Ports 1961

Perfect Parisian Sheath

$61 to buy
$695 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Exclusive to Rent the Runway! Make an elegant entrance in this Ports 1961 dress to impress style.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - thick jersey fabric is fitted throughout and cinches in waist
HIPS: Fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - thick jersey fabric is fitted throughout and cinches in waist
HIPS: Fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Navy wool jersey. Sweetheart neckline with twist detail. Cap sleeves. Front pockets. Hidden back zip. Model's height is 5'10".

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

92 reviews

Fit
Small 2
True to Size 67
Large 20
Photos 21
Jaime
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Aug 22, 2013

Pretty dress

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I liked the dress - especially the pockets! I enjoyed the stretchier fabric (so comfortable!) and the neckline (so flattering), but ended up going with a dress that had some more detail to it. If you have great accessories, check this dress out to jazz it up!
Jen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170 lbs
Aug 20, 2013

Very flattering dress. Comfortable, easy to walk in, lovely.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit is true to size. I'm 5'11" and wore it for a red carpet event where I was part of the staff and needed to be running here and there and didn't feel it was too short. It was very flattering - definitely cocktail party suitable, but not so dressy that you feel like the dress is wearing you.
LD
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jul 29, 2013

Fit like a glove!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Love the pockets. Got tons of compliments. Highly recommend!
SC
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 9, 2013

Best for a cocktail party

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Love the cut, the pockets and cute cap sleeves. Excellent fit, wish I could have kept this one! Perfect go to black dress. Its a nice thick ponte fabric, I wore it in the winter and it kept me warm!
Tanya
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 2, 2013

Great dress for work party

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress for a formal work dinner party. It was the perfect length and was very comfortable all night.
Jocelyn
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124 lbs
May 29, 2013

Love this dress, fit like a glove, wish I could buy it. It goes well for every occasion!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit perfectly, hugs in all the right places
Anna
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
May 29, 2013

Got lots of compliments, felt very comfortable, although the cleavage was quite big.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I would feel better in size smaller, but as this was my back up dress and due to weather, my first choice was not appropriate, I had to run with this one.
TamaraCs
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133 lbs
Mar 31, 2013

Pretty Navy Color, Kind of Boxy Fit

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I love navy, and I rented this in a 6 and an 8, but neither sized worked. I ended up returning both for fit. Both dresses were tight in the chest. The sort of straight cut and wide shoulder made me look boxy which is funny because I am pretty curvy. On a side note, the dresses all had a strong chemical smell which I don't remember from previous rentals. It seems either the drycleaning or storage conditions have changed. The mothball ball type scent was really offputting. I was really glad to have a back up of my own to wear.
Laura
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 25, 2013

This dress was very flattering! I felt slim and pretty in a very understated way.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress is very stretchy-- I'm usually a 4 and couldn't tell much difference between the 2 and 4, but went with the 2 because it wasn't as fitted as the model's. Others mentioned it was lowcut-- I thought it was just fine for a modest chest and worked well with any non-full coverage bra. The pockets were perfect The stretchiness made the dress so comfortable all night, not at all the kind of dress you can't wait to take off. Understated but lovely. Perfect for a work party!
Jenna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Jan 14, 2013

Ran large. Ended up wearing the other dress I rented

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was really nice, just a bit baggier than it should have been for the size.
ec
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Jan 2, 2013

Easy and elegant.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Rented this dress (twice) for weddings. It has an elegant simplicity and a flattering overall cut. The dress is made from a nice thick jersey and is completely lined, which makes it great for a fall or winter wedding. It's also incredibly easy to wear and to match with shoes/accessories. In terms of sizing, I would say that it runs slightly large (and has some forgiving stretch). Only improvement to this dress would be the addition of a back slit to the skirt, which would allow for easier movement. But overall a reliable, classic sheath suitable for many occassions.
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Nov 28, 2012

Solid Choice

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I chose this for a fall wedding and got many compliments. it was snug fitting (in all the right places). I would recommend wearing spanks. It is a thicker fabric which is nice.
Gabi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Nov 26, 2012

cute and flattering

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to a friends wedding in the spring. It was comfortable, functional and classy. The material is a little thicker, so make sure you are not wearing it during warmer weather. Lots of compliments. I paired it will nude heels and the kate spade emerald clutch for a pop of color. I will say, if you've got a booty, it will definitely make it more "round", but still cute nonetheless.
Courtney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 15, 2012

This dress is AMAZING!! Its comfortable, but oh so subtly sexy!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress fit true to size, though you will need a demi cup bra or else it will show. I am a little hippier with a smaller waist and this dress was perfect for it: Slim and fitted at the waist, but forgiving along the hips and thighs. Absolutely would wear this again!
Olena
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Oct 17, 2012

sexy yet classy

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I felt this ran true to size. I also ordered a size down and almost wore it but was glad I didn't by the time I was walking through the venue to get to dinner. The dress is form fitting (with enough stretch for comfort) but when walking it did ride up a little bit.
Charlotte
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 148 lbs
Oct 10, 2012

na

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
stunning fit and so comfortable!!!
patricia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 9, 2012

Demure!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Dress was awesome. Many compliments and I felt like a million bucks. I am only 5' so I had to tape the top if the dress to the bra straps to keep it in place but it stayed wonderfully.....
lucie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Oct 5, 2012

classic but modern (pockets were great!)

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
fit extremely well, not too short, classic look -- i loved it!
Merrie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 127 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

very flattering dress, great for after hours business cocktail party

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress fit perfectly and i received many compliments
Alison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 19, 2012

Very chic and comfortable

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Not very formal because of the material, but a very flattering cut and very easy to wear.
Jacqueline
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 18, 2012

sophisticated and professional

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
i rented this to wear to a cocktail party where i was checking in people at the door. i felt sophisticated and sexy, but completely appropriate at the same time. the length is right and the cut not too low. the stylist suggested that i size down for my back up size and she ended up being correct that this runs a bit large.
Angela
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160 lbs
Sep 17, 2012

Comfy but not frumpy.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
I enjoyed this dress during a time i didn't feel very fit but was required to wear a formal dress. It was just long enough, just stretchy enough, and just lovely enough to make all my curves look gorgeous! I didn't have to keep pulling it up, down, or all around. the dress sat so well and I really like the dress. This dress served it's purpose as a "little black dress" but I didn't feel this would be a dress you would turn heads in. While it is beautiful, it's simply simple.
Philippa
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 10, 2012

Great Classic Dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was my backup dress that I wore. The fabric was incredibly comfortable and forgiving, but a little bulky. I did wear a belt as I felt the waist line needed definition. Neckline was quite low but flattering with a full bust and allows a regular bra. Pockets in the front a great look but did make that area not so smooth. I got compliments with on the dress - you cant go wrong with a classic like this.
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Aug 25, 2012

Didn't get the dress in time

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I was so excited to wear this dress for a big conference. Unfortunately, it was delivered to the wrong house so I never even got to see it.
Aimee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Aug 24, 2012

Beautiful dress

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
If you want to feel beautiful and classy for an evening, this is the dress. I wore it to my 10 year high school reunion and everyone thought it was perfect.
adgal2008
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 50
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 124 lbs
Aug 16, 2012

Classic Look

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Adorable retro look. Great neckline if you have a generous chest, and curves. It was a great fit. Fabric was crepe. Not a nightclub dress. It's demure.
Maddie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118 lbs
Aug 10, 2012

Beautiful!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I loved the dress but found that it ran a bit large.
Tamara
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Apr 20, 2012

Sophisticated w/ cleavage

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress for a charity event that was for work. It called for business attire. This dress was almost perfect. Beautiful, flexible, and comfortable. The 10 fit me very well, if not a bit of bunching because the zipper was long (i have this issue often though, and its not really noticable, its just that the shoulders can creep up on me if im not careful because i am short and short waisted). If you are busty, be careful. I was able to get away with it but I wear a 32F/34D bra - the girls were definitely apparent. It was okay though. I would have preferred to be a bit more covered, and double sided tape would have helped me to secure the dress a bit better (i just adjusted it manually and it was ok). I recieved LOTS of compliments on how i looked. People were admiring it! I wore nude pumps, pearl earrings and a pearl/gold necklace. Worked well. Really love the dress. Super comfortable with a sexy yet sophisticated flair.
B
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 12, 2012

Perfect!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Perfect for a wedding - great length and the fit was great. The fabric is slightly stretchy which makes the dress really comfortable. The dress also has pockets.
Mary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 20, 2011

This dress is a must!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Absolutely love this dress, it was such a shame to send it back! Fits true to size and is very flattering.
M
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Dec 8, 2011

Conservative Nice Dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for a holiday party where I needed something conservative. This dress was perfect! It fit well without being too tight but still showed my figure. Great choice.
Stephanie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 1, 2011

Dress was ok at best.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
This dress ran a size or two bigger. I'm usually a size 3/4 and I had order both the 2 and 4 because of previous reviews. The dress was more business than casual. And I have a very petite frame, and the dress overall was not very flattering. I wore this for a date, and it was a little too business woman for me. Also at the midsection where the waist cinches, most dresses have it so that it is breathable, but this was stationary. I also, was very unhappy with the fact that the hemline of the dress was so tight. I could not comfortably get in or out of a car.
Mia
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 27, 2011

Great dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Great dress for company holiday party. Classic, elegant, and very flattering. A dress you can feel confident in. The thicker material of the dress also makes it a good winter dress. I am 5'6", 120 pounds, and a 34A. I usually wear around a size 4, but ordered a 2 as a back up. The 2 fit well; it was form fitting but definitely not tight.
Jess A.
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
Nov 7, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I'm 5'5" and wore a size 4 in this dress. I wore it to a formal luncheon and felt just like Audrey...but with boobs. Girls with a chest, be warned: you will have cleavage in this dress. Go with a balcony bra, as a full coverage one will tend to show in the front.
Jax
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 29, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I have rented this dress twice already. Once for a work related dinner and once for a wedding. It fits perfectly and is oh, so flattering. I would love to own it!
Allison
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Oct 25, 2011

Overall fit: Large
This dress is outstanding! I typically wear a size 4 and have a larger chest (DD), but based on the reviews I ordered the 2 as my back up...so glad I did! The 2 fit and looked amazing (I didn't even bother trying on the 4). The fabric had some stretch but was nicely weighted and perfect for fall NYC weather. This dress is beautiful and was a real head turner - will definitely rent again.
Brooke
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 19, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This was my first rental and a great experience. Very flattering and amazing, high-quality fabric with this dress. I am usually between a 4 and 6, so ordered both. I would say it runs just a bit large since the 4 was plenty big enough. I was nervous about the fit since I am on the thinner side but have a 32DDD chest, but this dress was perfect. Used for engagement pics!
EMW
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 14, 2011

Overall fit: Large
I wore this to a friend's engagement party. It fits great - pretty snug, but extrememely flattering because the material is thick and doesn't show every lump and bump. The material is less dressy than I thought, so you can dress it up with accessories, but it could also work for a business cocktail party. I usually wear a size 4, but wore the size 2, so I would go a size down. I have a small bust, but the neck showed them off and almost gave me a little cleavage!
Jaclyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Aug 15, 2011

Overall fit: Large
It runs a little big. I'm usually a size 4 so I got a size 4 and 6. THey fit but kinda big. I called up RTR and they send a size 2 the next day. I love this dress its conservative and sexy at the same time. I wore it to a wedding and paired it with a silver belt and silver shoes to make it more dressed up. I would rent this again.
Kerry
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
May 16, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Loved it! This dress fits great and it looks awesome on...highly recommend!!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×