Against Playground Rules Dress

$75 rental
$550 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Be that daring but flirty fashionista when you walk into the party wearing this eyelet Opening Ceremony dress. Short and cute to bring out your inner sporty girl.Go with a flirty necklace like the kate spade accessories' Sapphire Treasure Chest Necklace to play up your style.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra (nude undergarments recommended)
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra (nude undergarments recommended; no slip under eyelets)
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra (nude undergarments recommended)
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra (nude undergarments recommended; no slip under eyelets)
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

White cotton eyelet. Boat neckline. Scalloped hemline. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 34'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
79 reviews
Fit
Large6
True to Size58
Small15
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 19
Body type: Hourglass
May 11, 2015
I won Senior Homecoming Queen and this dress made me feel like true royalty :)
A little short // simple, yet elegant // great dress for an event in the summer
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
March 16, 2015
Perfect for our engagement photos!
I originally ordered this dress in an XS and was so disappointed when my stylist told me it was damaged. They ended up sending me a size small which was a little big on me but other than that I LOVED this dress. It is definitely a mini and light weight, it was quite breezy during our engagement shoot and this light weight fabric was so comfortable and photographed beautifully. This dress is not lined under the eyelet cut outs which was fine for my smaller bust, so may not be best for a girl who needs to wear a bra.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 19, 2014
It was a beautiful dress that was comfortable wear. I didn't want to take it off!
Dress was beautiful and got lots of compliments. I would definitely rent this dress again in a heartbeat.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 140lbs
March 18, 2014
Perfect for the occasion!
I wore this dress for my sailor's homecoming. It was perfect because it is made for a more informal occasion. I wore it with a gold belt, gold sandals, and a navy blue cardigan. I felt beautiful and comfortable. As other people mentioned the dress is very short and I wouldn't recommend it for taller women :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Body type: Hourglass
March 14, 2014
Loved the dress but the zipper would get stuck every time I zipped it up.
Dress fit perfectly the only thing was the zipper constantly for stuck from it being worn I guess previously. But definitely would recommend this dress I wore this for my graduation :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
March 12, 2014
Super cute... but see thru!
I wore this dress to leave my wedding and it is precious but a little more scandalous than I intended. Its a thin cotton and eyelet and the tiny holes do go up pretty high. This would be a precious date night dress! My advice is go for it but know what you are getting into!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
January 6, 2014
I should have got the M, but it was not available- this dress was super cute and I would rent again!
so lady like and flattering. does not come with a slip so keep in mind the holes in the pattern ;)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
January 2, 2014
Birthday Dress!
I wore this to my 26th birthday party and LOVED it! It was so pretty and feminine. I have a smaller waist so it hit me at the perfect spot. Normally I look better in lower necklines but because of the eyelets it didn't look too covered. Would rent it again in a heartbeat!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
November 14, 2013
It was too small and revealing.
I wasn't able to wear it because both sizes did not fit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Body type: Hourglass
October 24, 2013
RTR ON CAMPUS FASHION SHOW!
The dress was absolutely perfect! My model paired it with wedges ad a belt! The only complaint is that it was a little short but other than that it was perfect!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
October 23, 2013
Cute for casual!
Cute dress but the fabric looks kind of cheap in person and I had to wear a belt to bring it in at the waist since it was pretty large on me. I would only recommend this for a very casual event, and even then there might be better options...
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
October 18, 2013
perfectly fun dress
I loved this dress. It was perfect for the occasion and is a light material, which is good for hot summer days. I highly recommend this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
October 4, 2013
Beautiful Detailing!
Loved this dress! I wore it for our engagement pictures. It's great to dress up with heels or down with cowgirl boots. It is a bit short though.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
September 16, 2013
Zipper wouldn't go up.
Didn't get to wear the dress. :(
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 11, 2013
Not for the Large Chested of us...
I couldn't even get close to zipping it up with my Cs. But the rest of the dress would have been way to large... but if you're an A or B cup girl - this dress is adorable!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
September 6, 2013
Perfect dress for spring and summer!
I can not tell you enough how much I LOVED this dress! Probably my favorite I have rented so far on RTR! I am 5'2 and it was short on me, so this is probably best for shorter ladies. I wore it for a baby shower and I got so many compliments. It is the perfect playful dress for hot weather! I would love to buy this dress and have it in my closet!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 12, 2013
Short and see through
Such a cute little summer dress with 2 exceptions- super short and no lining/slip/nothing underneath! The cutouts all over the top and bottom of the fabric are truly cut out for your skin to show underneath. Not what I was going for when I planned to wear this to a baby shower... I was also in between sizes- XS wouldn't zip; S was too big. Not my best rental by far.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
August 5, 2013
Perfect dress for an outdoor event!
I rented this for my college's annual homecoming event and it could not have been more perfect! It was a little short but was still fine since it has an A-line skirt. The fabric is all cotton so there is not a lot of stretch to it. One small problem that I did not foresee is that the dress is completely eyelet with not shell underneath so definitely be prepared with a camisole just in case. Overall I would definitely recommend this dress to someone.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
July 19, 2013
Loved the white and details
It is very short and because it's not fitted, you need to be mindful of it. I usually wear an 8/10 and the dress was large. I had tried to order a back up medium but they were out.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
July 16, 2013
This was a see through dress that came up to my hips.
It was WAY too short (and I'm short) and the whole top part is see-through. I did not end up wearing it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 16
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
July 1, 2013
Cute dress, perfect for the occasion (middle school graduation).
Dress was a bit big, but wearable. Must have nude bra and panties! Eyelet holes are not lined so you can see right though if your undergarments are the wrong color. Dress was longer than I would have liked, but that often happens when you aren't quite 5 ft tall. Cute cotton dress, perfect for daytime events.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 108lbs
June 18, 2013
Great dress!Not too short as long as you don't wear sky high heels!Also NOT see through
I was worried about this dress being too short because I am almost 5'7, but I couldn't resist renting it anyways. Thankfully I did because I am absolutely in love with it and it wasn't too short at all with cute bold wedges and bright lime green colored earrings. The dress was also not see through; the material was thick enough that I was able to wear nude undergarments without any worry! Only problem I had was the zipper- but with a little help it zipped. Also, I rented the XS and the arm holes were a little snug, but everywhere else, especially where the dress seam hit at the waist fit perfectly, so I think that the S would have been too big/fit awkwardly. I would definitely rent this dress again in a heartbeat! I also fluctuate between a B or C cup depending on the bra, and I wore a regular, padded strapless bra with this dress and it fit fine, so this dress should work for both flat chested and fuller people.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Body type: Apple
June 13, 2013
The white dress was perfect for a summer party! Sweet and fun!
The baby doll style of the dress was perfect with or without a belt. The dress was a little short, especially if you're tall, so heels probably wouldn't be a good idea if you're on the taller side. I loved the dress for my birthday and it can be dressed up or down!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
June 2, 2013
Too Short!
I wasn't impressed with the quality of the dress. The eyelets were not lined making the bust area see through. It also was shockingly short, I'm 5'6 and the small did not cover me at all. Luckily it was my back up so I didn't have to wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
May 27, 2013
The dress was a perfect day sundress for my high school graduation- it was a huge success! Beautiful
Fit was a little snug throughout the bodice but the length and cut were wonderful,
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
May 23, 2013
Absolutely loved this dress!
I absolutely loved the dress! It is gorgeous in person and can be worn to a fancy or casual event depending on shoes and accessories. I wore it to a prom on a boat and it was perfect. My only issue was that the fabric about the arms is very tight and the zipper can be a little tricky, but it is manageable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
May 19, 2013
I wore this dress to a garden party and it was absolutely perfect for the occasion.
Make sure you have nude undergarments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
May 17, 2013
Polo Match Attire
Really sweet and simple! I didn't think it was too short (on me); it was fun, crisp and airy. The cotton felt a little bit stiff, but I think it helped give the bottom some shape and flounce. Loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
May 13, 2013
Rent the Runway, once again, delivers on everything.
I rented this for a day I knew I was going to spend outside in the sun with my boyfriend for hours. The size I wanted (M) wasn't available for the dates I needed, but I went ahead and ordered the large thinking it'd probably be close to fitting and I could cinch in the waist with a belt, and against the rest of the billowing it'd make my waist look even smaller. However, when I received the dress, every aspect of it was huge on me so I couldn't even do that. The dress is gorgeous. It's the epitome of a perfect white sundress in crisp cotton. Even with the eyelet patterns (which are super adorable in person) you could probably get away with wearing a matte nude (whatever color your nude may be) bra, or strapless bra. The skirt is fuller than most, but it offsets the shortness of the skirt and see-through eyelets in a really nice way. I'll probably re-order this in a small or medium.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
May 11, 2013
The most amazing graduation dress!
I rented this super cute dress for my graduate school graduation. Although it ended up being unseasonably cold and rainy, this dress would have been ideal to keep cool under the hot and humid Southern sun. The fabric is thick enough so that it doesn't feel cheap or like you're going to show anything, but still manages to be breezy and comfortable. I wore a nude colored slip underneath just in case, but you probably could get away without one. I just found that the eyelet holes were larger than I expected and you could see a bit of my bra through them. The small was the absolute perfect size, but word to the wise -- if you are a messy eater, eat breakfast before you put on a white dress! So I had to squeeze myself into the XS, which worked OK but was a lot less comfortable. I was surprised at how tight the armholes were. Lastly, the length of the dress was pretty short, but not obscenely so on someone of my height (5'3"). Overall, amazing dress, would absolutely rent it again for a bridal shower, horse race, or anything like that.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
April 19, 2013
super cute dress - BUT fairly seethrough
The dress is cute and perfect for a summer party. I found it to be very short and see through. As the other reviews mentioned, I think it's best to wear a slip with it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 100lbs
April 15, 2013
The white crisp short dress made my legs look long and tan.
I wore this dress for my Prom and everyone LOVED it.
McKennaJune 26, 2013
What did you wear under it? Was it see-thru?
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
April 10, 2013
Beautiful summer dress!
I rented this dress for my senior pictures and It was gorgeous! However, this dress was very short on someone as tall as myself. If I had rented this dress for a party or for another more social event I wouldn't of been able to wear it because I would of been afraid if showing a little too much! Overall, on a shorter girl this would be a great choice and I definitely recommend it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
April 1, 2013
Darling & perfect bridal shower dress!
This dress was absolutely darling! I wore it for one of my bridal showers, and it was the perfect dress for that occasion. The eyelet cutouts made the dress very springy & bridal without being too formal. The cut & fabric are very figure flattering. It is a little short, so keep that in mind if you are bending down. I wish I owned this dress in 5 different colors. My favorite dress from RTR so far!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
March 27, 2013
LOVE THE DRESS, WISH I DIDNT HAVE TO SEND IT BACK!
I have been wanting to rent this dress for the longest time and am so sad to have to send it back! Based on the reviews I ordered a small, but the dress has NO stretch so I could barely zipper it over my chest. While some people say it is good for a chest, I have to disagree. I would size up not down in this dress if you go for a back up size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
March 27, 2013
Great look but quite short!
I wore this dress for my bachelorette party during a day wine tasting tour. The dress looked great but because the fabric poofs out a bit at the waist it became very short. I still LOVED the look.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
March 12, 2013
So many compliments!
The dress was great. I wore it to a day time party and was a little concerned with the sunshine pouring through the eyelet holes. I wore nude undergarments and my friends swore it did not look awkward or risque. I wore the XS but prob should have used the S (which was my back-up size; I was just in a hurry and put on the XS first and I went with it). The XS just stifled my boobs a bit and rubbed on my inner arms as the day wore on. I am 5'5" 120lbs and wear a 32D. I selected the Athletic body type; you are forced to select something, but I'm more of an athletic hourglass pear combo for whatever that's worth. This dress is very flattering if you are concerned with hiding booty and hips in a complimentary way.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
March 6, 2013
Unfortunately did work :(
I rented this dress for my college graduation and it looks great on the model! However... It is very short, I am 5'8 and it barely hit me mid thigh. Also the top is see thru so I did not know what you could wear under it to fix that because a bra and a bandeau just didnt seem fitting to this occasion. Wish I could say it was great! :(
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
March 6, 2013
It was the perfect graduation dress.
Fit really nicely. I loved the details on the dress. Got many compliments. The flare really gave my body some shape.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
February 27, 2013
I loved the dress and everything about it.
It was perfect.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×