Rent the Runway

Proenza Schouler

Katie Accordion Dress

$40 rental
$2130 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This Proenza Schouler dress is the perfect Fall style. With a grosgrain ribbon at the waist and cross-back, this style is ultra-flattering.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - exposed back cannot be worn with a standard strapless bra- fashion recommended to secure deep V
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt and pleated detail conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra and fashion tape
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - exposed back cannot be worn with a standard strapless bra- fashion recommended to secure deep V
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt and pleated detail conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra and fashion tape
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Green flannel. Surplus neckline. Cross-back. Accordion pleating. Grosgrain ribbon trim at waist and on shoulder. Ribbed knit at back waist. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

73 reviews

Fit
Small 3
True to Size 50
Large 13
Photos 33
Heidi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 46
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 6, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
This is truly a beautiful dress in terms of quality and craftmanship. I would say it runs true to size, but I found that the top can be too revealing if you have a full chest. I'm usually a size 4 and 34C. I ended up going for the size 6 because I needed more coverage in the bust. I also had to do a serious Hollywood tape job and to pin the straps shorter in the back (I wore my hair down so it wasn't seen) to keep from spilling out. I definitely needed to work on the fit of the dress, but it was worth it - such a beautiful dress.
Meg
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148 lbs
Nov 8, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
The dress fits very true to size - I am usually a 2-4 on top and 4-6 on the bottom but because it is a-line on bottom the 4 was perfect. Two things that I would want a friend to know before she rented it is it is on the shorter side (but I'm 5'9) and I had to wear shear stockings also it is very low cut but I used some Hollywood tape to make sure I wasn't showing an inappropriate amount of cleavage. It really is a beautiful dress and GREAT for winter events.
Margy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Body type: Full Bust
Dec 1, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
I would say do not order this dress if you are short! The top half drapes strangely and moves around a lot because it's made for someone with a longer torso. Also, The V neckline might need to be pinned because it's much more plunging than it appears in the picture On the positive side, the emerald green color is absolutely fabulous in person!
Megan
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 7"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 20, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I loved this dress.... great cool weather dress with quality materials and heavier than usual fabric, beautiful flowy shape... but was surprised by how revealing it really was in the chest area! My bust line opened more than it does on the model in the picture! I was surprised to actually use the smaller of my two sizes. I chose the smaller one even though it made my waste line tight, but offered a better fit for my small bust. (Say yes to fashion tape!!)
rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 110 lbs
Mar 16, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
The fabric on this dress was definitely not as nice when I received it as it appears in the pic (maybe the dress I received had been worn a lot?) Despite that, I LOVED it. The cut and shape of the dress was VERY flattering. The top part of it was a little loose on me, though, so I definitely agree with the other ladies who suggested using double-sided tape with this dress. I will definitely rent it again.
Katie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 19, 2011

Overall fit: Small
Was so excited to rent this dress, but the bust was absolutely indecently small-- I'm a standard size 4 with a C cup, and while the bottom of the dress looked so pretty, the top was WAY too skimpy-- far beyond the help of Holywood tape, unfortunately. This dress would be better for a small bust with a small rib cage-- not really for an hourglass silhouette. It looked nothing like on the model.
amny
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Sep 28, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
My only caution is that the dress is very low-cut and somewhat backless so you need to figure out an undergarment situation. My suggestion is a combination of a backless bra, fashion tape and tacking the front V together. But overall a beautiful dress!
DW
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 5, 2011

Didn't wear it.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was my backup. I didn't end up wearing it b/c it was more revealing than I wanted to go for a family affair (cousin's wedding.) It is a very pretty dress, the material is a light weight wool. I am usually a size 2, small ribcage, capital C cup. The 2 fit fine, but I would've worn the 4 for more coverage. This is a lovely dress, but I agree it's better for someone with a smaller bra size and for an occasion when you want to be more sexy. Also would be hard to wear a bra with it.
Blair
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
Oct 20, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Absolutely loved this dress so much! Fit so perfectly true to size and arrived in excellent shaped. Was so sad to give it back!
Ly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 29, 2012

Sexy and Chic!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I definitely got a lot of compliments on this dress, but I feel like it may look better on a girl that doesn't have an hourglass shape - I felt very aware of my curvey-ness. Also, the bust can be a little awkward, so definitely get some fashion tape.
lilah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Aug 28, 2012

Pretty, a Bit Weird in the Bus

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I'm not big breasted but needed tape to make sure that I didn't flop out!
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Sep 26, 2012

Gorgeous, sexy, sophisticated dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a late Sept wedding and LOVED it. It runs a little large in the bust area (I am a 6, 34DD) but I think it is meant to be that way. I also have a tattoo on my rib cage and this showed it off a little, which was cute. At first this dress seems very conservative from the photos, but it is definitely more sexy when you put it on because of the fit on the bust and the peekaboo in the ribcage area. This would be great for a date night during the winter or a christmas party if your office is a little more liberal. I will definitely rent this dress again, if not buy it.
Jaclyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 115 lbs
Nov 26, 2012

For tall & skinny with small chest

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I received this dress for free since the one I wanted was worn. I loved the pleats and the color. unfortunately it did not fit my body type. I have a short torso and a B size chest. The top is open at the sides and back and did not support me.
meaghan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 26, 2012

Awesome dress. Sexy, unique fabric and rich color... A+ for fair childs!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The obvious con is just how sexy this dress is... I got it as a backup dress for my Dad's formal Christmas party... while this dress was fantastic for me, it was too sexy for the crowd. Keeping the ladies locked up was also a bit of an issue, but nothing a healthy dose of dress tape couldn't fix!
Genevieve
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 11, 2013

Way more risqué than the photo!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this for a holiday work party (I am an attorney), thinking I would wear opaque black tights and a cardigan. This dress was entirely too inappropriate for the function. It could be tons of fun for a wild girls night though!!
K
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
May 23, 2013

Gorgeous but all wrong.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress was impeccably made and absolutely beautiful but I have short waist and it was a disaster on me. Additionally, it was totally my fault for not reading thoroughly but the dress was a heavy wool crepe and totally not right for the season I planned to wear it.
JL
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Oct 13, 2013

the color was beautiful

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
top totally didn't fit - way too big
Colleen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 24, 2013

Well-made dress but couldn't make it work

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The pleats were very well constructed for a wool dress, and the elastic seemed like a great feature to hold you in, but the chest area wasn't structured enough and my body type couldn't work it out with fashion tape.
anne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Jan 13, 2014

I rented this dress for my engagement party and loved it. It was the perfect mix on party & formal.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The light weight wool and dark green makes it great for winter parties. It ran a touch large but actually is great for more coverage. Just don't forget tape.
Em
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 1, 2014

I'm in Love With This Dress

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I fell in love with this dress and ordered it for a formal immediately. I ended up not wearing it because of a zipper problem on the size that I needed to wear, which was slightly tragic. The only thing I didn't notice about it online was that THE BLACK STRAPS ARE ASYMMETRICAL. Also, the straps were kind of long on me, but that's probably because I'm short. Overall, this dress is so pretty and perfect for winter events.
chelsea
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 12, 2014

This dress was fantastic! By far my favorite dress ever rented!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Rented this for my birthday. Fits very true to size and is very flattering if you have a small waist and hips. So comfortable too! I bought double sided tape but did not even need it- had a little side boob but was comfortable wearing this out without any reinforcements all night long. Highly recommend this dress.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 4, 2014

If this dress came in the right size (size 2) and tape was provided due to the plunge.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Ran larger than expected for the designer (who usually runs on the small side). The material is wool but you can't tell from farther away.
Jenna
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Mar 19, 2014

Way too big

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I chose to get this dress because I knew the emerald color would look good on my skin. However, when I actually got the dress it was so dark I could barely tell that it was green. Not only that, but the straps were so incredibly long. Maybe it's just my body type, but I had to pin them so much it was crazy (and there's no way of pinning this dress discretely). Despite all of that, I did love how sweet and cute it was on me. My boobs looked fantastic, and I didn't have to wear any sort of bra (because the fabric was so thick). It also complimented my sort of broad shoulders. So yeah, it worked for the night, but I wouldn't rent again.
Min
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Apr 7, 2014

It's low cut elegant dress that makes anyone look like a goddess!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress has less pleats (accordion) than I thought-- which actually turned out great! It is made of thick wool, but fits beautifully into my body. I wore this for a date at a bar. This dress is subtly sexy but elegant at the same time! Very pleased with Rent the Runway's customer service too. The dress really tugs you in, so it makes you look skinny from the side, but doesn't affect your bust size! I'm definitely renting this dress again.
Breanne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180 lbs
Apr 17, 2014

Perfect Vegas dress

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Ugh, I'm so bummed about this dress. I got an 8 and a 10, I wish they made it in a 12. The material was so rich and amazing, and the style was SO cute. I actually got it to zip up all the way...with a lot of help from my mother. The waist band was just really small. I loved the way I looked in it, the girls looked good, it was just suffocating. I suggest getting this dress if you have a smaller waist it's so beautiful.
Jaci
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Apr 27, 2014

This dress made me feel stunning and sexy.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress. Only downside was that fashion tape was 100% necessary otherwise my chest would have been out for everyone to see when I sat down! Loved this dress and the way it made me feel.
Summer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 108 lbs
May 2, 2014

Super Flattering!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
this dress is SO cute! And definitely flattering. I had to use fashion tape (which for some reason wasn't included in this shipment), but other than that, it's fine. The straps were a little long too, so I had to pin them shorter (tip: pin it in the cross in the back).
Jj
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
May 18, 2014

Everything was great

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered a 0 and a 2 and the 0 fit perfectly. Absolutely loved this dress and it received many compliments. Such a cute style!!
BD
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
May 20, 2014

Pretty dress, awkward fit

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I ordered a size 4 and 2. The dress is very pretty, but the size 4 had it's pleats completely ironed out which made it look old. The size 2 was gorgeous, but very difficult to wear. The top is very revealing.. A bit too much for me. Didn't end up wearing either size.
Jeannine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 127 lbs
Jun 24, 2014

great dress.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I was not able to master the "fashion tape" that my stylist had suggested so I spent a lot of time fidgeting to make sure everything was covered. I would suggest practicing with the tape days before your event if you are new at this technique.
Tierney
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115 lbs
Jul 18, 2014

Rented for a date night.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
The fit was a bit off for me, and the v-neck was asymmetrical which through me off! Material and color was beautiful.
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 6, 2014

The dress is definitely a head turner - edgy, luxurious, and original.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I got quite a few compliments throughout the night. The fabric is on the heavy side so although it was short, it worked well for a winter event. Be ready to apply fashion tape liberally. The cut of the bust and the low cut cleavage definitely shifts around with movement.
mallory
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Jul 17, 2015

didn't wear because of the fabric

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Wedding
so overall, this dress just didn't do it for me. it actually fit really well and I didn't get the cleavage/side boob problems that many ladies had gotten. BUT I just could not get over the fabric. it was like a really thick felt/velvety mix. the asymmetrical neckline was a little strange and the hem was torn. the pleats were non existent (just made the dress look wrinkled). other than that, the color was beautiful and the back looked really pretty. I will definitely rent from RTR again, super easy ordering/return, but I just couldn't make this dress work.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×