Opening Ceremony

Copper Chemical Element Dress

$40 rental
$595 retail
Stylist Notes

Get cute in copper! This lurex full skirt dress by Opening Ceremony is an eye-catching choice for a birthday bash!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 8.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress very fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Blush & Copper Jacquard (59% poly,39% cotton,2% nylon / Lining 100% POLYESTER). Sleeveless. V-neck. Fitted through waist with a full skirt. Lined. Hidden side zipper. 32” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA

Share
216 reviews
Fit
Large
(6)
True to Size
(155)
Small
(22)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
December 9, 2014
You look like a present all wrapped up!
I loved this dress! I am 5'6 and weigh 135 pound and size 6 fit me perfectly! I would recommend this dress if you have a fuller bust as the V is very deep and you definitely need to be fuller to fill out the dress and not risk flashing anyone. I wore the dress to my sorority winter formal and got comments through out the night about how beautiful the dress was. The copper tone is darker than in the picture but still very pretty. The dress is perfect length wise, if you are shorter than me it might be a tad too long(depending on what style you're in to). Overall great dress and I would highly recommend it
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 12, 2014
Stunning cut and color!
LOVE THIS DRESS. I got compliments all night, I honestly want to go buy it. It's low-cut, very deep-V so you'll need a deep plunge bra.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
December 15, 2014
L.O.V.E
So.. yes... it is a bit low cut; however, the dress was ah-mazing! There are def ways to still keep it classy, even with the super deep V. Covered up for the ceremony wearing a black cropped sweater. Worked out well. As for the dress itself.... the color was gorgeous, super comfortable, and you can't beat a dress with pockets!!! Seriously, I wish i owned this dress!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
December 15, 2014
The dress fit so perfectly! I got compliments on it all night!
The dress was true to size. The material was a little stretchy, so there was some room. The dress also has pockets which was nice. Also, in person the color is very metallic, almost like a bronze. The model's picture does not do it justice.. I wanted to keep it because I liked it so much!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 112lbs
December 16, 2014
Gorgeous for a holiday party!
I wore this to a holiday party and got SO many compliments!! It fit great and the dress was in good shape. I wore a 0, which is typical for me with dresses that are fitted on top but not as much around the hips. It was pretty tight around the rib cage so I couldn't wear a bra, but it was well structured so I didn't need to. Highly recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
December 17, 2014
I wore this dress for a December wedding. I wanted a dress that defined "classy" "festive"
I don't think pictures will ever do this dress justice or give you an exact color of what the dress looks like. Good thing is that it photographs beautifully. I was so nervous about this rental because A) It was my first experience with renting a dress and B) My free 2nd size was not available the weekend that I needed. I also fluctuate between a 4 and 6 too often than not, so I was very concerned about the 6 fitting or possibly being too big up top (given that I am of modest bra size). Long story short, the dress fit and was snug enough up top to not have to worry about making sure "the girls" stayed in place. I would recommend renting your true size and a size larger. Also, Rent the Runway Customer Service is more than dedicated to making sure that the rental provides for a weekend to remember! They gave immediate feedback when I had a question/concern and even went above and beyond in providing different options in case my one chance at the dress fitting was unsuccessful. highly recommend this dress and highly recommend this company! I will be renting again for sure!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
October 6, 2013
I love the unique color of the dress! It's even better in person. Its fun, flirty & fits fabulously
I was actually worried about the sizing because I am usually between an 8 and 10. The 8 fit fine, but it was longer than I expected. Since I don't have big boobs, I could actually fit into the 6! I am glad because it was the perfect length and it fit like a glove! I didn't need to wear a bra because the dress totally supported and pushed up the girls! This is a flattering dress for any body type!
KatieOctober 24, 2013
You look great!
LAURAOctober 29, 2013
I wasnt too fond of the dress until I put it on. Fits amazing.
LaurenNovember 5, 2013
you look great! i just rented this! love your shoes! where did you get them??
BrittaniaNovember 12, 2013
I need to know where you got your shoes! they're amazing.
GirlnukeNovember 25, 2013
You look great! Love the shoes.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
November 8, 2013
Fantastic Party Dress!
This is a great dress for a fun celebration. I happen to wear it for my birthday. I have a very small chest, and it gave the illusion of cleavage, which is always appreciated :) I will say, however, that it might be difficult to wear if you have a larger chest. The 2 was too big for me, but with the 0 I could only get it zipped up all the way if I did not wear a bra. Luckily the dress doesn't need one! It's lined well, too, so it's a good winter dress. Great color. And I included a photo of how I wore it to work before the party, it makes a great skirt, too! No one new it was a full dress until we got to the bar. Great rental!
Sabrina November 30, 2013
Love how you wore it as a skirt, too! =)
DianaDecember 3, 2013
Thanks! I thought it was a fun look and a great way to do the dress day to night. :)
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
November 16, 2013
The dress fit perfect!
Dress fit perfect. Very comfortable, made me feel like a princess. Received many compliments on the dress. Highly recommend it.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 18, 2013
The Compliments on this dress were never ending.
I was not impressed with the dress until I put it on! It fits perfectly at my waist and I was even able to wear a bra with it! It looks good on short people like me even though it looks shorter on the model it still came down to just above my knees which was perfect. I got compliments all night on this dress and was very happy with the way it fit. Very true to size.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
November 20, 2013
Runs very small!
Im usually a 4 - 6 but I figured since it looked like it was a loose cut I would stick with a 4 & 1 extra in size 2. Well, I couldn't zipper the 4 up & "my girls" were abnormally smooshed!
RTR CustomerApril 25, 2014
if you are normally a 6 and couldnt fit into a 4 and a 2 then the dress doesnt run small, you just picked the wrong size.......
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117lbs
December 4, 2013
Great balance between Sexy & Elegant!
Sooooo many compliments. Loved this dress. One of my best RTR dresses!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 9, 2013
Fun dress!
This dress was a blast. The fabric is really interesting and the dress flares out at a nice spot on the waist. The cleavage is definitely revealing, but I never felt like I was going to fall out. I loved this dress a lot.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
December 10, 2013
So comfortable and such a pretty color
The dress fit well all over - worried, because i'm small on top that it would be baggy in the chest area, but it wasn't.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
December 12, 2013
Beautiful dress! Just not made for busty girls!
This dress is gorgeous! I was really hoping it would work out. I knew going into it the 8 may be a bit small since I have a larger chest. I was hoping for the best, but definitely for girls with boobs smaller than D.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 13, 2013
Low-cut but very flattering
I rented this for a company holiday party and ended up going with a backup dress because it was too low-cut in the front. If it hadn't been for a party of coworkers I would have rocked this - it's so flattering, and it's easy to wear with a regular bra with a little plunge! And the best part - it has pockets!! I usually wear an 8 but this fit perfectly in a 6.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 133lbs
December 13, 2013
Sexy little dress.
This dress is short but not too short. The deep V in the front is very flattering. You don't need to wear a bra as the design is very supportive. It also has pockets which is such fun. I'll rent it again.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 49
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
December 16, 2013
Excellent, reliable!
Dress fits perfectly in all the areas! Just simply gorgeous and comfortable as well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
November 15, 2014
Great for dancing
Perfect dress, perfect length, very flattering and sparkly. Great length for spinning around the dance floor all night at a wedding! Flattering fitted waist, very low cut though!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
December 30, 2013
Shiny & stands out in the crowd!
Hated to send this one back! It was absolutely gorgeous. The metallic fabric looked even more gorgeous in person and looked great in photos. The v-neck was prominent, but the fabric was thick enough that I did not need a bra. The skirt was super cute and flared - short and fun, but not so much so as to not be comfortable. I wasn't familiar with the brand beforehand, but I am a fan now!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
January 1, 2014
Didn't work out
I was super excited for this dress! Love, love, love the color and it was my first choice for NYE, but I couldn't pull it off. It was much longer than anticipated, and a complete boob show. I'm not large busted by a long shot, just average and this was a "girls night out" kind of dress. Glad I got a backup!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 14, 2014
Great Party Dress!
Wore for New Years Party. Dress fit great and comfortably. It fits lower cut and longer than the model picture which I like more. Great rental as the hips are not fitted so will work for almost anybody. Received tons of compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
January 31, 2014
Loved this dress! Was worried it would be too short but it was perfect. So many compliments
I was worried it would be short cause I am 5'9 but it was prefect length. If anything I could see it being long on a shorter person. Great fit was not able to wear it with a bra but it fit well enough I felt comfortable and loved wearing it. May have to rent it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
February 17, 2014
Wore to sorority date party & received many compliments.
Fit great, longer in length than on the model. The top was stretched out a little from wear but overall in great condition.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
March 10, 2014
My friend wore this dress. I rented 3 dresses and she wore one of them. She looked amazing!
I tried it on and without cleavage it looks a little blah. When my friend wore it she has cleavage and it made the whole dress look amazing!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
March 25, 2014
Friends
I am a pear shaped woman who normally wears a size 8 body con dress or a size 10 shift dress. This dress was perfect because it was A-line and flattered all the way through. Your breasts (I'm a 34C) will be on display so you need to be absolutely comfortable with that if wearing a bra. I would not recommend wearing this in mixed company, but if you do, it might be best to go bra-less as it makes the dress less "sexy." I wore this with my girlfriends and they still could not stop staring at my chest. Altogether, it was cute dress for a dark dinner theater event. Got lots of compliments. I would rate higher if it wasn't so worn.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Weight: 140lbs
March 25, 2014
Rented from the Vegas store, the staff was great!
Love the dress! Very low cut, but a dark color plunging bra worked perfect and even made my 34bs look great! The fit and flair, A-line design is very flattering as well.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
March 26, 2014
Looks better in person! Tons of compliments on this unique, flirty, fun dress
It runs slightly small but not enough that I would mark that down on overall fit. The tight fitting part is the bodice area with a deep v-neck cut. The metallic color and fabric are so pretty! The length appears shorter in the image and on this model than in person and I am tall (5' 9''). The fit and flare cut is very flattering. Wore to a formal dress rehearsal dinner and got lots of compliments and it was unlike anyone else's dress that night.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
April 9, 2014
This dress was great, just what I had expected.
The low-v neckline was extremely flattering and the color was uniquely beautiful! I would have liked it if the dress was a little less "flare" and a little more along the "fit" side. I was afraid that the dress made me look wide around the thighs due to the large amount of flare in the dress. Overall, I loved it :)
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126lbs
April 12, 2014
Loved it!
Love the fit! It was tight in the chest, but I really like that. It was flirty without being too showy. My first RTR dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
April 16, 2014
So many compliments!
Wore this for my last sorority formal. Ordered the size 0 and 2. I didn't even bother trying on the zero because the two fit like a glove. I also didn't end up wearing a bra, the top was tight enough that it wasn't an issue. On the model the dress looks so so short, but on me it hit lower on the thigh, which was perfect. Overall, an amazing dress! So unique, and I can't even count how many compliments I got on it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 107lbs
April 27, 2014
This dress is unique and STUNNING!
I wore this dress to my prom and I absolutely loved it. NO ONE else had a dress like it. This is my third time using RTR and it was my best experience yet. The customer service is amazing and you can't beat the quality of the dress for the price.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
April 29, 2014
Lots of compliments on this fun party dress!
I picked this dress out at the RTR showroom in NYC, so I knew I loved it. Great for covering full hips and accentuating waist. The bust seam hit higher than it should have on my body, but it wasn't obvious... just caused a flatter look than I normally like. Also, it's a little longer than in the model's pic. Was disappointed in some fraying in the metallic fabric when I originally received it, but that wasn't anything that a quick trim didn't fix. Overall, I would definitely rent this dress again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
May 5, 2014
Gorgeous color and sexy fit
I received tons of compliments on this dress. It is very low cut, so be prepared for that. I am larger busted and did not have to wear a bra because the dress was snug enough and well fitting enough to give the girls a lift. Worn with a bra, it was TOO booby. Like other reviewers have said, it's much longer on most people (the model is very tall), and it appears more of a pink sheen. It's just gorgeous! I loved that although it was low cut, it was long enough to keep it classy. The A line is flattering and allowed me to be sexy but still classy.
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
December 21, 2014
This is a stunner!! A head-turner in all the right ways.
This dress is a KNOCKOUT and so much prettier in person than on the model. I got compliments all night long, and I felt comfortable and beautiful. The color is actually a rosy copper, and pairing accessories was a little tricky. I ended up wearing some dangly, all-black earrings that I own, and it worked perfectly. I am very fair, and the color was incredibly flattering. It is low cut, and I was a little nervous about baring some cleavage (not something I typically have occasion to do), but it was sexy and appropriate for the party I attended. My husband loved it and said it was the prettiest dress he'd ever seen me in. Can't go wrong with this one, and it was just the right amount of classy, sexy, and fun.
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
December 22, 2014
Show stopper!
The color is GORGEOUS. It is so hard to capture it in a photo, but it's super glam and sort of edgy which is a really cool contrast to the classic fit & flare silhouette. I felt like the perfect mash up of Blair and Serena. Also the skirt is so very twirly and there are pockets! The only thing is that the chest fit sort of weird. If it weren't for the awesome fabric I probably wouldn't have worn it. I have a pretty small chest, a small 34B, but that wasn't the problem. It was more that the chest was too short? I'm tall but don't have a particularly long torso so I was surprised by this peculiar fit. Like I said, it's super fun and a gorgeous color so it all made up for it in the end.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
December 25, 2014
My new nickname is Twirls
Wore this to Vegas and had a fun time! It was longer than I expected, and that was my only complaint since I wanted a shorter dress for clubbing. Obviously I'm a lot shorter than the model in the photo, so it is what it is. Unintentional modesty aside, the dress was very fun and I got a lot of compliments on it! I loved the fit on the bust and waist, I loved the sparkles, and boy does that skirt twirl (see second photo)! I wore a paste-on front-only low cut bra from Victoria's secret to allow for the dress's neckline. I normally wear a size 4, so I ordered the 4 and a size 2 as a backup, and I ended up wearing the backup size 2. The size 2 was not snug at all and even made me wonder if I could have fit in a 0. I was positively swimming in the size 4.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 25, 2014
Great for dancing!
I've rented many dresses. This has probably been my least favorite rental. It looks really short in the photo, but it actually isn't. I think it would have looked better if it had been a bit shorter. The skirt is very full,which makes for easy dancing, but is also not as flattering as when the skirt part is not as full. I didn't wear a bra with it and that was fine.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 154lbs
January 2, 2015
Unique dress - vey sexy but also elegant!
BEAUTIFUL DRESS. I wore this dress on NYE - it caught caught my eye because it was unique, very sexy but also elegant! Very form fitting, fit perfectly around bust and waist! Before receiving the dress I was worried that flare on the bottom would be excessive, but it didn't flare out as much as I thought! Received so many compliments on this dress!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 5, 2015
A Birthday Extravaganza
As most of the reviews reveal, the dress is wearable without a bra and is longer in person than shown on the model. I do think that it runs slightly large, but is mostly true to size. I did fit into the size 6, but the cleavage was over the top for me, so I ended up wearing the 8. The pockets also a major plus, and overall a very lovely, fun party dress!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×