Pencey

Fierce McJagger Dress

$60 rental
$325 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Take a twirl in this sexy yet feminine Pencey dress. All your girls will be impressed with this edgy LBD, show it off by wearing the Chamak by Priya Kakkar's Imperial Crystal Bangle Set.

Also available in cobalt.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-8.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes- cut outs expose upper waist-should be worn with a NuBra or no bra and fashion tape
WAIST: Fitted - full skirt conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt does not hug hips or backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra or no bra and fashion tape; dress has built-in boning in bodice
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'8''.)

Product Details

Black silk(100 % silk). V neckline. Ruched bodice with cut-outs. Full skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 35'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
160 reviews
Fit
Large
(89)
True to Size
(67)
Small
(4)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 18, 2012
Sexy LBD!
Love love loved this dress! Only reason I didn't give this dress 5 stars was because I don't think it's for women with a large bust. I bought a nubra to wear and it didn't work so I ended up just wearing one of my strapless bras that showed a little through the cut outs on the dress but hardly noticeable. Other than that, no complaints! Men really love this dress!! So many compliments! Thanks RTR <3
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 27
November 19, 2012
Loved the cutouts on the side.
a lit big but that was expected. Im somewhere in between sizes and my cleavage isnt as big as would probably be needed.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
December 3, 2012
Can't wait to try RTR again!
My first rental with RTR and it was a good experience overall but unfortunately the dress did not work out...the cut outs on the side are pretty big and actually exposed my under-boob which made it inappropriate for my husband's company holiday party!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 7, 2012
I received so many genuine compliments from TONS of people! It's so slimming!
This is perfect for an hour glass shaped body (such as mine) because it's slimming in all of the right places. I had to size up because I have a large bust and the slits in the dress are very high up. I ended up having to pin the dress together a little bit to hide my bra.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 8, 2012
It looked amazing!!!!!
Beautiful dress fit beautiful and I got compliments all night, only problem was I am very big busted DD so my bra was peaking out of the top cutout but I wore a black bra and nobody noticed except for me. Its probably ideal for a woman with an A or B cup size bust. Other than that this dress looked amazing!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
December 14, 2012
Hot but revealing
There is no way a woman with a cup size of C or bigger can wear this as is. The bottom cut outs are fine, but that top ones gave me under and side boob. Not so attractive. What I did was wear a bandeau bra with it, effectively covering up the top cutouts entirely. When I did that it actually looked really really cute.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
December 21, 2012
This dress was stunning and made my birthday night even better!
Absolutely loved this dress! It was my back up but I ended up wearing it out for my birthday. It looked a little stretched at the seams in front and there was a plastic piece of the corset that stuck out but was easy to push back in. You'll definitely need double sided tape if you have a bigger chest like I do, but I was getting compliments all night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
February 18, 2013
LOVE THIS DRESS
Perfect dress for any party. It fit perfectly and the cut outs weren't too revealing. I ended up wearing the 8 for my chest.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
February 23, 2013
This dress was perfect for my soirée! It was comfortable and beautiful yet simple!
This dress was true to size. It fit great and my only problem was hiding my bra in the back. It has a low cut so I recommend getting a backless bra to wear with this.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
March 8, 2013
Perfect for dancing
Great for homecoming! sheer coming out of the box, but it isnt sheer on the body
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
October 1, 2012
Amazing dancing dress for a night out with the Girls.
It fit great. I am 5'3" 110lbs. This dress was a show stopper all night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117lbs
October 27, 2012
Loved! I paired my own necklace with it.
Great fit. Had to wear a bra with almost no padding.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
March 19, 2013
great birthday dress
at first i was worried because the reviews were saying that it ran a little big. i usually fit between a 0-2, and i ordered the 0 which fit me just right. i definitely recommend it
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
April 2, 2013
Most spectacular dress - perfect for my 21st
RTR sent me two sizes, I went with the 2 and wore the Black "Braza" strapless/backless adhesive bra. The dress was so comfortable, and in spite of being cliche, I have to say: I never wanted to take it off. Felt so fantastic dancing with my friends at Ajna.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
April 26, 2013
Great dress for a night in Vegas
I would 100% rent this dress again. I rented it for a night in Vegas with my friends...we just went to a club but I didn't really have anything clubby enough and thought this would be great for it. I'm typically an 8 and 10 renter and it's a toss up which one I can wear depending on the style, but since the largest available size was 8, I just rented 6 and 8 but ended up wearing the 8. I could see how people could say this dress runs big, but the 8 was actually perfect on me and I didn't think it really ran big at all. If you have a larger chest, I would probably say this dress runs more true to size. I received a ton of compliments on this and would definitely recommend it to anyone!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
May 10, 2013
Fun dress!
The dress was very cute, but it was way too short. I was unable to wear it due to the length.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
June 18, 2013
This was a great dress and super comfortable!
The dress was a little short on me because I am 5'10" however it was ok (I just had to be careful not to bend down). I ordered a 4 and a 6 and the 4 was so stretched out that the 6 was actually smaller. I ended up wearing the 6 and it fit nicely. Thankfully I had both dresses.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
July 1, 2013
Super fun, flirty, HOT dress!!
This dress was perfect for my high school homecoming. I had to wear cups instead of a real bra because of the slits, and the only real problem was that you could see the straps for the dress to hang on a hanger through the cutouts. Some hem tape fixed that though. Overall, good length for taller girls, I loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
July 3, 2013
Beyonce Picks were a HIT!
This dress was straight from the Beyonce collection, I wore this piece prior to the concert around town in Las Vegas. This dress fits comfortably, but probably isn't for larger busted women, It held my breasts in, but I could tell the dress was made for small busted women, other than that it showed just the right amount on the sides, and was very cute.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
July 29, 2013
HOT, FLATTERING, & COMFORTABLE!
AMAZING dress... it's hot yet appropriate. I got so many compliments. I love how the cut outs on the side hit in the right places... flattering. I also loved the forgiving waistline... PERFECT dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
August 19, 2013
Perfect for my bachelorette!
I rented this for my bachelorette. We did a "wild" animal print theme so I paired it with animal print shoes and a fun necklace. The side slits weren't too revealing and I thought the dress was actually flattering. I'm a pretty average sized girl and was worried because most of the reviews were by girls sizes 0 or 2, but I really do think it works on almost anyone as long as you are ok with your upper body/ribs showing. The looser bottom half of the dress is great for dancing. You can't wear a bra with this dress, but that wasn't an issue at all. The top has boning it in so it stays up, plus, there's barely room for a bra anyway. I listened to the reviews and ordered a size smaller than normal and it fit perfectly except for the boob area, but hey, it's a bachelorette. It is definitely a fun party dress! If you are thinking about renting it, just do it! Overall, great experience from RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
September 14, 2013
Got compliments all night on the dress
Loved it, fit true to size, it gave enough so there weren't any bulges, and it was a hit! It showed skin and was still classy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
November 12, 2013
Not the greatest...
I ordered this dress for a bachelorette party in Palm Beach and was highly disappointed. The straps were so loose and the only way I would have been able to wear it was 1. If it were a size 2 or if I had saftey pinned the straps. Not as sexy on as it looks in the picture.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
December 8, 2013
Absolutely loved this. I'm 5'9" and it was the perfect length: short but not ridiculous.
Need nu-bra or sticky bra. I didnt need tape or anything to keep it in place. A strapless definitely won't work. The dress is flowy in hips, which means you can go down a size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
January 15, 2014
Cut outs are amazing. Cute to dress up or down. Very comfortable.
Material is a little light weight, so I would probably recommend only for spring/summer.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
September 10, 2014
Birthday dinner in Miami
Very cute!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113lbs
August 28, 2013
beautiful dress! great fit...looked really nice love rtr cant wait to rent again
beautiful dress! great fit...looked really nice
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
August 10, 2012
Fun LBD!
I rented this for a bachelorette party and absolutely loved it. It was super comfortable and got a ton of compliments. The A-line shape of the skirt was very flattering and hit about mid-thigh.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
October 18, 2012
Everything about the dress was perfect, feeling that good made that dance a million times better.
It fit perfectly.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
November 21, 2012
This dress way so cute!
The fit was perfect..it was not too long but not too short. It was simple yet different :) I am usually a size 2 but decided to get a size 0 and it fit me perfect! Def renting again...I love how they send me little freebies(double tape etc.) and how easy it was to rent. My new obsession!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
February 17, 2013
Lots of Compliments
I cannot wait to have an excuse to rent this dress again. The dress was very comfortable to wear and revealed just the right amount of skin to make the dress sexy without feeling like I was revealing too much or that the dress was not appropriate for my special occasion. I rented this dress for Valentine's day. My husband loved it and I received many compliments when we were out and about. The only con was the the dress had a small snag on the sheer paneling of one of the straps when it was delivered. Other than that, the dress was perfect.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
March 4, 2013
The moment I tried on the dress for the first time and fell in love with it.
This dress fit true to size, although I fit comfortably into both sizes that I ordered. It is gorgeous and easy to dance in! I got many compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
March 21, 2013
I wore this dress to my homecoming. It had great movement and the fabric was easy to breathe in !
My only complaint was i had to use some tape to tape the dress to my bra because my bra would show out the sides. The hem of the dress was perfect and straps were comfortable.
VaishaliMarch 23, 2013
Hey Katie! You look stunning, your date looks so cute, is his name Colby? He looks like a Colby...
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
April 21, 2012
Amazing dress.
This dress was absolutely perfect. I wore it to a formal dance party and the fabric allows for movement and coverage. For me, it was a perfect dress. I have a very hourglass-y figure with a large, large bust and butt and it fir perfectly, which surprised me. The slits on the sides accentuated my hourglass shape while the seams up the bust line help my boobs in perfectly. My only problem was that the straps were really long, but that was nothing a few pins couldn't fix. I would highly recommend this dress and I'll probably rent it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
August 1, 2012
Perfect little black dress.
This was my first Rent the Runway experience and I couldn't have picked a better dress. I wore it out for a friend's bachelorette party and received so many compliments. I think it fit true to size, but if you have a smaller bust I can see how it might run large up top. You definitely cannot wear a standard strapless bra with this dress! I ended up not wearing a bra at all and even with a big bust the dress was supportive.The fabric is incredibly light and airy and the overall feel is incredible. I would rent this dress again in a heartbeat.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
August 19, 2012
Great for Vegas
I wore this in Vegas for a bachelorette party and it was perfect. Definitely a little risque with the side slits, but perfect for sin city. In retrospect I should have worn the 4 (chose the 6 thinking it would give me room to breathe) but this dress should be tight fitting to keep everything in place. Not for large-chested girls, the top is tight.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
December 7, 2012
Great fit and really flattering!
Fit great! Perfect dress for Vegas
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
July 20, 2013
Gorgeous
I loved renting this dress for my high school homecoming. The length was perfect with my five inch heels. My only complaint was that because of my larger bust I felt self concious about showing "side boob" because of the side openings. I did not wear a bra with it and felt very comfortable. Loved this dress!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
August 3, 2013
It fit perfectly and it made me feel gorgeous on homecoming night!
I was able to wear a bra with it which made me feel more comfortable and I loved how flowy the dress was when I was dancing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
September 25, 2013
fabulous! simple, but has pizzaz!
Fit perfectly... I have a bigger chest and was worried it might be too tight but it fit amazingly!
See more reviews:
4 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×