Preen

Perfect Plum Dress

$175 to buy
$1,400 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Rock this Preen frock for a fashion-forward and sexy look. This curve-contouring style is the epitome of cocktail chic!

Size & Fit

This dress runs very small! We recommend sizing up one or two sizes (see following fit notes for exceptions). XS,S,M,L. Size XS=00; Size S=0/2; Size M=4; Size L=6/8.

BUST: Great for any cup size - strap runs long but can be secured with fashion tape
WAIST: Very fitted - bondage jersey cinches in waist
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; use fashion tape to help secure strap if needed
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Product Details

Purple stretch bondage jersey. One shoulder neckline. Ruched body. Cut-out detail on back. Exposed side zip. 34" from shoulder to hem.

Share
98 reviews
Fit
Large
(0)
True to Size
(18)
Small
(80)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 14, 2012
Loved this dress on!
I ordered this dress thinking I would wear the small based on the other reviews saying it ran small but ended up wearing the medium. It is very stretchy fabric so it is kinda a struggle to get on but once it is on it stays in place and looks great! Highlights curves and hides problem area's very well! You definitly need to have fabric tape to hide bra-or just go without if you can!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
May 13, 2013
Beautiful, sexy dress. Wore it to a wedding rehearsal dinner.
Fit runs small - I wore a medium when I usually always wear a small. I'm 34/28/37. VERY fitted but looks good on. Slimming. Got lots of complements. Paired it with a white cardi at night when it got colder. Wore it with nude wedges to dress it down a little.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
June 20, 2013
Sexy, flattering and wedding-appropriate!
The color and style are fabulous. The dress glows without looking flashy. While very fitted, the rutching is forgiving and the dress is thoughtfully tailored. It's awesome to dance in. Overall fab dress and perfect for a semi-formal party! A few fit/style notes: * best to pull a strapless bra down low on your back (unless you're lucky enough to rock a nubra or nothing at all!) * agree with everyone. Go a size up. I usually wear XS but S was great * it's definitely longer on me than the model. It reached just above my knees, though I'm 5'2 * I had to pin the one-shoulder strap in the back to shorten it * I DEF had to safety pin the top of the zipper, as it would have popped open and slid down without reinforcement * it bunched up a little big around my waist, as I'm a bit more slim-hipped
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
July 1, 2013
Great party/clubbing dress!
I wore this dress for my bachelorette party. It is definitely tight. I usually wear a size 6 & was able to fit into the small with some help zipping it up. It's made for a taller person. The separate strap in the back didn't really show on me because I'm shorter (5'3"). It just looked like it was connected to the rest of the dress. Also, the shoulder strap was long and was falling off, so I folded it & pinned it with a safety pin. Otherwise it's a great dress. It was very flattering and accentuated my curves in all the right places.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 95lbs
May 14, 2014
Fits like a glove!
Wore it for my birthday at a casino. Love the dress. It fits perfectly and accents all the right curves. Everyone loved the dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
September 21, 2010
This is a beautiful dress and if you get the right size, it's very flattering. I'm usually a XS or S since I'm pretty petite (5'0, 34C, 108lbs) but the S barely fit me. Also, for smaller girls, beware of the one shoulder strap - it's way too long but there's a way to tuck it in the back strap to make the dress work. Overall, it's a great dress, especially if you're on the taller side, but be sure to get 1-2 sizes up!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Body type: Pear
September 27, 2010
I wear a small or x-small so very disappointed that I could not wear this dress for my event. I am 32C, 115lb. Order at least 2 sizes up. Strap is also very long and needs to be adjusted...otherwise, cute dress that I would have loved to wear.
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
November 10, 2010
I was overly excited to receive this dress in the mail and both sizes ran wayy smaller than I expected. I finally got the medium size on but there was no was going to move the rest of the night. (Usually I fit in a small in dress, size 2-4). I have larger hips which is where it was the tightest.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
January 3, 2011
I absolutely loved this dress. It does run small, but I was able to rent a small and it fit perfectly - it just took a little work to get the dress zipped up. If you have someone to help you, it should be no problem! Once I had the dress on, it fit like a glove and I got tons of compliments. The only problem I encountered was the strap that went over my right shoulder - it was a bit too long and tended to flap a bit instead of holding taut. It wasn't a huge, obvious problem though and the dress still fit beautifully. I'd definitely rent it again!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
January 26, 2011
I just received this dress and was more than upset to find out the fit is nothing like what it looks like online. Im very very slim with no curves and i had difficulty even zipping the S. its much longer than it appears and very awkward in the bust if you aren't full figured.
NoelleSeptember 29, 2015
were you able to wear heels?
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Body type: Pear
June 23, 2011
LOVED wearing this dress!! be weary that it does run on the small side. I'm typically a size 4-6, small bust, and i still had a tough time zipping up the top part (ordered a S). once it was on - with the help of a friend zipping this baby up - it looked amazing and the compliments kept on coming!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
September 27, 2011
GORGEOUS
Absolutely loved this dress! Definitely red carpet worthy. This dress does run extremely small. I am a true 0 and always wear a size small. I definitely needed some assistance zipping the dress up. The dress does have some stretch but not much. I wanted to order the medium as my backup size but they didn't have it available at the time. The small fit but I would have felt a little better knowing I had a back up size. Rent the Runway was so organized delivering my dress and made it so easy to ship back. Overall, I had a great first experience with RTR. Will definitely rent from them again.
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
February 17, 2012
Nice dress, way too small
I'm usually an XS and for some brands an XXS so I thought I would be fine with an XS in this dress. I was wrong. I couldn't even get the dress to zip. It eas a very beautiful dress and I wish I was able to wear it. If you get this one, be sure to get a dress one size larger than what you normally wear OR order both sizes to ensure you'll have one that fits.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
July 23, 2012
Gorgeous Dress
I absolutely loved this dress. After sizing up, the fit was perfect. I had to use some tape to keep it in place, and it worked out well. This dress was great for formal.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
November 14, 2012
LOVED this
Want to rent again for sure. If you have large breasts, this will be tight in the chest. I am a B and it was a good, but snug fit. Nice quality fabric. Very form fitting.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
January 7, 2013
The dress is really pretty, but be careful to avoid a "malfunction"...
It fits tight, and is gathered to accentuate curves. My issue with the dress was that the strap that goes across the back was rather loose, and once I started moving around the strapless side kept slipping down. Even after I used adhesive strips I had to be careful to make sure I wasn't falling out.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
July 15, 2013
Fabulous!
Rented this for a summer wedding, and received many compliments, but the side zip could have profited from a hook and eye closure. A NuBra or going braless is necessary/the top rode down slightly when dancing, but it was not a huge issue. The fabric is thick and color stunning, so it photographs well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
August 31, 2014
Great look
This dress was great although it ran a bit small. The sleeve was long and a bit annoying because it kept falling off my shoulder. The dress overall fit well even though the zipper proved to be a problem- it always unzipped itself! I felt pretty in it but at the end of the day I felt like it was more annoying than it was worth.
See more reviews:
3 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×