Ports 1961

Perfect Parisian Sheath

$61 to buy
$695 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Exclusive to Rent the Runway! Make an elegant entrance in this Ports 1961 dress to impress style.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Fitted - thick jersey fabric is fitted throughout and cinches in waist
HIPS: Fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Product Details

Navy wool jersey. Sweetheart neckline with twist detail. Cap sleeves. Front pockets. Hidden back zip. Model's height is 5'10".

Share
94 reviews
Fit
Large
(20)
True to Size
(69)
Small
(2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
December 8, 2011
Conservative Nice Dress

I rented this dress for a holiday party where I needed something conservative. This dress was perfect! It fit well without being too tight but still showed my figure. Great choice.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
December 20, 2011
This dress is a must!

Absolutely love this dress, it was such a shame to send it back! Fits true to size and is very flattering.

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
March 12, 2012
Perfect!

Perfect for a wedding - great length and the fit was great. The fabric is slightly stretchy which makes the dress really comfortable. The dress also has pockets.

MelanieMarch 12, 2012
As a pear shaped woman, was this too clingy in the hip area? I am thinking about renting this dress and have a similar body type to yours.
RTRMarch 12, 2012
Hi Melanie, this dress is fitted through the hips so we recommend sizing up for your back up size. Also, the dress is made of a wool jersey so is more appropriate for an inside or fall event.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
April 20, 2012
Sophisticated w/ cleavage

I wore this dress for a charity event that was for work. It called for business attire. This dress was almost perfect. Beautiful, flexible, and comfortable. The 10 fit me very well, if not a bit of bunching because the zipper was long (i have this issue often though, and its not really noticable, its just that the shoulders can creep up on me if im not careful because i am short and short waisted). If you are busty, be careful. I was able to get away with it but I wear a 32F/34D bra - the girls were definitely apparent. It was okay though. I would have preferred to be a bit more covered, and double sided tape would have helped me to secure the dress a bit better (i just adjusted it manually and it was ok). I recieved LOTS of compliments on how i looked. People were admiring it! I wore nude pumps, pearl earrings and a pearl/gold necklace. Worked well. Really love the dress. Super comfortable with a sexy yet sophisticated flair.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 52
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 124lbs
August 16, 2012
Classic Look

Adorable retro look. Great neckline if you have a generous chest, and curves. It was a great fit. Fabric was crepe. Not a nightclub dress. It's demure.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
August 24, 2012
Beautiful dress

If you want to feel beautiful and classy for an evening, this is the dress. I wore it to my 10 year high school reunion and everyone thought it was perfect.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
August 25, 2012
Didn't get the dress in time

I was so excited to wear this dress for a big conference. Unfortunately, it was delivered to the wrong house so I never even got to see it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36DDD/E
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 190lbs
September 17, 2012
Comfy but not frumpy.

I enjoyed this dress during a time i didn't feel very fit but was required to wear a formal dress. It was just long enough, just stretchy enough, and just lovely enough to make all my curves look gorgeous! I didn't have to keep pulling it up, down, or all around. the dress sat so well and I really like the dress. This dress served it's purpose as a "little black dress" but I didn't feel this would be a dress you would turn heads in. While it is beautiful, it's simply simple.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 127lbs
September 19, 2012
very flattering dress, great for after hours business cocktail party

The dress fit perfectly and i received many compliments

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
October 5, 2012
classic but modern (pockets were great!)

fit extremely well, not too short, classic look -- i loved it!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
October 17, 2012
sexy yet classy

I felt this ran true to size. I also ordered a size down and almost wore it but was glad I didn't by the time I was walking through the venue to get to dinner. The dress is form fitting (with enough stretch for comfort) but when walking it did ride up a little bit.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134lbs
November 15, 2012
This dress is AMAZING!! Its comfortable, but oh so subtly sexy!

The dress fit true to size, though you will need a demi cup bra or else it will show. I am a little hippier with a smaller waist and this dress was perfect for it: Slim and fitted at the waist, but forgiving along the hips and thighs. Absolutely would wear this again!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
November 26, 2012
cute and flattering

I wore this to a friends wedding in the spring. It was comfortable, functional and classy. The material is a little thicker, so make sure you are not wearing it during warmer weather. Lots of compliments. I paired it will nude heels and the kate spade emerald clutch for a pop of color. I will say, if you've got a booty, it will definitely make it more "round", but still cute nonetheless.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133lbs
March 31, 2013
Pretty Navy Color, Kind of Boxy Fit

I love navy, and I rented this in a 6 and an 8, but neither sized worked. I ended up returning both for fit. Both dresses were tight in the chest. The sort of straight cut and wide shoulder made me look boxy which is funny because I am pretty curvy. On a side note, the dresses all had a strong chemical smell which I don't remember from previous rentals. It seems either the drycleaning or storage conditions have changed. The mothball ball type scent was really offputting. I was really glad to have a back up of my own to wear.

Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
May 10, 2013
This dress was the perfect mix of professional and sexy! So many compliments!

I wore this dress for a dressy cocktail/black tie dinner for work. I was a little wary because of the material (it's jersey) but with the right accessories it was perfect! I'm probably somewhere between a 10-12 but with my larger chest I usually have to go for the 12. The cut of the dress is really nice and I didn't feel like I was showing too much cleavage at all. AND it has pockets! It was a perfect dress that because of the simplicity of it, you can do so much! I would love to have this is my closet!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
June 2, 2013
Great dress for work party

I wore this dress for a formal work dinner party. It was the perfect length and was very comfortable all night.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
June 9, 2013
Best for a cocktail party

Love the cut, the pockets and cute cap sleeves. Excellent fit, wish I could have kept this one! Perfect go to black dress. Its a nice thick ponte fabric, I wore it in the winter and it kept me warm!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
July 29, 2013
Fit like a glove!

Love the pockets. Got tons of compliments. Highly recommend!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
August 20, 2013
Very flattering dress. Comfortable, easy to walk in, lovely.

The fit is true to size. I'm 5'11" and wore it for a red carpet event where I was part of the staff and needed to be running here and there and didn't feel it was too short. It was very flattering - definitely cocktail party suitable, but not so dressy that you feel like the dress is wearing you.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
August 22, 2013
Pretty dress

I liked the dress - especially the pockets! I enjoyed the stretchier fabric (so comfortable!) and the neckline (so flattering), but ended up going with a dress that had some more detail to it. If you have great accessories, check this dress out to jazz it up!

Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
October 22, 2013
I wish the dress was in better condition so I could of worn it.

I ordered a 0 and a 2. The 0 fit the best however the quality of the fabric was not worthy to wear to the wedding. There were snags in the fabric and it was also pilling in parts of the dress. This was my first rent the runway and I don't think I'll do this again.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
November 21, 2013
Tons of compliments from strangers all night!

This dress was super comfortable! I was a little worried about the length, but it ended up being perfect. The criss cross detail on the front was beautiful and the pockets were definitely a plus. No complaints!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
March 18, 2014
I wore this dress to a work gala.

This dress is wonderful. The cut of the neckline is very flattering. I am a 34b and I never felt like anything was going to pop out. I did not wear a special bra . I usually wear a size 4 dress and that is what I wore. I recommend getting your usual size plus one size smaller since the dress is very stretchy. The only surprise for me was that the dress was quite a bit shorter than I expected. I am 5.5 and the dress fell about 5 or six inches above my knee. A little short for work but oh well..

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
March 26, 2014
A little too boring....

Rented this for a wedding but did not end up wearing it.....dress is much cuter on the model than in person. Fit is fairly true to size. Need some jewelry to jazz it up.

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
April 7, 2014
I did not wear it to the event

the dress was bunchy in the back and tighter at the bottom than I expected.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
April 15, 2014
Comfortable and simple

This dress was very comfortable to wear all day. It is a thick Jersey type material and the weight kept it from feeling clingy. The color is really a nice navy blue, and it has pockets. My only issue is that it was fairly short, so I sized up to add some length. The extra length helped with sitting etc waiting for the wedding to begin etc.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124lbs
June 15, 2014
Very comfortable!

Very comfortable but a little warm because of the thickness of the material. Probably best for fall/winter events. Overall fit was good, but a little big up top. Overall, great first RTR experience!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Body type: Hourglass
June 23, 2014
Classic and comfortable

This dress has a classic, flattering design. The fit is snug, but the stretchy fabric and dark color are very forgiving. It even has pockets in case you want to go sans purse. I wore it to my brother-in-law's rehearsal dinner and got lots of compliments.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 54
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 113lbs
September 22, 2014
Beautiful Dress!

The dress was beautiful, and I was in the SEEN Column of our newspaper. Elegant and easy to wear.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 139lbs
October 19, 2014
This dress was amazing and elegantly simple!

I am in love with this dress! I wish I owned it. I wore the 4 and it is true to size, just slightly loose in the bust, I didn't even try on the 2 because it felt great everywhere else. The pockets were so fun and the material was incredibly comfortable. So flattering! The dress was black but looked navy in some lighting so I wouldn't wear a black shoe with it. Loved it and would recommend to anyone looking for a black dress to wear that is hassle free

View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 48
Body type: Petite
October 21, 2014
Fun comfortable dress

Dress was extremely comfortable, love the pockets. Fun dress and perfect for any event.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
October 26, 2014
Sweet, simple dress

A nice, flattering dress (though do wear your Spanx). It needs some excellent accessories to really shine. I had no riding up problems.

Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
November 16, 2014
Great dress, very easy to wear. I ordered the 0 and the 2, and went with the 0.

It is a very dark navy, almost black.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
December 16, 2014
As a very pear pear, this was too tight on my bottom half and too big on top

This happens a lot-- with a 27" waist and a 43" bottom... Not a lot works! This dress is no exception, which was too bad because it was a very pretty dress.

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
December 22, 2014
Overall, great dress & very comfortable!

extremely comfortable & forgiving fabric. Reserved size 6 & 8. Both fit, but 8 felt a bit roomier in the hips (which I prefer). However, felt the top / neckline was a bit low.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
February 28, 2014
Valentine's Day Date

I wore this out for a night out in the city. PROS: Incredibly comfortable fit and true to size. Loved the material and the way it looked - gorgeous and classic. Also appreciated the pockets (which lie flat against the dress instead of pouffing up ). CONS: None - would definitely rent this dress again!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 185lbs
February 26, 2015
Jazz set in Vegas - perfect dress for the occasion!

I loved that this dress had pockets! Had to be careful with how bulky the items were though - pocketed items fall/rest around the stomach area. The material was lighter than expected, but the dress fit well and was perfect for a quick convention jazz set.

View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Body type: Athletic
May 16, 2011

Loved it! This dress fits great and it looks awesome on...highly recommend!!

Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Body type: Pear
August 23, 2010

This dress is very figure-flattering for curvy body types. I am 5'4" and a size 8 and the dress definitely made me look thinner.

PashminaAugust 23, 2010
Thanks! What other dresses on RTR did you wear and give a 5 star? Wish I could see what else you've reviewed!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 200lbs
September 28, 2015
Loved it!

Loved the color, and loved the fit!

See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×