You are masquerading as ! (switch back)
| REVIEWS |
 
| MY BAG
 

FREE SHIPPING + INSURANCE
What's this?

Rent like a PRO all year long! One year of
free shipping & insurance. Plus, we'll throw in
a free birthday dress. Learn More

Our Runway
What's New
Dresses
Accessories
Occasions
Designers
Stores
Blog
Blue Violet Cocktail Dress
Rental $35 Retail $1298
info
  • Stylist Notes
  • Product Details
  • Size & Fit
Show off your curves in this vibrant one shoulder Preen dress. Your ultimate cocktail dress for that fancy dinner party or charity event. Also, great for a wedding at anytime of the year. Pair with a bold cuff like the AV Max's Gold Hammered Cuff.
Chat with a Stylist
Purple stretch bondage jersey(64% acetate; 29% polyester; 6% elastane). One shoulder neckline with pleating detail on shoulder. Ruched body. Exposed side zip. 38"" from shoulder to hem. Imported.
Chat with a Stylist
This dress runs slightly small. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0; Size S=2; Size M=4,6; Size L=8.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - low cut on side cannot be worn with a standard strapless bra
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted fabric great for cinching in waist
HIPS: Very fitted - curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Chat with a Stylist
  • Enter your shipping zip code
  • Select size
    Select free 2nd size
  • Select the day you'd like your dress to arrive
    We recommend you select a rental start date 1-2 days before your event.
    Renting for Thanksgiving weekend? Enjoy an extended rental on us! Rent for 11/27 and return 12/1.
    • Start Date
    • Mail Back
    • Unavailable
    • *No delivery on Sundays
Got A Minute? Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Photos39

0 Reviews from women like you:

Enter more for better results

LM
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 136 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4444
Oct 16, 2013
NOt my cup of tea
Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was really excited for this dress... At the time i was 120lbs and a size 0/2 and ordered a Medium and it was still too small. It also just wasn't flattering..
Jill
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 127 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3433
Oct 2, 2013
Beautiful dress, tight fit
Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I really enjoyed the dress but did have some problems with the zipper. The dress did not have hooks on the top of the zipper and it kept creeping down and pinching me but I just added a safety pin and it was fine. Also, I would listen to the reviews that it runs a bit small. At 130 lbs and 5'6" the medium was a tight fit. Actually, I thought it might not fit at all but luckily with a little assistance we got it zipped up. Also, the color was more of a royal blue than I thought it would be but still loved it. All in all very glad I rented it and would have done it again given the chance.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5433
Sep 17, 2013
Must be Twiggy to wear
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
They did not have a size large for me to order as a back-up, but the medium was not even a close call so the large would likely not have fit either. VERY small fit. I had to send it back and have RTR overnight me another style. Loved my back-up dress even more than this one and RTR customer service was excellent!
Kelli
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2432
Aug 25, 2013
Amazing dress, lots of compliments!
Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress definitely runs small. I normally wear a zero, and the small in this dress was tight. I'm sure the medium would have been too big though. The fabric is amazing and very comfortable! I could have worn this dress all day. I loved the style, especially the back. I received lots of compliments and felt like a million bucks wearing this dress! A must-rent!
Nitrisha
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4534
Aug 17, 2013
I was told I had on the most beautiful and sexy dress at the wedding!
Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The fit of the dress is very sexy. The dress runs small and it cannot be zipped up on my own. Other that I loved the dress and so did my partner. I wore the dress to an evening wedding so it was very appropriate.
Julie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
Aug 14, 2013
Great dress!!
Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
My sister wore this to a wedding and got lots of compliments. Everyone loved it, she looked amazing. She is VERY thin and had a difficult time zipping up this dress. It was fine once it was on, but this dress is very tight fitting and she was stressed about whether it was going to work out.
Julie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
Aug 12, 2013
Runs incredibly small!
Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I read the reviews before ordering, so I ordered a Medium as my backup size. After attempting to put both dresses on, and crying because neither fit, I went back to the reviews and read that at least two sets of hands are needed to get into this dress -- and that is absolutely the case! Once on, it felt comfortable, but definitely order up one size, and up two sizes for your backup. Don't be discouraged if it doesn't fit without some extra help.
Gillian
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
Aug 2, 2013
Very flattering dress but runs small
Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for a rehearsal dinner and it was beautiful! The colors is great and the tailored fit is very flattering on. However, it runs small in the bust and there was no hook to keep the zipper in place. I had to pull the zipper up throughout the night and it kept snagging on my skin causing scratches and irritation which was was visible in the strapless dress I wore the next day as a bridesmaid. Definitely order a size up and if you have a larger chest I would not recommend this dress.
KB
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
Jun 12, 2013
Gorgeous, super flattering
Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Followed the reviews to order a size up, which were totally correct. I am usually a size small and wsa definitely a medium in this. It is super tight -- requires two people to zip -- but looks fantastic and fits perfectly once zipped. Definitely a "wow" dress and one my husband said he wished I owned
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4434
May 29, 2013
Beautiful but tiny
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I usually wear a XS/S and I could not even zip this up. Definitely order a size up if not two.
Camille
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5433
Mar 21, 2013
gorgeous color and flattering style...but ran a bit small.
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
rented this for a date but I didn't end up wearing it. the bottom of the dress was a bit stretched out when it arrived and although stretchy the dress definitely ran small. I wear a size 6 and couldn't zip the dress up. My roommate who is a size 2 even had a hard time when she tried it on.
girlygirl
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3433
Mar 3, 2013
Hot dress!
Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
this dress is a bit difficult to get on, however, once in it really holds you in. I rented the red in a small, which I ended up wearing. They sent the blue as a backup in a M, I guess because they were out of the red. The S and M both fit okay, but the ruching wouldn't stay in place for the M and I kept having to adjust, so I went with the small. I also really wanted to wear the red, since it was around the holidays. I got tons of compliments! You need a safety pin at the top of the zipper on the inside to keep it from sliding down, as some of the other reviews have said.
leor
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3533
Jan 10, 2013
BIG NO!!
Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I was always a huge fan of preen from the editorial pics but on even a petite girl, the fit was WAY too small and even the right size was unflattering. I would say NO to this dress!
janet
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 4531
Jan 9, 2013
Getting it right on time with a few minutes to spare thanks to the amazing customer service :)
Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I got a M and a L after reading that it runs small. I'm a size 4 normally, but a large barely fit me. It also kept shifting to the size and exposing my boob!
brantley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3443
Dec 3, 2012
Great dress!
Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved it!
kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 6541
Dec 2, 2012
Amazing - compliments all night!
Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
really tight fit and will take at least two people to get you into this dress! But once it's on, fits like a glove and looks gorgeous.
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 116 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4523
Oct 24, 2012
Loved this dress!
Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress and received so many compliments about its interesting shape! Definitely get a size up, though. It runs small.
Rachel
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4444
Oct 15, 2012
Not worth it!
Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress IS very slimming. It definitely gives you a defined waist line. However, there is no way to zip this dress up alone - so dont even think about it. It also does not stay zipped up since there is no top closure (on a $1,200 dress!). Also, I did not want to expose side-boob, so I needed to fashion tape the dress to my skin. Overall with the zipper and the tape, I didn't wear the dress because I didn't want to hassle at an event where I knew I would be dancing. Pretty dress, but not worth the hassle.
Mariska
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 107 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2433
Oct 9, 2012
Beautiful color, flattering fit
Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit of this dress was very flattering. I fit into the small even though I usually wear an extra small, which wasn't available in this dress. The top part (the one shoulder strap) was a little big, though, and I had to use fashion tape to keep it in place, otherwise there might have been quite the wardrobe malfunction. But I received a lot of compliments and felt beautiful in this dress.
Samarria
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5533
Oct 5, 2012
Not what I expected
Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Unfortunately, this dress did not fit me like it does the model on the photo. I could not wear it or the other size that was provided. Disappointing. However, the color was really pretty!
Ingrid
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 47
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4641
Oct 4, 2012
Neverending compliments!
Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress could make a potato sack look good - it's just magic. It is very snug and the initial "putting it on" experience is a bit of a struggle, but once you have it on it is incredibly comfortable and forgiving. I would consider paying $1,000 to own this dress - I've rented it twice in different colors!
Mariel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5524
Sep 17, 2012
shipping and returns
Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
super cute dress but did not get to wear it. it was waaay too small. definitely go a size up. color is a deeper purple then photo. was sad that it did not fit.
Adrienne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3444
Sep 11, 2012
Always amazing
Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
I love all of the Preen dresses. They are snug and sometimes require third-party zipper assistance, but once you're zipped in they are FABULOUS. This color was great - a bright indigo.
Leah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2422
Aug 27, 2012
Classy and interesting
Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I usually wear an XS, and the S in this dress was tight but perfect. The only part that was difficult to zip was over my ribcage (not the bust - since the zipper stops just below the bust). I liked this dress, but did not love it on my body type. Although I felt pretty and the classiness of the dress brough me from an afternoon church wedding into the fancier evening reception, I didn't think a one-shoulder dress that covered my entire chest was the most flattering option for someone as petite and athletic as me. In short, it worked and it looked nice, but I probably wouldn't rent it again because of my body type.
mizusp
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 129 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
Aug 23, 2012
Effortlessly Sexy
Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
Amazing dress and the color is stunning. Here is the catch: there is no, and I mean none what so ever, give to the material. Ladies, this is not the dress to insist you wear a size, this is where you go for fit. I am a gym rat and I was snug as a bug. Any smaller and it would have been a "only able to wabble, not walk" dress. Size up if any doubt and use style snaps to adjust but chances are, it will be perfect. I could have worn the medium and been just as happy. It does not need to be second skin, it is sexy as is. My husband called it the attitude dress: get the shoes, the fantastic earrings and bracelet, and your attitude- the best accessory of all.
Anna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3443
Aug 10, 2012
Amazing
Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was one of my favorite dresses to rent ever. It fit like a glove and sucked you in so that you feel really thin. It does run really small, so size up for sure. It was a little tough to get in to, but once it's on it's comfortable and moves well for dancing. It's very sexy, but covers almost your whole body, so it's not too much. The back detail is really great.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3533
Jul 1, 2012
Absolutely gorgeous!
Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress and would rent it again in a heartbeat. Got so many compliments. Caution: It runs very small. I'm usually a 0-2 in dresses but found the Medium to be a perfect fit. Works well with NuBra as suggested by RTR.
Aleta
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 39
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 2521
Apr 12, 2012
lil big
Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
liked it but it unfortunately did not fit me. Also, the folds by the hips were too big that it actually made it look awkward and i looked like a peacock.
Jenny
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4544
Apr 11, 2012
Amazing dress, but not for me
Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved the idea of this dress but unfortunately it wasn't a great fit for me. I ordered a M and the L as back-up since I read that it runs small. Even though the M was a bit tricky to get into even with a lot of help from my husband - the L was way too big for me. I felt like the dress was ruched at the wrong spots for me, which made my belly look bigger and boobs look smaller. I still would have worked the style, but the zipper on the M was broken and wouldn't stay all the way up, it kept pinching my skin which was very painful and uncomfortable. I tried putting band-aids and fashion-tape on the zipper but after dancing for a while they fell off and the zipper would pinch me again. (I have reported this to RTR so hopefully it won't happen to anyone else) I did love the color and the length was perfect for me, but I guess it was just not a great fit for my body type and the zipper just made the experience worse unfortunately.
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Canonical User Type: 3434
Feb 7, 2012
LOVED IT!
Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wish I could give this more stars! It was so pretty! It did run a little bit small but the medium fit a like a glove. I got so many compliments on the dress all night. I would rent it again!
Ruby
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Canonical User Type: 5443
Jan 5, 2012
Great once you get it on!
Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a NYE wedding and loved the way it looked and fit. I normally wear a 6 and ended up wearing the L in this dress. I could zip up the medium (with some serious assistance) but also felt great and a little less like a sausage in large, which still felt like built-in spanx. The right side of the top gaped open slightly but not enough to reveal anything. Definitely recommend!
Larue
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
Nov 16, 2011
Not a model, dont rent
Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Unless you have the torso of a 5'10" + model, this dress isnt for you. I am 5'6" and a size 4. I ordered a medium and large as backup. The dress is a super tight fit. My hubby loved the "look" of the dress but not the fit.The top sticks out on the sides in the front. The back one-shoulder strap gaps unless you are two inches taller from your waist to your shoulders. The large was even worse. Beware...there are two small holes on the side and I called RTR they were very nice but I just read another review and it appears this still hasnt been fixed.
droman120
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5633
Oct 20, 2011
Overall fit: Small
Beautiful dress but it was a tad tight. I recommend going up a size.
KB
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 6644
Aug 29, 2011
Overall fit: Small
I wore this dress to a cocktail party I hosted and I got lots of compiments. It fit beautifully BUT it definitely runs a size small. I am 5'10" and normally wear a 6/8 so I ordered the medium and the large as my back up size since a lot of the reviews said it ran small. I am so glad that I did. The large was nice and snug and fit perfectly and accented all my curves. I am certain that I would have not been able to zip up the medium. The color is beautiful and very vibrant as pictured in the photo.
Anushka
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2533
Aug 17, 2011
Overall fit: Small
LOVE this dress! I'm a 2 and wore a small, and it can be hard to get into so you may need help. Very flattering though! No bra needed.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×
×
Save at least $14.95 on every order and rent like a pro all year long. Details
  • free shipping
  • free insurance
  • free birthday dress