Gold Rush Mini

$65 to buy
$520 retail
Stylist Notes

Having a huge blowout birthday bash? Rent this gold sequin explosion by Pencey for your big night.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection; fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - may be more fitted on women with fuller hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection; fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - may be more fitted on women with fuller hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Gold sequins (100% polyester with sequins). Crew neckline. Short sleeves. Shift body. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. Imported.

Share
141 reviews
Fit
Large
(11)
True to Size
(88)
Small
(29)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
November 30, 2014
A stand out.
Seemed to run just a bit big. Wore for a family holiday dinner. Comfortable yet elegant and sassy. Would totally rent again. Recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
December 9, 2014
IMPOSSIBLE to take off.
I originally rented this dress for my work holiday party - but wasn't sure that it would be "form fitting" enough - I didn't want to look like a gold paper bag. In any case, the RTR Gods were looking out for me, because since the backup size ended up being damaged, I was contacted by RTR asking if I wanted another dress instead! They let me still rent the M Gold Dress but then sent me another style dress for the inconvenience (thanks again!). Anyway, I put on the Medium Gold Dress and it fit well. The bottom is tapered and while I won't say it showed off my figure, it was okay. I would definitely recommend this dress if you have some problem areas you're looking to hide. I took one awkward selfie, pictured here, before I went to take it off and try on the other dress. It took me twenty minutes to get the dress off. TWENTY. I have a large chest, but basically the dress could not come off of my shoulders and over my chest at the same time. I laughed, almost cried, and decided to try one more time before I was going to call my girl friend to have her help me pry it off, when I was finally able to get the dress over my chest. I would NOT recommend getting this dress unless you have the help of two girlfriends to get it off of you at the end of the night. It is a pretty dress - and great for holiday parties, but I wish there was a better exit strategy. No wonder my back-up size got damaged...
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
December 17, 2014
Perfect Dress
I wore this dress to a wedding and got complements all night. I usually wear an XS, but the XS was booked. I tried the S. I was so glad I did - I think it fit perfectly. The XS may have been a little small. The S was relatively snug on my hips but still fit nicely. Not too tight. The dress was short, even though I'm not a tall girl. I thought the length was perfect with the high conservative neck.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
December 30, 2014
Woah small!
Wow this dress ran small. Dress was made up I a few tones of sequin, so it was very pretty. There isn't too much to even say about it besides how tight it was. Do not rent if you have a large bust. Dress does not have a large zipper or any stretch, I had to be yanked out of it.
Size worn:
L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
January 14, 2015
So comfortable and fun to wear
I loved this dress. I would say as with all designer dresses it runs a bit small. I'm normally a medium but I ordered the large and it was perfect. I did not experience what others have said in their reviews as far as having trouble taking the dress off. I got tons of compliments on it and it was so comfortable I didn't want to take it off! No need to suck in or skip dinner, as it was a roomy fit in a flattering way.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
January 21, 2015
Looks shine-tastic with a microphone!
I rented this dress for my karaoke birthday party and it couldn't have been more perfect! It shined under the lights and I felt like a diva! I got a million compliments. It was comfortable to rock out in all night. I felt fantastic in this dress. I carry my weight in my arms so it's worth noting that if you have thicker arms it does feel a little snug. And echoing what others have said, you'll need to do your hair after putting on the dress because there is only the little clasp at the neck.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
January 25, 2015
I wore this dress for my 23rd birthday in DC. It was the perfect party dress for the birthday girl!
Overall, I thought this dress was very comfortable and well made. I would say it fits true to size, but definitely tight about the thighs/hip area. I think it is the perfect dress for any sparkly occasion!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
February 21, 2015
this was a perfect upscale work party at the ritz! Not too overwhelming!
good length, mid thigh
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128lbs
March 23, 2015
Stunning with lots of wiggle room!
I wore this dress to my best friends wedding celebration. They were married in Figi and had a dinner party to celebrate the event. The dress was perfect for the event - cocktail attire. I ordered the S with the M as my backup. The S had a great overall fit but since we were having drinks and a full course dinner I went with the M - for more room. The length was similar in both sizes but the M just gave me a little more wiggle room :) The length was great and with heels it actually made my legs look longer. Loved this dress and received so many compliments on it. I wore tan heels and very simple jewelry. The dress does it all. Would definitely recommend and wear again. If only it weren't a rental!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
March 29, 2015
Great dress for formal occasion
Wore this dress to a wedding - this dress may have been more appropriate for a winter formal occasion, but I still got compliments in it! Nicely made dress, fits to size - a bit difficult to put on and off (make sure to do your hair after you put on the dress!). Another great rental from RTR!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
April 10, 2015
TINY!!!
I rented this dress for my sorority formal and it came and was literally a child size. I am usually a large is everything so I thought it would fit no problem. I couldn't even get it on my arms.. My friend that is usually a small/medium even tried it on and it barely fit her. Do not rent this dress if you have any sort or muscular/larger arms. Only a good dress for the skinny minnies.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
April 15, 2015
So sparkly and comfortable. Tons of compliments.
Loved this! It ran a little big, but was totally comfortable. I'm rather short, so the length was perfect with 2in heels. It's definitely a show-stopper and is a bit heavy, but not super hot.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 1, 2015
It was a gold colored party so I thought this dress would have been perfect based on the reviews
the arms were so tight I couldn't even wear the dress. The midsection was very large and the legs and hips were tight. Very strange fit. Even if I had ordered a 6 or 8, it wouldn't have worked. I couldn't even take it off without help. Very disappointed I couldn't wear it. I hope this honest review helps someone else.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
September 22, 2011
This is a fabulous party dress. My only criticism is that the lining was a bit too tight while the outer shell was a little loose.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
May 6, 2015
Awesome Party Dress!
I wore this for my birthday party, and then again for a night out I loved it so much! It is an awesome dress and I would love to have it in my closet someday. Perfect amount of bling and the cut made it very classy. I am 5'11 so I will warn other tall ladies, wear this to events you are not expecting to sit down too much. I got a lot of compliments and I felt that the color was a great bright gold. The fact that it is lined was also a plus, it was very comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
June 3, 2015
I didn't end up wearing this dress even though it's ADORABLE.
looking back at pictures, I should have worn this dress instead of the backup dress that I chose. It was not that short and I didn't think that it was hard to get on and off. It's a very high quality dress with just the right amount of sparkle. I have boobs and a butt and it fit me great.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
July 6, 2015
Fourth of July Wedding Winner
I ordered both the XS and S sizes. It definitely ran small due to the straight cut and sequined details, I'm not overly curvy however; I do have a 'bubble butt' so there was no way I could get the XS dress to fit in the hip area. The dress has VERY little give so if you are concerned about it being too small, order a size larger. For example, I probably could have worn a medium in the hips even though I'm a small top. PS This dress was almost impossible to get in and out of, even with help!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 153lbs
July 15, 2015
Quick & easy delivery and return!
This dress was such a hit at the 4th of July wedding I attended. Loose enough to dance, long enough appear modest, but young & vibrant enough to look my age. As most people have stated, the arms run small and the dress is hard to get off (especially if you have big hair!). I was still able to pull off a medium without looking like the hulk in my photos, but pulling the dress off in the more literal sense was a group effort. Worth renting, but if you have beefy arms I would highly recommend sizing up.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
August 6, 2015
A perfect fit on a petite frame
I am always a bit nervous that dresses will be too big/long on me since I am so petite. This was a perfect fit! A loose but nice fitting shift (perfect for a big meal) that hit just at the right spot on my mid thigh (sorry you can't see that in the photo). As other reviewers said, it is a little tricky getting on and off. You may want to style your hair after putting it on. I wore this for a hollywood glam themed bachlorette party but it would also be great for a holiday party.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
December 7, 2015
Celebrated my birthday in this dress!
Definitely runs a little snug - I bounce between a 2/4 and rented the medium because it was the only one available. Fit perfectly but definitely put this on before you do your hair and makeup because it has to go over the head and is a snug fit. Perfect length and I am 5'9 but if you are planning to do a lot of dancing this might not be the right dress. The color is gorgeous - different shades of sequins (pure gold, rose gold, silver) so it looks fab in person and in pictures. Loved this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
December 8, 2015
Tasteful and flashy!
I love how fun this dress is! Wonderful for a wedding! The dress was a little shorter than I am usually comfortable wearing but once I got to the venue, I didn't notice. I received so many compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 50
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
January 4, 2016
So easy, affordable & fun
This dress make me feel so fun & festive. Wish I had more occasions to use RTR
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Rented for:
Party
January 9, 2016
I wore this to a Great Gatsby themed party. Everyone loved
The dress was a bit tight when I first slipped it on but once I adjusted it the dress was pretty comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 18
Body type: Petite
March 26, 2016
Fantastic Dress!
This dress was great! The sparkles were perfect and will make anyone who wears this dress a sure standout. It's pretty comfortable to wear and easy to pull off. Only four stars because it's the not the absolutely best and stunning dress ever, but it's very nice and almost there. If you're okay with looking like you're wearing an oversized sparkly t-shirt then it's great! Super cute dress that says "casual but I like to party" overall great dress!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 23, 2012
Everyone turned their heads when I walked in!
I ordered the S & M in this dress because I never trust dresses with sleeves! I could barely get the S over my shoulders- but I wasn't surprised by that! Once I was in the M, I noticed that it was very tight across my shoulders and upper arms and I've never thought of myself as having broad shoulders. It is a gorgeous dress, but very very dressy. I went to a couple bars and restaurants with my mom for my 21st birthday in this dress, and EVERYONE.. I mean everyoneeee! looked at me when I walked in. Not sure if that was a good thing or a bad thing! I remember describing it to my sister as "burlap sacky" though and I definitely should've broken it up with a belt around the waist to show off my curves. Looks much better on the model if you're my body type!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
July 14, 2012
I LOVED this dress! It looks amazing on and everyone wants to know where it is from.
I LOVED this dress. It looks great on and I got so many compliments when I was out wearing it. Everyone asked me where I got it and I loved telling them "Rent the Runway."
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
September 2, 2012
Turns out great in pics and comfy. Sequins were not a problem, comfort-wise.
Turns out great in pics.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 16, 2012
the best shift dress!
I loved this dress and recieved so many compliments! it is comfortable and so eye catching. I was excited when I recieved the dress and it went beyond my expectations. It was such a fun and easy dress great for the holiday party I attended.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
November 24, 2013
My dress full of glitz was perfect for the night.
I loved the style of this dress - it was perfect for the Marine Ball I went to with my 83 yr old father. A little conservative but still a lot of fun. The smaller size fit best my only complaint was the slip that was attached was hard to keep in place. It was fun, eye catching and I felt like a million bucks. My father loved it too.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Body type: Petite
June 3, 2014
Best friends wedding!
My original dress did not quite fit right/work. Rent the runway has amazing customer service and got me this new dress delivered to my hotel just in time! I couldn't have asked for a better experience! The dress was perfect. All the bridesmaids wore different gold sequin dresses. It was perfect!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
June 25, 2014
This dress was show stopping! I received so many compliments and I felt awesome in it.
The fit overall was pretty true to size. It is a short dress and the sleeves were much more snug than I had thought they would be. That is why I went with the Large. I am normally a size 8 or 10. I have hips and a chest so I decided to go with a looser fit. That is what made the dress more elegant. Anyway, this dress is show stopping and super fun! I recommend!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
July 2, 2014
Wore for a bachelorette party in Vegas, the sequins stood out!
Arms were a little tight and the mid-section was loose. Otherwise, fun dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Body type: Petite
November 19, 2014
Absolutely loved this dress on the app and loved it even more in person. I got compliments all night
I normally wear a small in a dress, but the extra small fit just right. It was hard to take on and off, but fit perfectly when it was finally on. Looks great in pictures! Was definitely more than pleased with it and did NOT want to return it
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
December 23, 2014
Fun & Comfortable Party Dress
I loved this dress! It was very comfortable and perfect for my company's holiday party. I ended up wearing the large - the medium was a too tight for my bust. I had so much fun in this dress and would definitely rent it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
December 30, 2014
I wore this dress for my golden birthday party and it was perrrrrfect!!
The dress was a little shorter than I expected, but not awfully short. The under-layer may be a little tight around the hips if you have any sort of butt. Overall I was really happy with this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
January 3, 2015
Fun and comfy!
Be prepared to stand out in this dress! I'd never worn a sequin dress before and decided to go for it for a holiday party. Since the dress stood out on its own, I kept it simple with the hair and accessories. It was super comfortable but made me feel incredibly sexy at the same time. The husband can be a tough critic, and he definitely approved.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Rented for:
Party
Age: 28
March 8, 2015
Great experience!
The fit of this dress is perfect! The arms are slightly snug but nothing that was uncomfortable. I received so many compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 47
August 11, 2015
Stunning !
This dress ran a little small, but he sequins are great, they are all different colors, I received many compliments on this. A lot of fun to wear !
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 110lbs
November 9, 2011
Chic Dress
This is a very chic, modern dress. I am petite, 110 pounds and the XS fit great. The dress is not too short and hit a few inches above the knee, The quality is very nice and the sparkles were super fun. A great rental.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
November 13, 2011
Unique dress
I rented this dress for a late fall wedding and was afraid it would be too showy, but I got SO many compliments the entire night. The dress definitely is a sheath and fits fairly loosely but is meant to fit that way I believe. I paired it with patent black peep toe slingbacks, plum nailpolish, big pearl earrings, and a cream dress coat and it looked really expensive. I would highly recommend for a wedding or as a fun party dress. I am 5'4" and 110 lbs and the XS fit pretty perfectly.
See more reviews:
3 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×