Preen

Perfect Plum Dress

$175 to buy
$1,400 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Rock this Preen frock for a fashion-forward and sexy look. This curve-contouring style is the epitome of cocktail chic!

Size & Fit

This dress runs very small! We recommend sizing up one or two sizes (see following fit notes for exceptions). XS,S,M,L. Size XS=00; Size S=0/2; Size M=4; Size L=6/8.

BUST: Great for any cup size - strap runs long but can be secured with fashion tape
WAIST: Very fitted - bondage jersey cinches in waist
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra; use fashion tape to help secure strap if needed
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Product Details

Purple stretch bondage jersey. One shoulder neckline. Ruched body. Cut-out detail on back. Exposed side zip. 34" from shoulder to hem.

Share
98 reviews
Fit
Large
(0)
True to Size
(18)
Small
(80)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
August 31, 2010

Loved this dress! It was trendy and classy all at the same time, while allowing me to have an amazing dinner (no "I can't eat if I want to breathe" fears) and dance the night away afterward. The only thing I'd recommend is use the fashion tape to help with the back strap - it hooks like a bra in the back and it kinda just hangs there if you use the smallest hooks.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
November 15, 2010

the eggplant color is very vibrant in person and the fabric has a lot of stretch to it. the dress is lined and definitely keeps everything in. i'm typically a size 2-4, 32c and went with the medium. the small was definitely too tight to zip up. the only problem with the dress is that the back strap was a bit long (my torso isn't long enough) so i had to safety pin it up. there is no adjustment on the strap for the shoulder part.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 17, 2010

Love this dress! Great body-hugging fit with a sexy back too. Perfect for a fun night out or easy to dress up for black tie.

Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 47
Body type: Petite
January 3, 2011

This dress was perfect for my New Years Vegas Trip! It definetely is form fitting. If you are busty, I would go one-size up. It is a beautiful dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
May 22, 2011
this dress made me feel beautiful and comfortable- dresses never disappoint!

This dress is super stunning in person and gives you a really nice feminine shape. It does run on the smaller side and would recommend ordering a size up as a back up. I received a ton of complements on this dress and would definitely rent it again!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
August 29, 2011
Sexy and gorgeous dress

Sexy gorgeous dress! Fits like a glove, little smaller than usual. Definitely made me look very curvy - I was worried that I would pop out of the dress when I was dancing! Everyone complimented me on the dress. I would definitely order a size larger and use double stick tape, as the strap was a little too long.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 24, 2012
Perfect dress for a date w my boyfriend and then a friend's rooftop party.

This tailored dress was made for me! The fabric is forgiving w it's stretchy quality. I think it would be flattering on other body types as well. It was difficult to return bc I loved it so much.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Body type: Petite
November 15, 2012
Such an amazing dress for RTR Boston Party!

everything is just perfect!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 12, 2012
Classy and sexy

Beautiful material and color. Makes for an amazing shape since it ruches at the right spots. It is definitely tight and tough to get on but worth it after all the effort and looks better tight than loose. Once its on, it is super comfortable since the material is so stretchy and easy to look elegant and pretty. Highly recommend!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 23, 2013
Pretty and unique

I wore this to a formal affair, loved it but the ruffling needed some adjusting throughout the night. Otherwise it fit well.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 100lbs
January 30, 2013
Gorgeous!

It was perfect. The color is a deep plum, and complements just about every skin color. It was very fitted throughout, so if you are self conscious about any part of the body, this dress is not for you. Even with the ruching, it is snug and not forgiving. Having said that, it is surprisingly comfortable. I will say my only gripe had to do with the one shoulder strap. It was extremely long, and I had to do a macgyver tuck, twist, pin thing to it. Other than that, it was great.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
October 20, 2013
This was the perfect dress for an October wedding in wine country! So different and glamorous!

I was hesitant to rent with all of the warnings on fit and mishaps with holes in this dress but I just couldn't shake it, this was the perfect dress for my best friends wedding! It was very from fitting and the ruffles took a little work before I liked how it 'fit' and of course, the strap and clasp needed to be pinned down (seriously this should be fixed for good) but what a dress! I absolutely loved it and felt amazing in it all evening.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 5, 2013
This dress has potential, but...

I rented this dress to wear to a birthday party. The concept is there, but for a "$1,400" dress it's not worth it to rent, even for $150. I was fidgeting with it all night. The zipper doesn't have a hook and eye closure, I had to safety pin it together. The shoulder strap is ridiculously long. The strap going across your back hangs off, I had to pin that as well. I really like the idea of this dress a lot, but the cons definitely outweigh the pros. The color is great. The fit is almost true to size. I'm usually an extra small or small. I felt comfortable in the small. It's supposed to fit like a glove and it definitely does which I loved! I should have listened to all the other reviews about all the issues. The zipper if anything should honestly be fixed!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
October 3, 2012
I LOVED this dress. It made me feel like a million bucks!

The dress was snug but curved in all the right places. I normally would have wanted to go a size up but with a Preen dress it is made to fit tight yet it gives so you do not feel uncomfortable or self-conscious.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 95lbs
May 14, 2014
Fits like a glove!

Wore it for my birthday at a casino. Love the dress. It fits perfectly and accents all the right curves. Everyone loved the dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
November 14, 2012
LOVED this

Want to rent again for sure. If you have large breasts, this will be tight in the chest. I am a B and it was a good, but snug fit. Nice quality fabric. Very form fitting.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
January 7, 2013
The dress is really pretty, but be careful to avoid a "malfunction"...

It fits tight, and is gathered to accentuate curves. My issue with the dress was that the strap that goes across the back was rather loose, and once I started moving around the strapless side kept slipping down. Even after I used adhesive strips I had to be careful to make sure I wasn't falling out.

Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
July 15, 2013
Fabulous!

Rented this for a summer wedding, and received many compliments, but the side zip could have profited from a hook and eye closure. A NuBra or going braless is necessary/the top rode down slightly when dancing, but it was not a huge issue. The fabric is thick and color stunning, so it photographs well.

See more reviews:
3 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×