Pencey

Fierce McJagger Dress

$60 rental
$325 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Take a twirl in this sexy yet feminine Pencey dress. All your girls will be impressed with this edgy LBD, show it off by wearing the Chamak by Priya Kakkar's Imperial Crystal Bangle Set.

Also available in cobalt.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-8.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes- cut outs expose upper waist-should be worn with a NuBra or no bra and fashion tape
WAIST: Fitted - full skirt conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt does not hug hips or backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra or no bra and fashion tape; dress has built-in boning in bodice
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'8''.)

Product Details

Black silk(100 % silk). V neckline. Ruched bodice with cut-outs. Full skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 35'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
160 reviews
Fit
Large
(89)
True to Size
(66)
Small
(4)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
March 4, 2012
All of the compliments I got!
I wore this for a sorority formal and felt great in it; got a ton of compliments!! But it is very revealing and you have to be comfortable with your waistline and be willing to readjust it throughout the night. I wish I would have thought to get a bib/statement necklace ahead of time because it needs it. It runs large in the best area but true to fit in the waistline.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 121lbs
May 20, 2012
Great service. I received many, many compliments throughout the night.
I rented this dress for my junior prom and loved it. It did run VERY large; I ordered a size 0 and 2, and ended up with the 0. However, the sides and cutouts were still quite noticeably large on me, but I used fashion tape to secure them in place. The straps were also quite long, so fashion tape was used to make sure that they didn't fall off. Overall a great looking dress and I'm very happy with it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
July 11, 2012
love the sexy, playful cut
I rented this dress for a trip to Vegas. I loved the slightly edgy vibe. While it certainly shows some skin on the sides, its long enough/loose enough in the bottom that it still feels classy. The only problem is that it runs slightly big overall, so the top hung very low. Overall the dress would have looked better on me if it were slightly more fitted. Definitely opt for the size down or order a back up size. I wore it with a Nubra.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103lbs
July 25, 2012
My teacher calling me sexy was hands down the best part about this dress experience.
I rented this for my Senior Prom because I'm too short for a long dress to look good. This dress arrived on time and was wonderful! Everyone loved the design and the slits in the sides. My teachers even told me I looked sexy. It was the perfect length and you can still dance in it. The straps were a little long though since I have no boobs so I had to pin them back.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 116lbs
July 28, 2012
Absolutely loved the cuts on the side; they make up for the dress being a little long!
This dress was perfect for my birthday LBD! Only thing i disliked was that the bust was a little big even with a padded bra! I had to use fashion tape to make sure I didn't show anything. Also, the sides where it's cut were big so they sagged (picture shows it). Just wish maybe they had a XS in the dress. Other than that, the dress was amazing!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
July 30, 2012
Having a fun dinner with my girls in Chicago in this easy, effortless, adorable dress.
Hands down literally the best dress I've ever rented from RTR and I've rented quite a few. It was effortless. Compliments from both my girl and guy friends! It could go from a party to formal affair, if wore right. It's short, but wearable. I can't say enough about this dress. I, honestly, think everyone should at LEAST rent this as a back up. It would work for any body type, which is rare. It hits at just the right area, very flattering. I am usually a size 10-12, and the 8 fit me so I would say it runs large.The only down side, is that it's very narrow in the top for me. If you have a bigger chest, I don't know if you'd be able to zip up. I'm very small on top, and it was a snug fit. No one else seemed to have this problem though, so go for it. RENT RENT RENT! I would buy this dress if they had a size 10...or the money ;D
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
August 10, 2012
Fun LBD!
I rented this for a bachelorette party and absolutely loved it. It was super comfortable and got a ton of compliments. The A-line shape of the skirt was very flattering and hit about mid-thigh.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 21, 2012
Feeling confident and amazing! Wish I could have kept the dress, it was killer!
I heard the bar girls say "Oh, the hot girls have arrived!" when I walked in wearing the dress :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 11, 2012
Easy going dress, fun to dance in!
runs a little big so I used the 0 instead of a 2. I LOVED IT THOUGH! So comfortable and works well with plenty of events!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
September 19, 2012
Fun, flirty option for a LBD bacheleorette party!
This dress was great. It was something a little bit different for a bacheleorette party of my sister's. The theme was LBD attire so it was nice to have something with a little bit of a flair other than just a plain black dress. The slits on the sides were a little bigger than I anticipated, but it was still OK. The bottom of the dress was super flattering and I loved the way the straps were twisted. It runs a little large, usually I wear a 2/4 depending on the dress, but I easily wore a 0 in this.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
October 18, 2012
Everything about the dress was perfect, feeling that good made that dance a million times better.
It fit perfectly.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
November 21, 2012
This dress way so cute!
The fit was perfect..it was not too long but not too short. It was simple yet different :) I am usually a size 2 but decided to get a size 0 and it fit me perfect! Def renting again...I love how they send me little freebies(double tape etc.) and how easy it was to rent. My new obsession!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 28, 2012
love love love this dress. felt fun and sexy. perfect for the celebration with my boyfriend! :)
I felt like it ran very small. i usually fit into 4 or even a small 6 but i ordered the 4 and the 2 with this dress and ended up wearing the 2 for our date.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
February 17, 2013
Lots of Compliments
I cannot wait to have an excuse to rent this dress again. The dress was very comfortable to wear and revealed just the right amount of skin to make the dress sexy without feeling like I was revealing too much or that the dress was not appropriate for my special occasion. I rented this dress for Valentine's day. My husband loved it and I received many compliments when we were out and about. The only con was the the dress had a small snag on the sheer paneling of one of the straps when it was delivered. Other than that, the dress was perfect.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
March 4, 2013
The moment I tried on the dress for the first time and fell in love with it.
This dress fit true to size, although I fit comfortably into both sizes that I ordered. It is gorgeous and easy to dance in! I got many compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
March 21, 2013
I wore this dress to my homecoming. It had great movement and the fabric was easy to breathe in !
My only complaint was i had to use some tape to tape the dress to my bra because my bra would show out the sides. The hem of the dress was perfect and straps were comfortable.
VaishaliMarch 23, 2013
Hey Katie! You look stunning, your date looks so cute, is his name Colby? He looks like a Colby...
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
April 18, 2013
Lots of compliments on this dress! It was sassy and unique.
Sizes run large, definitely go down a size. Hard to find a bra to fit underneath, I would go another direction if you are slender, but have a larger bust. Fabric does not stretch, but is still pretty comfortable. Overall a fun dress to wear!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 14, 2013
Sexy and comfortable!
I wore this dress for a trip to Vegas. Pros: super comfy, great for dancing, very sexy. Cons: I have a short torso, and the sleeves kept slipping off my shoulders. Plus, I could tell that the dress had been around the block. That said, it was fun to wear and overall the perfect vegas dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 28, 2014
Liked the style
The dress looked great on the hanger, however, didn't do much when I put it on. Definitely made to be worn without a bra. I gave that a shot but ultimately opted to wear my black strapless, I felt the dress both ran large and was stretched out from over use. The bottom of my bra did show because of the cut out style but thankfully not truly noticeable since I was in a dark club.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
January 10, 2012
Great for a Night out...
But not appropriate for a formal affair. Rented this dress in addition to another for NYE, and ended up going with the other. I am usually a size 6 and based on other reviews that it ran big, ordered a size 4. It was a little loose in the ribs, making the side cut outs bigger than pictured and inappropriate for a classy affair. I have a very long torso and usually mini dresses are too short on me but this actually covered me up just fine. Would be great for a more casual party!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
February 5, 2012
loved it
it fits really big. I usually where a 2 and the 0 was a little loose. It was amazing though and everyone loved it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
February 22, 2012
Sexy dress for Valentine's Day
This dress is a great mix of sexy and classy. I would agree with the other reviews that it runs large. The size 4 was still workable, but I would've preferred a smaller size if it had been in stock for a backup size.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
April 21, 2012
Amazing dress.
This dress was absolutely perfect. I wore it to a formal dance party and the fabric allows for movement and coverage. For me, it was a perfect dress. I have a very hourglass-y figure with a large, large bust and butt and it fir perfectly, which surprised me. The slits on the sides accentuated my hourglass shape while the seams up the bust line help my boobs in perfectly. My only problem was that the straps were really long, but that was nothing a few pins couldn't fix. I would highly recommend this dress and I'll probably rent it again.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
June 20, 2012
....
Let me begin by saying that I was extremely excited when the dress arrived. This company has wonderful customer service, and everything came on time. When I got the dress it was stunning and I couldn't have been more excited to wear it. However... I was not able to wear this dress due to the fit. 99.9% of the time I am a true size 0. There is no way this dress would have worked without alterations. It fit more like a size 4.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
August 1, 2012
Perfect little black dress.
This was my first Rent the Runway experience and I couldn't have picked a better dress. I wore it out for a friend's bachelorette party and received so many compliments. I think it fit true to size, but if you have a smaller bust I can see how it might run large up top. You definitely cannot wear a standard strapless bra with this dress! I ended up not wearing a bra at all and even with a big bust the dress was supportive.The fabric is incredibly light and airy and the overall feel is incredible. I would rent this dress again in a heartbeat.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
August 2, 2012
GREAT going out dress
This was a GREAT dress. It definitely definitely runs large so go down a size for sure. It's also very short so if you're tall, be careful. I only ordered one size and was nervous that I would still need my normal size, but was pleasantly surprised when it slipped right on. ALSO - straps are a little long so keep that in mind if you are petite.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112lbs
August 7, 2012
Way to big on a small build!
Huge RTR fan but this one was a total miss for me, luckily I got 2 dresses for my birthday other one worked great! I was nervous getting a 0 because I normally wear a 2 but the 0 was wayyy to big! I am 5'3 and the dress was a lot longer than expected I also have a small frame and a larger bust so there was some serious under boob and then the cute open sides just fell off! I rent very often just want to give a heads up to the petite ladies this dress probably won't work for you =)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
August 15, 2012
Fun and Flirty!
Though this dress definitely runs large..I loved dancing around in it. The side slits are subtly sexy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
August 19, 2012
Great for Vegas
I wore this in Vegas for a bachelorette party and it was perfect. Definitely a little risque with the side slits, but perfect for sin city. In retrospect I should have worn the 4 (chose the 6 thinking it would give me room to breathe) but this dress should be tight fitting to keep everything in place. Not for large-chested girls, the top is tight.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
October 4, 2012
Party dress to the max!
This dress was HUGE. I chatted with a stylist before ordering and they told me I would need a size 10... WRONG. I ordered a size 8 and it was still huge. I almost couldn't wear it, and didn't order a 6 because I figured it would be way too tight. I wish it fit a little bit snugger, but overall the dress was super pretty and I got tons of compliments on it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 24, 2012
Sexy, fun LBD. Perfect for night out dancing.
The dress ran VERY large (I am generally between a 4 and a 6 and a 2 was slightly loose on me). I don't think this dress would work for very petite women. The lightness of the fabric made the dress fun to dance in, but it seemed somewhat cheap and I noticed several pulls or places where it looked like the dress had been stitched. I was not able to wear a bra with the dress due to the placement of the cut outs and low neckline. However, the dress kept everything in place--no wardrobe malfunctions.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
November 19, 2012
All the compliments I received
AMAZING DRESS!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
December 7, 2012
Great fit and really flattering!
Fit great! Perfect dress for Vegas
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
December 18, 2012
This is a beautiful dress, but runs very large
I ordered a 0 and a 2, and neither dress fit. I loved the side slits, but it hung off my body. also it was longer than I expected. I would order a size or two down for this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
June 14, 2013
I love this dress but it did not work for me!
This dress may not be best if you're a shorter girl. My torso was not long enough to compliment the cut outs and on me, the dress was a wardrobe malfunction w5'aiting to happen. However, my taller friend who's about 5'6" tried this dress on and it looked great on her.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
July 20, 2013
Gorgeous
I loved renting this dress for my high school homecoming. The length was perfect with my five inch heels. My only complaint was that because of my larger bust I felt self concious about showing "side boob" because of the side openings. I did not wear a bra with it and felt very comfortable. Loved this dress!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
August 3, 2013
It fit perfectly and it made me feel gorgeous on homecoming night!
I was able to wear a bra with it which made me feel more comfortable and I loved how flowy the dress was when I was dancing.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
September 11, 2013
perfect birthday party dress!
be careful with your bra, it might show
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
September 25, 2013
fabulous! simple, but has pizzaz!
Fit perfectly... I have a bigger chest and was worried it might be too tight but it fit amazingly!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
December 7, 2013
Hot dress!
I wore this dress for my bachelorette in Vegas and loved it! The dress runs large as it appeared to be slightly stretched.
See more reviews:
4 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×