Rent the Runway

Pencey

Fierce McJagger Dress

$60 rental
$325 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Take a twirl in this sexy yet feminine Pencey dress. All your girls will be impressed with this edgy LBD, show it off by wearing the Chamak by Priya Kakkar's Imperial Crystal Bangle Set.

Also available in cobalt.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-8.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes- cut outs expose upper waist-should be worn with a NuBra or no bra and fashion tape
WAIST: Fitted - full skirt conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt does not hug hips or backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra or no bra and fashion tape; dress has built-in boning in bodice
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'8''.)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-8.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes- cut outs expose upper waist-should be worn with a NuBra or no bra and fashion tape
WAIST: Fitted - full skirt conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt does not hug hips or backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra or no bra and fashion tape; dress has built-in boning in bodice
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'8''.)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black silk(100 % silk). V neckline. Ruched bodice with cut-outs. Full skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 35'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

159 reviews

Fit
Small 4
True to Size 66
Large 89
Photos 97
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 12, 2011

Great dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I got so many compliments on this dress. I usually wear a 6 but it was already rented, but the 4 fit perfectly. It was a little small in the chest so if you aren't comfortable showing skin there it might not be for you. I'm 5'4, 130lbs, 34C/32D
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 29, 2011

Beautiful but....

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress looks amazing in the picture. It is very light weight in person, amazing but.... it fits funny. The cutouts hit your body in weird areas so that you cannot wear a bra with it. It also drapes REALLY low on your chest so that even if you wore petals, or a only in front bra, you would still see it. If it would have fit correctly with a bra, I would have worn it. But because I'm a little chesty, it didn't work out. I'm still totally in love with it though!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 10, 2012

Great for a Night out...

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
But not appropriate for a formal affair. Rented this dress in addition to another for NYE, and ended up going with the other. I am usually a size 6 and based on other reviews that it ran big, ordered a size 4. It was a little loose in the ribs, making the side cut outs bigger than pictured and inappropriate for a classy affair. I have a very long torso and usually mini dresses are too short on me but this actually covered me up just fine. Would be great for a more casual party!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 5, 2012

loved it

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
it fits really big. I usually where a 2 and the 0 was a little loose. It was amazing though and everyone loved it.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 22, 2012

Sexy dress for Valentine's Day

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
This dress is a great mix of sexy and classy. I would agree with the other reviews that it runs large. The size 4 was still workable, but I would've preferred a smaller size if it had been in stock for a backup size.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 23, 2012

FITS VERY BIG

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I used the reviews of former renters to help my gauge what size to rent. I chose 2 and 4, given that my regular size is 2-4 usually. I have never in my life been a 0. However, I just tried on the size 2 for tomorrow's formal, and it is sadly too big. I would advise that you order a size or two down.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 11, 2012

Cute; Flattering; Comfortable

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I loved the dress because I love dresses that are fitted on top and more flowy/forgiving on the bottom. I still wore a black, strapped bra with the dress and it camouflaged perfectly fine. My only issue was that the size 2 was a tad too large. My backup size was a 4, so that was much too big.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 12, 2012

Cute dress but VERY skimpy

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I looked awful in this dress- it was extremely lightweight and not a lot of fabric. You have to be tan to make the cutouts look normal. Cute dress but I just could not wear it
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 21, 2012

Amazing dress.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was absolutely perfect. I wore it to a formal dance party and the fabric allows for movement and coverage. For me, it was a perfect dress. I have a very hourglass-y figure with a large, large bust and butt and it fir perfectly, which surprised me. The slits on the sides accentuated my hourglass shape while the seams up the bust line help my boobs in perfectly. My only problem was that the straps were really long, but that was nothing a few pins couldn't fix. I would highly recommend this dress and I'll probably rent it again.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160 lbs
May 30, 2012

Great Dress, But too short

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress definitely runs big, i'm a 10 but rented a 6 and 8 and the 6 fit well. My problem is I am 5'10 and the dress was far too short for me to wear out. Also, the fabric is very thin but since it's summer that wouldn't have been a problem. If it was a little bit longer it would have been perfect!!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Jun 20, 2012

....

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Let me begin by saying that I was extremely excited when the dress arrived. This company has wonderful customer service, and everything came on time. When I got the dress it was stunning and I couldn't have been more excited to wear it. However... I was not able to wear this dress due to the fit. 99.9% of the time I am a true size 0. There is no way this dress would have worked without alterations. It fit more like a size 4.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117 lbs
Jul 18, 2012

Very sexy but runs large

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress is beautiful, and I got a ton of compliments! My only negative is that it runs very large. I normally wear a 4, so I ordered a 2 and a 4, but I had to have a 0 sent for my event so that it fit. When it's too large, the panels on the side can slip down.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jul 21, 2012

Didn't FIT

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This runs large! I couldn't even wear the dress because it was way too large on me. My friend wore it, and it was even big on her, so I was a little upset about that, but because it was just for an after party it wasn't a big deal
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 1, 2012

Perfect little black dress.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was my first Rent the Runway experience and I couldn't have picked a better dress. I wore it out for a friend's bachelorette party and received so many compliments. I think it fit true to size, but if you have a smaller bust I can see how it might run large up top. You definitely cannot wear a standard strapless bra with this dress! I ended up not wearing a bra at all and even with a big bust the dress was supportive.The fabric is incredibly light and airy and the overall feel is incredible. I would rent this dress again in a heartbeat.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 2, 2012

GREAT going out dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This was a GREAT dress. It definitely definitely runs large so go down a size for sure. It's also very short so if you're tall, be careful. I only ordered one size and was nervous that I would still need my normal size, but was pleasantly surprised when it slipped right on. ALSO - straps are a little long so keep that in mind if you are petite.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112 lbs
Aug 7, 2012

Way to big on a small build!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Huge RTR fan but this one was a total miss for me, luckily I got 2 dresses for my birthday other one worked great! I was nervous getting a 0 because I normally wear a 2 but the 0 was wayyy to big! I am 5'3 and the dress was a lot longer than expected I also have a small frame and a larger bust so there was some serious under boob and then the cute open sides just fell off! I rent very often just want to give a heads up to the petite ladies this dress probably won't work for you =)
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
Aug 14, 2012

Fun party dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore this dress dancing for my bachelorette party. I felt great, loved the full skirt.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Aug 15, 2012

Fun and Flirty!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Though this dress definitely runs large..I loved dancing around in it. The side slits are subtly sexy.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 19, 2012

Great for Vegas

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this in Vegas for a bachelorette party and it was perfect. Definitely a little risque with the side slits, but perfect for sin city. In retrospect I should have worn the 4 (chose the 6 thinking it would give me room to breathe) but this dress should be tight fitting to keep everything in place. Not for large-chested girls, the top is tight.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 21, 2012

great dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
loved the dress; was great for people with a smaller bust because you really can't wear a bra with it. definitely showed more skin than I expected so it wouldn't be the best idea for a wedding or formal affair, but it was still cute and not trashy!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128 lbs
Aug 22, 2012

Loved but too big

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Vacation
I was very excited to wear this dress and read the reviews about how it ran bigger. That was an understatement. I was very baggy even with the size 0. I still ended up wearing it with some fashion tape because I didn't have another choice being on vacation in vegas. Other than the giant size, the dress was extremely comfortable and flirty. My husband loved it.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 22, 2012

Cute Dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I ordered this dress for my birthday dinner and it was a really cute style! The straps were a little big and I had to keep fixing them all night! Other than that it was really cute!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 31, 2012

Perfect for Vegas

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Vacation
The dress runs a bit big as I usually wear a 4. The cutouts are sexy and adorable and I was able to wear a regular black bra with the dress.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 10, 2012

fun dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
fit is great. Could wear a real bra with it (straps and all). lots of compliments.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122 lbs
Sep 10, 2012

Runs large

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress runs very large and double sided tape is a must. That said, it was cute and fun to wear, glad I ordered the size 0 for backup though!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160 lbs
Sep 17, 2012

Very slim top

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I ordered this dress thinking it would fit like the other Pencey version in orange; however this one was much smaller and skimpy on top. I wore a 6 in the orange, but the 6 of this one wouldn't even zip. Also, the fabric on the bust would not cover me. I'm only 34B and the cut outs showed the bottom of my breasts. I returned it.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Body type: Athletic
Sep 18, 2012

No one person walked by me without complimenting me on this fun and carefree little black dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I have a barely-even-there waist..the cut outs created a waist and made me feel very sexy. Loved it & so did all of my friends!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

Fit great, super comfortable!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great dress, runs pretty big so definitely order a smaller size!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

this was my back up dress, but ended up not wearing it.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
This dress was too big. Didn't fit me well at all, so ended up not wearing it. I usually wear a size 2 or 4. This dress was a 2 and still too big. Especially in the straps (if you're small chested like me, this is a problem). It was also large around this sides. I could have easily taken it in about 1.5 inches on each side.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I really wanted to wear this dress but the waist/top cut out part was WAY too big. I ordered the 0 after reading that it runs large and if I had more time I could have fashion taped it to make it fit but I was in a rush that night and sadly couldn't wear it :( it was such a pretty dress and made of great comfy, flowy material but ridiculously loose at the top
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 20, 2012

Super cute, flattering dress for a night out!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Loved this dress and got lots of compliments while wearing it! Definitely runs small so be sure to order a back up size. Only reason I didn't give 5 stars is that since it was big on me it was difficult to wear any type of bra and the cutouts didn't lay flat all night. Probably doesn't help I was dancing up a storm :)
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Sep 26, 2012

This dress was phenomenal! I wore it to my high school prom. Everyone loved it especially my date.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
It was true to size, the material and flowey-ness of the dress makes it easy and comfortable while still looking hott. Loved it!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Oct 3, 2012

OBSESSED

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I have rented this dress 3 times, and I am absolutely obsessed with it. The cut outs are very flattering, as is the flowy skirt. It definitely runs slightly large though, the 4 was perfect for me. Especially because the bust area needs to be fitted, since you cannot wear a bra. I used a little fashion tape on the sides of the bust area to make sure that the dress didn't move at all during the night.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 3, 2012

Dress was pretty but not easy to wear

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Fit pretty true to size. Wasn't knocked out with this dress.... Wearing a bra with this dress is almost impossible. :(
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Oct 4, 2012

Party dress to the max!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress was HUGE. I chatted with a stylist before ordering and they told me I would need a size 10... WRONG. I ordered a size 8 and it was still huge. I almost couldn't wear it, and didn't order a 6 because I figured it would be way too tight. I wish it fit a little bit snugger, but overall the dress was super pretty and I got tons of compliments on it.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 122 lbs
Oct 4, 2012

Dress was too big and I couldn't even wear it.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I usually wear a size 4 but after reading other reviews for this dress I ordered a 2 and 0 however the dress was still too big. The sides of the dress hung and didn't fit snug to my waist. There is boning in the dress and for some reason it was curved away from my body instead of with my body. Due to the boning being curved I couldn't not wear a bra because you would see through the side of the dress through to the bottom of my chest. I would not recommend this dress.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 8, 2012

Great, Fun, Party Dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore this Dress for my Bachelorette Party in Vegas! It was perfect! The cut-outs on the side added a sexy fun element to the dress! Received a TON of compliments! Would definitely wear this again! Ran true to size-and you could easily wear a bra with it! LOVE!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 9, 2012

Loved it. the sides were the best part

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit perfectly. Great to move around in and got a lot of compliments
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 15, 2012

Fun and flattering dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I got this dress as a backup for New Years but I ended up wearing the other one. This dress is a adorable and very flattering but it was just a little too revealing for the party I was attending. I normally wear a size 2 but they only had a 0 or 4 available when I rented it but the 0 ended up fitting well so I think it runs a little large. I would definitely rent it again for a vegas trip or bachelorette party.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×