Pencey

Butterfly Kisses Dress

$113 to buy
$375 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Take a twirl in this sexy yet feminine Pencey dress. All your girlfriends will want to copy your flirty style to have that in style Spring look. Shown here with the Lulu Frost's Silver Drift Cuff.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-8.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes- cut outs expose upper waist-should be worn with a NuBra or no bra and fashion tape
WAIST: Fitted - full skirt conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt does not hug hips or backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra or no bra and fashion tape; dress has built-in boning in bodice
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9''.)

Product Details

Printed silk (100 % silk). V neckline. Ruched bodice with cut-outs. Full skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 35'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
97 reviews
Fit
Large
(65)
True to Size
(28)
Small
(4)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128lbs
May 12, 2014
Love this dress - sweet and cute, but not overly so because of cut outs.
I ordered a size 2 and 4. The size 2 was a bit short (waist line hit above my waist since my torso is long), but it hid my bra better. The size 4, overall fit better, but I had to tug the dress a few times to conceal my bra from peeking out of the cut outs. Regardless, none of this was problematic. I loved the dress. I like the subtle style of it, except for the cut outs, which added just enough flare/edge/attention, and it was very light and comfortable.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
May 14, 2014
loved it
had a little trouble finding the right bra to wear with it-- ended up using a strapless and some fashion tape. Worked out fine.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
May 15, 2014
I'm short waisted and the bodice was too long and the skirt ballooned out in a very unflattering wa
Runs large!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
May 25, 2014
Perfect for a Sunday garden wedding
Pros: it has pockets!! It was cute, light, and fit the occasion perfectly Cons: it runs HUGE, and the first cut out showed a little bit of underboob on me! Overall, I liked it, got compliments, and it was super comfy
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
June 8, 2014
Great fit; lots of compliments!
Wore this to a wedding. I'm only 5'2", and even with heels, the slits weren't too revealing.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
June 12, 2014
Perfect dress for a hot August day on the East Coast!!
Both sizes fit comfortable but given the location of the cut outs the smaller size did a better job of hiding certain body parts. I definitely would rent this again and this dress led to at least 2 other friends renting from RTR now.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 114lbs
July 14, 2014
A lot of fun, loved the cut-outs!
The dress was loose. I had to pin the fabric above the cut-outs to my bra. But it was super cute once I got it pinned.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
July 17, 2014
Lightweight, flowy and subtly sexy
This was another WIN for RTR! The dress definitely runs large. I usually wear a 4. I could have worn a 0. The 2 fit great in my waist but the chest area was a bit loose at the top, exposing my chest if I bent down, so I recommend fashion tape. I wore a Nu Bra with it since you cannot wear a regular bra due to the cut outs. It was a very comfortable dress to wear all night, lightweight and gave a sexy feel without feeling vampy, which made it wedding appropriate. I'm 5'2" and it was a good length, so if you are on the taller side, I'd be cautious.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
September 7, 2014
This dress was so fun to wear!
I usually wear a size 6, the size 4 fit much better. The dress just needed a little fashion tape and I wore a strapless bra without anything showing. It was super comfortable and easy to move it. I wish the color would have been more vibrant- it seemed a bit worn and faded.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
September 11, 2014
Great dress for a summer date!
Loved this dress! Neat design. Goes great with gold jewelry!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 3, 2012
beautiful dress
I wore this dress for my boyfriend's fraternity formal. It was beautiful and I got a lot of compliments. SIZE DOWN FOR THE BACKUP! I am almost always a size 2 so it's a good thing i ordered a 0 also, because even the 0 was a tiny bit big. It is extremely difficult to wear a bra with this dress because of the cutouts. Even the stick-on nubra showed a little bit. However I am fairly large on top for my size and though I was a little nervous about it I made it through the night without a nip slip or any problems. I'm on the shorter side so it was a bit longer on me than I hoped but it still looked great. It's not exactly what I would call modest, as it's pretty low cut in addition to the cut-outs, but I loved it.
tessMay 7, 2012
im 5'2 and weigh 100 lbs usually wear a 0 or p you seem to be closest to my size do you think this dress would sit alrite?
RTRMay 9, 2012
Hi Tess, this dress runs large in the bust so if you have a smaller cup size we wouldn't recommend this style. The length would be mini to mid-thigh on your height!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 15, 2012
Cut outs are tricky to wear
Beautiful dress but the cut outs can be tricky. The risk of a "fashion malfuction" is high. Remember to get an strapless bra or petals with this dress. May not work for bustier women for this reason.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106lbs
April 30, 2012
Don't pass up...
If you are looking for daytime chic, this is a dress that lives up to that statement. The dress even has pockets. Perfect for those things you should stow away like lipstick, or great for holding your dress from blowing up and away on a windy day. The highest cut out is not thought out well. You should invest in double siticky tape to hide your bra. I wasn't disappointed at all.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 15, 2012
Good...But A Little Off
After a bit of a mess of getting my dress (I think this was a problem on the Fed-Ex side, not RTR, they were super helpful - THANKS) I wore it out to a graduation dinner. Everyone complimented it and said it looked nice, but I think it could've been a lot better. As mentioned in some of the other reviews, it tends to run large, so throughout the night, I was constantly pulling it down. In retrospect, I DEFINITELY would've sized down. The cut-outs are cute and the fabric/pattern is great, but the overall fit was "meh." Also, IF YOU ARE BIGGER BUSTED, DO NOT RENT THIS DRESS - there will most definitely be a nip-slip because of the placement of the cut-outs.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
May 15, 2012
Adorable dress!
I loved the silhouette and it was beyond comfortable. The side cutouts add a little bit of sexiness to an otherwise feminine dress. I usually wear a 4, so I would suggest ordering a size smaller than you normally wear. I only have one complaint, and that is it is impossible to wear a normal bra. If you are small-chested, you should get a backless bra or adhesive inserts if you want to fill the top out. Otherwise, I really did love the dress and received a lot of compliments.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 21, 2012
Perfection!
I rented this dress for a friends wedding and loved it! This was my first rental from RTR and I am hooked! Not only was the dress beautiful, the fit was phenominal and the reviews from the other gals were extremely helpful! Yes the dress runs large and the side cut outs could show potential "underboobage" but nothing a little fashion tape couldnt fix! Thanks RTR...i will def. spread the word!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 54
Body type: Petite
Weight: 122lbs
June 15, 2012
OK.....
This dress is very cute but does run large, I ordered the 0 and 2 and the 0 did fit a little better but where the top was tight fitted the waist basically hung off of me. Didn't wear, I returned it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 110lbs
June 22, 2012
Beautiful and Comfortable
I wore this dress to a friend's wedding and received many compliments. It was very comfortable (has pockets!) and feminine. Definitely runs large... even the zero was a little bit large in parts on me. You can wear a bra with the dress, but you DEFINITELY need double-sided tape. After applying the tape, I had no problems with slippage/peekage all night. Sorry for the unclear photo, but I thought maybe it would be helpful!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 23, 2012
Love! Feminine, Sassy
Rented for a college fraternity formal on a boat. Silky fabric was definitely formal enough, but the side cutouts made it a little flirty, perfect for the event. The cutouts are small and subtle though, and the neckline is not as low-cut as it looks in the photo; so if you want something super sexy, this is not the right dress for you. Runs a bit large, as reviewers have said. I went one size down for my backup size, and it fit perfectly (normally I wear a 6, but the 4 was better). The straps show off toned shoulders and arms, the ruched torso emphasizes a small waist, and the full skirt hides wide hips or large thighs. Fabric is thin and light, kept me cool despite 80+ degree heat at the beginning of the evening. Length was long enough that I didn't need to worry about bending over, but short enough to be sassy & classified as "mini". The twists on the straps become a little untwisted over time, but just a little and you can easily twirl them back.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
June 25, 2012
could have fit better
dress ran large and the wiring in the bust stuck out farther than the rest of the dress. The style was cute though so I was disappointed that the fitting didn't work out.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
July 11, 2012
If only it fit...
I booked this dress for my summer college graduation. Super feminine, flirty and family appropriate with a blazer thrown on. I loved the pockets and cutouts BUT even the 0 was too big around the waist and bust. You can wear a bra with fashion tape to keep everything in place but I had a few scares during the day. I would rent this dress again if it came in a 00 or 000!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
July 23, 2012
Too big!
I loved the look, fabric, and flounce of this dress. Unfortunately, the fit was terrible. The cut-outs hung loosely, the bra section was too big, and the skirt too full for my hips. My co-worker rented this and looked amazing wearing it. She is 5'8 though. I think this dress fits taller girls much better. She also said she would have gone down as size though (ordered a 4, should have ordered 2).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 10, 2012
Feeling confident in a great dress made me feel confident to bet on my favorite horses at the horse races!
This dress is such a cute day time look. It was perfect for a sunny day at the horse races! The sides were loose but I don't think they were made to be skin tight. I definitely found it well fitting.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
August 14, 2012
Just what I wanted!
This dressed looked stunning on! The pattern and cut were elegant and just what I wanted for a wedding. I recieved tons of compliments all day! The slits aren't very noticeable on the side, not too risque in any fashion. It did require an adhesive bra (the kind with no straps) and some double sided tape, but that didn't take away from the comfort or style at all! Also it runs large, I could have even gone with a zero but the 2 was fine
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
August 16, 2012
Fun and Flirty
I got so many compliments on this dress. I loved the fit. The cutouts on the side make in sexy and flirty but the mid thigh length makes it dressy enough for a wedding. I wore this with a strapless bra
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Body type: Athletic
August 20, 2012
Cute and Sexy
I rented this for a sorority formal and it fit perfectly! The dress itself it super cute and the cutouts give it a little edge, which I loved! The only tricky part was the bra situation. My strapless bra kept sneaking out, but double-sided tape definitely helped!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
August 20, 2012
Ordered as backup dress
This fit well, but I found the cut to be pretty unflattering on my body so I ended up not wearing it. I'm a pretty solid size 6 in most dresses, but the 4 fit me really well, so it definitely runs large. I have a wider torso and rib cage, and the cutouts were just not in a good place. I think this dress probably looks best on petites.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
August 28, 2012
I've never been told so many times how LITTLE I looked! This made me feel amazing.
I love to dress up, and this is the perfect dress to rent if you're looking to try cut-outs. I don't usually wear tight dresses with cut-outs so this was a perfect balance in between scandalous and tight on the top, with an A-line skirt that was very flattering.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
August 30, 2012
Cute but YES SIZE DOWN
Beautiful fabric (more navy blue). Had rented another dress so ended up wearing that one instead. Other users suggest you should go down a size, they are correct. I am normally a 6 and should have gotten a 4. Would have given this a higher score had it worked.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
September 4, 2012
Loved!
I loved, loved, loved this dress, but did not end up wearing it. I had rented it for an outdoor country wedding and felt like it was just a little too much. However, it fit awesome! I had read about some people having issues with the cutouts, but it fit like a glove!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
September 11, 2012
Adorable but runs big
I normally wear between size 0-4 depending on the type of dress. I rented a 2 since it runs big, but I definitely could have used a 0.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 17, 2012
Too baggy...
I just wish this had not been so baggy on me!! I really liked the dress and thought it was fun but the slits on the side were gaping open and I would not have been able to comfortably wear the dress the whole night. Also the skirt was very full and seemed like too much fabric so it was not very flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102lbs
September 17, 2012
Cute dress but didn't work for me
I love the pattern and the style but unfortunately it was too big on me. I am very petite and the 0 was huge on me. I think the dress would work for those with a larger chest because I just couldn't fill it out! Very disappointed since I didn't have a back-up for the occasion I ordered it for.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
September 19, 2012
I got so many compliments and the cut-outs made it cute and sexy but not over-the-top!
Great fit! I got the four just in case but the smaller size was better- I didn't have to worry about falling out- which is good since I had to go sans bra! I'm about 34C so I was concerned about that but didn't have any problems with the girls ;)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 21, 2012
Loved it!
This dress was sweet and sexy all in one! I was nervous about the cut outs and an accidental wardrobe slip, but all went well. I'm tall so I wore the 4 to make it long enough...the 2 was way too short. Very fun dress :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 180lbs
September 23, 2012
Cute and a good fit!
I ordered the 4 and the 2 but the 2 fit perfectly, so size down. The length was perfect for me and worked on top with the side cut-outs, I didn't have to worry about it at all the entire night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
September 26, 2012
Comfy and Chic
I wore this dress for a friend's bday dinner/night out. It's very comfy, though the dress ran a tad big. RTR as always has great customer service and I actually fell in love with the dress from trying it on at their showroom in NYC.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 26, 2012
Loved this dress!!!
I am usually a size 4 in dresses so I rented a size 4 and size 2 since so many of the reviewers have commented on how large it runs. I ended up wearing the size 2 and probably could have gone down to a size 0. The dress was a success and I will definitely use Rent the Runway again:)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
October 2, 2012
This Dress was perfect!
Just was I was looking for, for a fun Saturaday night event. I got a number of compliments on the dress and people loved the fun cutouts on the side.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
October 10, 2012
Favorite dress I've ever worn!
The cutouts aren't too scandalous at all and didn't squeeze. I've never worn cutouts so I was worried, but this dress was amazing and I felt confident in it! Perfect length for us shorter girls!!!
See more reviews:
1 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×