Pencey

Butterfly Kisses Dress

$45 rental
$375 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Take a twirl in this sexy yet feminine Pencey dress. All your girlfriends will want to copy your flirty style to have that in style Spring look. Shown here with the Lulu Frost's Silver Drift Cuff.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-8.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes- cut outs expose upper waist-should be worn with a NuBra or no bra and fashion tape
WAIST: Fitted - full skirt conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt does not hug hips or backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra or no bra and fashion tape; dress has built-in boning in bodice
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9''.)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-8.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes- cut outs expose upper waist-should be worn with a NuBra or no bra and fashion tape
WAIST: Fitted - full skirt conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt does not hug hips or backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra or no bra and fashion tape; dress has built-in boning in bodice
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9''.)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Printed silk (100 % silk). V neckline. Ruched bodice with cut-outs. Full skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 35'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

93 reviews

Fit
Small 3
True to Size 27
Large 63
Photos 53
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132 lbs
Jun 17, 2012

I was told by a complete stranger that it was the best dress of the night!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for an outdoor, spring wedding in the Vermont mountains. I received a large number of compliments from my husband, friends, and strangers! I felt really great in it. The mix of the feminine design and skirt complemented well with the sexier cutouts. As the other reviews mention, the dress runs large. I went with my backup size which was a size lower than what I typically wear. My only issue with the dress is that the size of cutouts were larger than they appear in the picture. After a bit of trial and error, I was able to make the dress work. You absolutely need double-sided tape. I often can get away without wearing a bra with dresses and sometimes shirts, but this dress you need the support as to avoid any unwanted popouts or side-boob! Had I not needed to spend quite some time working out the fit, I would have given it 5 stars.
Courtney
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Jul 23, 2012

Too big!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I loved the look, fabric, and flounce of this dress. Unfortunately, the fit was terrible. The cut-outs hung loosely, the bra section was too big, and the skirt too full for my hips. My co-worker rented this and looked amazing wearing it. She is 5'8 though. I think this dress fits taller girls much better. She also said she would have gone down as size though (ordered a 4, should have ordered 2).
Chandler
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Aug 10, 2012

Feeling confident in a great dress made me feel confident to bet on my favorite horses at the horse races!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress is such a cute day time look. It was perfect for a sunny day at the horse races! The sides were loose but I don't think they were made to be skin tight. I definitely found it well fitting.
Meghan
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Aug 12, 2012

Didn't want to give it back

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
Wore the dress with boots to a country concert. I felt great and got a ton of compliments!
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 14, 2012

Cut-outs didn't work out

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
the dress was very cute, however the cut-out are poorly designed as the top cut out is too high making it impossible to wear a strapless bra without it being seen and no bra reveals too much side boob for the liking.
Louisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 14, 2012

beautiful dress!!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this for a fraternity formal in the spring and it was perfect! Kind of tricky to hide your bra, but get some double-sided tape and you'll be fine!
fashionaddict
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 14, 2012

Just what I wanted!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dressed looked stunning on! The pattern and cut were elegant and just what I wanted for a wedding. I recieved tons of compliments all day! The slits aren't very noticeable on the side, not too risque in any fashion. It did require an adhesive bra (the kind with no straps) and some double sided tape, but that didn't take away from the comfort or style at all! Also it runs large, I could have even gone with a zero but the 2 was fine
JL
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Aug 20, 2012

Ordered as backup dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This fit well, but I found the cut to be pretty unflattering on my body so I ended up not wearing it. I'm a pretty solid size 6 in most dresses, but the 4 fit me really well, so it definitely runs large. I have a wider torso and rib cage, and the cutouts were just not in a good place. I think this dress probably looks best on petites.
Lee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 30, 2012

Cute but YES SIZE DOWN

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Beautiful fabric (more navy blue). Had rented another dress so ended up wearing that one instead. Other users suggest you should go down a size, they are correct. I am normally a 6 and should have gotten a 4. Would have given this a higher score had it worked.
Samantha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 131 lbs
Sep 4, 2012

Loved!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved, loved, loved this dress, but did not end up wearing it. I had rented it for an outdoor country wedding and felt like it was just a little too much. However, it fit awesome! I had read about some people having issues with the cutouts, but it fit like a glove!
Genevieve
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 11, 2012

Adorable but runs big

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I normally wear between size 0-4 depending on the type of dress. I rented a 2 since it runs big, but I definitely could have used a 0.
Sydney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 17, 2012

Too baggy...

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I just wish this had not been so baggy on me!! I really liked the dress and thought it was fun but the slits on the side were gaping open and I would not have been able to comfortably wear the dress the whole night. Also the skirt was very full and seemed like too much fabric so it was not very flattering.
Christina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102 lbs
Sep 17, 2012

Cute dress but didn't work for me

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I love the pattern and the style but unfortunately it was too big on me. I am very petite and the 0 was huge on me. I think the dress would work for those with a larger chest because I just couldn't fill it out! Very disappointed since I didn't have a back-up for the occasion I ordered it for.
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 21, 2012

Loved it!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress was sweet and sexy all in one! I was nervous about the cut outs and an accidental wardrobe slip, but all went well. I'm tall so I wore the 4 to make it long enough...the 2 was way too short. Very fun dress :)
Patricia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 180 lbs
Sep 23, 2012

Cute and a good fit!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I ordered the 4 and the 2 but the 2 fit perfectly, so size down. The length was perfect for me and worked on top with the side cut-outs, I didn't have to worry about it at all the entire night!
Kris
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118 lbs
Oct 1, 2012

This dress is perfect for a date night! Cute, romantic, and the cut-outs make it sexy!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
I wore this dress for a date night because I was sick of my same-old outfits. It was perfect. The floral pattern make it romantic and feminine and the cut outs are a nice surprise that throw in a little bit of sexiness. I wore it with a bright yellow short-sleeved cardigan when it got cold at night. I'd recommend for anyone who wants to play up their feminine side for a nice date or brunch. Only thing I'd say that was a bit frustrating was that the bodice/top part of the dress was a little roomy...
Rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 2, 2012

This Dress was perfect!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Just was I was looking for, for a fun Saturaday night event. I got a number of compliments on the dress and people loved the fun cutouts on the side.
Cameron
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 10, 2012

Favorite dress I've ever worn!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The cutouts aren't too scandalous at all and didn't squeeze. I've never worn cutouts so I was worried, but this dress was amazing and I felt confident in it! Perfect length for us shorter girls!!!
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Nov 12, 2012

Wore this dress as I ran a RTR Trunk Show on my campus and it was HUGE hit!!!!!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
The dress ran big in the torso area. It was still wearable and it looked great on! Got a lot of compliments. I would definitely suggest getting this dress a size down and if you are a 0 like myself be ready that you may have to tuck or pin in certain areas.
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Nov 16, 2012

A perfect party or weekend dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The look of this dress is adorable, however it ran a bit big on top for me. I'm pretty small on top, so if you are too, I'd definitely wear a push-up bra or something like that. The dress may also show some bra, but it's not too big of a deal. All in all, it was very cute!
Kim P
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 8, 2013

Great dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It fit really great and was very comfortable. The back was really sexy but still trendy enough to wear to a work fundraiser/function.
Meredith
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 23, 2013

LOVED IT.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Only problem I had with the dress was the slits along the sides. But with a little fashion tape it worked out very nicely, got a lot of compliments on it! THanks!
Madison
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 15, 2013

SUCH a great dress. I got so many compliments.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
We had to pin the sides in a bit to make it fit better. Still worked out fabulously. Love this dress! btw im 5'11 and wear a 2-4. this dress was the perfect length. Not too short!!
karina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107 lbs
Feb 16, 2013

The dress is even more beautiful in person, but runs large.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I was so excited when I saw this dress in person but when i tried it on it was much too loose and unfortunately for me i already had the smallest size. I do recommend it though very beautiful, pictures dont do it justice.
Jennifer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 50
Body type: Athletic
Mar 3, 2013

We did not wear the dress as it was not appropriate for the occasion.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
DId not wear it. Fit true to size.
Dana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 10, 2013

Overall, not what I envisioned.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
This dress looked better on the hanger than it did on me! The quality was not runway worthy; I thought it was going to be flirty, but it was just flimsy. Although I am petite, I do have curves and a chest, and the cut outs made me self conscious. This is better for someone who is taller and not so curvy. I could have dealt with it on a vacation, but I couldn't get over the quality of material to make it work.
Kourtney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
May 17, 2013

Although the concept is a cute one......

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
.....this dress was too large so I had to send it back and didn't wear it.
Shelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 25, 2013

So cute, but runs way big.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered a 6 and a 4 but I wish I'd gotten a 2. The 4 was really loose in the top and I had to use fashion tape to keep myself in it. It was really cute though - although I wore it to a very southern wedding and got a few too many glances in my direction because of the holes in the side. I loved it though, but would probably think twice about wearing it to anything other than a party or a night out on the town.
Marygrace
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Sep 8, 2013

Didn't fit right.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress did not fit me well. The fabric was pretty, but it seemed stretched out/worn. There was no real difference between the size 0, and the 2. i tried both, and wore neither. The cut outs were really not my style for a wedding, and I was worried that I wouldn't have enough support without a bra. Without a bra you could see too much, and with it, you could see parts of the bra from the front and back.
Jacqueline
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117 lbs
Sep 9, 2013

WAY TO BIG!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Got a size 2 and was huge couldnt wear.
Callie
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 14, 2013

awesome cut outs, very unique! love it!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
fits well, tricky to wear a bra and not let it be seen. Had to use tape but it still showed a little bit on the sides
krystin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 18, 2013

Flirty and fun, but short!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
I wore this on a Valentine's Day date with my hubby. I felt so special and the cut outs made it very sexy. The print was subtle and flirty and not too "adolescent" looking. I'm not very tall (5'4") and this dress felt a bit short, especially sitting down. Also, I wore the smaller back up size, so maybe it runs big? I am smaller on top and since it is loose on the bottom I needed it tighter up top so I wore the 2. Other than that, I loved it!
Gina
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Nov 21, 2013

Perfect spring formal dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I received so many compliments on how original this dress was. The cutouts make it a little edgy, but it is still a very classy look. The skirt is flowy so it gave me room to wear a smaller size. The only issue I had was being able to see the bottom of my bra through the cutouts. Even with a Nubra, there were some moments when you could see it. Overall though, I loved this dress!
natalie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Feb 1, 2014

Fun birthday brunch dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress. I rented it for my birthday and felt so good all day! The cut outs on the sides are a little tricky to work out with a bra, but luckily I had one that was a similar blue to the dress, so it worked. The dress is silky and flowy and fun. It was perfect for brunch!
Heather
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 26, 2014

Perfect fit!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Runs large so order a smaller backup size!
Vy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 9, 2014

Perfect for spring weddings

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The cutouts are pretty and don't show too much skin, making this appropriate for a wedding. I paired this with a wrap for the ceremony.
Kim
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 22, 2014

Dress was too large!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
This was a beautiful dress, but it was so large I couldn't wear it. Thankfully, I had a backup from RTR that worked. This dress felt at least two sizes too large.
Natalie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
May 14, 2014

loved it

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
had a little trouble finding the right bra to wear with it-- ended up using a strapless and some fashion tape. Worked out fine.
Tish
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
May 15, 2014

I'm short waisted and the bodice was too long and the skirt ballooned out in a very unflattering wa

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
Runs large!
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Jul 29, 2014

Cute dress but runs small on the top

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I didn't end up wearing thing dress as it was a little small on the top. The cut outs were cute, but probably better for girls with a smaller bust.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×