Butterfly Kisses Dress

$113 to buy
$375 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Take a twirl in this sexy yet feminine Pencey dress. All your girlfriends will want to copy your flirty style to have that in style Spring look. Shown here with the Lulu Frost's Silver Drift Cuff.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-8.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes- cut outs expose upper waist-should be worn with a NuBra or no bra and fashion tape
WAIST: Fitted - full skirt conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt does not hug hips or backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra or no bra and fashion tape; dress has built-in boning in bodice
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9''.)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-8.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes- cut outs expose upper waist-should be worn with a NuBra or no bra and fashion tape
WAIST: Fitted - full skirt conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt does not hug hips or backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra or no bra and fashion tape; dress has built-in boning in bodice
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9''.)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Printed silk (100 % silk). V neckline. Ruched bodice with cut-outs. Full skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 35'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
96 reviews
Fit
Large64
True to Size28
Small4
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
April 20, 2013
This dress made me feel GREAT!
I had been looking at this dress for a long time and I was so happy with my choice! It definitely does run large, even with the right size the cutouts were still loose. I loved the pattern on the dress and it was so comfortable. I would recommend wearing a strapless bra though. Overall, wonderful dress, unforgettable night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
April 18, 2013
Such a FUN dress! The length was great, neckline too, the slits were just a pop of excitement.
Fashion tape is needed unless you don't mind the occassional under-boob pop out. The 4 fit and slits were a little smaller (b/c the waist sat a little higher) ... the 6 waist fell closer to my hips. Simple jewelry was perfect.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
April 10, 2013
Overall, not what I envisioned.
This dress looked better on the hanger than it did on me! The quality was not runway worthy; I thought it was going to be flirty, but it was just flimsy. Although I am petite, I do have curves and a chest, and the cut outs made me self conscious. This is better for someone who is taller and not so curvy. I could have dealt with it on a vacation, but I couldn't get over the quality of material to make it work.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 132lbs
March 21, 2013
perfect!
fit like a glove, except under the boobs where the first slit is.... overall it looked great and wasr rally comfortable!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 51
Body type: Athletic
March 3, 2013
We did not wear the dress as it was not appropriate for the occasion.
DId not wear it. Fit true to size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
February 16, 2013
The dress is even more beautiful in person, but runs large.
I was so excited when I saw this dress in person but when i tried it on it was much too loose and unfortunately for me i already had the smallest size. I do recommend it though very beautiful, pictures dont do it justice.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
February 15, 2013
SUCH a great dress. I got so many compliments.
We had to pin the sides in a bit to make it fit better. Still worked out fabulously. Love this dress! btw im 5'11 and wear a 2-4. this dress was the perfect length. Not too short!!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 23, 2013
LOVED IT.
Only problem I had with the dress was the slits along the sides. But with a little fashion tape it worked out very nicely, got a lot of compliments on it! THanks!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Body type: Straight & narrow
January 20, 2013
I wore this for a senior formal and absolutely loved it!
Super comfortable and flattering and fits pretty true to size. Such a cute dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
January 8, 2013
Great dress
It fit really great and was very comfortable. The back was really sexy but still trendy enough to wear to a work fundraiser/function.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
November 16, 2012
A perfect party or weekend dress!
The look of this dress is adorable, however it ran a bit big on top for me. I'm pretty small on top, so if you are too, I'd definitely wear a push-up bra or something like that. The dress may also show some bra, but it's not too big of a deal. All in all, it was very cute!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 12, 2012
Wore this dress as I ran a RTR Trunk Show on my campus and it was HUGE hit!!!!!
The dress ran big in the torso area. It was still wearable and it looked great on! Got a lot of compliments. I would definitely suggest getting this dress a size down and if you are a 0 like myself be ready that you may have to tuck or pin in certain areas.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
October 22, 2012
literally every single person i saw complemented the dress!
it runs a bit large and the ribbing kept it from laying flat against my ribcage, but the cutouts on the side are perfectly placed and so, so flattering! wore it with a nu bra and didn't have to worry about mishaps all night. loved that it wasn't supershort- kept it on the classy side of sexy. paired it with a dark blue leather jacket and sky high pumps and went from a birthday dinner to a club, then to a house party! this dress fit in perfectly at all three places. i absolutely recommend that you rent it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
October 10, 2012
Favorite dress I've ever worn!
The cutouts aren't too scandalous at all and didn't squeeze. I've never worn cutouts so I was worried, but this dress was amazing and I felt confident in it! Perfect length for us shorter girls!!!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
October 7, 2012
Fall Homecoming
I wore this dress for my fall homecoming and everyone loved it! I got compliments about every aspect: the cut-outs, color and florals on it. I felt comfortable and beautiful in my dress which to me, is the most important part about a dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
October 2, 2012
This Dress was perfect!
Just was I was looking for, for a fun Saturaday night event. I got a number of compliments on the dress and people loved the fun cutouts on the side.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
October 1, 2012
This dress is perfect for a date night! Cute, romantic, and the cut-outs make it sexy!
I wore this dress for a date night because I was sick of my same-old outfits. It was perfect. The floral pattern make it romantic and feminine and the cut outs are a nice surprise that throw in a little bit of sexiness. I wore it with a bright yellow short-sleeved cardigan when it got cold at night. I'd recommend for anyone who wants to play up their feminine side for a nice date or brunch. Only thing I'd say that was a bit frustrating was that the bodice/top part of the dress was a little roomy...
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 26, 2012
Loved this dress!!!
I am usually a size 4 in dresses so I rented a size 4 and size 2 since so many of the reviewers have commented on how large it runs. I ended up wearing the size 2 and probably could have gone down to a size 0. The dress was a success and I will definitely use Rent the Runway again:)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
September 26, 2012
Comfy and Chic
I wore this dress for a friend's bday dinner/night out. It's very comfy, though the dress ran a tad big. RTR as always has great customer service and I actually fell in love with the dress from trying it on at their showroom in NYC.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 180lbs
September 23, 2012
Cute and a good fit!
I ordered the 4 and the 2 but the 2 fit perfectly, so size down. The length was perfect for me and worked on top with the side cut-outs, I didn't have to worry about it at all the entire night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 21, 2012
Loved it!
This dress was sweet and sexy all in one! I was nervous about the cut outs and an accidental wardrobe slip, but all went well. I'm tall so I wore the 4 to make it long enough...the 2 was way too short. Very fun dress :)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
September 19, 2012
I got so many compliments and the cut-outs made it cute and sexy but not over-the-top!
Great fit! I got the four just in case but the smaller size was better- I didn't have to worry about falling out- which is good since I had to go sans bra! I'm about 34C so I was concerned about that but didn't have any problems with the girls ;)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102lbs
September 17, 2012
Cute dress but didn't work for me
I love the pattern and the style but unfortunately it was too big on me. I am very petite and the 0 was huge on me. I think the dress would work for those with a larger chest because I just couldn't fill it out! Very disappointed since I didn't have a back-up for the occasion I ordered it for.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 17, 2012
Too baggy...
I just wish this had not been so baggy on me!! I really liked the dress and thought it was fun but the slits on the side were gaping open and I would not have been able to comfortably wear the dress the whole night. Also the skirt was very full and seemed like too much fabric so it was not very flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
September 11, 2012
Adorable but runs big
I normally wear between size 0-4 depending on the type of dress. I rented a 2 since it runs big, but I definitely could have used a 0.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
September 8, 2012
Average rental
Really cute dress but runs REALLY large. I usually wear a 4-6, (more on the 4 end 6 only for butt-hugging dresses) and I got a 0 and it was still a little big! I managed to make it work with some dress tape in places, but without it the dress would buckle out at the neck and the waist band on the sides drooped. I was cute and I got compliments, but not the best fit... especially if you're any smaller than me. (34'-25-38' last time I checked)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 131lbs
September 4, 2012
Loved!
I loved, loved, loved this dress, but did not end up wearing it. I had rented it for an outdoor country wedding and felt like it was just a little too much. However, it fit awesome! I had read about some people having issues with the cutouts, but it fit like a glove!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
August 30, 2012
Cute but YES SIZE DOWN
Beautiful fabric (more navy blue). Had rented another dress so ended up wearing that one instead. Other users suggest you should go down a size, they are correct. I am normally a 6 and should have gotten a 4. Would have given this a higher score had it worked.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
August 28, 2012
I've never been told so many times how LITTLE I looked! This made me feel amazing.
I love to dress up, and this is the perfect dress to rent if you're looking to try cut-outs. I don't usually wear tight dresses with cut-outs so this was a perfect balance in between scandalous and tight on the top, with an A-line skirt that was very flattering.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
August 22, 2012
I received a ton of compliments.
I rented this for a bridal shower. I am typically a 4 or a 6 but i read the reviews and orders a 4 and a 2. They only sent the 2 but it worked out because it fit great.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
August 20, 2012
Ordered as backup dress
This fit well, but I found the cut to be pretty unflattering on my body so I ended up not wearing it. I'm a pretty solid size 6 in most dresses, but the 4 fit me really well, so it definitely runs large. I have a wider torso and rib cage, and the cutouts were just not in a good place. I think this dress probably looks best on petites.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Body type: Athletic
August 20, 2012
Cute and Sexy
I rented this for a sorority formal and it fit perfectly! The dress itself it super cute and the cutouts give it a little edge, which I loved! The only tricky part was the bra situation. My strapless bra kept sneaking out, but double-sided tape definitely helped!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
August 16, 2012
Fun and Flirty
I got so many compliments on this dress. I loved the fit. The cutouts on the side make in sexy and flirty but the mid thigh length makes it dressy enough for a wedding. I wore this with a strapless bra
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
August 14, 2012
Just what I wanted!
This dressed looked stunning on! The pattern and cut were elegant and just what I wanted for a wedding. I recieved tons of compliments all day! The slits aren't very noticeable on the side, not too risque in any fashion. It did require an adhesive bra (the kind with no straps) and some double sided tape, but that didn't take away from the comfort or style at all! Also it runs large, I could have even gone with a zero but the 2 was fine
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
August 14, 2012
beautiful dress!!!
I wore this for a fraternity formal in the spring and it was perfect! Kind of tricky to hide your bra, but get some double-sided tape and you'll be fine!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
August 14, 2012
Cut-outs didn't work out
the dress was very cute, however the cut-out are poorly designed as the top cut out is too high making it impossible to wear a strapless bra without it being seen and no bra reveals too much side boob for the liking.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
August 12, 2012
Didn't want to give it back
Wore the dress with boots to a country concert. I felt great and got a ton of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
August 10, 2012
The cute outs made a really cute dress a little sexier
The dress fit really well. It is way prettier on than on the hanger. I didn't have a problem with my bra showing, just wear a strapless one and you will be fine.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 10, 2012
Feeling confident in a great dress made me feel confident to bet on my favorite horses at the horse races!
This dress is such a cute day time look. It was perfect for a sunny day at the horse races! The sides were loose but I don't think they were made to be skin tight. I definitely found it well fitting.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
July 23, 2012
Too big!
I loved the look, fabric, and flounce of this dress. Unfortunately, the fit was terrible. The cut-outs hung loosely, the bra section was too big, and the skirt too full for my hips. My co-worker rented this and looked amazing wearing it. She is 5'8 though. I think this dress fits taller girls much better. She also said she would have gone down as size though (ordered a 4, should have ordered 2).
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×