Pink Tartan

Hex in the City Dress

$70 rental
$425 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Get geometric with your cocktail wear in this vintage-inspired style by Pink Tartan. The eye-catching print will turn heads at the cocktail event! Add sweet shine with kate spade new york accessories’ Crystal Petals Necklace and Halston Heritage Handbags’ Vapor Stingray Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: XS - XL.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: XS - XL.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black and white stretch knit (86% viscose, 13% nylon, 1% spandex). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Full skirt. Exposed back zipper. 37” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

67 reviews

Fit
Small 6
True to Size 53
Large 7
Photos 16
Kirsten
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Body type: Pear
Sep 12, 2013

Super comfy & cute!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This came as part of my Rent the Runway At Home Trial. The fit was nice - the fabric is stretchy and super comfortable. It's not something I would have normally picked out, but the style is fun and flirty. Would be good for a dinner date or afternoon shower.
Charlie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110 lbs
Sep 17, 2013

Great dress- perfect for any occasion.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress as my back-up in case the other dress did not work out so I didn't get to wear this dress to an event but loved it when I tried it on. Form fitting, heavy fabric which allowed it to hang beautifully. Will definityely be renting this one again for another event. Highly recommend!
sophie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118 lbs
Sep 21, 2013

Felt professional, yet comfortable and original

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I got this dress for a very important work presentation and matched it with a white jacket. I let my coworkers vote for their favorite dress out of a selection of RTR possibilities: this was the clear winner. The fit of the size S was great: it clinged to me just enough but not too much. I was afraid the knitted fabric would be a bit hot but it was comfortable without being too warm. I felt professional yet not boring. Size M was definitively too large and loose around the arms. Even with the smaller size, a racerback bra was better to make sure the straps weren't visible on my shoulders. I paired it with the Alexis Bittar cuff for fun since it happened to be my birthday as well!
Kathy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 16, 2013

Easy to wear and form fitting

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It is longer than the picture but I guess it is because I am shorter than the model but it was perfect for a November day wedding
Lynn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138 lbs
Dec 16, 2013

Perfect dress for office holiday party

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I am usually a size 4 or 6, so I ordered both the Medium and the Small sizes. I ended up wearing the small, and it was PERFECT. The fabric is very heavy, so I didn't wear a sweater (which I was initially planning on wearing). The dress is tight enough to make your body look fabulous, but not TOO tight to where it was inappropriate for my office holiday party. The full skirt really helped with that as well. The one thing I would caution on is that the skirt on the small was pretty long on me (just above the knees), and I'm 5'8". So if you're on the shorter side, be aware of this and make sure it's the style you're looking for.
AK
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Dec 27, 2013

Warm, classy dress

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I rented this to wear to (business casual) work, and straight to a family christmas party. Normally I am a size 6, and I wore the small -- I didn't even need to try on my backup M because the S fit perfectly. It was long enough to be work-appropriate, but still fun, and I got lots of compliments at work and the party. It is a very thick material, but stretchy, although the dress itself didn't get stretched out which sometimes happens with this type of fabric. Also couldn't beat the $30 price!
Kayjo
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 56
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 28, 2013

Very heavy and tight

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress to wear to a party and when the box arrived it weighed a ton and I wondered why. This dress is EXTREMELY heavy- not sure what the fabric is, but I didn't like the feel of ii- a very stretchy polyester, sort of felt like a 1970's jumpsuit. It also fits very tight and showed my stomach a bit much, so I actually wore a sweater over it. That being said, it ended up being pretty comfortable and I didn't hat it as much as I though I would! It is also somewhat on the casual side, so it would work as a work dress more than a party dress.
Natalie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 185 lbs
Jan 2, 2014

Very comfortable and classy.

Size worn: XL
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
This dress was very comfortable due to the thick and stretchy fabric. I wore it out for New Years Eve dinner. The length was not too short, so I liked that. I wore spans underneath to smooth things out. Would recommend this dress. I am a size 14 in dresses right now and the XL was a little loose, especially up top, so I ended up wearing the L.
Winnie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 8, 2014

Very comfortable dress, but not as flattering as I had hoped.

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress to church on New Years Day, and can't say that it was all that great. As the other reviews state, the dress is heavy and perfect for a fall/winter event. I felt that the fit was odd in a few areas. For example, the chest puckered out near the boob/shoulder and the waistline fell in an odd location, highlighting my post-baby belly. It was a VERY comfortable dress, which was imperative when carrying around an 8 month old.
ellenic
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118 lbs
Jan 9, 2014

A fabulous dress for colder weather.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It's made of a thick, tightly woven material so it was perfect for a New Years Eve in the northeast. I wore it with black tights and booties. I received a ton of compliments & one friend even thought it was made for me. Loved it! I usually wear a xs but the small fit better. Thanks RTR
Johanna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jan 14, 2014

Comfortable dress for work event

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I loved the fabric of this dress. It's think, but comfortable. Great for a winter event. Because I wore this to a work event, I wore a black cardigan and belt with it.
Diana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 129 lbs
Jan 21, 2014

I loved how unique this dress was.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fit true to size. It stretches and is not too short or too long.
Bridget
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 26, 2014

PERFECT party dress!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I was right between sizes S and M so I went for the M in favor of comfort. This dress is comfortable, adorable and flattering - though I'm pretty sure so it seemed much longer on me than on the model. The fabric is forgiving and the colorblocking on the sides is so optimal! I would rent this dress again in a heartbeat... if I was the kind of girl who double rented ;) Highly recommend!
Mare
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 24, 2014

Adorable dress!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This is a very comfortable dress. I could wear either a medium or large, I just wore the large because the arm holes were larger. If I had a chance , I would buy it!
Jenni
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Mar 4, 2014

Didn't wear it

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Cute dress, super comfy. I wear a 12/14 and the large fit nicely. I opted to go with my other choice. It is a little cheerleader-ish, but I would rock it with black tights and booties. Might rent again in the future.
Carolyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 180 lbs
Mar 17, 2014

Didn't work for a bridal luncheon

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is a lot heavier in weight than it appears. I really liked it, but it wasn't flattering on my apple shape. It would look much better on someone who is pear shaped. I didn't end up wearing it but I liked that it was a good winter weight for a dress (though it ended up being really cold for something sleeveless).
Jenna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
Mar 17, 2014

Decent dress, but not my favorite

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The reason I didn't get to wear the dress is due to shipping issues with UPS near Christmas, but I would most likely have worn it if it came on time. It fits true to size, and was extremely heavy - but in a good way. Would have kept me warm, and was still stretchy enough to be comfortable. Would've looked nice with red accessories!
Grace
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 19, 2014

The fun print turned a simple black dress into a sophisticated look.

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The overall fit was fine. I'm a little on the short side and the dress went past my knees but otherwise I enjoyed wearing this dress.
Audrey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Age: 15
Mar 25, 2014

It was so much fun to wear I got lots of compliments

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It weighed a lot but other than that it was good
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 18, 2014

I wore it for my engagement party

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This is a beautiful, comfortable dress that's perfect for a Fall or Winter event. The fabric is a little thicker, which is great for cold weather, but it doesn't necessarily feel heavy when you wear it. It also has great versatility - I was able to dress it up for my event, but would be very comfortable wearing this to a more casual event.
PJW
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Apr 26, 2014

Still love RTR even though this dress was a miss.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
While this dress was comfortable, I didn't love it. Other reviews were spot on in that the material is heavy -- it's actually sweater-ish heavy and would be a much better option in winter. All in all, not that flattering and not my favorite. I won't be renting it again.
Heather
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155 lbs
Apr 27, 2014

Perfect for a dinner party

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a dinner party I Hosted. This dress was a heavy-weight fabric. Flowed easily as I brought dishes out to the table. Great for chatting, sitting, and standing for hours.
Sujata
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Body type: Full Bust
May 1, 2014

Great work event dress

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
The material has a good weight to it but the dress does run small. Overall very flattering.
Marty
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 59
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 157 lbs
May 16, 2014

Heavy sweater-like dress

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress is too heavy for a summer event, and not dressy enough for an evening wedding. I think it might be great for a winter morning wedding, or a charity lunch or business event, where you want to look professional, but not too embellished. It looked good with a black suit jacket I had in the closet. It needs spanx or other smoother, because the knit shows every bump.
Sharon
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 13, 2014

Nice fabric, bad fit.

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was backup dress, and didn't work out either.
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Jun 17, 2014

This was a backup dress

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I have a short torso and this hung longer than I expected and the material itself is also heavy. I have a very large bust and was surprised that that the XL was too big.
Kmari
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 179 lbs
Jul 4, 2014

Great dress and memorable ceremony.

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Really liked this dress. It was very comfortable and stylish. Would definitely rent again. Received a ton of compliments.
Sara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Jul 24, 2014

Mod Style

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I got many compliments. Both the L and XL fit me, stretchy, thick. Strange arm holes showed my bra straps. Fashion tape wouldn't even solve the problem. I was constantly tucking bra straps in all night. Fun to sway/dance in.
Sandy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 55
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150 lbs
Aug 10, 2014

This was a fun dress to wear to my daughter's college graduation!

Size worn: XL
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I'm thick through the waist and many dresses that are fitted in the waist just don't fit me well. This dress is stretchy and gave just enough to smooth over the bumpy bits. The material of the dress is very heavy, but I wasn't hot wearing this dress even though it was 90 degrees with high humidity. Fun dress that I would rent again.
April
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 26, 2014

Shipment rerouted

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Never received the package due to severe storms on east coast. RTR customer service was terrific. They rerouted the package and credited my account.
Jules
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 12, 2014

Received many compliments.

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Dress was of a heavier weight but doesn't add volume. Fabric is stretchy and works well on a larger frame too.
RTR Customer
Oct 21, 2014

Beautiful! Comfortable! Flattering!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress was made of a beautiful heavy knit material that made attending a fall rehearsal dinner perfect! Great quality. Flattering on my curvy body type.
Julie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 51
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185 lbs
Oct 22, 2014

dress is lovely - just didn't fit right

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I love this dress - but ended up not wearing. Just a bit too tight in the bust area. I rented XL as back up....but it was bit to big. I have a dress by the same brand in a Large and it fits fine - but slightly different fabric and cut. Very heavy knit which makes it very flattering and hang nicely.
Dawn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 22, 2014

Outside my box but fun for a night

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It is a very thick and heavy dress. I'm usually a small but the extra small fit better threw torso and the length was perfect.
Jessica
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 170 lbs
Oct 30, 2014

This dress is so comfortable

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress is a good choice for a casual event and you can style it in different ways I was contemplating tights and boots but it was really warm so I just did flats
Sandra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Nov 3, 2014

Just OK

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is fun for a more casual event, It's THICK material. I'm sorry I didn't get a photo, I wore a wide black belt which helped break up the pattern a bit. It was a bit longer than I would have thought since I'm 5'8". I didn't mind it but if you were shorter it'd probably go to your knees. It's acute fun flirty dress, not very formal in my opinion.
Sierra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Nov 21, 2014

Really wanted...didn't get :(

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I originally ordered this dress for an important date, but unfortunately I never received it. Apparently the dress was damaged beyond repair, and the automated email to notify me of the change didn't go out. So when I didn't pick a new dress, a RTR stylist picked two new backup styles for me to try...which I only knew about once they showed up in the mail! This story has a happy ending though - RTR's Customer Service Dept was awesome. This team gets that no matter the occasion, what you're wearing is just as important to them as it is to you. I was helped immediately (despite their phones being down at the time), got an explanation on the miscommunication, and luckily one of the backup styles was a perfect fit. Thanks RTR! Hopefully I'll get to try this style in the future :)
Maria
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 1, 2014

Pretty, but not for me

Size worn: NONE
Rented for: Party
Great dress but not for my body type, I have broad shoulders and this dress made me look like a scare.
Kelsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 22, 2014

Cute, but heavy

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
The dress material was heavier than I thought it would be and felt a little unflattering in places. I ordered it as a backup dress, and ended up wearing my first choice.
Carolyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 6, 2015

Dress had an odd fit

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
In the photo of the model, it appears as though the black line sits at her waist. That's not how the dress actually fits. I have a long torso, but the line was below my belly button and therefore unflattering. If you look closely at the photos of other people wearing the dress, you'll see a fold under the ribcage in some. You'll also see a lot of people covering up with a cardigan. The pattern is great, and the fabric is unique, but I do not recommend this dress.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×