Pink Tartan

Hex in the City Dress

$108 to buy
$425 retail
Stylist Notes

Get geometric with your cocktail wear in this vintage-inspired style by Pink Tartan. The eye-catching print will turn heads at the cocktail event! Add sweet shine with kate spade new york accessories’ Crystal Petals Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: XS - XL.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black and white stretch knit (86% viscose, 13% nylon, 1% spandex). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Full skirt. Exposed back zipper. 37” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
117 reviews
Fit
Large
(15)
True to Size
(75)
Small
(8)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XL
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Everyday
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
May 8, 2015
nice dress, couldn't wear it

clingy dress, for an XL runs like a L

Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Age: 37
January 14, 2016
I loved this dress it was so simple but so fun

It fit great i chose to go for the large b/c of the fit on my chest. but it was a great length and it was a good material..stretchy and comfy but not cheap feeling

Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Body type: Full Bust
October 18, 2015
Fun cocktail dress

I wore this for a cocktail event and it was a fun, comfortable dress. The fabric is pretty heavy, but has a good amount of stretch so you feel comfortable without being in something that shows of every bump. I loved not having to wear Spanx and wearing a normal bra. Great with tights and booties for fall.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
May 9, 2016
Great material. Waist is flattering.

Nice fit. A tad bit large. Slimming.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
May 15, 2016
I love the style, and the fit. I wore it to a work event and received many compliments.

I noticed that the front below the waist had a slight yellow stain the size of a quarter as I looked down while driving to get to work. It was subtle but nevertheless I do not ever wear clothes with stains... Because it has a pattern, I do not think anyone else noticed. I attached photos of the stain.

Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Everyday
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 15, 2016
This is the go-to dress!!

I've rented this dress multiple x. I should buy it. It is perfect. Great design, fit, and fabric. It is a "10". 💚

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116lbs
June 15, 2016
Got tons of review

It fits nice , I short sorted a little longer but not s big deal

Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 34
July 7, 2016
I felt so comfortable in this dress.

Beautiful dress and great fit. Really accentuates your waistline. Received many compliments!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Everyday
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 55
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 197lbs
August 19, 2016
Beautiful in every way. It slimmed me down and gave me a waist. Stretchy fabric

Heavy fabric but it hangs beautifully and it is not hot. I am wearing it at 91 degrees. It is stretchy so it was no problems for my large breasts, 38DDD and waist. Love this dress. I will rent it again and again and again or keep it for the next 2 months.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Weight: 140lbs
September 25, 2016
This was a great dress for my son's confirmation. I wore it to both the church and the restaurant.

This was a wonderful dress. I received several compliments on it. The material was thick so it was perfect for a chilly autumn day. I paired it with a black sweater. The only down fall was the torso was a little long. I'm on the taller side so someone with a shorter frame might have a harder time. My experience with RTR was a positive one. I will definitely rent again.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
September 26, 2016
Love this comfortable dress!

I love this dress. It's very flattering and easy to wear. Would love to rent again.

Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 200lbs
October 26, 2016
Comfortable, flattering.

Fabric was a great weight - I got compliments on the dress from total strangers (always read that in reviews and was skeptical - but it happened!). Wore it to a fancy semi-work event. Was the perfect balance of fun and appropriate.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
January 26, 2017
Very thick material, flattering for hourglass/athletic/pear shape

I rented this for work-to-date wear. The material is very thick, which I love. But when I sat down it added a little extra "rolls" around the midsection that didn't actually belong to my body. I don't think they looked like belly rolls, just extra material. I paired with a dressy denim jacket, red scarf, and black tights and black boots - super cute.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 199lbs
September 3, 2013
Beautiful brand new dress!

I usually wear a 12 or L, I"m 5'5" and 170 lbs. since it's a heavy knit they both fit fine, I decided to wear the XL as the length was a bit longer. I was very pleased with how forgiving the fabric and dress cut were for my curvy frame.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Body type: Pear
September 12, 2013
Super comfy & cute!

This came as part of my Rent the Runway At Home Trial. The fit was nice - the fabric is stretchy and super comfortable. It's not something I would have normally picked out, but the style is fun and flirty. Would be good for a dinner date or afternoon shower.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
September 17, 2013
Great dress- perfect for any occasion.

I rented this dress as my back-up in case the other dress did not work out so I didn't get to wear this dress to an event but loved it when I tried it on. Form fitting, heavy fabric which allowed it to hang beautifully. Will definityely be renting this one again for another event. Highly recommend!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Body type: Apple
September 20, 2013
Brand new, very well made dress.

This dress is actually a thicker fabric than I expected. It was brand new when I received it. I felt like I was a little too short for it, but still a beautiful dress and would recommend it to anyone.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 28, 2013
Love this simple dress!

The fabric is rich and heavy ! The size runs true. I got so many compliments at the rehearsal dinner in this dress. I paired it with black patent heels, a Brighton necklace , tennis bracelet and my diamond studs to get a "not too dressy" look.

Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
October 3, 2013
Fit well and was a great weight for a chilly night!

Didn't have any fit issues at all. Did wear a smoother underneath for a finished looked

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
October 26, 2013
Fabulous dress!

This dress was great. There was a decent amount of stretch, and it was very flattering. Very stylish and really, really comfortable. I actually didn't want to take it off after I got home! If you're looking for a dress that's chic but that you can wear all night without being uncomfortable, this is it. Highly recommended.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Pear
November 8, 2013
Cute and fun

Fabric is very thick and kind of heavy. Dress hit me a little funny...not quite to the knee. it was a sort of odd length on me.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 16, 2013
Easy to wear and form fitting

It is longer than the picture but I guess it is because I am shorter than the model but it was perfect for a November day wedding

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
December 8, 2013
Perfect!

This dress was a great choice for my husband's holiday office party. While the event wasn't a dressy affair (many people in jeans but some women in dresses too) I felt like I stood out just enough. And I got several compliments on it throughout the evening. It is a very well made dress. The material,is rather heavy but it hung beautifully. I wore it with black tights and knee high boots.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
December 16, 2013
Perfect dress for office holiday party

I am usually a size 4 or 6, so I ordered both the Medium and the Small sizes. I ended up wearing the small, and it was PERFECT. The fabric is very heavy, so I didn't wear a sweater (which I was initially planning on wearing). The dress is tight enough to make your body look fabulous, but not TOO tight to where it was inappropriate for my office holiday party. The full skirt really helped with that as well. The one thing I would caution on is that the skirt on the small was pretty long on me (just above the knees), and I'm 5'8". So if you're on the shorter side, be aware of this and make sure it's the style you're looking for.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 174lbs
December 21, 2013
Feeling like a classy model and effortless beautiful mom-

wore this to a wedding with my 2 month old son. the fabric is heavy and really covers lumps and bumps. the skirt flares slightly, enough for movement, and the pattern is very very forgiving. Its such an interesting dress that i actually got stopped...twice...in the bathroom while changing my son, and women saying they've wanted to see my dress up close since they saw me at the wedding ceremony! wore with mint green jewelry and it was just super fun- loved it!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 59
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
December 28, 2013
Very heavy and tight

I rented this dress to wear to a party and when the box arrived it weighed a ton and I wondered why. This dress is EXTREMELY heavy- not sure what the fabric is, but I didn't like the feel of ii- a very stretchy polyester, sort of felt like a 1970's jumpsuit. It also fits very tight and showed my stomach a bit much, so I actually wore a sweater over it. That being said, it ended up being pretty comfortable and I didn't hat it as much as I though I would! It is also somewhat on the casual side, so it would work as a work dress more than a party dress.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
January 9, 2014
A fabulous dress for colder weather.

It's made of a thick, tightly woven material so it was perfect for a New Years Eve in the northeast. I wore it with black tights and booties. I received a ton of compliments & one friend even thought it was made for me. Loved it! I usually wear a xs but the small fit better. Thanks RTR

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 18, 2014
Cute, fun and sassy

I loved this dress - wore it out to a nice dinner on a winter night. The fabric was comfy and form fitting, a little heavy to touch but did not feel heavy when I was wearing it. The skirt flares at just the right angle and it is so cute. I originally ordered it for a holiday party but had another dress that worked better. I could easily fit into the S and M sizes - the M was a little more roomy but the small was more fitting… except that the back had a small pucker right under the zipper. This was not an issue with the M. I would love to order this dress again - I was comfortable in it and received many compliments about how cute it was.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 21, 2014
A WOW dress!

Comfortable and fun! Tons of compliments. It has a heavy feel to it (in a good way). It is so flattering. Loved it. I will definitely rent this one again. Works well with boots for more casual or heels to dress it up. I wore it to a holiday party and a wedding.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
January 26, 2014
PERFECT party dress!

I was right between sizes S and M so I went for the M in favor of comfort. This dress is comfortable, adorable and flattering - though I'm pretty sure so it seemed much longer on me than on the model. The fabric is forgiving and the colorblocking on the sides is so optimal! I would rent this dress again in a heartbeat... if I was the kind of girl who double rented ;) Highly recommend!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
February 12, 2014
Fun fitted dress!

Perfect dress for a multitude of occasions - from a baby shower to date night to a party!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
March 4, 2014
Didn't wear it

Cute dress, super comfy. I wear a 12/14 and the large fit nicely. I opted to go with my other choice. It is a little cheerleader-ish, but I would rock it with black tights and booties. Might rent again in the future.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 180lbs
March 17, 2014
Didn't work for a bridal luncheon

This dress is a lot heavier in weight than it appears. I really liked it, but it wasn't flattering on my apple shape. It would look much better on someone who is pear shaped. I didn't end up wearing it but I liked that it was a good winter weight for a dress (though it ended up being really cold for something sleeveless).

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 17, 2014
Decent dress, but not my favorite

The reason I didn't get to wear the dress is due to shipping issues with UPS near Christmas, but I would most likely have worn it if it came on time. It fits true to size, and was extremely heavy - but in a good way. Would have kept me warm, and was still stretchy enough to be comfortable. Would've looked nice with red accessories!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
March 19, 2014
The fun print turned a simple black dress into a sophisticated look.

The overall fit was fine. I'm a little on the short side and the dress went past my knees but otherwise I enjoyed wearing this dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Age: 18
March 25, 2014
It was so much fun to wear I got lots of compliments

It weighed a lot but other than that it was good

Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
April 26, 2014
Still love RTR even though this dress was a miss.

While this dress was comfortable, I didn't love it. Other reviews were spot on in that the material is heavy -- it's actually sweater-ish heavy and would be a much better option in winter. All in all, not that flattering and not my favorite. I won't be renting it again.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155lbs
April 27, 2014
Perfect for a dinner party

I rented this dress for a dinner party I Hosted. This dress was a heavy-weight fabric. Flowed easily as I brought dishes out to the table. Great for chatting, sitting, and standing for hours.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 62
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 162lbs
May 16, 2014
Heavy sweater-like dress

This dress is too heavy for a summer event, and not dressy enough for an evening wedding. I think it might be great for a winter morning wedding, or a charity lunch or business event, where you want to look professional, but not too embellished. It looked good with a black suit jacket I had in the closet. It needs spanx or other smoother, because the knit shows every bump.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
June 13, 2014
Nice fabric, bad fit.

This was backup dress, and didn't work out either.

See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×