Laced Whispers Dress

$533 to buy
$2130 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This is the ultimate naughty but nice dress! Rent this Proenza Schouler showstopper for that special birthday celebration or cocktail event.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted built-in bustier helps to accentuate small bust sizes and best suited for A to C cup sizes
WAIST: Very fitted
HIPS: Fitted - fitted pencil skirt is flattering on straight & narrow body types; for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or a NuBra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted built-in bustier helps to accentuate small bust sizes and best suited for A to C cup sizes
WAIST: Very fitted
HIPS: Fitted - fitted pencil skirt is flattering on straight & narrow body types; for curvy women, size up
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or a NuBra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Grey lace. Strapless bustier neckline. Pique bodice with ribbon seaming. Inner corset. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 31'' from top of bodice to hem.

Share
85 reviews
Fit
Large1
True to Size28
Small54
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134lbs
April 24, 2014
The dress runs really small. I ordered it for my birthday and ended up using another dress.
Flimsy material; I really didn't like this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
April 9, 2014
Such a disappointment
Rented this absolutely gorgeous dress for my Valentine's Day dinner. When it arrived, I knew immediately that it was a little tight around the bust, but it was so pretty I was determined to wear it anyway. IT WAS SO UNCOMFORTABLE that I skipped to the bathroom half way through dinner, took off the top and buttoned my jacket over it for the rest of the night. Nearly ruined dinner entirely, DO NOT rent unless you are size A.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 6, 2014
Cute!
I didn't end up wearing this but i loved it! The top needed to be taped up entirely but super cool and beautiful dress
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 18, 2014
lovely details on this dress!
i normally wear a 4 and decided to size up to a 6 since the dress was quite fitted in the rib cage. of note: the size 6 no longer has the underwire at the bust, but the size 4 does. there are great details on the dress - the very pale grey-ish purple, the delicate lace and light green detailing. i would not recommend this dress for anyone with a larger chest - there just isn't much room up top and no give to the fabric.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
February 21, 2014
So beautiful but too small!
The dress was gorgeous. The detail of the fabric was absolutely stunning. Unfortunately, I felt like my hips were going to bust the seams on the size 4. Also, like other reviewers have mentioned, the top had very little structure. If you have a booty like I do, but are small everywhere else, this dress just won't work. It made me really sad because I really loved the look of the dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
February 3, 2014
Very pretty
I rented it for as an alternative for a wedding but didn't get to wear it. It runs a little smaller than normal.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 108lbs
January 30, 2014
LOVE this dress!! Elegant and sexy in one!
I wore this for NYE and it was perfect. I felt completely comfortable in it. The bust was a little tricky. I wasn't able to wear a bra under this due to the super narrow cups. Definitely for the small busted!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
January 20, 2014
Beautiful dress but like the other clients have commented the top has no structure.
Very small on top. There was one cup that had underwire and the other cup didn't have it. This really bothered me! I am normally and 6-8 and I ordered the 10 based on with comments. I could have even used a 12 if it was available. I am a 36 B and the top was very tight. I had to use a molded stick on bra to give the cups shape and I used fashion tape to keep everything in place. Beautiful dress but odd fitting on top.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
January 11, 2014
Liked but didn't love
The details of this dress are stunning. The yellow stitching over the grey lace is really beautiful. I wore this for my birthday celebration, and thought the dress was gorgeous, but the fit was difficult. It is VERY tight on the hips if you have any at all (and I am kinda hippy), and the bustier is a little tough to work with. I rented the 4 as my normal size & 6 backup- definitely needed the 6. I did wear a strapless bra to help fill it out, but it WILL NOT stay up alone. I used a ton of fashion tape to help with the top. That being said, I did feel really beautiful in the dress, just didn't love it as much as I hoped to.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 7, 2014
Didn't get to wear it :(
Sadly I did not get to wear this dress :( Since RTR uses UPS to make their deliveries, all month of December UPS was backed up so they weren't able to get it out to me in time. Customer service though was very friendly and helpful. The lady that I spoke to was able to refund my money without any issues and that's why I am giving this an 5 star rating. Hopefully in the future I can rent this dress and wear it!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 110lbs
December 6, 2013
Comfortable, sexy but conservative!!
Fit great, have flat chest so it was hard to stay up, had to keep pulling it up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 17, 2013
Figure flattering,
Definely for small chested women. I wore an adhesive bra and lots of double sided tape to avoid any wardrobe malfunctions.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 3, 2013
pretty
I rented a size 6 and 8 Nicole Miller however the 6 was abruptly discontinued. RTR substituted this dress which really is beautiful. However the top didn't fit as I am a DD (of course whomever chose the dress for me wouldn't know this!) I was surprised that RTR even substituted the dress (for no charge, despite the fact that this rental was most costly than my original) and I'm grateful that they did - what a company! Their customer service is absolutely unbeatable and I will continue to use and recommend this amazing service! PS - the recommended bust size for this dress is A-C - and they mean that! If you fall within this range however DO NOT miss out on this dress
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
July 17, 2013
.
This is not for a girl with a chest. The cups were far too small for my 34 C cups even at a size 6. Good thing the main dress I rented worked!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
May 29, 2013
Most compliments I EVER got in a dress. Period.
Ran small, I always always wear a 0, and thank goodness I ordered the backup in the 2, because I couldn't breathe in the 0, but the 2 fit like it was made for me! The material was so so gorgeous in person, it has been my absolute FAVORITE RTR rental yet!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 126lbs
April 29, 2013
Gorgeous Dress- easy to wear!
the dress ran a little small in the hips so I opted for the size up(6). I used double sided tape to secure the top but did find after dancing a bit that I was tugging at the dress to keep it from folding over on one side and exposing my bra. A fresh tape job fixed it right up. Other than that this dress really does all the work for you. It made such a statement and received so many compliments all night!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 143lbs
April 26, 2013
I rented this dress for my January birthday party in NYC. I loved it!
This dress runs fairly small. I usually wear a 6, but I ordered up to an 8 based on the other recommendations. It fit really well, and the details in the lace are gorgeous. The color is really soft and pretty, and flattering on fair skin. You definitely need to wear a strapless bra with this to give the top a little structure, as it has no boning to keep it up. I used the fashion tape included and that worked great.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
April 24, 2013
I wore this dress to my engagement party. It photographed so well &I received lots of complements.
This runs WAY small and if you have a chest size over 32C, don't even bother (and even that would be pushing it). I normally wear a 0 and I couldn't even zip up that size. I wore the 2 and it was snug. This dress is definitely meant for boy-shaped females with small chests, which I happen to be, so it worked for me. The size 2 dress I received had a little bit of damage, but the details of the dress are so intricate, you couldn't really tell once it was on.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Petite
April 12, 2013
not what i was looking for
this dress fit great and all, but unfortunately, the colors and texture were much different then in the picture,
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
March 13, 2013
Pretty dress, but very odd fit on the bust.
This dress was beautiful, however it is extremely uncomfortable to wear as there is no structure to the bust whatsoever. I really wish there were boning in the bodice. I had to wear a shawl all night because the bust kept sliding down. It was so embarrassing and uncomfortable. In photos it looks fab...but to move and sit, it was a nightmare.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 5, 2013
Nice in theory...
This dress is nice in theory and on the hanger, but a disaster when you put it on. It needs more structure on the top. I wanted the dress to work for me because I love the style, but it just didn't.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
February 18, 2013
Beautiful!!
I wore this dress for my daughter's backyard wedding.Being the host and the mother of the bride that day...I cannot tell you what a relieve it was when I finally got dressed and I looked beautiful!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
December 6, 2012
stunning
bust is very small with no stretch. recommend going up one size
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
November 30, 2012
It is a gorgeous dress!
Fits very well, but won't work well for someone with a big bust.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 124lbs
November 16, 2012
I wanted to love it...
I thought this dress would be perfect for a pearshape like me, but instead the fit was just a bit off and unflattering. I think if it were a mini dress it would be better, but the skirt came off a bit frumpy. The top had no shape, and I don't think anyone with larger than a B cup would feel comfortable in the dress. Loved it on the hanger, but not on me...
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 147lbs
November 12, 2012
Beautiful!
This dress is even prettier in person! I loved all the trim detail! Sadly, it runs a little small in the bust. Not a good fit for top heavy women.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 111lbs
October 4, 2012
LOVE
I loved this dress and overall was very lady-like, yet modern. My only complaint was that the top of the bustline kept folding down and the cup was very demi-like (I wear a 32A and had to be very careful of the top falling down).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
September 17, 2012
.
Ordered a 2 and a 4 and there wasn't enough fabric to cover my normal-sized chest (34B).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
August 26, 2012
Beautiful, but ill-fitting
This dress was absolutely beautiful and I couldn't wait to wear it. However, like other reviews say, the top had absolutely no structure and just flopped over, no matter what I tried. Perhaps someone with a different shape could have worn it better. If you rent, I would definitely take advantage of the $25 second style just in case this one doesn't work for you either.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
July 31, 2012
Easy and perfect!
Loved this dress and had lots of compliments. The size 8 zipped fine until it hit my chest and I had to go up to the 10 because of that (I am a B or C cup). The dress sits EXTREMELY low up top so you have to be comfortable with that. I loved it!!!!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
May 14, 2012
beautiful but get fashion tape
I loved this dress the detail is so beautiful and it is more of a grayish green color more so than ivory(but still a beautiful color so I didn't care).. def best for slender people..I am 5'2 110lbs wore the sz 0. the cup parts do not have boning or structure so the other reviews were right.. I needed to use fashion tape too to keep in from slipping down all night(the fashion tape worked well though) for reference I'm a 32B.. every where else on the dress fits like a glove.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
March 5, 2012
Beautiful Dress for a Wonderful Moment!
I ordered this dress to wear as my going away outfit for my wedding. It's so pretty in person! You can't really tell in the picture, but there's a bit of yellow threading mixed in with the grey lace of the skirt. I absolutely loved it! The only issue I had is, as other reviewers have mentioned, the bust is completely unstructured and runs small. I had to tape the cups to me to keep them from falling down. Otherwise, great dress!
SusieJuly 11, 2013
this is adorable!!!!!!!
evelynJune 12, 2014
beautiful picture !
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
February 14, 2012
Beautiful, but unworn
The dress is stunning, however I would have to agree with other reviews in that the top is not as structured as I would have hoped. I have a small bust and even I was having difficulty keeping it up without it looking like I was falling out of it. I ended up not wearing the dress, but the colors are stunning. The hint of blue adds to the overall effect. I just wish my body was meant to wear it. Luckily, RTR has wonderful customer service and I was credited for future rentals!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 1, 2011
The dresses came as scheduled and I mailed them back in the prepaid envelope. Could not be easier or more fun!
I am tall and slender. I ordered the 4 and the 6 and ended up wearing the 6. The bust is very small so be careful if you are full chested. I had to wear fashion tape to secure the top, not to keep the dress from falling off but to keep the cups flush to my skin. The size 4 dress was perfect however I couldn't wear it because it was too small. The size 6 had some fraying on the ribbon but from a distance no one could tell. Overall it's a beautiful dress but would work best on slim body frames.
JAMIEApril 20, 2012
I love your necklace! Where did you get it? It looks great with the dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
December 1, 2011
No structure
Yes the dress is pretty, but it's lack of structure in the bodess meant I had to keep pulling up the top, my bra was showing half the dinner, and my B cup made this dress look inappropriate with way too much cleavage hanging out. I was quite uncomfortable and eventually put a shawl around me to cover up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
November 30, 2011
Very pretty and unique
I rented this dress as an extra, and did not end up wearing it because it was a little too formal and the fit was not right on me. It was too long and the top would have required a lot of tape to stay up...if it had been my own dress, I'm sure alterations would have made it a knock out. It is really intricate and pretty, and I'm sure you would never run into anyone at a party in that same dress!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
November 7, 2011
as per other reviewers, the bodice has no boning or structure to it which makes it look/feel less formal and also renders it totally inappropriate for anyone above an A cup. the bodice is also not completely white- there is blue detailing (the lines that look sort of gray in this photo) which again made it look less formal to me. it would be a cute enough garden party dress, but i wouldn't recommend it for a nicer or more formal event.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
October 27, 2011
I would say this dress runs true to size, though agree that it is SMALL in the bust. The other issue isn't so much the bust-size, it's the lack of structure/flimsy fabric around the bust area. In looking online I was expecting some boning and/or underwire and there was none. That said- the dress is beautiful! I rented this as an "extra" and didn't end up wearing it since it wasn't appropriate for the occasion but I will DEFINITELY be interested in rented again for an event where I need a short dress. Really recommend if you are small in the chest, it's truly beautiful.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
October 15, 2011
I ordered a size 4 and a size 6 and both dresses arrived missing underwires in the cups. I was unable to wear the dress for the special occasion like I had planned on.
RTR CustomerSeptember 9, 2015
Lycia Loo......Tell me about the dress. I think it quite lovely and have asked Andrea to rent it for me to wear to your wedding. What do you think?
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Body type: Pear
September 20, 2011
LOVED this dress! Was everything I wanted it to be. I ordered a 4 and 6 even though I'm normally a 4 because I thought it would run small but it fit perfect! The only downside was I am a D cup and it was hard to keep them in but a little fashion tape tucked them away.
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×