Rent the Runway

Opening Ceremony

Against Playground Rules Dress

$75 rental
$550 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Be that daring but flirty fashionista when you walk into the party wearing this eyelet Opening Ceremony dress. Short and cute to bring out your inner sporty girl.Go with a flirty necklace like the kate spade accessories' Sapphire Treasure Chest Necklace to play up your style.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra (nude undergarments recommended)
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra (nude undergarments recommended; no slip under eyelets)
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra (nude undergarments recommended)
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra (nude undergarments recommended; no slip under eyelets)
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

White cotton eyelet. Boat neckline. Scalloped hemline. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 34'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

79 reviews

Fit
Small 15
True to Size 58
Large 6
Photos 37
Brittany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 18, 2012

Love RTR

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this for my school's Alumni Weekend and it was perfect for this. Lots of compliments! Someone reviewed that they had to wear a slip but I just wore a nude bra and underwear and it was fine even outside in the sun. I wore it with Jack Rogers during the day, but would've looked nice with wedges too. Really cute!
Valerie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 122 lbs
Apr 22, 2012

People really liked the dress and I felt really good wearing it. It wasn't too revealing and I felt comfortable in it

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I liked the dress a lot. I loved the material, it wasn't too thin. I'm 5'5 and the dress was not too short. The boat neck does create a little bump in the front and in the back. The material wasn't see through. If you wear a white bra and white underwear, you'll alright.
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Jun 19, 2012

The white dress was bridal and the eyelets, scalloped hem, and brown accessories was just the "farm casual" look I was going for! It fit perfectly at my barn wedding rehearsal. My dad said I looked like a pixie bride!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is so cute, but I think it runs slightly large. I ordered a S because I was worried an XS would be too small in the bust (I'm a large C/small D), but the S ended up being too large in the waist and gapped a bit at the shoulders. I wish I'd had the backup size! But I belted it and it worked out really well - my bridesmaids even said it just looked better with a pop of color definition at the waist, even if it had fit well. The length is short, but thats how I like it, its great for short girls like me. The material is thick enough that it isn't technically see-through, but I did feel like it was necessary to wear a slip/shorts underneath because the skirt was so swingy.
Chloe
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 27, 2012

This dress is AMAZING! felt like a million bucks!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress is AMAZING!! I felt like a milllion bucks, and definitely was a stand out in a crowd of beautiful girls!
Olivia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 29, 2012

Rent The Runway always makes me stand out in a crowd!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this to an all white party and could not have received more compliments! Unfortunately the medium was the only size they had available but I've always wanted to rent the dress so I made it work. I belted it to cinch the waist in more and it worked out perfectly. This dress was so comfortable and the detailing was so pretty!
Jennice
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Jul 16, 2012

love RTR speedy and well packaged service

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress is adorable with or without a belt/accessories . I did find it to be a bit on the short side (I'm 5'7) . Definitely needs ironing once you receive it and the material is slightly hard. Not sure I would rent again for this price. I paired the dress with Kate Spade's Cut to the Chase Necklace which was fun and colorful - would definitely rent again.
Catherine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Jul 19, 2012

My favorite rental ever

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is my FAVORITE rental to date! I was afraid as to if it was going to look okay because I felt like it was for girls with a smaller build but the dress worked out great--was a perfect length and the cut out detail is so unique, it makes the dress one of a kind.
Abbey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 12, 2012

shipping this dress to my event in Florida made packing very easy!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
only thing to note is you will need proper under garments as it's a bit see thru! I wore a slip, nude bra, and added cute little belt and worked perfectly.
Adrienne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Aug 18, 2012

Lovely dress

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Wore this dress for graduation. It was super confortable even in the Virginia heat under my robes. I wore nude undergarments and had no trouble with it being too sheer. If you have a smaller bust I would get your extra dress one size up as I could see it being a little tight across the bust.
Pav
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 22, 2012

Wearing a dress that no other girl was wearing and being absolutely stress free about the entire process was such a weight off my back!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress is GORGEOUS! I really think it's beautiful, but one slight thing to think about: the cutouts on the front of the dress are not as small as you think they are going to be. Thankfully, I wore the dress under my graduation cap and gown, because it would definitely have not been appropriate for my all-girls, Catholic high school graduation.
angela
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 10, 2012

Perfect dress.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Extremely flattering. Got sooo many compliments! Loved it.
AC
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
Oct 4, 2012

I rented this dress for a music festival in August and it was perfect!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I had rented the small and XS sizes- the XS was too tight in the chest area but the small fit great. It is a tiny bit see-through but nothing major. The material is a little stiff but the dress has such a great silhouette to it. The detailing on it is super cute too. Definitely a great party dress. I also had rented a necklace but decided to go with wearing a belt around the waist to cinch it in more- it would've looked too cluttered with a big statement necklace. My suggestion would be to wear either a great necklace or a defining belt with the dress.
estefania
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110 lbs
Nov 16, 2012

It turned a lot of heads, needless to say I felt very satisfied feeling sexy yet conservative.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
The bust area is perfect for a big bust, I'm a D cup and it fit me very nicely. Hugs the body in the right locations.
Courtney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 5, 2012

I had no idea what to wear to my bachelorette party- we did a wine tasting... the dress was perfect!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I'm about 5'2" and the dress was short on me. I ended up wearing a belt with it and wore flats. It was cute and perfect for the party.
Sonya Wright
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 28, 2012

Simply Lovely

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
The fit was true to size and the material was great, but the zipper was extremely hard to zip up. The dress is pretty short but still classy. Overall the dress was lovely.
Marguerite
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Feb 27, 2013

I loved the dress and everything about it.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It was perfect.
Claire
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 6, 2013

It was the perfect graduation dress.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Fit really nicely. I loved the details on the dress. Got many compliments. The flare really gave my body some shape.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 27, 2013

Great look but quite short!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
I wore this dress for my bachelorette party during a day wine tasting tour. The dress looked great but because the fabric poofs out a bit at the waist it became very short. I still LOVED the look.
ss0946
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 10, 2013

Beautiful summer dress!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for my senior pictures and It was gorgeous! However, this dress was very short on someone as tall as myself. If I had rented this dress for a party or for another more social event I wouldn't of been able to wear it because I would of been afraid if showing a little too much! Overall, on a shorter girl this would be a great choice and I definitely recommend it!
Amber
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 100 lbs
Apr 15, 2013

The white crisp short dress made my legs look long and tan.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress for my Prom and everyone LOVED it.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
May 11, 2013

The most amazing graduation dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I rented this super cute dress for my graduate school graduation. Although it ended up being unseasonably cold and rainy, this dress would have been ideal to keep cool under the hot and humid Southern sun. The fabric is thick enough so that it doesn't feel cheap or like you're going to show anything, but still manages to be breezy and comfortable. I wore a nude colored slip underneath just in case, but you probably could get away without one. I just found that the eyelet holes were larger than I expected and you could see a bit of my bra through them. The small was the absolute perfect size, but word to the wise -- if you are a messy eater, eat breakfast before you put on a white dress! So I had to squeeze myself into the XS, which worked OK but was a lot less comfortable. I was surprised at how tight the armholes were. Lastly, the length of the dress was pretty short, but not obscenely so on someone of my height (5'3"). Overall, amazing dress, would absolutely rent it again for a bridal shower, horse race, or anything like that.
Carissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
May 19, 2013

I wore this dress to a garden party and it was absolutely perfect for the occasion.

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Make sure you have nude undergarments!
Kelsey
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
May 23, 2013

Absolutely loved this dress!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I absolutely loved the dress! It is gorgeous in person and can be worn to a fancy or casual event depending on shoes and accessories. I wore it to a prom on a boat and it was perfect. My only issue was that the fabric about the arms is very tight and the zipper can be a little tricky, but it is manageable.
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Body type: Apple
Jun 13, 2013

The white dress was perfect for a summer party! Sweet and fun!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The baby doll style of the dress was perfect with or without a belt. The dress was a little short, especially if you're tall, so heels probably wouldn't be a good idea if you're on the taller side. I loved the dress for my birthday and it can be dressed up or down!
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 108 lbs
Jun 18, 2013

Great dress!Not too short as long as you don't wear sky high heels!Also NOT see through

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I was worried about this dress being too short because I am almost 5'7, but I couldn't resist renting it anyways. Thankfully I did because I am absolutely in love with it and it wasn't too short at all with cute bold wedges and bright lime green colored earrings. The dress was also not see through; the material was thick enough that I was able to wear nude undergarments without any worry! Only problem I had was the zipper- but with a little help it zipped. Also, I rented the XS and the arm holes were a little snug, but everywhere else, especially where the dress seam hit at the waist fit perfectly, so I think that the S would have been too big/fit awkwardly. I would definitely rent this dress again in a heartbeat! I also fluctuate between a B or C cup depending on the bra, and I wore a regular, padded strapless bra with this dress and it fit fine, so this dress should work for both flat chested and fuller people.
Julia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 15
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Jul 1, 2013

Cute dress, perfect for the occasion (middle school graduation).

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Dress was a bit big, but wearable. Must have nude bra and panties! Eyelet holes are not lined so you can see right though if your undergarments are the wrong color. Dress was longer than I would have liked, but that often happens when you aren't quite 5 ft tall. Cute cotton dress, perfect for daytime events.
Caitlin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 5, 2013

Perfect dress for an outdoor event!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this for my college's annual homecoming event and it could not have been more perfect! It was a little short but was still fine since it has an A-line skirt. The fabric is all cotton so there is not a lot of stretch to it. One small problem that I did not foresee is that the dress is completely eyelet with not shell underneath so definitely be prepared with a camisole just in case. Overall I would definitely recommend this dress to someone.
Katherine
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
Oct 4, 2013

Beautiful Detailing!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Loved this dress! I wore it for our engagement pictures. It's great to dress up with heels or down with cowgirl boots. It is a bit short though.
Devon
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Oct 18, 2013

perfectly fun dress

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I loved this dress. It was perfect for the occasion and is a light material, which is good for hot summer days. I highly recommend this dress.
Anna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115 lbs
Oct 23, 2013

Cute for casual!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Vacation
Cute dress but the fabric looks kind of cheap in person and I had to wear a belt to bring it in at the waist since it was pretty large on me. I would only recommend this for a very casual event, and even then there might be better options...
Courtney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 24, 2013

RTR ON CAMPUS FASHION SHOW!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress was absolutely perfect! My model paired it with wedges ad a belt! The only complaint is that it was a little short but other than that it was perfect!
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118 lbs
Nov 14, 2013

It was too small and revealing.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I wasn't able to wear it because both sizes did not fit.
Victoria
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Jan 2, 2014

Birthday Dress!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this to my 26th birthday party and LOVED it! It was so pretty and feminine. I have a smaller waist so it hit me at the perfect spot. Normally I look better in lower necklines but because of the eyelets it didn't look too covered. Would rent it again in a heartbeat!
sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Jan 6, 2014

I should have got the M, but it was not available- this dress was super cute and I would rent again!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
so lady like and flattering. does not come with a slip so keep in mind the holes in the pattern ;)
Leslie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Mar 12, 2014

Super cute... but see thru!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress to leave my wedding and it is precious but a little more scandalous than I intended. Its a thin cotton and eyelet and the tiny holes do go up pretty high. This would be a precious date night dress! My advice is go for it but know what you are getting into!
Chesney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 14, 2014

Loved the dress but the zipper would get stuck every time I zipped it up.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Dress fit perfectly the only thing was the zipper constantly for stuck from it being worn I guess previously. But definitely would recommend this dress I wore this for my graduation :)
Karina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 140 lbs
Mar 18, 2014

Perfect for the occasion!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress for my sailor's homecoming. It was perfect because it is made for a more informal occasion. I wore it with a gold belt, gold sandals, and a navy blue cardigan. I felt beautiful and comfortable. As other people mentioned the dress is very short and I wouldn't recommend it for taller women :)
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jun 19, 2014

It was a beautiful dress that was comfortable wear. I didn't want to take it off!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Dress was beautiful and got lots of compliments. I would definitely rent this dress again in a heartbeat.
Kat
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Mar 16, 2015

Perfect for our engagement photos!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I originally ordered this dress in an XS and was so disappointed when my stylist told me it was damaged. They ended up sending me a size small which was a little big on me but other than that I LOVED this dress. It is definitely a mini and light weight, it was quite breezy during our engagement shoot and this light weight fabric was so comfortable and photographed beautifully. This dress is not lined under the eyelet cut outs which was fine for my smaller bust, so may not be best for a girl who needs to wear a bra.
whitney
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 18
Body type: Hourglass
May 11, 2015

I won Senior Homecoming Queen and this dress made me feel like true royalty :)

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
A little short // simple, yet elegant // great dress for an event in the summer
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×