This dress is wonky in the bustier part. No wiring, had to tape the front AND back to keep it from falling down! The hip area is tight, and that's why I chose a size 2, and I'm usually always a size 0. I loved the overall look of the dress and that's why I ended up wearing it but you have to be wary of the way it fits!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
May 6, 2014
Was sexy but cute! Perfect for my bachelorette party.
My original rental was way too large and the stylist recommended this to me. She was so amazing... I confirmed this dress replacement the Friday afternoon and received it sat morning at my hotel. It was very comfy - the only thing I would say is that there is not much bust support. I am very small chested so it was fine but I could see it being an issue for anyone larger...
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
May 13, 2014
Beautiful dress, odd fit
This dress was super tight in a size up from what I usually wear, also, the breast cups had no underwire and were tiny!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
May 23, 2014
Very pretty although top was quite small, rented for my rehearsal dinner, ended up not wearing.
Both 8 and 10 I was able to get into, although top was quite small. Very pretty although not meant for girls with chests
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
May 27, 2014
Pretty dress... unfortunately it did not fit.
I rented this dress for a wedding. After reading the reviews, I ordered a size up and went with the 2 and the 4 as a back up size. The size 2 would not event zip up and the size 4 zipped up with some effort but was very tight in the chest area and probably would have burst open in the back had I worn the dress to the wedding. I opted not to wear the dress because it would not have been comfortable. I would definitely suggest going 2 or 3 sizes up. My chest is normal size and was still popping out of the dress.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
June 4, 2014
I wore this to a senior banquet for my organization -- this dress was the highlight!!
Note that this dress is VERY small-- I have worn another Proenza (bustier silk forest green) from RTR about 4 years ago and fit easily into a 0. This size 2 barely fit! I have a slightly athletic/straight build (5'4"-5'5", 115 lb) with a small bust (32B-- this is my friend's acct) and the rib cage barely zipped up. The bust of the 2 could probably fit no bigger than a 34B. The material doesn't stretch at all, and the cups aren't padded. Now to the merits-- I am so glad I wore this dress!! It photographed beautifully and I loved every moment I was in it. The color and cut is so flattering and perfectly sophisticated while still being interesting and young. I wish I had another event and I wish I could wear it again!!! TL;DR: this dress is GOLD. Be careful for the sizing though!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
June 6, 2014
The dress fits really poorly for petite girls.
The length was far too long and the top did not do any justice. It was far too tight to wear with a bra, and gave NO support or charm to smaller breasts without a bra. It also is a different color than shown in the photos.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
June 9, 2014
Good for the price ..but showing it's threads
Overall this was a fantastic dress for a June wedding in StL. All the previous reviewers were correct in that the top of the dress has little structure (a basic corset/bustier worked like a charm without needing fashion tape). It must be popular because the finishes on the size 2 and 4 were not in as pristine condition as I would've liked. The dress coloring in person is a little deceptive from the RTW photo. The blue floral is much more of a dusty blue with almost lime green threading detail.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
June 9, 2014
Love the look
Ended up wearing another RTR dress because the dress did not come with double sided tape (as others had received) and the top of the dress wouldn't stay in place otherwise. Definitely runs a little small as others have shared, particularly in the bottom (cups in top were actually big on me). Bottom has no give or stretch whatsoever. But I can definitely see how this dress would photograph very well!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
June 18, 2014
Being able to dance and have fun in a comfortable dress.
The dress fit perfectly, would recommend for smaller bust sizes.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
June 15, 2015
This dress was Stunning, but fit small on top and difficult to walk in.
This dress was stunning! I ordered it for a wedding. I wanted a size 4 but they only had it available in a size 2. Usually I am in-between so I was nervous about risking it with only the size 2. I wish I would have waited and worn this for a different event when I could get the 4. The 2 fit but the cups were very very small (I do not have a big chest at all!). I knew I would be dancing and any lifting of my arms threw off the entire fit of the top of the dress. Maybe a 4 would have been better? Also there is NO SLIT! We walked 3 blocks to the wedding and I could barely take a full step. It was even difficult to climb stairs because I really couldn’t lift my legs. My husband joked about me only being able to stand still and look pretty all night. Overall I felt amazing in the dress but on a scale of 1-5 this dress gets a 1 for functionality. Also I had to wear stick on bra and also garment tape to hold all the goods on place. At the reception I ended up changing into my back up dress so I could really dance and enjoy myself without being worried about giving a peep show.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
July 15, 2015
Everyone loved the dress, my 2nd rental from RTR and it was great!
The dress does not show well in the picture given on RTR. It's actually a greenish and creme/tan color. Wears very well though but is a bit flimsy in the top. Definitely wear fashion tape or something to keep it from slipping. Also, not made for larger chested women.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Body type: Straight & narrow
February 24, 2011
I LOVE this dress! It fit beautifully and was made well. I would say that it fit true to size. I'm 5'4" 115lbs and wore the size 0.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
April 19, 2011
This dress is gorgeous and runs true to size, but be warned that the bust is tiny! I would recommend this dress only for A cups.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
August 3, 2015
Cute but difficult
I read reviews to size up and that there was not much structure in the bust, so I went with larger and sticky tape. The tape did help, but still seemed a little off throughout the night. I got lots of compliments and was in love with the color and lace on the bottom.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
August 5, 2015
Beautiful dress , difficult fit
While the dress has a 5 star look, it scores low on function and structure . It lacks boning in the bodice or cups for the breasts , making it difficult to wear even for an easy -to-fit, proportional body . It looked great on at first, but as soon as I began to move , I was constantly worrying about wardrobe malfunction . (Fashion tape offered no solution. ) The dress also runs small , and unfortunately, shows some visible signs of wear . The size 4 was missing the hook above the zipper , the lace and lining were frayed in a few areas .
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
September 13, 2015
Runs small... especially the bodice.
I ended up wearing the 2 because I couldn't get my breasts into the size 0 without them falling out. With the size 2 I still needed to tape my breasts into the dress to ensure they wouldn't pop out because the bodice is very flimsy. (If you are very top heavy this dress will likely not work.) Other than that, I was very pleased. It was perfect for a Hollywood party.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
December 29, 2015
I wore this for my sister's wedding.
The dress was tight. The top needed fashion tape. Since I have a small bust, it worked, but could be difficult to wear for a person with a larger bust. I danced, partied, and received many compliments. I would rent again in a heartbeat.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
February 18, 2013
Beautiful!!
I wore this dress for my daughter's backyard wedding.Being the host and the mother of the bride that day...I cannot tell you what a relieve it was when I finally got dressed and I looked beautiful!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112lbs
May 23, 2014
Beautiful but impossible!
I'm so torn here. Like others, I was dying (dying!) to fall in love with this dress. It is truly spectacular on and in pictures. Like others, I sized up from a 2 to a 4 (which was just fine). And of course, like others, I found it nearly impossible to keep the damn thing on! The top is flimsy, made for smaller chests, and just does NOT stay up. I used fashion tape and safety pins, to no avail. My bra showed nearly the entire night.. but oh, how my pictures came out so lovely. I felt really beautiful despite the problems, so four stars it is.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 153lbs
August 4, 2014
Received tons of compliments. Size up
Love this dress!! The details definitely set it apart. Runs small so size up thankfully the backup size fit great. Only Downfall is the bust, it's not structured so it doesn't offer support for a larger chest. However, I used some Hollywood tape and the top stay put all night!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
December 6, 2014
Special and unique. Compliments all night long!
I read the other reviews about the top and it's true, there is no boning in the top of the dress so there isn't any structure. Trust me the dress is worth the effort of getting that top to work. Double Sided fashion tape will be your best friend. Definitely wouldn't recommend for bigger busted women. I seriously loved how I felt in the dress and it was worth the effort of getting the top to lay right.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
May 31, 2015
Wore it for a friends wedding last summer - best dress I've ever worn. Definitely recommend
Fit true to size, would recommend no bra and/or sticky bra with it. Defnitely for a smaller chested gal
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
April 8, 2011
Beautiful, but they weren't lying when they said best for A and B cups. My C was a bit much and I had to wear a jacket to cover the excess cleavage. I wear 0/2 and ordered medium and small. They accidentally sent me two mediums, and it was OK on the body but I think small would have been better.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
December 1, 2011
No structure
Yes the dress is pretty, but it's lack of structure in the bodess meant I had to keep pulling up the top, my bra was showing half the dinner, and my B cup made this dress look inappropriate with way too much cleavage hanging out. I was quite uncomfortable and eventually put a shawl around me to cover up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
November 30, 2012
It is a gorgeous dress!
Fits very well, but won't work well for someone with a big bust.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 110lbs
December 6, 2013
Comfortable, sexy but conservative!!
Fit great, have flat chest so it was hard to stay up, had to keep pulling it up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
January 7, 2014
Didn't get to wear it :(
Sadly I did not get to wear this dress :( Since RTR uses UPS to make their deliveries, all month of December UPS was backed up so they weren't able to get it out to me in time. Customer service though was very friendly and helpful. The lady that I spoke to was able to refund my money without any issues and that's why I am giving this an 5 star rating. Hopefully in the future I can rent this dress and wear it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 108lbs
January 30, 2014
LOVE this dress!! Elegant and sexy in one!
I wore this for NYE and it was perfect. I felt completely comfortable in it. The bust was a little tricky. I wasn't able to wear a bra under this due to the super narrow cups. Definitely for the small busted!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
February 3, 2014
Very pretty
I rented it for as an alternative for a wedding but didn't get to wear it. It runs a little smaller than normal.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
March 18, 2014
lovely details on this dress!
i normally wear a 4 and decided to size up to a 6 since the dress was quite fitted in the rib cage. of note: the size 6 no longer has the underwire at the bust, but the size 4 does. there are great details on the dress - the very pale grey-ish purple, the delicate lace and light green detailing. i would not recommend this dress for anyone with a larger chest - there just isn't much room up top and no give to the fabric.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 6, 2014
Cute!
I didn't end up wearing this but i loved it! The top needed to be taped up entirely but super cool and beautiful dress
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
April 9, 2014
Such a disappointment
Rented this absolutely gorgeous dress for my Valentine's Day dinner. When it arrived, I knew immediately that it was a little tight around the bust, but it was so pretty I was determined to wear it anyway. IT WAS SO UNCOMFORTABLE that I skipped to the bathroom half way through dinner, took off the top and buttoned my jacket over it for the rest of the night. Nearly ruined dinner entirely, DO NOT rent unless you are size A.
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×