Parker

On Cruise Control Maxi

$85 rental
$315 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Twist and twirl in this navy pleated gown by Parker at the gala. A comfy but chic style to jazz up with jewels like the Kenneth Jay Lane's Renaissance Cuff.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down in this dress. (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - runs large in the bust area
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with elastic band
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'1''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7'’-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or racer back bra
FABRIC: Fabric is has no stretch except at waist band
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Navy silk(100% silk). Scoop neckline. Racer back. Pleated skirt. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
127 reviews
Fit
Large
(70)
True to Size
(48)
Small
(11)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 30, 2013
Beautiful!

I loved this dress! It's very flattering and fits great. The top was a little loose and I could have probably worn an XS, but overall it fit lovely!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Straight & narrow
May 6, 2013
This dress was stunning! I received so many compliments and felt awesome in it during the entire day

The straps were a little loose on me and it was pretty long but other than that - it was so comfortable and beautiful!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
May 13, 2013
Really liked the look of this dress overall. It was far more elegant that i thought!

I read several reviews, so I knew the dress ran a little large, but unfortunately there wasnt an XS available when I needed it. Took a chance on the S and it turned out alright. Its definitely long, but with my highest heels, I was able to make it work. The waist area also ran a little large, but with a cute belt, no one will notice!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
May 28, 2013
The dress is dressier in person than the picture captures on the website.

Overall I am pleased with the dress. I didn't give it 5 stars because it was a little big on me. I added the belt to keep the waist of the dress closer to my waist; otherwise the weight of the skirt dragged it down. I am 5'3" and I wore 3in gold strappy heels and the dress was about 2 inches too long. I would either recommend higher heels or a taller frame. I received several compliments on the dress though and it worked well for an evening wedding.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
May 30, 2013
FUN to dance in!

Pros: This dress made me feel so pretty! The full skirt is really fun to dance in and it was a very comfortable fit Cons: SO LONG! I'm pretty short so I am used to dresses being too long. This dress rested about 4 inches onto the ground with heels! I added a belt and ballooned the dress out over it to shorten it and that worked great. However, I did keep catching it on the stairs. Overall I would rent again! Thanks RTR

View photos (1)
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
June 28, 2013
All eyes on me!

The fit was large as I suspected it would be, but all other sizes were unavailable for that date. I got so many compliments on this dress! I would rent this again if the occasion presented itself.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
July 8, 2013
This dress was comfortable and classy!

I wore this dress to a formal dinner banquet. I was also working the event so I wanted to be comfortable and this dress was perfect for that. The overall fit was larger than I had thought it would be (I'm sure I could have fit better into the XS). I had to wear a backless sticky bra because the scoop of the arm holes was too large for a regular strapless to not be seen. The racer back was very flattering! The is a lot of skirt on this dress in both length and fabric. I wore 4 1/2" heels and a beaded stretchy belt to help with the length and I still stepped on it quite a few times throughout the night. Overall, I enjoyed this dress and would recommend it to others. I received compliments all night long and it was just the right combo of comfort and class! Thanks RTR!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
July 22, 2013
Beautiful on the model

Love this dress on the model, but in person it wasn't as great. The medium bunched up in the back and the small pulled some through the chest. The regular was long enough for me to wear heels (at 5'8") and the long required at least four inch heels. I loved the cut of the top, but the bottom felt bulky and wasn't flattering, especially with the extra fabric. I went with the Kate Spade "Hole in One" dress and loved it! Glad I ordered a back up. The stylist I spoke with (Natasha) was great and super helpful in making that choice.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
LL
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150lbs
August 6, 2013
Comfortable, flowy but runs big.

This dress has that beautiful fabric blend and pleating that makes it appropriate for both dressy and casual events. Loved it, but the long length is REAL long. I am 5'10 and this was dragging most of the day even with wedges on. I would reco wearing a regular length if you want to wear flats with it. Also, it runs big, so make sure to size down just in case.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
August 8, 2013
Cute Maxi.

Wore this to a party and it was fun, flows nicely, and the back adds just a little extra. Was a dressier maxi, paired this with a white braided belt, and was exactly what I was looking for. The only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 - it runs VERY large, and very long. I think I could have easily fit into 1-2 sizes smaller - but an XS is no longer is available. The skirt was also fuller than I was expecting. I would recommend, but if you are shorter than 5'7...be prepared to wear some decent heels.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32DD
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
October 1, 2013
Beautiful dress. Wish it had fit.

I rented this dress for wedding rehearsal festivities. Like all the other reviews I discovered it ran large... very large. I wasn't able to order two sizes, the smaller size wasn't available for my weekend, so unfortunately I was unable to wear this dress. It would have been perfect for the Newport, RI wedding festivities.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 114lbs
November 17, 2013
Classy. Sexy. Elegant. Sophisticated. Understated beauty. Runs a big large/long.

Absolutely loved this dress. Would have given 5 stars if it had fit a bit better, and if hem were just a bit shorter. I was wearing 3 inch heels and it fell to my toes/the floor. I have a petite frame up top, and the dress was a bit too large in that area; would be better for someone with slightly broader shoulders. Wore with a belt, and had to use some fashion tape to keep my boobs from being too exposed on the sides when moving around a lot/dancing etc. So, this dress takes just a few more minutes of planning. Gorgeous back. Received so many compliments. Photographs beautifully.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
May 22, 2014
Comfortable and dressy without being over the top for a longer dress

I wore this to a friend's winter wedding in Newport, RI. I LOVED the fit. It made me feel tall and skinny, and the racer back was comfortable and flattering. It was dressy but in a "I didn't try to hard, but yes I am wearing a long formal dress" kind of way. You could easily dress this up or down. I decided to keep it simple with some longer earrings and my hair pulled back into a bun. Make sure to use fashion tape in the front to keep it from falling/slouching down too low. Overall I would certainly recommend this to a friend, and I plan on renting this again soon. The light material would be great for summer weddings as well, and the color makes it suitable for evening affairs. NOTE **** I AM 5'7" and I wore the REGULAR LENGTH and it was longer than I would have probably preferred. Unless you're super, super tall, I or around 5'8" and planning on wearing shoes 3 inches plus, I would not recommend going with the long length.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
August 20, 2012
Pretty dress

One of two options I rented for a outdoor tent wedding, beautiful dress but given the pouring rain the day of the wedding, I opted for the short dress I rented as my second choice. I normally would have chosen a size small, but after reading previous reviews I chose the XS and it fit perfectly. Definitely recommend sizing down. Would rent again in the future

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
August 28, 2012
It was so easy and so comfy!

I am 5'7'' 132 lbs and 34DD. I wore the XSR to an evening wedding in the county and loved it. I got a ton of compliments all night long.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
September 17, 2012
Loved this dress! Great quality. Perfect for an outdoor wedding in September! Lots of compliments.

Runs a little large - I usually wear a 0 or 2, and the XS was definitely a little big on me. Great quality though! Perfect for an outdoor wedding.

meganSeptember 17, 2012
Can I ask what shoes you wore? Thinking of renting this dress for an event in SF this October, but not suer what shoes to wear...that aren't open-toed or sandals!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XSL
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
October 8, 2012
Flows beautifully when walks

Waist larger than would think, very long so be wary.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
November 5, 2012
Beautiful

Loved this dress. Comfortable all day long! The particular dress I received was a bit crocked at the bottom. Easy enough to adjust by pulling up a bit at the waist. Had to be careful when walking up stairs as it was easy to step on though. But overall, great dress and I would totally rent this dress again!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Body type: Athletic
November 25, 2012
Loved it!

Loved loved loved this dress! Got tons of compliments and was super comfortable. I ordered a small and extra small but went with the extra small because it was loose and long. Definitely recommend this dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 13, 2012
Gorgeous, Unexpected, More formal than you would think!

I love the idea of the casual, racer backk top and the formal gown at the bottome of the dress. (think baby-t and a full, floor length skirt) I felt AMAZING in this dress and got a ton of compliments!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XSL
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
July 26, 2012
Flowy & beautiful but large

the design of this dress is very beautiful and it flows when you walk, however I found it to be way too large. I typically wear a small, sometimes medium, and found that this dress was even a bit too big in the XS that I wore. The fabric is also very thin and it's hard to find a bra to wear with the dress. I ended up going bra-less which I hate to do, but luckily I have a smallish bust and at least the fabric wasn't see-through. The length was perfect for me (I'm 5'11") although I did have to gather the skirt and hold it up when going up stairs. If I was an inch shorter this dress would've been too long.

Size worn:
XSL
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
September 4, 2012
this dress is HUGE

I rented an XS and it was so big on me I couldn't come close to wearing it. It was a joke. Even with a belt as some other reviews had suggested. I would have had to have the straps shortened by about 5 or 6 inched to even entertain going out in public. After I tried it on it went straight into the return envelope.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 4, 2012
Something different!

This is a fantastic dress and the only reason I'm not giving it 5 stars is because it did run a bit large in the chest / arm area. I typically wear a Med in my tops and a small was a tad too loose ( I fixed it with tape ;) The skirt part of the dress is lovely and very flowy (very on trend right now). Overall, it's a great dress and it is definitely different than your usual 'wedding guest' attire. I'd say go for it!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
SL
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
September 12, 2012
So chic

Love the dress but the long is very long! I am 5'9" and I had to wear 3 inch wedges to bring it up off the floor.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
ML
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Body type: Athletic
September 29, 2012
Stunning! Tons of compliments

Great dress - fun to wear and was really slimming. With the right accessories, was able to dress it up for a wedding.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 131lbs
November 27, 2012
This dress runs really, really large!

I usually wear a size 4-6 dress and ordered the XSR of this dress. It was HUGE! It hung so low in the front and fit so poorly that I was unable to wear it to my event (which happened to be my wedding rehearsal dinner). I read the other reviews about it being large and didn't think it possible for a XS dress to be overly large but beware, it really is!!!

Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
December 18, 2012
Would've been perfect for the Napa wedding it was intended for.

I imagine I would've given the dress 5 stars, as it's great, but it runs quite large and I was unable to wear it. (There was a mix-up with the second size dress that RTR tried their best to remedy.)

Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 8, 2013
Runs large, not flattering

The dress runs large, long and big. The skirt is very flowy, but I didn't think the pleats were flattering. It would probably look good on someone very tall and lean.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
June 11, 2013
Runs huge!

This dress runs VERY large. The XS was not available so I tried the small, and the front went all the way past my chest halfway to my belly-button! The length is also extremely long and the elastic did not even touch my waist. There was no way I could have made this work. Order down in size!

Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 6, 2014
Very comfortable, and I got lots of compliments!

The dress ran long - I'm 5'4" and wore a SR with 4" heels and it was still a bit too long.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
September 19, 2012
If you have a larger chest, this is not the dress for you.

Unfortunately, I did not get to wear this dress. All of the online reviews that I read said that this ran large, so I thought I would be safe going with the medium. But when I put the dress on, it was skin tight around my chest, did not fit at all. In the end it worked out because another girl who came to the party wore the exact same dress that she had rented from RTR, so it kind of worked out that it didn't fit.

Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
October 22, 2012
Too small in the bust!

I am a true DD and this dress did not fit my bust. Otherwise beautiful fabric and just like the pics!

CarolineOctober 22, 2012
I am thinking about ordering this dress and am a 34 DDD but we seem to be very similarly sized. What size was too small in the bust for you?
Top Contributor
Size worn:
LR
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 30, 2012
Runs small. I ordered a medium & large, but they both fit the same

I was so excited to wear this dress for my husband's company holiday party... but my excitement turned to disappointment very quickly. I ordered a medium & large, as these are the sizes that I normally wear. I tried on the medium and it would not even go over my chest (I am a 36C). I then tried on the large and the exact same thing happened. The large fit exactly the same as the medium! The dress does look amazing in person and is made with very light weight fabric. Will this deter me from renting from RTR again? Absolutely NOT! This is the first time this has happened to me, but I've had much success with the dresses I've rented in the past.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
LL
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 142lbs
March 8, 2013
I got so many compliments!

It was a wonderful color and beautifully cut, however on my D sized chest, it pulled a little bit. It was also a bit long. The color was beautiful and perfect for a spring wedding!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
LR
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
April 29, 2013
Eh.

Stay away if you have a large bust. While I wear a 36c and usually have no issues with dresses, this one hardly went over my chest. So sad because the dress truly is gorgeous!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
LR
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
May 30, 2013
Beautiful dress, but not for the busty ladies....

Everything about this dress is right on. Gorgeous color and length, can be worn casually or formal and so comfortable. Sadly, it didn't even come close to fitting in the bust area....

Top Contributor
Size worn:
LR
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
July 15, 2013
Great for girls with small - medium chests

I rented this for an outdoor event . It flowed so beautifully on a friend , with an average chest size, that I had to try it , not knowing that the top was so restricted. It is a pull on dress , no zippers , no give . For a girl with a 40D chest , and athletic shoulders/back it doesn't work. I couldn't get it past my chest . The top was super tight , with no stretch to it what so ever. I returned it the next morning ,:( Again if you have a chest below mine I am sure you will look great sadly it just wasn't in the cards for me . oh and the oter reviews are right , the dress is super long , so 3 to 4 inch heels are highly advised!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
LR
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
July 31, 2013
Definitely not for chesty women.

This was my backup dress to another dress that was too small. Unfortunately, it was not a good backup. I ordered the medium and large, although I am true to a large. It was way too tight in the chest. I couldn't have made it work even by squishing the girls more than the dress already did. Plus, the length of the top portion was a little off. Otherwise, it was a nice dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
December 27, 2012
Why can't designer be sporty?!?

I rented this dress as a backup - you can't beat an awesome $25 dress, right?!?! However, I didn't really have an event to wear it to. I had a football game and that was it - so, I thought, why not?!?! It was a big hit and I stood out in a stadium full of fans. The dress is very comfortable. I am usually a size 6 but because it is loose in the hips I went down to a size 2. The regular runs LONG! Plan on wearing heels with this dress to avoid dragging and tripping.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
LL
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
March 21, 2013
Stunning dress, true to size everywhere but very small in the chest area.

This was my top choice dress. I have an athletic frame- straight up and down, with broad shoulders and an ample chest. The dress fit me loose in the body BUT, the chest area was so small. I am absolutely in love with this dress. I couldn't wear it due to the tight chest. If you are very narrow up top, this dress would be perfect for you. It's a perfect beach wedding outfit!

See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×