Preen

Blue Violet Cocktail Dress

$35 rental
$1298 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Show off your curves in this vibrant one shoulder Preen dress. Your ultimate cocktail dress for that fancy dinner party or charity event. Also, great for a wedding at anytime of the year. Pair with a bold cuff like the AV Max's Gold Hammered Cuff.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0; Size S=2; Size M=4,6; Size L=8.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - low cut on side cannot be worn with a standard strapless bra
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted fabric great for cinching in waist
HIPS: Very fitted - curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0; Size S=2; Size M=4,6; Size L=8.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - low cut on side cannot be worn with a standard strapless bra
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted fabric great for cinching in waist
HIPS: Very fitted - curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Purple stretch bondage jersey(64% acetate; 29% polyester; 6% elastane). One shoulder neckline with pleating detail on shoulder. Ruched body. Exposed side zip. 38"" from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

133 reviews

Fit
Small 106
True to Size 20
Large 1
Photos 65
Devin
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 2, 2012

Very classy and chic!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Beautifully made dress, thick material, and nice structure. It did fit a big snug, someone might have to help zip you in. But once you're in, you're in! Got MANY compliments throughout the night. Color is beautiful and the cut is flattering to almost any shape!
Elise
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 25, 2012

loved it

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered a 4 and 6, ended up wearing the 4. You definitely need a second pair of hand to zip this dress up but once you get it on it is very comfortable. The side boob is there and can be a little scandalous so you just have to keep an eye on it. Overall loved wish I could wear it again!
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

Great color - really stood out and great body-con fit without being too obvious

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Run's very small - my 90 pound roommate tried on the small and couldn't get it to zip! Overall a great dress though
Cece
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

The color and material are top notch and I felt like a million bucks in it!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress definitely fits small. I do have a larger bust, but I think regardless you do need assistance getting the zipper up. You cannot wear a bra with this dress so I recommend having fashion tape on hand. Once in the dress, I'm pleased I decided to rent it. Many compliments and super flattering!
Lara
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Sep 13, 2012

LOVED this dress! It's sexy and classy and the length is perfect.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
It runs VERY small. I am 5'5 and 115 pounds and I squeezed into a medium... and I probably could have fit into a large. The sides show a little side boob, but just a tiny bit so that it's not trashy. It's tight enough at the top that you don't have to wear a bra (even with big tots it should be okay) and you really can't wear one anyway, because the back goes below where the bra sits. I got a lot of compliments on this dress. I would definitely recommend nude shoes. Since the dress is dark, black shoes cut it off and made my legs look shorter. I put on nude pumps and it made a world of difference! All of a sudden I had legs for days! The length of the dress in the photo is a little misleading, it was hiked up a little from walking down stairs and I hadn't fixed it. I'm waiting for a better one... this is the only one I have from the night!
Erin S
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137 lbs
Sep 6, 2012

It made my weekend with the look my boyfriend gave me once I had it on!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered for a wedding and had the M and L after reading the reviews. The reviews were pretty spot on and so I tried on both. I ended up wearing the M, because the L was a little too large in the top and there was a little too much side boob going on for a wedding and I didn't bring any Hollywood tape with me! The dress was easy to move in and I received compliments all night of how hot the dress was. I danced in it and it was such a fun dress I wish I owned it!
Jamie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Jul 17, 2012

Unique dress

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was a bit difficult to zip but once it is on, it's very flattering. I would have gone with the medium except that my bust is on the small side and it would have had too much excess fabric on the top. I squeezed into the small and it was totally worth it. The color is great too!
Brooke
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128 lbs
May 25, 2012

I loved this dress!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
WARNING: Runs extremely small. I am 5'6", 128lbs, 23B, and usually wear a size 6. The large fit super snug, but the dress is very flattering. Thick fabric is nice and hiding, and the subtle ruching and folds are in all the right spots. You can't wear a strapless bra (which freaked me out at first), but I was actually just fine without one! The dress is very tight just under your breasts, so it is supportive. (Side boob was not an issue for me since I am a b cup) I received so many compliments! I really wish I could buy this dress. Love it!
Andreia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 6' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
May 11, 2012

The accuracy of comments and pictures.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I usually wear S but ordered M because most feedback said this dress runs small and I'm glad I did. The M fit perfectly. This is a beautiful and comfortable dress and I got several compliments on it. My friend tried it and it didn't fit as well because she has a smaller bust size.
Olga
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Body type: Straight & narrow
Jan 18, 2012

I felt amazing!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Loved this dress. I only wore it for a few minutes for a pageant interview, wish I got to wear it longer! It does run small. I am usually a size S (0/2) and wore the M. Didn't even bother to try on the S. Like others have said someone will have to zip you in. I highly recommend it. It's beautiful. This was my first RTR order and I was very impressed. Will rent again.
Casey
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 22, 2011

Best dress of the night!!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress!! It does run very small, I am usually a 4/6 and the large fit perfect. And it was the most comfortable dress I have ever worn. You will need help getting into it, because the material is so stretchy it is difficult to zip...once you are in...you are in and it is fabulous!!
JennVT
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 5, 2011

I felt like I belonged in hollywood all night. The compliments were endless. Everyone wanted to know where I found such a fabulously fitting dress and I was excited to share my RTR experience.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a country club wedding in Hilton Head. I was very nervous as I do have an hourglass shape complete with large breast, very small waist and full hips and buttocks. This dress was incredibly flattering and hid and bumps I wanted hidden (wink). It is funky and hip yet flattering with the one shoulder and the fun back design. My only complaint about the dress is that it arrived with two small holes in the seam. After a quick call to RTR and their amazing customer service tot he rescue - I had it repaired a tailor nearby and they picked up the charge! GO RTR! As the other reviewers have mentioned - it is very hard to get into this dress by yourself. My husband had to zip me in... but it's worth it. I felt like a million bucks all night and received countless compliments. Would totally rent this dress again!
MEL
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
May 19, 2015

The dress was great! only 4 stars because of the zipper, plan to have friends help

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Zipper is tough! Great dress otherwise
Kristen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 23, 2015

Runs REALLY Small

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Vacation
Based on the reviews, and that the only size available for my dates was a small, I decided that's what I would order. The small was more like an XXS. It was so tight I couldn't even zip the side zipper a few inches, so unfortunately I didn't get to wear the dress. The dress has no give to it whatsoever. I am not even sure a medium would have fit. If I were to order this dress again, I'd probably order a large.
Juliana
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136 lbs
Apr 8, 2015

The body looks great!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fits small, the zipper is on the lateral, so if you have big boobs (like me) will be a little problem to close it, so will need a help!
806
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 127 lbs
Apr 8, 2015

Gorgeous Dress, Tons of Compliments

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I really loved this dress and it was perfect for my boyfriend's sister's wedding. It was absolutely a struggle to get into, especially because per the reviews, it sounded like a medium would be the better size. I usually wear a 2 or 4 in designer dresses. I did however, manage to get into the small, but had to sew in a hook clasp at the top to get it zipped by myself. Also, it kept unzipping even with the clasp (just an inch or two) all night, so thank goodness I put it in! The dress definitely stretched out as the night went on, so if you can get into a smaller size, I'd recommend it. I probably wouldn't rent again though because honestly the trouble wasn't worth the effort that I put into it.
Kristyn
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Mar 8, 2015

Pretty but small

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was way too tight. It was a nice dress though so next time I will order the medium.
Gina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Feb 18, 2015

Loved the red color more

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved this but the XS fit my few curves better. I also loved the red color more! Would rent for a less formal occasion in the future!
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 17, 2015

Very easy to rent and return

Size worn: S
Rented for: Wedding
The dress is not a bright purple as it looks in the pictures, it's more of a dark purple almost blue. Dress runs very small, I normally wear size 0-2 but with this dress I would have been more comfortable in a medium had it been available. The dress does fit snug around the torso region, but once you get in it, it fits like a glove. The zipper does take two people to zip up. The dress does have a little stretch to it, so it may feel tight at first but does loosen. I got many compliments on the dress at the wedding I attended.
Tonya
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 103 lbs
Feb 12, 2015

Gorgeous dress perfect for cruise vacation

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Vacation
I rented this dress to wear for a cruise formal night. The color was a beautiful violet. I received several compliments on the dress. As other reviewers have said this runs very, very small. I usually wear a 0 or XS. Only the size S was available. I decided to try it based on the other reviews and am glad I went with the small. I don't think an XS would have fit; the small was really small (for reference I am 32C-23-35). I was able to zip it up to about my rib cage by myself, but required help to get the zipper up the rest of the way. Once it was on, it was very comfortable and looked great. As usual, customer service was great and the rental process was easy.
J
Usually wears: 4
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 21, 2015

Runs SMALL. Order one size up. Super cute, but I was unable wear :(

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Small fits like an XS. Order one size up. Would have been cute. Had to find another dress at the last minute.
Sophie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126 lbs
Jan 4, 2015

Did not wear the dress due to small size

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Dress looked beautiful and the material seemed comfortable. Overall I did not wear this because the size I ordered was a two and there was no backup available. i normally wear a 2, but in this dress it was just too snug. A size four would have worked better.
Mcpammie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 21, 2014

Could not wear it , runs extremely small

Size worn: NONE
Rented for: Formal Affair
#supersmall I usually wear a size 4 and even in a 12 I still don't think it would fit
calamity
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Dec 12, 2014

I rented this for an office holiday party.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The dress runs small. I did not notice the ruching in the picture when i rented it. The lines going across my bottom did nothing for me. The hem was not pressed down very well and there was a tear in the dress, not really noticeable because of the ruching. I did not wear the dress.
Jaimie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 26, 2014

Very small

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Pretty but runs very small
Kanan
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 51
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106 lbs
Nov 7, 2014

Never wore the dress-it does run small,but it just did not sit well on my lower body.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Size up which I did. I was disappointed because there were so many favorable reviews. the color is pretty too.
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 17, 2014

Just OK

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I was disappointed when I received this dress. The color is more vibrant in the photos. While the back was beautiful, the front did not fit quite right. The top poked out bit. Even worse, the dress had been folded in such a way that the hem of the dress flipped out and I could not get it to lay flat. The material of the dress was a rougher material than I expected. I returned it for credit.
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 8, 2014

Way too small

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This was my "second" dress and I figured it would be too small. It was!! I could not even get it on. The color of the dress is not accurately reflected in the picture. It is purple.
Jilanna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 29, 2014

Darker cobalt color in person.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I have wanted to rent this dress for quite a while, and it always seems to be booked. For good reason, once you squeeze into it, it looks amazing! Note, I received notice that the medium was damaged by a previous renter and no longer available. I am between a 4-6, and I could fit into the S. The dress is a darker cobalt in color and needs simple jewelry. I did not end up wearing this dress, but I would rent it for a different event.
Tara
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Sep 25, 2014

I had to wear a back up LBD.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Rented this dress for a wedding. Based on reviews from women with my same height, weight and dress size, I ordered a small. The dress arrived timely. Unfortunately it was so small I could not even get the zipper all of the way up. The bottom of the dress did not lay flat either which was weird, as if someone had poorly hemmed it. It kind of bubbled up around the seam. My size for bra fittings is actually 33 (not technically 34) and this dress did not fit over the top of my ribcage. It did not even make it to my boobs which I was concerned about being a DD vs. D. Also, the color was very purple. Based on the picture online I had anticipated closer to a cobalt blue. It was not close to this color. I really did not like the color, and was upset about the fit. I ended up wearing a stand by LBD to the wedding. I will try RR again based on the convenience, cost and overall concept but with a different dress. This was not the dress for me.
Kimberly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 16, 2014

Way way too small

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I'm normally a 4-6 and this dress didn't come close to fitting
Tara
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 7, 2014

It was so small that I couldn't wear it to the event.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I read reviews that said that the dress ran small, but wow I was unprepared for just how tight it was going to be. When I first attempted to try it on I ran and jumped on the scale to make sure that I hadn't gained a surprise 15 pounds since I ordered the dress one week prior. The dress was so small I needed an extra person to help me try and fit in it. In the end, the dress was so tight and the zipper digging so hard into my side that I had to wear a different dress to the event. The next time that reviews say that a dress runs small I will order 2 sizes up or not at all!
Renee
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jul 6, 2014

N/A

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Unfortunately I couldn't wear this dress as it was too small. Heed the warnings from all the other renters that this dress does run small. Very pretty color, was disappointed I couldn't wear it.
SZM
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Jun 30, 2014

Very comfortable for a long afternoon/evening affair.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Runs small, be careful when you zip up. Once you get in it, it fits perfectly and is extremely comfortable.
Elizabeth
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
Jun 27, 2014

The event was actually cancelled due to legal issues from another charity event.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I got my normal size, but the tube part of the dress was really tight while the top seemed like it was made for a much larger bust (I am a 32D and normally a size 4/5 depending on the dress, so I'm not sure how that would be logical if the dress part fit snugly). I was super disappointed as it didn't even look like the color in the pictures, it's much darker and almost a navy blue.
Christina
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 9, 2014

Beautiful dress / Terrible Fit

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was absolutely beautiful - color, fabric, and ruching were perfection! However, the fit (at least for me) was a major setback. I'm 5'11", size 2, with fuller hips and a tiny waist and chest. Surprisingly, the size S fit my hips but I could barely manage to zipper it past my ribcage. It was as if they placed a XXS top on a S bottom! Regardless, I sucked it up and had a great time and received many compliments on the dress. A MUST TRY for small chested women!
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
May 16, 2014

Runs small. Order up. Need assistance to zip

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The color is really stunning. I wish I could have made this work but it just didn't. It was way too small and unforgiving.
KayMay
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
May 14, 2014

Great color and fit!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Once the dress was on, it was a great fit and looked great! However, it was very difficult to actually get on - the zipper took several friends to make it all the way to the top! I am typically a size 2 and the small was tricky for me. I suggest ordering up a size.
Teni
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
May 14, 2014

I didn't wear the dress.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was a struggle to get into.. definitely need help zipping it up. And there was a lot of side cleavage. I didn't like the way the ruching/ruffle in the back laid directly on my rear end and made it a focal point. I ended up not wearing the dress at all. The dress color is beautiful though and would look good on someone who maybe doesn't have as many curves.
Nina
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98 lbs
May 9, 2014

The compliments it received when wearing the dress

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Tight along the side that has the zipper but fabric is stretchy. Cannot wear a regular bra but you can just buy the kind that has the sticky tabs on the side
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×