Gold Rush Mini

$35 rental
$520 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Having a huge blowout birthday bash? Rent this gold sequin explosion by Pencey for your big night. Go with trendy accessories like the Erickson Beamon's Gold Digger Ring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection; fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - may be more fitted on women with fuller hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection; fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - may be more fitted on women with fuller hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Gold sequins (100% polyester with sequins). Crew neckline. Short sleeves. Shift body. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. Imported.

Share
140 reviews
Fit
Large10
True to Size88
Small29
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Body type: Petite
April 28, 2013
My Bday!! I wore it to Formal and it looked absolutely gorgeous!! i got so many complements!!
A little tight on the arms.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
April 14, 2013
The dress fit great and perfect for formal!
Usually the dresses run big on me but this dress fit perfect and everyone said it was their favorite dress at our sorority's formal
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
April 9, 2013
Wasn't a fan
Ordered. Tried on. Horrible. Def not a good dress for an hourglass figure. It went straight down and made my hips lok wide.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98lbs
March 26, 2013
I wore this to an RTR fashion show. It was perfect!
The dress runs a little big, but not obnoxiously. There's a built-in slip underneath so there's no need to worry about itchy sequins. It's a modest dress, but still chic.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
March 20, 2013
I felt so good in this dress and received so many compliments!
I wore this dress for my school's Sadie Hawkins dance. I regret wearing my hair in a stock bun, but I certainly do not regret this dress choice! It was a little less tight then I though it would be, but it worked out great! When I was dancing, the sequins sometimes got caught on other people, but other than that I have no complaints!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
March 11, 2013
Feeling fabulous on my birthday even with a cast!
It's a little tight in the arms, but not uncomfortable! The small felt a little too small for me, but the medium was definitely too big so I think the fit was just different than I expected! Overall I am SO happy with this rental, I got a ton of compliments and this dress looks amazing in photos!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
February 25, 2013
This was my first time using RTR and I absolutely LOVED it!
I thought this dressed fit perfectly although the arms were a bit on the tight side in comparison to the rest of the dress. Overall it was wonderful and I received so many compliments throughout the entire night! Will definitely be using RTR for my next party!
ColleenFebruary 26, 2014
Kelly from Eat Yourself Skinny? Love your blog!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
January 30, 2013
Shined at the party!
The fit is very true to size. Color was just as I expected and the packaging was great. Very pleased and can not wait to rent from the runway again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 123lbs
January 14, 2013
Perfect for an over the top NYC wedding in an antique gallery. I loved the dress!
I'm 5"8' so the small fit my body better, but was too short. I wore the medium which is looser & not fitted, but longer.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
January 13, 2013
Very boxy, runs big
I am pretty petit so this dress did nothing for my frame. I ordered the M due to the S ans XS not being an option. Sadly I did not get to wear this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113lbs
January 10, 2013
I LOVED this dress. I rented it for a New Year's Eve Party. I really didn't want to send it back!
This dress was really comfortable. I paired the dress with a pair of blue suede heels. The contrast worked so well and I got so many compliments that evening. I would definitely rent this dress again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
January 2, 2013
Odd Fit
I rented this dress as a back up for NYE. After reading the reviews I rented the XS. It was extremely tight on the hips and then big everywhere else. It didn't really flatter me - if I were to rent it again I would go up a size or two so it fit more like a shift dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 30, 2012
I wore this to a December wedding and several people complimented me. It was perfectly festive!
The sleeves were a little small relative to the rest of the dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 16, 2012
the best shift dress!
I loved this dress and recieved so many compliments! it is comfortable and so eye catching. I was excited when I recieved the dress and it went beyond my expectations. It was such a fun and easy dress great for the holiday party I attended.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
November 7, 2012
It was not a flattering fit on me at all. I didn't end up wearing it because it looked awful.
I thought this dress looked super cute in the picture. I received the dress and immediately was blinded by the sparkle, which wouldn't have been terrible because I was planning on wearing the dress to Vegas anyways. The dress looked awful on me. I have more of an hourglass figure and it looked tight in the hips and baggy around the middle. I think if you are tall and thin that this dress could be cute, but if you have a figure-definitely stay away!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 50
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
October 30, 2012
A fun choice
This dress is very chic, but the smallest size available was too large and boxy on me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
October 24, 2012
Bachelorette Party Bling!
I wore this dress for my bachelorette party - it fit perfectly and I got a lot of compliments! Definitely THEE perfect dress to wear to spend your last night out as a single lady!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
October 22, 2012
Great standout dress!
I was slightly hesitant to order this dress in fear that the sequins would be overwhelming, but I was wrong! This dress was amazing! The short sleeves and shift fit of the dress offset the sequins and kept it feeling classy. I would love to wear this dress again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
October 21, 2012
I definitely made a statement, just not the one I wanted to make.
To be fair, the dress was amazing. However, it was too small and the style of dress was not flattering for someone with my figure. Nevertheless, for all women under a size 8 with small breast, this dress would probably look great on you. However, if you are an average sized girl with big boobs, you may want to pick another dress or you may end up looking like a life size version of Sponge Bob like me :-/
JillJanuary 10, 2013
You look great! SpongeBob wish he looked this good. The dress set off your legs perfectly :)
RTR CustomerJuly 28, 2013
I think you look gorgeous. Your dress stands out from the rest! ~Tina
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 116lbs
October 14, 2012
Loved the packaging the dress came in!
Received many compliments on this dress! It fit kind of large, even the extra small. The arms of the dress were very tight, though. Defiantly will be renting from here for many upcoming occasions! ;)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
October 9, 2012
Super cute for a fun night out!
A little tight so I couldn't comfortable raise my arms but the 2 did fit okay. It was short and very shiny so I thought it was quite appropriate for the fundraiser I was attending but otherwise very cute!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
October 8, 2012
Sparkle Overload
I'm a sucker for anything with sequins, but this dress was a little too much for me. Also, the dress gives you no shape.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
October 6, 2012
The gold sequins on the entire dress literally make you the star of the night.
I have a slim body type. I got the smallest size and it still felt a little big on me. This dress would have been perfect if the body was contoured. It looks like it is on the model picture but it's straight lined. I paired it with some large jewelry and nude pumps, which matched the accent color perfectly. The dress hit me mid-thigh and I have long legs like the model. I was complemented on my dress from the moment i walked into the room and continuously throughout the night. I would definitely recommend the dress, especially if you want to be noticed.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 4, 2012
Super cute in person
I never had a chance to wear the dress as it couldn't get it over my hips. Not a good option for larger bottoms
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 131lbs
October 3, 2012
I wore this the night of my bachelorette party. It was definitely eye-catching.
Such a fun dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
October 2, 2012
Beautiful, eye catching dress!
I got tons of compliments on this dress! I loved it overall, but thought that the neckline was a bit tight. I could have gone a size up in the neck but nowhere else.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 48
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
September 26, 2012
It was fun to sparkle all night!
It looked very slim through the waist on the model in the picture. I was disappointed that it didn't fit me like her, but then again, I am a 44 year old mom :) I felt like it was a little boxy, but the fun of being so shiny and sparkly all night outweighed that :) I did get LOTS of compliments on it. That is always fun!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
September 24, 2012
I got so many compliments on this dress by just going out on the weekend!
The fit is true to size, but it was a tad long since I am only 5'3
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
September 10, 2012
looks great
I loved this dress. I wore it to a casino night and it was a big hit. I normally wear a size 4 and have a bit of a pear shape to me. the underlying layer was a bit tight but the top layer covered it up nicely. the M was way too big.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
September 2, 2012
Turns out great in pics and comfy. Sequins were not a problem, comfort-wise.
Turns out great in pics.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
August 20, 2012
fantastic bling :)
wore it to a day at the races and a bridal shower on the same day a real treat ! definitely would recommend !!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
August 10, 2012
Sparkles!
I wore this dress to a wedding in NYC during the winter. I love the dress, especially on the model. But the high neck on me was not as flattering. I would not rent this style dress again, but that has more to do with what looks good on my shape than the dress. If you can pull off a higher neck, this dress is super cute!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
July 14, 2012
I LOVED this dress! It looks amazing on and everyone wants to know where it is from.
I LOVED this dress. It looks great on and I got so many compliments when I was out wearing it. Everyone asked me where I got it and I loved telling them "Rent the Runway."
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 57
Body type: Athletic
May 15, 2012
Prom was fabulous!
Prom could not have been better! This dress was not only a perfect fit, there were no other dresses even closely resembling it!
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
May 15, 2012
Wear it to get noticed
This dress is amazing. I usually wouldn't wear this type of dress size I have a larger rear and it seems made for very stright-bodied women. However, I couldn't resist. I ordered both a M and L and the M was perfect because it hugged my rear and (with spanx) didn't ride up. I received so many compliments from my friends and strangers. My only cautions are it did sometimes make my stomach look larger than it is, but that is the nature of this non-hugging dress and also the sequins are kind of killer. If you're going to be dancing all night, prepare to have a few war wounds on the insides of your arms. Would totally rent this dress again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
March 5, 2012
Lots of compliments
I ordered this one and the gold Milly dress for a cocktail party with a gold theme. The Milly dress actually fit better but the sleeves were a bit restricting so I went with this one for dance-ability. I usually wear a '0' and this was slightly large but perfect for comfort. You will not be disappointed. (The color is quite gold compared to champagne)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
February 24, 2012
VDay Dinner
I wore this dress out for Valentine's with my boyfriend and then to my (late) birthday party after! It was a great fit, super fun and I loved it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
February 20, 2012
Overall, the experience was flawless. I had questions about the fit of the dress so I called the customer service number and all of my questions were answered! Everyone commented on how glamorous and classy the dress was...definitely recommended!
I rented this dress for a party and it was absolutely perfect. I am typically a 6 (a 4 on a good day), and the medium fit perfectly. I was comfortable all night dancing. The dress is heavy enough to feel luxurious, but not so much so that you can't move around and enjoy yourself. This is my favorite dress I have rented out of 3 rentals!!!! It's not something I would typically have in my closet, which made it a really fun dress for the evening!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 14, 2012
Fun Dress
Like other reviewers have noted, the dress runs a little small in the shoulders. I probably would have liked how the extra small fit in the body better, but my normal-sized shoulders were way to broad to dream about fitting in the XS. That being said, the small still looked gorgeous, I felt like a million dollars, and I got a ton of compliments.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
February 9, 2012
Gold Sequined Sheath
I was disappointed when I received the dress. I was looking forward to wearing it to a company's birthday party in NYC and ended up going with my back-up RTR dress (which was perfect). When I unzipped the garment bag, the sequins were already a bit too much for me. I thought the sequins would be a little more muted in color, but the name of the dress is an accurate description. It's a very gold dress. I wear a size 2 top and 4 bottom, so based off the product description and size chart I ordered an XS and S. I could barely fit the S over my head and, once I did get it on, it was not flattering at all. The dress fits more like a sheath than a shift. It was quite baggy on the side and tight in the shoulder and hip area. Overall, it didn't work for me, but still would be a great option for those with maybe a straight & narrow or petite frame.
See more reviews:
3 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×