Pink Tartan

Hex in the City Dress

$108 to buy
$425 retail
Stylist Notes

Get geometric with your cocktail wear in this vintage-inspired style by Pink Tartan. The eye-catching print will turn heads at the cocktail event! Add sweet shine with kate spade new york accessories’ Crystal Petals Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: XS - XL.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black and white stretch knit (86% viscose, 13% nylon, 1% spandex). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Full skirt. Exposed back zipper. 37” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
117 reviews
Fit
Large
(15)
True to Size
(75)
Small
(8)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 18, 2014
Cute, fun and sassy

I loved this dress - wore it out to a nice dinner on a winter night. The fabric was comfy and form fitting, a little heavy to touch but did not feel heavy when I was wearing it. The skirt flares at just the right angle and it is so cute. I originally ordered it for a holiday party but had another dress that worked better. I could easily fit into the S and M sizes - the M was a little more roomy but the small was more fitting… except that the back had a small pucker right under the zipper. This was not an issue with the M. I would love to order this dress again - I was comfortable in it and received many compliments about how cute it was.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 21, 2014
A WOW dress!

Comfortable and fun! Tons of compliments. It has a heavy feel to it (in a good way). It is so flattering. Loved it. I will definitely rent this one again. Works well with boots for more casual or heels to dress it up. I wore it to a holiday party and a wedding.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
January 26, 2014
PERFECT party dress!

I was right between sizes S and M so I went for the M in favor of comfort. This dress is comfortable, adorable and flattering - though I'm pretty sure so it seemed much longer on me than on the model. The fabric is forgiving and the colorblocking on the sides is so optimal! I would rent this dress again in a heartbeat... if I was the kind of girl who double rented ;) Highly recommend!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
February 12, 2014
Fun fitted dress!

Perfect dress for a multitude of occasions - from a baby shower to date night to a party!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 54
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
March 4, 2014
Didn't wear it

Cute dress, super comfy. I wear a 12/14 and the large fit nicely. I opted to go with my other choice. It is a little cheerleader-ish, but I would rock it with black tights and booties. Might rent again in the future.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 180lbs
March 17, 2014
Didn't work for a bridal luncheon

This dress is a lot heavier in weight than it appears. I really liked it, but it wasn't flattering on my apple shape. It would look much better on someone who is pear shaped. I didn't end up wearing it but I liked that it was a good winter weight for a dress (though it ended up being really cold for something sleeveless).

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 17, 2014
Decent dress, but not my favorite

The reason I didn't get to wear the dress is due to shipping issues with UPS near Christmas, but I would most likely have worn it if it came on time. It fits true to size, and was extremely heavy - but in a good way. Would have kept me warm, and was still stretchy enough to be comfortable. Would've looked nice with red accessories!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
March 19, 2014
The fun print turned a simple black dress into a sophisticated look.

The overall fit was fine. I'm a little on the short side and the dress went past my knees but otherwise I enjoyed wearing this dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Age: 18
March 25, 2014
It was so much fun to wear I got lots of compliments

It weighed a lot but other than that it was good

Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
April 26, 2014
Still love RTR even though this dress was a miss.

While this dress was comfortable, I didn't love it. Other reviews were spot on in that the material is heavy -- it's actually sweater-ish heavy and would be a much better option in winter. All in all, not that flattering and not my favorite. I won't be renting it again.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155lbs
April 27, 2014
Perfect for a dinner party

I rented this dress for a dinner party I Hosted. This dress was a heavy-weight fabric. Flowed easily as I brought dishes out to the table. Great for chatting, sitting, and standing for hours.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Body type: Full Bust
May 1, 2014
Great work event dress

The material has a good weight to it but the dress does run small. Overall very flattering.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 62
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 162lbs
May 16, 2014
Heavy sweater-like dress

This dress is too heavy for a summer event, and not dressy enough for an evening wedding. I think it might be great for a winter morning wedding, or a charity lunch or business event, where you want to look professional, but not too embellished. It looked good with a black suit jacket I had in the closet. It needs spanx or other smoother, because the knit shows every bump.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
June 13, 2014
Nice fabric, bad fit.

This was backup dress, and didn't work out either.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 179lbs
July 4, 2014
Great dress and memorable ceremony.

Really liked this dress. It was very comfortable and stylish. Would definitely rent again. Received a ton of compliments.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
July 24, 2014
Mod Style

I got many compliments. Both the L and XL fit me, stretchy, thick. Strange arm holes showed my bra straps. Fashion tape wouldn't even solve the problem. I was constantly tucking bra straps in all night. Fun to sway/dance in.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34DDD/E
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
August 26, 2014
Shipment rerouted

Never received the package due to severe storms on east coast. RTR customer service was terrific. They rerouted the package and credited my account.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 58
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150lbs
August 10, 2014
This was a fun dress to wear to my daughter's college graduation!

I'm thick through the waist and many dresses that are fitted in the waist just don't fit me well. This dress is stretchy and gave just enough to smooth over the bumpy bits. The material of the dress is very heavy, but I wasn't hot wearing this dress even though it was 90 degrees with high humidity. Fun dress that I would rent again.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
October 12, 2014
Received many compliments.

Dress was of a heavier weight but doesn't add volume. Fabric is stretchy and works well on a larger frame too.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 54
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185lbs
October 22, 2014
dress is lovely - just didn't fit right

I love this dress - but ended up not wearing. Just a bit too tight in the bust area. I rented XL as back up....but it was bit to big. I have a dress by the same brand in a Large and it fits fine - but slightly different fabric and cut. Very heavy knit which makes it very flattering and hang nicely.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 22, 2014
Outside my box but fun for a night

It is a very thick and heavy dress. I'm usually a small but the extra small fit better threw torso and the length was perfect.

Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 170lbs
October 30, 2014
This dress is so comfortable

This dress is a good choice for a casual event and you can style it in different ways I was contemplating tights and boots but it was really warm so I just did flats

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
November 21, 2014
Really wanted...didn't get :(

I originally ordered this dress for an important date, but unfortunately I never received it. Apparently the dress was damaged beyond repair, and the automated email to notify me of the change didn't go out. So when I didn't pick a new dress, a RTR stylist picked two new backup styles for me to try...which I only knew about once they showed up in the mail! This story has a happy ending though - RTR's Customer Service Dept was awesome. This team gets that no matter the occasion, what you're wearing is just as important to them as it is to you. I was helped immediately (despite their phones being down at the time), got an explanation on the miscommunication, and luckily one of the backup styles was a perfect fit. Thanks RTR! Hopefully I'll get to try this style in the future :)

Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 1, 2014
Pretty, but not for me

Great dress but not for my body type, I have broad shoulders and this dress made me look like a scare.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
December 22, 2014
Cute, but heavy

The dress material was heavier than I thought it would be and felt a little unflattering in places. I ordered it as a backup dress, and ended up wearing my first choice.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 6, 2015
Dress had an odd fit

In the photo of the model, it appears as though the black line sits at her waist. That's not how the dress actually fits. I have a long torso, but the line was below my belly button and therefore unflattering. If you look closely at the photos of other people wearing the dress, you'll see a fold under the ribcage in some. You'll also see a lot of people covering up with a cardigan. The pattern is great, and the fabric is unique, but I do not recommend this dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
March 17, 2015
I did not wear this dress--the pattern was cool but the fit was awkward

I have a long torso but this did NOT hit at my natural waist--it hit under it. That would have been fine but that means the waist is still going in AFTER my most narrow point and flares out at my butt. WEIRD. The pattern is hot and the fabric is stretchy so if it had hit me where it had hit the model I would have been happy.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 3, 2015
Conservative - great for work.

I wore this dress to a work conference with a black blazer. It wasn't super flattering or anything I would buy, but I got it though unlimited so why not wear it??? It was cute enough, and I actually got a couple complements, but nothing spectacular. I recommend going a size down in this. I'm usually a small, sometimes a medium. I ordered the small and it fit, but looked a bit frumpy. If I were to order again I wojkd go with the xs. This dress has lots of stretch. It is LONG. Much longer than it looks on the model. I am 5,8" and it went down to my knees.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
April 3, 2015
Super Comfortable!

This dress's fabric is interesting, knit. I would wear with tummy control, and make sure to stand up really straight to have it look flattering. I am long through the torso, and I don't think shorter women will find it fits correctly. The length was right above knee length. I would definitely rent this again. I ended up wearing this to the preview opening of a rooftop terrace bar, it was a little cool out so I wore a black cardigan and black flats. It was perfect. I dressed it down a bit to be more casual, but could just have easily been worn with black heels and been dressier.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
April 6, 2015
The bodice is absurdly long. I am short-waisted, but this was ridiculous.

This would probably fit a 6' lady perfectly.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
April 13, 2015
NYC Theater Date

I loved the cut and style of this dress. The material was perfect for a spring evening and looked great paired with a leather jacket. The waist was a bot longer than expected but it was a great dress for someone with a pear shape like me as it was perfect for those with bigger hips.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 158lbs
October 17, 2013
I rented this but didn't end up wearing it. Cute dress, though

It's cute, but I am petite in height, and it was a bit long. The waistline hit me in the wrong spot. I pulled the dress up by the shoulders where there was a lot of extra material and it looked just right after that, hah! Not for the shorties :)

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
May 6, 2015
Great dress that transitions from work to evening!

The stretchy but thick quality material made it fit like a glove without being too snug. I also really liked the pattern and cut of the dress. It was professional enough for my work environment but easily transitioned to a fun evening outfit for my night out at an art gallery event.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XL
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Everyday
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
May 8, 2015
nice dress, couldn't wear it

clingy dress, for an XL runs like a L

Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
July 2, 2015
Work to evening perfect!

Dress is SO comfortable and transitions beautifully from day to evening. The knit material is heavy, but it allows for the dress to fall nicely and in a flattering manner. The only thing I would say is that my eyes viewed the photo and the pattern of the dress on the website as having a bit of beige in it for some reason; it is 100% black and white. I would definitely rent this dress again for the simple chic and comfort.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
August 14, 2015
Comfortable & Flattering!

I rented this dress for a work conference, so I wore it with black pumps and a pink cardigan. The material was nice and thick with plenty of stretch, so it's perfect if you will be sitting a lot. I wore the Small because the dress has a dropped waist and I have a shorter torso. The length was still great (an inch or two above the knee). The Medium just had too much fabric and sat too low on my hips.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 58
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
August 18, 2015
good, but not great

II said this runs true to size, but the waist hit me too low, so a had some extra fabric lapping over on waist. My husband said it still looked good. Dress is heavy. I like the print but it wasn't a favorite of mine.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
August 27, 2015
Day to Night perfection!

I wore this dress to work then to a work social after. The medium was actually a little big and because of the stretch in the fabric I could have easily worn the small. The dress is very forgiving due to the stretch and weight of the fabric. Note my bra is showing in the picture; it was a bit annoying because I had on a full coverage bra.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
September 15, 2015
Fun dress saved me from major hassle

Dress is flirty and fun. A bit heavy material but nothing too hot. This dress is great for hippy women like myself as the A line style accentuates your curves. My husband wanted me to buy dress. Great rental.

Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
October 6, 2015
I wore this dress to a "young professionals" event so I wanted some fun but appropriate.

I ordered an XL and L , but received an XL and M. The XL was too big in the chest/armpit area, but luckily the M worked! It was a nice length dress and the heavier fabric definitely makes it more appropriate for fall/winter.

View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×