Pink Tartan

Hex in the City Dress

$70 rental
$425 retail
Stylist Notes

Get geometric with your cocktail wear in this vintage-inspired style by Pink Tartan. The eye-catching print will turn heads at the cocktail event! Add sweet shine with kate spade new york accessories’ Crystal Petals Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: XS - XL.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black and white stretch knit (86% viscose, 13% nylon, 1% spandex). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Full skirt. Exposed back zipper. 37” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
112 reviews
Fit
Large
(15)
True to Size
(74)
Small
(8)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 53
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185lbs
October 22, 2014
dress is lovely - just didn't fit right
I love this dress - but ended up not wearing. Just a bit too tight in the bust area. I rented XL as back up....but it was bit to big. I have a dress by the same brand in a Large and it fits fine - but slightly different fabric and cut. Very heavy knit which makes it very flattering and hang nicely.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 22, 2014
Outside my box but fun for a night
It is a very thick and heavy dress. I'm usually a small but the extra small fit better threw torso and the length was perfect.
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 170lbs
October 30, 2014
This dress is so comfortable
This dress is a good choice for a casual event and you can style it in different ways I was contemplating tights and boots but it was really warm so I just did flats
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
November 21, 2014
Really wanted...didn't get :(
I originally ordered this dress for an important date, but unfortunately I never received it. Apparently the dress was damaged beyond repair, and the automated email to notify me of the change didn't go out. So when I didn't pick a new dress, a RTR stylist picked two new backup styles for me to try...which I only knew about once they showed up in the mail! This story has a happy ending though - RTR's Customer Service Dept was awesome. This team gets that no matter the occasion, what you're wearing is just as important to them as it is to you. I was helped immediately (despite their phones being down at the time), got an explanation on the miscommunication, and luckily one of the backup styles was a perfect fit. Thanks RTR! Hopefully I'll get to try this style in the future :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 1, 2014
Pretty, but not for me
Great dress but not for my body type, I have broad shoulders and this dress made me look like a scare.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
December 22, 2014
Cute, but heavy
The dress material was heavier than I thought it would be and felt a little unflattering in places. I ordered it as a backup dress, and ended up wearing my first choice.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 6, 2015
Dress had an odd fit
In the photo of the model, it appears as though the black line sits at her waist. That's not how the dress actually fits. I have a long torso, but the line was below my belly button and therefore unflattering. If you look closely at the photos of other people wearing the dress, you'll see a fold under the ribcage in some. You'll also see a lot of people covering up with a cardigan. The pattern is great, and the fabric is unique, but I do not recommend this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
March 17, 2015
I did not wear this dress--the pattern was cool but the fit was awkward
I have a long torso but this did NOT hit at my natural waist--it hit under it. That would have been fine but that means the waist is still going in AFTER my most narrow point and flares out at my butt. WEIRD. The pattern is hot and the fabric is stretchy so if it had hit me where it had hit the model I would have been happy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 3, 2015
Conservative - great for work.
I wore this dress to a work conference with a black blazer. It wasn't super flattering or anything I would buy, but I got it though unlimited so why not wear it??? It was cute enough, and I actually got a couple complements, but nothing spectacular. I recommend going a size down in this. I'm usually a small, sometimes a medium. I ordered the small and it fit, but looked a bit frumpy. If I were to order again I wojkd go with the xs. This dress has lots of stretch. It is LONG. Much longer than it looks on the model. I am 5,8" and it went down to my knees.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
April 3, 2015
Super Comfortable!
This dress's fabric is interesting, knit. I would wear with tummy control, and make sure to stand up really straight to have it look flattering. I am long through the torso, and I don't think shorter women will find it fits correctly. The length was right above knee length. I would definitely rent this again. I ended up wearing this to the preview opening of a rooftop terrace bar, it was a little cool out so I wore a black cardigan and black flats. It was perfect. I dressed it down a bit to be more casual, but could just have easily been worn with black heels and been dressier.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
April 6, 2015
The bodice is absurdly long. I am short-waisted, but this was ridiculous.
This would probably fit a 6' lady perfectly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
April 13, 2015
NYC Theater Date
I loved the cut and style of this dress. The material was perfect for a spring evening and looked great paired with a leather jacket. The waist was a bot longer than expected but it was a great dress for someone with a pear shape like me as it was perfect for those with bigger hips.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 158lbs
October 17, 2013
I rented this but didn't end up wearing it. Cute dress, though
It's cute, but I am petite in height, and it was a bit long. The waistline hit me in the wrong spot. I pulled the dress up by the shoulders where there was a lot of extra material and it looked just right after that, hah! Not for the shorties :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
May 6, 2015
Great dress that transitions from work to evening!
The stretchy but thick quality material made it fit like a glove without being too snug. I also really liked the pattern and cut of the dress. It was professional enough for my work environment but easily transitioned to a fun evening outfit for my night out at an art gallery event.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XL
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Everyday
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
May 8, 2015
nice dress, couldn't wear it
clingy dress, for an XL runs like a L
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
July 2, 2015
Work to evening perfect!
Dress is SO comfortable and transitions beautifully from day to evening. The knit material is heavy, but it allows for the dress to fall nicely and in a flattering manner. The only thing I would say is that my eyes viewed the photo and the pattern of the dress on the website as having a bit of beige in it for some reason; it is 100% black and white. I would definitely rent this dress again for the simple chic and comfort.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
August 14, 2015
Comfortable & Flattering!
I rented this dress for a work conference, so I wore it with black pumps and a pink cardigan. The material was nice and thick with plenty of stretch, so it's perfect if you will be sitting a lot. I wore the Small because the dress has a dropped waist and I have a shorter torso. The length was still great (an inch or two above the knee). The Medium just had too much fabric and sat too low on my hips.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 57
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
August 18, 2015
good, but not great
II said this runs true to size, but the waist hit me too low, so a had some extra fabric lapping over on waist. My husband said it still looked good. Dress is heavy. I like the print but it wasn't a favorite of mine.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
August 27, 2015
Day to Night perfection!
I wore this dress to work then to a work social after. The medium was actually a little big and because of the stretch in the fabric I could have easily worn the small. The dress is very forgiving due to the stretch and weight of the fabric. Note my bra is showing in the picture; it was a bit annoying because I had on a full coverage bra.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Pear
September 15, 2015
Fun dress saved me from major hassle
Dress is flirty and fun. A bit heavy material but nothing too hot. This dress is great for hippy women like myself as the A line style accentuates your curves. My husband wanted me to buy dress. Great rental.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Age: 26
October 6, 2015
I wore this dress to a "young professionals" event so I wanted some fun but appropriate.
I ordered an XL and L , but received an XL and M. The XL was too big in the chest/armpit area, but luckily the M worked! It was a nice length dress and the heavier fabric definitely makes it more appropriate for fall/winter.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
October 30, 2015
Comfortable and good for fall
I wore this to a charity dinner and it was comfortable and fairly flattering. The waist is a little lower than I would like, but overall a good dress for fall or winter. This was actually not my first choice. My original dress didn't fit so this was the one overnighted to me.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
November 3, 2015
Perfect for a work function; slimming with an interesting design!
Comfortable stretch!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 210lbs
November 5, 2015
Stretchy Fabric and Fun Pattern
I wore this to a Gatsby themed bridal shower with tons of long pearls and a black cardigan. It worked pretty well. The dress was really comfortable and looked good, I do think breaking up the pattern with a cardigan is a good move if you have a large chest. I liked the pleated skirt, very fun!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
January 14, 2016
Great for luncheon. Conservative , yet trendy.
It runs large. The torso was long. Great quality material.
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Age: 36
January 14, 2016
I loved this dress it was so simple but so fun
It fit great i chose to go for the large b/c of the fit on my chest. but it was a great length and it was a good material..stretchy and comfy but not cheap feeling
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 50
Body type: Hourglass
January 30, 2016
Professional style.
The dress was so pretty and fit great! Very flattering. It's fitted through the top, and flares from the waist down, and being tall, the length was perfect and elegant. Easily would transition from professional daytime to business cocktails/dinner.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Weight: 180lbs
March 8, 2016
This dress was perfect for a night at the Lyric Opera in Chicago.
The fabric is nice and heavy; and due to that, it lays well and is very flattering. The bodice is long, so it's good for someone with a long torso; it kind of folded over at the waist for me, but it looked fine like that. I'm fairly tall and the length was perfect. If you have a large bust, it kind of pulls out and gaps at the armpits, but it didn't bother me. I would recommend this piece. I'll be wearing it to work and possibly to a benefit this weekend before I return it. So well made!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
March 13, 2016
I wore this dress to a morning event in flats and an evening event in heels - it looked beautiful!
Gorgeous dress, however I am only giving it 3 stars because you have to wear a jacket with it so your bra does not show around the armholes.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 46
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
April 28, 2016
Awesome and unique dress
I got this with my unlimited membership and held onto it, wore a couple times to work. It's very comfortable, lays nicely, and is very attractive. I received many compliments both at work and out and about. I had no problems with the dress covering my bra, and at work I wore with a black cardigan, but did not feel the need to "break up the pattern" as other have stated once out of the office. I'd love to keep it, but even at a discount, it's a pretty hefty price tag. I'll probably get one more work wear before I send it back. Love this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
January 8, 2014
Very comfortable dress, but not as flattering as I had hoped.
I wore this dress to church on New Years Day, and can't say that it was all that great. As the other reviews state, the dress is heavy and perfect for a fall/winter event. I felt that the fit was odd in a few areas. For example, the chest puckered out near the boob/shoulder and the waistline fell in an odd location, highlighting my post-baby belly. It was a VERY comfortable dress, which was imperative when carrying around an 8 month old.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 14, 2014
Comfortable dress for work event
I loved the fabric of this dress. It's think, but comfortable. Great for a winter event. Because I wore this to a work event, I wore a black cardigan and belt with it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 129lbs
January 21, 2014
I loved how unique this dress was.
This dress fit true to size. It stretches and is not too short or too long.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
August 26, 2013
PERFECTION
This dress is amazing. Accented by curves and was comfortable. Love it so much. A RTR representative chose it for me since my previous rental had to be returned, and I couldn't have been happier. Got tons of compliments. Thanks RTR!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 8, 2013
Fabulous dress
This is a great dress. The dress runs true to size. I received the S and M and went with the M. The waist is slightly dropped so the M didn't accentuate the hips quite as much as the S. The fabric is heavy, with some stretch and the flare skirt keeps its shape nicely. Lots of LBDs at the party I was at but this one stood out - received several compliments. This is a dress I wish I had in my closet.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
September 22, 2013
LOVE LOVE LOVE
Wore this to a casual event and it was perfect! Fit and length were just right and I got lots of complements all night! Heavy knit hangs well and but doesn't get stretched out.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
September 30, 2013
Not for me
The fabric of this dress is really, really heavy and I was not a fan. While the pattern and fit of the dress are nice, I couldn't get past the thick, weighty material and sent it back without wearing it. For sizing info, the he S fill me well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133lbs
October 3, 2013
This dress fit great!
I tried this dress on as part of my At Home Trial. The dress itself was great quality. The material is thicker than you think, but stretches and is very comfortable. The Medium fit me perfectly! I felt like a "gladiator" in this dress (with the large pleats in the skirt and the thicker material) but in the most fashionable way.
JenniferJanuary 26, 2014
Can this dress be worn during a winter day event? or is it better for night.
JillJanuary 28, 2014
I think you could easily add a cardigan or blazer for a day event. The dress by itself is probably more of a night time dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 150lbs
October 7, 2013
comfortable dress
lots of compliments for this dress
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142lbs
October 8, 2013
Fabulous material
Very nice fit and the fabric was incredibly forgiving! I wore this for my daughter's first birthday but it could be dressed up or down depending on the occasion. The fabric is heavy, so I recommend wearing the dress in a cooler environment. I was sent the wrong size, but thankfully it fit. It was already my back-up and the first dress didn't work for me. Overall- loved the entire process and I look forward to more rentals in the future.
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×