Opening Ceremony

Against Playground Rules Dress

$75 rental
$550 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Be that daring but flirty fashionista when you walk into the party wearing this eyelet Opening Ceremony dress. Short and cute to bring out your inner sporty girl.Go with a flirty necklace like the kate spade accessories' Sapphire Treasure Chest Necklace to play up your style.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra (nude undergarments recommended)
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra (nude undergarments recommended; no slip under eyelets)
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

White cotton eyelet. Boat neckline. Scalloped hemline. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 34'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
79 reviews
Fit
Large
(6)
True to Size
(58)
Small
(15)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106lbs
November 24, 2012
My favorite thing I have ever worn.
LOOOOOOVE this and now I own it! Highly recommend this for petite girls!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 27, 2012
Unfortunately I didn't like this dress for my engagement party.
The fabric is thick which is great, but the skirt is very full which looked silly on me. Also, being so full it made it look much shorter than it actually is.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
December 5, 2012
I had no idea what to wear to my bachelorette party- we did a wine tasting... the dress was perfect!
I'm about 5'2" and the dress was short on me. I ended up wearing a belt with it and wore flats. It was cute and perfect for the party.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 28, 2012
Simply Lovely
The fit was true to size and the material was great, but the zipper was extremely hard to zip up. The dress is pretty short but still classy. Overall the dress was lovely.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
January 8, 2013
Likes the dress!
The Arm holes are small so you may need to go up a size. I am a 0-2 and my arms are smaller and I still had to wear the small. You may also need a slip. A little see through. Overall Great dress. I wore it to my Rehearsal Dinner. The flare is super fun! Great Dress!
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
February 18, 2013
Perfect dress to feel lady like and flirty at the same time!
I love this dress! I wore it to my bridesmaids' luncheon and really didn't want to send it back! I am usually a size 4 so the small fit perfectly. I wore a little white tank underneath so it wasn't too revealing. But be careful because its super short! I had to wear it with flats because I am 5'7" and was nervous if I wore heels I would be showing too much leg.
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
February 27, 2013
I loved the dress and everything about it.
It was perfect.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
March 6, 2013
It was the perfect graduation dress.
Fit really nicely. I loved the details on the dress. Got many compliments. The flare really gave my body some shape.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
March 12, 2013
So many compliments!
The dress was great. I wore it to a day time party and was a little concerned with the sunshine pouring through the eyelet holes. I wore nude undergarments and my friends swore it did not look awkward or risque. I wore the XS but prob should have used the S (which was my back-up size; I was just in a hurry and put on the XS first and I went with it). The XS just stifled my boobs a bit and rubbed on my inner arms as the day wore on. I am 5'5" 120lbs and wear a 32D. I selected the Athletic body type; you are forced to select something, but I'm more of an athletic hourglass pear combo for whatever that's worth. This dress is very flattering if you are concerned with hiding booty and hips in a complimentary way.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
April 10, 2013
Beautiful summer dress!
I rented this dress for my senior pictures and It was gorgeous! However, this dress was very short on someone as tall as myself. If I had rented this dress for a party or for another more social event I wouldn't of been able to wear it because I would of been afraid if showing a little too much! Overall, on a shorter girl this would be a great choice and I definitely recommend it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 100lbs
April 15, 2013
The white crisp short dress made my legs look long and tan.
I wore this dress for my Prom and everyone LOVED it.
McKennaJune 26, 2013
What did you wear under it? Was it see-thru?
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
April 19, 2013
super cute dress - BUT fairly seethrough
The dress is cute and perfect for a summer party. I found it to be very short and see through. As the other reviews mentioned, I think it's best to wear a slip with it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
May 17, 2013
Polo Match Attire
Really sweet and simple! I didn't think it was too short (on me); it was fun, crisp and airy. The cotton felt a little bit stiff, but I think it helped give the bottom some shape and flounce. Loved it!
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
May 23, 2013
Absolutely loved this dress!
I absolutely loved the dress! It is gorgeous in person and can be worn to a fancy or casual event depending on shoes and accessories. I wore it to a prom on a boat and it was perfect. My only issue was that the fabric about the arms is very tight and the zipper can be a little tricky, but it is manageable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 108lbs
June 18, 2013
Great dress!Not too short as long as you don't wear sky high heels!Also NOT see through
I was worried about this dress being too short because I am almost 5'7, but I couldn't resist renting it anyways. Thankfully I did because I am absolutely in love with it and it wasn't too short at all with cute bold wedges and bright lime green colored earrings. The dress was also not see through; the material was thick enough that I was able to wear nude undergarments without any worry! Only problem I had was the zipper- but with a little help it zipped. Also, I rented the XS and the arm holes were a little snug, but everywhere else, especially where the dress seam hit at the waist fit perfectly, so I think that the S would have been too big/fit awkwardly. I would definitely rent this dress again in a heartbeat! I also fluctuate between a B or C cup depending on the bra, and I wore a regular, padded strapless bra with this dress and it fit fine, so this dress should work for both flat chested and fuller people.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
July 1, 2013
Cute dress, perfect for the occasion (middle school graduation).
Dress was a bit big, but wearable. Must have nude bra and panties! Eyelet holes are not lined so you can see right though if your undergarments are the wrong color. Dress was longer than I would have liked, but that often happens when you aren't quite 5 ft tall. Cute cotton dress, perfect for daytime events.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
August 5, 2013
Perfect dress for an outdoor event!
I rented this for my college's annual homecoming event and it could not have been more perfect! It was a little short but was still fine since it has an A-line skirt. The fabric is all cotton so there is not a lot of stretch to it. One small problem that I did not foresee is that the dress is completely eyelet with not shell underneath so definitely be prepared with a camisole just in case. Overall I would definitely recommend this dress to someone.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 12, 2013
Short and see through
Such a cute little summer dress with 2 exceptions- super short and no lining/slip/nothing underneath! The cutouts all over the top and bottom of the fabric are truly cut out for your skin to show underneath. Not what I was going for when I planned to wear this to a baby shower... I was also in between sizes- XS wouldn't zip; S was too big. Not my best rental by far.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
October 18, 2013
perfectly fun dress
I loved this dress. It was perfect for the occasion and is a light material, which is good for hot summer days. I highly recommend this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
January 2, 2014
Birthday Dress!
I wore this to my 26th birthday party and LOVED it! It was so pretty and feminine. I have a smaller waist so it hit me at the perfect spot. Normally I look better in lower necklines but because of the eyelets it didn't look too covered. Would rent it again in a heartbeat!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
March 12, 2014
Super cute... but see thru!
I wore this dress to leave my wedding and it is precious but a little more scandalous than I intended. Its a thin cotton and eyelet and the tiny holes do go up pretty high. This would be a precious date night dress! My advice is go for it but know what you are getting into!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
March 16, 2015
Perfect for our engagement photos!
I originally ordered this dress in an XS and was so disappointed when my stylist told me it was damaged. They ended up sending me a size small which was a little big on me but other than that I LOVED this dress. It is definitely a mini and light weight, it was quite breezy during our engagement shoot and this light weight fabric was so comfortable and photographed beautifully. This dress is not lined under the eyelet cut outs which was fine for my smaller bust, so may not be best for a girl who needs to wear a bra.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
June 29, 2012
Rent The Runway always makes me stand out in a crowd!
I wore this to an all white party and could not have received more compliments! Unfortunately the medium was the only size they had available but I've always wanted to rent the dress so I made it work. I belted it to cinch the waist in more and it worked out perfectly. This dress was so comfortable and the detailing was so pretty!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
August 22, 2012
Wearing a dress that no other girl was wearing and being absolutely stress free about the entire process was such a weight off my back!
This dress is GORGEOUS! I really think it's beautiful, but one slight thing to think about: the cutouts on the front of the dress are not as small as you think they are going to be. Thankfully, I wore the dress under my graduation cap and gown, because it would definitely have not been appropriate for my all-girls, Catholic high school graduation.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
September 10, 2012
Perfect dress.
Extremely flattering. Got sooo many compliments! Loved it.
AmandaJanuary 10, 2013
Hahaha how funny! I was president of Alpha Phi at MSU '06-'07. Dress looks fantastic, by the way.
angelaJanuary 14, 2013
Love that you can tell that is Alpha Phi! And MSU for that matter?!? Thanks! Alpha Phi has made my college experience amazing.
JessicaApril 16, 2013
I noticed that composite right away too...I'm a Syracuse Alpha Phi from 1999. You look amazing...just like a Alpha Phi ( :
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
March 27, 2013
Great look but quite short!
I wore this dress for my bachelorette party during a day wine tasting tour. The dress looked great but because the fabric poofs out a bit at the waist it became very short. I still LOVED the look.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
May 19, 2013
I wore this dress to a garden party and it was absolutely perfect for the occasion.
Make sure you have nude undergarments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
October 4, 2013
Beautiful Detailing!
Loved this dress! I wore it for our engagement pictures. It's great to dress up with heels or down with cowgirl boots. It is a bit short though.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
January 6, 2014
I should have got the M, but it was not available- this dress was super cute and I would rent again!
so lady like and flattering. does not come with a slip so keep in mind the holes in the pattern ;)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 19, 2014
It was a beautiful dress that was comfortable wear. I didn't want to take it off!
Dress was beautiful and got lots of compliments. I would definitely rent this dress again in a heartbeat.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
May 7, 2012
Scratchy, Stiff Material
This dress is a really cute style and the fit isn't bad, but the material is scratchy and stiff and needs a serious ironing when it arrives. Overall, I think the picture with the model looks a lot better than when I wore it. It is a cute plain dress but not worth the $75 rental fee.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
July 30, 2012
Very cute and sweet
Fit well a little snug in the chest and very cute and sweet. I got it for our engagement photo shoot that was pushed back to a different date but had fun wearing it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
August 12, 2012
Rehearsal Dinner Dress
Short, but super cute!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
February 26, 2013
Wore this for my wedding rehearsal dinner and everyone loved it!
We had an intimate dinner for my wedding rehearsal and I wanted to wear white but nothing too bridal. Glad I got two sizes because the Small was a bit too short. I did not wear a slip under, just nude underwear and it was good to go. Love, love this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
April 1, 2013
Darling & perfect bridal shower dress!
This dress was absolutely darling! I wore it for one of my bridal showers, and it was the perfect dress for that occasion. The eyelet cutouts made the dress very springy & bridal without being too formal. The cut & fabric are very figure flattering. It is a little short, so keep that in mind if you are bending down. I wish I owned this dress in 5 different colors. My favorite dress from RTR so far!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
May 27, 2013
The dress was a perfect day sundress for my high school graduation- it was a huge success! Beautiful
Fit was a little snug throughout the bodice but the length and cut were wonderful,
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
September 6, 2013
Perfect dress for spring and summer!
I can not tell you enough how much I LOVED this dress! Probably my favorite I have rented so far on RTR! I am 5'2 and it was short on me, so this is probably best for shorter ladies. I wore it for a baby shower and I got so many compliments. It is the perfect playful dress for hot weather! I would love to buy this dress and have it in my closet!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
September 16, 2013
Zipper wouldn't go up.
Didn't get to wear the dress. :(
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Body type: Hourglass
October 24, 2013
RTR ON CAMPUS FASHION SHOW!
The dress was absolutely perfect! My model paired it with wedges ad a belt! The only complaint is that it was a little short but other than that it was perfect!
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×