Hex in the City Dress

$70 rental
$425 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Get geometric with your cocktail wear in this vintage-inspired style by Pink Tartan. The eye-catching print will turn heads at the cocktail event! Add sweet shine with kate spade new york accessories’ Crystal Petals Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: XS - XL.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: XS - XL.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black and white stretch knit (86% viscose, 13% nylon, 1% spandex). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Full skirt. Exposed back zipper. 37” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
106 reviews
Fit
Large
(15)
True to Size
(70)
Small
(8)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
December 22, 2014
Cute, but heavy
The dress material was heavier than I thought it would be and felt a little unflattering in places. I ordered it as a backup dress, and ended up wearing my first choice.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 1, 2014
Pretty, but not for me
Great dress but not for my body type, I have broad shoulders and this dress made me look like a scare.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
November 21, 2014
Really wanted...didn't get :(
I originally ordered this dress for an important date, but unfortunately I never received it. Apparently the dress was damaged beyond repair, and the automated email to notify me of the change didn't go out. So when I didn't pick a new dress, a RTR stylist picked two new backup styles for me to try...which I only knew about once they showed up in the mail! This story has a happy ending though - RTR's Customer Service Dept was awesome. This team gets that no matter the occasion, what you're wearing is just as important to them as it is to you. I was helped immediately (despite their phones being down at the time), got an explanation on the miscommunication, and luckily one of the backup styles was a perfect fit. Thanks RTR! Hopefully I'll get to try this style in the future :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
November 3, 2014
Just OK
This dress is fun for a more casual event, It's THICK material. I'm sorry I didn't get a photo, I wore a wide black belt which helped break up the pattern a bit. It was a bit longer than I would have thought since I'm 5'8". I didn't mind it but if you were shorter it'd probably go to your knees. It's acute fun flirty dress, not very formal in my opinion.
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 170lbs
October 30, 2014
This dress is so comfortable
This dress is a good choice for a casual event and you can style it in different ways I was contemplating tights and boots but it was really warm so I just did flats
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Body type: Hourglass
October 22, 2014
Outside my box but fun for a night
It is a very thick and heavy dress. I'm usually a small but the extra small fit better threw torso and the length was perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 52
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185lbs
October 22, 2014
dress is lovely - just didn't fit right
I love this dress - but ended up not wearing. Just a bit too tight in the bust area. I rented XL as back up....but it was bit to big. I have a dress by the same brand in a Large and it fits fine - but slightly different fabric and cut. Very heavy knit which makes it very flattering and hang nicely.
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
October 21, 2014
Beautiful! Comfortable! Flattering!
The dress was made of a beautiful heavy knit material that made attending a fall rehearsal dinner perfect! Great quality. Flattering on my curvy body type.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
October 12, 2014
Received many compliments.
Dress was of a heavier weight but doesn't add volume. Fabric is stretchy and works well on a larger frame too.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 26, 2014
Shipment rerouted
Never received the package due to severe storms on east coast. RTR customer service was terrific. They rerouted the package and credited my account.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 56
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150lbs
August 10, 2014
This was a fun dress to wear to my daughter's college graduation!
I'm thick through the waist and many dresses that are fitted in the waist just don't fit me well. This dress is stretchy and gave just enough to smooth over the bumpy bits. The material of the dress is very heavy, but I wasn't hot wearing this dress even though it was 90 degrees with high humidity. Fun dress that I would rent again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
July 24, 2014
Mod Style
I got many compliments. Both the L and XL fit me, stretchy, thick. Strange arm holes showed my bra straps. Fashion tape wouldn't even solve the problem. I was constantly tucking bra straps in all night. Fun to sway/dance in.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 179lbs
July 4, 2014
Great dress and memorable ceremony.
Really liked this dress. It was very comfortable and stylish. Would definitely rent again. Received a ton of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
June 17, 2014
This was a backup dress
I have a short torso and this hung longer than I expected and the material itself is also heavy. I have a very large bust and was surprised that that the XL was too big.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
June 13, 2014
Nice fabric, bad fit.
This was backup dress, and didn't work out either.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 60
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 162lbs
May 16, 2014
Heavy sweater-like dress
This dress is too heavy for a summer event, and not dressy enough for an evening wedding. I think it might be great for a winter morning wedding, or a charity lunch or business event, where you want to look professional, but not too embellished. It looked good with a black suit jacket I had in the closet. It needs spanx or other smoother, because the knit shows every bump.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Body type: Full Bust
May 1, 2014
Great work event dress
The material has a good weight to it but the dress does run small. Overall very flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155lbs
April 27, 2014
Perfect for a dinner party
I rented this dress for a dinner party I Hosted. This dress was a heavy-weight fabric. Flowed easily as I brought dishes out to the table. Great for chatting, sitting, and standing for hours.
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
April 26, 2014
Still love RTR even though this dress was a miss.
While this dress was comfortable, I didn't love it. Other reviews were spot on in that the material is heavy -- it's actually sweater-ish heavy and would be a much better option in winter. All in all, not that flattering and not my favorite. I won't be renting it again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
April 18, 2014
I wore it for my engagement party
This is a beautiful, comfortable dress that's perfect for a Fall or Winter event. The fabric is a little thicker, which is great for cold weather, but it doesn't necessarily feel heavy when you wear it. It also has great versatility - I was able to dress it up for my event, but would be very comfortable wearing this to a more casual event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Age: 17
March 25, 2014
It was so much fun to wear I got lots of compliments
It weighed a lot but other than that it was good
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
March 19, 2014
The fun print turned a simple black dress into a sophisticated look.
The overall fit was fine. I'm a little on the short side and the dress went past my knees but otherwise I enjoyed wearing this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 17, 2014
Decent dress, but not my favorite
The reason I didn't get to wear the dress is due to shipping issues with UPS near Christmas, but I would most likely have worn it if it came on time. It fits true to size, and was extremely heavy - but in a good way. Would have kept me warm, and was still stretchy enough to be comfortable. Would've looked nice with red accessories!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 180lbs
March 17, 2014
Didn't work for a bridal luncheon
This dress is a lot heavier in weight than it appears. I really liked it, but it wasn't flattering on my apple shape. It would look much better on someone who is pear shaped. I didn't end up wearing it but I liked that it was a good winter weight for a dress (though it ended up being really cold for something sleeveless).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
March 4, 2014
Didn't wear it
Cute dress, super comfy. I wear a 12/14 and the large fit nicely. I opted to go with my other choice. It is a little cheerleader-ish, but I would rock it with black tights and booties. Might rent again in the future.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
February 24, 2014
Adorable dress!
This is a very comfortable dress. I could wear either a medium or large, I just wore the large because the arm holes were larger. If I had a chance , I would buy it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
February 12, 2014
Fun fitted dress!
Perfect dress for a multitude of occasions - from a baby shower to date night to a party!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
January 26, 2014
PERFECT party dress!
I was right between sizes S and M so I went for the M in favor of comfort. This dress is comfortable, adorable and flattering - though I'm pretty sure so it seemed much longer on me than on the model. The fabric is forgiving and the colorblocking on the sides is so optimal! I would rent this dress again in a heartbeat... if I was the kind of girl who double rented ;) Highly recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
January 24, 2014
Absolutely darling!
It's so true ladies, this is a heavy dress. It was perfect for a cold January night with black tights and booties. This classic dress fit me like a glove! Highly recommend!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
January 22, 2014
Loved the dress. Nice heavy fabric. Wore it for a NYE dinner and everyone loved it.
Fit true to size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 129lbs
January 21, 2014
I loved how unique this dress was.
This dress fit true to size. It stretches and is not too short or too long.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 21, 2014
A WOW dress!
Comfortable and fun! Tons of compliments. It has a heavy feel to it (in a good way). It is so flattering. Loved it. I will definitely rent this one again. Works well with boots for more casual or heels to dress it up. I wore it to a holiday party and a wedding.
Size worn:
XL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 210lbs
January 20, 2014
I felt sexy!
I was very worried that it would be too short and that the pattern wouldn't flatter and I was wrong on both accounts. The material is heavy to withstand winters in Florida, fit PERFECTLY, and was not too short for my taste. I liked that the pattern accentuated my shape rather than point out its flaws. <3
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 18, 2014
Cute, fun and sassy
I loved this dress - wore it out to a nice dinner on a winter night. The fabric was comfy and form fitting, a little heavy to touch but did not feel heavy when I was wearing it. The skirt flares at just the right angle and it is so cute. I originally ordered it for a holiday party but had another dress that worked better. I could easily fit into the S and M sizes - the M was a little more roomy but the small was more fitting… except that the back had a small pucker right under the zipper. This was not an issue with the M. I would love to order this dress again - I was comfortable in it and received many compliments about how cute it was.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
January 17, 2014
Just Not For Me
This dress was all kinds of wrong on me. It's a lovely, well-made dress - but for someone my height and shape it was completely unflattering. The material is heavy, but unforgiving and highlighted all of my flaws. For the first time ever, I didn't select a backup dress, so I'll be shopping my own closet for my event! If you are tall and thin, you could totally rock this unique dress. I wish I could have!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 14, 2014
Comfortable dress for work event
I loved the fabric of this dress. It's think, but comfortable. Great for a winter event. Because I wore this to a work event, I wore a black cardigan and belt with it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
January 9, 2014
A fabulous dress for colder weather.
It's made of a thick, tightly woven material so it was perfect for a New Years Eve in the northeast. I wore it with black tights and booties. I received a ton of compliments & one friend even thought it was made for me. Loved it! I usually wear a xs but the small fit better. Thanks RTR
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
January 8, 2014
Very comfortable dress, but not as flattering as I had hoped.
I wore this dress to church on New Years Day, and can't say that it was all that great. As the other reviews state, the dress is heavy and perfect for a fall/winter event. I felt that the fit was odd in a few areas. For example, the chest puckered out near the boob/shoulder and the waistline fell in an odd location, highlighting my post-baby belly. It was a VERY comfortable dress, which was imperative when carrying around an 8 month old.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 68
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 108lbs
January 7, 2014
Ehhh
I love the quality of Pink Tartan dresses - however, I definitely did not like the fit of this dress. It was way too long-waisted for me, and I usually don't have that problem. I ordered it to wear to a birthday party, and could not. Fit was off for me, may be better for long waisted women
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 66
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
January 2, 2014
didnt wear it
dress is very heavy
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×