Rent the Runway

Pink Tartan

Hex in the City Dress

$70 rental
$425 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Get geometric with your cocktail wear in this vintage-inspired style by Pink Tartan. The eye-catching print will turn heads at the cocktail event! Add sweet shine with kate spade new york accessories’ Crystal Petals Necklace and Halston Heritage Handbags’ Vapor Stingray Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: XS - XL.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: XS - XL.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black and white stretch knit (86% viscose, 13% nylon, 1% spandex). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Full skirt. Exposed back zipper. 37” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

79 reviews

Fit
Small 7
True to Size 59
Large 10
Photos 20
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Aug 26, 2013

PERFECTION

Size worn: XL
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is amazing. Accented by curves and was comfortable. Love it so much. A RTR representative chose it for me since my previous rental had to be returned, and I couldn't have been happier. Got tons of compliments. Thanks RTR!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 188 lbs
Sep 3, 2013

Beautiful brand new dress!

Size worn: XL
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I usually wear a 12 or L, I"m 5'5" and 170 lbs. since it's a heavy knit they both fit fine, I decided to wear the XL as the length was a bit longer. I was very pleased with how forgiving the fabric and dress cut were for my curvy frame.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 8, 2013

Fabulous dress

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This is a great dress. The dress runs true to size. I received the S and M and went with the M. The waist is slightly dropped so the M didn't accentuate the hips quite as much as the S. The fabric is heavy, with some stretch and the flare skirt keeps its shape nicely. Lots of LBDs at the party I was at but this one stood out - received several compliments. This is a dress I wish I had in my closet.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Body type: Apple
Sep 20, 2013

Brand new, very well made dress.

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress is actually a thicker fabric than I expected. It was brand new when I received it. I felt like I was a little too short for it, but still a beautiful dress and would recommend it to anyone.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 22, 2013

LOVE LOVE LOVE

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore this to a casual event and it was perfect! Fit and length were just right and I got lots of complements all night! Heavy knit hangs well and but doesn't get stretched out.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 28, 2013

Love this simple dress!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fabric is rich and heavy ! The size runs true. I got so many compliments at the rehearsal dinner in this dress. I paired it with black patent heels, a Brighton necklace , tennis bracelet and my diamond studs to get a "not too dressy" look.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 30, 2013

Not for me

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The fabric of this dress is really, really heavy and I was not a fan. While the pattern and fit of the dress are nice, I couldn't get past the thick, weighty material and sent it back without wearing it. For sizing info, the he S fill me well.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155 lbs
Oct 3, 2013

Fit well and was a great weight for a chilly night!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Didn't have any fit issues at all. Did wear a smoother underneath for a finished looked
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133 lbs
Oct 3, 2013

This dress fit great!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I tried this dress on as part of my At Home Trial. The dress itself was great quality. The material is thicker than you think, but stretches and is very comfortable. The Medium fit me perfectly! I felt like a "gladiator" in this dress (with the large pleats in the skirt and the thicker material) but in the most fashionable way.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 7, 2013

comfortable dress

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
lots of compliments for this dress
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 8, 2013

Fabulous material

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Very nice fit and the fabric was incredibly forgiving! I wore this for my daughter's first birthday but it could be dressed up or down depending on the occasion. The fabric is heavy, so I recommend wearing the dress in a cooler environment. I was sent the wrong size, but thankfully it fit. It was already my back-up and the first dress didn't work for me. Overall- loved the entire process and I look forward to more rentals in the future.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 158 lbs
Oct 17, 2013

I rented this but didn't end up wearing it. Cute dress, though

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
It's cute, but I am petite in height, and it was a bit long. The waistline hit me in the wrong spot. I pulled the dress up by the shoulders where there was a lot of extra material and it looked just right after that, hah! Not for the shorties :)
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160 lbs
Oct 24, 2013

Not the right look for me

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I ought to have posted a picture to allow you to see how well this didn't work on my pear-shaped, short frame. But, well, vanity being what it is, I just...couldn't. This is a beautiful dress. It is well made -- although the material IS heavy, as many posters have commented. The issue for me was the pattern. If you are slim and slender, this dress is your friend. If you are like me -- short-waisted, wide hips, generous bust -- not so much. The pattern looked like a topographical map on my body, and I was crushed because I liked the dress so much. The length was great on me, and the skirt flares nicely over the hips. I ended up not wearing the dress at all.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132 lbs
Oct 26, 2013

Fabulous dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was great. There was a decent amount of stretch, and it was very flattering. Very stylish and really, really comfortable. I actually didn't want to take it off after I got home! If you're looking for a dress that's chic but that you can wear all night without being uncomfortable, this is it. Highly recommended.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Pear
Nov 8, 2013

Cute and fun

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fabric is very thick and kind of heavy. Dress hit me a little funny...not quite to the knee. it was a sort of odd length on me.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Dec 8, 2013

Perfect!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was a great choice for my husband's holiday office party. While the event wasn't a dressy affair (many people in jeans but some women in dresses too) I felt like I stood out just enough. And I got several compliments on it throughout the evening. It is a very well made dress. The material,is rather heavy but it hung beautifully. I wore it with black tights and knee high boots.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 19, 2013

Very Heavy Fabric

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I had this as one of my back ups and didn't end up wearing it. The fabric is quite heavy and I didn't like how it made the skirt drape. The location of the waistline also wasn't flattering on me. I think it would work better for someone with a short torso.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 174 lbs
Dec 21, 2013

Feeling like a classy model and effortless beautiful mom-

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
wore this to a wedding with my 2 month old son. the fabric is heavy and really covers lumps and bumps. the skirt flares slightly, enough for movement, and the pattern is very very forgiving. Its such an interesting dress that i actually got stopped...twice...in the bathroom while changing my son, and women saying they've wanted to see my dress up close since they saw me at the wedding ceremony! wore with mint green jewelry and it was just super fun- loved it!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 65
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 2, 2014

didnt wear it

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
dress is very heavy
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 67
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 108 lbs
Jan 7, 2014

Ehhh

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I love the quality of Pink Tartan dresses - however, I definitely did not like the fit of this dress. It was way too long-waisted for me, and I usually don't have that problem. I ordered it to wear to a birthday party, and could not. Fit was off for me, may be better for long waisted women
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Jan 17, 2014

Just Not For Me

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress was all kinds of wrong on me. It's a lovely, well-made dress - but for someone my height and shape it was completely unflattering. The material is heavy, but unforgiving and highlighted all of my flaws. For the first time ever, I didn't select a backup dress, so I'll be shopping my own closet for my event! If you are tall and thin, you could totally rock this unique dress. I wish I could have!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 18, 2014

Cute, fun and sassy

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I loved this dress - wore it out to a nice dinner on a winter night. The fabric was comfy and form fitting, a little heavy to touch but did not feel heavy when I was wearing it. The skirt flares at just the right angle and it is so cute. I originally ordered it for a holiday party but had another dress that worked better. I could easily fit into the S and M sizes - the M was a little more roomy but the small was more fitting… except that the back had a small pucker right under the zipper. This was not an issue with the M. I would love to order this dress again - I was comfortable in it and received many compliments about how cute it was.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 210 lbs
Jan 20, 2014

I felt sexy!

Size worn: XL
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I was very worried that it would be too short and that the pattern wouldn't flatter and I was wrong on both accounts. The material is heavy to withstand winters in Florida, fit PERFECTLY, and was not too short for my taste. I liked that the pattern accentuated my shape rather than point out its flaws. <3
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jan 21, 2014

A WOW dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Comfortable and fun! Tons of compliments. It has a heavy feel to it (in a good way). It is so flattering. Loved it. I will definitely rent this one again. Works well with boots for more casual or heels to dress it up. I wore it to a holiday party and a wedding.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 22, 2014

Loved the dress. Nice heavy fabric. Wore it for a NYE dinner and everyone loved it.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Fit true to size.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 24, 2014

Absolutely darling!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
It's so true ladies, this is a heavy dress. It was perfect for a cold January night with black tights and booties. This classic dress fit me like a glove! Highly recommend!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 12, 2014

Fun fitted dress!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Perfect dress for a multitude of occasions - from a baby shower to date night to a party!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 24, 2014

Adorable dress!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This is a very comfortable dress. I could wear either a medium or large, I just wore the large because the arm holes were larger. If I had a chance , I would buy it!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Mar 4, 2014

Didn't wear it

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Cute dress, super comfy. I wear a 12/14 and the large fit nicely. I opted to go with my other choice. It is a little cheerleader-ish, but I would rock it with black tights and booties. Might rent again in the future.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 180 lbs
Mar 17, 2014

Didn't work for a bridal luncheon

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is a lot heavier in weight than it appears. I really liked it, but it wasn't flattering on my apple shape. It would look much better on someone who is pear shaped. I didn't end up wearing it but I liked that it was a good winter weight for a dress (though it ended up being really cold for something sleeveless).
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
Mar 17, 2014

Decent dress, but not my favorite

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The reason I didn't get to wear the dress is due to shipping issues with UPS near Christmas, but I would most likely have worn it if it came on time. It fits true to size, and was extremely heavy - but in a good way. Would have kept me warm, and was still stretchy enough to be comfortable. Would've looked nice with red accessories!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 19, 2014

The fun print turned a simple black dress into a sophisticated look.

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The overall fit was fine. I'm a little on the short side and the dress went past my knees but otherwise I enjoyed wearing this dress.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Age: 15
Mar 25, 2014

It was so much fun to wear I got lots of compliments

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It weighed a lot but other than that it was good
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 18, 2014

I wore it for my engagement party

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This is a beautiful, comfortable dress that's perfect for a Fall or Winter event. The fabric is a little thicker, which is great for cold weather, but it doesn't necessarily feel heavy when you wear it. It also has great versatility - I was able to dress it up for my event, but would be very comfortable wearing this to a more casual event.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155 lbs
Apr 27, 2014

Perfect for a dinner party

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a dinner party I Hosted. This dress was a heavy-weight fabric. Flowed easily as I brought dishes out to the table. Great for chatting, sitting, and standing for hours.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Body type: Full Bust
May 1, 2014

Great work event dress

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
The material has a good weight to it but the dress does run small. Overall very flattering.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 59
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 162 lbs
May 16, 2014

Heavy sweater-like dress

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress is too heavy for a summer event, and not dressy enough for an evening wedding. I think it might be great for a winter morning wedding, or a charity lunch or business event, where you want to look professional, but not too embellished. It looked good with a black suit jacket I had in the closet. It needs spanx or other smoother, because the knit shows every bump.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs

Love this dress.

Size worn: M
Rented for: Party
I wore this twice. Once for work and once to my birthday dinner. Compliments galore. Love love love this dress.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs

Work to evening perfect!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Work
Dress is SO comfortable and transitions beautifully from day to evening. The knit material is heavy, but it allows for the dress to fall nicely and in a flattering manner. The only thing I would say is that my eyes viewed the photo and the pattern of the dress on the website as having a bit of beige in it for some reason; it is 100% black and white. I would definitely rent this dress again for the simple chic and comfort.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×