Proenza Schouler

Katie Accordion Dress

$40 rental
$2,130 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

This Proenza Schouler dress is the perfect Fall style. With a grosgrain ribbon at the waist and cross-back, this style is ultra-flattering.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - exposed back cannot be worn with a standard strapless bra- fashion recommended to secure deep V
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt and pleated detail conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra and fashion tape
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Product Details

Green flannel. Surplus neckline. Cross-back. Accordion pleating. Grosgrain ribbon trim at waist and on shoulder. Ribbed knit at back waist. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
75 reviews
Fit
Large
(14)
True to Size
(52)
Small
(2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 23, 2013
Gorgeous but all wrong.
The dress was impeccably made and absolutely beautiful but I have short waist and it was a disaster on me. Additionally, it was totally my fault for not reading thoroughly but the dress was a heavy wool crepe and totally not right for the season I planned to wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 143lbs
June 27, 2013
Very unique dress
This dress is wool, which I didn't realize. Not that it made much of a difference, it's still really beautiful, but it could easily be a lovely fall party dress. It is very low cut, and you will need fashion tape. Tape solves gapping issue, but you'll need to feel comfortable showing a little side boob. I am, so that didn't bother me. What did bother me is how it fit around my waist. I have gained a little weight and I have a bit of stomach and unfortunately the waist part would not go any lower. This caused the top part to bulge out a bit. The fashion tape wouldn't let any exposure, but it was obvious when it was gapping. It was hard to sit up absolutely straight all night. I don't think an athletic build will have this issue.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
February 1, 2014
I'm in Love With This Dress
I fell in love with this dress and ordered it for a formal immediately. I ended up not wearing it because of a zipper problem on the size that I needed to wear, which was slightly tragic. The only thing I didn't notice about it online was that THE BLACK STRAPS ARE ASYMMETRICAL. Also, the straps were kind of long on me, but that's probably because I'm short. Overall, this dress is so pretty and perfect for winter events.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 4, 2014
If this dress came in the right size (size 2) and tape was provided due to the plunge.
Ran larger than expected for the designer (who usually runs on the small side). The material is wool but you can't tell from farther away.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
March 12, 2014
Absolutely breathtaking.
I wore this dress to my sorority's semi formal, and it stole the show. I had originally ordered another dress and last minute had to pick out this one due to the first being ruined by the previous renter, and THANK GOODNESS. The moment I put this dress on I knew it was the one. The fabric is a pretty heavy, being a thick wool/flannel fabric but when you twirl it fans out around you. BEWARE: this dress is not for the faint of heart when it comes to your breasts. With the help of some fashion tape, which RTR graciously gives you, I was able to keep the twins tamed but keep this in mind if you have large breasts. 5/5 and I wish I could have kept it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 108lbs
May 2, 2014
Super Flattering!
this dress is SO cute! And definitely flattering. I had to use fashion tape (which for some reason wasn't included in this shipment), but other than that, it's fine. The straps were a little long too, so I had to pin them shorter (tip: pin it in the cross in the back).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
January 3, 2015
Beautiful color!
This is definitely not a modest dress! It's really low cut but a lot of fun for the right event. I wore with a delicate long gold chain (can't really see in the pic) which was perfect. It was perfect!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 8, 2015
I want to own this (So I can have it fitted to my body)
I love this dress. I rented for NYE and was so excited to receive it. A lot of the other reviews say that it runs large, and this I found to be true, because of the straps. I think the dress would have been fine if the straps were a few inches shorter. Because of the added length it made keeping "the girls" covered a lot more difficult. I ended up returning this dress and going for another one because the size 2 was unavailable. But I would not hesitate to rent the size 2 for another occasion. And if it ever goes on sale I would snatch it up in a heartbeat and take it to the tailor! The dark green is beautiful and looks black when not in direct light. The fabric is soft and comfortable and the skirt very swingy and fun. Like I said, the chest area would take a lot of fashion tape even if the straps weren't too big, but the look is very sexy. Confidence is a requirement with this dress. The criss-crossed back is lovely too!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 12, 2015
This dress was so elegant, sexy, and easy to dance in. Would recommend for a wedding or gala.
Definitely get fashion tape! The dress is a little loose around the sides so I sized down ultimately. The front goes lower than in the picture, so you may want to wear a small black lacey tube top underneath because pinning it makes it look a little funny. Otherwise if you are comfortable showing a little cleavage it is still quite elegant, just be sure to use a good brand of fashion tape. The fabric and cut made a very pretty waistline, which was important for me because I always am afraid of looking a little paunchy in photos! I loved this dress.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
January 19, 2015
Weird fit but it grew on me
I didn't realize that the straps were asymmetrical when I rented the dress - be aware of this before you rent! It gives the dress a very unique look that ultimately grew on me but some people were asking why my neckline wasn't even. The color is stunning. Overall, the fit was rather loose on me, especially in the chest area, but luckily my brilliant boyfriend made some temporary fixes with fashion tape and safety pins.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
February 16, 2015
Beautiful color!
I LOVED the back of this dress and the color was absolutely gorgeous. The top fit a little funny on me, but nothing some fashion tape couldn't fix. I did not end up wearing this dress because it was a little too short on me. It seemed as though the front of the dress was a little higher than the back. If the dress was an inch or so longer this wouldn't have been a problem, but because the dress was already fairly short on me, the front was just a tad too short for my comfort.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
February 28, 2015
Able to pull pull it off better if you have a smaller bust.
In my humble opinion busty girls might be popping it bit out too much for comfort in this dress. For me, with a super small chest. It looked ok but I still needed fashion tape to keep things covered when I moved my arms certain ways. It was a little roomy in the bust, but nice and form fitting in the waist. I am also petite (so you know we have shorter torsos) so the plunging of the V was a little bit lower then on the model. I got a lot of compliments! It was perfect for a black tie party for work. I also paired it with tights and black heels like the model. My style is if you are exposed on one half of your body you keep it classy by toning down your other half, or in this case my legs. That helped reduce how flashy this dress was in front of people I work with.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102lbs
March 24, 2015
Classy with a modern flair
I expected the pleats to be much tighter and more pronounced so that was a bit of a disappointment. Overall it was super comfortable and great for a night of dancing at a wedding!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
April 1, 2015
I felt so sexy on my big birthday date and the color of this dress is so rich and beautiful.
I wore this to see Wicked and to dinner at a chic NY restaurant. Fashion tape is definitely needed, I didn't wear a bra because it would have taken away from the cool details of the dress. When I was a little girl I loved dresses that flew up in the air when you would spin around really fast and this dress did just that. It was a fun little dress to match an even better evening. I'd highly recommend it for a night out.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
April 17, 2014
Perfect Vegas dress
Ugh, I'm so bummed about this dress. I got an 8 and a 10, I wish they made it in a 12. The material was so rich and amazing, and the style was SO cute. I actually got it to zip up all the way...with a lot of help from my mother. The waist band was just really small. I loved the way I looked in it, the girls looked good, it was just suffocating. I suggest getting this dress if you have a smaller waist it's so beautiful.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
May 9, 2015
Beautiful, but impractical.
This dress is gorgeous on the model and in theory- but in real life it falls short. The fabric is extremely thick and heavy, and the design of the dress makes it impossible to wear with or without a bra. I also wouldn't recommend for girls over 5'10 since it was much too short on me.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
May 26, 2015
Received lots of compliments on the dress, wore it for rehearsal dinner.
true to size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
August 3, 2015
Side boob!
I wanted a dress that I can show off my side boobs, and appropriate for the event that happened in winter in Chicago. It worked well.
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
February 25, 2016
Perfect for a gala!
Loved loved loved this dress - wearing it made me feel confident and gorgeous! Fit me true to size - I ended up wearing a 4, And I usually wear a 4-6. Definitely needed tape for the "girls"....I didn't wear a bra, and I would say I'm average sized and got away with it. Super comfortable, wore it all night long while dancing/drinking/walking around a casino - got tons of compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
July 28, 2012
So many compliments!
I rented this dress in a 4 and a 2 and the 2 was much better. The only difference I could detect was that the straps/top of the 4 was really loose and as there is no way you can wear a bra with this dress that wasn't going to work for me. I wore it to a party that was related to a retrospective of Jean-Paul Gautier's work so the side boob that was unavoidable, even with tape, was totally appropriate, but it is definitely a daring little number. One of my top all time rentals (and I've rented almost 50 dresses!)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
May 10, 2014
Perfect mix of sexy and classy for a nice date! And our waitress turned out to be a photographer!
I usually can fit into anything from a size 2-6, but I read another review saying the waist was tight, so I ordered a 4 because I have a wide rib cage. It fit perfectly. Dress tape doesn't stick too well to the main fabric, but there is slip material that will work, and I didn't have any problem staying decent throughout the night. I definitely recommend copying the style of the dress model and going with the black tights.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
February 2, 2015
Perfect dress!
I loved this dress! DEFINITELY needed fashion tape to hold everything in place, I'm in between a B and C. It came in great condition, didn't need to iron or do anything with it and they gave 3 strips of complimentary fashion tape which was nice!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
April 4, 2015
Wore this dress to my farewell party!
The straps were way too long--the dress was designed for someone with medium to large breasts. Loved the color but the top was so large I have to pin 50% of each strap back with pins
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 22
September 21, 2015
This is a very dramatic, glamorous dress. It's perfect for a formal dinner or other dress up event!
I think this dress fits true to size. I sized down because the 6 wasn't available on the days I needed it so I squeezed into a 4. I think the low cut was pretty flattering despite the fact that I am an A cup. This material of the dress is a strange felt-like material, but it is comfortable so no complaints there.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
January 13, 2014
I rented this dress for my engagement party and loved it. It was the perfect mix on party & formal.
The light weight wool and dark green makes it great for winter parties. It ran a touch large but actually is great for more coverage. Just don't forget tape.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
February 12, 2014
This dress was fantastic! By far my favorite dress ever rented!
Rented this for my birthday. Fits very true to size and is very flattering if you have a small waist and hips. So comfortable too! I bought double sided tape but did not even need it- had a little side boob but was comfortable wearing this out without any reinforcements all night long. Highly recommend this dress.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
March 19, 2014
Way too big
I chose to get this dress because I knew the emerald color would look good on my skin. However, when I actually got the dress it was so dark I could barely tell that it was green. Not only that, but the straps were so incredibly long. Maybe it's just my body type, but I had to pin them so much it was crazy (and there's no way of pinning this dress discretely). Despite all of that, I did love how sweet and cute it was on me. My boobs looked fantastic, and I didn't have to wear any sort of bra (because the fabric was so thick). It also complimented my sort of broad shoulders. So yeah, it worked for the night, but I wouldn't rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
April 7, 2014
It's low cut elegant dress that makes anyone look like a goddess!
This dress has less pleats (accordion) than I thought-- which actually turned out great! It is made of thick wool, but fits beautifully into my body. I wore this for a date at a bar. This dress is subtly sexy but elegant at the same time! Very pleased with Rent the Runway's customer service too. The dress really tugs you in, so it makes you look skinny from the side, but doesn't affect your bust size! I'm definitely renting this dress again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
April 27, 2014
This dress made me feel stunning and sexy.
I loved this dress. Only downside was that fashion tape was 100% necessary otherwise my chest would have been out for everyone to see when I sat down! Loved this dress and the way it made me feel.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 127lbs
June 24, 2014
great dress.
I was not able to master the "fashion tape" that my stylist had suggested so I spent a lot of time fidgeting to make sure everything was covered. I would suggest practicing with the tape days before your event if you are new at this technique.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
October 20, 2011
Absolutely loved this dress so much! Fit so perfectly true to size and arrived in excellent shaped. Was so sad to give it back!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
October 13, 2013
the color was beautiful
top totally didn't fit - way too big
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 24, 2013
Well-made dress but couldn't make it work
The pleats were very well constructed for a wool dress, and the elastic seemed like a great feature to hold you in, but the chest area wasn't structured enough and my body type couldn't work it out with fashion tape.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 18, 2015
Pretty dress-- but too big!
It was made of thicker material than I expected, but it would have been nice since it was for a fall wedding. However, the dress was just too big on me - I ordered both a 4 and 2. Neither one fit so I had to send them back. I'm giving it two stars anyway because the dress was very unique!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
July 4, 2016
Cut of the dress is amazing.
Definitely needed some double stick tape for the chest area. Fabric of the dress is wool rather than silk and thicker than I was otherwise expecting. The waist of the dress is pretty narrow. Overall, loved it.
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×