Rent the Runway

Proenza Schouler

Laced Whispers Dress

$40 rental
$2130 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This is the ultimate naughty but nice dress! Rent this Proenza Schouler showstopper for that special birthday celebration or cocktail event. Wear accessories like Miriam Haskell's Charming Charlie Bracelet.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted built-in bustier helps to accentuate small bust sizes and best suited for A to C cup sizes
WAIST: Very fitted
HIPS: Fitted - fitted pencil skirt is flattering on straight & narrow body types; for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or a NuBra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted built-in bustier helps to accentuate small bust sizes and best suited for A to C cup sizes
WAIST: Very fitted
HIPS: Fitted - fitted pencil skirt is flattering on straight & narrow body types; for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or a NuBra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Grey lace. Strapless bustier neckline. Pique bodice with ribbon seaming. Inner corset. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 31'' from top of bodice to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

78 reviews

Fit
Small 50
True to Size 26
Large 1
Photos 35
Kelly
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Body type: Straight & narrow
Feb 24, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I LOVE this dress! It fit beautifully and was made well. I would say that it fit true to size. I'm 5'4" 115lbs and wore the size 0.
HB
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Apr 8, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Beautiful, but they weren't lying when they said best for A and B cups. My C was a bit much and I had to wear a jacket to cover the excess cleavage. I wear 0/2 and ordered medium and small. They accidentally sent me two mediums, and it was OK on the body but I think small would have been better.
LP
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 19, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress is gorgeous and runs true to size, but be warned that the bust is tiny! I would recommend this dress only for A cups.
TL
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
May 18, 2011

Overall fit: Small
Don't even think about this dress if you are larger than a small/med. B-cup. You will have a wardrobe malfunction!!! I did :(
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
Sep 1, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Recieved a ton of complements on this dress. Wore it to a law school formal event. Good for a B-cup, and looks great with nude patent heels.
Aly
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Body type: Pear
Sep 20, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
LOVED this dress! Was everything I wanted it to be. I ordered a 4 and 6 even though I'm normally a 4 because I thought it would run small but it fit perfect! The only downside was I am a D cup and it was hard to keep them in but a little fashion tape tucked them away.
J.R.
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
Oct 15, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I ordered a size 4 and a size 6 and both dresses arrived missing underwires in the cups. I was unable to wear the dress for the special occasion like I had planned on.
MG
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
Oct 27, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I would say this dress runs true to size, though agree that it is SMALL in the bust. The other issue isn't so much the bust-size, it's the lack of structure/flimsy fabric around the bust area. In looking online I was expecting some boning and/or underwire and there was none. That said- the dress is beautiful! I rented this as an "extra" and didn't end up wearing it since it wasn't appropriate for the occasion but I will DEFINITELY be interested in rented again for an event where I need a short dress. Really recommend if you are small in the chest, it's truly beautiful.
Nina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 7, 2011

Overall fit: Small
as per other reviewers, the bodice has no boning or structure to it which makes it look/feel less formal and also renders it totally inappropriate for anyone above an A cup. the bodice is also not completely white- there is blue detailing (the lines that look sort of gray in this photo) which again made it look less formal to me. it would be a cute enough garden party dress, but i wouldn't recommend it for a nicer or more formal event.
Abby
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 30, 2011

Very pretty and unique

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress as an extra, and did not end up wearing it because it was a little too formal and the fit was not right on me. It was too long and the top would have required a lot of tape to stay up...if it had been my own dress, I'm sure alterations would have made it a knock out. It is really intricate and pretty, and I'm sure you would never run into anyone at a party in that same dress!
Claud
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128 lbs
Dec 1, 2011

No structure

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Yes the dress is pretty, but it's lack of structure in the bodess meant I had to keep pulling up the top, my bra was showing half the dinner, and my B cup made this dress look inappropriate with way too much cleavage hanging out. I was quite uncomfortable and eventually put a shawl around me to cover up.
Kara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 14, 2012

Beautiful, but unworn

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress is stunning, however I would have to agree with other reviews in that the top is not as structured as I would have hoped. I have a small bust and even I was having difficulty keeping it up without it looking like I was falling out of it. I ended up not wearing the dress, but the colors are stunning. The hint of blue adds to the overall effect. I just wish my body was meant to wear it. Luckily, RTR has wonderful customer service and I was credited for future rentals!
Brittany
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
May 14, 2012

beautiful but get fashion tape

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress the detail is so beautiful and it is more of a grayish green color more so than ivory(but still a beautiful color so I didn't care).. def best for slender people..I am 5'2 110lbs wore the sz 0. the cup parts do not have boning or structure so the other reviews were right.. I needed to use fashion tape too to keep in from slipping down all night(the fashion tape worked well though) for reference I'm a 32B.. every where else on the dress fits like a glove.
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Aug 26, 2012

Beautiful, but ill-fitting

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was absolutely beautiful and I couldn't wait to wear it. However, like other reviews say, the top had absolutely no structure and just flopped over, no matter what I tried. Perhaps someone with a different shape could have worn it better. If you rent, I would definitely take advantage of the $25 second style just in case this one doesn't work for you either.
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 17, 2012

.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Ordered a 2 and a 4 and there wasn't enough fabric to cover my normal-sized chest (34B).
kathryn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 111 lbs
Oct 4, 2012

LOVE

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress and overall was very lady-like, yet modern. My only complaint was that the top of the bustline kept folding down and the cup was very demi-like (I wear a 32A and had to be very careful of the top falling down).
randalla05
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 147 lbs
Nov 12, 2012

Beautiful!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is even prettier in person! I loved all the trim detail! Sadly, it runs a little small in the bust. Not a good fit for top heavy women.
SJ
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 124 lbs
Nov 16, 2012

I wanted to love it...

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I thought this dress would be perfect for a pearshape like me, but instead the fit was just a bit off and unflattering. I think if it were a mini dress it would be better, but the skirt came off a bit frumpy. The top had no shape, and I don't think anyone with larger than a B cup would feel comfortable in the dress. Loved it on the hanger, but not on me...
M.
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Nov 30, 2012

It is a gorgeous dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
Fits very well, but won't work well for someone with a big bust.
Elaina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 5, 2013

Nice in theory...

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress is nice in theory and on the hanger, but a disaster when you put it on. It needs more structure on the top. I wanted the dress to work for me because I love the style, but it just didn't.
elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Petite
Apr 12, 2013

not what i was looking for

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
this dress fit great and all, but unfortunately, the colors and texture were much different then in the picture,
Tara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 126 lbs
Apr 29, 2013

Gorgeous Dress- easy to wear!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
the dress ran a little small in the hips so I opted for the size up(6). I used double sided tape to secure the top but did find after dancing a bit that I was tugging at the dress to keep it from folding over on one side and exposing my bra. A fresh tape job fixed it right up. Other than that this dress really does all the work for you. It made such a statement and received so many compliments all night!
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jul 17, 2013

.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This is not for a girl with a chest. The cups were far too small for my 34 C cups even at a size 6. Good thing the main dress I rented worked!
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 3, 2013

pretty

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented a size 6 and 8 Nicole Miller however the 6 was abruptly discontinued. RTR substituted this dress which really is beautiful. However the top didn't fit as I am a DD (of course whomever chose the dress for me wouldn't know this!) I was surprised that RTR even substituted the dress (for no charge, despite the fact that this rental was most costly than my original) and I'm grateful that they did - what a company! Their customer service is absolutely unbeatable and I will continue to use and recommend this amazing service! PS - the recommended bust size for this dress is A-C - and they mean that! If you fall within this range however DO NOT miss out on this dress
DK
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 17, 2013

Figure flattering,

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Definely for small chested women. I wore an adhesive bra and lots of double sided tape to avoid any wardrobe malfunctions.
Em
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 110 lbs
Dec 6, 2013

Comfortable, sexy but conservative!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Fit great, have flat chest so it was hard to stay up, had to keep pulling it up.
Ana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 7, 2014

Didn't get to wear it :(

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Sadly I did not get to wear this dress :( Since RTR uses UPS to make their deliveries, all month of December UPS was backed up so they weren't able to get it out to me in time. Customer service though was very friendly and helpful. The lady that I spoke to was able to refund my money without any issues and that's why I am giving this an 5 star rating. Hopefully in the future I can rent this dress and wear it!
Kelsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 108 lbs
Jan 30, 2014

LOVE this dress!! Elegant and sexy in one!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this for NYE and it was perfect. I felt completely comfortable in it. The bust was a little tricky. I wasn't able to wear a bra under this due to the super narrow cups. Definitely for the small busted!
Jessy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 3, 2014

Very pretty

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I rented it for as an alternative for a wedding but didn't get to wear it. It runs a little smaller than normal.
Cortney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 21, 2014

So beautiful but too small!

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
The dress was gorgeous. The detail of the fabric was absolutely stunning. Unfortunately, I felt like my hips were going to bust the seams on the size 4. Also, like other reviewers have mentioned, the top had very little structure. If you have a booty like I do, but are small everywhere else, this dress just won't work. It made me really sad because I really loved the look of the dress!
360212
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 18, 2014

lovely details on this dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
i normally wear a 4 and decided to size up to a 6 since the dress was quite fitted in the rib cage. of note: the size 6 no longer has the underwire at the bust, but the size 4 does. there are great details on the dress - the very pale grey-ish purple, the delicate lace and light green detailing. i would not recommend this dress for anyone with a larger chest - there just isn't much room up top and no give to the fabric.
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 6, 2014

Cute!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I didn't end up wearing this but i loved it! The top needed to be taped up entirely but super cool and beautiful dress
Kaitlin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 9, 2014

Such a disappointment

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
Rented this absolutely gorgeous dress for my Valentine's Day dinner. When it arrived, I knew immediately that it was a little tight around the bust, but it was so pretty I was determined to wear it anyway. IT WAS SO UNCOMFORTABLE that I skipped to the bathroom half way through dinner, took off the top and buttoned my jacket over it for the rest of the night. Nearly ruined dinner entirely, DO NOT rent unless you are size A.
Adriana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134 lbs
Apr 24, 2014

The dress runs really small. I ordered it for my birthday and ended up using another dress.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Flimsy material; I really didn't like this dress.
sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
May 1, 2014

Great dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Loved the dress- The top bustier part was good with the wire to keep it up, but it was a little snug for my chest size. The dress fit a little snug to size. But overall great dress!
Hmm82
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
May 13, 2014

Beautiful dress, odd fit

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was super tight in a size up from what I usually wear, also, the breast cups had no underwire and were tiny!!!
catie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
May 23, 2014

Very pretty although top was quite small, rented for my rehearsal dinner, ended up not wearing.

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Both 8 and 10 I was able to get into, although top was quite small. Very pretty although not meant for girls with chests
Kathy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
May 27, 2014

Pretty dress... unfortunately it did not fit.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a wedding. After reading the reviews, I ordered a size up and went with the 2 and the 4 as a back up size. The size 2 would not event zip up and the size 4 zipped up with some effort but was very tight in the chest area and probably would have burst open in the back had I worn the dress to the wedding. I opted not to wear the dress because it would not have been comfortable. I would definitely suggest going 2 or 3 sizes up. My chest is normal size and was still popping out of the dress.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×