Butterfly Kisses Dress

$113 to buy
$375 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Take a twirl in this sexy yet feminine Pencey dress. All your girlfriends will want to copy your flirty style to have that in style Spring look. Shown here with the Lulu Frost's Silver Drift Cuff.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-8.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes- cut outs expose upper waist-should be worn with a NuBra or no bra and fashion tape
WAIST: Fitted - full skirt conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt does not hug hips or backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra or no bra and fashion tape; dress has built-in boning in bodice
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9''.)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-8.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes- cut outs expose upper waist-should be worn with a NuBra or no bra and fashion tape
WAIST: Fitted - full skirt conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt does not hug hips or backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra or no bra and fashion tape; dress has built-in boning in bodice
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9''.)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Printed silk (100 % silk). V neckline. Ruched bodice with cut-outs. Full skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 35'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
96 reviews
Fit
Large64
True to Size28
Small4
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
July 11, 2012
If only it fit...
I booked this dress for my summer college graduation. Super feminine, flirty and family appropriate with a blazer thrown on. I loved the pockets and cutouts BUT even the 0 was too big around the waist and bust. You can wear a bra with fashion tape to keep everything in place but I had a few scares during the day. I would rent this dress again if it came in a 00 or 000!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
June 25, 2012
could have fit better
dress ran large and the wiring in the bust stuck out farther than the rest of the dress. The style was cute though so I was disappointed that the fitting didn't work out.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 23, 2012
Love! Feminine, Sassy
Rented for a college fraternity formal on a boat. Silky fabric was definitely formal enough, but the side cutouts made it a little flirty, perfect for the event. The cutouts are small and subtle though, and the neckline is not as low-cut as it looks in the photo; so if you want something super sexy, this is not the right dress for you. Runs a bit large, as reviewers have said. I went one size down for my backup size, and it fit perfectly (normally I wear a 6, but the 4 was better). The straps show off toned shoulders and arms, the ruched torso emphasizes a small waist, and the full skirt hides wide hips or large thighs. Fabric is thin and light, kept me cool despite 80+ degree heat at the beginning of the evening. Length was long enough that I didn't need to worry about bending over, but short enough to be sassy & classified as "mini". The twists on the straps become a little untwisted over time, but just a little and you can easily twirl them back.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 110lbs
June 22, 2012
Beautiful and Comfortable
I wore this dress to a friend's wedding and received many compliments. It was very comfortable (has pockets!) and feminine. Definitely runs large... even the zero was a little bit large in parts on me. You can wear a bra with the dress, but you DEFINITELY need double-sided tape. After applying the tape, I had no problems with slippage/peekage all night. Sorry for the unclear photo, but I thought maybe it would be helpful!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
June 17, 2012
I was told by a complete stranger that it was the best dress of the night!
I rented this dress for an outdoor, spring wedding in the Vermont mountains. I received a large number of compliments from my husband, friends, and strangers! I felt really great in it. The mix of the feminine design and skirt complemented well with the sexier cutouts. As the other reviews mention, the dress runs large. I went with my backup size which was a size lower than what I typically wear. My only issue with the dress is that the size of cutouts were larger than they appear in the picture. After a bit of trial and error, I was able to make the dress work. You absolutely need double-sided tape. I often can get away without wearing a bra with dresses and sometimes shirts, but this dress you need the support as to avoid any unwanted popouts or side-boob! Had I not needed to spend quite some time working out the fit, I would have given it 5 stars.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
June 15, 2012
OK.....
This dress is very cute but does run large, I ordered the 0 and 2 and the 0 did fit a little better but where the top was tight fitted the waist basically hung off of me. Didn't wear, I returned it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
June 5, 2012
Not the right look.
My boyfriend told me it looked like I had fish gills. Not the look I was going for. The print and material are great but it doesn't seem to balance right with the open cutouts. Needless to say, I went with my back up dress.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 21, 2012
Perfection!
I rented this dress for a friends wedding and loved it! This was my first rental from RTR and I am hooked! Not only was the dress beautiful, the fit was phenominal and the reviews from the other gals were extremely helpful! Yes the dress runs large and the side cut outs could show potential "underboobage" but nothing a little fashion tape couldnt fix! Thanks RTR...i will def. spread the word!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
May 21, 2012
Great Dress!!
I really liked this dress, it fit great and was really cute for the casual beach wedding i wore it to!!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
May 15, 2012
Adorable dress!
I loved the silhouette and it was beyond comfortable. The side cutouts add a little bit of sexiness to an otherwise feminine dress. I usually wear a 4, so I would suggest ordering a size smaller than you normally wear. I only have one complaint, and that is it is impossible to wear a normal bra. If you are small-chested, you should get a backless bra or adhesive inserts if you want to fill the top out. Otherwise, I really did love the dress and received a lot of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 15, 2012
Good...But A Little Off
After a bit of a mess of getting my dress (I think this was a problem on the Fed-Ex side, not RTR, they were super helpful - THANKS) I wore it out to a graduation dinner. Everyone complimented it and said it looked nice, but I think it could've been a lot better. As mentioned in some of the other reviews, it tends to run large, so throughout the night, I was constantly pulling it down. In retrospect, I DEFINITELY would've sized down. The cut-outs are cute and the fabric/pattern is great, but the overall fit was "meh." Also, IF YOU ARE BIGGER BUSTED, DO NOT RENT THIS DRESS - there will most definitely be a nip-slip because of the placement of the cut-outs.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106lbs
April 30, 2012
Don't pass up...
If you are looking for daytime chic, this is a dress that lives up to that statement. The dress even has pockets. Perfect for those things you should stow away like lipstick, or great for holding your dress from blowing up and away on a windy day. The highest cut out is not thought out well. You should invest in double siticky tape to hide your bra. I wasn't disappointed at all.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 22, 2012
Just Ok
I thought this dress would be awesome and it was just kind of ok. I got a ton of compliments on it which was nice but I was really frustrated when I was getting ready. I could not wear it without a bra as I would have had some serious underboob showing through the cut outs, and it was hard to wear with a bra because it would show through the cut outs. I ended up hiking up my strapless bra as high as it would go and using doublesided tape to keep the bra covered. It was semi-successful. I ordered a 2 and a 4. Both fit fine but I wore the 4 to try to get some extra coverage for my bra.
SandyApril 27, 2012
How was the length?! I have my fingers crossed... getting nervous. The dress was delivered today and I won't see it til I get home. Wedding tomorrow during the day. Hope it's appropriate...33y/o, 4'11, 106 lbs., 34B :(
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
April 19, 2012
Loved
Wore this for a bridal shower and got so many compliments..so cute, love!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 15, 2012
Cut outs are tricky to wear
Beautiful dress but the cut outs can be tricky. The risk of a "fashion malfuction" is high. Remember to get an strapless bra or petals with this dress. May not work for bustier women for this reason.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
April 3, 2012
beautiful dress
I wore this dress for my boyfriend's fraternity formal. It was beautiful and I got a lot of compliments. SIZE DOWN FOR THE BACKUP! I am almost always a size 2 so it's a good thing i ordered a 0 also, because even the 0 was a tiny bit big. It is extremely difficult to wear a bra with this dress because of the cutouts. Even the stick-on nubra showed a little bit. However I am fairly large on top for my size and though I was a little nervous about it I made it through the night without a nip slip or any problems. I'm on the shorter side so it was a bit longer on me than I hoped but it still looked great. It's not exactly what I would call modest, as it's pretty low cut in addition to the cut-outs, but I loved it.
tessMay 7, 2012
im 5'2 and weigh 100 lbs usually wear a 0 or p you seem to be closest to my size do you think this dress would sit alrite?
RTRMay 9, 2012
Hi Tess, this dress runs large in the bust so if you have a smaller cup size we wouldn't recommend this style. The length would be mini to mid-thigh on your height!
See more reviews:
3 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×