Nicole Miller

Such A Knockout Gown

$70 – $80 rental ?
$960 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Be the center of attention at the gala wearing this gorgeous Nicole Miller lace gown. An effortless chic style to look fab and have a night of bliss. Pair with Nicole Miller's Southern Plantation Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - cup area at bust runs slightly small so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted at hips with flared skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 60'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - cup area at bust runs slightly small so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted at hips with flared skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 60'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black stretch lace (84% nylon, 16% spandex). Sleeveless. Sweetheart neckline. A-line skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined (68% nylon, 32% spandex). Imported. See size and fit tab for lengths.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

606 reviews

Fit
Small 47
True to Size 504
Large 35
Photos 453
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 8, 2012

This black dress did not blend in at formal, it was gorgeous!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress! It's perfect for an hourglass figure - hugs in all the right places. My only complaint would be that the front of the dress folds down and shows the lining. Other than that, it was perfect! It was so comfortable, I could have slept in it after dancing all night. I would highly recommend this dress.
Lauren
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
Dec 9, 2012

Gorgeous black gown

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress arrived in a timely fashion, fit well, and was in outstanding condition. The prepackaged return envelope made the process easy.
Charlotte
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 30, 2012

Very elegant and classic - can't go wrong with black lace!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Ran a little large in the waist and chest, although very fitted around lower half of body.
Tara
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Nov 5, 2014

Beautiful Dress!

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was beautiful and the stretchy fabric made it comfortable to wear all evening and kept it form fitting. The down side to the dress was that it ran short. I am a little over 5'7" and the dress hit right at the top of my foot. I would have preferred it to be floor length. I typically wear a 6 and ordered an 8 for my back up. I ended up wearing the 8 for the added length. Overall, the dress worked great for my black tie affair!
Jessica
Age: 24
Nov 11, 2014

This dress made me feel like a princess!

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit like a glove and was very comfortable. Although the fit was snug it wasn't too tight and I was still able to dance. The only problem I had was I have a small bust and the dress did curl a little at the top. But it wasn't a huge issue and I had a great time!
Brittany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 12, 2014

Perfect & Comfy

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was so surprised how comfortable and stretchy this dress was, I loved how it hugged my curves! One negative is the top portion around the bust did fold over and exposed the lining underneath, but luckily it was black and did not show up in pictures
Lauren
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Nov 20, 2014

Flattering black dress

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was flattering, form fitting, and I received many compliments. The dress was not as comfortable as other dresses I have rented and the top tended to roll down on the edge. Still a beautiful dress and worked well for my occasion.
Katrina
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126 lbs
Nov 23, 2014

I wore this to a Church Anniversary Dinner.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit great except one drawback; the top of the dress kept rolling down and showing my bra underneath. I found it hard to keep the dress laying flat. Other than this, it was the perfect length and fit!
Erika
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118 lbs
Nov 24, 2014

Excellent customer service! Leila (spelling?) at the Flat Iron store was super helpful!

Size worn: 2L
Rented for: Wedding
My first dress (Badgley Mischka sweetheart ruched black dress was too big) didn't work out so I went to the store to exchange it. I even made a styling appointment bc I NEEDED a gown for a black tie wedding. Due to it being last minute they only had the long length, but at a time crunch I can't complain! Great dress but the straps were a little too long and loose. A little double sided tape and a couple safety pins fixed that! Due to the loose straps I wouldn't rent this dress again, but maybe the Petite length would've fit better? All in all, It's a beautiful dress.
Paige
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Body type: Petite
Nov 30, 2014

SO Comfortable!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress has a stretchy, spandex inside which makes it so comfortable! It was a breeze to wear, it's like I forgot I was wearing a formal dress. It was even comfortable to hit the town in after our formal event. It was so hard to return, I want to wear it everyday! It fit like a dream as well. The length was the only thing that worried me. I'm 5'4" and wore 3" inch and it JUST hit the floor. I wanted to wear taller heels, but couldn't. If you are any taller than me, and want to wear taller heels, I would highly suggest getting the Long variation. Perfect dress!!!
Vanessa Manriquez
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 20
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 2, 2014

It was my boyfriend and mines Marine Corps ball in Vegas and I wanted a dress that was wow.

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved the lace! It got here around 3pm on the delivery date that was exciting! It was packed so greatly and it was very exciting to recieve it. It is lowcut but in my opinion that is a plus. When you open it, it looks longer than it actually is. Which was good for me because I am short. I loved the experience I would definately do RTR again! Not disapointed one bit and this dress made my butt look really good and it looks very elegant!
Samantha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132 lbs
Dec 7, 2014

Super comfortable- Perfect black dress!

Size worn: 4R
Rented for: Formal Affair
I didn't end up wearing this because there was a problem with the zipper (which was sad because I loved this one). The dress is very comfortable. it's tight but doesn't feel constricting. The lace and shape if the dress is flattering- it does show a lot of skin in the chest area, so it might be tough for big chested girls. All in all, I would have worn it if there wasn't a zipper issue!
Rachel
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Dec 15, 2014

Pretty curve hugging dress

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to my husband's work Christmas party. I normally wear a 0 or 2 in dresses. After reading reviews, I went with the 2L due to my 5'6 height and the fitted bodice. It fit perfectly in the bodice and the length was perfect with 3 inch heels. The straps were a bit of a problem though. They seemed very stretched out, and I had to pin them in the back so I wouldn't feel like they were falling down all night. After that, the top part fit great. Overall great experience with RTR even though this dress was not my first choice(I was emailed that original dress selected was unavailable due to damage). I will use them again.
Ilana
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 23, 2014

Elegant, comfortable fit!! Perfect for a formal wedding!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I went with a designer i already knew as this was my first RTR experience, but the dress fit better than expected!! My only issue was that the 4 was a little tight and gave me a bit more cleavage than I was hoping for but overall fit really well!! A bit long for me as i don't love high heels and it got caught on my heels a few times. Regardless, i loved this dress and would rent again!
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 24, 2014

Curve-accentuating dress

Size worn: 4L
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress highlighted my boobs and butt. It was almost inappropriately "flattering" to my backside, but the 6 would have been too baggy on my flat chest. My date had no complaints. The length was perfect with about a 2-inch heel. Just wish I had taken more pics!
Steffi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 31, 2014

Love it!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
At first I rented the zero and it was a bit snug so I went in and they didn't have size 2. With some fashion tape, the size 4 worked and was super comfortable the whole night! Great dress!
Carly
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 3, 2015

I loved this dress! It fit me perfectly and it was so comfortable.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered a size 4R and 2R. I am so happy I rented the 2R because it ended up fitting me a lot better. The dress was so pretty and comfortable to wear. It hugged me in all the right places. The zipper was hard to pull up but other than that there was nothing else that bothered me. It was beautiful and I got so many compliments on it.
Sheila
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 3, 2015

Great dress! I got MANY compliments.

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was well made, nice fabric, much more detail than you can see on the web site. The zipper was difficult both up and down, you will need help getting it done up. The fabric at the top of your bust rolled down a little, but was difficult to notice since it is black inside also. The bust runs small. The dress hugs you all over and feels good, comfortable. Overall a great pick! Very happy with it. I got many compliments for days.
Katie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 129 lbs
Jan 5, 2015

Amazing Dress--Amazing Night!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore this to a fancy NYE party, and it was a huge hit with all of my friends--and strangers! I truly was "such a knockout," and my RTR experience was incredible! :)
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Jan 5, 2015

A amazing fit! Tons of complements, made me feel Like a princess

Size worn: 8R
Rented for: Wedding
Wow what a wonderful dress, I rented 2 dresses, I searched 100s of dresses and found 2 that I had to have. Both were amazing. I got tons of compliments and I can't wait to use Rent the Runway again. It made me feel beautiful even though I'm not a size 2
Jillian
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 12, 2015

I wore this dress to a black-tie wedding on New Years Eve.

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit true to size. I received so many compliments on the dress. It was perfect for a formal affair.
Jennifer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 25, 2015

All of my girls used Rent the Runway! It was so fun seeing everyone's dresses!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I LOVE this dress. Absolutely obsessed with it. For one, it's obviously gorgeous. It's lightweight enough that you don't feel weighed down. It's comfortable. And it's super versatile...you could wear this dress to pretty much any type of formal event. I'm a hard fit because I'm short with a smaller waist and big butt, but this dress is stretchy enough that I didn't have any issues at all.
Sarita
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 26, 2015

Great experience!!! I already have another rental lined up!!!

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my first time to use RTR and I was nervous! The dress (and back up) came in the day before my event and neither fit right. I called customer service and was advised of some other dress options that could be sent overnight and received by 10AM. I received my new dress at 9AM the next morning and it was PERFECT!!! I received so many compliments and was so comfortable the whole night! I used fashion tape to secure the straps and the little bit of fabric roll over at the top. The length was great with 3" heels.
Beth
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 106 lbs
Jan 28, 2015

Good fit for people who sometimes find other 0s too loose

Size worn: 0L
Rented for: Formal Affair
Got this dress overnighted to me when I was swimming in the 0 of my first choice. I had to wear the tallest heels I own to make the long work, I'm 5' 4.5". I have a small bust but was able to wear a dramatic push up bra by using garment tape to keep my bra straps in line with the dress straps.
LisaC
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148 lbs
Jan 28, 2015

Wonderful dress! So comfortable and it made me feel glamorous!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Such a great dress! I wore it for a Black and White Masquerade Ball. I was so thankful to be able to wear it without a bra because I really dislike strapless bras! The dress gave me enough support and was just the right cut...not too high or too low in the front. It was really comfortable for dancing! I am 5'4" and wore the regular length with 3" heels. If the heels had been any higher, the dress would have been too short.
Elizabeth
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95 lbs
Jan 31, 2015

One of a kind gown for a special occasion

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for a formal military ball. I was nervous about finding a dress that would be small enough for me, so I searched carefully for descriptions of "runs small" or "form fitting". I normally wear a 00P or xxs in all of my clothes. It is stretchy and form fitting so it worked out great. I wore 5 inch heels and it was the perfect length. The lace added interest to an otherwise simple black dress and I was the only one wearing it which is always a plus! The only downside would be the loose straps. They are double lace straps that insert at the same point on the front and then split to about a hand's width space apart when they insert on the back. Makes the back more interesting but they were kind of loose and I did have to keep readjusting them. It was also a little loose in the ribcage and waist area which kind of gave the illusion of a thicker waist than I have and there was a funny bunching thing happening at the end of the zipper on the back - all minor issues though. Overall, I loved my first RTR experience and was happy with my choice of dress!
Melissa
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134 lbs
Jan 31, 2015

Stunning Dress made to walk the Red Carpet (or make you feel like you could)

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
When I saw this dress Online I immediately fell in love with it and knew I had to wear it to the Make A Wish Ball that I was going to. I ordered my typical size 6 and then the 8 as a back up. The dresses were delivered the day before the event and I put the 6 on and it fit me like a glove, like it was made for me. The dress was stretchy and was amazingly comfortable to wear- my only complaint is the same as other posters, where the top liner portion at top kept popping out, but I was able to reposition the top so that it was tucked back in.
Jenny
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 1, 2015

fits like a glove!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is very stretchy, fits true to size! Lots of compliments! Can be worn with a strapless bra! Length is kinda short, I am 5'5 and wore 3 inch heels and it was about 1 inch too short. Get the longer dress if you are taller than me!
Jillia
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138 lbs
Feb 1, 2015

Compliments all night

Size worn: 4R
Rented for: Wedding
It fit like a glove. Got compliments all night and felt extremely sexy!
Carly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Feb 9, 2015

Gorgeous dress! Both 8/10R fit, but length of 8 did not skim the ground even with flats on.

Size worn: 10R
Rented for: Formal Affair
#glamorous #comfortable #sexy
RTR Customer
Feb 9, 2015

I loved this dress. I got compliments all night and felt so good in it.

Size worn: 12R
Rented for: Formal Affair
I had to use fashion tape to keep the top of it from folding over and to keep the straps in place because they were very long.
Kristie
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Weight: 108 lbs
Feb 15, 2015

Fit like a glove.

Size worn: 0L
Rented for: Wedding
Perfect fit. Photo taken without heels on. Ordered as backup for a wedding. Didnt end up wearing but would rent again for a future event!
Gina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 15, 2015

Loved it

Size worn: 2R
Rented for: Wedding
Form fitting, hugs your curves, nice lace detail. Dragged a little for me so if you're on the short side you will need 5+ inch shoes otherwise it's a great dress!!
April
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 18, 2015

Beautiful dress... Comfortable and fun

Size worn: 2L
Rented for: Formal Affair
Love the fit... The fabric has a little stretch to it, so it was comfortable all night. The lace detail is really pretty. The length was just right with my heels.
Katy
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 21, 2015

Gorgeous Dress!

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered this dress for a formal military event that I had to attend. First off, it is a really beautiful dress! Pictures do not do it justice. I am normally a 4R, and ordered this in a 4L based on the reviews. I'm glad I did! The 4R would've been too short. It was the perfect length. I also ordered my backup dress in a sz 6R. I really wish I would've ordered it in a 2 instead. It runs big! So if in doubt, order a sz down from your normal. It is also a little low cut, which can be revealing. The top also tends to roll down and show the lining (see photo). The straps were loose as well, and tape did not help that. Other than these minor hiccups, it was the perfect dress! Very classy and elegant. Comfortable. I got a lot of compliments! Would definitely wear it again. I was sad to have to send it back.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Mar 16, 2015

Classic, elegant, and flattering.

Size worn: 0R
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fits like a glove, the stretchy fabric makes it pretty forgiving. Zipper sticks a little because of the lace so make sure you have a friend to help you get it on and off. Absolutely beautiful dress, classy and simple. Would definitely recommend it to anyone!
cassandra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Mar 19, 2015

Very Comfortable and easy to dance in.

Size worn: 0R
Rented for: Wedding
Dress was perfect, I was able to eat and dance / party all night. I wore this to a wedding on Halloween and the black lace was just the right touch. The bridesmaids ended up being in black as well so I matched the theme!
Laura
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Mar 19, 2015

First RTR experience and it was great.

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
5'4 / 145 lbs and ordered 6L and 8L as backup at the recommendation of others that the dress ran short. Probably could have work a regular, but heels worked great. Straps fit well, not too long. Dress has a little stretch to it, so while the 6 fit, I ended up wearing the 8 so I could enjoy eating and dancing :)
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Mar 21, 2015

Classy and sexy dress.

Size worn: 6L
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was form fitting, yet very flattering. It hugged my curves in the perfect way and I felt wonderful in it. Although I was scared it would be too tight as I sometimes can wear a 6 and sometimes an 8, the 6 worked perfectly and it was so comfortable. I think it would have been too short if I had not ordered the 6 long, especially with heels, so I would recommend getting the longer length if you're on the taller side. Overall, great first experience with RTR.
Joselyn
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Mar 24, 2015

We went to an annual dinner for the Explorers Club at the Museum of Natural History!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was great! Sucked everything in in the right places. A little tight across the bust, so I didn't wear a bra. I wore 4" heels and it just barely skimmed the ground. There was a tiny tear/separation from the lace and the lining near the butt, but not noticeable. I will definitely be using Rent the Runway again! Great service at the Flatiron location, but I'll probably preorder next time.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×